Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

University of Montevallo Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 out of 15 people found this review useful. 1 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All types! Unless you would rather be anonymous to your teachers and never get help. Many of the teachers are laid-back and fun to be around, but can still call order to their classes and can help when needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your financial aid in early and do as well as possible on your ACT tests, as general tips. If accepted, get advised as soon as possible when the time comes and stay on top of everything that you need to get done. Make lists if you need to!

    Bang for the buck

    If you have an average-income family, then you will get by alright with a scholarship and some loans. A lot of different majors that I've encountered have all seemed quite happy with their education here and I would have to agree. Montevallo is not insanely expensive and will not fail to impress.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is beautiful and small, with brick streets(careful, it's easy to trip!) and buildings. There are many events throughout the year, so you will find yourself meeting people and having fun no matter what. Everyone is really sweet and acknowledging, too.

    Am learning a lot

    I am currently a sophomore at the University of Montevallo and am definitely learning a lot in my classes. Due to the small teacher to student ratio, all of the teachers will at least recognize you as one of their students, if not know you by name and major. They realize that all students learn in different ways and will help you try to understand, or direct you to someone that may help you more.

  • 07/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 2 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you like small classroom sizes this school is PERFECT for you. Plus, over 95% of the professors here have there doctorate in their fields of study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved. Yes, this is a small campus but there is so much to do!

    Bang for the buck

    The money that I have put into this University is most definitely worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THE UNIVERSITY OF MONTEVALLO. The end.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned so much here. I feel like I'm getting a private-school education. The professors are really passionate about what they teach which makes learning so much better.

  • 08/15/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 3 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    Such a beautiful,small campus. You won't get lost at all.

    Will learn a lot

    Small teacher-student ration. There will be more hands on learning and you won't be just a number at most universities, they will know you by name.

  • 06/05/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 4 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Montevallo is great if you want to be involved on campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your admissions counselor! I still stay in contact with mine, and I know he is always someone I can go to on campus if I'm not sure about who to ask. Your admission counselor will be a helpful resource during the admission process as well as during your college career. Also, make sure to come visit campus! Come multiple times, if you want.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel like the quality of UM's education is extremely under-priced. It would be nearly impossible to find such a small, quality, liberal arts education at the price UM offers.

    Am enjoying being here

    The small campus is my favorite thing. After my first few weeks at school, I began recognizing people everywhere. Now I can't go anywhere on campus without seeing someone I'm friends with! The caf was intimidating at first, but now I never have to worry about going in alone--there's always a friend there to sit with.

    Am learning a lot

    All of my classes are so small that I can tell that I'm really learning a lot. All of my professors are extremely approachable and always willing to help.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 5 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Montevallo is considered one of the safest campus'. Parents agree when seen the careful and caring watch security and staff have on their fellow members.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life provides a good democratic social experience, value beyond the college years, creates through their ideals, an ever-widening circle of service beyond the membership, develops the individual's potential through leadership opportunities and group effort, and fills the need of belonging.

    Clubs and Activities

    Collage Life, Ultimate Frisbee, Psychology Club, Math Club, Chemistry Club, Biology Club, Astronomy Club, National Broadcasting Society, Alabamian(Newspaper), Montage(Yearbook), The Tower(Lit Mag), Baptist Campus Ministries, Catholic Campus Ministries, Chi Alpha Christian Ministries, Episcopal Student Fellowship, Environmental Club, UM Anime Club, Young Democrats , Montevallo Organization of Gaming,

    Great for these types of students

    Theatrical, Baseball, Physiology, Art, Basketball, Foreign Language, Communications, Behavioral Sciences

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year students take part in an event where students choose a team (purple or gold) and compete in their every talents ranging from play-writing, acting, singing, ect. to sports, basketball. The campus is rumored to be haunted because it is one of the older campus' around. The is a graveyard located on campus

    Bang for the buck

    Montevallo is one of the more economical schools in Alabama. It is worth every penny to live on campus and to attend a school that is so interpersonal with each and every student.

    What to do for fun

    There is an indoor swimming pool open to students during the school year. The email you receive for the Montevallo website also sends you notifications on campus parties and events going on. There are many clubs you can join to get involved as well.

    Food and Dining

    Montevallo uses a point system for the food on campus. The dinning hall has a variety of meal options every day and it is a great quaint place to visit with fellow students and friends on campus.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very nice and well kept by faculty and students. It's nice living on campus because you get the full experience of collage life getting to attend events and gatherings. It is very safe. Security will even drive you to your dorm from the library late at night

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are eager to help you in and out of the classroom. They want to get to know you and help you. This changes everything when it comes to collage education and what you can achieve.

    Tips for prospective students

    The staff and board is very friendly and eager to get to know you on a personal level. Introduce yourself to professors in your major before school starts by going to the collage days offered during the summer. If you have a passion, they are ready to help you soar.

    In three sentences

    This school has small classes sizes which allows a more focused and close relationship between student and teacher which is very beneficial. The campus itself is beautiful and antique with its tall trees and fresh walking grounds. Montevallo is a Arts and Science school and expresses great appreciation for students abilities and talents in everything from theatre to basketball.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 6 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    College Night--We have teams Purple and Gold, you pick your team, each team(whoever wants to) puts together a play and performs, thats the last night of college night, the nights before games go on and at the very end of college night the points get tallied up and we see which team wins either purple or gold. And its this big fun rival thing for the rest of the year, its a fun and tradition for the University of Montevallo Family.

    What to do for fun

    Basketball games, college night--its like our homecoming since their is no football team. During the first weeks, we have a bunch of parties including Foam parties, Movie nights on Fridays out on the quad, On the weekends buses takes us to the shopping center every Sunday, and for early Sundays there are many churches to go to.

    Food and Dining

    Pretty good, not home cooking! But there is something different everyday.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is a fun experience at any university, everybody should try at least once. At Montevallo, the sororities have their own section in the Residence halls( we don't like to call them dorms :) ) You almost get the glimpse of sorority life without being in one. We would have sleepovers every week, everybody is nice and its easy to feel at home upon arrival.

    Tips for prospective students

    Everybody is friendly, so its easy to make friends. Never have to worry about not having help--free tutoring, free writing enrichment--truly amazing, no exaggeration needed!

    In three sentences

    The University of Montevallo is an amazing place to further your education. Everybody at the university is extremely friendly. The people at this university takes the time out to give you true hands on help--true definition of hands-on is what they give.

  • 11/26/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Montevallo is great for students who do not want to leave in a big city, or who enjoy small classroom settings.

    Tips for prospective students

    My best tip is to work hard and apply for scholarships. Work hard to keep your grades up and keep them up.

    Bang for the buck

    My family is currently strapped financially, so the estimated cost of attendance for me is a very crucial factor in choosing a university. Montevallo is not very expensive, and the educational opportunities here are plentiful, so I believe that you will get your money's worth for attending this college.

    Will enjoy being here

    I am sure I could give it a better rating, however, I have not visited the campus yet, I plan to attend next week however. I have researched this college extensively and the campus looks beautiful, and the staff and students seem beautiful.

    Will learn a lot

    I am a small-town girl. I noticed that the student to teacher ratio here is somewhere along the lines of 20-1, this excites me because I am definitely not a fan of big classes.

  • 07/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 46

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    The campus life is superb. The academics are great. I am in love with this school!

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    montevallo tries to keep its students as safe as possible. i won't be misleading, sometimes i get real uncomfortable real fast at night when i'm alone, however the campus is extremely conscious of the student's safety. there are emergency lights/call boxes throughout campus, from one corner to the other, and the police department is currently making improvements to the darkest parts of campus with lighting. umpd does an excellent job patrolling!

    Greek Life

    we have a number of fraternities and sororities on campus, to name a few: alpha tau omega, alpha kappa lambda, lambda chi alpha, delta chi, phi mu, delta gamma, alpha delta pi, chi omega, and so many more. there are two houses that belong to fraternities: ato and dx. the rest of the frats and sororities live in residence halls.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are tons and tons of clubs and activities to take part in. from astronomy club to environmental club to anime club to math club, there are all sorts of things to be involved in! um is pretty good about advertising the latest and newest clubs emerging on campus, as well as keeping its students informed of current clubs and activities. um does so via broadcast emails.

    Great for these types of students

    since we are a liberal arts school we have a lot to offer in a variety of departments and interests, but we especially have an amazing arts program. as an art major that of course caught my eye, but i absolutely love it and recommend looking into our arts program if that's what you're interested in studying.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    montevallo is home to the longest-running homecoming tradition in the united states, called college night. it has been taking place every year in february for the last 94 years. we even have our own jeopardy question!

    Bang for the buck

    i'm an outdoorsy person, so i tend to find the exciting adventures i can have outside. about 20 minutes up the road from campus, a little further in the woods off a dirt road, there is a rope swing that goes out over the cahaba river. it's amazing! such a fun thing to do during the warm seasons when you want to cool off.

    What to do for fun

    there's lots to do! all you have to do is get out there and find it. there are outdoor activities, greek life events, upc always has events (movie nights, etc.), bcm hosts lunches and other events pretty frequently, and then hoover and birmingham are only 30 to 45 minutes from campus. but even closer is alabaster which has a movie theater, walmart, chick-fil-a, and other things. so you're never truly bored, it's just a matter of what you want to do.

    Food and Dining

    the food is always awesome the first few days at the caf, but after a while it wears on you and you're not so crazy about it. but it's not terrible. i always find something to eat (or cook for myself in the residence hall's kitchen). also, there is a wow (world of wings) in campus, which also brews starbucks coffee, as well as ollie's cafe that has sandwiches, fruit, etc. as another food option.

    Dorm Life

    i have lived on campus in the residence halls for the last three years now, and currently am a resident assistant. so i love residence hall life! i love the community of girls that i live with as well as the other ras in the building which i live. we have programs for the residents once a month to get together and spend time with one another, but everyone is pretty close-knit anyhow and gets along decently.

    Academic Rigor

    of course academics are going to be at the top of your list and your professor's list because that's why we're here! the professors at um take their jobs seriously, but they absolutely love what they do and the students they teach. classes can be stressful, which is expected, but i've never heard of a class that the professor wasn't willing to meet with a student to figure things out.

    Tips for prospective students

    i definitely recommend visiting campus as many times as possible; visit campus during the week when classes are going on rather than the weekend (more opportunity to experience campus life); attend a class in the major you may want take on; eat at the caf with current students; and lastly, explore what there is to do locally outside of campus.

    In three sentences

    the university of montevallo has an incredible history that is unique to the state of alabama. montevallo prides itself in the liberal arts education it offers that produces well-rounded individuals. also, montevallo is an ideal size for those looking for a university that isn't too small, but not large by any means.

  • 02/15/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    being located not too far from birmingham, i'm sure montevallo has many places to dine.

    Dorm Life

    i don't plan on staying in the dorms, but my friend who was also accepted and has visited and toured the houses tells me the dorms are beautiful and should be easy to adapt to for freshman coming from home.

    Academic Rigor

    i'm only an entering freshman, but i can tell from the scholarships montevallo offers to high act scores that this college appreciates high academics and will provide engaging course work.

  • 02/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they're currently putting in more lights on campus for our safety, but i've never felt threatened walking around at night.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we have the wonderful tradition of college night, a homecoming tradition that takes place in february. it features intramural sports and a theater competition.

    What to do for fun

    on the weekends most people go home, which was a sad discovery for me because i like being on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    put more stock in what majors a college has available than what the campus is like.

    In three sentences

    i find the university of montevallo to be a great university. however, due to the small population, it is at times difficult for a given course to be offered.

  • 02/15/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    a lot of on-campus events.

    Food and Dining

    cafeteria was awesome!

    In three sentences

    i was very impressed when i visited the campus. the student/teacher ratio is very welcoming. everyone was so friendly and sincere. the campus was beautiful and well kept.

  • 03/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very, very low crime rates. Always one bad apple in every bunch.

    Greek Life

    Wouldn't know about that. Avoid them like the plague.

    Clubs and Activities

    See previous statements

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone, unless you want to go to college just to party

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    College Night, the oldest running homecoming tradition in the state (and maybe the US) is a yearly contest between students of opposing school colors, gold and purple, and they each write their own plays and perform them. We are also located in the center of the state of Alabama, with a star on the steps of Main Hall marking the point.

    Bang for the buck

    Some of the the dorms are better than others, depending on how well the students have treated the buildings. Not to say that they aren't clean, but places like Napier may seem pretty bad because most of the guys aren't big on cleaning up after themselves.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out in the game room, or visit on of the many club on campus like the anime Club, the Enviromental Club, or the Montevallo Organization of Gaming (MoG). Then there's always just hanging out with friends or outside the caf chatting it up. Never a dull moment at Montevallo, that's for sure.

    Food and Dining

    Naturally there will be the grease soaked something, but overall everything is great.

    Dorm Life

    People in the dorms are the type to invite you over for a movie. Don't be afraid to introduce yourself! The RA's are really cool too, in the majority.

    Academic Rigor

    Grades are a big focus, and this is definitely not a party school, though we do have fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    As long as you study, you will enjoy this school. Everyone is friendly, and all it takes is you introducing yourself to have friends for a lifetime.

    In three sentences

    A well structured school with a beautiful Campus. It focus mainly on the arts, but has wonderful Business and Sciences programs, along with a new Game Studies minor. Great place where nothing is really out of place.

  • 03/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are some really cool locally owned bars and restaurants that have shows every week. Eclipse only offers free concerts.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria is not the best, but they are working on getting better

    Dorm Life

    I love the dorm. My best friends live down the hall from me. Our events are fun and our RAs always make food to go along with movie night or something.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers here take their job and courses seriously. many are willing to work with you, but this is not an easy school.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a liberal arts school, but it is not an easy ride! Campus life is limited, but growing.

    In three sentences

    It is a traditional university with a lot of history. Most of the roads are brick and the buildings are the original structures. It is a quaint and comfortable campus.

  • 05/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police are everywhere, in a good way. Very safe campus.

    Greek Life

    Very prominent Greeks.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    College Night... You have to be there to understand

    Bang for the buck

    Very inexpensive school, very good atmosphere, great value

    What to do for fun

    There is Always a party on the weekends. Thursday-Saturday nights are always jumping in Montevallo.

    Food and Dining

    The food is average, and there are restaurants and market close by to supplement your belly and pantry

    Dorm Life

    Some dorms are older than others, but overall the dorms are comfortable and fun to live in.

    Academic Rigor

    Certain programs are pretty demanding (Mathematics, for example), but overall it is not too hard, and there are plenty of ways to get help with any subject.

    In three sentences

    I love Montevallo! Its an excellent school for academics and college life. I recommend it highly.

  • 06/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus is safe, we have campus security that patrols everywhere on campus during all hours.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am part of the Anime club as well as Spectrum which is our gay-straight alliance. There are so many more clubs and organizations, some of which I so not have the time for, but they are fun and exciting.

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student would fit in well here, we have the most diverse population of black, white, hispanic, and international students that I have ever seen.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have college night (which is our homecoming tradition) that is held on valentines weekend. During this time, we have Purple Victory and Gold Victory, both are student groups that put on a play all student written and student directed. This is the busiest time on campus, all students attend and most of the alumni come back just for the entertainment. College night is important to a lot of people and it is worth it!

    Bang for the buck

    I love this school and I would not transfer!

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot of stuff to do for fun. We have on campus organizations and such.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not that great, but the social aspect of dining is good.

    Dorm Life

    Living on campus is nice, you get more into campus life.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are hard, but if you put effort into them, they are worth everything. You take General education classes before major classes to ensure you are a well-rounded individual when you start the work-force.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you happen to be in Upward Bound, take advantage of the bridge class, it helps a lot with college. Join the Aspire program as well as the McNair program, both are really great and willing to help you through anything that comes your way.

    In three sentences

    I love the campus, it is really beautiful. The small class sizes are the best for learning. The University of Montevallo has an amazing diverse atmosphere that allows everyone to get along great.

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very low crime rate. Very well-lit campus, and emergency phones scattered throughout. Also, the campus is so small that you could run to your dorm in under five minutes.

    Greek Life

    Not like other campuses' Greek organizations - for the most part helpful and friendly. Lambda Chi has quite a few gay members in its ranks (and you'll find that the college is generally really accepting of LGBT students).

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm just about over-booked in clubs on campus. And I can attest to most of them being really good. The student leaders are dedicated, and there's frequently an event put on by the Anime Club or the Environmental Club or, in the future, the Yearbook, the Montage.

    Great for these types of students

    Well, we were recently put on a list of colleges that are the most accepting of socially awkward students (http://www.collegexpress.com/lists/list/schools-for-a-socially-awkward-student/423/), but it goes beyond that. We're generally genuinely nice people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    College Night! The best homecoming tradition in the country. Two competing sides produce two musicals in one month and compete over one weekend in February. You form bonds, you meet people, you get involved in a compelling, humongous work of art that is entirely student-run. Not much sleep is had throughout the month for the people directly involved in the production. Also, King House on campus is reported to be the first building in Alabama that had pane-glass windows. So that's something.

    Bang for the buck

    The University Planning Committee, which is in charge of university-wide events, wasn't all that great this past year. But there are so many other things to do; I and some friends started a ballroom dance club this past year, and a Sherlockian scion society is starting next year. In terms of academics, the fact that over 90% of the professors have terminal degrees in their fields is just fantastic. It's not a research university, so you won't be ignored by these brilliant people, either. They want to interact with you. In addition, the arts on campus are really stellar. The music department has high-quality concerts just about every week; the theatre program puts on well-produced and thought-provoking shows; and the art gallery in Bloch almost always has either a student's or a professional's work installed.

    What to do for fun

    Montevallo the town is small. However, you can visit the local coffee shop - which has local bands just about every weekend - or you can get involved in clubs, events, SGA, and several volunteer organizations. And it always helps that Birmingham is about 30 mins away, and another town, Alabaster, about 15 minutes away has some stores such as Target. In Birmingham, I suggest the Bottle Tree, which has fantastic acts for super cheap.

    Food and Dining

    Many, many students complain because in past years, it was atrocious. But recently, the staff has been making a conscious effort under new management. They've kept in touch with student opinion, they've implemented new features, and they've hosted new, interesting events. Also, they're focusing on sustainability in a major way: http://www.montevallo.edu/cafe/sustainability.shtm.

    Dorm Life

    Fun and pleasant - you could well get a bad roommate, but you can move out easily. There are monthly dorm events that help people get to know each other. Some dorms are better than others, of course. (I've always heard that Peck is a run-down party-oriented dorm and that Tutwiler is not such a great women's dorm. I've found that Lund, New Res and Brooke are the best.)

    Academic Rigor

    You'll find an academic challenge here. I recommend taking Honors classes, although really, these days Honors focuses mostly on specialty classes in lieu of math and sciences courses. If you want to be a History or an English major, Honors is for you, but if it's Business or the like, it will be more difficult. That being said, many of the classes are interesting ones like The Birth, Life and Death of the Cool.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get the University to download everything necessary for the year, and really hold its feet to the fire on registration and admission matters. Make sure they not only have received your transcript but have downloaded and printed it. Also, although I haven't done so, many people suggest rushing for a Greek organization, if only to meet people.

    In three sentences

    It's a friendly, close-knit campus that offers a wide variety of activities if you're willing to go out and look. The classes are generally top-notch, and bad experiences with teachers, though they happen, are rare. And almost (if not for an out-of-the-blue assault this past year) the only crime that happens on campus is burglary.

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is a priority. The campus police patrol the streets every hour. In the dorms, the police will have regular meetings with the residents about safety. Notices are emailed if anything suspicious happens and are placed as flyers all over the school. The campus police give students their office number and beg to give rides at nights if students have to get across campus. However, being such a small town, crime is at an extreme low.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is big if you want to be involved. If not, then ignore all the random things they do on campus. Most sororities and fraternities live in the dorms but one or two have their own house just off campus. Party life is avoidable if you want it to be, it's as easy as that. Look for it and you most certainly will find it. However, they also do volunteer work and host random events like sports tournaments, hunger games challenges, music performances, and game nights.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are different religious groups, an astronomy club, key club, math club, SGA, purple side, gold side, anime club, sports teams as well as recreational teams, environmentalism club, and many more.

    Great for these types of students

    Music lovers, art lovers, stand-outs, small town/classes appreciators, creative people, science geeks, math nerds, language buffs, nature lovers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We do not have a football team so our school does something a little different. We have something called College Night. Two opposing sides, The Purples and The Golds, spend all year writing, acting, directing, and building set for their own plays that they put on in Feburary. The team with the most points in sports, academics, leadership, and sportsmanship, as well as best play, win College Night. It's sort of a big deal here.

    Bang for the buck

    Montevallo is a credited university but a small one. We get a lot of credit for being such an artsy school but our sciences, maths, languages and other more practical majors are just as stimulating. The city is pretty safe and the history of the university is very interesting. Everything is pretty much pre-paid of the campus ID.

    What to do for fun

    The Student Center has a game room, pool table, air hockey, DDR, etc. We have a massive disk golf field. The pool in the gym is huge. The main and king quads are so peaceful to relax in during sunny weather. A beautiful park is just across the street. Napier Dormitory hosts regular art shows and music dances in the basement. Take Flight Week during the first week of school is a super awesome blast of school hosted parties. Sometimes there will be movies on main quad. Random events like celebrations and music festivals will be hosted on the quads. Twice a year the city puts on an Art Walk on main street.

    Food and Dining

    We have a cafe, which is so-so. They host interesting events every now and then in the adjacent Montevallo Room. The cafe is buffet style. We also have a Buffalo Wild Wings/Starbucks in the Student Center. Their food is great.

    Dorm Life

    There are two men's dorms, four women's dorms, and two co-ed dorms. The laundry is free, the RA's are super nice. The bathrooms are large but clean. The co-ed dorms are the best, but are a lot more pricey than the single gender dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Montevallo is an academically excellent school. The professors are knowledgeable of each of the students names, being so much smaller than larger universities, so they work twice as hard getting to know their students and helping them excel. Almost every single professor has a Ph.D

    Tips for prospective students

    Tuition is much cheaper than other larger schools like University of Alabama or Auburn University. Don't worry about quarters. If living in the dorms, laundry is free. Your student ID is extremely important. Library stays open till the early morning. They also host mystery murder games every once in a while just for the fun of it.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful. The town and classes are small so I can easily keep up with the other students and my professors. Montevallo is one of the tops schools in Alabama for many wide topics of study: music, art, english, education, deaf education, theater as well as biology, math, chemistry, mass communications etc.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police are always patrolling the campus for any suspicious activity.

    What to do for fun

    Has different groups for everyone. Have movie night,college night etc...

    Food and Dining

    Campus cafeteria has a variety of different foods to choose from, regardless of ethnicity.

    Dorm Life

    independent student

    Academic Rigor

    Academics will help students to think outside the box.

    Tips for prospective students

    Feel free to call or email office personnel if you have questions, someone will be there to assist you in the right direction. Campus life is very accepting; a come as you are environment. Professors are very understanding.

    In three sentences

    Montevallo is very organized and prompt concerning deadlines and upcoming events. This university have several study organizations to help students with classroom assignments and job fairs. Montevallo is a great college to attend.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are very rarely any reports of crime, but if one feels unsafe, they can contact the campus police to escort them to their destination.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs and activities to suit nearly any interest.

    Great for these types of students

    I would not be surprised if everyone could find something great here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    College Night is a major tradition. It is strange in that it is our version of a Homecoming. Other colleges have a rival that they interact with for Homecoming, Montevallo divides most of the student body for only late January to early February.

    Bang for the buck

    This depends entirely on you and your major. In the fields of mathematics, foreign languages, Education, Psychology and Social Work, no one can boast enough and I believe that I am not the only student that would rate this much more than 5 stars for these areas.

    What to do for fun

    UM has a plethora of clubs and organizations and facilities that will make your time with UM enjoyable. There is also the school after-class hangout, Eclipse Cafe & Bookstore.

    Food and Dining

    Again, I cannot appropriate vouch for this area either. Many sources will tell you that the food is what one would expect of a school cafeteria. However, some sources also say that the food greatly deteriorates near the end of each term.

    Dorm Life

    I cannot honestly vouch for this area, as I commuted from my parents until a year ago. If you would prefer to live just off-campus, there are many affordable apartments nearby. There are a few, however, that refuse to house students.

    Academic Rigor

    This depends entirely on your major. Some departments are supposedly very relaxed and are hardly strict. Others make it clear that if you are sincere in your interest into their program, they want to ensure you know the material and will make all of UM proud. However, as classes are small, professors can make a personal connection with their students and as a result can be very understanding if you need any accommodations.

    Tips for prospective students

    The University of Montevallo offers many Preview Days, or tours, to help determine if UM is right for you.

    In three sentences

    The atmosphere is perhaps the friendliest and most beautiful of all Alabama universities I have researched and looked into attending. Classes are very small, facilitating an intimate understanding between professors and students that allows for effective comprehension of subject materials. The entire university seems determined to assist all students in whatever endeavors they pursue.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school is really good about safety. If you ever feel unsafe at ANY time of the day, there are these stations that have a call button to the nearest police officer. They'll walk you to your destination and make sure everything is under control! But really, it is extremely safe!

    Greek Life

    There is a pretty large Greek community for the size of the school, I wouldn't know personally, but most of my friends are in one and love it. The school also has a enormous opposition towards hazing, if they find out it's been happening, you can bet there will be colossal consequences.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have so many clubs, and there is always opportunities to join any of them, they send an email about most of them!

    Great for these types of students

    ARTISTS. They have a good basis for other subjects, but this school is mainly for those who want to pursue something artistic like theatre, music, and visual arts.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Two words: College. Night. Instead of doing football as their homecoming tradition, they have two different sides (Purple and Gold) and put on a play completely led by students! It is an awesome display of creativity! It's also one of the longest college traditions!

    Bang for the buck

    The BEST school if you want to go to a real college for a price close to a community college. No joke, it's quite the deal!

    What to do for fun

    I know the mass amount of emails is annoying if you forget to check for a few days, but they are always sending out different events happening within the week! They almost always have something happening on the Quad, so don't feel like you're going to miss out on something!

    Food and Dining

    It isn't fine dining, but it's still very delicious! They give you a taste of what the viands are like there at orientation. They are even conscious to cater to those with vegetarian palates!

    Dorm Life

    Everyone who has lived there LOVES it. At least, that's what everyone has told me! I can't live there this year due to personal reasons, but I definitely want to next year!

    Academic Rigor

    They take things seriously and the people in charge of each subject and department really look out to help you! It's really warming to know you're being cared for!

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to orientation and Take Flight! It is very insightful and helps you learn your way around the kind of large campus. Don't worry though, there aren't as many people as it looks like!

    In three sentences

    This school is absolutely gorgeous! Everyone is friendly to one another and very accepting no matter you nationality or sexual preferences! There never seems to be a dull moment in this artistic place!

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I believe the only crime I've heard that has happened on campus in the past three years was a missing persons alert. Nothing to worry about, the University is very safe and the police are very nice.

    Greek Life

    I do not know MUCH about the greek life, but there are many on campus. Rush week is a big deal on campus and it can be very loud. From friends who are members, they treat their sororities or fraternities like family. I am certain that it takes up a lot of your time but in a very positive way.

    Clubs and Activities

    The University of Montevallo offers clubs from Enviromental, Astronomy to Harry Potter Quidwitch and Video Gaming. There is certainly a club for your interest!

    Great for these types of students

    Artistic Business oriented Human Developer Musically inclined Creative Writer or just an average High School graduate with no clue what the college fuss if about but wants to give it a shot. Through the curriculum and helpful advisors, you will find your passion!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In orientation, you are asked to choose a side. Instead of Roll Tide or War Eagle, we have have Purple or Gold. When you choose a side you become a member of a family. During homecoming week, each day is filled with competition against the opposite color. We have Volleyball matches, Soccer matches and even a theatre match. The theatre competition is one of the most important and extravagant event ending HW. Every year a new height is drawn and every year we are blown away. WHICH SIDE ARE YOU!?PURPLE OR GOLD. No pressure!

    Bang for the buck

    Cost of living is cheap and every establishment around the city and on campus take into consideration that we are college students. In comparison to other major Universities where an average one bedroom apartment cost 600+ utilities. In Montevallo for that amount, you can have all utilities including a separate room for $600 a month. Best thing to do is find a spacious house with a roommate for 200 a month and still have all the space you need for studying and staying away from social distractions. As well the cost of attendance averages around 12,000 a year. So...there you go =]

    What to do for fun

    For fun, I go to a local restaurant owned by a Professor from the University called Eclipse :Bookstore and Coffee. They serve the best sandwiches, coffee, milkshakes, salads, and brew in ALL of the town. As well they have free internet and live music mostly on Thursdays where you can sit on porch that surrounds the building or inside where you can dance right in front of the band or in the many rooms filled with books and board games for everyones enjoyment. Aswell, they are several events held on campus throughout the semester that welcome every student to participate. When I don't feel like being social, I go to the Student Activity Center where I take a Yoga class every Tuesday and Thursday and swim in the indoor pool. There is also a Disc Golf course that leads to a walking trail with a lake that I always partake in the Fall. Also, I help out in the Community Garden where we encourage students to buy a plot to began the growth of their very own plants. It's a touching experience that follows you through your entire year or years at the University. Montevallo is filled with hidden secrets just waiting to be discovered. START LOOKING!

    Food and Dining

    One thing that I anticipated was the cafeteria and the one at the University of Montevallo is great until the second month. Since it is a small cafeteria with a small staff, the food menu repeats itself several times before the end of the semester. On holidays we have big feasts and during Finals we are given a place to relax, dance and eat breakfast. the cafeteria certainly gives me a sense of home and I believe that's what they shoot for. There is a new restaurant in the Student Union Building only three minutes from the Cafeteria called 'WOW They serve a set menu with coffee and deserts and your lunch plan gives you Flex Points to buy from the restaurant. Spend wisely!

    Dorm Life

    Their is one new apartment style dormitory on campus but it is rather inconvenient considering cost and location but the rest of the dorms are rather cheap and close to the building where most of the major classes are held. Every hall has a Residential Advisor (RA) and they are pretty much your parents away from home. Any questions or concerns can be handled within the day and different events are held throughout the dormitories monthly. You meet a lot of people in a small amount of time which makes it easier to find a roommate to live off-campus your following year. The city of Montevallo is rather small in size and population so the cost of living is cheap.

    Academic Rigor

    Due to the fact that The University of Montevallo is a Liberal Arts school, the General Requirements are a lot more than any other University. So you will be taking a lot classes that so many students don't care about because it has NOTHING to do with their majors but every professor teaching these courses are just as passionate as they would be if they were teaching a higher level course of their profession/ degree. Every professor with very few exception have a P.H.D so they are very knowledgable and serious about what they teach. In my opinion, the courses I have taken so far have all stayed relevant in and out of the class with the homework. Yes, about every professor at the University gives you homework and actually checks that you do it for it betters your comprehension and keeps you thinking about the lecture while getting your ready for the next one. It can be tough sometimes juggling homework with other courses but it is all worth it and because of the small teacher:student ratio, the professors see how hard you've tried! I've learned a lot and it actually sticks!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to ask your professor for help if you do not understand, do not be afraid! They are there to help you and this is documented in their syllabus by OFFICE HOURS They seriously just wait for us to come in and bother them! Aswell, be sure to prepare for a smaller town so use your time wisely by volunteering for projects around the campus or joining clubs. It is worth it because otherwise you might feel alone. Everyone is social and welcoming so get out there!

    In three sentences

    The University of Montevallo has a great teacher to student ratio in which every student is encouraged to ask for help and share opinions. The University has a beautiful and welcoming campus that raises your spirits as you walk to your classes! Finally, the University's staff and Student Body are very personal and helpful in every way so that you are insured a successful experience !

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Big on Montevallo

    Great for these types of students

    Any.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    College Night! Sort of a homecoming type event. One of a kind.

    Bang for the buck

    They recently raised tuition -___-

    What to do for fun

    Hang out and have fun any and everywhere! We also visit the game room in the SUB from time to time.

    Tips for prospective students

    The dorms aren't to die for; however New Res is the exception. The dorms do allow for more freedom and leeway as compared to dorms on other campuses I've visited/stayed in.

    In three sentences

    The University has a wonderful campus. My freshman year was amazing. I've never attended another school so it's hard to compare to what other schools are like.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 24 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is awesome, they are all over place, 24 hours a day seven days a week!

    Greek Life

    Yes, Greek life exist, but remember this is a small university. Therefore, the chapters are small.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs and activities for student involvement

    Great for these types of students

    Artsy, drama, school teachers

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The ghost of one the resident halls (dorms) the bricked streets and trees, trees, trees...

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, I think you get your bang for your buck!

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of activities on campus to do for fun! Fun begins in your dorm. You will meet some many people that are a lot like you. Activities on campus is centered around what you like to do.

    Food and Dining

    The Caf is open all day. If you live in the dorm, you will have a meal card. This card allows you to eat three meals per day. Just like at home, some meals are better than others but over all it's pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great! I have a private room and I love it. My dorm is my home/room away from home! When I'm at home, I like privacy. However, there are lots of activities that go on in the halls. There's never a boring moment.

    Academic Rigor

    Montevallo is a college, you are expected to perform in the classroom as a college student. From my experience, AP classes in high school prepared me for college classes but are far from college classes. It's important to stay focused and keep your instructor's office telephone number in your cell phone!

    Tips for prospective students

    Drive onto the campus focused and prepared to get involved. Even though the campus is small, there are tons of activities to explore. Keep up with all of your personal items and be mindful of the company that you keep!

    In three sentences

    Montevallo is an excellent Liberal Arts School that caters to the needs of each student. Classes are small and the teachers know their students by name. The campus is secured and the students feel safe.

  • 08/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 25 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Artsy people, not afraid of haunted places, education majors, and nerdy kids! Not to mention the socially awkward.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Montevallo doesn't have a football team, so we don't have a 'Homecoming' We have what's known as College Night, where students write, act, compose and completely make a play for their respective side, Purple or Gold, and do tons of crazy stuff to rack up points for their side to win!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to go to your adviser asap when it's time to pick new classes! Foreign languages go really fast.

    In three sentences

    Montevallo is a great school for Education majors, business, or art/music majors! We have great teachers and getting involved on campus is very easy here. I couldn't have picked a better school.

  • 05/12/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 26 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I have looked at the options of clubs and things to do on campus and it looks like the choices go on and on. I cannot speak for this part yet but do know that from what I can see, there is just endless things to get involved with.

    Food and Dining

    I have eaten on campus twice now and I LOVE the food that I have eaten (Especially the BBQ) The dining hall is pretty cool looking, clean, and has many options of foods.

    Dorm Life

    I will be living on campus and do not know who my room mate will be. I am a little scared but mostly excited to get on my own this coming fall to start a new chapter of my life.

    Academic Rigor

    There were so many fun and interesting classes to choose from and I cannot wait to get started in my college life. I am excited that the classes are very small and that makes for a great education.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would be proud to have people from all areas of the country come to this little hidden secret of the country. I think anyone would enjoy the nice area that U of M is in.

    In three sentences

    I have taken two tours so far of the school. One tour was my initial tour and the next was for the accepted student day. I am very impressed with how beautiful the campus is.

  • 09/10/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    27 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    College Night! It's a massive activity involving friendly competition and completely student led activities!

    Bang for the buck

    Everything you could want in a small state college at a low price!

    What to do for fun

    There is about a million clubs and many choices for Greek Life.

    Food and Dining

    Very flexible meal plan. The food is awesome with a lot of choices. Also, a on campus Starbucks.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are beautiful! There are so many different choices to accommodate every type of student.

    Academic Rigor

    While the curriculum isn't always easy, the teachers are more than willing to help you out. They really challenge you, but give you all the resources for you to be successful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find out about the Honors Program and all the ways teachers will help you. They offer free tutoring, essay reviews, and the professors are very willing to take the time to help you.

    In three sentences

    Everything about this University is wonderful. It has a beautiful campus, generally nice students, and personalized class experience. If you'd like a smaller school with teachers willing to give one on one time, it's perfect for you!

  • 09/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are an art student or and education student this is a great school for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our school doesn't have a football team but we have college week which is our homecoming.

    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do especially if you live on campus, there is the WOW center that everyone hangs out.

    Food and Dining

    The food can be really great or really blehhh just depends on the day.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is amazing. I am meeting so man new friends and the RAs are awesome too.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you wear very comfortable shoes, the campus is mainly all cobble stone.

    In three sentences

    Montevallo is a great school if you enjoy the small town feel. It is a small but very sociable community on and off campus. And the classes aren't that big so you can have one on one time with the professors.

  • 12/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You will always see a campus police officer around

    What to do for fun

    Hang with friends, go to the tavern which is the club in Montevallo, frat parties

    Food and Dining

    The Cafe and the WOW are great places on campus to eat, but there are also other food places in town that are in walking distance

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring a laptop,just to have, there are many computer labs, but its just good to have your own. Bring food for your dorm, especially on the weekends, because the Cafe and sometimes the WOW will be closed.

    In three sentences

    Montevallo is a great, friendly, schooll. The people and teachers are really nice, and it is just a warm place to go to school

  • 12/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Montevallo's on-campus police patrol regularly. They're always helpful. And the local police even rolls through from time to time.

    Clubs and Activities

    Montevallo is a liberal arts college, and I'd expect a little more from it. However, there are plenty of clubs and activities to keep you interested.

    Bang for the buck

    Montevallo is a little over-priced for such a small school. However, it's a great school to attend, and it's privately owned.

    What to do for fun

    There aren't a lot of things around campus to do, but there are plenty of things within 10 to 15 miles of campus. Everything from movie theaters, to clubs. Also, on campus, there are intramural sports activities.

    Food and Dining

    There are a couple of places on campus, but several just off Main Street. Anything from KFC to McDonald's, Subway, and more.

    Dorm Life

    There are plenty of nice dorms on campus, and the facilities crew are very helpful.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are great, and most of the professors have great ways of teaching, so some of the courses don't seem as tough as they are.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find out as much as you can about receiving credits for AP courses, or military credit, etc. as SOON as you can.

    In three sentences

    Classes as a whole, are small. The professors are knowledgeable and always willing to assist. The campus is small, but beautiful.

  • 01/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    When I toured Montevallo, campus security was always on duty. They even have these little machines on the sidewalks where you can press the button if you need campus security for any reason (cool feature). I felt much safer there than at any of the other school I visited. Campus security here is fast. If you don't feel comfortable walking to your dorm alone at night just call campus police and they will escort you to your dorm, sometimes they even drive you to your dorm instead of walking!

    Greek Life

    Greek life here is nothing that I had imagined. Initially forced to go through recruitment with my roommate, I found that I really loved it. Everyone is so nice before and AFTER recruitment. I pledged Alpha Delta Pi and my roommate pledged Delta Gamma, however, we still get along great and will continue to room with each other next semester. Alabama has a NO HAZING policy and if you ever feel like you are being hazed you can always go to the president of your sorority or fraternity to get things straightened out. The Greek experience here is so much different than anywhere else and honestly if I had gone anywhere else I would not have rushed. Even if you don't know if it's for you go through recruitment anyway it's a great way to meet some pretty cool people and if you decide you don't like it then that's not a problem, you can drop it anytime.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is so much to do here! There are a variety of clubs such as Harry Potter Club, Writing Club, Environmental Club, LGBT, Running club etc. Montevallo has a girls and boys soccer team, baseball, softball, volleyball, and cheerleading. There are also intramural sports like ultimate frisbee and flag football. They are so much fun and as long as you know the game you're on the team.

    Great for these types of students

    If you're into small classes and a personal relationship with your professors. It's hard to get lost on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Apparently Montevallo is one of the most haunted college campuses, if you believe in that kind of stuff. Two memorable places to go in Montevallo: Eclipse and the Tavern. Eclipse is a bookstore/lounge/coffee house/sandwich shop that makes amazing milkshakes. The Tavern is the local bar. It's entertaining to watch the drunks sing on Karaoke night. If you can drink, it's only a dollar on Thursday nights. There is also a thing called college night. If you get a chance come to one before you start school here. It's tons of fun!

    Bang for the buck

    Montevallo is the cheapest school that I looked at that offered a Mass Communications program of good quality. With an average ACT score I got half my tuition paid for. The school also offers a lot of other non-merit based scholarships under the different departments.

    What to do for fun

    Sometimes they play movies on the quad or throw random dance parties. The Montevallo recreation center is amazing. It's got a weight room, indoor pool, and basketball court. There is also the campus lake which is so peaceful and perfect for off-the-dock-fishing or even campfires and s'mores. You can always find something to do on or off campus.

    Food and Dining

    Breakfast is always amazing! Lunch and Dinner vary, however, there is so much to choose from almost everyone is happy. We also have a Moe's and a Starbucks that you can eat at if you don't feel like going to the caf one day.

    Dorm Life

    Beautiful and clean dorms in both old and new buildings. I live in Brooke Hall and, besides the co-ed dorms, its the only all girls hall to have their own bathroom although it does get a little chilly from time to time. However, the community baths aren't so bad, they're always clean and you don't have to worry about someone walking in on you.

    Academic Rigor

    The Honors program is definitely something to look into. If you have had AP or IB classes and pass your tests you can definitely skip some classes. Also even if you don't get AP or IB credit even though you went through the courses already you won't be bored, however, you might have the highest grades in some of your classes which is a good cushion for your GPA. The professors here are astounding and always ready to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your application in as soon as you can. Also, other students at Montevallo have told me that you should get your housing application in early to get the best dorms. Take a tour, sit in on a class, and ask your tour guides as many questions as you want. Remember they are students here too and by now they know the ins and outs of the small town.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful. The student to teacher ratio is amazing, my biggest class is of 30 people. I absolutely love my sorority sisters and the Greek life here is like no other; Go Greek Unity!

  • 04/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Patrol cars always drive around campus to ensure everything is okay, plus there are street lamps all over campus with an emergency button you can press if needed, and a cop car will arrive and escort you to your building. You can even do that if you just don't feel very safe, even if nothing is happening. Also, dorms require not only a key to your personal door, but also an electronic card key to even get in the building. The dorms are very safe.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone interested in the fine arts: Theatre, Music, Art, Sculpting, Mass Communication, Ceramics, etc. Other degrees are also provided, of course, but this is a very artsy school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I've heard people say that two of the girls dorms- Main and Hanson- are haunted. I've never seen anything happen, but it's just interesting. :)

    What to do for fun

    Get involved! There are sports: baseball, basketball, tennis... College Night events that you can be a part of, including a musical that each side (Gold and Purple) put on for the school, there are many different groups and clubs to join, etc. There is always something to do here. You won't ever get bored! :)

    Food and Dining

    Personally, I like the food here, whereas some don't. If you don't want to eat in the cafeteria, there is a chicken wing cafe on campus and there are also fast food places right outside of the college campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are many different dorms, all have their pros and cons. Dorm life is great, it's a home away from home. But as for quality, it simply depends on what kind of dorm you choose. For instance, there are some with community bathrooms, some with private bathrooms in your room, and others that are student apartments, complete with a living space and kitchen. If you take a tour, you can see which ones you like and dislike.

    Academic Rigor

    It is very easy to learn here, as the classes are small and the teachers are always available. All of the teachers I've had so far are all engaging and love what they do. There are many resources for students to use if they need help, as well: the library is a great study space, UM has a free tutoring service, and there are student study lounges in practically all the buildings. People are nice and always willing to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students, don't be shy. This is a friendly school, and you'll easily find friends. UM has a fantastic event known as College Night, and there are two sides: Gold and Purple. Both sides stand for different things, so pick one and get involved! There are so many fun things you can do! And the most important thing: be yourself. UM welcomes all types of people, it's what we are known for. Embrace your unique qualities and flaunt them!

    In three sentences

    The University of Montevallo is a wonderful, small 4-year school based on diversity and the liberal arts. The teachers are excellent and very helpful, and is an easy learning environment because the classes are smaller than the average college class. I love this college because creativity is welcomed and freely expressed; it is an artistic haven.

  • 04/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the Tavern (the only bar), play frisbee, soccer....

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria gets repetitive.

    Dorm Life

    New Res is really nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging classes, but once you stay on top of it it is easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    live in New Res and get the 15 meals a week meal plan.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful during the spring. The people are very different and have hippy tendencies. The classes are small and most teachers are helpful.

  • 05/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Montevallo PD is in constant motion, doing routine checks on all parking lots and accessible roads on and around campus. Specialized phone posts are set up around and near campus. With the push of a button one will be connected to the police department who will answer the call and send a cruiser to your location.

    Clubs and Activities

    You will never be stuck looking for things to do. If the campus's event committee isn't running something, you still have your dorm, your club, intramural sports, a gym with an indoor pool, and more to keep you occupied.

    Great for these types of students

    Art students will feel more than at home here, as will Mass Communication students, like myself. One of our other larger majors is accounting and I have been told that the campus's natural relaxing quality takes a lot of the stress of the courses off of these students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    King's House in the center of campus is rumored to be haunted, but that's pretty much it.

    Bang for the buck

    The quality of the education is fantastic despite the price of tuition. The social dynamic is both friendly and instructive.

    What to do for fun

    Montevallo has numerous fun activities in the form of AIM, or Active in Montevallo, events planned out by a student-run committee. There are also clubs that plan their own events across, and off, campus. Even still, however, there are intramural sports being held at all times the school's primary sports are in the off-season.

    Food and Dining

    A virtual round-the-clock buffet offers more than enough to fill up on everyday. The food is good and the staff is energetic.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is second to none. All of the halls have their own individual events going on based on the desires and interests of the residents that inhabit them.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are quite rigorous, but they are made easier by the personalities and abilities of the teachers involved. This allows one to learn all the necessities in a manner that is easy to undertake.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay in touch with your teachers. They are very easy to get along with and can definitely help with any of the issues you may have as a new student. Also, get into a club. The campus is a very social one, so even if you don't you will not lack the interaction. However, the clubs on campus allow for a much more rewarding campus experience.

    In three sentences

    The environment at the school is very dynamic, yet calm at the same time. It facilitates the learning experience, allowing for any easy transition into college life. The people are also some of the nicest people one can ever have the fortune to meet.

  • 06/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus is relatively safe. The campus police department does an excellent job. There are escort services for late night trips across campus.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is very rich at UM. They're everywhere.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs and activities for all walks of life. And there are opportunities to create your own clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Artistic students and athletes create the bulk of the student body while the more academic students excel in SGA and are well known in their departments. Montevallo is great for any type of student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    College Night is huge here. It's the longest running homecoming tradition in the nation. Also King House and Main Hall are allegedly haunted.

    Bang for the buck

    Montevallo is definitely worth your money. You'll be a professional in your field by the time you graduate. You get what you pay for. However I don't feel like you get what you pay for by way of food services.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't too great and there isn't much variety.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are average. New Res and Peck are the best ones.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are tough but worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't come to Montevallo expecting a party campus. Academics are taken very seriously here. It's not Alabama or Auburn. You have to stay focused.

    In three sentences

    Montevallo is a very diverse campus. There's a social group for everyone. We don't have a football team.

  • 06/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are just a call away when you need them. There are also emergency response button stations all over campus that police respond to. If you don't want to walk back to your dorm at night, there is an Escort Service you can call at anytime and police will take you back to your dorm.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is highly involved with all campus activities. There are five sororities (Alpha Delta Pi, Alpha Gamma Delta, Chi Omega, Delta Gamma, Phi Mu) and three fraternities (Alpha Tau Omega, Alpha Kappa Lambda, Lambda Chi Alpha) on campus. All but Alpha Tau Omega live in the residence halls. Everyone is dedicated to their philanthropies and helps out around campus; they help freshman carry their things to their rooms on Freshman Move-In Day. I'm very glad I went Greek here! If you're scared of going Greek on a larger campus, try it out here. It's much cheaper and laid back, with all the great benefits of brother/sisterhood.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a large amount of clubs - Spectrum, University Program Council, Chess Club, Anime Club, Astronomy Club, and the like. There are also independent intramural teams who are not part of the official Montevallo sports teams, and they play a variety of sports year-round. Everyone can find a club they enjoy here.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a close to home feel. Montevallo has a very homey feeling to its campus. It's also a beautiful campus for those who appreciate nature, especially in the fall. If you're a theater major, this place will be heaven.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our homecoming tradition, College Night, is one of the oldest homecoming traditions in the United States. Rather than having an arch-rival school, the school divides into two sides - Gold Victory and Purple Victory (for the school's colors). They have different mottos - GV's is There's always a spot open in the circle, and PV's is A closed circle is a circle united. The two sides participate in a variety of intramural sports and activities, with full cheer teams. But the largest event are the two musicals. Each side creates, composes, and directs a completely original one-act musical, entirely by the student body. Alum from years past often come back to College Night to watch the musicals.

    Bang for the buck

    If you're in state, it's worth the money. A nice liberal arts education for a good price. I wouldn't be as vigorous about the price if you're out of state, though, unless you really love the school.

    What to do for fun

    I will not lie - there is pretty much nothing to do on the weekends. Most students go home and the place becomes something of a ghost town. During the week, however, there's a lot to do. The university sends out a detailed list of events every week so students will know what is happening on campus, and almost all programs are open to all students.

    Food and Dining

    The food has been improved this year with a new company working the cafeteria. There is a wide variety of food to choose from, and pizza and salad is always available.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are like any other school dorms. There's a wide variety of dorm styles for different prices. Some dorms are more connected than others. Sororities and fraternities also take up certain halls in the dorms; only one fraternity has a house.

    Academic Rigor

    The Honors Program is meant to challenge the best and the brightest, and the classes I've seen so far are very challenging! There's also a good variety of electives. Classes are challenging in all areas. All of my sorority sisters have lots of study time to get work done. If you're dedicated and a hard worker, it'll be easier.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply to scholarships as early as possible! I missed out on a full ride because of some postage errors. Also, do well in class! Even though Montevallo is small, academics are important. If you do plan on going here, I highly recommend getting involved. We have a lot of organizations for such a small college.

    In three sentences

    Montevallo is a fantastic school for its size! Everyone is very nice and helpful during admissions processes and settling in. Even the university's president is dedicated to his students.

  • 07/23/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    37 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food is good and the dinning area is nice. There are a few fast food places near the school as well/

    Dorm Life

    The dorms on the outside are very nice and have great character. The inside I can't say due to the fact I did not look inside when on my campus tour.

    In three sentences

    The University of Montevallo is an excellent artsy school. A perfect fit for an art major and other majors alike. The campus is well kept and the staff are very friendly.

  • 11/14/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    38 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food there is great and with many choices of what to eat, you will never run out of options.

    Dorm Life

    There is a lot of social activities that happen.

    Academic Rigor

    From what I hear they have some of the best academics.

    In three sentences

    I love everything about Montevallo-how friendly they are, how small the class size are and the whole sense of community there.

  • 11/20/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    39 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many thing to do just look for it. Fun is just like air, it is everywhere.

    Food and Dining

    Have not eaten there so no comment.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life seems exciting. Imagine having someone doing a dance or singing while you walk around. It is like a whole new High School Musical or in this case College Musical.

    Academic Rigor

    For right now the academic is at a decent rate.

    Tips for prospective students

    This college has potential to make you a performer. If you like it give it a chance.

    In three sentences

    From the looks of it, this college is more for those who are achieving a degree in teaching, fine arts,like drama, opera, etc. This college seems fine. It looks exciting too.

  • 01/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police will escort you to your dorm from your car so that you don't have to walk by yourself at night.

    Great for these types of students

    Art majors, psychology majors, athletes, speech pathology majors. Theater is really big here, too.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    College Night: the oldest homecoming tradition in history. That's a Jeopardy question right there.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on. They have movies shown every now and then, and there is always some kind of activity happening. College Night is the best, though.

    Food and Dining

    Now that there is a new vendor, the cafeteria is AMAZING. The food has not been disappointing at all this year. I really love going to the caf. Moe's is great too, but it's really expensive.

    Dorm Life

    I love living in the dorms because you meet so many people, and you are never truly alone. Also, you don't have to pay rent and utilities so that is a major plus, for me.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are hard, but you learn so much.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your best. Try your hardest. Take advantage of every opportunity to enjoy your time here. Participate in on-campus activities, especially College Night.

    In three sentences

    UM makes me want to learn more about my field of study. They truly care about your academic progress. They strive to make sure you are on the right track, and that you succeed.

  • 01/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Well like I said earlier, if you're looking for that out my parents home for the first time, let loose, get crazy time, this isn't it.

    Academic Rigor

    Maybe a 3 1/2. At least to me my educational experience elsewhere has been much more challenging and getting a 4.0 seemed out of reach there. Here I got a 4.0 in graduate school, which seems like it should be more difficult than undergrad. It could just be my level of interest though. But the fact that if students complain enough about a test being on the same day a big project is due something gets moved, that would NEVER happen at the universities I previously attended, heck I don't think my high school would have done that!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a big party college feel experience don't go here. If you are serious about your education this a great choice, if you didn't get in to a higher ranked university. The campus is beautiful and it's a relaxing environment so that is what you should be looking for if you are planning to attend u of m.

    In three sentences

    It is a small university located in a small town. Don't let the size fool you there is plenty of diversity here. The small size is great for classes when you want a more one on one experience, professors always have time for you.

  • 04/15/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    42 of 46

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Montevallo has such a beautiful campus and welcoming faculty. The representative in my area, Randy Engle, is so helpful. There isn't much you could manage to dislike about the school. It's a wonderful liberal arts college and my soon to be home for the next few years.

  • 04/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    5 Sororities 4 Fraternities

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    College Night is the oldest homecoming tradition in the country. It's hard to explain but it divides the school in two and can make enemies out of friends depending on which side you choose.

    What to do for fun

    You can go to Orr park or Falling Rock to hike and enjoy the outdoors but that is about it.

    Food and Dining

    Like I states previously, there are very few restaurants here not counting fast food. The Caf is pretty good, not too much to complain about.

    Dorm Life

    It varies on the dorm you live in. New Res is the newest and nicest. I enjoyed my time in Main even though the communal bathrooms were pretty gross. Main offers larger dorm rooms because the building is so old. And every sink in Main needs to be replaced because they are all gross.

    Academic Rigor

    Minimal.

    Tips for prospective students

    You will be so bored on the weekends, should you choose to stay. Most everyone goes home and you'll have to make your own fun which can be hard. This town does not support the college with businesses and restaurants catered to the students here which is extremely frustrating. The closest Walmart is 10 miles away and so is the rest of the shopping.

    In three sentences

    This school very bland academically and socially. I am bored and not challenged at all and I feel as if everything here is stale and old and needs to be gutted. Montevallo needs new facilities and a major facelift to attract more students.

  • 05/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus, even at night if I'm alone.

    Great for these types of students

    There's a place for every kind of student at UM. Especially nontraditional students. We accept everyone from hippies to prep school kids with open arms.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    College Night! The oldest homecoming tradition in the country. We don't have football at UM, we have dueling musicals for three days and spirit that can be heard for miles!

    Bang for the buck

    I feel like I'm getting a quality education at Montevallo.

    What to do for fun

    Montevallo has plenty of clubs and cultural events to attend. Also, Eclipse (a cool, hipster coffee shop/bar) and the Tavern (bar/club) are right off campus if you're looking for something fun to do on a night out!

    Food and Dining

    The caf is actually really good! Don't miss out on Fried Chicken Fridays!

    Dorm Life

    I love dorm life. Never loud or dirty, the dorms at Montevallo are great.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are tough, but never impossible. Always talk to your professors if you're struggling. They'll always lend a helping hand.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors. The classes are small, and they really care about you as a person! Get involved with college night (PV). It's the oldest homecoming tradition in the country, and you won't want to miss out. Be friendly. By the end of freshman year, you'll know everyone.

    In three sentences

    Montevallo is amazing. A close knit, friendly community, students who are willing to reach a little out of their comfort zone thrive here. I wouldn't trade attending school here for the world.

  • 05/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police literally patrol 24/7. They get the job done and they have eyes like a hawks.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life seems to be rather fruitful. We have quite a few sororities and fraternities. Just got some Fiji's on campus!

    Clubs and Activities

    There's pretty much a club for anything... and if there isn't you can create one!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    College Night! The longest homecoming tradition in the U.S.! A big competition between the Purple and Gold sides which includes a musical, sports, and other fun stuff. Youtube it!

    Bang for the buck

    I assume this is referring to if you're getting your money's worth, and I would say you are. It's a private education for a public education cost which is a recruitment line I've heard quite a few times.

    What to do for fun

    The Tavern a bar, Eclipse a coffee shop, the SAC our fitness center, and Farmer Hall which has a game room. Other than that there are parks and a University lake. Close towns that have a wider variety of stores.

    Food and Dining

    Just got a new cafeteria company, food is delicious. All-you-can-eat buffet style!

    Dorm Life

    Some dorms are better than others. Lots of opportunities to meet new people and the management staff (RA's) do their job pretty well.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors push you hard but are fully aware that it's your money you're wasting if you don't apply yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open to alternative lifestyles and sexuality. 5:1 girl to guy ratio, so that's nice. Be open and friendly to other people or you'll never make friends! Pay attention in your classes, the professors will help if you need it.

    In three sentences

    Great teachers with great courses. Friendly students and staff for the most part. Beautiful campus, period.

  • 05/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    College Night. You have to see it to believe it.

    What to do for fun

    Eclipse is the local coffee house within walking distance from campus and has regular open-mic nights. There is a lake within walking distance as well that has recently offered canoeing and kayaking in the spring. A golf course and walking track are there also.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria and Moe's/Starbucks are the only places to use dining credits, meaning it is easy to get sick of eating the foods on campus. I found myself eating off campus a lot because I wanted more variety.

    Dorm Life

    The housing facilities are very nice compared to most schools. People are like family in their halls and plan activities with their hallmates.

    Academic Rigor

    Montevallo professors are readily available to help and encourage their students. I find that the school prides itself on the academic achievements of its students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Montevallo is a small town, so get used to knowing half the people you run into on the sidewalk.

    In three sentences

    The University of Montevallo offers a diverse atmosphere that gives its students a well-rounded education in liberal arts. The student body is small (around 2,000) and diverse in religion, ethnicity, and background. Professors are well-educated in their fields and are willing to give their students individual attention and help in their courses.