Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

University of New Hampshire at Manchester Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guards are always willing to walk you to your car, day or night. Plus they're super friendly and always have a smile for you.

    What to do for fun

    Right in Manchester, so while there aren't many clubs, the city life always hold something interesting to do.

    Food and Dining

    Awesome pricing for nutritious food.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus. Doesn't have dorms, but I believe has discounted apartments in the area. This doesn't really apply to me.

    Academic Rigor

    All the teachers I've had have been knowledgeable and eager to help their students. My only complaint is a lack of homework (surprisingly enough).

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the tutoring and study groups!!!!

    In three sentences

    Has small, productive classes with knowledgeable teachers that encourage studying. Flexible tutoring hours and opportunities make classes run much smoother. Has an awesome and growing science department.

  • 09/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is Campus Security that will walk you to your car late at night if need be. They are very nice and very cooperative.

    Bang for the buck

    UNH Manchester is different than most schools simply because it is a commuter school. This means that such things as meal plans are not necessary, and make it more affordable to go to school here.

    What to do for fun

    Elm Street is very close to UNH Manchester, and has many shops and restaurants.

    Food and Dining

    There is a great little restaurant downstairs, and many local places downtown.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at UNH Manchester.

    Academic Rigor

    UNH at Manchester is very good about getting you what you need for your major. The professors are also very good about answering any questions regarding classes if there are any issues or questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the free tutoring!

    In three sentences

    UNH at Manchester is a great place to get a degree. The school is small compared to the main campus, so it has small class sizes and the faculty can work with you easier. The tutoring services and library are great as well.

  • 03/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    exploring the local city.

    Food and Dining

    there is a small cafe that offers delicious food at a cheap price.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    professors make the class more or less difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    be friendly and get involved in clubs relating to interests and majors.

    In three sentences

    a great commuter school. great professors always able to offer extra help. friendly environment for a small school.

  • 10/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The location of the campus may be in the lower end of Manchester, but once on campus you are totally safe!

    Great for these types of students

    This campus is great for those who learn best in a small class room setting.

    Bang for the buck

    For a cheap commuters campus branch of the university, I definitely have received my money's worth.

    What to do for fun

    There are always campus events going on that everyone can get involved in!

    Food and Dining

    The little cafe inside has the best food!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms, this is a commuters campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are hard enough that one can't simply get by, but no so hard that one would need a tutor for every single class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to learn!

    In three sentences

    There is always something going on despite the small campus. The people who attend are warm and welcoming for transfer students and incoming freshman. I have gotten the best education here than I have at any other school.

  • 08/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    This campus is close to downtown Manchester, so there is definitely much nightlife. There are also a couple of dance clubs close by as well. Other entertainment venues ear by also include the Verizon Center and the Fishercats stadium.

    Food and Dining

    The only dining option at UNHM is the Lunchbox. It is a small cafe at the school where the people are friendly and the food delicious.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life as it is a commuter campus.

    Academic Rigor

    You must be willing to devote much time to your schoolwork because classes aren't easy by any means. Professors want their students to learn, and will do whatever they can to help.

    In three sentences

    The university of NH at Manchester is a great school. The classes are small, no more than 30 students per class, making it a more intimate learning environment. Students at this campus are enthusiastic about learning and the school provides many resources for success.

  • 01/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Located close to the lower end of Manchester, but not in, the school is extremely safe. The security guards are friendly and funny, always willing to have a quick chat or walk you to your car at night. I have never had to worry about my safety at this school, which is nice after transferring from a Boston school.

    Clubs and Activities

    Even though the school is small and students come and go, there is always something going on to greet you, introduce you to another student or add to your day. Including lots of free food. What college student doesn't love that? Meanwhile, clubs are small and meaningful and focus on the local community or common/obscure interests.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is for everybody, students are warmly received whether they are freshmen, transfer students, veterans or middle aged adults. There is opportunity to be found here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Expect to see some students and deaf teachers conversing in sign language in the hallways! The ASL program is great!

    Bang for the buck

    You receive a university degree and education for half the price. Its not just the price, its also the quality of the professors and classes in a small personal setting.

    What to do for fun

    Elm Street is located 2 blocks away, full of shops, restaurants and bars to meet your interests. The Red Arrow, a 24 hour diner featured on Diners, Drive-In's and Dives, is 3 blocks away and absolutely amazing! Great for a quick lunch or dinner in-between classes, or a meet up spot with friends.

    Food and Dining

    A small sandwich shop is located on site providing cheap, delicious and quality food. But a short walk to Elm Street can fulfill whatever your heart desires.

    Dorm Life

    The Manchester campus is purely a commuter campus, however there are a few growing housing options with another nearby college, and lots of apartments to be found in Manchester.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are knowledgeable and passionate about their field, and they expect you to return the effort that they put into their classes. Classes are focused on furthering your success in your career and extremely relevant.

    In three sentences

    The University of New Hampshire at Manchester is an exceptional institution dedicated on delivering the greatest education possible to its students through highly competent, motivated instructors, and a welcoming, kind student body. It provides a unique and enjoyable experience, while intellectually and personally expanding the minds of its students. It is without question, a highly commendable and recommended college.

  • 01/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security guards are awesome, too. They greet you when you walk in the door, smile, talk to you, and all around are not intimidating. If you need them to walk you to your car, they will. If you don't feel safe, tell them. They're some of the most helpful people I've met.

    Greek Life

    Sorry, we don't really have this.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many options for clubs. You're bound to find something you're interested in, major related or not.

    Great for these types of students

    This is great for people who want to study and work hard for their grades, but don't really want, or cannot afford, the dorm life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't know of many traditions, but I do know a location. There's a buffet across the street from one of the buildings that, if you show your ID, you get in for six dollars.

    Bang for the buck

    I was skeptical at first, but this school ended up being better than I expected. I'm very impressed, UNH Manchester.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many clubs to join, ranging from Theater to Ultimate Frisbee and beyond. I was actually impressed when I saw the club page, and I have a feeling others would be, too. Not only that, though, some of the clubs host events in the University Center almost every week. There's free food, games, everything! You aren't even limited to the buildings. If you want to go downtown, go there. If you want to just walk by the river, do it. You shouldn't be bored there.

    Food and Dining

    Though there are no meal plans, and you don't get food for free, this campus is in the middle of downtown Manchester. You could go anywhere to eat, as there are tons of options. If you don't want to walk, there's a small cafeteria area inside one of the buildings that has some nice (and cheap!) food.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms. This is a commuter school.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is pretty challenging as far as academics go. Since there aren't any distractions on campus, the faculty expect more from you. You are treated as an adult, and expected to behave as one. I haven't met a single irresponsible person here.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are little nooks and crannies all over the place, in both buildings, if you need to study. There's also a tutoring center; if you need it, use it. Office hours are also helpful, be sure to write them down! And, since the campus is in the middle of downtown, there are plenty of places to go with your friends, or alone, after class has ended.

    In three sentences

    The University Manchester campus is a bit smaller, and there's no housing, but what it lacks in the college experience it makes up for in the character of the student body and faculty. There are a ton of clubs, great people, and is challenging academically. I have never met someone who didn't smile at me in the halls or ask how I am.

  • 04/27/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security guards at all entrances. The parking lot is nearby and they will escort you if you run late.

    Greek Life

    huh?

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs and activities at the school, from rock climbing to knitting. Our tour guide started a knitting club. There is a dance studio and rock climbing gym next door. The YMCA is across the street. And then, there is all of Manchester.....

    Great for these types of students

    Since this is a commuter school obviously you need to live nearby. But if you do, and you want to have great professors in a small class room and save all that money on room and board then check out UNH at Manchester.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Pandora building - the technical building, is the restored Pandora sweater factory. It is owned by Dean Kamen and UNH rents it. The building is beautifully restored and is completely solar.

    Bang for the buck

    When I went with my family to the tour last fall we broke into our majors and had a half hour presentation from a professor in that field. It was awesome and I loved it. I knew then I wanted to be in his class. The classrooms are great. The school is in an old mill that has been beautifully restored. The average class size is small, less than 20 or so students. I can't wait!

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of clubs and activities at the school, from rock climbing to knitting. Our tour guide started a knitting club. There is a dance studio and rock climbing gym next door. The YMCA is across the street. And then, there is all of Manchester.....

    Food and Dining

    All of Manchester.......

    Academic Rigor

    I'll let you know! But the class size is very small so the professors will have more time to spend with their students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out the school during open house and you can meet your prospective professors. This is what we did (my sister is going here also.) People at the school are knowledgeably and friendly, from the educators and professional staff to the librarian - even the security guards were friendly and helpful,

    In three sentences

    This is a beautiful school in downtown Manchester. The class size is small and intimate. Because it is a commuter campus I will live at home and save money on room and board.