Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

University of North Carolina School of the Arts Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 04/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    SO MANY COPS EVERYWHERE! We only have about 1,100 students (that is including a high school boarding school, and the undergraduate and graduate schools). YET, there are so many cops on campus at all times. Very safe.

    Greek Life

    What? There's a good Greek restaurant downtown. Beyond that, Greek life doesn't exist. Nobody has time to have much of a life outside of school. There would be little point in it here because nobody could actually do stuff with their sororities and fraternities. If students are basing their college choices on Greek life, this is definitely not the school for them. Most people here are very focused on the training.

    Clubs and Activities

    Our activity is our art and supporting others' art. Beyond that, there is little time for extra clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Dedicated, focused students who are looking for one of the best arts educations/training the entire country can offer.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our mascot is the Fighting Pickle. Our cafe is called the Pickle Jar. Sometimes we do Humans Vs. Zombies which is ridiculously fun. We have a place called the elephants which is a bunch of stone structures that, when it was built (fewer trees/buildings around), the sun would hit it a certain way and the shadow of an elephant was seen. Kids use that as their smoking area. There is a picture online somewhere of Mary-Louise Parker sitting on them when she went here. We have an annual cross-dressing fashion show. We have Beaux Arts every year which is a weekend of partying and dancing on the film school studio stages before finals. It's the time when people really let loose after the crazy schedule of arts classes is over.

    Bang for the buck

    Oh myyyyyyyy. Yes. A public conservatory style BFA training program? YES! It is 20,000 cheaper than a lot of private conservatories and the training is just as good or better! Plus, I go to classes (I'm required to, although I would anyway) everyday from 8:30 or 9:00 a.m. to 6 p.m.-11 p.m. Most of my friends at public schools pay about the same as me but only go to one or two classes every other day.

    What to do for fun

    See the amazing art exhibits/shows happening around campus. $2.50 movies downtown (movies that are in theatres or about to go to DVD in a real movie theatre with real popcorn and all that fun stuff). Play volleyball. Collaborate on some art projects. Go to the gym. Ha. There is not a lot of free time here.

    Food and Dining

    I eat at home.

    Dorm Life

    I gave this four stars because they are not the best dorms, not the worst and because it depends on what you are looking for. No crazy parties in dorms. Not enough time or continuity in schedule for it. But people are friendly and generally respectful. Most of my friends never locked their doors when they lived in the dorms. It's such a tiny school filled with people who are really passionate about what they do. Not a lot of drifters.

    Academic Rigor

    Well, here's the thing. Academics definitely come second here to art. However, you must stay in good academic standing which can be difficult with the schedule. There are some really tough courses and a lot of medium level (for toughness) courses. All require more time than you probably have so be prepared to improvise. Luckily, a lot of them have to do with art in some way.

    In three sentences

    It has been called the magic hill and I believe it is. Magic is made, created, imagined, seen, and discovered here. YOU WILL WORK HARDER THAN YOU EVER HAVE AND BE MORE EXHAUSTED THAN YOU'VE EVER BEEN AND, HOPEFULLY, THE MOST FULFILLED YOU HAVE EVER BEEN SO FAR.

  • 02/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 6 people found this review useful. 2 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus spans over about 2 miles in both directions and always has a strong police presence.

    Greek Life

    none what so ever

    Clubs and Activities

    there aren't too many clubs but they come and go with the students who create them. as of now there is a comedy improve club, bible club, animation club, and directors workshop club.

    Great for these types of students

    great for any one who wants to live in an artistic environment among artist.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the mascot for uncsa is oddly enough the fighting pickle. in addition, at the end of every year there is an event called boose arts that kicks off with a drag queen show.

    Bang for the buck

    after hearing about my friends experiences at sva, nyu, and ufc for film i realized that uncsa is the best choice as far as film schools are concerned. also the cost is slightly less at uncsa at 30,000 a year verses schools in ny which charge around 50,000 a year.

    What to do for fun

    you do what you came to school to do, make movies, music, act, or dance.

    Food and Dining

    there are 2 options for food on campus if you live in the dorms, the cafeteria and the snack bar. both choices seem to lack in variety and nutrition.

    Dorm Life

    considering the small size of the campus, living in the dorms allows the student body to get to know each other more so than your average college

    Academic Rigor

    uncsa mimics an arts conservatory but still expects students to take academics apart from their art related classes

    Tips for prospective students

    embrace every discipline and arts field and find a way to incorporate them into your interest. for example, film students should become interested in the music, drama, and even dance program to further enhance their movies since films are compiled of moving images, music, and acting.

    In three sentences

    uncsa trains artists in the fields of film, dance, music, drama, design and production to be creative and professional preparing them for the professional world. every discipline is run by a multitude of passionate professionals passing down their insight of the business giving students an edge upon graduation.

  • 02/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they are inconveniently always around...

    Greek Life

    there is no greek life... but there are toga parties.

    Clubs and Activities

    uncsa has it all; student government, environmental club, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    artistic, smart, goofy kids.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the elephants are concrete blocks that everyone goes to smoke cigarettes.

    Bang for the buck

    this is a private conservatory education for half the price. because it is public and in the north carolina university system, the tuition is drastically cheaper.

    What to do for fun

    there is not a lot of chances for social interaction on the weekdays because school is so demanding, but on weekends there are a lot of parties. the school also screens movies, has dances, hosts ice cream socials, etc.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria food has improved in these last few years and caters to both vegetarians and meatarians alike. gluten-free and vegan options are also available. there is always a full salad and fruit bar as well as fresh pizza. there is also a couple frozen-yogurt machines. the school also has a cafe' known as the pickle, where you can buy candy, chips, fresh burgers, smoothies, and whatever your heart (and stomach) desires. the food is pretty good there.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are fairly old in both the high-school and college residence areas. the bathrooms are shared but are cleaned everyday. there is a great student life on this campus and it will be very difficult to avoid making friends. the dorms are in walking distance of all academic and arts classes and the school itself is walking distance from the city.

    Academic Rigor

    this school bases its education primarily on the arts, but a fair amount of importance is placed on academics. there is a wide range of gpas at this school and, unlike other colleges, it does not define the person and their worth. most of the courses are geared towards the arts and are engaging.

    Tips for prospective students

    flexibility is the key to sanity at this conservatory. whether you are dancing or playing an instrument, you are physically, emotionally, and mentally exhausted after each long, arduous day. when you come to this school, your entire self will be needed to endure the stress you will encounter. you will also learn fairly quickly that what you thought you knew about your art discipline is completely wrong, and you must be open to helpful criticism from your professors. the best teachers, however, are your classmates who will be some of the most talented and dedicated artists you will ever meet. your best work is always expected and your heart must be in everything you do.

    In three sentences

    the university of north carolina school of the arts boasts a wonderful public high school and college program dedicated entirely to the performing arts. this conservatory nurtures students from all over the world who wish to strengthen and enrich their craft. the campus is littered with dancers, musicians, actors, filmmakers, and stage designers who are all considered artists in their own right.

  • 05/25/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 4 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The school has an amazing curriculum for all students who plan to pursue drama, music whether vocal or instrument, dance whether ballet or contemporary, design and production, and film. When one graduates from this university you will be an animal and a job is waiting for you if you dont have one lined up:-)

    Bang for the buck

    I'm not sure what this mean. I feel maybe its about a job. At this school, one cannot have a job. being so immersed in your work, one will not have the time to even think to give a job. Sorry:-(

    Am enjoying being here

    I can honestly say I really miss my old university but for my education I am willing to sacrifice my social for what I love.

    Am learning a lot

    about the program. The curriculum is truly challenging enough and i have hated as well as enjoyed the process:-)

  • 02/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    go to school events like films, dance, plays, or music preformances.

    Tips for prospective students

    come visit the facilities.

    In three sentences

    the school of the arts gives an intensive and in depth view of the arts like no other.

  • 02/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    most people are pretty immersed in their art form therefore there are not very many clubs or sports teams. if any.

    Bang for the buck

    as a state school it provides the education of a formal conservatory or film school for a very reduced cost even if you are an out of state student.

    Food and Dining

    this is very dependent on what your standards are. as at many other schools it is required to buy a meal plan if you live in the dorms. the food quality tends to vary in what is offered for hot food however the sandwich and salad bars are always stocked and of a good quality.

    Dorm Life

    besides the unpredictable factor of who your roommate is, dorm life is fun and engaging if you want it to be. there is always something going on socially if you search it out. if you get a hall where personalities mix well it is also a great place to collaborate art forms with people studying different things.

    Academic Rigor

    the school keeps you busy in what you are studying. especially for those in productions, there is always a crunch time before and during shows where the rigor seems almost too much. separate from your major (music/film/dance) the required liberal arts classes are really what you make of them.

    Tips for prospective students

    at first it may be overwhelming to be surrounded by people who are better than you at your art form. do not get discouraged.

    In three sentences

    uncsa is a good school that provides the setting and rigor of a private conservatory without the outrageous cost of one. the teachers in each field are more than apt and small classes sizes keep instruction more specific to each student. socially the school is also very active and there is always something to do if you spend the time looking.

  • 02/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    the classes are extremely demanding and very difficult, but you will learn a great deal.

    In three sentences

    uncsa is very challenging, but immensely rewarding. you're going to a school to learn exactly what you want to do. i've learned more in my first semester at uncsa than i did in 13 years of public schooling.

  • 02/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    the more you put into your work, the more you get out of it.

    In three sentences

    this is an excellent school to attend for getting a stellar education in technical theatre. the wig and makeup design mfa program is one of only two such programs in the country, and it is incredibly thorough and informative. the standard of work that is expected is very high.

  • 02/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security is very well managed. it is a small school, very safe.

    Greek Life

    there is no greek life on campus

    Clubs and Activities

    there are activities and trips planned by the school, however most of the time spent here is focused toward the arts classes.

    Great for these types of students

    this institution is only for students with talent and passion. students who are willing to devote their lives to working in their art form. this university produces the exceptionally talented, and fosters those striving towards their dreams.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the elephants are a series of sculptures that students socialize around. the magic about the sculptures is in the fact that an alumni from the school created them long ago.

    Bang for the buck

    schedules are completely packed. students absolutely are not waisting time in developing their arts and academics. students are devoted to their art forms--working before, during, and after class to advance their talents.

    What to do for fun

    winston-salem is an arts community, there are always gallery hops, museums, and art shows to see!

    Food and Dining

    it is a very small school, so the dining here is limited. there are two places to eat on campus. on the positive side, because of the size, students are able to make suggestions and requests (that are generally granted) to the dining services. food is fairly healthy!

    Dorm Life

    it is a very old school, dorms have not been rebuilt. however, living conditions are standard for a university.

    Academic Rigor

    arts training is paired with academic classes, meaning a typical schedule is very challenging. the student's best work and best attempts are expected 100% of the time while attending, there is no room for mediocracy.

    Tips for prospective students

    this is a professional school, in a conservatory setting. the only way to succeed here is to be completely devoted to your art. it is an intense program that absolutely requires undivided attention.

    In three sentences

    uncsa is the one university that i can trust to nourish my talents and passion in dance. it is a professional school that not only pushes one to excel, but demands that one's best is always attempted.

  • 02/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    great safety with its own police department.

    Bang for the buck

    the best education around for basically free. there is no other school around that offers the effect on your education like this one. teachers are wonderful but expect you to work hard. they want the best for you.

    What to do for fun

    winston salem is great for looks and experience. mall is great and cities are nearby.

    Food and Dining

    great food for a school

    Dorm Life

    i live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    the load is heavy in the fall but light in the spring. study hard and pass, because you only get one chance

    Tips for prospective students

    be on your game and take this opportunity very seriously.

    In three sentences

    this school is absolutely amazing. i have grown so much in my art, and as an artist. i know i will have a great career when i leave.

  • 02/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    uncsa does not have a greek community.

    Clubs and Activities

    most students do not have time for clubs, i do not believe there are many/any. there are some fun exercise based activities such as zumba and yoga.

    Great for these types of students

    hard working, dedicated students who have drive and clear future goals.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the tunnel is the path between campus and the very nice center stage apartments and is the only place on campus artist graffiti is allowed. the art is always interesting to look at.

    What to do for fun

    winston salem has a downtown gallery hop the first friday of every month, that is quite fun. hanging out/lounging around. cheap moving theaters and hanes mall are quite close.

    Food and Dining

    the dinning hall has very limited options, many of which are fried. do not expect anything fancy. there is only one snack bar on campus, in the same building as as the dinning hall, and again, has limited options.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are very basic. there is only one lounge area for all 5 buildings, and it's a little hard to get to know your dorm mates. the rooms are not run down but they aren't new either. every room does have it's own sink and vanity area.

    Academic Rigor

    academics are not particularly stressed here. although important, and required to graduate, they do not hold that much weight. that is not to say that they are not fairly challenging classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you really know what you want to do before accepting. if you think you might change majors, this probably isn't the right school for you. make sure you have a top notch portfolio. dress nicely for interviews, it makes a difference!

    In three sentences

    an extremely intense conservatory for all manner of arts. there are many different majors, ranging from performing arts to film. small, campus community.

  • 02/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe!

    Greek Life

    none.

    Great for these types of students

    students who want to learn about making movies by making them.

    Bang for the buck

    one of the best kept secrets for filmmaking.

    What to do for fun

    downtown winston has a lot of options for dining out, getting drinks, or seeing a movie.

    Food and Dining

    not a fan.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms themselves are pretty bad, but it's a small and tight-knit family amongst the artists.

    Academic Rigor

    you will be extremely busy with academic classes and arts classes your first two years.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you know that making movies is what you want to do before coming to the school.

    In three sentences

    uncsa is one of the top filmmaking schools in the world. the teachers are well-educated and care about their students. the education is hands on and practical.

  • 02/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    it's a small campus and campus police have it locked down. there are plenty of cameras and the school keeps you pretty updated.

    Greek Life

    non existent

    Clubs and Activities

    not much.

    Great for these types of students

    art students who want to immerse themselves with their art.

    Bang for the buck

    in terms of film, you're developing friendships that may create a job opportunity down the road. hands on experience from first year.

    Food and Dining

    they try, however after a while you get tired of the same things. not a lot of variety.

    Dorm Life

    very small campus community. you may make some good friend with whom you visit a lot. the dorms are nothing special and when you move in, there may be a chance that your dorm is a little dirty from that summer. bailey street apartments are decent but expensive and center stage apartments are pretty nice but very expensive.

    Academic Rigor

    academics are just here so you can get your bfa. your here for your art. the work load is not heavy but can be annoying due to the fact that it may interfere with work from your art. there are some interesting classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure that you know that what you are coming here to study us what you want to do. don't waste your time or money on a conservatory whose arts credits might not all transfer.

    In three sentences

    this is a conservatory so expect to do many things involving your art. i attend for film and it is pretty intense. don't expect much of a college experience. this is an art school. not a typical college.

  • 07/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Avid theater lovers, hard workers, dedicated souls.

    Bang for the buck

    arguably the best value for a theater education money can buy.

    What to do for fun

    whatever you want?

    Food and Dining

    my least favorite part of the school, a truly underwhelming cafeteria and snack bar.

    Dorm Life

    decent dorms, mostly coed, decent apartments and cheap housing easily available around campus for upperclassmen.

    Academic Rigor

    design and production specifically is going to be a HARD program, 20-60 hours of theater crew a week on top of both arts and academic classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for long hours, long assignments, and little satisfaction initially, it takes time to come into your talents and skills at this school.

    In three sentences

    The programs at this school are intended for those that are serious about theater and performance. 5 schools of study, music, theater, film, dance, and design & production, make up the various aspects of the UNCSA experience and each school is top notch. It is a hard but worthwhile school to go to.

  • 03/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's for the students that know what they want to do as a career. For this school you need to come with an idea, because of it's specialized nature. By the time you graduate you will be prepared to enter the world and share your creativity with the world.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The elephants are where all the cool kids hang out.

    What to do for fun

    Plenty to do downtown, tons of restaurants, an arts hub.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is just like every other cafeteria. Not good, but it's still food.

    Dorm Life

    Not terrible, but you're not going to be posting pictures of them on Facebook.

    Academic Rigor

    It's an arts conservatory, so while they say that academics are important, when it comes down to it, you're there to be an artist.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's what you make of it. Time management. No for real, time management.

    In three sentences

    One of the greatest experiences I've ever had. Faculty is always there for you. The school is small, but enables you to get to know everyone.

  • 01/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police always seem to be around. They are helpful and caring, but sometimes it seems they are there even when students may not want them to be. Overall the campus is very secure.

    Greek Life

    No greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There really isn't any clubs at the school, but there is plenty to take part in when not in class. Students fill their time in practice rooms or painting movie sets.

    Great for these types of students

    Open- minded and dedicated indivduals.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a place outside of the student commons called The Elephants where students smoke cigarettes and talk. The school's mascot is also pretty unusual- The Fighting Pickle- so expect a lot of pickle things. Most of the parties are themed.

    Bang for the buck

    You aren't going to find many art conservatories for this price that have such a hands-on and intense education. Students who graduate from UNCSA are ready to take on their field, and the community of this school creates amazing close friendships.

    What to do for fun

    The school is right next to downtown Winston-Salem, which is an enjoyable arts community with gallery hops, live music and thrift shops. It is also next to historic Old Salem which is a very scenic and enjoyable area, all themed like 1700's North Carolina. The Hanes Mall is nearby. The campus itself normally has great activities happening- you can go see your peers in a ballet, play, or show, you can go to a movie screening in the film school's ACE theater, and there is an on campus coffee house, The What, where open mic nights are often hosted.

    Food and Dining

    Once again, the food is good but not great in terms of college dining. Since the school is so small, however, you can't expect them to have unlimited options. They do cater well to vegetarians and vegans, and the food is usually pretty healthy. Students can get Meal Exchange at the school cafe The Pickle Jar if they miss a cafeteria meal, which is pretty convenient. They often have themed nights at the cafeteria which adds some fun to otherwise predictable meals.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are adequate, but they're no palace. They just re-painted a lot last year so they look better, but they are small and basically just a place to go to pass out after a long day of classes.

    Academic Rigor

    Well, in terms of arts classes the rigor is very intense. Students are expected to keep up with their courses and are often expected to practice their art on weekends and breaks (film students crew on movies, music, drama and dance students have performances which they need to prepare for.) The academic classes at the school however... are quite relaxed. Academics certainly are not the focal point of this school. Students have often have the mentality that the academic classes are just the mandatory thing they have to endure in order to take their arts classes. There is not a diverse variety of academic classes offer either, but the school is also very small.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure before accepting to attend that you are positive that you truly want to pursue your art form. While at UNCSA, students live and breathe their art/major and it is pretty binding (you can't easily switch between programs.) UNCSA is an art school in every way- the students are talented and love to share their passion, so if what you would study here isn't truly your passion it may not be the school for you.

    In three sentences

    UNCSA is a tight-knit community of truly talented and ambitious artists. The rigorous courses prepare students to be truly immersed into their desired careers. This school may not have as much of a typical college experience, but it definitely is a refreshing approach to education.

  • 01/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police is stationed on campus and are on clock 24/7. There is an emergency line as well as a non-emergency line for use as well as campus police call boxes around campus. They are always ready to help no matter what the circumstance.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life on campus due to how small the school is already,

    Clubs and Activities

    The student chapter are always putting together social gatherings from movies on the hill to smore's nights. There is also USITT for Design and Production Students to join. As well as school wide dances in the winter and at the end of the year.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for anybody looking to have a career in Theatre, Design and Production, Film, Music, and Dance. It's great for students willing to work hard for their dreams.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school mascot is the Fighting Pickle so there is the common theme of pickle motifs everywhere. You can also find student art work showcased in every building. Down the street is Old Salem, a town that is teaming with 18th century Moravian culture.

    Bang for the buck

    While the school is on the higher end on the price scale it is well worth it. You work first hand with the latest technologies in your field as well as accomplished professionals as your professors. The school is one of the leading schools for the arts in the country.

    What to do for fun

    Mostly you will find that just hanging out with friends is the funnest thing to do. There is also Old Salem which is a treasure to be explored as well as the downtown area. The campus also offers free screenings of new and old movies on the weekends.

    Food and Dining

    When you arrive the food seems to be above average. However, after having gone home for break you will find that the food is less than satisfactory. But there are many options of meals so you will never go hungry.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life gives a great sense of community and living with your classmates helps to further your relationships. However, the rooms and a bit small and out dated. The hall shares two bathrooms and two showers which can get a tad gross.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are designed to further your knowledge in your intended major. They are specifically designed to test your abilities and to make you work. A lot of what you learn in class then becomes applicable towards your craft.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come into school with an open mind and a thirst for knowledge. Utilize every aspect of the school from library to the extended work hours. Don't take the school from granted because while you're here to have fun you are also here to work.

    In three sentences

    The University of North Carolina School of the Arts is more than just a school, it is a community. It's a place where students are passionate about their majors and work hard in and outside of class. The friends you make here become the connections you keep forever.

  • 07/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    (none)

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is better than some colleges but becomes desperate for fresh ideas close to breaks. When their stock dies down, they start making such masterpieces as hummus pizza.

    Dorm Life

    Residence life and Housing are stubborn, unwilling to help, and just lazy. Living in the dorms is okay, but I can't think of many people who do it for more than two years.

    Academic Rigor

    Arts classes can be hard, but when you're doing something you enjoy, it's not really work any more. Academic classes can range from really annoying and unrealistic to easy and fun going.

    In three sentences

    A great small school. It's possibly one of the best film schools on the east coast. Fun and close-knit

  • 08/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    On campus entertainment is plentiful, with a performance of some kind almost every night and film screenings on the weekends. There's never a dull moment if you don't want one. As far as things to do in town, there isn't too much if you're not a fan of just walking around or going to cafes. There is a trampoline park not too far from campus, and a bus system that can take you to Appalachian University in the winter if you want to ski or snowboard, as well as any other major city in central North Carolina.

    Food and Dining

    The food is usually pretty good, especially at breakfast. The options are decent, but by winter break and the end of the year things get fairly stale. There have also been occasional horror stories, like a cricket in the quiche and a slug in a girl's salad. However, those are the only two instances I've heard of, so I would say on the whole your food is safe.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are decently sized, which is to say they're still a little small. The real problems are the lax maintenance and constantly noisy neighbors. The walls are too thin to really dull the sound, so if something's going on down the hall you're going to know about it. Maintenance is very slow to fix any problems, so I recommend learning to do basic plumbing and repair on your own.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, but the teachers are all more than willing to help you understand the topics and they love spending extra time with their students. They also have extensive knowledge and experience with their subjects, and you can feel the passion they have during class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let yourself get stressed. Remaining calm is key to succeeding in your classes, and also make sure you don't get slack on your practice routine or film schedule or whatever work your major requires. Managing your time well will keep stress down, and above all else: Don't forget that you're here to do what you love.

    In three sentences

    The teaching at UNCSA is really the strong point of the school, as the professors all come from storied backgrounds and have plenty of experience. The food is decent but the dorms are cramped, and the maintenance services are slow. The school also provides you plenty of equipment for your major, so your possibilities are what you make of them!

  • 10/07/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are on patrol 24/7.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for artistic, quirky students who have a deep-passion for the arts.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The schools mascot is the Fighting Pickle. Enough has been said.

    What to do for fun

    You can visit the performance hall every week and see something new. Students get free admission to these. The school regularly performs plays, jazz concerts and classical concerts. Other than that, there did not seem to be any other things to do for fun on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Has a buffet-style cafeteria. You can pay simply at the door or get a meal-plan. At the door prices: Breakfast $5.75 Lunch $7.25 Dinner $8.00 Mind you, it's a buffet you can get WHATEVER you want. You can pile high and only pay $8 for dinner. There is also a small snack-bar with simple sandwiches and other fare. Also has a small coffee shop called The What. Only had time to eat in the cafeteria. Food in the buffet is good. Some was better than others, but overall good.

    Dorm Life

    Has two options for dorms: -A small, personalized room with only a sink, a bed and a table. -An apartment-like complex with four bedrooms, one kitchen and one bathroom. I only had time to see the small dorm room. The apartment complex seemed very nice, but the small dorm fits fine.

    Academic Rigor

    A very small campus. Staff are very helpful, informational and love to know you personally. The film department is VERY impressive. They provide all the cameras and equipment and they guide you through the filmmaking process. They provide sets, costumes, props and even professional foley and music scoring!

    Tips for prospective students

    -Only apply here is you are serious about the arts. (Film, dancing, music, theater, etc.) -Do not think because it is an art school that you sit in a class all day getting A's. There are college level academics you must do while you are there. -The school wants to see your passion. Let's say you want to attend for music. You can have amazing grades, but if they ask you how much you love music and you say Oh, yeah...music is alright, they will turn you down right on the spot. Keep that in mind. -The interview part of the application process is the most important. Be sure you are passionate and able to show yourself easily to the school.

    In three sentences

    Overall, a quirky campus with a great, fun atmosphere. They take the arts VERY seriously though, it's not all fun and games. Has a fantastic mascot: The Fighting Pickle.

  • 11/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Great restaurants, and great parks.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare yourself. This school is not for wussies.

    In three sentences

    This school challenges students in all disciplines. Opportunities are plentiful and teachers are very helpful. But the food is quite terrible.

  • 01/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    As safe as safe can be.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Great for these types of students

    Determined and focused students. Students in love with their art,

    What to do for fun

    Shows are presented by the different departments, one could go and see them.

    Food and Dining

    Great Food!

    Dorm Life

    Just awesome

    Academic Rigor

    Intense program that requires a students up most attention and determination.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to learn

    In three sentences

    Wonderful Faculty and Student Body. Students all share a common passion and drive for their art. Wonderful relationship between the major schools such as between the school of film making and school of drama.

  • 03/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Gosh, it is, not even kidding, is so safe and plus the school is small, you won't have to walk more than 10 minutes anywhere. There is a campus police, like, real police just for the school and we have poles all around campus that you can just press a button and they come quickly. With have an emergency phone number and a non-emergency. Some one burned popcorn in my hall and the smoke alarm went off and the fire department was there in a matter of a few minutes. It's safe.

    Greek Life

    We don't have any.

    Clubs and Activities

    It's an arts school... don't worry, you will have fun.

    Great for these types of students

    HARD WORKING, DEDICATED STUDENTS, NOT LAZY.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Well... let's see... we have the what? Haha. We have the What?. Is a little room in between the dorm rooms in which we have a lot of couches and we can just hang out, this is were we have Improv-night and out Open-Mic night.

    What to do for fun

    For fun? Well, it's an art school, we have open mic nights were you can just show up and write your name on a list and simple as that. We also have improv-night. Funniest thing ever. Some times bands play in the Pickle Jar at night. We constantly have plays going on. Concerts, anything. We are not much into sports, but when the weather is nice, frisbee and volleyball it is!

    Food and Dining

    Food and dinning.... Hmmm.... We have an all you can eat dinning hall.... could be better. We also have the Pickle Jar that's were we get burgers and snacks and after hour meals. The only thing I don't like is that you can use your meal exchange plan after hours in here but you can only get the unhealthy stuff. I mean, you can get a salad... but some people don't like it.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is good. But I am paying way to much money to have a tiny room which, by the way, I share. What I like most about it is the bathroom and showers. Is not like a public bathroom with stalls. They are individuals. We also have a website were you present a problem or request and quickly in 1-2 days maintenance comes to fix or arrange your request. (Change of bed highs, a/c not working, leaking sink, door shuts way to slow, anything!)

    Academic Rigor

    I believe that every, or at least, most of the students at UNCSA have the capability of leadership and I see that almost everyday. It's usually the only way to survive in this place. But don't worry if you are not sure you can be that kind of person, you will learn how to be one in no time!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't come with a lazy attitude. In this school there is a lot of competition and you only rise by getting yourself out there and meeting people who can give you opportunities that you thought you may never had. It's all about gaining experience. Crewing over the weekends, being the best at everything, but mostly being professional with your classmates. Yes, we have meeting on our owns, we built sets on our own, we film movies on our own. And although there are many rules, teachers are mostly never around and you always see 18, 19, 20 year old kids taking control of a roll, being directors, producers, head of the art department and all these within the first year.

    In three sentences

    UNCSA is more of a conservatory of the arts divided into 5 schools (dance, design & production, film, music and drama. Some of this schools have a requirement of crew hours were you work behind the scenes of a film, art department preparing the stage for an upcoming play and many more. Don't think of it as an easy school because it's an art school, there are some days that we work for 12 hours a day and this includes the weekends, but is all worth it at the end.

  • 04/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is extremely safe, if not too safe. They spend A LOT of money on the campus police, they even have a new building for the police that includes a fancy new shooting range (too much money spent that could've gone to dorm renovations if you ask me). The police even tend to get bored and sometimes it feels like they just drive around campus in their fancy chargers giving people parking tickets. But I guess better safe then sorry.

    Greek Life

    There are none, nobody has the time.

    Great for these types of students

    Artists.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They call the parking lot Egypt because it is so far away from the dorms, that it feels as if you are walking to Egypt.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm an out of state student, and while the tuition is not low, this is the best conservatory education you can get with a state school.

    What to do for fun

    As a film student, my weekends are for crewing. I don't look at this as working because they're great opportunities to meet other students, and learn what production life is all about. When I'm not crewing I spend my time studying or hanging out with friends. College is one large summer camp that you take seriously. It's amazing fun, endless memories, and a great stepping stone for your education.

    Food and Dining

    There are two options, the pickle jar or the cafeteria. Either way, you'll tire of both. Just like the dorms, suck it up because that's the kind of dedication you are going to need in the future. Just be thankful that your food is paid for and you have a roof over your head.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are probably as old as your parents. They're old, small, but not awful. The students do not go here for the dorms, you come here for your education, so we all suck it up and wait till we're upperclassmen and can move out.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on which school, you're thrown into classes based on your art. As a film student, freshman are placed into fundamentals of all the aspects of filmmaking (producing, production design, cinematography, editing, etc) and a few academic classes. They will challenge you in a way high school never did. Because in high school, you never had choices, but here, you chose to study the arts and you'll enjoy the classes that help you enhance your skill.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a school for serious students. There are no sports, not many clubs, no greek life, and not your average college experience. You immerse yourself into your art, build relationships with teachers and students that will last a lifetime. Make sure this is what you want to do before entering, If it is, you won't regret coming here.

    In three sentences

    When I first chose to go to film school, UNCSA was the only school that accepted me for film. So, I became hesitant if it was the right choice for me. Last spring I toured and interviewed here and fell in love. I knew that if I did not follow my dreams of being a filmmaker, I would forever regret my decision. Therefore, I enrolled in UNCSA and started college last fall with the excitement of a college freshman, enrolled in classes that I would only have dreamed about in high school, and my hesitation went away.