Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

University of New Mexico-Valencia County Campus Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 04/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    P.e, art galleries etc.

    Food and Dining

    A cafeteria and vending machines are located on campus.

    Dorm Life

    no doorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    I would rate this campus a 10 if the scale would be from 1 being the worst to a 10 being the best.

    Tips for prospective students

    This campus is good to start at do to the population and the campus not being so big as main campus.

    In three sentences

    The Valencia Campus is wonderful. I have made it a long ways here with the help of the staff as well as the students. I completed my G.E.D here. This campus has a lot to do with me still attending college.

  • 07/20/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want to get to know their teachers and be able to interact with teachers easily.

  • 01/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Freshman should have an easy transition to Valencia Campus. The campus is not that big and it is a very friendly place. Along with the savings you get from low tuition I see no reason to complete lower division classes at main campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register for your classes as soon as possible. Classes are very limited and there may only be once class time offered for the term, and if you don't get in you have to wait until next term.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is fantastic, about $2000.00 less than main campus. It's why I'm here!

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being here but it is out of the way and in the middle of no where. The campus is a decent size, classes and schedules are rather limited so sometimes your class schedule is hard to work around having a job.

    Am learning a lot

    The class sizes are small, any where from about 30-50 students. The professors know your name, and have shown a true desire for a student's success.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    UNM-VC has great security browsing through the campus throughout the day and evening.

    What to do for fun

    At UNM-VC to do for fun you can enter your videos in a film festival, join a drama class, enter debates, or simply do some studying outside.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register for classes as soon as you can. they fill up fast!

    In three sentences

    UNM-VC has a variety of different courses you can take to complete your degree. They have great scheduling. This community college is an advanced school for any student trying to earn a degree in any field they like.

  • 07/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for classes as early as possible. be willing to go speak to someone if you do need help.

    In three sentences

    its a small school so you get a lot of individual attention if you ask for it. so far i haven't had a professor i don't like. the school is small so classes fill up quick.

  • 08/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    UNM-VC is a small campus, so there isn't much danger. There are security guards on campus, and they are constantly on patrol.

    Great for these types of students

    UNM-VC is great for incoming freshmen, students with some basic courses to finish, and those who are returning to school for a degree.

    Bang for the buck

    classes are very affordable and the education is the same quality as that of a full sized university campus.

    What to do for fun

    There is little to do around campus, but if you go into town (about 5 miles) there are restaurants and a movie theater.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria, however I have never eaten there.

    Dorm Life

    there is no housing on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not impossibly difficult, and they make for an easy transition into college for both incoming students and those returning to school for a degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    When starting college, it is easier to take your basic courses here as it is more affordable and the classes are more engaging.

    In three sentences

    UNM-VC is a small campus with the same educational opportunities as the UNM main campus. Because it is a smaller campus, there is more interaction between teachers and students, therefore more efficient time spent in class. There is also less distraction on campus as there are less students, so studying is easier.

  • 01/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Execellent campus safety. They are easy to talk with and understand protection.

    Food and Dining

    Cheap and easily accessible

    Dorm Life

    NO dorm life here.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are efficient in order to be able to follow along.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pro active campus, willing to do what you need to do in order to succeed you will.

    In three sentences

    It is clean and friendly, well adapted studies and comfortable staff. The classrooms are clean and well maintained. Focus in the classroom is easy.

  • 01/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    the cafiteria closes early but its good food

    Dorm Life

    there is none

    Academic Rigor

    its not difficult with the tutors on campus

    Tips for prospective students

    do the homework

    In three sentences

    it's not a bad campus for a small college. the teachers are ok. its in the middle of nowhere.

  • 03/09/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Student gov would be the ideal club. There are other clubs but are not the greatest.

    What to do for fun

    Study

    Food and Dining

    I ordered nachos once and the jalape���±os had mold. But other than that everything was great.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Take gym classes elsewhere. They have equipment (ei: mats, weights and medicine balls etc..) that are cleaned maybe once a year. And are used frequently.

    In three sentences

    The campus is great! Teachers are great. Only problem was there was a student who contracted MRSA and the employees tried to keep it under wraps (i know because an employee told me) and equipment is never disinfected properly.

  • 05/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great decline in auto burglary

    Clubs and Activities

    they have offered many activities such as zumba and fund raisers

    Great for these types of students

    great for students interested in Art, Nursing, and Science

    Bang for the buck

    I have appreciated my time here, even though some teachers are inadequate to the facility i have not held them to it because eventually in my years of attending they have made up for their faulty instructors.

    What to do for fun

    Great attempts to creative campus life, they offer seminars and fun get-togethers

    Food and Dining

    Excellent cafeteria and staff

    Dorm Life

    Valencia branch does not offer on campus residency

    Academic Rigor

    excellent online assisting, communicating, and goal setting

    Tips for prospective students

    I would rate UNM-VC a 6 out of 10 in this department because some advisors do not offer verbal tips unless asked and even if asked, they are sometimes unclear.

    In three sentences

    UNM-VC provides effective learning, safe environment, and easy online services. I enjoy attending this university and would recommend this campus to other students. What i enjoy most about this campus is the variety of subjects to study here.

  • 10/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    not too sure about it.

    Great for these types of students

    looking for Smaller and less busy environment.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The clock tower is home to a family of owls every year.

    What to do for fun

    Get in on clubs and organized activities.

    Food and Dining

    Not bad, depends on personal preference.

    Dorm Life

    There are not dorms at the Valencia Campus, only at the main campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Lots of academic support.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like a smaller classroom environment this is the place to start off at. More one on one access with your professors and plenty of academic aid available.

    In three sentences

    The classroom size is really nice not too big but not too small. There is a wide range of academic assistance (tutors, open labs, library, advisors.) The professors actually pay attention to individuals.

  • 01/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Overall I have not seen any safety issues at all at the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is not much advertisement on clubs and activities in campus.

    Food and Dining

    Food is really good even though I have just tried it once or twice and the cafeteria is a nice place to chat with friends.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms for this campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Everyone who attends UNM VC should be doing well academically because you receive all of the help you need.

    In three sentences

    It is a great place to start college right after high school. One reason is because it is so small and it is close to home. It is a great environment and we have and advantage because being a small college means smaller classrooms which means the professors are more helpful and have more time.

  • 02/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    on campus police at all times. They are always on watch and will walk students to their cars after dark for extra saffety.

    Greek Life

    Im not sure I understand what greek life is. However, sometimes math seems a little greek to me. I am positive that math is a different language.

    Clubs and Activities

    students government, Phi Theta Kappa, Stem, trio

    Great for these types of students

    students that are going for a two year degree or transfer to a grad school. UNM-VC is a graet place to start and decide what path you want to take and the credits transfer to pretty much any school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At UNM-VC there are is no smoking aloud on the premises, so there are designated smoking areas that students like to hang out at and play hack or just hang out and talk. Also everyone loves to be active and enrole in the gym activities.

    Bang for the buck

    UNM-VC is very affordable with friendly helpful people. Full time tuition only costs $800 per semester and that is for full time classes. Payment plans are also available for those that cant afford the full payment at once.

    What to do for fun

    hang out with friends or get involved in school fumctions. sometimes we have study groups. We also have some weeekend fun as well when there is no classes in the morning we like to get together and enjoy a few drinks.

    Food and Dining

    very good and affordable. The cafeteria serves the best breakfast burrittos I have ever tasted. They never keep you waiting and I have never gotten any food that did not tast good.

    Dorm Life

    Dont live in a Dorm. UNM-VC does not have any dorm rooms, in fact most people live on there own trying to suppport a home and go to schoool full time. I think that UNM-VC should have some type of dorm rooms available to students.

    Academic Rigor

    The work is not hard as log as you do it. there are some teachers that are imposible to work with and the work is very challenging. If you decide to go into the health field the work is very intense and hard work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep in contact with your advisor and seek tutoring and use free resources that are available to you. Make it to all your classes on time and do all assignments. make sure you take classes that are going to count toward your degree.

    In three sentences

    UNM-VC is very helpful. The teachers are very willing to help students with class mateerial. There are many resources available for students to help them achieve their goals