Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

University of North Alabama Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/08/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 1 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    UNA is great for the students who just need extra encouragement or are used to a smaller classroom setting. Your instructors meet you on campus and actually call you by name. That's pretty cool. At UNA you are not just a number...You are an actual person.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus during winter break with no students there. If you just love it then, think of how great it will actually be with all the students.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe UNA to be a great educational value, whether you are just getting your basics here or finishing up a degree. It affords more people the opportunity to obtain a college degree, thus enhancing their life. You get all the benefits of college life with the great benefits of a small town I feel UNA has a great amount of Bang for the Buck.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am enjoying being a student at the University of North Alabama. I do get homesick some, as I am six hours away from home. Even so, it has been relatively easy to make friends and there is always something to do on campus. You can try your hand at intramural sports of all kinds and of course there are the regular type clubs and Greek life.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a great deal at the University of North Alabama. The instructors seem to genuinely care about your success in the classroom. I enjoy the fact that they take the extra time needed to make sure each student is reaching their full potential.

  • 11/13/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Although the town is small, the campus nice. It is safe campus and tuition is not very high.

    Will enjoy being here

    The town is very small town. The mall is very small as well. Finding things to do will be hard if you don't know anyone there.

    Will learn a lot

    The classrooms are small, so that means that you may be able to get more assistance from your teacher. I can't be curtain because I have not had the chance to sit in a classroom while a teacher was lecturing.

  • 10/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you want to experience a smaller town, Florence is perfect. UNA is a smaller school (~7500 students), so it's pretty easy to find your outlet and get really involved without feeling overwhelmed. But UNA is still large enough that it's very diverse, and it's really cool to experience so many different cultures.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit! And try to shadow someone in their classes. There's no better way to find if a school is right for you than to experience the campus for yourself. If you choose to come, live on campus!!! Even if you're only 30min away, living on campus is so fun, and you really get the college experience!

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition prices are currently going up as the school is moving up to D1 for all of the sports, but tuition is still really good. It's much less than all of the colleges I researched before choosing a school. Definitely reasonable tuition prices. And there are lots of scholarships available too!

    Am enjoying being here

    It's so easy to meet people here. Everyone is so sweet and helpful. There are tons of clubs to get involved in and lots of activities on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Great professors that genuinely care about your success in their classes. (And they know your name!) Free tutors available to fit around your schedule.

  • 12/18/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for people who prefer a smaller campus or are used to living in a smaller town, but poeple form big cities love it here too! :-)

    Tips for prospective students

    Start out with a good attitude and get involved with organizations on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    awesome place and decent price for a university

    Am enjoying being here

    I definitely suggest living on campus if you want to make a lot of new friends.

    Am learning a lot

    Ask around about the classes and teachers or check out ratemyprofessor.com before you sign up for them.

  • 01/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is good. there are the occasional situations that happens on campus. but as college student you have to think like an adult and use your head to avoid the things that go sometimes go on.

    Greek Life

    i am not apart of a greek myself, but i know that it is a big part of the life at una.

    Clubs and Activities

    i will say that there are many things to get involved. ultimately it depends on the type of person you are.

    Great for these types of students

    great for students that like the small town atmosphere, and the small school feel, with small classroom size.

    Bang for the buck

    on the money part, compared to other colleges it is wonderful. and you do get a great education.

    What to do for fun

    not much, just hangout with friends, sleep, and go home. not too much to say about that one. it is really how you make, i mean you are in florence,alabama.

    Food and Dining

    if you want to get fat, then you will love the food here. there are some food that's healthy to eat, but more that are very fatty and greasy. but if you a discipline you should be fine.

    Dorm Life

    the dorm life is not the best. must dorms are traditional style and, old, and the roommates are picked at random, unless you pick them off facebook or already know the person.

    Academic Rigor

    the academics are pretty good. the general history course are not my favorite but for the must i have had an pretty good experience. there are a few history classes that work though.

    Tips for prospective students

    una is a wonderful school for people who want to study without many distractions, and live a traditional college life. the dorms in my opinion could be better, but compared to other schools with traditional dorms, they are not that bad. overall for a person who wants a big city college life, una is not the place.

    In three sentences

    in my opinion una gets a 6 or a 7 from me. una is a great school it's just lacking the fanstany the college life that i dreamed of. such as the random dances in the middle of the campus, and random parties in the middle of the week.

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 6 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is abysmal. This past month, we've had an armed robbery, several break ins, and last year we had a bomb threat. Campus police did nothing. They're usually too busy zooming around on their segways, blocking off parking, and writing tickets to actually keep students safe.

    Greek Life

    The Greek people are generally really nice. They don't rule the school, and they're not snotty at all (generally). Most of them throw fun parties too. We have at least one dry fraternity. I'm not Greek, but my friends who are tell me it's really demanding to participate.

    Clubs and Activities

    As mentioned above, most of the clubs are based on a major, though most of them are open to anyone who wants to join. There's not a lot to do at UNA itself.

    Great for these types of students

    UNA is great for people who already live in the Shoals area. It's not that great if you have to commute from more than 30 minutes away; you'll never find parking.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Some of the buildings are supposedly haunted. There are a ton of squirrels all over campus. We also have two live lions on campus. You can see them at any time.

    Bang for the buck

    One semester at UNA, if you're an in-state student, will run you about $5,000, just from UNA alone. That's fairly cheap compared to other, bigger schools. You'll miss out on some of the big campus life, but the quality of the education here is generally as good as what you'd see at a bigger school. Great value.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do for fun on campus. There's lots of clubs to join, though most of them are based upon your major (SCACS, ACM, etc.). The campus is abandoned on the weekend. Florence, and the Shoals area in general, has some forms of entertainment. There's a mall, a theater, a bowling alley, plenty of coffee houses, and lots of unique little mom & pop stores.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining in one word: Overpriced. They have a mediocre buffet option that costs $7.50 per trip. If you live on campus (for the first year you live on campus, at least), you'll be forced to purchase a meal plan for the buffet place, and the meal plan cost is only about $0.25 cheaper per meal. They have other decent food options. Mein Bowl is generic Asian food that's too expensive, A&W is pretty good, Subconnection is great, and the Pizza Hut express is decent. Einstein Brothers is good and cheap. World of Wings has good, extremely greasy food and the rudest employees in the world. You're also forced to pay $75 for Dining Dollars each semester, which can only be used at the above mentioned locations. You're far better off bringing food from home if you can, but the food here won't kill you.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't personally lived in the dorms (other than being forced to stay in one for SOAR), but my friends who have seem to think they're OK. The nicer dorms are made up of several clusters per floor. Each cluster is four individual rooms that share a bathroom, each floor shares a small kitchen. The not so nice dorms look like jail cells (with two people to a tiny room) and the entire building seems to share one kitchen, and each floor has a communal shower. I chose to live off-campus for a reason.

    Academic Rigor

    UNA has a moderate degree of academic rigor overall. It's not a cakewalk, but it's not like trying to beat Ninja Gaiden on the NES without dying (aka, impossible.) The challenge is generally fair, though there are some teachers who fall on both sides of the spectrum, most are in the middle.

    Tips for prospective students

    Skip SOAR (the freshmen orientation program) if you can. It's a waste of your money and time. Get to campus before 9am if you want to find parking. Also, don't eat at Mein Bowl or World of Wings.

    In three sentences

    UNA is an average school. The academics are good, but there's not a whole lot of social activities. UNA police are your worst enemy.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The University of North Alabama is an extremely safe campus. The on campus police (SNAPs) are on constant patrol and are always willing to walk you to and from your car if you wish. Lion Alerts (text messages and emails) are sent out if there are any emergencies or potential emergencies (inclimate weather, nearby robberies or crimes, etc.).

    Greek Life

    No information.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a variety of academic, athletic, and social clubs that are available at the University of North Alabama. Activities for students are always ongoing and there is rarely a dull moment on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    The University of North Alabama is a great school for any type of student. Any student that is looking for a quality education and an active and fun college experience would love UNA.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The GUC (the student center) is a fairly unique location on campus. Not only does it contain one of the food courts, but it also houses the on-campus book store, the post office, the student gaming center/lounge, and most of the offices of non-teaching staff members.

    Bang for the buck

    While the University of North Alabama may have what is considered a steep tuition for some people, it is a bang for the buck. You get a quality education and all of the resources that the school has to offer are available to you when you need them.

    What to do for fun

    There are always a variety of student activities to attend at the University of North Alabama. If you keep an eye on your student emails, you will see there are usually events planned out for every week and weekend. Sporting events, charity events, student life events, and more are always ongoing.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining at UNA is great. In the GUC (the student center), there are a variety of restaurants to choose from: Pizza Hut, A&W, a sub shop, a Chinese place, and the Bagel Brothers. There is also the Dining Towers at UNA, which provides a large selection of foods.

    Dorm Life

    No information.

    Academic Rigor

    The University of North Alabama has a high level of academic rigor. No matter what class you take, you can be assured that you will walk away from the course with a thorough knowledge on the subject.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are considering becoming a student at UNA, there are a few things you should keep in mind: for starters, if you are commuting to school, you will always want to get to the campus at least 30 minutes before your classes start so that you will have no trouble finding a parking place. Another thing to remember, always carry an umbrella with you.

    In three sentences

    The University of North Alabama is a great college to attend. The campus is easy to navigate and the faculty, staff, and other students are helpful and friendly individuals. The University offers a large array of classes and majors as well as a variety of experiences that are essential to the college student.

  • 12/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Nursing students and criminal justice majors all the other majors seem to be alright but not as good as they could be in my opinion.

    Tips for prospective students

    To know if you really want to do criminal justice or nursing before you get in because it has the most rigorous course material for nursing and it has a really well-through plan for it so if you're nursing you're good.

    Bang for the buck

    The dorms aren't as much bang for the buck rather the meals plans are pretty good and the food is actually better than someone would think it is since the cooks hand make a good portion of the healthy meals since it is a small campus.

    Am enjoying being here

    The dorms are crowded and the bathrooms are not as sanitary as I would like them to be. The showers are always filthy either because of people who had used it or the messes they leave behind. The scenery is lovely though and the buildings have a bit of nostalgia when I look at them. The lions are really fun to look at and it's interesting to know their history. Overally it is a good place to be.

    Am learning a lot

    I am a biology major and there extracurricular course materials that would really help me out just seem not to be focused on science as much as they are on nursing and other majors. I plan to switch schools because it is not as focused as I would like but it is a good school for nursing and ciminal justic majors since they are adding more side programs for that.

  • 03/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If you have a night class and you don't feel comfortable walking back to your car alone, especially if you are a female, then you can call and have a SNAP team member escort you. There are also blue posts all around campus that if you push the button it will call the campus police and they will come right to you. The university police are extremely friendly and will help you in any way that you need.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs on campus; I don't even know about all of them, I'm sure. Getting involved on campus is a great way to meet new people and to really feel like you are a part of the UNA community.

    Great for these types of students

    UNA has a great nursing program! I am currently a pre-nursing student. The program is rigorous but it prepares you to take the state board exam to get an RN nursing license.

    What to do for fun

    There are always events going on around campus that are free to students. There is a game room in one of our buildings as well. I have started jogging and there is an amazing park that is only ten minutes away from the dorms. There are always people to hang out with and fun to have.

    Food and Dining

    There are quite a few different food options on campus and even more just outside of campus. Some of the selections could be a little bit better for the students living on campus though.

    Dorm Life

    I have lived in the dorms for going on two years and I will be here next year as well. You get to meet so many people. I would definitely recommend staying in a dorm the first year here. It also makes college seem not so scary. Just remember, living with other people is hard sometimes. Don't be afraid to tell someone to quiet down because you need to study or sleep.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are harder because it is a university, but as I said before study hard and study often and everything should go smoothly. It is all worth it in the end.

    Tips for prospective students

    In your college search, make sure to visit the campus. When I took my campus tour in my senior year of high school, I quickly fell in love and I knew that this is where I wanted to be. The first semester is usually the hardest because of the transition. Once you get used to the college life you will love it too. You pick your classes how you want them and the same with your teachers. Study hard and study often for every class. Don't be afraid! College is the next great step in your journey.

    In three sentences

    The University of North Alabama has a beautiful campus with so many happy people around every corner. I love the atmosphere here and I am so glad that I chose to be apart of the Lion Pride. The classes are challenging but the teachers are informative and keep you wanting more.

  • 03/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    UNA has a recreational center where students can use the weight room and swim. There is a group who run on campus every morning. Students can also watch tv and play pool while also playing the XBox 360 games.

    Food and Dining

    There is not a variety of food available in the food court but if you prefer, you can eat at Towers which gives a large selection daily.

    Dorm Life

    I can not vote on the dorm life as I do not live on campus. I live in my own home and travel to class.

    Academic Rigor

    All the classes offered are fun and interesting.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what you want to do when you apply. The classes taken are very different for each major.

    In three sentences

    University of North Alabama is an excellent school to attend. The school has a number of majors dealing with heath care, science and education. I would highly recommend to anyone who is looking for a school to attend.

  • 05/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I'm a member of Zeta Tau Alpha and I absolutely LOVE it! I definitely encourage everyone to rush a greek organization!

    Great for these types of students

    Small town lovers, historical buildings, low faculty to student ratio

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Foam parties, fountain runs, water balloon fights on dead day...where to begin? :)

    What to do for fun

    Flobama and On the Rocks are the funnest hang outs in Florence!

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for housing early!!! Don't procrastinate on assignments..college is NOT like high school! You HAVE to study!

    In three sentences

    Absolutely LOVE this University! UNA feels like home to me and there is no where else i'd rather be! The faculty and students are so nice and friendly!

  • 05/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 12 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    THE CAMPUS POLICE IS LOCATED RIGHT IN THE CENTER OF THE DORMS ACCESSIBLE LOCATED FOR THE STUDENTS SAFETY.

    Greek Life

    I AM NOT SURE. BUT I DO KNOW THEY HAVE THEM ON CAMPUS.

    Clubs and Activities

    VARIETY TO CHOOSE FROM WHATEVER YOUR INTEREST MAY BE I AM SURE YOU WILL FIND IT HERE.

    Great for these types of students

    ALL ETHNIC BACKGROUND.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I AM NOT SURE I HAVE'NT MY CLASSES YET.

    Bang for the buck

    GO UNA LIONS!!!

    What to do for fun

    THE CAMPUS IS LOCATED IN THE HEART OF FLORENCE THERE ARE PLENTY OF PLACES TO GO SHOP, MOVIES, GAMES JUST WHATEVER YOU ENJOY.

    Food and Dining

    THEY OFFERED A VARIETY OF FOOD COURTS, AND EATERIES ON THE CAMPUS BESIDE THE CAFE.

    Dorm Life

    THEY HAVE SOME REMODELED AND NEW DORMS. BUT THEY ARE SMALL.

    Academic Rigor

    JUST WHAT YOU ARE LOOKING FOR IN THIS TOUGH ECONOMY .

    Tips for prospective students

    IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR UNIVERSITY THAT ACKNOWLEDGE FRESHMAN THIS UNIVERSITY IS FOR YOU.

    In three sentences

    IT WAS FRIENDLY, NICE, AND VERY INFORMATIVE WITH THE INFORMATION FOR FRESHMAN STUDENTS OFFERED A VARIETY PROGRAMS. KNOWABLE, AND SOCIABLE.

  • 07/06/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 person found it offensive. 13 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early scholarship deadlines are February 1 and they go fast... And I hope that you all are successful in your future endeavors...

    Bang for the buck

    This college had the lowest tuition of any on my college list...

    Will enjoy being here

    Had so much fun during orientation I made alot of friends and enjoyed being their...

    Will learn a lot

    I went online and saw how many people were in all my classes and they were all very small excluding my Friday Biology class...

  • 08/15/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    UNA was very helpful in getting an academic scholarship. One aspect of my attending this college is the help they gave for me to attend.

    Will enjoy being here

    I attended SOAR and already met some very nice people. I look forward to getting involved in campus activities.

    Will learn a lot

    I am looking forward to getting on campus and going to classes. I have friends whose parents attended this college and have been successful in their careers!

  • 08/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Tuition recently went up, but the price is still very reasonable compared to other schools. There are all kinds of scholarships that can be earned if you are willing to work hard.

    Am enjoying being here

    Everyone on this campus is so nice and friendly. You'll make friends here very early on. What I absolutely love about this school is the diversity. There are so many people of different racial and cultural backgrounds.

    Am learning a lot

    I first started taking courses at this school as an early scholar in high school. From the beginning I enjoyed it. The courses are challenging, but as long as you try, you'll do excellent.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    In the evening hours, our campus is well lit and offers rides if requested. A simple phone call and scheduling is all that is needed. But the rule of thumb, as with all locations, travel in groups.

    Greek Life

    ATO! Best program to become involved in the community and the United Way there is.... it's the bomb! Of course there are other fraternities available... again just get involved!

    Clubs and Activities

    SOAR, speech & debate club, hiking, boating, biking are just some of the activities offered by the university to keep the brain clear and body healthy. We as students just need to take advantage of the programs provided. Besides it a great way to meet new people.

    Great for these types of students

    UNA is a great place for the independent and self motivated individuals. I believe the experience offered on our campus will be a huge leap for the successful graduate to have in preparing for the next phase in life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You'll need to check out our Lion Den! UNA and LEO are the BOMB!

    Bang for the buck

    Education! With the major state universities running @36K per year, check UNA out!

    What to do for fun

    Get involved in the extra curricular programs offered by the university! Get out and meet people!

    Food and Dining

    The meal program is ok. Take advantage of the kitchen provided by the dorm to have a variety of options for you meal preference.

    Dorm Life

    Department head needs to focus on enforcing the live-in policies and regulations. They seem to be missing the mark there.

    Academic Rigor

    You need to stay focused on class deadlines and do not fall behind.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never lose focus on the priorities.

    In three sentences

    UNA is an outstanding college to attend to further develop one's education in preparation for the business world. My rating would be a 9 out of 10 with the limitation being on the dorms and their enforcement of live-in in policies or lack there of. However, you just can not beat the college life in Florence, Alabama.

  • 06/30/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    17 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Has it's own on campus police force.

    Greek Life

    All kinds of soroity and fraternity available.

    Clubs and Activities

    Anything and everything you can think of.

    What to do for fun

    Bowling, movie theater with 12 screens, lakes, river,

    Food and Dining

    Lots of place to eat. Rosie's, Umi's

    Dorm Life

    Only thing I can say about dorm life: students should have a say about who they room with.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are well structured, the professors I have had are great and will work with you to provide extra help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan ahead, get there early, pay attention in class, study, study, study.

    In three sentences

    UNA is a great place to attend college. It has everything anyone could want in a college: beautiful campus, variety of classes, great band. It is also conveinent to shopping, things to do, places to eat.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is a must at UNA. UNA even has a campus K9 named Tobe.

    Greek Life

    There are many different Greek organizations to join.

    Clubs and Activities

    UNA has many different clubs and activities for any and everyone to join.

    Great for these types of students

    UNA is great for every type of student because it is a very diverse school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    UNA has the Lions Den where there are actual lions there. (Leo & Una) They are brother and sister.

    What to do for fun

    At UNA there is always something to do

    Food and Dining

    The food is awesome. The eating facilities are amazing.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are comfortable, small but comfortable. FOCUS program on every other floor in the co-ed dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    All the schools are accredited. An exceptional percentage of students graduate from each school. They also have learning communities that are highly recommended for freshman.

    Tips for prospective students

    Its a great school to consider. The academic programs are accredited for. If one doesn't want to be to far away from home UNA is the school to consider.

    In three sentences

    UNA is a great school to attend with accredited schools. The faculty, and students are very friendly. The campus is beautiful, Leo and Una are incredible and I look forward to starting school in the fall.

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek Life at UNA is growing. There are 4 NPC sororities, 7 IFC fraternities, and 7 NPHC fraternities and sororities. Joining a Greek organization is one of the easiest ways to become involved on campus. Greek life at UNA not only keeps you involved, it pushes the student at UNA to achieve better grades and build a resume while building networks for life post graduation.

    What to do for fun

    With UNA being the center of downtown Florence AL, there is always something to do. Weather the student being participating in various campus activities or taking part in any of the festivals that historic Florence hosts. Some of the the activities to participate in are: W.C. Handy Festival, Renaissance Fair, Step Sing, Step Show,m Homecoming, Tailgating football games, the list goes on a on. There is always something to do in Florence.

    Food and Dining

    There is a great variety of foods on campus, but the food value is inconsistent. The dining programs are however worth investing into.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms on campus are being revamped and redone and I expect dorm life to explode!

    Academic Rigor

    Dependent upon your major, UNA has a prestigious legacy for the graduation rates/hiring rates of it's graduates. The Nursing program at UNA is rough but the work, is worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Becoming involved on campus at UNA is easy, fun, and beneficial not only to the students on campus, but to the students after they graduate from UNA. Knowing the professors and understanding your long term goals are essential for a successful experience in college as well.

    In three sentences

    UNA is known for having one of the most beautiful campuses, along with having the only living mascots residing on campus as well. The size of UNA is just in the middle, which provides a lot of personal and individual learning times with the professors. The campus life at UNA is exponential, there is something to become involved in, for everyone!

  • 07/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is always stuff going on around campus. Music, food, etc

    Tips for prospective students

    Choose your classes very carefully, pay attention to the teachers and where the buildings are located.

    In three sentences

    This is the best college I could have chosen for my intended major. They have a wonderful education department. The campus is very pretty and all of the students are very friendly.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is here. We have different poles on campus to push if you need assistance or help. UNA also offers assistance on walking to different areas on campus with the lovely SNAP program, so you won't have to walk alone at night,

    Greek Life

    Greek life seems pretty cool. You would have to live in a dorm for at least one semester,if you are planning on joining a sorority.The Greek life is great for networking & if you just want to be involved.

    Clubs and Activities

    Soo many different clubs/activities from SGA to Volunteer clubs. You can also start your own cub if you don't ike the clubs that are already there. If you're an athletic person & don't want to be on the real teams of UNA, UNA offers sports that you can do on the side just for fun!!

    Great for these types of students

    If you are a student that loves diversity. This school is the place for you!!!!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have many different traditions. One of our traditons is the Lion Walk. The Lion Walk is the opening of the fall football season. It is when the football players take a walk from the practice football field to the football stadium before their first homecoming game. It is pretty cool.

    What to do for fun

    Different activities. It depends on what type of person you are. During the beginning of the fall semester, UNA puts on a welcome week. The welcome week is a whole week of free food, free activities,∂ies. Also, there are many different games that go on such as football games during the fall semester. There are also many parties to go to. If you are a spiritual person there are activities, such as, Campus Outreach. During the spring semester, they have a huge spring concert,in which SGA gets a famous music artist to come & perform live on campus. UNA is awesome with it's many different activities!

    Food and Dining

    There are different places on campus to eat, such as Towers-all you can eat buffet, W.O.W-which serves wings & other foods, a Pizza Hut, Chinese place, Sub Connection, Einstein's, & an A&W. You would have to get a meal plan for these places though or you could pay out of pocket,but meal plans are better.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is AMAZING! This is the time when you can tell yourself when YOU should go to bed. It's very adventurous living in a dorm because you don't know what to expect. There are various activities that go on from late night movies to Campus Outreach. Sometimes there are the disadvantages of living in a dorm; for example, people being extremely loud while a person is trying to get some rest; however, you should at least take one semester out & experience the dorm life! It's the idea college life!:)

    Academic Rigor

    This campus has absolutely NO room for cheaters. UNA is very strict on it's cheating policy. The chances of getting kicked out of UNA for cheating are very high!

    Tips for prospective students

    UNA is a campus where you can get to know people on a deeper level. The campus is just right. This school is just the place because it is cheaper than most other schools on tuition & you will also fall in love with the beautiful campus. It has live Lions on campus! So, you should definitely check this school out!

    In three sentences

    UNA is very strong in it's diversity. Everyone is very welcoming. It is not too small & not too big.

  • 09/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Nice people.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Yes Join as many as possible. Become active and serious maintain a good relationship with instructors, they will write letters of recommendations for you.

    Great for these types of students

    No Answer.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Lion Pride! Florence AL

    Bang for the buck

    If your from the area sure. If you are an out of state student consider another school. It will add up and before you know it, You will realize that you should have choose a campus closer to home.

    What to do for fun

    There is not much to do so make sure you make friends. I am antisocial that is my problem.

    Food and Dining

    the food is not great but it is growing. Food is expensive

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived on campus I am not able to give advice. Expensive dorm, Better off renting

    Academic Rigor

    Classes can be overwhelming some professors very excited and ambitious really care about there students. In the Chemistry and Biology department some professors should not be teaching, Research is there goal. Teaching should be there profession really scares students and discourages them to want to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Become involve in student organizations that the campus may offer. It will help you network and feel comfortable if you are an out of state student. If a student struggles in an subject make sure to take advantage of the help services that the school offers.

    In three sentences

    Very challenging. It will prepare students for any obstacle encountered in the choice of career or profession. UNA offers various services that will ultimately help a student succeed in strengthen areas where students are struggling.

  • 09/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe! On campus police and lion alert text messages help!

    Greek Life

    Greek life is great! It's not overbearing like some schools, but it seems like a great deal of fun.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many clubs to join!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all types of students! UNA is very diverse!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    First Fridays rock!

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is fairly cheap in comparison to the bigger state universities! Worth it too, small class size and better relationships with professors.

    What to do for fun

    Join a fraternity/sorority or club. Go to athletic events. There are several good bars around town. Florence always has events going on as well as UNA.

    Food and Dining

    On campus food is really good! Each student has dining dollars that they can use, and you can buy meal plans.

    Dorm Life

    I've never lived in the dorms, but I have a great deal of friends that do. They love it!

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are not too hard. If you go to class and stay on top of your assignments, you should be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join a club/organization/greek life. Go to the athletic events! Go to class and stay on top of assignments. Have fun!

    In three sentences

    UNA has a gorgeous campus, a friendly student body, and supportive professors and faculty! It has excellent choices of academic majors as well as extracirricular activities and organizations. I love UNA!

  • 09/28/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    24 of 47

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I like the information on their website. It helps alot and I will most likely apply at this school.

  • 10/10/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    25 of 47

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful and bustling with happy people...haha and tubas from what I saw today. Plus, Florence is such a beautiful town! I'm so excited to apply!

  • 11/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go downtown!

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely download the app and get someone to help you find your classes before the first day. Get involved in activities, and make friends!

    In three sentences

    The University of North Alabama is such a beautiful and welcoming campus with a wonderful staff and atmosphere. All of the professors have the students best interest in mind, and strive to see us succeed. There are so many extra-curricular activities always going on, so you are never bored!

  • 12/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Look up your professors on ratemyprofessors.com and if possible get your classes together and on either Monday, Wednesday, and Friday or Tuesday and Thursday.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful and we are still growing. We have a lot of fun activities for students and a lot of good clubs and Greek organizations.

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Geography, nursing, Industrial Hygiene, Chemistry, Languages, Music

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Don't miss the Renaissance Faire in late October every year!! or any of the First Friday festivals that occur downtown every first Friday of the Month.

    What to do for fun

    Don't miss the Renaissance Faire in late October every year!! or any of the First Friday festivals that occur downtown every first Friday of the Month. TVA and Wildwood park have great nature trails for those that love the outdoors. Hammocking is a popular pastime.

    Food and Dining

    Towers is okay to eat at, but I would invest more into your dining dollars. Places around the area is student-friendly and pretty good. Definitely eat at Montague's and RiceBox; a few of the Florence originals.

    Dorm Life

    The newly renovated Rice and Rivers are great to live in. However the experience as a whole is really defined my the Community Adviser in charge of your floor, and the people you room with. LaGrange has terrible bathrooms, but its way closer to your classes for those that are late-risers.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers have very strong curricula and will push you to your potential. You will work hard, and learn a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work hard and play hard... and be warned most teachers take attendance and have a rather strict attendance policy.

    In three sentences

    UNA is a great school with high-standard academics and a close-knit student community. The campus and Florence area is beautiful place to live, and the area offers loads of entertainment.

  • 02/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    UNA is one of the cheaper universities, but you get a great education.

    Food and Dining

    Crowded and food is OK.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The work is challenging, but rewarding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the ACT numerous times and score the best you can. You never know you might get a scholarship. It is worth it!

    In three sentences

    The University of North Alabama is a great school to attend. I have learned a great deal from the professors here at UNA. They have bestowed an intellect in me that I will carry throughout my life.

  • 03/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the games and go to UNA functions. Always some activity going on.

    Food and Dining

    Can be a bit expensive to eat more than 3 times a week. Dining dollars go fast.

    Dorm Life

    I don't stay on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the things the university offers.

    In three sentences

    Best school ever!!! Everyone is so nice and welcoming. Have programs a that truly benefit students.

  • 04/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    At night there's usually a couple cops walking around campus but since their uniforms are so dark they can always give you a good scare when they pop out of the woodwork! Honestly, any college is dangerous though if you aren't careful.

    Bang for the buck

    For a four year university, the tuition is really pretty cheap. I take about 14 hours a semester and my bill is usually around $3900 plus books but I rent those unless they are lab manuals and that's another $400. All together it's a lot cheaper than some of the other accredited schools!

    What to do for fun

    There's always a band playing in downtown at a shop or bar. Or there are always theme nights on campus to go to. Plus all the little shops in downtown have so many cute things!

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat on campus a lot but when I do I hit Einstein Bros Bagels, A&W Express, or sub connection. They have the best food and snacks and the sweetest workers! The ladies at Einstein Bros know exactly who I am and will add extra love to my coffee if they know I'm having a bad day or didn't sleep enough.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus because the dorms are old and I'm allergic to mold. When I went to orientation I almost froze in the dorm I was in but other girls said they almost burned up! Talk about your AC issues.

    Academic Rigor

    The science classes are rough, but the professors are really nice. They keep their office hours on their doors and it's pretty much like an open door policy. If you need help stop by, but if the times don't work for you they'll stay later.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to walk up hill a lot, the campus kind of leans downhill. Also, don't overwhelm yourself! Most colleges recommend 18 hours a semester but if you work or take your general ed credits I'd say take about 14. That way you're not too overwhelmed!

    In three sentences

    There are always activities on campus that students can attend. The advisers are really nice and do their best to make sure you're on track for everything. Also, there's always hot coffee and yummy treats waiting at Einstein Bros Bagels!

  • 05/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There aren't many activities to do for fun on University of North Alabama campus. There are parties and music concerts at UNA , but many people do not attend them. There are many activities off campus , but it is no fun when a person does not have transportation to attend these events.

    Food and Dining

    Food and Dining at University of Alabama is fair to good . Although they do undercook or over cook some foods. Majority of the times the food is decent.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life at University of Alabama is fair. I've only been there one semester and my experience wasn't the best. Some of the students there are inconsiderate of others. Parts of the dorms are always being broken. I feel as though the rooms need to be a bit bigger.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes aren't very difficult at University of North Alabama if the students is attentive or paying attention in class. The teachers at UNA are very clear in teaching . A student just have to pick the right class and teacher that best fits his/her learning skills.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips for prospective students are, to keep trying. Students should try their best to stay on track and also try their best in not slacking on work. Procrastination is a major problem in college and something every student should try to avoid.

    In three sentences

    University of North Alabama is an excellent school. The teachers really care about their students , and are always willing to help with any and everything. On a scale from one to ten , I rate UNA a seven.

  • 06/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety is knocked a lot, but it's really not bad. The On-Campus Police are great at watching out for the students and keeping us safe.

    Greek Life

    Several different choices in the Greek Life department, but I'm not too familiar with them because I'm not a Greek-type person.

    Clubs and Activities

    Several different Sororities and Fraternities, and also religious organizations. So many different ways to get involved.

    Bang for the buck

    Some courses are good, some are bad, but it's what you pay for.

    What to do for fun

    Several different on-campus organizations, like the Christian Student Center, Wesley Foundation, and more.

    Food and Dining

    Towers Cafeteria has decent food, but pricey. There is also the GUC with several different options, all which are not too bad at all.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms aren't exactly the greatest, but what dorms really are?

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers really know how to push you and help you to go to your full extent.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard. Talk to teachers. Find an on-campus organization

    In three sentences

    A beautiful University with Caring teachers and friendly students. The academics are great and I learn a lot. The classes are small so teachers are easy to get a hold of for help.

  • 06/06/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    34 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Only people with the card that goes to that specific Hall are allowed in!

    Greek Life

    There are plenty of Frats and Sororities to join!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of student organizations for practically everything!

    Great for these types of students

    This is great for students who want a big university feel but a small university experience. You will be close with teachers, students, and residence around the campus and town!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus has a habitat with two live lions!

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth your time and money!

    What to do for fun

    There is skating, bowling, shopping, swimming, and plenty of student activities!

    Food and Dining

    Great restaurants in the Downtown area which is walking distance from the campus and there is a shuttle!

    Dorm Life

    The Honors Program has their own residence hall, Lafayette Hall! The rooms are great and it comes with an awesome common room and a kitchen!

    Academic Rigor

    I am in the Honors Program so classes will be challenging!

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus! Meet some of the faculty. Make sure the school has everything you want and need.

    In three sentences

    The campus is gorgeous. The people are super friendly. The area is awesome!

  • 06/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is ok, they have people always going around and they will give you a ride if you are out late at night.

    Greek Life

    I have not joined Greek yet, but I am planning to in the fall. If you are in a sorority you will always have something to do, but the down side is that there are only four sororities on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition here at UNA is very cheap compared to other schools in the state of Alabama. I love the school because it is smaller.

    What to do for fun

    There really isn't anything to do on the weekend. They have parties and stuff like that, but a lot or mostly all of the students go home for the weekend. I come from out of state so I am there every weekend and it gets boring. I mostly stay in and watch Netflix because there is nothing to do.

    Food and Dining

    You will think the food is great... for about the first 3 weeks then it just gets bad. They have a couple of options and a salad bar, which is good. Just don't buy the biggest meal plan, you wont use it all.

    Dorm Life

    This was the one downfall. The dorms are not that great. Don't get me wrong I loved living on campus just for the convenience. But the dorms need to be re-done.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes here are challenging. They are small so it feels like you are in a private school. The teachers are very helpful and will do anything for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    The only thing I would say is to just be yourself and make friends with a good group of friends. If you are deciding to go Greek, do it you wont regret it!

    In three sentences

    I LOVE UNA and I am proud to call it my home. It is a very close knit school, everyone knows everyone. And I would not have chosen a different school, there is something for everyone at UNA!

  • 07/22/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    36 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I hang out with the many friends I was able to make.

    Food and Dining

    The food is amazing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring good walking shoes.

    In three sentences

    It's a beautiful campus. The faculty and the students are both very nice and helpful. They will very easily help you with your future.

  • 09/08/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    37 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    It looks like alot of fun

    In three sentences

    Are the classes anything like high school classes where you can have discussions and speak your mind?

  • 09/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great campus police. Phone call away 24/7

    Greek Life

    Greek life is great. They have a frat or sorority that fits everyone.

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many to count and remember them all. Always something to get into.

    Great for these types of students

    All students. UNA has something for everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't think there's anything unusual here.

    Bang for the buck

    Its a little expensive but it is well worth it.

    What to do for fun

    They have anything and everything you can possibly do for fun. If they don't have it you can start it.

    Food and Dining

    Amazing food!!!!

    Dorm Life

    Very nice dorms compared to everyone else around. Spacious and not insanely strict on everything.

    Academic Rigor

    Hard academics, but once you get out it looks great on your resume.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to UNA. It is the best college around.

    In three sentences

    The University of North Alabama is a top-notch university. By far the best college in the region. Great place to live and they have great academics.

  • 10/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    UNA has many options for having fun on campus! UNA has an amazing REC center where a student can get a great work out or dance and have a good time. UNA also has an amazing homecoming week where everyone can get involved! A student can't walk around UNA without winning a free t-shirt or other items!

    Food and Dining

    UNA's food and dining on campus is very good, and students have many options. The university makes sure they provide food for vegetarians, vegans, and many other life style. Whenever you are hungry there is always an option on campus within walking distance.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life on this campus is great because you are so close to campus! However, the rooms are not the best, they are very tiny and pact. It is easy to over come this because the dorm life is so much fun. The staff always makes sure everyone is always involved in activities. There is never a dull momment in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    This university, like any other, can have its harder courses, but it's those courses that make students work harder and better themselves. There is no such thing as an easy A here, and A is earned not given. As long as a student always trys hard and does his/her work they will do great at this university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Getting involved on campus is a major much if you are a new student. College is a time to try new things, maybe join a club that you didn't do in high school. This college has so many clubs and organizations that it is hard not to get involved!

    In three sentences

    The University of North Alabama is an amazing school, it may not be the largest school but it is still amazing. The university has everything you could ever want and more. If you enjoy the small town but big school feeling you will love this school.

  • 11/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is a big concern of the university, and there are many things available to insure the safety of the campus. There are emergency posts around the campus where you can push a button and someone will come to your location, and there is something known as SNAP that will provide nightly escorts to students. If there is ever any danger on campus, students who sign up for lion alerts will be notified immediately.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is a big part of the university. There are a lot of students that really recommend going Greek. Going Greek is a great way to be involved.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many organizations on campus that range from academic to cultural. There is something for everyone to get involved in. There is always an activity going on which is usually free due to the student activity fee that is added in tuition.

    Great for these types of students

    UNA is great for the students who want a smaller setting as a classroom so they can become familiar with their professors and be able to ask questions when needed. UNA is a great university for the students who still want to feel at home while being away. Also, UNA is the perfect size for students to make an impact on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    UNA, as well as any other university, may be expensive for some; however, there are many scholarships and financial aid available to ease the financial stress on students.

    What to do for fun

    With the numerous organizations on campus, there is always something going on. There are always fun events to participate in on and off campus. There is also a student recreation center on campus where students can work-out, play basketball, volleyball, and other activities.

    Food and Dining

    There is a variety of places to eat on campus with great food. Students are given money to eat on called dining dollars which can be used at any of the on-campus restaurants. Students can also purchase a meal plan to be used at the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    Living in a dorm is a great way to become involved on campus and get to know other poeple. There is a variety of dorms on campus; there is an honors dorm, all-girls dorm, and co-ed dorms where genders are separated by floors. I would recommend everyone to stay in a dorm at least his/her freshman year.

    Academic Rigor

    There are advisors assigned for each department, and they assist in helping students choose classes that are best fit with their major. All professors have office hours which are there for students to go and talk with them about any concerns they may have.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to preregister for classes because there are hundreds of students on the campus. Become more than just a face to your professors, and it will make your semesters go by easier.

    In three sentences

    The campus at the University of North Alabama is very beautiful; it is the only university with living mascots. There is something for everyone to be involved in at this university. The atmosphere is very homey and fun.

  • 11/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's not much to do for fun in Florence if you don't know where to look. UNA is located in what people like to call the birthplace of Jazz. There's a great music scene and the foodie scene is coming up as well. In terms of bars, there's not many in the Shoals area.

    Food and Dining

    UNA has a pretty good variety that's only getting better.

    Dorm Life

    I lived in the regular dorms for one semester and to say the least it wasn't for me. With that said, UNA is making some improvements to the campus including re building all the dorms. Keep in mind that this is a seven year process at this point...

    Academic Rigor

    UNA does have a challenging program with some really great professors. As a business major I found myself challenged in my 300/400 level classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your planning on attending UNA I would look at the four year process before applying. UNA can be tricking with actually graduating from. They have a good amount of prerequisites that you have to complete and hoops that you have to jump through. I would also keep in mind that UNA is attempting to go D1. When they go D1 this will change many of the reasons people choose to go to the University such as small class size, economical price, small town feel, ect.

    In three sentences

    I give the campus a ten out of ten. The faculty a 8 out of 10. The administration I give a 6 out of 10 because they seem too caught up in going D1.

  • 12/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we have 24/7 police, lion alert (alert system) that gets sent to cell phones, but bad things aren't guaranteed to not happen.you really never know. But overall i feel safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    honor society, greek organizations, on campus leadership, foreign student clubs, food clubs, book clubs, sports clubs, major/ minor clubs

    Great for these types of students

    foreign, new students, shy, outgoing, original, creative, fun, intelligent

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We light a huge torch after winning any game!!

    Bang for the buck

    good price for a four year college!

    What to do for fun

    Campus ministries, ice cream socials, movie watching gatherings, concerts, step shows, greeek life...

    Food and Dining

    so many on campus restaurants to choose from!!!

    Tips for prospective students

    i would recommend this school for anyone seeking higher education. It is a great place to grow as a person on all, but mostly an educational level.

    In three sentences

    Una has numerous opportunities for you to get involved and become apart of a group. The teachers are very helpful and really want to see you succeed. Overall a great school for sports, academics, friendships, leadership opportunities, and success in life.

  • 12/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have officers paroling all the time and they have the emergency buttons that are usually in sight at all times. Although the parking deck is scary and I don't recommend going in at night by yourself.

    Greek Life

    They have a huge Greek Life and must students are usually involved in it. They are always hosting charity events and having parties after the football games.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a club for pretty much everything and if you want to start one I think it only takes 6 members.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for Christian students or students from other parts of Alabama that are looking for a nice southern school with really nice staff and students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have real live lions on campus that you can go look at all the time. They are very entertaining and cute.

    Bang for the buck

    For an instate student it is a great price! The tuition is good and the Room and Board is relatively cheap compared to other schools. For an out of state student I would not recommend. They make you pay an extra 7,000 and it is not worth it.

    What to do for fun

    On campus they usually try to have events such as movies and concerts as often as they can. Also around Florence they have stuff going on down town like every month such as First Fridays.

    Food and Dining

    UNA offers an okay buffet style dinning hall, but they also have a student center that offers Chinese, fresh Subs, Pizza Hut, and A&W that is open til 5pm. In 2014 we are getting a Chikfila and a Star Bucks! Florence in general also has really good restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    I never lived in the dorm, but I do recommend it because I realized that would have been the easiest way to make friends.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes and teachers have been good so far and I have really learned some valuable information; however, I have had some tough classes that take some intense studying and some that are not bad at all. It all depends on the teacher and the course.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to join any of the organizations on campus because that's were I have found some of the best people on campus. Also, don't take biology and chemistry at the same time because you are going to have a hard time.

    In three sentences

    A good school that offers great education programs as well as opportunities to join organizations on campus. They have good sports programs as well and usually do well in their division. The campus and students are also very religious and are always trying to impact the community.

  • 01/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    FLO-BAMA!!!

    Food and Dining

    Towers Hall always has good food and great prices. Plus UNA's campus is pretty much downtown and students are offered discounts! Lots of vending on campus too.

    Dorm Life

    I am an online student, but stay with a friend of mine on campus and just love it ! Close to classrooms. The campus is so beautiful. You will definitely get your exercise, so bring a bike!

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors do not play. This is not your community college, but extra credit is always available! This college will prepare you for a great career. Plus there are many ways to get jobs early. This includes interns.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get with an advisor at the end of every semester to ensure you understand anything new that may require extra effort or less, on your part. Always ask and do the extra credit! Make sure they have the program you want, and you can even do your master's here too!

    In three sentences

    UNA is a wonderful place to excel in the knowledge that is demanded from a student's career. The instructors take pride in their instruction. Networking has never been so fun and attainable.

  • 04/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a team on campus called SNAP. It's a service that runs at night where you can call and get someone to either walk you or drive you in a golf cart to the place you need to be so that you wont be alone. There are also blue poles and if you hit the button on the pole the UNA police will come to that destination right away.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is a big part of the campus and they are always having events than anyone is welcome to come to. Greek life isn't for everyone but you're encouraged to check it out anyways and are always welcome to their public events.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs and activities range from your average sorority and fraternity functions to the outdoor club which allows you to rent outdoor equipment if you want to go canoeing or camping.

    Bang for the buck

    Get involved! There's tons to do on campus so don't waste your time being bored in your dorm room.

    What to do for fun

    There's always things to do at UNA. The town in close enough to walk to if you want a quick bite to eat and a little bit of shopping. Sororities and fraternities are always having events to raise money for their philanthropies and there's also fine arts shows quite often.

    Tips for prospective students

    There's a lot of stairs so be prepared for that. There's good teachers and bad teachers, you'll get both but remember its only for a semester.

    In three sentences

    UNA is a great place to live and to go to school. It's small enough to walk across the campus but large enough where you have the opportunity to meet someone new every day. If you're looking for a place to go to college you should check out the University of North Alabama!

  • 04/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There should be no fear when walking around campus. Every where you turn you can spot a UNA police officer riding around on the bike, segway, or patrol car. Also for late nights you can call SNAP (I have no idea what it stands for) but they give you rides on a golf cart to where you need to go.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On campus look for the eternal flame, it is only burning when the football team wins, but its been burning ever since they won the GSC title! Also you can visit the lions, we are one of very few campuses with real live mascots. Or you can take a ghost tour around campus.

    What to do for fun

    There are many events that go around on campus. You can visit the REAL LIVE lions Leo and UNA (yoo-nuh). Or just pay attention for when movie night comes around or for the free cookout. There are multiple parties held in the dining halls. All the events that happen on campus are free to students. But my personal favorite thing to do is attend sporting events. The quadcities (Tuscumbia, Sheffield, Shoals, and Florence) support their athletes well. Our sporting teams are very good and very competitive. If you attend games you are likely to win prizes, get free t-shits, free snacks, free frostbite and free queso dip!

    Food and Dining

    Many people complain about the food choices but I find them great. Towers which is the main dining hall serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. There is always a great variety for vegetarian and meat lovers alike. The food court contains Pizza Hut, A&M, Mein Bowl, Einsteins, Sub Connection and a variety of snacks both healthy and unhealthy and drinks. The Commons which is a new building contains Frostbite which is Florence's famous frozen yogurt and Starbucks and Chick Fil a. All of the places are great to me! There are dining plans and dining dollars which can be spent at all of the locations, or if you want you can spend your own money when you run out of dining dollars.

    Dorm Life

    Ok yeah, I live in Rivers which is a freshmen dorm and I admit it is not the best. However, the other dorms I have heard are beautiful because they are newer of course. They are planning to build new freshmen dorms though. Despite non luxury living conditions the atmosphere is great. Interactions among student and RA's is great and every one is very helpful. The dining hall is connected to the dorm and there is a tutoring center located on the bottom floor. The dorms are relatively quite and kept clean except for when some residents decide to trash it.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes themselves are not entirely too hard, but depending on the professor is what makes them hard. The general education classes seem to be quite easy but you also still have to work hard. The professors I have had up to date have done a great job in teaching.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you decide to come to UNA your making a great decision but make sure you invest in some rain boots and an umbrella because it always is raining! Also your going want to make sure your in decent shape because there is a plethora of stairs, they are not that bad but there is a lot of them.

    In three sentences

    University of North Alabama is a beautiful historic campus with a great diversity of students. It is just the right size with not too many or too few students.

  • 04/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Florence and UNA are great for the history buff. It's a very old town, with roots before the Civil War, and many fascinating stories of the Civil War era. Also, one of the most unique things about UNA is that we have live mascots. There is a lion habitat on campus, which houses Leo III and Una, our two UNA lion mascots.

    What to do for fun

    Florence is a great city. Everyone is friendly and there are plenty of options for entertainment. There is a movie theater nearby, as well as a bowling alley, and Flo-Bama, which is everyone's favorite place to eat and watch live music. The campus also offers leisure activities, such as an on-campus lounge for billiards and video games, as well as a free fitness and recreational center. There are also many great organizations to join. No one is ever bored here.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is excellent. The cafeteria is great, and the on-campus dining options such as Pizza Hut, Chick-Fil-A, and Starbucks are very convenient as well.

    Dorm Life

    My friends seem to love the dorms, and everyone who lives there shares close bonds with their friends and roommates.

    Academic Rigor

    UNA isn't as hard as people make it out to be. You do have to study and work hard but with a normal amount of effort, anyone can excel.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are considering UNA, you will have to go to SOAR, which is Orientation. Get to know people at SOAR, especially your counselors. They can tell you what classes to take and which teachers are best suited for you.

    In three sentences

    UNA is perfect for any student wanting to go to a university but still go to a close and tight-knit school. UNA isn't too big and isn't too small. Everyone is friendly and the classes are small enough to get to know your peers.