Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

University of Mount Union Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/08/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Criminal Justice, Athletic Training, Music, Math, Computer Science.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take your time on your enterance essays, they could be worth up to $7,000 in grants!

  • 12/28/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Mount Union has especially great education, music, business, athletics, and science departments. However, no department lacks. You will find what you want at Mount Union.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out all of the scholarships you can receive. If you have any experience with music at all, audition for a music scholarship. The University of Mount Union is very generous, and musicians at all different levels receive good scholarships just to participate in one ensemble.

    Bang for the buck

    The University of Mount Union may be expensive, but there is not a school more generous with scholarships. By the time you receive your scholarships, you will be paying a great price for an even better education.

    Am enjoying being here

    The facilities are great. Everything you'll ever want is within walking distance.

    Am learning a lot

    Mount Union sets up an excellent community of educational and social opportunities. Not only will you learn a lot about your field of study, but you will gain the tools necessary to go out and succeed in the world. Socially, Mount Union is the place to be for friendship and professional networking.

  • 12/01/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Music Students Education Students

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a small school, so it is easier to get around and find your classes. It is not as intimidating as you may think. The professors (most of them) are very nice and care about your education.

    Bang for the buck

    They give out nice scholarships!

  • 07/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Engineering students Physical Training students Music students Athletes (Mount excels in several Division 3 sports including football, women's basketball, and wrestling) Students from NE Ohio who want to be away from home but not too far Students who want to be known by administrators and professors by their name instead of by their ID number

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't treat this school as you would a larger school. This is not the kind of school that allows students to skip class all semester and go only for the tests. THERE WILL BE HOMEWORK!! Also, the classes are smaller which allows for personal attention from professors and more class participation, which, in my opinion, is much better than being in a class of 200 students and listening to constant lectures from someone who may not even recognize you if you were to approach them outside of class.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is definitely worth the money that you will pay to attend. It's more expensive than some other schools but it makes up for the difference with better facilities, better academics, and even better food than most schools.

    Am learning a lot

    Because of the smaller class sizes, the professors can work with you more personally if one were to need the attention.

  • 03/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    definitely fun and a great experience, but there's no unpleasant pressure to join. i highly recommend going through recruitment though. you don't have to join afterward, but you'll be able to make a much more educated decision. the greeks on campus get along and there is more cooperation than competition.

    Clubs and Activities

    so so many things to do on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    japanese majors, music majors, people who enjoy sports, people who want to get involved in a lot of things.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there is an echo spot on campus, where if you stand at a certain spot you can hear echoes, and you're the only one who can. we also have a spirit rock that can get painted.

    What to do for fun

    there are plenty of restaurants around, most close around 10 though. there is a bowling alley in alliance and mount union is pretty good about having weekend fun things available. some people travel to canton for more options.

    Food and Dining

    excellent food and options, just significantly fewer options for gluten free and vegetarian diets.

    Dorm Life

    freshman dorms are fairly decent, and upperclassman dorms are great.

    Tips for prospective students

    ask around and get involved. there is definitely something for everyone.

    In three sentences

    mount is a great school if you want to get involved. as far as i can tell they offer great academics for every major. the people are great and everyone wants you to succeed.

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Has everything imagineable

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Rock....it's this big rock located in between McMaster Hall and the dining area. People spray paint it all the time.

    Bang for the buck

    My ideal college experience!

    What to do for fun

    Lots of local businesses,food joints, club activities, intramural sports, including Quidditch teams, coffee house poetry and talent shows every friday

    Food and Dining

    Umm...A-MAZ-ING!

    Dorm Life

    Love the dorms!They are located idealy around campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Pretty decent.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you fill out your applications early to recieve the most aid grant-wise.

    In three sentences

    Mount Union is a beautiful, idealy small campus. It has amazing professors, great resources and the best cafeteria food I have ever had. The students are all friendly too.

  • 10/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Athletic Training, Music, Math, Computer Science, with a greatly expanding Criminal Justice program. no program lacks and each program has great professors to help the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take your time on your entrance essay, apply for for lots of scholarships, and make sure your financial aid on time to avoid the late fees.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes the school is a bit expensive but with all the help available and the programs offered its worth the price.

    Am enjoying being here

    Its great being here although there isn't much to do off campus there is plenty to do on campus you just have to get out of your dorm room.

    Am learning a lot

    Mount has a great staff of professors that love to teach and are very willing to help students that want the help and are willing to cooperate with the professors.

  • 02/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    for being in the middle of alliance, oh there is very little that happens on campus. it is a very safe environment.

    Greek Life

    i am not in greek life but i love going to the frat houses. it is a safe environment as apposed to many collegiate greek life settings.

    Clubs and Activities

    many many many for every kind of person and new ones pop up all over.

    Great for these types of students

    students that want to get involved in the campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    dougs classic dinner, old school dinner across from campus. the frat houses are very good at mount, no hazing, very respectable, and parties are always fun to go to when you know it will be safe.

    Bang for the buck

    a great value even though mount is an expensive school it is so worth the experience and growth that you go through.

    What to do for fun

    i run, sing, workout, listen to music, ride my motorcycle, and watch movies.

    Food and Dining

    many cafeterias have the same thing every day but here there is a lot of variation. there is always something for everyone.

    Dorm Life

    amazing, i never want to leave. you make friendships that will never fade away.

    Academic Rigor

    all depends on how good you want to do in class and the grades and knowledge you want to get out of classes. also has to do with what major you choose.

    Tips for prospective students

    visit the campus and meet some of the people and you will fall in love. if you are into music check out the choir, they are pretty amazing. if you like working out the maac (gym) is an amazing facility. talk to the professors of the discipline you want to major in.

    In three sentences

    it is a great place if you want to be part of a smaller size college that values your input to the university as a student. the campus is beautiful and you get the longest walk to one of your classes of 5 minutes. class sizes are small and professors are very willing to help you outside of class time.

  • 04/09/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Most definitely, send UMU your FAFSA and see what they can help you out with!

    What to do for fun

    Can't answer because I'm not a student YET! But from what I've heard from UMU students, there's tons either on campus or in neighboring cities.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria was good, and they have several cafe's around the campus (more in construction). I'm from Florida so I can compare Mount to USF, UCF, UF, FSU, and because of the business my moms in, I can even compare some of their sports facilities with the Tampa Bay Bucs facilities and let me tell you... UMU has them beat!

    Dorm Life

    Very Cleeeeaaaan!!!

    Academic Rigor

    Top 12% of all Universities/Colleges in the US of A.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take it aaaallll in!

    In three sentences

    Great School! My visit was the ISH! Great people, great campus, great environment! Great education and SPORTS teams!

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is a high priority at Mount Union. Located around the campus and safety polls that allow you to press a button and call campus security to that spot.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The rock that is located by the cafeteria is painted many times throughout the year and it is a cool attraction to pay attention to when walking by. Actually most people wouldn't expect a JV football team to be interesting but you will find many students go and watch them and it's a good opportunities to meet new students.

    What to do for fun

    Mount Union offers so many opportunities to have fun. Whether it be cookouts in the court yard, sand volleyball games, corn hole, workout classes and many clubs that do different activities throughout the year. You will never get bored.

    Food and Dining

    Mount Union as an awesome cafeteria that offers a wide range of food everyday. There are also healthy options available, just avoid the french fries everyday at lunch or that freshman 15 will creep up faster than you expect.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is a life changing experience but don't be scared of it. You get to make tons of new friends and your dorm cordinator puts together fun activities you can do with the students are you floor and/or building.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic Rigor at Mount can get intense; depending on your major and minor. Many of the minors require out of classroom hours to be put in but if you love what you're doing then it shouldn't be a problem. The more hours you take the more time that will need to be spent studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you take an overnight trip with a current student. Ask every and all questions you have. Don't be scared to ask the professors any questions and you may even want to ask what your class schedule would be like and if any out of the classroom hours are needed.

    In three sentences

    Mount Union is full of opportunities. The professor are very helpful and want to see you succeed. There are many study options available for different subjects.

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The rock is definently a tradition on campus. You paint the rock with inspiring words or just because!

    What to do for fun

    Join a sorority or fraternity! Greek life is such a huge part about campus life. You meet a lot of people and have fun too! Parties are a must have for a complete experience at Mount Union.

    Food and Dining

    One thing that needs to be changed about Mount Union is the cafeteria. The food there is terrible and a lot of students feel the same. Luckily, right down the building is a tiny cafe called B&B cafe which has delicious items.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life all depends on where you live. Everyone keeps their doors open so you can meet students just like you who are in the same boat. It is easy to make friends with the friendly students who occupy each hall.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at Mount Union are by no means easy. Every student will be working hard to complete every class. Although, most professors are lenient when it comes to work inside or outside of the classroom, the academic rigor is challenging yet rewarding.

    Tips for prospective students

    One of the biggest benefits of Mount Union is able to be close to your professors; take advantage of that. Don't forget to join as many clubs or organizations as you can, it's a great way to have fun and meet new people!

    In three sentences

    It is a small school where everyone knows each other. You are a minority if you are not in an athletic sport or musical group. Mount Union gives you all the necessary tools and guidance to excel.

  • 02/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We are slowly becoming a walking campus which allows for less traffic through campus making walking to class and home much safer. We also have 24/7 security driving around campus as well as emergency towers that allow you to push a button and contact Alliance PD. This is still a college campus however so you still need to lock you car doors and not leave valuable items outside your townhouse, apartment or dorm.

    Greek Life

    At Mount Union most of the campus has some form of Greek life affiliation. We have four sororities and four fraternities on campus as well as numerous service or educational fraternities. Greek life is a major part of Mount Unions history and accounts for much of the activities found on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Welcome to Mount Union where we have every club you can think of and for every interest type. Clubs vary from clubs based on majors, to religious clubs, to sports clubs, to even our newest addition the TOMS club.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are an athlete of any kind you are definitely in the right place, we are known for our sports teams, mostly being our National Championship Football team. If you are interested in the arts, athletic training, pre-med, engineering, teaching or psychology we also have great programs in place that help students not only gain knowledge but line up future jobs through our strong alumni network.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On campus between our lakes we have a kissing bridge which is legend to cause any couple that kisses on it to one day be married. This is just a Mount Union myth but it has come true for a few students. There are a few haunted fraternity myths that float around campus that make for a good scare during the holiday season.

    What to do for fun

    Unfortunately there is not very much to do in Allaince, OH however we always find a way to have fun. There is always some sort of sporting event going on, the university provides a free weekend movie, there is after hours trips to all kinds of places and of course there is the neighborhood bar and dance club.

    Food and Dining

    It's college campus food, that's all that can really be said. It is not bad by any means and there is a lot of variety but let's be honest, after a year of the same foods who wouldn't get sick of it? We do however have a cafe on campus as well as fast food and restaurants within walking distance of campus.

    Dorm Life

    Mount Union dorms are much nicer than those you will see at most campuses in this area. We also have absolutely gorgeous upperclassman housing options such as townhouses, suites and apartment style living which almost spoils us before we head out into the real world.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are smaller and the curriculum is not easy but there is always tutoring and professor office hours available to keep you on track.

    Tips for prospective students

    At Mount Union the best way to fit in is to get involved in any way you can. We are a small campus and therefore we depend on our campus life such as sports, Greek life and clubs to really allow you to stand out and get to know everyone on campus.

    In three sentences

    Mount Union is a small campus with small class sizes allowing one on one attention from professors. Mount Union has a reputation of Excellence which students strive to keep everyday. We are a campus that is not only know for our academic achievements but also our athletic achievements.

  • 12/14/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Mount Union is great for students who want a small town atmosphere. Teachers and students get to know each other on a personal basis, so if you're planning on fading into the background, Mount is not for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Mount Union is a great school with a fantastic atmosphere. However, it is a small campus in a relatively small town so if you don't want small, Mount is not for you.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition at Mount Union is very expensive, at around $35,000 but the experience is definitely worth it. However, if that is not in your budget, the school offers a ton of work study jobs where you can work flexible hours while still focusing on academics.

    Am enjoying being here

    I absolutely love the atmosphere of the school. Everybody is so nice and the professors genuinely care about their students. There is plenty to do on the weekends, with National Championship sports teams and a ton of different clubs and organizations.

    Am learning a lot

    I just completed my first semester at Mount Union and I already feel like I have learned more than I did all four years of high school. The professors are very dedicated to their jobs and are available both in and out of the classroom.

  • 12/25/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I feel like it is great for all types of students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that if your attending college period, just to keep an open mind with everything that you do.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost of attending is not the great. It is very expensive. I had to take out a lot of loans but I feel like it's worth it in the end.

    Am enjoying being here

    To be honest, I really didn't like it at first. My first week, I was ready to come home because I didn't know anyone there and didn't feel welcome. But as soon as I join organizations and clubs, I started to meet new people and people who shared the same interests as me.

    Academic Rigor

    I definitely feel like Im learning a lot. The class aren't really that hard but they keep you on your toes.

  • 12/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is a great place for someone who is a bit shy. You can't go to Mount and not make friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go with an open mind and become involved in activities.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy having an chance to do things without the worry of having to be around tons of other people, but yet I know I won't be alone.

    Am learning a lot

    Besides learning about my chosen major I am also learning about other cultures, other ways of living and who I am.

  • 01/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Besides parties, there is not that much to do besides hang with friends and attend sporting events. But, even sporting events tends to get boring at times because of the lack of school spirit .

    Food and Dining

    A small selection of food, I guess this is one of the cons of attended a small university.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life here is great. The small dorms allow you to know everybody and throughout the year, you may begin to look at them as a family.

    Academic Rigor

    The school work may seem to be challenging, but you will be guaranteed to learn a lot as long as you try.

    Tips for prospective students

    Unlike large schools, this small school allows you to get to know everybody. The only problem is this school may start to seem too small such as in my case, I sometimes get claustrophobic because this college is the same size as my high school.

    In three sentences

    If you are looking for a small, laid back, down-to-earth atmosphere, this is the perfect place to be! The education is great and it is easy to find help as long as you seek it.

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security vehicles are often seen patrolling campus. They can give you rides if you are on their route, and will check to see how you are doing!

    Greek Life

    Alpha Phi Omega, Alpha Zeta Delta, Alpha Chi Omega, Alpha Delta Pi, Delta Sigma Tau, Alpha Tau Omega, Sigma Alpha Epsilon, Sigma Nu, Phi Kappa Tau

    Clubs and Activities

    Greek life, Sports, Environmental groups, Theater Programs, Dance Team, Cheerleading, Band, Religious Organizations

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students outgoing and shy! If you are shy, the school will allow you to be yourself, while slowly coming out of your shell to get to know others. As for those who are social, it is a great place to meet other social butterflies! It is also a school meant for students who have goals set for themselves and take their school work seriously.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At mount we have The Rock. It is located in the quad and students paint it for any reason they can think of. It has been painted to promote events going on that week, for birthdays, even marriage proposal! Legend says the rock started out as a pebble, and each layer of paint has made it bigger and bigger until it reached it boulder size it is now. Also, we have the Kissing Bridge. Legend has it that when a couple kisses on the bridge, that is who you are going to marry!

    Bang for the buck

    I cannot begin to express my love for Mount Union, it has so much to offer! From the great educational programs, to fun dorm life, to student based organizations, mount has it all! There is never a dull moment. People say time flies when you're having fun, and that is why I am afraid my time at Mount Union is going to go way too fast!

    What to do for fun

    As a small campus, mount provides a plethora of activities for students to get involved in! It has greek life, environmental organizations, intra mural teams, amazing sports teams, great theater program, and a recreational center to work out in on your own time!

    Food and Dining

    Mount Union has a variety of food selections! There is always a salad bar, soups, sandwiches, some type of international food, ice cream, and much more!!! Mount also provides late night, which is a snack that is different each night of the week!

    Dorm Life

    As for me, moving into the dorm halfway through the semester I was worried about not making friends. Soon I found this to be the least of my worries! The residents were more than welcoming! As a floor, we would occasionally attend dinner together, or just all hang out in the dorms. I also had friends outside of my dorm too, so i wasn't stuck with the girls on my floor 24/7. An equal balance can be created!

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging, but with plenty of studying and attending class regularly, keeping up with grades shouldn't be a problem!

    Tips for prospective students

    At the University of Mount Union, you are challenged to put your best foot forward! Whether it be in the classroom or in extra-curricular activities! Mount Union provides a worthwhile education for its students and teaches you material you will need to carry with you for a lifetime! So be ready to challenge yourself in the classroom and on campus for a rewarding experience that you will carry with you for a lifetime.

    In three sentences

    As a student transferring to a new school halfway through her sophomore year of college, I found Mount Union a tremendously easy school to fit into! I loved the atmosphere that made me feel at home, the friendly students, and the personal relationships with professors! I would recommend the University of Mount Union to any student looking for a school where you form close bonds with peers and professors, and always feel like you are of importance!

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Where to start.... movies, clubs, picnics. The list goes on and on. But make sure you save time for schoolwork.

    Food and Dining

    So many selections. I love the food, not like mom's, but scrumptious.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is wonderful, the rooms the friends. Everybody helps each other and there are always things going on.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are tough but definitely worth the effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved. There are so many clubs and extra curricular activities to be a part of. Join and you'll be sure to meet great friends along the way.

    In three sentences

    Beautiful campus with great ammenities. The faculty and staff are very helpful. So many wonderful things to do.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus police driving around all them time. Plus, lots of emergency phone all over campus. The entire place is well lit and pretty safe. However, you are in Alliance, which is slightly ghetto in one part of the town, so i wouldn't recommend walking around alone in the middle of the night.

    Greek Life

    I'm not in Greek life but it seems fun.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs and activities, but most people aren't too involved in them.

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for people that want a good education, a football team that always wins (YAY), and a close relationship with professors.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a GREAT education. I feel generally more prepared for the outside world than I would at Kent State or Akron U, where the classes are too big and registering for classes is difficult (so I've heard from my brother and sister, who go there). The only con with Mount is this. Because it is a smaller, more private school, there are not as many recruiting events. This is not a huge deal, but something have noticed. It doesn't affect every major but some, lie Accounting or business-related fields, are hurt.

    What to do for fun

    Alliance doesn't have much to offer. There is a theater and a bowling alley, but most people make the half hour drive to Canton to hang out if they want to go off campus.

    Food and Dining

    Pretty good options for a cafeteria. There is also a B&B Cafe on campus and a scheetz across the street which is convenient!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are amazing. Even the oldest dorms are decent. And there are so many new dorms being put up!

    Academic Rigor

    The general education requirements are not too difficult. Once you start delving into your major, it starts to require a little more work. But it is just like any other university - some teachers are easy and some are hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of all that Mount has to offer! Whether it's a professor's office hours, the writing center, or the career development center, there is just so much free help that people don't take advantage of.

    In three sentences

    UMU is an all-around great school. The smaller campus means you know just about everyone but it's not so small that its high school all over again. Smaller class sizes also mean all your professors know you by name and are willing to help with anything.

  • 09/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security here is pretty phenomenal.

    Bang for the buck

    It is an expensive school, and it is well worth the price.

    What to do for fun

    There are a multitude of clubs and organisations. There is one that focuses mainly on organizing events for students and staff to attend each week.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to learn and put it some work.

    In three sentences

    Mount Union has a homey atmosphere. The campus is beautiful. The professors and staff work with you to meet your goals.

  • 09/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe!

    Greek Life

    Very Active.

    Clubs and Activities

    Anything you can think of

    Bang for the buck

    Priced as a private school...high. 36000/year.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of sporting events and very close to big cities.

    Food and Dining

    a little pricy but very good food.

    Dorm Life

    Tight but well organized.

    Academic Rigor

    Outstanding! Feeling very well prepared for my next semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let the number of students advertised chase you away. It has a big university feel athletically and academically.

    In three sentences

    University of mount Union is a small urban university that feels like a big secluded college. It is very personal and cozy providing housing for every student. I feel right at home when I am there.

  • 01/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is a must and Mount Union provides that, you feel very safe walking around by yourself and campus security is seen on campus often to make you feel safe and care for yor safety.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is definately fun and nice to get involved in if intersted for the cause of fundraising of the phianthropies.

    Clubs and Activities

    Has so may options and varieties to feel like you belong and feel welcomed on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The price can seem high, but alot of scholarships are given along with financial assitance.

    What to do for fun

    To have fun, all you need to do is get involved in an activity on campus and make some friends.

    Food and Dining

    The dining has alot of variety to choose from and more than one food cafe to choose from on campus.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are perfect size and as you increase your level here, the living options get better. Junior year standings have the option to live in brand new townhouses.

    Academic Rigor

    Yes, depending on the major the homework and studying can be alot, but time management is everything. The courseweok will help in the long run.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in as many activties as possible. The University has so many things to get involved in to make you more unique. This is definately a place to call home while away at school.

    In three sentences

    The University is definately a place that feels like home. The class size is just right to get to know your professor. The overall campus has so many activities to get involved in.

  • 02/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is great here and super friendly.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many different clubs around campus there is one for everyone.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a very expensive school but you get what you pay for, living situations are good and teachers and classes are great. We have a nice athletic complex.

    What to do for fun

    The university is in a small town so there isn't a lot to go do unless you are willing to go far. But there is usually the plenty of frat parties on the weekends. But if you have a good group of friends here, which I'm sure everyone will you guys can always be creative and think of something to do.

    Food and Dining

    Just like any cafeteria it gets old, the food isn't bad but it's not great either. They have a wide range of selections such as salad bar, pizza bar, international, home style, and sandwich bar.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is exactly what you expect for the most part, no one around to tell you to do work or clean your room up a bit. But you move in with a complete stranger and if you click that's great but if you don't that's fine too because the university works with you to make it as comfortable as possible.

    Academic Rigor

    The university has high expectations so no class is a breeze but it isn't too hard. There are many ways to get help academically if needed all around campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    It gets pretty cold here so make sure you like the snow! If you're looking for smaller class sizes this is the place, you receive plenty of one-on-one interaction with professors.

    In three sentences

    Mount Union is everything you want from college. Great location, friends, opportunities, and a great education. There is something for everyone here at Mount!

  • 03/20/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    24 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There's so many different opportunities for students to get involved on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Although Mount Union is a more expensive school, they offer quite a few scholarships. The best part is that the scholarships are much more generous than other school's scholarships.

    Food and Dining

    There's a variety of Food and Dining plans, which is nice.

    Dorm Life

    I was impressed with the dorms! Not as large as some dorm rooms I've seen, but not bad.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are fantastic!

    Tips for prospective students

    I suggest visiting the school. As soon as I stepped foot on campus, I could see myself attending. I've visited 3 times, and the campus is beautiful. A visit is a must!

    In three sentences

    The University of Mount Union was among several schools that I applied to. It was the first school that I visited, applied to, the first that I was accepted to. It made the college search so much easier, and that's not even mentioning the amazing opportunities that Mount Union has to offer.

  • 07/21/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    25 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join some clubs and organizations.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to reach out and meet new people. Everyone is friendly.

    In three sentences

    I really loved Mount Union when I went to visit. I loved the small town/rural atmosphere where it is quiet and isolated from a lot of commotion. I also liked the people that worked or attended there.

  • 09/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are movies close by and a mall. The campus has student activities planned at the grill on campus sometimes and those are fun. There are christian music concerts once in awhile at Malone which are awesome and Canton is only about 20 minutes away. The rec center is a great place to meet people and alot of people like to hang out there.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good as a whole. They have a large amount of healthy food to choose from. They need to change up the selections, they seem to have the same meals alot. It would be nice if the cafeteria was open later. There are many athletes on campus and sometimes I am at practice longer and the cafeteria closes at 7:00 before I get home. I miss out on dinner. And on Sunday they close at 5:00 so we have to eat dinner at 4:00. Way to early.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very nice and well kept. There are rec. areas in each dorm and relaxing. There are rules that are expected to be followed, but at least in my dorm the R.A. is respectful as long as we are. Some dorms are more strict but in general they seem pretty good.

    Academic Rigor

    The expectations are very high in academics at Mount Union. Students are expected to attend all classes and there are consequences for skipping class. We are spending a lot of money to attend and need to be accountable for our actions and our grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sheets is a great place to eat late night and Chipotle is just down the street if you're hungry. Sunday the cafeteria is only open until 5:00 so don't forget to get there in the late afternoon or you have to buy your dinner somewhere else.

    In three sentences

    Mount is a safe and friendly campus. The expectations are very high for academics which is exactly what I was looking for and I know that I am getting the best education around. It is a great place to spend my college years.

  • 11/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The city of Alliance is a very safe city. The campus is one of the safest places in the city as it's basically in the middle of it. The Alliance Police Department are always very quick to arrive as well as campus security. There are SEVERAL blue light boxes around campus to use if there's an emergency.

    Greek Life

    Several different opportunities.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have over 82 organizations. Of which I have been a part of several. My current two organizations are residence life and Campus Crusade for Christ. All of the organizations are what you make them!

    Great for these types of students

    Those who want a small school Want to be challenged

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The rock- a large boulder in the quad that people paint to advertise for events and organizations.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall, though Mount Union is expensive, you definitely get your money's worth from the university and its faculty. The only reason I'd ever transfer is because of the cost (if/when I can no longer afford it)

    What to do for fun

    Organizations Canton (a nearby city) has lots of cool things to do and nice places to eat Be social in the dorms! :) Go to the gym! Pool, tennis courts, basketball courts, wrestling room, multi-purpose room, fieldhouse, indoor and outdoor tracks.

    Food and Dining

    The food has been nationally acclaimed. AVI may have its bad days, but overall, the food is better than what you'd find at other universities. There's a sandwich station, fresh peanut butter daily, a home-style food station, a vegetarian station (which honestly is somewhat lacking), a large salad bar, a fresh made pasta station, an international food station, and a grill. Also always have cereal and ice cream for those who want them.

    Dorm Life

    Underclassmen dorms aren't too bad. However compared to most other colleges, they're a little on the plain side. Communal bathrooms, shower stalls, etc. Though with only 3 floors per dorm, it's very convenient and easy to make friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are all truly experts in their fields. You learn a lot, even in your integrative core classes (gen eds)

    Tips for prospective students

    Join an organization ASAP! If you're a spiritual person, there are lots of spiritual organizations. Don't be too scared if you don't know your major.

    In three sentences

    We have a beautiful campus situated in a small town. Kind and highly intelligent professors who want to know you personally even if you aren't in their department. Engaging campus community with many organizations and a varied Greek life.

  • 01/15/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    28 of 30

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Everyone, from faculty to students, is kind and supportive. The professors care and are interested in students. All around inviting campus.

  • 01/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is well lit at night and seems to be in its own little world from the outside city. There are very few incidents on campus and if anyone was to be in danger, they are very close to help no matter where they are on campus.

    Greek Life

    Greek life on campus is decently big and I know that they do a great amount of community service and raise money for their philanthropies. I know that they are very close as well and that they are basically a second family to each other.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 80 clubs and organizations on campus and all of them benefit the campus in a small or large way. Most people may not notice the smaller clubs because they only benefit a certain major or group of people, but either way it is a positive impact on those people which in turn makes the campus a better place as well.

    Great for these types of students

    Mount Union is a great school for students who want to be actively involved with their campus, team, club, etc. I never would have thought I would have joined the clubs and organizations that I did, but I am happy that I did because I learned a lot about myself and met a great amount of new friends. Mount Union is a place for students who enjoy meeting a variety of people, learning about themselves, and maturing as an individual.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a rock painted on campus and anyone can paint it at any time. Supposedly it started out as a pebble but there are so many layers of paint now that it is a 4 foot tall rock now.

    Bang for the buck

    The University of Mount Union is a less expensive private school compared to others and most people do receive a great deal of financial aid. There is also opportunities to intern at the school in the summer or find a job through the school which is always helpful. Most graduating students also get a job in their desired profession right after they graduate so it helps to pay back what they may still owe to the school.

    What to do for fun

    I find school fun and so athletic training and participating in wrestling is what is fun to me but when I do have free time, I may go to a sporting event, there may be a comedian or musician on the weekends, or even open mic nights at our Campus Grounds.

    Food and Dining

    Kresge Court is our main dining hall and has is open at the perfect times for everyone to get food. Most of the food is fresh, prepared that day, or used as leftovers for the next day in different dishes. The buffet style is also helpful since you can decide how much you want to eat for just one price. Most of the food in Kresge Court is good but some days, they try different recipes that don't seem to be good to me.

    Dorm Life

    Starting out in a decent sized residence hall my freshmen year was expected and it was great because it got me used to living with a variety of people that I wouldn't have chosen to live with, yet we still all meshed well together and had a great time my freshmen year. Most upperclassmen have the opportunity for suite-style rooms, apartments, and townhouses. Some of the townhouses were recently built and I am grateful to be living in them for the past 2 years.

    Academic Rigor

    It seems that all of the professors want their students to succeed so it is definitely understandable when I receive certain assignments. Everything I have done in my classes have only interested me more in my future career and I know that it is worth learning. My grades in high school weren't as good because I didn't care as much but since I came to Mount Union, everything I have learned has been beneficial, interesting, and fun. My grades are much better than they were in high school because my interest level is much higher than it was, although the amount of time and effort I put into learning the material is much greater as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    I am a student ambassador and one of my duties is to give prospective students tours. This is the easiest job for me since it is simply enjoyable for me to tell families everything I can on a tour about Mount Union. It doesn't feel like a job since I am able to tell everyone why Mount Union is suited for me and why it can be suited for them. Most students enjoy the smaller class sizes and the professors that enjoy getting to know their students. Also there is a great deal of ways to get involved on campus so it isn't hard to get out and meet people every day.

    In three sentences

    The University of Mount Union was meant for me once I had visited the school. The flexibility of the Athletic Training Program allowed me to pursue my dream to becoming an athletic trainer while still allowing me to be a student-athlete; something most schools wouldn't allow. This school is small and the professors are personal, friendly, and always willing to help me.

  • 03/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great

    Greek Life

    Alpha Chi Omega

    Clubs and Activities

    Cheerleading

    Great for these types of students

    ....

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Do not walk across the Quad

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive school, but well worth it

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends, and go to sporting events

    Food and Dining

    Great the first couple weeks, eventualy gets old

    Dorm Life

    Rooms are tiny but duable

    Academic Rigor

    Great Academic program

    Tips for prospective students

    Be Free.

    In three sentences

    University of Mount Union is a fun and carefilling place. Everybody knows and would do anything to be friends with eachother. Small Campus