Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

University of Nebraska at Kearney Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    For any student that is friendly and willing to make a ton of friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join a club, sport, sorority, fraternity, or something. If you are not very athletic but you have always wanted to try something, we have a bunch of intramurals including volleyball, flag football, and even inner-tube water polo and broom ball.

    Bang for the buck

    There are so many scholarships you can apply for you won't need to worry about money. I feel like the qualifications to obtain a full-ride here are lower than the average college. As far as room and board, there are always activities funded by the room and board fees it is crazy. There are things like dances, doughnut hole eating contests, parties, prizes, and many other things. It is worth it, I promise.

    Am enjoying being here

    The atmosphere here is amazing, everywhere I go I receive a smile. The school is big enough to always be meeting new people and small enough to see a familiar face or two on the way to the cafeteria. In the dorms, a person could always find a new friend. Everyone keeps their door open when they are just hanging out in their room and people like to wander the halls and just to find open doors and make a new friend.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are all small and the professors are good at teaching. I really feel like the professors know what they are talking about, one of my professors wrote the text book we use in class. Not only are the classes are small so the professor knows everyone by their name, but he gets to know each student and the best way to help them student succeed.

  • 11/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are safe poles all around campus, so if something were to happen, a person could push a button on one of these poles and get a response. UNK has its own campus police and the City of Kearney has a large force. The dorm buildings all have electronic locks and are extremely safe!

    Greek Life

    There are many sororities/fraternities here at UNK, and they are all welcoming and great.

    Clubs and Activities

    The University has way too many clubs to count, but essentially every discipline has at least one club, and then there are countless others.

    Bang for the buck

    In all honesty, Kearney is a great learning institution. The courses and professors are great. The campus is awesome, and the people on it are always doing something! If you want a smaller school, where acquaintances become great friends, the town welcomes you, the price is right and professors know your name, choose the University of Nebraska at Kearney!

    What to do for fun

    Kearney has movie theaters, a bowling alley, sports bars, many parks and recreational areas, the massive event center that host its own hockey team, indoor football team, and an array of concerts. Past examples are 3 doors down, Puddle of Mudd, Deaf Pedestrians, Saving Able, Miranda Lanbert, Kenny Rogers and many more!

    Food and Dining

    There are a multitude of dining options in Kearney, Nebraska. There are several major fast food chains in the area, great buffets. and several sit down restaurants. You would struggle not finding something to eat.

    Dorm Life

    Personally, I have never lived in the dorms, but have known many students who have. I hear that the dorm life was great, the buildings are safe and secure, and the social experience is tremendous.

    Academic Rigor

    There are a variety of programs to choose from, and it appears that each of them are very thorough. Many students that graduate from Kearney have doors opened up wide for them for other possibilities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should consider UNK for this is a spectacular institution, not to mention, a positive learning environment. Be subjective with the school that you choose, as classes are only half of the college experience. Kearney is a great location, and the residents here are great!

    In three sentences

    The University of Nebraska at Kearney is simply, an amazing place to continue education. The professors here are fantastic and help their students be the best that they can be, The culture rich environment is great, and helps students learn more than what is just printed in textbooks.

  • 05/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    UNK campus is the safest place I believe.

    Greek Life

    The best thing about this place is that diversity can find traditional organizations here on campus and can find multicultural organizations too. What makes UNK different than other universities is that we have UNITY.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs that every student can fit in. Almost every week different activities that everyone can attent.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of activities going on at UNK. It is easy to get involve in the activities.

    Food and Dining

    In student union there are variety of places to eat and relax. Also there is Starbucks and frozen yogurt places too.

    Dorm Life

    It is fun to live in dorms but if you never shared a room before then you can choose other dorms that single room, which is great.

    Academic Rigor

    It is one of the best thing about Unk is that indoor policy with instructors. There tutors helping with different subjects.

    Tips for prospective students

    First week might be overwhelming but there are volunteer students who are sophomore and junior to help you out. Don't be scared!

    In three sentences

    UNK is a diversity place for every students. Great place to make life long friends and career. UNK is one of the most safety campus' in NE

  • 05/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There really isn't much to protect against, because there isn't a significant amount of crime on campus.

    Greek Life

    The Fijis are the smartest, most awesome fraternity on campus. It means a lot to be a Fiji at UNK.

    Clubs and Activities

    Join a fraternity! It's a blast and you get to hang out with some really cool people!

    What to do for fun

    You can always climb a tree, even though campus doesn't allow you to. There really isn't much to do in this town. You have to make your own fun.

    Food and Dining

    This pretty well sucks. The campus powers that be charge us $2,000 for a crappy meal plan and took away our meal exchanges that would have allowed us to eat anywhere other than the two cafeterias. This is especially highly inconvenient for those of us who have classes that straddle the lunch hour and don't have time to go to the cafeteria for food.

    Dorm Life

    There's a little something for everyone here. Studious people live Men's Hall with the Honors Program kids, really social people live in a Greek fraternity or sorority house, and the quiet antisocial people live in the apartment style dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    This could use some improvements in the area of music, mainly because the Nebraska board of regents clipped all majors down to 120 credit hours and wouldn't allow exceptions. This means my department had to make serious cuts, especially to the 140 credit hour music ed program, and some classes suffered. Also, the general studies requirement is too strong at 45 credits, which cuts into everyone's major area of study.

    Tips for prospective students

    I'll tell any high school kid or adult coming back to college the same thing: find the school that's the best fit for you, find one that's cheap, and find one with national accreditation in your program.

    In three sentences

    I love the music department at my school, simply because the faculty are incredibly fun and diverse, plus the fact that I get an intimate connection with most of them (only professors teach music classes). The cost of the meal plan could go down, though, and parking is a huge issue on campus, since there aren't enough spots for everyone. As a positive, virtually all the buildings on campus are close together and easy to walk to, with some exceptions.

  • 01/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The college of education has been amazing,, love it!

    Tips for prospective students

    Just go for it,,, it's so worth it.

  • 01/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is good for the most part, but there are more petty thefts than I expected.

    Greek Life

    I know the Greek system on campus is fairly active, but I am not involved in it.

    Clubs and Activities

    UNK has a huge number of student clubs and organizations and the events are always great.

    Great for these types of students

    UNK is great for all types of students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I love the Fireside Lounge. It is great for hanging out, club meetings, and the Fireside Chats that UNK hosts once a month.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel like I get what I need from this university.

    What to do for fun

    Several different clubs host movie nights on campus and there are campus concerts and events every year.

    Food and Dining

    I do not eat on campus often, but when I do, I have over 100 different choices of main dishes, desserts, and side dishes every day.

    Dorm Life

    I transferred here and I have always lived off-campus, so I cannot say much about dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the general education classes are only valuable if you make them valuable, but the upper level classes are great!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you don't like your first academic advisor, it is easy to choose a new advisor in the Memorial Student Affairs Building.

    In three sentences

    UNK has a diverse student population. It is a fun school that will give you a great education. There are many different ways to get involved on campus.

  • 02/11/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    this school has a great tuition price and you get the professors teaching every class. if you are interested in research there are opportunities for undergraduates.

    Food and Dining

    the food is not the greatest. however, when you look around you can always find something great to eat.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are ok, most students leave on the weekends. however, people are nice and you can meet great people. the staff are always friendly and helpful.

    Academic Rigor

    the professors push their students to succeed and teach lots of great things. they are also friendly and available when students need help.

    In three sentences

    unk is a great school! the professors are friendly, but challenge their students. there are also a lot of social activities on and off campus.

  • 02/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i feel totally safe walking across campus alone at night. there are stations set up around campus that have an emergency button that you can push if you need help. there is also a program that lets you call a unk campus police officer and they will escort you somewhere if you don't feel safe for any reason.

    Greek Life

    my roommate is in a sorority, and she seems to love it.

    Clubs and Activities

    way too many clubs or activities to list. just check out the school website.

    Great for these types of students

    students who want to be academically challenged. the classes range in size, but usually they are about twenty-five people or less. for example, my astronomy class last semester had around fifty people, but my psychology class this semester has four people.

    What to do for fun

    in kearney, there are movie theaters, an ice skating rink, a mall, lots of stores, and tons of other fun stuff.

    Food and Dining

    the food is really good, and the cafeteria has a lot of variety. there's also a burger place, chinese place, and a subway in the same building as the cafeteria. if you're in a hurry, there's a place called outtakes that lets you take some stuff to go.

    Dorm Life

    love dorm life. i have tons of new friends now. i also got an excellent roommate.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are challenging, but the professors help you if you ask/need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    get to know your roommate before you move in together. familiarize yourself with the general layout of the campus. go to the activities designed to help you make friends--they do work.

    In three sentences

    unk has interesting class. i love all the people that i live with. professors are very helpful.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    in kearney there are many things to do for fun. they have a bowling place, the big apple, shopping center, walking/biking trails, many parks. the campus also has tons of activities for students to be involved in for both recreation and work.

    Food and Dining

    the food and dining is decent. they have made tons of changes to the student union and the choices there are to chose from when living on campus.

    Dorm Life

    i have never lived in the dorms here?

    Academic Rigor

    there is a lot of academic rigor especially depending on your area of study. the business and technology area is challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    i would recommend unk to any student. they have great teachers that actually care about the students and their grades.

    In three sentences

    i would rate the university of nebraska kearney at a 7. it is a very good college especially for teacher education. a few areas to work on is communication within departments and between all the different areas.

  • 03/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    students can call for a campus security escort if they feel uncomfortable walking around campus at night

    Greek Life

    they are close to center campus and are very close knit.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are clubs for most, if not every, majors.

    Great for these types of students

    every type

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    unk has an annual hypnotist and many fairly well-known band performances.

    Bang for the buck

    i definitely do not regret transferring here mid-year. i am so much happier with my college experience than i had been before.

    What to do for fun

    lpac has a lot of different and fun events for students, such as a hypnotist and musical performances. also, the theater department holds different performances throughout the year.

    Food and Dining

    many people complain, but considering the food is made in bulk, it is pretty good. plus there is quite a bit of variety.

    Dorm Life

    i prefer living off campus, but my semester in the dorms here was a huge step up from my other experience. the resident advisers try very hard to involve everybody.

    Academic Rigor

    the professors all to try challenge the students. a task may seem impossible, but if you put in the effort and aren't afraid to ask for assistance, nothing is impossible.

    Tips for prospective students

    do no be afraid to go to the library! they want you to go. sometimes, a nap in the morning is necessary to get through the rest of the day. take summer classes, they are much more relaxed and it is less stressful having a single class instead 4 to 6.

    In three sentences

    university of nebraska at kearney is the most welcoming college i visited. after spending a semester at another college, i knew unk was the best place for me to be and i was not wrong. i couldn't be happier with my experience here.

  • 04/11/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food and dining here is very assessable and good. I would come to the campus for different events in high school and we would go to the cafeteria and eat; I was very pleased with the amount of food they had available and how clean it was.

    Dorm Life

    I am not currently attending UNK right now. I plan on going here in the fall. Right now I am attending Central Community College in Hastings. I had previously lived in the dorms the first semester; I did not have a very good experience there.

    Academic Rigor

    My goal is to pursue a degree in social work. I would like to either work in a boys town or help disadvantaged children. UNK looks like they have a good program and would help me in any way I need to achieve my goals.

    In three sentences

    I think UNK is a welcoming place. The campus is well attended, faculty is genuinely nice and very helpful. I would love to come here because I know I will have a better experience and education than the last college I attended.

  • 04/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I feel like my education is very high quality and worthy.

    What to do for fun

    Many clubs, groups, intramurals, activities, etc. that you can participate in. I liked doing intramural sports as well as the various concerts, hypnotist, etc. that is held on campus for students to attend.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining services are great to have nearby the dorms or close if you want to grab a bite to eat in between classes.

    Dorm Life

    It was fun to meet new people in the dorms the first year. Once I moved off campus I realized I didn't interact with other people near as often.

    Academic Rigor

    Education goals depends on classes that will be taken. It is nice that you can work one on one with an advisor to help make the process easier. You can also organize a schedule that works best for your lifestyle.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend this college to anyone. I would encourage people to take advantage of the many opportunities and activities made available to students as well as campus services. Everyone is very friendly and helpful if you ask for help.

    In three sentences

    I have enjoyed my experience here in Kearney. The campus has good location and is not too big or too small. I'm glad with the many opportunities available at UNK.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    People are always up and about, plus its a small campus so it feels pretty safe to me.

    Greek Life

    As part of a Latina Greek Organization (Lambda Theta Nu Sorority Inc.) I totally recommend joining one. I've met so many wonderful ladies and worked on so many community service projects. We also work together with the other Greeks on campus to make our community a better place, to raise our gpa's and be great role models. The whole stereotypes that exist about Greek life are not true. With my sorority we have to keep our grades up and one of our activities that we are required to do is study hours at the library so If am not in class people can find me at the library or doing any other community service event.

    Clubs and Activities

    You can find anything!! From clubs about your major such as the Elementary club to interest level like photography or sporty like intramurals.

    Great for these types of students

    Any!! Specially if you want to experience diversity and a sense of community.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Located near campus we have the Frank house. We also have the West Center, which is the biggest building and the oldest. It used to be a medical center. There are also the famous ghost tunnels deep under the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The price is not bad for such great education

    What to do for fun

    UNK offers so many great events from huge concerts like the one we have every year from All American Rejects and other big bands. Every dorm offers small events like ice cream socials, dances, poker nights, or even doughnut eating contests. There is also outdoor games and movies to watch. We have an excellent weight room and indoor pool. If sports are your thing our football stadium is super legit as well as our indoor gym, so supporting the Lopers is always fun.

    Food and Dining

    Food and Dining was pretty good. UNK has a diverse population of students so if you are up for Chinese or Subway or maybe pizza you will find it. The staff is pretty friendly and if you have a request for something special it can totally happen, plus the deserts are awesome.

    Dorm Life

    I really liked how friendly and inviting everyone is. Dorm life was fun because you could walk down the hall and say hi or ask for the notes you missed or study together. It builds a sense of community and how to cooperate with your future room mates.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers really push you. They don't expect anything but the best from you. They are aware of how hard it is to be a college student but also know the types of topics to discuss with you in order to prepare you for the future.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips for new students would be to try and talk to your professors and not being afraid to ask for help. Procrastination should be avoided, instead write down all of your major quizes, papers, exams on an agenda and check it regularly. Don't feel dumb for attending the tutor center its better to have a good grade in that hard class than just barely passing it. Try to be as involved as possible and don't be afraid to take new positions or leadership roles. It looks terrific on your resume trust me!!

    In three sentences

    UNK is honestly a home away from home type of college. Its big enough to offer all sorts of activities and ways to be involved but small enough to say meet great friends and be recognized by your professors. UNK has helped me grown in so many levels and I absolutely love it here!

  • 06/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a program where you can call campus security late at night and have them escort you to your dorm if you feel unsafe walking home by yourself.

    Great for these types of students

    UNK Is great for someone who wants to go to a small town university with a small feel but yet live in a town/university where there is always something to do.

    What to do for fun

    There are always fun things to do around campus, whether it's an even of campus, or just hanging with friends on campus. There are even a lot of things to do around the town also. For a small town it has a lot. Bowling, movie theater, many restaurants, ice skating, or even just going to chill at one of the nay out door parks.

    Food and Dining

    The upstairs cafeteria has been recently totally renovated and is improving the food every year. Downstairs there is a Subway, Burger shop, and convenient store, all which are covered under the meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is great! Many of the dorms have been recently renovated. The dorms are just small enough were you can get to know everyone and just big enough where you have your own space. The honors dorm was a great place to live. Everyone talked to everyone and got along.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are very challenging but manageable. Many of the classes have small class sizes so you get very specialized attention.

    In three sentences

    The class sizes are great, in all of my classes I've had about fifty or less, and in a couple of classes I only had around ten people. UNK has a small university feel with a reasonable campus size.

  • 07/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Movies and Sports Activities

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk with the professors as soon as a problem arises and they will work with you to find a solution that is best for all.

    In three sentences

    They have a nice faculty who care about student achievment. Their online classes are easy to naviagate and are very user friendly. They seem to have a genuine care for their students.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    16 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security is super dependable! There's a number for students to call if you ever need an escort to your car or anything and I think that's a great way to keep the students feeling safe around campus!

    What to do for fun

    There's so much to do around campus! Football games are definitely the most fun! There's also tons of clubs and inturmural sports!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food so delicious! There's tons of selections so you never get tired of the same meal! There's also numerous options for when you're in a hurry!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms for the freshmen are friendly and fun. Everybody leaves their doors opens to get to know everyone else and RAs are nothing but helpful. When you get to be a sophomore there's apartment style dorms that you can apply for that are gorgeous!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at UNK are challenging but I don't think that's something that should stray a student away from a college. If you aren't challenged then you aren't really learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    I chose UNK because I knew that I wanted a small to medium classroom size for my classes, and I definitely think that is something to consider for students thinking about UNK. This way my professors know my name and I can ask questions while I'm in class.

    In three sentences

    At UNK the staff is really helpful and supportive when you're on your visit and are trying to make a decision on whether or not UNK is the place for you. The campus is also beautiful and just the right size!

  • 08/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are emergency lights and police officers around the campus. I feel safe walking around campus, and that's what matters most.

    Bang for the buck

    The quality of education is great for what we pay. The activities and involvement, as well as the experience is a good perk.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of activities to get involved in on campus. The town is also great because there are a lot of things to go see and do, whether you have to pay or not. UNK also gets involved with the community to provide activities and deals for the students.

    Food and Dining

    There are plenty of options available for dining. It is a little too pricey, especially since we're college students, but that's why scholarships are a blessing.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are clean and the custodians do a great job at keeping them that way. There are plenty of activities to get involved with and the Resident Assistants do a great job. Depending on what dorm you're in, people try to keep their door open so it's easy to meet people and interact with new people.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes always seem more challenging when your major actually requires them. The majority of the professors teach like they actually know and enjoy the material; you get the occasional professor that doesn't seem to care as much and that's when learning the material becomes a challenge. Having a lot of tutors available helps as well though.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to college with a positive attitude; if you go in to it with a positive mind set, only good things can come out of it. Learn time management early on; you need to have balance between your academics, social life, activities, work, etc. Have fun, meet new people, and try new things; this is where you really get to decide who you want to be and it will help you learn more about yourself.

    In three sentences

    The University of Nebraska at Kearney is the perfect choice if you're looking for a school that isn't too large or too small. There are plenty of activities to get involved in and they make it a point to make you feel at home. The professors are there to help you in any way that they can, as long as you're willing to put forth the effort to try your hardest and succeed in what you decided to further your education on.

  • 09/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is very safe. They take safety seriously so you don't have to worry about it and have fun. They have many resources on hand for you to be informed.

    Greek Life

    I heard it is a lot of fun. They have a higher GPA than the rest of the school but they are always doing different social events. They really know how to balance social life and school.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a lot of different activities. There is something for everyone. But if you happen to not find something for you, then you can create your own club.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes they are aware that college is expensive. But they help you finance your education. On top of that, they give you more than what you pay for. This is because the local community really is invested in making the school one of the best.

    What to do for fun

    There is parties going on every night but there is also events that they organize often for your entertainment. It depends on what you like to do but there is something fun for everyone usually.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not the best you'll ever have but the cafeteria has a lot of choices so you never get bored of the same old. Plus they have five different restaurants and many off campus restaurants close by.

    Dorm Life

    I heard it is pretty wild. I commute to school because I live in Kearney. But I have made friends who live in the dorms and they love it. If you like to party, group study, have fun and succeed in your classes, then you will fit right in.

    Academic Rigor

    It is laid back but it is strict. It's not impossible to pass the classes. Yet, you can't just never show up and still get an A. As long as you work you will do fine

    Tips for prospective students

    It is good to apply early and decide on this school early. The good scholarships usually have the deadline of February 1st. But as long as by April 1st you apply to FAFSA and by July 1st you turn in any documentation, you are golden!

    In three sentences

    This is such a good school! Class sizes are small and professors are super helpful. Plus they really want to help you succeed and they will help any and every way they possible can.

  • 10/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    UNK offers many emergency phones all over campus in case you are out late in the library studying or anything. They also have a service where you can call an escort to walk you back to your dorm at any time.

    Greek Life

    The Greek community here is one of a kind. The friends are real, the chapters can come together to be one family, and the connections and people you meet will get you far in life.

    Clubs and Activities

    UNK offers over 200 different clubs, making an activity for every sort of person.

    Great for these types of students

    Introverts, extroverts, and anything in between. Everyone can find a place here at UNK.

    Bang for the buck

    For such great education and a home-like feel, UNK is extremely affordable.

    What to do for fun

    There is always an activity going on at UNK so you can never be bored. The theater and drama department is great, and there is weekly concerts and plays to attend. The community of Kearney also is very supportive of the college, making many options on weekends to do things off campus.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining options here are pretty large for the most part. UNK offers convenience meal plans and plans for on-campus students, so it is very nice that you can always eat here. There are a variety of options including Asian, fast food, Subway, and pizza places.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at UNK is great. It really fosters a sense of community and you meet your best friends in your dorms. You will create lasting memories and know enough people to where you feel comfortable, but still have enough people you don't know so that it doesn't feel like everyone knows everything about you.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic life here is as hard or as easy as you want it to be. As a health sciences major, my classes are strenuous and I spend a lot of my time studying and doing homework. However, they do make it manageable. UNK offers free tutoring services and a writing center to make your academic life here as stress-free as possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always talk to your professors so they know your name and face. You will be more than just a number here and they will remember you and expect you to do your best.

    In three sentences

    The faculty and staff here are so helpful and supportive. You will not find a college that feels more like a family or more like home than UNK. I would give them a 10 on the overall experience of the college.

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very good security. I have never ever felt threatened.

    Greek Life

    I'm an AOPI and will tell you that the Greeks are first rate!!

    Clubs and Activities

    One for everyone!!

    Great for these types of students

    From a small town; looking for a first rate college without the private college price tag or the ginormuos Box University feel.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The spillway; when water is running; is very cool.

    Bang for the buck

    Eating at the Cellar.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of campus fun plus the Archway; Cottonmill Lake; nice golf courses; a fun YMCA; lots of biking and running trails.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent selection of food.

    Dorm Life

    They are currently remodeling dorms so ask me next year!!

    Academic Rigor

    Be prepared to study more than you did in High School. But definitely doable!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Know how to manage your money; you'll need a car if you want to travel to the great shopping available in Omaha or Lincoln; be prepared to be blown away by people's friendliness!!

    In three sentences

    Outstanding friendships in a close knit community. They classes are small - even the typical herd of freshman classes. The community is supportive; vibrant and activity driven.

  • 11/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Every club is willing to welcome everyone with open arms. If you don't necessarily enjoy the activity, they will not put any pressure on you that you don't need.

    What to do for fun

    Play pool, participate in inter-murals, meet new people, hang out with people you've already met.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to attend every class. Everyone says this, but it truly does work wonders.

    In three sentences

    Attending the University of Nebraska at Kearney is probably one of the best choices that I've ever made. The professors are willing to have a personal relationship with every student, yet they are sure to teach you what you need to know. Students here are just amazing, they are always smiling and ready to get to know you.

  • 01/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Since the campus is relatively small it is a fairly safe environment. However, if you do find yourself feeling unsafe there is a safe-walk program run by the campus police and there are emergency beacons around campus that you can press to call for help. Also there is a campus alerts program that sends out emails and phone-calls to notify students if there is a safety issue on campus such as a suspicious person, Icy weather/school closing, etc.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a huge variety of student organizations on campus for almost every different interest. There is also a fully fledged intramural sports program with a variety of different sports from traditional sports such as football to more interesting activities such as a no shave November beard contest. If by some chance there is not a single group that interests you then if you can find some like minded people it is also not very difficult to set up an organization that is officially recognized by the student government.

    Great for these types of students

    While UNK is well known for its Teacher Education department, it also has many other great departments from business to Science. There is a thriving undergraduate research program in most of the departments and many students participate in a research project with a professor in their major before graduating.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel that since many of the professors put so much effort into making the most of their classes and given the relatively low costs of the school you can say you are getting a pretty good bang for your buck. Obviously living on campus is more expensive than living off, room and food fees are higher than those for living off campus, but you are paying for the convenience and community of living off campus and for some people that is worth the extra cost.

    What to do for fun

    On campus there are many activities run by the halls and the university such as eating contests, a comedic hypnotist, and much more. Also there are tons of organizations on and off campus that run all sorts of events throughout the year.

    Food and Dining

    While the main dining hall serves okay food the main attraction of the on campus meal system is the meal transfer. You can 'transfer' one of your upstairs meals for any of the transferable options at one of the other food places on campus. As of this year that includes a generic burger joint, a meal replacement Yogurt place, Chinese, Subway, and Papa John's. There is also a Starbucks on campus, you cannot transfer for coffee, but it is still a great place to get coffee.

    Dorm Life

    The Dorms I lived in had a great community which was supportive and active. They were willing to help each other out when needed and they had various activities going on that were fun, from study nights to gaming in the lounge.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes are difficult but if you are willing to put in the work and/or ask the professors for help you can pass without to much trouble.

    In three sentences

    UNK is a great university because it offers a well rounded education for a reasonable price. The classes are small to medium sized so you feel less like a face in a crowd and more like a valued student. Also the professors are very knowledgeable in their fields and the majority are very willing to help you make the most of your education,

  • 03/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is number one priority! Campus police patrol 24/7 to promote the safety and there are emergency poles with phones built in all around campus, and if you don't feel safe walking alone at night, just give safe walk (police will come walk you to your dorms) a call!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many varieties of clubs and activities made for everyone!

    What to do for fun

    There are many fun things to do on campus. There are weekly events set up, and every Thursday night, college students enjoy going bowling at the bowling alley for quarter bowling night! It's a great time!

    Food and Dining

    Food is great, but the price we pay could be better.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is amazing, there are many activities established in order for you to meet others in your dorm! It's a great way to meet many new friends!

    Academic Rigor

    Great teachers who are willing to help students!

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard, don't procrastinate, and apply for lots of scholarships!

    In three sentences

    Fun, laid back campus. You don't have to worry about fitting in because people are so nice and caring here. They will smile at you as you walk by, even if they don't know you.

  • 04/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on on campus. Whether its a sports game, a group or club meeting, or some kind of show or entertainment. People on campus are very involved and there are a lot of things to join or get involved with.

    Food and Dining

    The food is better and better every semester. Our cafeteria has many selections of food for every meal. There is also a Subway, 2 coffee shops, an Asian food place, and a hamburger place on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I've lived on campus for 2 years and have loved it. My roommates have always been so nice and helpful. Being so far from home was hard but my RA's were always there. The rooms are pretty nice and provide anything you need.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors and teachers really have pushed me to learn what I have. All my classes have been helpful in some way and have also allowed me to explore new things that I could be interested in.

    In three sentences

    The University of Nebraska at Kearney is a great place to be and to learn. Everyone here is so nice and helpful, not only at the school but in the town. I am glad I choose to come here.

  • 06/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Campus activities are great, be sure to attend the spring concert!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your adviser, they basically help you plan your stay at UNK.

    In three sentences

    Pretty great school, course work is not too much and the teacher care about you. For a university it is very home town feeling.

  • 06/23/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    26 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    ALL!

    What to do for fun

    College activities, thirsty Thursdays in town, sports, running, etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! There are so many opportunities to get involved. This with greatly enhance your college experience.

    In three sentences

    UNK is a great school with a small town feel. Small classroom sizes, individualized attention, and competitive academics are offered at UNK. Whether you are a traditional student, or non traditional student, UNK is the perfect fit for you.

  • 07/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    UNK PD is always walking around and can be easily reached. They are very friendly and always willing to help. I will warn that there are no security cameras in the parking lots and vandalism is common.

    Greek Life

    I have very little experience with in the life but it seems ok enough.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are numerous clubs all across campus each welcoming and diverse. OMA sits at the heart of it all and I can say that it doesn't matter which club you join. You'll have one hell of a time.

    Great for these types of students

    It's easy to find friends. You just have to look a little bit. I would say its good for all kinds from all walks of life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The frank house is rumored to be haunted (it's defiantly creepy and there have been weird happenings, some experienced by yours truly). Conrad hall is also supposed to be haunted by Stella. I lived in Conrad and will be returning to live there again and i can say there is nothing to worry about. Stella is very nice if you're nice to her. :D

    Bang for the buck

    It's a little pricey but what you learn is defiantly in depth and if you put the work into it you'll learn a lot from professors that engage their students.

    What to do for fun

    Events are constantly being advertised all around campus from various clubs and groups. Sometimes the university offers free ice skating at the vierro skating rink and other notable events includes the cultural festival, the q.s.a drag show, and the concert hosted by the university. Last year it was Karmin!

    Food and Dining

    Not so favorable in my opinion but a new system has been implemented so there is a chance it's improved.

    Dorm Life

    In some dorms it's crazy but for the most part the res life staff try really hard to make community living enjoyable and even fun.

    Academic Rigor

    It's hard work, most classes ranging from medium to hard in terms of work load.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always check out your professors before you sign up for classes. I've only got one bad professor in my time at unk so that's a good sign. (Also he retired this year so in comers are saved)

    In three sentences

    A high level college that can be daunting but still extremely inspiring. Campus is beautiful in any season and big enough to feel new but small enough so you don't get lost. A great place to start out or keep going.

  • 07/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I go to college games and other events on campus. The Big Apple is also a fun place to hang out and do different activities.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, but they can make sketchy food. I wish the dining plans were different.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very clean. I have lived in Antelope and the cleaning staff does wonders.

    Academic Rigor

    I have had a lot of academic success thanks to the professors. Some of the professors are strict and very demanding, but in the end it all pays off.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are an undecided student check out different general programs. Don't be afraid to go around and ask classmates for help.

    In three sentences

    The University of Nebraska at Kearney has professors that will always answer any question a student has. The campus is very clean and safe. The dorms are stable and neat.

  • 08/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    UNK is conveniently located in town, you can hit up the bike hike trail, play soccer or football go down to the park for some disc golf or even down to the bowling alley. But if you're looking to stay mostly on campus, UNK has about one hundred different inter murals you can enter in on, from volleyball and basketball to pitch and yard games, it's such a wide variety!

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus gets better and better each year. They're always changing up menus. If you're not a fan of the campus food, there are lots of places across the street or near by for you to grab a quick bite.

    Dorm Life

    There must just be something in the air at UNK. People here are so friendly it's nuts. Talk about easy friend making here. The roommates they pair you with are always a pretty good match and the people on your floor are pretty awesome as well. As for size of the dorms, they're just right for a first timer out on their own.

    Academic Rigor

    Not only do the teachers push for excellence it's amazing how many students excel in so many categories! uNk always has someone going well beyond expectations and making a mark in history.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to try a bunch of activities on campus (like broomball!) Also, it may sound redundant and cliche, but college is made for making new friends, so keep your dorm room door open so passerby s can introduce themselves.

    In three sentences

    UNK has been full of activities, great people, and great opportunities. It's awesome that we have such a highly ranked school not only in sports but academics as well. If you want a fun atmosphere with great opportunities, UNK is for you!

  • 09/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have campus security that goes around the campus to make sure that everything and everyone is safe and occasionally they will going in the dorms to check to make sure that everything is alright.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs activities to join and many opportunities to meet new friends and to be successful at UNK.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Blue and gold week is one of the top traditions that we do here and it just basically allows foreign-exchange students and incoming freshman to see what college life is like.

    Bang for the buck

    For the first two or three weeks they have what we call a blue and gold week where new people from out-of-state and incoming freshmen get to see what Kearney is like and make new friends and get settled down in their new home.

    What to do for fun

    For fun you could either go to the lounges in the residence halls and hang out with friends or you can go explore around Kearny, Nebraska. There are some groups you can join to meet new people.

    Food and Dining

    For food and dining there is a market that serves breakfast, lunch, and supper In the student union. There is also many other restaurants down the stairs in the student union. Instead of spending money all the time there is a meal plan which uses uses points.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms have lounges where friends can hang out or do homework. There are intermaurals teams for each hall. You can meet new people and be apart of a community.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic success is fantastic and professors care about the grades that students get. There are tutors available almost all the time and there is a learning commons in the library.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like 20-30 students in a class then this is the perfect school. The school has a 16:1 student/faculty ratio. There are 13% more foreign exchange students this year from last year.

    In three sentences

    I would rate the University of Nebraska Kearney a great school for foreign exchange students. It is located in a friendly town and has many things to do. It's not a small town University and its not big but it is growing every year.

  • 09/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are lots of cool events going on on campus all the time.

    Food and Dining

    Chartwells sucks.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms here are nice.

    Academic Rigor

    I would say that you learn a lot here. It is much harder than a community college, but unlike at a lot of larger colleges teachers are willing and eager to work with you to help you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for scholarships, UNK offers really good financial aid packages. And study. Just because UNK is kind of known a party school doesn't mean you can't get a great education.

    In three sentences

    The University of Nebraska at Kearney is a great school. I love their Social Work Program, the professors are great. The campus is also very pretty.

  • 10/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The union offers a lot of good stuff. I try to eat at home though just to save money.

    Dorm Life

    I have heard it is okay. I prefer off campus living.

    Academic Rigor

    If you have half a brain you will be fine.

    In three sentences

    UNK is a party school that is great if you like small town Midwest atmosphere. The people are really friendly here and the professors are great. Don't expect too rigorous academics but its a nice school.

  • 11/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The town has some pretty funs things to do, go to the movies, the mall, or go bowling.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you enjoyed high school you'll love it here. If not it's extremely clichy

    In three sentences

    They seem to feel superior because they were once ranked in the top 10 universities in the Midwest. It's definitely a party school. Small town people with big attitudes.

  • 01/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    UNK provides many activities and events for students to participate and attend such as different athletic events, music events, and even events going on in your residential halls.

    Food and Dining

    Yummy!

    Dorm Life

    Great people and staff!

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused! College is a great experience but you've got to keep your grades up while trying to have a good time. Balance things out. Believe that everything will work out because it will. Study hard! You can do it!

    In three sentences

    UNK is a great school! The staff and people are so welcoming and it's such a pretty campus. If you're looking for a school that's a university but still a smaller school with a good distance from home, UNK is the place for you so you should definitely check it out!

  • 01/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I am in Sigma Phi Epsilon, if you ever have the opportunity to go greek I highly recommend it. It is just a great atmosphere, for me Sigma Phi Epsilon is what I would call a home away from home because of how nice everyone is.

    What to do for fun

    I love to go to the gym for fun, or go to the rec center here on campus and shoot some hoops or swim a few laps in the pool. I am a very active person so I always have to be doing something.

    Food and Dining

    Some days it's good some it's not, but if you don't like the food subway and flip side other options as well. So it is always nice to have a backup like those two options.

    Dorm Life

    Good people are very friendly and outgoing the towers are a great place to stay. The rooms are good size I would definitely recommend lofts.

    Academic Rigor

    Like I had already mentioned smaller classrooms so it is easy getting to know your professor and ask them questions after class or office hours if you need to talk to them.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a smaller school, but awesome community. If your looking for a school that has smaller classroom sizes and population, Kearney is the place to be.

    In three sentences

    First year here on campus and it is awesome, one thing I really enjoy is it's about 9,000 students so very big. Classroom sizes are smaller so it is great to get to know your professors. Also the university does a great job on getting students to be involved around campus and always meeting new people.