Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

University of New Mexico-Gallup Campus Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/15/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I strongly believe that I will get a great education out of the money I am using to get into this college. Even if it's just for an associate's degree. I will have some knowledge in me more than I would think I would. High school has taught me the basics, but I want to expand my knowledge in the architecture field. Therefore, the money that I will be using will all be paid off for in the end. I'm absolutely sure I won't be upset in the end.

    Will enjoy being here

    Most likely, I will enjoy being at the Gallup Branch. Why? Because it has a very simple environment to be in. There isn't too much chaos as it is in the city. In addition, at least 3/4 of the campus contains Native Americans. I am pure Native and I will definately feel comfortable being where I am.

    Will learn a lot

    At the University of New Mexico branch in Gallup, NM, I believe that I will most likely learn a lot. Students who are currently attending there say they are adapting to the learning environment quickly. They feel comfortable and welcomed. With these positive characteristics, I believe that I will be able to learn off the professors easier. Also, not only that, my dedication and commitment will help me increase my interest towards my major.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 9

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is some events that happen around campus, so I sometimes check it out when I have class.

    Dorm Life

    I have not been on the dorm, I live close by.

    In three sentences

    This school has good places to work on homework. There is help in the learning center that can help with any problems you need answered. But high prices on books.

  • 07/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 9

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Student Senate provides some activities on campus as well as clubs. There is also some activities in the community.

    Food and Dining

    Great place to eat Mexican food and bookstore has a good variety of snacks.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life on campus at this time, but I believe there might be in the future.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great tuition. Great for starting small before the huge university.

    In three sentences

    Campus is small enough for a busy mom. Large enough to provide an education. Great atmosphere and environment.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are pageants or events that involve traditional dancing and singing.

    Food and Dining

    There is a little cafe in the building it is very nice and appropriate for students who cant drive out to get a meal and go back to class in time.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at this school.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to experiment the college life but not be discouraged by hundreds of students in one class, UNM-Gallup is the right place to be.

  • 08/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You'll find students in every corner out side some will be talking with friend others will have getars playing n people singing it could be very unusual lol.

    Bang for the buck

    You get what you pay for and more. Our campus has great professors that try very hard to help student when they are in need. For example if there's an emergency a death in family a cultural thing anything important they help with making up the work u missed.

    What to do for fun

    You can join the many clubs we have. We have about 15 clubs from literature to mechanics.

    Food and Dining

    We have one restaurant with one style of food. We don't have a big variety which is frustrating when you only have a half hour break in between courses.

    Dorm Life

    Our campus has no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The professors Make sure there material isn't demanding. They cover everything they think we need for our future courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask for help. Everyone on campus are friendly. My first semester was tough. I didn't know where I was going and why I was taking the courses I signed up for. The reason is because I thought if I asked for help people would think I was dumb, but when I finally asked for help everyone was friendly.

    In three sentences

    The University Of New Mexico Gallup is not the best but I love it. The students faculty and staff are mostly from the same state so they understand the students and do there best to help in any way they can. There are many campus gatherings that the student senate puts together for students faculty and Staff to get to know each other.

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 9

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Pool room, weight room, bike trails, running trails, student senate. Taking advantage of what the campus offers.

    Food and Dining

    No mess hall, all food and dining take place off campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no doorms present at this campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The campus can be lenient but very strict and expect alot from the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Its easier than it looks. Lost with out a major? simple the helpful people at admissions will gladly assist you with that.

    In three sentences

    One of the best two year colleges, within the rural aera of the main campus. The campus is fit for the students enrolled. I support this college deeply.

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police is ever present and can even escort you if you want.

    Food and Dining

    Only one restaurant and it's not so good .

    Dorm Life

    No dorms as far as I know.

    Academic Rigor

    If you take time to study, it's going to be a relatively easy semester.

    In three sentences

    To be honest I wasn't too thrilled to be a student here in UNM-G while my friends attended lager universities, but this University turned out to be great. The student number is low; therefore there's more one on one learning. Tuition is less than half of that at the main campus and stress is less in this university. The only weakness I see is limited classes.

  • 09/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    UNM - G has campus police as well as campus security. These great gentlemen are there for the safety of the students.

    Clubs and Activities

    The Student Senate, Miss UNM, Asian club and so much more.

    Bang for the buck

    Life is very simple here. You are closer to home and things are very easygoing. I love being here and meeting new people.

    What to do for fun

    They provide many clubs you may join into or go out into the local business. The local business provide more fun activities to do.

    Food and Dining

    The bookstore has upgraded their business with a wide variety of items that you can choose from. All are within a decent price. The campus also has a chili factory that also has a variety of foods and drinks to choose from. It also has a little dining area where you can sit and enjoy your meal. If not there then there is the Lobo lounge where you are able to watch tv, relax and enjoy your meal.

    Dorm Life

    As far as dorm life goes this is fairly small campus which doesn't have any facilities that would facilitate a dorm area for students. I do travel back and forth for 35 miles one way. It is worth it. The classes 25-30 students which gets the proper teachings instead of a class full of 60 or more.

    Academic Rigor

    The people are great and very friendly. The environment is wonderful and very safe. Campus police and Security keep it safe.

    Tips for prospective students

    The first few days you begin may be an overwhelming issue but once your on your on your way things run very smoothly. Instructors are excellent. They are very willing to assist you with whatever you may need help with. The campus also has a learning center where you are able to get additional help in assignment problems you may have.

    In three sentences

    University of New Mexico - Gallup is a great place to meet new people and earn a degree. This is a great opportunity to learn and be closer to home. UNM-G is an A+

  • 11/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always see campus police walking around.

    Greek Life

    unsure about greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't know about clubs or activities that go on thru campus.

    Great for these types of students

    just being with friends and having fun.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    no unusual traditions that I know of.just

    What to do for fun

    be in the lab and check on networks

    Food and Dining

    The chili factory has good food

    Academic Rigor

    class and instructors are understanding

    Tips for prospective students

    be prepared for class. Always have assignments done on time.

    In three sentences

    The curriculum is good. The instructors are understanding. Class size is reasonable.