Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

University of New Orleans (UNO) Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/15/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 out of 12 people found this review useful. 1 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The school is great for people looking to live at home and commute. Or people that would like to work as well as be a full-time student (like me).

    Tips for prospective students

    The University of New Orleans is a great choice in school. My tips would be to work in HS to get the best scholarship you can (meal & book coverage is definitely worth it.. that is if you have TOPS to cover tuition). The counselors are not the greatest at scheduling your classes, so you are better off asking someone that attends/attended the school to schedule you. You are better off going to Spring Testing.. try to test out of whatever you can. It will get you out of College quicker.

    Bang for the buck

    I give UNO a 5-star in education for the buck. The education is great, and definitely worth the tuition price. My problem are the extra fees UNO tacks on. Such as the Fitness Center fee.. whether you use it or not, you pay for it. Or the Academic Excellence fee which is a fee for.... being excellent? Or the Fuel Recovery charge for the on-campus electric generator. And on-campus meals are EXPENSIVE. The on-campus bookstore way overcharges for their books, but that is what half.com is for. So all-in-all, the education is worth the tuition, the fees are ridiculous, the meal & book prices are ridiculous as well.

    Am enjoying being here

    UNO is more of a commuting school than a fun school. There are not many things to do around the school, and many students just go for schooling then leave back home or to go to work. However it is still an enjoyable experience, and I have a good time sitting with friends during my breaks, or while walking to classes.

    Am learning a lot

    While many people believe that graduating from a bigger name school (ie Tulane, Loyola, LSU) means a better education, UNO is right on par. Many of my professors and instructors teach at Tulane and Loyola as well. I have been learning a good bit in my current classes, and I am very satisfied with the education I am receiving. And when you graduate and are applying, unless you are trying to get into a competitive work atmosphere (ie Law or Medical) a UNO degree holds just as much weight as anywhere else.

  • 02/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    university police are always on the campus and always patrolling the area.

    Clubs and Activities

    psi-chi for psychology majors, football, soccer, basketball, baseball, student government, tennis, swimming, volleyball, etc...and the list goes on.

    Great for these types of students

    the university of new orleans is great college for all types of students. we have a very diverse student body.

    Bang for the buck

    yes! u.n.o. has the cheapest tuition in louisiana thus far.

    What to do for fun

    u.n.o. is a commuter school. there are different clubs and activities available on campus but so much more to do off-campus.

    Food and Dining

    the food here is great!

    Academic Rigor

    course work is challenging but achievable.

    Tips for prospective students

    do not enroll in any college/university with the mindset that college is easy, because it's not. you must enter college with the mindset to achieve success and be willing to work hard to pursue it.

    In three sentences

    the university of new orleans provides students from high school graduates to non-traditional students with an excellent opportunity to obtain a quality education. the university of new orleans is rich in diversity. i love being a uno privateer!

  • 01/02/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who like to be close to the action. Big and small classes. First time independence.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out all of your options when in comes to housing. Sometimes the Apartments are cheaper then the dorms.Take as many classes as you can, it is a great help in being able to afford school in the long run. Get the used text books and always check blackboard and your e-mail.

    Bang for the buck

    Just before I started school I was worried about how I would pay for college, during orientation we were shown how UNO students can check our financial aid. I was still worried about how I would pay for books and housing, but then I was told that I can rent books and pay for housing on my tuition, and that any remaining money would be placed in my bank account. Then I found out about all of the free assistance and other things we can get, such as free rental DVDs and job search assistance. In the end I really didn't have to worry about anything.

    Am enjoying being here

    I really Love being at UNO. It is a great location for my study, and UNO is greatly involved in the city of New Orleans. UNO its self is a great place to be because they have so much going on and it is easy to make friends.

    Am learning a lot

    UNO is an amazing school! The teachers help out a lot by giving detailed syllabus, test tools, easy to fallow PowerPoint slides, and practice tests. I am currently studying Hotel, Restaurant, And Tourism Administration. My business teachers bring in professionals from the different fields and assign destination visits for Homework.

  • 11/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The University of New Orleans is an affordable school and provides several scholarships to compensate for other expenses. Anyone who wants to attend an university that is cost affordable and provides a wide range of majors, then University of New Orleans is right for you.

    Am enjoying being here

    UNO is great fun and provides numerous of activities for every interest. UNO's campus is so friendly and open that anyone can find a nice, quiet spot to study, hang out, or just relax.

    Am learning a lot

    The University of New Orleans is a great school. Since I began school in August, it has been nonstop learning and experiencing new subjects. Being a freshman in a new environment has been a quite a change, but UNO is a great school to be in a diverse environment and allows you to understand and embrace new ideas. I have learned a lot while attending here and I cannot wait to start my next semester here.

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always on staff 24 hrs a day.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I recommend visiting the crayfish boil. The mud-bugs are absolutely delicious when cooked in famous Zatarain's seasoning. Eating crayfish is a New Orleans tradition.

    What to do for fun

    The University of New Orleans offers a variety of fun activities for students. Monthly there are fun activities offered and some go according to the season such as Mardi Gras.

    Food and Dining

    The University of New Orleans offers a meal dining plan. There are several places to eat on campus and other restaurants and a Rouses Grocery store and PJ's coffee house in walking distance.

    Dorm Life

    There is a dorm on campus but if you don't like dorm living, there is an apartment complex on campus as well that gives a view of lake pontchartrain depending on the location of your apartment.

    Academic Rigor

    The Business department is exceptional. The academic advisers are truly helpful and the business office department always has speakers and different types of engagements for students. And they help business students with internship programs when entering their senior year.

    Tips for prospective students

    When trying to enroll have all documents in place to make the process as easy as possible. Have your ACT/SAT test taken and scores ready to turn in.

    In three sentences

    The University of New Orleans has an outstanding business programs. They give new and current students easy access to review all of what's going on around campus with their easy to use website. Their financial aid office personnel is more than helpful when students are in need of funds to aid them when wanting to join school.

  • 05/31/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    HOW IS THE SAFETY IS ON CAMPUS I WOULD TO FILL AT HOME

    Clubs and Activities

    DO YOU ALL HAVE A BAND ARE A COLOR GUARD ARE DECA ?

    What to do for fun

    what do u all do for fun ?well I do all things for fun like being in the band and being in the color guard and being in DECA .

    Food and Dining

    HOW IS THE FOOD LIKE THERE?

    Dorm Life

    WHAT IS THE DORM LIFE ABOUT I WOULD LOVE TO KNOW BEFOR I CHOOSE UNO I LOVE U ALL SO MUCH

    Academic Rigor

    WELL IAM SO GLAD THAT U ASK YOU ALL HAVE THE BEST ACADEMICS AT UNO AND I HAVE GOOD ACADEMIC TO.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. YOU SHOULD NVIT NEW STUDENTS TO YOUR GAMES ANDTO THE SCHOOL IT WILL HELP U OUT TO .2. YOU SHOULD COME OUT TO THE HOMES OF THE STUDENTS THAT HAVE TRUBOL LREAND .

    In three sentences

    I would love to come here because I love sports and I love the band and the color guard and some times I fill like I do not fit in with any one. but on sat days I come there and go to UNO project pass were they help me with all my work I can not leader as well as you but if you choose to give it to me. I will be glad that you gave it to me I am a hard work that will not give up.

  • 02/05/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Great price for tuition!

    Am enjoying being here

    I don't have a lot of friends due to the fact that I leave at home with my parents. The friends I made, were during orientation and because of budget cuts and a search for a better university these friends have left.

    Am learning a lot

    Being from a foreign country the school has helped me a lot in improving my English. Which makes it easier to learn more new stuff!

  • 07/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Relaxed, laid back people. Easy place to sit and hang out while in school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open minded and you will like it.

    Bang for the buck

    UNO is always trying to make things as cheap as possible without cutting out the education.

    Am enjoying being here

    It's smaller school so making friends is a little bit more difficult but the students are really nice and friendly if you make an effort.

    Am learning a lot

    Teachers are great and I feel challenged without being overworked. I was at ULL for a year and I feel like I am getting a better education here.

  • 02/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    awesome people harding working lazy nerdy hip lovable annoying clubbers club-haters metal-heads pop-heads country kids city mice

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the best location is in the apartments. i may love my dorm but the dorms have this feeling of liberty from the opressive real world. being there is like being in a dream.

    Bang for the buck

    i've met so many fascinating people. so many imimgrants from anywhere in the world and they come with great stories of survial. i am so happy they, and myself, are in america!

    What to do for fun

    picking up the trash around the area fills the soul with serene peace. the yards and streets are decortated with the stuff like lights and garland on a christmas tree. with the cuddly cleaning crew you can join it's the most fun you can have on a thursday.

    Food and Dining

    breakfast is the best part of the day! the frenchtoast is so sweet and deiclious it makes me want to cry. i drag myself out of bed every morning just for the cafteria because that food is the best!

    Dorm Life

    my dorm is cozy and spacey. they gave me the best roommate i could ever ask for; we're actually bffs now. i love it more than my parents' house.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes have the best teachers i could dream of. they actually want to talk to you about the subjects. go to them, learn all you can.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't ignore you homework; especially the boring homework! if you can get through, even concur what you hate most then you can get whatever you want.

    In three sentences

    it's the best college i've ever been too. i was in harvard, for a visit, for about a week and can say it's so much better here. the weather, the teachers, the beautiful indiviual buildings!

  • 03/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a police force on campus and they respond quickly to any issues that arise.

    What to do for fun

    Your about 15 mins from the French Quarter so you can always find something to do in New Orleans.

    Food and Dining

    Could be much better in the UC, but the food in the Cove is great

    Dorm Life

    They do events and rooms are small, but comfy.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on you much, but its not very difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you study and get to know your teachers. Show up to class.

    In three sentences

    The food here could be better. Its a friendly atmosphere. There isn't much to do on campus.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to Mississippi river. You can ride bike, fishing, beach, and get yourself tan.

    Food and Dining

    Its an optional you can bring our own food. There's a new building that have everyone favorite. Subway, KFC, and smoothie.

    Dorm Life

    It's look really good and comfortable but it somewhat expensive (due to the bad economic)

    Academic Rigor

    No so hard,. All you need is a little common sense and look outside the box.

    Tips for prospective students

    When a new student first time there, I would like to tell them come early like 10 minutes. Te building is really huge and you might get lost. Of course there's a main hallway for freshman, but it would be great if you want to know. The more you know about the building, easier to get along and find shortcut so you won't be late for class.

    In three sentences

    From worse to great (1-10), I would rate this campus a 10! Not just UNO have food teacher, the place is fantastic. Great view of the Mississippi River, they have national guard base near and a ranch where you want to ride horse.

  • 06/17/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    12 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is campus police who will contact the NOPD if needed.

    Greek Life

    UNO has them but I am not interested at this time.

    Clubs and Activities

    Cheerleading dance team sports extra curriculum clubs

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Mardi Gras tree. All freshman throw a pair of beads on the tree for good luck in college.

    Bang for the buck

    I would like to get as many scholarships or grants as possible to help me pay for school. Both my mom and my brother have student loans so I need financial assistance.

    What to do for fun

    I have taken dance lessons since I was three and I have been a cheerleader for 6 years.

    Food and Dining

    I would love to purchase a meal plan but cannot afford it at this time!

    Dorm Life

    I am commuting to school. I would love to live in the dorm because I am a Type One diabetic and I am not ready to drive, so I do not now how I will get to classes yet?

    Academic Rigor

    I am not sure what I want to major in yet, but I plan on creating a career for myself!

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the Freshman Orientation! It will give you a lot of help.

    In three sentences

    I really like the location and it is a small university.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police patrol the campus 24 hours a day, which gives a feeling of safety that is coupled with actual safety because there are always at least two police patrolling different parts of campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 100+ clubs to join at UNO. There is a club for everything pretty much. I plan on starting a new club myself! It is going to be a dodgeball club just because no one else seems to have thought of it yet.

    Great for these types of students

    Commuters and people who want to stay at home would love UNO because it is such a commuter-based school. Almost all classes after freshman year have different age ranges in them so older people won't be embarrassed about going back to school!

    Bang for the buck

    UNO is beyond cheap compared to most universities. Most big schools can't compete with UNO's prices because not only is the tuition the lowest in the state, the classes are awesome and there is variety when scheduling classes.

    What to do for fun

    Once a semester there is something called swampball, which is a pit filled with muddy water that people play volleyball in. It's a blast! I've done it both times it has come around. There are a ton of clubs like the marital arts club or anime club (which has game nights every Friday night that are fun for varying types of people, not just anime fanatics!)

    Food and Dining

    The on-campus dining is sub-par. Specifically in the cafeteria, the food sometimes sits out too long and becomes a little hard. That is a little irritating because it is combo'ed with little to no variety. The food very rarely changes. The hot food is all that changes and it doesn't vary much week to week. There are also fast food places in the University Center and The Cove.

    Dorm Life

    I have been living in the dorms for a year now and could not be more satisfied, except with one thing. The lady who does room assignments is pretty lazy and doesn't give you the room assignment you ask for unless you remind her multiple times.

    Academic Rigor

    UNO is an underdog school. Compared to bigger schools like LSU, Tulane, and ULL... UNO is not considered as tough. UNO is probably as difficult if not MORE difficult than most other universities in Louisiana. I have heard so many bad things about UNO that are not even close to true.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your GPA up in high school! Take the ACT as much as you possibly can, the higher your score, the more $$ YOU have for college! Apply for scholarships! Look through the site for applications for scholarships. Most people don't know about these. I didn't until after my first semester, 6 months too late.

    In three sentences

    I had no idea what college would be like before coming to UNO, it has not been disappointing. I could not have made a better decision for what college I am going to. Everybody is so kind, I rarely come across an unfriendly person.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are emergency buttons and campus police everywhere!

    Greek Life

    We have slim picking for our Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities, but they do not promote them selves.

    Great for these types of students

    UNO is grea for quiet students, who just want to get done with school as soon as possible.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year there is a Mardi Gras parade thrown by the daycare children. They also have swampball, and an all you can eat crawfish party.

    Bang for the buck

    UNOs fees are pretty reasonable, However the prices for the books are outrageous!

    What to do for fun

    The only thing you can do is attend an event found on one of the many bulletin boards.

    Food and Dining

    They have many options and are currently adding more!

    Dorm Life

    I do not stay in the dorms, but I have heard good things about dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    UNO is highly recognized around the city!

    Tips for prospective students

    Complete your application correctly.

    In three sentences

    Not a party school, very quiet. The students keep to themselves. The teachers are there to help!

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Bohemian, Parents, those working their way through school, current professionals. low income

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Check out The Sandbar, our on campus jazz bar. Great place for late night food & adult beverages.

    What to do for fun

    15 minutes to the French Quarter

    Tips for prospective students

    They won't hold your hand here--be ready to keep track of your own obligations.

    In three sentences

    Great education for the money. College is going through a lot of change though. What they lack in administrative strength they make up for with great teachers.

  • 09/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Privateer Plunge- basically mud wrestling!

    Bang for the buck

    Great curriculum at an affordable price!

    What to do for fun

    Da Quarters!

    Food and Dining

    New Orleans is full of delicious food. I have yet to try food on campus

    Dorm Life

    I wouldn't know.

    Tips for prospective students

    Finish all administrative paper early!

    In three sentences

    Great instructors. Diverse campus. And a great time!

  • 09/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    UNO Polices on campus 24/7. Call them whenever you feel like you need a police escort. They are there for you awake all night.

    Greek Life

    It is my personal opinion that i do not see the point of greek life in my university. I do not even know what they do besides doing some community services and dressed up on Sunday for their meetings. They are so into their groups that sometimes it is not hard to see two or multiple groups conflicting for nothing. Not recommended. If you want to join one for career network, there is a great news for you; there are tons of professional organization that actually helps you to broaden your opportunity to get a job instead of doing money business.

    Clubs and Activities

    Sports Clubs offer huge amount of scholarship. Target for those if you do not have scholarship. First come, first served.

    Great for these types of students

    Commuters, and International students. Someone who is actually attending college to learn.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Liberal Art building class number is messed up due to the fact that it used to be a naval base. Go to class 15 minutes before to prevent any tardies.

    What to do for fun

    Student Activity Councils organize events on campus at least once a week. UNO is a wet campus which means you are allowed to drink if you are above 21. There is a brand new bar on campus which serves beers and wine. Allowed to purchase after 4:30 pm.

    Food and Dining

    Aramark is in charge of entire food flow of the campus and it is required to purchase a meal plan if you live in dorm. The cafeteria is a buffet style and there are around 7 more places on campus where you can grab snacks between classes.

    Dorm Life

    UNO dorm is probably the cleanest and newest dorm in the region. There are three options; 1,2, and 4 bedrooms. You have your own sink, room and just have to share a bathroom with one more extra roomate if you choose 2 or 4 bedroom. In general, it is very good.

    Academic Rigor

    If you study and are willing to do your best in your college years, you will be fine. But if you really are laid back not willing to do anything but expect to get As, i am sorry that will not happen.

    Tips for prospective students

    The greek life on campus is totally different from other school's one. Do not expect to live in frat house or something.

    In three sentences

    UNO is a commuter school where it is easy to observe a great diversity in the campus community. Even though the university still has some visible damaged due to hurricane Katrina, the administrators are doing their best to rennovate facilities as much as possible. It is where you can get private education with public tuition.

  • 09/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police patrol everywhere, and there is always one at the dorms.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have some, but not too many worth noting.

    Great for these types of students

    Ones who want to get their degree quickly.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are a lot of nice little areas on campus. Nothing particularly unusual as far as I know. Most people just take their classes and leave, so not too much in the way of tradition.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheap, only 3000-ish for a semester of tuition, and classes are nice.

    What to do for fun

    If you want to have fun, you want to go off campus. They have events, but they aren't really exciting.

    Food and Dining

    Aramark is no good. I had beef stew today that tasted like chlorine. Coffee shops are good, though.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are really nice-- you get your own bedroom. However, only a small percentage of students stay here, so there isn't too much going on later in the day.

    Academic Rigor

    It's a serious school, but it isn't Harvard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take your classes seriously and take advantage of resources on campus. Also, actually find where things are on campus.

    In three sentences

    Basically, UNO is nice for someone who just wants a degree. The administration isn't the best, but most of the teachers and staff are good at what they do. Also, campus is nice.

  • 10/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've alwas felt safe on campus, but I have heard about a couple incidents

    Greek Life

    not much of this but there are a few options to choose from

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the blue drawing on the university walkways are alligator paws!

    What to do for fun

    Go on student retreats, make new friends, hang out in the quad and the cove, go to the french quarter on the 55 bus.

    Food and Dining

    The cove just opened with lots of new options, so now there are two main hubs for food on campus! Popeyes, yum!

    Dorm Life

    Nice dorms, they are pretty new, and you'll meet lots of people.

    Academic Rigor

    You need to do the work to get by, but if you stay up to date, it is not hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet lots of people, make contacts, they will help you once you graduate, and not only classmates, but professors as well!

    In three sentences

    Undergraduate courses are challenging but if you do the work you will do fine. The university is a commuter school but the life in the campus is pretty nice! Good scholarships offered also!

  • 12/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Compared to other universities, the University of New Orleans is not that expensive. What it does cost, however, is completely worth it. None of my professors has cancelled class more than one time during the semester. While that can be nice, you are not getting what you paid for. If you really think about it, though, if you are in college, or planning to attend college, you are paying for something that you hope will promise a hopeful future and career for yourself. UNO has professors who know what they're teaching (like they are supposed to--although some professors elsewhere do not), and they care whether or not you understand their material. They will work with you! The advisors at UNO are also extremely friendly when suggesting what courses to take. You are expected to learn as much as possible at UNO, and if you ask me, the amount you are required to pay to attend is severely low compared to what you take away from the university's courses and professors.

    What to do for fun

    There is always some kind of activity going on at the University of New Orleans. The Sandbar, a food establishment located at The Cove, regularly has performances of Jazz music and improv groups on their stage. Earlier this semester, there was a tug-or-war competition and a battle between the girls on a powerpuff football game. A few days ago, current UNO students had a concert! There is always something to do at UNO, and even if you're not interested in an activity that week, you are in New Orleans where there is always something to do!

    Food and Dining

    I absolutely love the food that is offered at UNO. There is a huge selection in the cafeteria, and it is always tasty. To my surprise, there was even an ice cream machine for a delicious ice cream cone. Even better, Chick fil a, Smoothie King, Subway, and even a Popeyes is conveniently located on campus for the students. At The Cove, where the Popeyes is, there is an awesome burger shop that allows you to customer make a delicious burger! My all time favorite is the Sandbar, though. It is on the other side of The Cove, and they offer hamburgers, a variety of salads, and other yummy plates. On certain days, too, they have Jazz performances, as well as an improv group that performs on their stage. It's worth checking out!

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus, but when I ask my friends who do live in dorms, they always tell me how much they enjoy them. The dorms offer two bedrooms on each side with a roomy living area for those who inhabit it. They provide enough privacy when the time comes, but they also allow for a spacious environment for everyone to socialize. If it was necessary (I live close enough to campus I do not need to stay in a dorm), I would gladly live in their dorms. After all, college is a time to leap from the nest!

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, UNO has had a reputation of a heavy workload. To me, the amount of work I am expected to turn in has not been too much to bear. It could be that I am an academically driven person that I don't mind the amount of work given to me, but it is important to remember that you are paying for this education experience, and you should want as much offered to you as possible. UNO is worth every dollar, and it is only rigorous if you let it be. Attend every class, stay on top of the assignments, and remember to study because if you're paying for it, don't take it for granted.

    Tips for prospective students

    Incoming UNO students should except to word hard. If you're in college, you are there to create a hopeful future for yourself. UNO challenges you, but there are always people and professors around to gladly assist you in the areas you are lacking. Moreover, prospective students should anticipate a friendly environment, because I have yet to meet a student who has not been amiable toward me. Remember, college is what you make out of it, and it is hard to make UNO a bad experience with all of the great things and people it has to offer.

    In three sentences

    The University of New Orleans is a great college because of its nice location and landscape, as well as its academic offerings. The professors I have had so far (I'm only a freshman) are not only experts at what they're teaching, but are also caring toward the students and their grades. UNO offers a well-rounded college experience for whomever wants to attend.

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many bars and night clubs in downtown New Orleans, from sports clubs to dance halls. For on-cmapus entertainment, the Department of Student Involvement usually offers some sort of student activity such as a movie night or community video game activity.

    Food and Dining

    On campus dining is regulated to standardfast food fare, such as Subway, Chick-Fil-a, and Popeye's. But the main attraction for food lies outside the campus borders, in and around downtown. If one gets tired of campus food, one is not far from world-class dining of every ethnicity.

    Dorm Life

    Average dorms do give adequate living space, but it is not flamboyant for some who want a great place to live. There is plenty of space for two to live, though.

    Academic Rigor

    Most students agree that the classes can be quite difficult and challenging, but this is college, so one must be dedicated to their work. If they do this, then what is being taught will make sense and apply from the teachers that instruct students at UNO.

    Tips for prospective students

    Strategically plan your classes and course requirements to get the maximum out of the tuition and achieve prospective degree quicker.

    In three sentences

    Great campus that offers a rewarding expereince for students. Difficult, but engaging professors that stimulate academic growth. Excellent location that is 20 minutes from downtown New Orleans.

  • 12/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Twenty-four hour campus police every day of the week all over the campus!

    Clubs and Activities

    There's always something going on on-campus at UNO for the person who is open-minded about extracurricular activities!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students looking for a diverse environment and experience in their lives, which would hopefully be during your college career if you have never experienced it in your life!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The UC is one of the most populated but fun areas on campus for events such as music Tuesdays where the university lets talented musicians perform for you during your dead hour or when there are no classes scheduled on Tuesdays or Thursdays!

    Bang for the buck

    This school is better to attend than looking for money to attend Tulane or Loyola!

    What to do for fun

    New Orleans offers so many forms of entertainment and new adventures daily!

    Food and Dining

    The Real Food On Campus (RFoC) is where it's at!

    Dorm Life

    Great dorm life here on UNO's campus! As well as the on-campus apartments!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes in the Liberal Arts (from what I can speak of) are intensive and challenging but in a good way!

    Tips for prospective students

    Please be prepared to meet and experience the coolest city ever!!

    In three sentences

    The greatest university to attend in the heart of the greatest city in the universe -- New Orleans!

  • 01/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out at the recreation center to play sports, or you can stay in the dorm to play games like pool.

    Food and Dining

    Simply put, make sure you have the time to eat comfortably. Don't eat something that will upset your body.

    Dorm Life

    As you live in a dorm, you must respect the rules given. Even though you have the freedom to chose when to go to sleep, make sure you sleep enough. You won't feel absent minded the next day if you do.

    Academic Rigor

    Don't panic! Figure out how you will spend your time, and plan things out before hand. Don't study too much, too long, or too hard. If you are attending a class you like, it can be interesting.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you go to ratemyprofessors.com, before you signed up for a class. Get the professors that are not so tough on students. Pay attention to lectures, record them if you can.

    In three sentences

    The campus is squirrel friendly. Everyone respect each others, and others respect you. Teachers I meant so far are friendly.

  • 05/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never really heard about anything bad happening on campus (despite it's location). Although, campus police are more interested in writing parking tickets than actually being helpful.

    Great for these types of students

    Commuter students. The most successful students here are working adults.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition continues to go up, but the options continue to go down. UNO has not handled budget cuts well at all. It's very disappointing.

    What to do for fun

    Check out things New Orleans has to offer.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good for the most part.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically the school is very tough.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your research. Rate my professor has been a wonderful tool!

    In three sentences

    The professors are amazing, and most truly care about their students. The administration is pretty much terrible, and hasn't handled the budget cuts very well. They take role in almost every class, and use it for part of your grade; you will feel like an elementary school student again.

  • 07/10/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    25 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of things to do for fun on campus. You can go to the Recreation Center where there is a pool, fitness center, and an indoor track. This is free to any student on campus. There are also many clubs and sports you can join and many activities around campus.

    Food and Dining

    There are many places to eat at on campus. They have a few fast food restaurants such as Popeye, Subway, and Chick-fil-a. They also have a coffee shop and a few other restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very nice. They have game rooms and a mini shop on the first floor. They also have a kitchen that residents can use. The rooms are a good size and I like how there is only one person per room and how you have a lock for your own room. The only bad thing I've noticed so far is that the walls are very thin and you can hear every noise someone will make.

    Academic Rigor

    I've only been to this school for orientation but from what I've heard from other students you have to actually try hard to get the good grades you want.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should defiantly attend orientation and any other campus involvement activities because it's a great way to make friends and learn about all the things you can do at the school.

    In three sentences

    It's a great school that has many ways to help students succeed. The students who help with orientation are helpful and nice, they make it a lot easier to get to know people and to get used to the school. I also like how they have many ways to get help or tutoring if you need it.

  • 07/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I definitely love this school. It is my home, and a place I am proud of.

    What to do for fun

    Living on campus, there are always events going on. But if you don't, then there is always the French Quarter, the zoo and aquarium!

    Food and Dining

    Sometimes the food can get a little bland, but overall it is pretty good. There are quiet a few options.

    Dorm Life

    UNO has a smaller dorm life, but it makes it so everyone knows and loves each other.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are hard and challenging, but if you really apply yourself and take time to care about them, you will be fine!

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your work. Everyone thinks that college is about partying and going crazy, and part of it is, but the other part is actually staying in college.

    In three sentences

    UNO is not only a college, it is an experience. The school provides a warm and inviting atmosphere that makes everyone feel at home. The teachers take time to teach you and get to know your strengths and weaknesses.

  • 09/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always - and I mean always - police officers patrolling campus. It's pretty hard to go somewhere and not see one.

    Greek Life

    I never thought I'd go greek, but I'm about to do recruitment this week. All of the sorority girls are super nice, and greek life here isn't the stereotypical way it is at the large southern universities. Here it's more about making good friends and being involved with the school.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs to choose from, anyone can definitely find exactly what they want.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a giant statue of Macbeth but everyone just calls him a spaghetti monster.

    What to do for fun

    Welcome Week and Privateer Plunge offers lots of fun things to do. There's also the possibility of going to the Rec Center, hanging out in the UC, or chilling with friends in the dorms. Not to mention it's in NEW ORLEANS!

    Food and Dining

    The food at the RFoC is delicious and I never get bored with the dining options.

    Dorm Life

    I love living in the dorms! Everyone is so much fun that after just my second day living here I felt no need to go home. My dorm is definitely my home now.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers will give you homework and definitely expect you to complete it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely apply. UNO gives out an amazing scholarship that pays for just about everything, and so you can be attending college for hardly any money at all.

    In three sentences

    Everyone from staff to teachers here are super helpful and have made the transition amazing and a breeze. My classes keep me enthralled, and the teachers are really good. Living on campus is nice too, because everything I need is available to me.

  • 10/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never known it to be an issue.

    Greek Life

    LOVE.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is diversity of clubs, but they don't do a whole lot.

    What to do for fun

    Not much.

    Food and Dining

    Reasonable.

    Dorm Life

    They're nice compared elsewhere.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are hard. They make you think, and they aren't easy. It takes effort and knowledge to get these classes done.

    In three sentences

    A very good school for someone who wants to get things done, and that's it. If you're looking for an experience, this is not the place to be. It's a great commuter school.

  • 10/31/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    29 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Beyond bang for the buck!

    What to do for fun

    Campus Organizations and Events

    Food and Dining

    Expensive I must say, but there is a variety of food on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Difficult at times but you will graduate prepared for anything.

    Tips for prospective students

    Develop a relationship with your professors early! Sit in the front of the class! Participate in the classroom and outside of the classroom. The opportunites are endless...oh and ASK QUESTIONS!

    In three sentences

    This University is a dream come true. There are so many opportunities to get involved on campus and to make the best of your time here. I am graduating in December so it will be bittersweet!

  • 11/27/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    30 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Rarely any issues besides minor burglaries.

    Great for these types of students

    Students whose grades preclude them from entering a more academic university.

    Bang for the buck

    It is inexpensive.

    What to do for fun

    The school is much farther from New Orleans proper than it claims, takes nearly 20 minutes by car to reach. Although its fun to go into New Orleans, most students don't end up going more than every so often.

    Food and Dining

    Basic cafeteria with a subway and aramark pizza place.

    Academic Rigor

    The film department in the years I was there graduated 1 or 2 out of the 10 or so grad students they admitted. They said this was because of academic rigor, but that just wasn't the case. I easily achieved A's in all but one class (B). They forced a lot of the best and brightest grad students out just through political hassles and this constant need by the faculty to somehow teach students a lesson for their arrogance. My thesis committee was chosen by the department, not students. My thesis chair was a fundamentalist christian who I had many ideological clashes with. I was given wrong or misleading instructions many times. Nonetheless, he was my advisor, my thesis chair, and my boss for my assistantship, so had complete control over my experience. Once, I heard him saying bad things about me to another student with his office door open. I confronted him about how unprofessional that was, and he responded by telling me I better watch my tone and demoting me to a lower position. He also said disparaging things about another student's film who included gay subject matter. Beyond that, the professors had little idea of what constitutes academics. To be frank, these professors didn't even know MLA format, and except for two professors were entirely ignorant of film studies and history. Check the statistics. The university graduates a very slight percentage of students. If 50-some percent of people said they would go back, its probably because they still have some years to finish.

    Tips for prospective students

    When an official or professor at the university makes a mistake, the culture of UNO is very good at just finding some excuse to blame it all on the student and not take any corrective action. I'm speaking with personal experience, but it's also something that happened to many people I know. You would ask repeatedly what is the deadline? what do i need to be doing here? but if they didn't tell you, you would of course be blamed. Even the people I know who decided to graduate mostly say it makes me feel nauseous just walking into the building -- I've literally heard 3 people say that to me, and many others similar things.

    In three sentences

    The university provides a bare-minimum experience that many of the Louisiana students don't have any other experiences to compare it with. The administration and departments are extremely poor at communication, rarely responding to students. I tried to contact the office of Accountability one time to report an academic issue, and literally called them over 4 times and wrote over six emails. When I finally reached someone, they said they would call back and I was never able to reach someone again.

  • 11/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Create something and start advertising! Or visit the lakefront to play with birds.

    Food and Dining

    Love the food. Varies from all kinds.

    Dorm Life

    There are lots of students who live on campus, but there are some who commute as well.

    Academic Rigor

    Work hard and you will earn it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy the food.

    In three sentences

    UNO is full of diversity. UNO is open to all kinds of people from different cultures. UNO is a beautiful campus with a lakefront to visit after class!

  • 12/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are MANY things to do to have fun. Other than the extra-curricular activities, there are classes in the recreational center like zumba and cycling. Me personally, I am a part of the UNO Privateer Chorus which I love!

    Food and Dining

    LOVE IT!! There are various dining on campus and they are very good. Dining includes Subway, Chic-Fil-A, Popeyes, and The Sandbar.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't lived on campus, but based on my classmates, it is a wonderful experience for them.

    Academic Rigor

    I would say with every school, there is an expectation. Since this school is popular in the United States and around the world, students are encouraged to go above and beyond what is required from this university. The extra-curricular activities are also great to be a part of.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise every prospective student to make sure they meet the deadlines and be prepared to meet the expectations of each professor. The campus isn't hard to maneuver around and the students are alway willing to assist if you need to find where you need to go. The music program is an awesome program, even if you're not interested in majoring in music.

    In three sentences

    The University of New Orleans is a very amazing school. The professors are very helpful and the students are friendly and cool to be around. I would recommend this school to anyone who is considering attending college in the near future.

  • 12/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They value the safety of the campus and have Campus Police at the University of New Orleans are on duty 24 hours 7 days a week.

    Greek Life

    Greek Organizations here are highly involved from bake sales, to community service the greek's here are very consistent.

    Great for these types of students

    UNO is a great place for students who are looking for an affordable education, great campus life, and the support of the University.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    While attending UNO there's an annual sucbauf, for most students who travel to the university it might seem a bit weird eating crawfish because that's whats being served there but to locals its just another huge crawfish boil and celebration in the big easy.

    What to do for fun

    Attend the greek activities and get involved on campus because there's so much to do.

    Food and Dining

    ARFOC, keeps the students with a large variety of healthy food choices daily.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life's pretty amazing, The dorms are literally 6 years old ponchartrain hall has an indoor convenient store and multiple study rooms available at all times. I viewed these as a few deal breakers before i moved in and i made the right decision.

    Academic Rigor

    While attending the UNO, you will be faced with a lot of challenges especially academically as the school is a very good school in terms of academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay Focused, Get involved on campus, and utilize all campus resources.

    In three sentences

    The University of New Orleans is a pretty good bargain for a great education, on campuses resources such as computer labs, tutoring centers, and structured reviews gives students here an opportunity to obtain that degree of higher learning. The University is here with you every step of the way throughout your career to help you achieve every goal possible, if it had to be rate on a 1-10 scale i'd give this place an 8.

  • 01/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The only concern on campus is thievery, which isn't terribly prevalent.

    Greek Life

    This is a prevalent element around campus, but I don't take part in it. Those involved do many activities and often recruit new members.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many are offered.

    Great for these types of students

    - Those looking to save money - English majors

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a tree of Mardi Gras beads prospective students throw beads at before they start school. There is also a circle of friendship, said to be the meeting place of life-long friends.

    Bang for the buck

    UNO is a very economical choice.

    What to do for fun

    There is constantly some activity happening, as well as numerous clubs to join. There are plays, concerts, and sporting events offered.

    Food and Dining

    UNO is helpful for vegetarians. Such selections as Popeye's, two cafes, a subway, sushi places, a sand bar, and a cafeteria are available. Many small locations are around the campus (even in the math building!), which are similar to small convenience stores.

    Dorm Life

    I can't give a review for dorms, given that I do not have one. I have, however, visited the on-campus apartment of a friend, which was quite nicely spacious for an on-campus place.

    Academic Rigor

    I speak from the perspective of being involved in the English department, which is known to be one of UNO's strong points.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you secure enough scholarships, hardly anything at all will be out of pocket.

    In three sentences

    The University of New Orleans is perhaps the most economical university in Louisiana. Scholarships are awarded well, and tuition won't eat them all up. There is also a lot of school spirit around with the many activities constantly happening somewhere on campus at any given time.

  • 02/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel pretty safe on campus

    What to do for fun

    I know there are campus activities, but I don't pay attention to them. There are always plenty of things going on in New Orleans!

    Food and Dining

    The Cove has some good food. Oh, and they have drinks, for those of us 21+

    Dorm Life

    No experience with this, nor have any of my friends, so please ignore my rating which I was required to give. But in terms of cost, it is reasonable at least

    Academic Rigor

    (for the graduate program)

    Tips for prospective students

    I don't know much about undergraduate study here, but from what I've heard it can be difficult. I know the graduate program I'm in is not a piece of cake, but seriously, is it anywhere?

    In three sentences

    We may not have the prestige of Tulane, but we have some awesome, well-known professors that are experts in their field (at least in my department), and are a pleasure to learn from. It's an absolute shame the school doesn't get more funding from donors or the state. They have some pretty cool things happening here.

  • 02/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    As far as fun and parties at UNO, that is rare. There is a Luau and a Blackout party at the beginning of the Fall semester and they are pretty fun. Nine out of ten times, you should just call a bunch friends and go visit the french quarters or Bourbon or Canal Street.

    Food and Dining

    Along with living in the dorms, you have to purchase a meal plan. There is no choice about it. The food is terrible in the cafeteria. The reason why I gave food 2 stars instead of one is because there is something called a declining balance that you get to use to buy Chik fi la, Subway, Popeyes, or food from the Sandbar with.

    Dorm Life

    The school's advertisements try to pull in students because their dorms are newer than other schools in the surrounding area, students get individual rooms, and the rules are not that strict but it is only bait. There is never hot water. There is a North Dorm and a South Dorm. If you by luck get to stay in the North Dorm congratulations, but if you get stuck in the Dirty South , may the force be with you. I also recommend if you live in the dorms, apply by semester because if you decided that you want to move out mid-semester with an academic plan, you will be find 300 dollars as well as lose your 250 deposit.

    Academic Rigor

    I have had the opportunity of taking classes at other campuses and UNO has to have some of the worse teachers. Granted, some of the teachers here are really nice, while others are not so much. There is no variety of science teachers to pick from if you are a science major. The science teachers are the main ones that make their classes weed out classes. I would say the Academic Rigor is about a 3.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a prospective student, I suggest you visit the campus as many times as they allow you to. Make sure this is really where you want to go, because transferring is not all that easy. I would recommend that you get involved in something. Research all your scholarship opportunities because UNO is one of the better schools when it comes to helping students with tuition. DEFINITELY make sure you use ratemyprofessor.com when scheduling your classes, its proven to be pretty accurate.

    In three sentences

    If you are looking to pursue anything other than an education,engineering, or liberal arts degree, I would not recommend it. As a science major, I have noticed that most of the teachers that teach the important sciences like biology and chemistry are not that great with actually teaching the students. Besides the science teachers, UNO is a very nice campus filled with positive people that really want to see you successful.

  • 03/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The policemen are really nice and usually talk to you when they see you around campus. I feel safe walking to and from my car.

    Great for these types of students

    UNO is great for independent students.

    Bang for the buck

    I just go to class and then go home, so it works for me!

    What to do for fun

    I have gone to the gym to workout, which is nice. Other than that, my activities outside of school are off campus.

    Food and Dining

    I only ate on campus once at chick-fil-A.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't lived in a dorm, so I don't know.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes that I have taken, which are mostly Biology courses are not that hard. It is a lot of memorization, but not much application.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a big university, there isn't a sense of community as a result of the many students that commute and live off campus. So, get to know a group a people to hang out with-join a club or group.

    In three sentences

    I went to a small high school, so I was used to close student-professor relationships-this is not what you get at UNO. In introductory classes it is unusual for teachers to know your name. Professors are hit and miss-I have had some great professors and some not so great.

  • 03/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Always be active in the campus events such as swampball and the various different organizational events that go on year round.

    Food and Dining

    Bunch of places to eat for lunch and a cafeteria to eat at breakfast lunch and dinner. Unfortunately not many places on campus open during the weekend.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun and the rooms aren't super tiny like at some universities.

    Academic Rigor

    It sure challenges me to think beyond what I normally would.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you ask questions when going through the application process. It definitely helps alleviate some stress and if you don't ask you won't know.

    In three sentences

    University of New Orleans is a wonderful place to be with friendly people everywhere on campus. UNO challenges you to see your true potential and is a great place to earn a degree from.

  • 03/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Bleh, lame

    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional, serious, commuter

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Despite the small Philosophy department, there is a lively and active Philosophy Club!

    Bang for the buck

    Great value

    What to do for fun

    New Orleans, duh!

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent and challenging

    Tips for prospective students

    Beware the administration, they don't have your best (educational) interests at heart. However, you can depend on the teachers to care if you care about your studies.

    In three sentences

    Very diverse, tolerant, interesting student population. The best professors at the lowest cost. Overall, an excellent education, even if the administration is more concerned about building athletics programs - for now.