Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

University of Mount Olive Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/14/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Everything is right in the place it should be here.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like a small school, with nice people, and you don't mind not having anything around you its a good school for you to go to.

    Bang for the buck

    It might be a little expensive but it is worth ever penny.

    Am enjoying being here

    I'm from a big city and Mount Olive is a very small place.

    Am learning a lot

    You get every type of help you may need and everyone is very nice.

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe college.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many.

    What to do for fun

    Chill with friends and go to beach.

    Dorm Life

    It is pretty cool because there are plent of pople to meet.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a great school and do ur best no matter where u attend.

    In three sentences

    Mount Olive is a wonderful school. It based on the christian faithbut welcome all religions to be apart of it. It has a great staff ho ctually cae bout u.

  • 05/05/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Focused. Students who want to focus and not be distracted all day everyday.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just join clubs, make friends you make your college experience there.

  • 01/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Read books

    Food and Dining

    Eat light meals before attending class to prevent from being sluggish.

    Dorm Life

    Never participated in dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Business Administration courses could be a challenge if not having worked prior in the field.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focus and never give up!

    In three sentences

    The college is located near by. I will be attending the campus once a week. The college is christian base.

  • 11/17/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This university is well monitored. Help stations are available upon emergency or even if you just need someone to walk you to your car. Campus safety regulators are available 24/7 and there is a number to call on every building if you need attention.

    Clubs and Activities

    This university has an abundant amount of clubs and activities, from bowling, ball room dancing to beta club and martial arts club. They also have movie nights and concerts available.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want a friendly enviorment with exceptional academics.

    Bang for the buck

    Absolutely worth the money. Being a private university they offer smaller classes and more individual attention to meet your needs and get you the education you want.

    Food and Dining

    Wonderful meals. You may miss home cooked meals but the food here can be a much better substitute than any fast food restaurant.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are well taken care of and improving even more with time. RA's are available for each dorm, for students to talk to and get extra emotional or academic help with.

    Academic Rigor

    This university provides each academic path with its own challenges and support. Tutoring is available upon request and no students are left behind to fail.

    In three sentences

    Absolutely wonderful university! They are very much like a family and well prepared to handle individual matters. They make everyone feel welcomed no matter your worries.

  • 05/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They offer all kinds of activities. Many days there will be neat activities in the lunch room such as; wax hands or skins for your computer!

    Food and Dining

    The dining room is very nice, clean, and modern. It's just right and not too crowded. There is also a great choice of food.

    Dorm Life

    They have a great living system. Freshman live in dorms and then as you progress in class rank, you can progress up to appartments at no extra charge!!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Do all homework and go to class. If you do that, you'll do great!

    In three sentences

    Mount Olive College is a wonderful school. They have great teachers who really know what their teaching and great facilities. It is a beautiful campus and a wonderful place to learn.

  • 05/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I take classes at a satelite campus.

    Bang for the buck

    I think I am getting a quality education for the amount of money I am paying.

    What to do for fun

    I like to hunt, fish, and golf.

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat at the school.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The curriculum is challenging but the knowledgeable instructors make it fun and easy to learn.

    In three sentences

    Mount Olive makes things easy to get started at school. I have enjoyed attending this school thus far. They offer a wide variety of programs and great instructors.

  • 05/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The things that the students do for fun at Mount Olive College is attend the Campus Activity Board events, Sporting Events, and Events put on by the college staff.

    Food and Dining

    The food is catered by Pioneer Catering Service, they provide students with a variety of foods such as a salad bar, pizza station and sub station. I personally rate the food on campus as a 8, the food is pretty good 90 percent of the time. There is always a day once a month there is a special dinner that honors students cultures.

    Dorm Life

    Mount Olive College has a total of three dormitories two on campus and one off campus. All freshman students live in the dorms on campus and the returning students stay in the off campus dorms or an the college apartments. The dorms are comes full furnished with desk, drawers, and bed.

    Academic Rigor

    The difficulty of the classes is depends on the professors and the subject. All of the professors on staff expect that all students do their very best so the professors believe in pushing their students to academic success. Mount Olive College makes sure that all students that achieve academic excellence is awarded for their hard work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Mount Olive College offers a Christian Environment, the school is soiled with great values. If you are looking for a college that caters to all cultures Mount Olive College is the place. Mount Olive College campus life is great with a newly renovated game room and events available free of charge to all students. Mount Olive College believes in helping students achieve their dreams and are always willing to help a student in need with an loving and dedicated staff.

    In three sentences

    The college has a warm family type of environment. The smaller class sizes are great. Offers free tutoring services to all students.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I would give Mount Olive campus in Wilmington a 4 out of 5 because it is very safe. There is a security guard in the building during night classes. The area is not very lit however I feel safe leaving the building after class because of the security guards presence.

    Great for these types of students

    Mount Olive is perfect for the working adult. Mount Olive maintains a business feel while learning. The environment reminds students of a training class at work.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I love that Mount Olive have satellite campuses, the satellite campuses make it possible for more people to obtain an education while increasing enrollment for the college. The Wilmington locations give students a business/ work place type feel. When I go to school the transition from work is almost seamless.

    Bang for the buck

    I would give Mount Olive a 4 out of 5 for bang for the buck. Education is essential to success therefore I think the college should drop tuition to that of public schools. Mount Olive provide students with a good education however if the cost was less more people would attend.

    What to do for fun

    I would give Mount Olive a 4 out of 5. The school constantly send out emails about events going on on campus. The city of Mount Olive is very small therefore planning events to occupy student's time is very important. Mount Olive appear to make this happen by having sporting events, movies and activities during the various holidays.

    Academic Rigor

    I would give Mount Olive a 5 in academic rigor. The evening college prepares a student for graduate studies. While the evening classes are fast students learn a great deal of information because more is expected out of the student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Student at any college or university should remain steady fast despite obstacles that may come your way. If a student has problems or need any help go to your advisor as soon as possible, most problems can be resolved with assistance. Lastly, read as much as possible so that you are able to grasp the materials in the course(s).

    In three sentences

    Mount Olive rates 9 out of 10 because the school makes education obtainable for the non-traditional student. The College allows a working adult the opportunity to advance in their career while still supporting their families. Mount Olive works with their faculty and student to make dreams come true.

  • 09/18/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    10 of 21

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I love that the classes are smaller and more intimate. I have heard great things about this school, their campus and academics. I plan applying to this school, it looks like a great place to get a good education, while growing in your faith.

  • 09/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Good.

    Bang for the buck

    THE TUITION IS HIGHER THAN MOST COLLEGES IN THE AREA.

    Academic Rigor

    I STUDY HARD

    Tips for prospective students

    BEING THAT MOUNT OLIVE COLLEGE AT NEW BERN IS MAINLY FOR WORKING ADULTS, A STUDENT SHOULD TAKE ADVANTAGE OF THE OPPORTUNITY TO PURSUE A CAREER IN THEIR FIELD OF STUDY WHILE ATTENDING MOUNT OLIVE COLLEGE AT NEW BERN.

    In three sentences

    I HAVE NOT ATTENDED THE COLLEGE YET. I HAVE BEEN ACCEPTED BUT MY SEMESTER DOES NOT START UNTIL OCTOBER 22, 2012. I AM SURE I WILL RECEIVE GOOD INSTRUCTION IN MY MAJOR.

  • 10/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am a CFFA member. There are many clubs.

    Bang for the buck

    Being a private college, the cost is higher. However; there are plenty of scholarship options. I like the smaller atmosphere for starting out, being on my own, and when I need help.

    What to do for fun

    The campus has plenty of organizations from which to choose and the Campus Activity Board plans campus wide activities for all.

    Food and Dining

    The food is much better than other campuses. The hours are very convenient.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are average size from others I've seen. You will learn to live with what is necessary.

    Academic Rigor

    Just because it is a small school doesn't mean it is easy. We have highly professional staff that are willing to help if you have problems.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early, Increase your SAT for eligibility into the Honors program, visit the college. It's a small town but the college holds great opportunities for academic and social involvement.

  • 11/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There is always something to do at Mount Olive College!

    Great for these types of students

    athletics

    What to do for fun

    Join the CAB club! Go to the gym, it's free for all students!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for a lot of work. Don't wait until the last minute to study for a test. When, studying, think critically about the content so that you can do good on tests.

    In three sentences

    Mount Olive College has professors that care about their students. I has various locations that students can go to for help with their homework and classes. With clubs and sports, there is always something to do at Mount Olive College!

  • 01/18/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    14 of 21

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    This school looks cool.

  • 03/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    0 acts of violence

    Great for these types of students

    Working, family oriented

    What to do for fun

    I'm a full time parent and worker, fun is not a option right now!

    Food and Dining

    Places to eat close in the area by this campus, but there is no cafe'

    Dorm Life

    No dorms on this campus

    Academic Rigor

    Heavy work loads, but awesome instructors.

    Tips for prospective students

    These courses are not for the faint of heart. You will succeed in these programs only if you have your head on straight.

    In three sentences

    Mount Olive of Wilmington has an excellent program for the working adult on the go. I couldn't love the program or the educators at this establishment more. Too helpful!

  • 04/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security and a campus police and there are also alert polls around the school in different areas.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs, there is one for each major, sports club, zumba club, fishing, swimming, boating, beta, and many more.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is good for any type of students, religious, African Americans, Hispanics, Asians, Africans, and many more. It is good to learn with so many different types of people. That is a good way to learn information about other countries and states.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Mount Olive have a special tradition that they do for Christmas, relay for life, The church and Chaplin is doing things every week, and the month of April is Mount Olive Pickle Festival. They also do special enrollment day for new coming students.

    Bang for the buck

    There is so much to learn and to know. I have been attending for three years and this is my senior year. I like that they are for you getting your education and they will go out their way to help you and get you the help you need to complete your major. The areas that a student needs help in they will not wait until you fell they will tell you that you need help in that area and where to go get help from so that you can be successful.

    What to do for fun

    There is always some type of activity going on every week. And like the month of April The college links in with the Pickle Festival.

    Food and Dining

    They have a cafeteria and dinning hall, they also have vending machines and something that they call star bucks that you can use at other restaurants if you do not wish to eat in the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    I do not know much about dorm life. I live off campus. I have two adopted children that I live with. One is 8 and the other one is 10.

    Academic Rigor

    Do you best, study hard, and be proud at what you do and learn. Most academic classes correlate together; so the information you learn in one class you will be able to use in another class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take pride in your work. If you need help please do not be afraid to ask. Do not wait until you know that you fail before asking for help. If need keep in check with guidance counselor. Have a positive outlook in your major. And be proud of your work and make sure you have done your best.

    In three sentences

    Mount Olive College is a spiritual school that focus on the student's learning ability and is high in quality of the major that the student takes. There is a Chaplin on campus for students that needs spiritual guidance. There are also support groups to help where a student needs help at or in.

  • 05/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    A little pricier than a public university, but the classes are small and professor can spend more time helping you.

    Food and Dining

    I do not attend classes on the campus

    Dorm Life

    Only rated this as a 3 becuase I do not live on the campus and only attend via online, so I have no idea what the dorms are like

    Tips for prospective students

    Since its a private college, tuition can be a little more expensive, but the financial aid office is wonderful.

    In three sentences

    The online degree option is the only way I would be able to complete by degree. There are a large amount of satellite campus for convience. Class sizes are small allowing for individulaized assistance.

  • 07/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is everywhere as well as the safety alert poles located throughout the campus.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Mount Olive has top sports and great clubs. Maybe not as many as big colleges but for being a small school, it has plenty.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for athletes or those used to small town life.

    Bang for the buck

    For a private college Mount Olive is very cheap around 23 or 24k and tuition usually raises about $700 when it does raise which is minuscule compared to most colleges.

    What to do for fun

    Mount Olive is not located in the most fun area. If you want something to do it is at least a fifteen minute drive away, depending on what you're looking for it can be an hour.

    Food and Dining

    The food is what you would expect for an all you can eat cafeteria catering to large amounts of people. It isn't amazing but it has gotten better with the hiring of more cooking staff.

    Dorm Life

    Compared to most of the colleges I visited Mount Olive has fairly spacious dorms. Laundry facilities are free which is great, and throughout the years you can upgrade your residence.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at times can be challenging if you don't stay on top of everything. But if you work together with your professors they are usually willing to help and just want what is in your best interest.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest learning basic life skills as a general rule for any school one would go to. For Mount Olive, be communicative to the administrators, professors, and everyone. They are very interesting and people are always willing to help.

    In three sentences

    I would rate Mount Olive as a top private college for the price. It has great athletic teams as well as great academics. They emphasize the family appeal, and it is a great place to go.

  • 03/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is security present while classes are in session.

    Bang for the buck

    It is costly but irresistibly convenient for those who must work while attending school and for those who have children.

    Food and Dining

    There is no cafeteria at the Wilmington campus

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not take online classes unless you are dedicated and responsible. Order books in a timely fashion. Start out at community college and then transfer to reduce tuition costs.

    In three sentences

    Mt. Olive College is small, flexible, and favorable. The small class sizes make learning easier and the flexible schedules allow full time employees to attend school full time. I highly recommend to all college students.

  • 06/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is very easy to get along with. They are always patrolling the campus to make sure everything is in order and to ensure everyone's safety.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is an annual Thanksgiving Day dinner in which the staff serves the students food.

    What to do for fun

    There is a beach volleyball court always available for everyone to use, along with a gym that has FREE service to students. There a lot of clubs and organizations to get involved in, and some are even related to many majors that are offered at the University of Mount Olive. A lot of the students go to Goldsboro to go to the malls and movies and just go out to have a fun time.

    Food and Dining

    There is always such good food that served to students. It's so easy to move around to get what you need, and the service is quick to keep lines moving. The food is always hot, unless it doesn't need to be and the dining hours are very reasonable for everyone's schedules.

    Dorm Life

    Living with a roommate can be scary at first, but become friends with your roommate. Get to know them to see how they are like. Once you are friends, there is a level of comfort and you will enjoy being in their company.

    Academic Rigor

    There is writing all across the board. I like that because it broadens your ideas about what you think and feel about a certain topic. It also refines your writing skills.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always stay on top of your assignments, deadlines come sooner than later. Get to know your professors and gain a personal relationship with them; this will help out with many opportunities including work. Make friends and reach out to people, having connections can help out when something is needed.

    In three sentences

    It is a very welcoming community. All of the professors, instructors, and various staff are always so nice and are always a big help. All of the students are friendly and it is so easy to make new friends.

  • 10/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I would get to know everybody.

    Tips for prospective students

    The teachers and staff will work with you no matter what. Your classmates will eventually become your friends. The bond itself here is amazing.

    In three sentences

    I started going here at the beginning of the year. So far , I love my experience here. The staff is grrrrrreat.