Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

University of Mobile Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/16/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you make an impression. Not just here, but at every college. It's amazing what colleges will do when they think you're worth it.

    Bang for the buck

    When I first walked in, all they had from me was a name and a test score. working from there, the financial aid was immediately able to find $20,000 a year in scholarships. Don't let the sticker price fool you.

    Will enjoy being here

    The staff and students here are very friendly. Plus, it's only a few minutes from the beach.

    Will learn a lot

    The Classrooms here are top-notch. the class sizes are small (typically under 20 per class) so your teacher will know you by name and you will know your teacher. Trust me, this will help your GPA tremendously.

  • 11/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Am enjoying being here

    I do enjoy being here on campus at the University of Mobile. Campus life does a great job of putting on events, and keeping everyone involved. No matter if you are a freshman, they have a place for you! I have been to almost every event and have had an amazing time!

    Am learning a lot

    They faculty, staff, and student body is a warm welcoming group of individuals. When I stepped foot on campus, I immediately felt like I was apart of the Ram family. This has been my first semester in college, and so far I have had a great experience. The classes are small, but that is what makes it so unique here at the University of Mobile. I am able to ask my professors anything, and able to form study groups within my classes. If you need any help, there is always a willing hand to offer some sort of help. The classes are top notch in offering you the best education possible, as well as graduating on time and seeking the best for you as a student.

  • 01/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we have a security guard on foot at night. during the day and night we have a security guard that drives around campus. at the front gate we have a security guard as well. you always feel safe on campus no matter what time of day it is.

    Greek Life

    no greek life at um.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are tons of activities! no opportunity to be bored!

    Great for these types of students

    students who love the lord and are willing to learn!

    Bang for the buck

    this school is highly expensive but it is totally worth it. if you truly want to learn this is a great atmosphere to do that in.

    What to do for fun

    there are many intramural sports and there are always events going on to get involved!

    Food and Dining

    the caf has many options. not my favorite place to eat though.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is awesome! the people you live with are awesome and it is like having a family away from home!

    Tips for prospective students

    come prepared to learn and grow in your relationship with god.

    In three sentences

    um has a very friendly atmosphere. the school is small so everyone knows everyone. classes are small so teachers know students by name unlike most colleges.

  • 05/01/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We had a tough time just getting through the gate so its securtiy is top notch.

    Food and Dining

    It is right off the interstate and thus far there are krystals, mcodonalds, foosaklys, etc

    Academic Rigor

    They accept students with outstanding academic records.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check it out and see if it is something you may be interested in.

    In three sentences

    Awesome campus first off. My mom and I are looking into this school , and I am really considering it. Its right down the road so its location is ideal.

  • 05/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is of the utmost, you sign in at the front gate if you don't have a student decal.

    Greek Life

    not a part of greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    the music department is awsome

    Great for these types of students

    any kind of student would fit in here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Winter day in the south--they make snow and have a good time

    Bang for the buck

    This school is good stewards with their money and it shows in the calibur of students that it produces every year.

    What to do for fun

    fishing, camping, shopping, concerts, theatre, casino, beaches just about anything you want to do is within reach of this college.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good but nobody is gonna cook like ma.

    Dorm Life

    Sorry never experienced dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    You will be challenged both spiritually and academically.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make the trip you will be impressed and will never want to leave.

    In three sentences

    This is the best college I have ever attended. They make you feel like you are their only priority. If you have never experienced Southern Hospitality you will when you get here.

  • 06/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. It is somewhat away from town and has a guard house at the entrance to check if people are allowed in. In addition, there are gates and security guards that drive around and lock up at night.

    What to do for fun

    The school has many activites throughout the year such as glow in the dark volleyball, intramural sports, spring formal, concerts, etc. There is also a beach 45 minutes away and downtown Mobile nearby.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good. We have very nice workers that make us meals. We even have a pastry chef for desserts. There is a big variety of different things to choose from. Although the food is good, you may get tired of it sometimes.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is awesome. There is no curfew, the facillities are nice, and it is very welcoming. Just by living on campus you get to know lots of people who are nearby. You can visit friends whenever you want. You can visit the opposite gender in their dorms at certain times.

    Academic Rigor

    All teachers are willing to help you learn and want you to succeed. Some classes are harder than others, but will provide a good education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to attend a visit day and stay overnight in the dorm to get a feel for the college life.

    In three sentences

    It is an amazing, small Christian school with lots to do throughout the year. It has a great atmosphere and something for everyone. There are missions to keep you connected to God, activites, good food, and some great people.

  • 12/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I am in the CPA department and I love it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They normally have ram rush every year during the fall semester to get the new students use to campus life.

    What to do for fun

    They have a lot to do during down time. They have different sports to play during the fall and spring such as football and etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure this is where you want to be because this school is not for everyone.

    In three sentences

    I love the Unversity of Mobile! I just wish they had a much more broader scholarship range for Baptist students as well as Southern Baptist.

  • 01/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. There is always a guard at the gate who checks the cars coming in. All guest have to sign in at the gate. There is security that drives around campus all day and all night. There is also one or two security guards that walk around campus checking the doors to make sure they are locked and for other safety reasons.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs that you can join and activities that you can participate in. There are science clubs, a psychology club, and other programs that you can join in. There are also plenty of activities such as college church gatherings and intramurals (one for just about every sport and some you have never heard of). There is also Up All Nights for around finals, and a weight room and fitness area. There are many things that can keep you busy when not in class or studying!

    Great for these types of students

    University of Mobile is great for students of all types. Especially students who are willing to apply themselves in class and want to do good.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Many people do not know about the creek on campus. There are two trails to get to it and usually not very many people go down there. It's a nice place if you want to go hangout or layout without a lot of people around. The water is usually cold but you can swim in it.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is expensive to attend because it is a private school but it is worth it. You will get the academics needed for your major and can pretty much always find something to do around campus. It is also nice to have teachers that care about you education.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something fun to do around campus. There are athletics, intramural sports, dances, plays, Truspin, which is a college church gathering in Ram Hall, an outdoor pool, sand volleyball courts, trails, and a creek. Off campus, the University of Mobile is not far away from the Bay Bears baseball stadium, multiple movie theaters, many restaurants, and many churches to choose from.

    Food and Dining

    There are a few dining options on campus and many off campus. On campus there is Java City, the cafeteria, and the Ram Deli. These places is where a student can use their meal plan or their flex dollars, which is just extra money from the dining plan. There are three meal options you can choose from if you would like more flex dollars or less. Mobile is also trying to make new student cards that can be used at a couple food places off campus such as Foosackley and Subway.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is however you want to make it. There are a few different housing options you can choose from, but no matter where you stay you will have a R.A. The R.A. for your hall will help you if you need something and plans an activity for everyone on your hall. It can be anything from a cookout to a movie night or any other ideas the hall can come up with. There is a lot of fun to be had in the dorms; such as, a kitchen, media room, and Mac lab. If you need somewhere quiet to study the dorm is a place for that too along with a coffee shop and commons area elsewhere on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics at Mobile depend on the class and the professor. There are many professor that make their classes enjoyable and keep it simple with only some readings and a couple papers. There are other classes that are more difficult and the professors are tougher, but at the end of the class you will know your stuff if you do your part and pay attention. Most of the teachers do highly recommend attendance and some grade on attendance.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips for prospective students would be, first of all, do not be stressed out or nervous about coming to the University of Mobile. The school is small and everyone is friendly and willing to help. Secondly, incoming freshmen should participate in RamRush. RamRush is a week long event meant for students to interact with other students and meet some of the faculty that will help them throughout college. Last but not least, study and enjoy the classes that you will be taking.

    In three sentences

    The University of Mobile is an awesome school for performing arts majors, theology majors, biology majors, and many more. The campus is beautiful and there are many activities to do such as: athletics, intramural sports, performances, dances and other social activities. The teachers care about their students education and will help in any way they can.

  • 05/17/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can join many clubs, have friends to hang out with, and do many activities.

    Food and Dining

    They have a great variety of foods and cooks.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm is very cool and everyone can get along.

    Academic Rigor

    They allow everyone to perform at the best of their abilities! They have a great line of educators.

    Tips for prospective students

    All students should not be afraid to be open and make new friends. Everyone is friendly and they allow you to further education and never be afraid to ask questions.

    In three sentences

    University of Mobile is a nice school because they allow students to be open with their religion. They have a great campus with great educators. I love their dorm rooms and all that they offer.

  • 08/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Many things are offered at the campus such as intramurals, spike ball, soccer, tennis, and baseball.

    Food and Dining

    There are three locations for food and dining. The cafeteria, Java city, and the ram deli, all of which are great tasting.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is great. Each dorm has a media room and a game room with ping pong tables and such. The dorms are very clean and frequently have different activities going on.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major, the academic rigor can be different. Another factor that takes place is how well you are at managing time and studying for different academic opportunities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the college early for a visit day, as you should do with any college. Make sure you know that is the place you are supposed to be before you settle on an option.

    In three sentences

    The University of Mobile is a great college if you want to have many opportunities to be actively involved in some way. The students and professors are very friendly and are willing to help with anything. The University of Mobile is an outstanding college in my eyes.

  • 10/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    At University of Mobile there is never a dull moment. Campus Life plans for events that appeal to everyone from the social butterfly to the wall flower. There are dances, athletic events, formals, and even outdoor movies. Since University of Mobile is on the coast, the beach is close by, which is always a plus.

    Food and Dining

    Let's be honest here. The cafeteria is an interesting place. There are days when the food is really good and there are days when it is really bad. However, the more important thing about the caf is sitting down, people watching, and laughing with your best friends.

    Dorm Life

    If you have the opportunity to live on campus, do it. University of Mobile seems to have an open door policy when it comes to dorm life. Everyone knows everyone and cares about each other. Whether its cooking together, crying together, or just living life together, your dorm mates have your back.

    Academic Rigor

    At University of Mobile, one will have to take the time to study. However, classes are small enough to where the professors know his or her students and genuinely care about their well being.

    Tips for prospective students

    My biggest tip for prospective students is to go all in. University of Mobile is small enough that you have the opportunity to know everyone and do everything. With all of the activities that a student has the chance to participate in, you will have a home away from home in no time.

    In three sentences

    The University of Mobile is like coming home. With arms wide open, not only will professors look out for you, but every other staff member as well. It is comforting knowing that no matter what time of day, someone is there to be on your side.

  • 01/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    One thing that I absolutely love is the campus security. There is one way on and one way off campus. Everyone has to go through the security gate, and there is security patrolling 24/7

    What to do for fun

    On campus, there are intramural games, trails, and a pool.

    Food and Dining

    Food. There is never a shortage of food; whether you are up for an all you can eat buffet at breakfast, lunch, and supper; maybe a latte, sub, or something from the grille, the choices are endless. If that doesn't suit your fancy there are plenty of off campus restaurants as well.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life here is terrific. The RA's get together and usually the dorms will have dorm parties. There isn't sorority's and frat houses though so we have what we call Campus Life and there is always something to do.

    Academic Rigor

    When applying to colleges I really looked for a school that could challenge me at academics and I found that at University of Mobile.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never let others tell you that you can't do something. If you put your mind to it, you can do anything you want to.

    In three sentences

    UMobile is such a wonderful school. It's nice to be able to go to a college and see that mostly everyone is nice. Almost everyday I see a group of students standing in the stairwells, hallways, and even on the sidewalks just praying and praising the Lord.

  • 02/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The University of Mobile always has something to do. Whether its a sporting event or our intramural to random events that go on, there is always something to go to do have an awesome time.

    Food and Dining

    The caf here is not so great, however, we have a deli that is very good as well as a new grill that is pretty awesome. Along with the grill and deli, there is a coffee shop that makes the best coffee around.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is pretty awesome. We have all kinds of dorm events that you can be involved in, and for the most part, people are pretty respectful and stay quiet late at night.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are very challenging, but they aren't so demanding that you're constantly stressed out and can't learn. They challenge you without overwhelming you.

    Tips for prospective students

    For any students looking to come to the University of Mobile, just come. Get plugged in a student life group. It's an awesome college and you will love it.

    In three sentences

    This University has very strong roots in Christianity, and encourages the students to follow Christ. They have a very strong and intelligent teaching staff that actually cares about the students and their success. Along with a great teaching staff, I feel like I will have a very well developed intelligence in my field of study.