Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

University of North Carolina at Asheville Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/06/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 out of 19 people found this review useful. 1 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is great for any person who enjoys studying, having fun with friends, going hiking, skiing, mountain biking and rock climbing. Also for people who likes the night life. There is always something to do in Asheville. Everyone will enjoy being in UNCA.

    Am enjoying being here

    It is smaller than some universities in North Carolina, but it has so much to give. People all very welcoming. The scene all over Asheville is gorgeous.

    Am learning a lot

    Being in this school has help me see a different prospective of live. Professors are always glad in helping you. It is very obvious that they all enjoy teaching and learning from the students. I am very glad I choose this school to being my life long career.

  • 06/16/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 2 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are free-spirited and easy-going will have a lot of fun here. I've recently visited Asheville downtown and there was just a random free hula-hoop festival going on with good music in the middle of the city!

    Bang for the buck

    I only have to pay $5,500 in loans each year due to the generous scholarships, grants, and overall financial aid they have awarded me.

    Will enjoy being here

    This place seems to fit me perfectly as the hippie, free-loving, all-accepting place it is.

    Will learn a lot

    Out of the professors I've met so far, they seem to be generally interested in the students. They're here for them because if they weren't, they wouldn't bother to work there. The school is focused on undergraduates only- there are maybe 40 people going for a master's degree.

  • 09/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 3 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Hands down, the safest University in North Carolina.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for artsy people and for people that will have friends come with them.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    When you first arrive as a freshman and when you finally leave as a graduate, you will walk by the statue of the mascot, Rocky, and pat him on the head for good luck,

    Bang for the buck

    Personally, since tuition is rising I don't think there is that bang for the buck like they advertise, especially for an out of state student.

    What to do for fun

    If you are outdoorsy, there is much to do. If you aren't, good luck finding something to do. Pretty much every weekend there is some hiking or canoeing trip to go on, but that isn't some peoples thing. There are some sports clubs starting up though. There is no football team, which is very disappointing but I am excited for basketball games.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall has some pretty good options, but it's still cafeteria food and will probably upset your stomach. The other places to eat are pretty good but they are so expensive and will waste up your dining dollars. They do have good options for vegetarians and vegans, also.

    Dorm Life

    Some of the dorms, like the Ridges and Overlook, are super nice while others, like Mills and Founders. are a pretty dumpy.

    Academic Rigor

    Being in the Honors Program has set me in the course to be challenged, and challenged I am. The professors make you work hard, but they are super nice and will always give out help if you ask.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have an open mind. If you're not from the area, you will come to UNC Asheville and have a culture shock. There are many unique people here that I for sure was not used to.

    In three sentences

    It's all how you make it. Some people love it here because they are artsy and different. Others, like myself, will probably transfer because it's definitely not how they pictured it.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 4 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i feel very safe around campus. the campus police are very quick to respond if you need them and there are plenty of emergency poles around campus.

    Greek Life

    greek life at unca is so different from other colleges. it is nothing like what you see in movies. the greeks are very nice people, and greek life at unca is both enjoyable and beneficial.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are too many to mention. basically, if you're interested in it, there's a club for it. and if perchance there is not a club already existence for it, it is easy to make one.

    Great for these types of students

    diverse, unique, open minded, peace-loving, liberal, environmentalists

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we have the botanical gardens right here on campus. they are a great place to relax and hang out. we also have a statue of rocky the bulldog, our mascot. it is tradiont to rub him for good luck.

    Bang for the buck

    unca is a great value. all the meal plans cost the same, which is really convenient. for as nice as the residence halls are, i'm surprised that housing does not cost more. not to mention the quality of classes. the entire learning experience at unca is worth a lot more than the tuition charged for it.

    What to do for fun

    it is difficult to be bored on campus. there are a million clubs, including sports clubs. if you don't want to be involved in a club, there are organizations such as sail (student activities and integrative learning) and underdog productions that put on events nearly every night of the week and on weekends. these events include speakers, roller discos, stand up comics, open-mic nights, dances, and so on. having fun is one of the easiest things to do at unca.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria is excellent. there are so many options, and desert is always awesome. on the off-chance that nothing in the caf is appealing, you can always go to highsmith, ramsey cafe, or the wellness cafe. we have a bunch of options around here. plus, if you really don't want anything on campus, you could walk fifteen minutes and be on merrimon avenue with plenty of dining options. another nice thing about all of the eateries on campus and around asheville is that they are considerate of people with specific diets, such as vegans, vegetarians, and glucose-free.

    Dorm Life

    the residence halls on campus are nice. each has its own personality, so you're sure to find one that suits you. also, reslife and the ras are always putting on fun events such as hall banquets, murder mystery nights, s'mores nights, and so on. the residence halls definitely feel like home.

    Academic Rigor

    classes at unca are fun and challenging. the professors are all nice and helpful, though. as long as you ask they'll help you. there are also countless tutoring sessions available and starting up a study group is as simple as asking classmates.

    Tips for prospective students

    you should definitely be sure you want to go here. unca is a unique campus with all sorts of unique people. to enjoy living and learning here, you have to have an open mind, and be willing to let it become even more opened than it already is.

    In three sentences

    unca is a wonderful place. the environment is friendly and conducive to learning and the people are great. attending here will give you as many opportunities to learn outside the classroom as it does in the classroom.

  • 10/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 5 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    As an art student, I'd say it isn't. Howver, if you are a Biology, Chemistry, Psychology, Environmental major or etc, then UNCA is the place for you. UNCA science department is connected to UNC Chapel Hill's, which has a very good program. Many students who attend UNCA then apply to Chapel Hill are more likely to receive acceptance than other students from other schools.

    What to do for fun

    There's PLENTY to do on this campus! It can even become distracting! There numerous events around campus, music concerts, guest speakers, sorority parties, tailgating parties etc. There's so much to do in Asheville. it becomes a little difficult to choose between them and homework!

    Food and Dining

    The food's great. Very, very healthy. This is a green school. It may take a while to adapt to the meals if you're a junk-food eater, but you can see results in energy and health quickly. The only problem with food is the price. Like the bookstore, they won't bat an eye when they raise the price.

    Dorm Life

    Probably, one of the main positive points of the school. Large, spacious, wonderful rooms! The only problem with dorms is the cost of it, if your rommate leaves and finds another dorm. Then, YOU have to either pay $750 to keep it as a single, or use only half of the room. It's a little ridiculous.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are quite difficult, where the teachers don't spoon-feed you all the information necessary to pass the class. You have to do some reading on your own, and practice outside of class.

    Tips for prospective students

    A tip for prospective students: Stay on top of your studies! Your classes aren't always back-to-back like they were in high school. Also, communicate with your teachers and advisors! They're there to help you, and also to get to know you!

    In three sentences

    I would rate this university as 7/10. There are definitely pros when attending this school, such as free laundry, large dorms, low tuition, plenty of events and healthy meals all over campus. However, there are cons as well, like lack of racial diversity, old technology, immaturity of students, and illegal use of drugs on campus.

  • 07/07/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hand on learners, people who like to have fun and people who don't mind learning things outside of their major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go visit the campus!

    Bang for the buck

    Like my dad said, I wouldn't mind you going to Asheville. I just read something and it said that Asheville is 13$ a year cheaper than going to App.

    Will enjoy being here

    I hope so! I think I would fit in perfectly though!

    Will learn a lot

    I think the small class size and hands on environment will help me a lot. I am the type of person that actually has to do something to learn it, especially if it is challenging and that should help so much!

  • 03/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Open-minded, creative, ambitious, and fun-loving students.

    What to do for fun

    Ultimate frisbee club, campus recreation outdoors trips, walk through the Botanical Gardens. Downtown Asheville is great as well!

    Food and Dining

    Not just burgers, fries and pizza. There are plenty of healthy options along with a strong consideration for vegetarians and vegans.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are much better than most schools. New residence hall will be ready for Fall '12 semester.

    Academic Rigor

    Among the best universities in the state. Solid prestige at an affordable price.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to work, but you are certainly getting your money's worth.

    In three sentences

    UNCA is an excellent place to find your creative side. The professors have a vested interest in your learning. Student body is friendly!

  • 02/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    they have a couple sororities and fraternities.

    Great for these types of students

    anybody fits in, but there is a higher population of white students than any.

    What to do for fun

    asheville is a great city with very active social scenes.

    Tips for prospective students

    strong science department for a liberal arts school!

    In three sentences

    solid academics, good resources, and beautiful campus.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safe.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of music, great town night life, in the mountains, outdoor hiking, swimming, winter sports, kayaking...etc...etc

    Food and Dining

    On Campus Ok, in town awesome.

    Dorm Life

    Small, friendly and great place to meet people

    Academic Rigor

    It maybe laid back but hard work and standards are important.

    Tips for prospective students

    Lots to do in the outdoors, great for music and the arts.

    In three sentences

    UNCA is a great campus, terrific location in a wonderful small town. Lecturers are very approachable, friendly and helpful. Good place to study, safe, fun and affordable

  • 02/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Creative, unique, musical, artistic, athletic...there is a niche for everyone!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During freshman convocation, the new students line up and pat the statue of the mascot, Rocky the Bulldog, on the head. You do the same before graduation.

    Bang for the buck

    We are the lowest cost public liberal arts university in the state of NC!

    What to do for fun

    Blue Ridge Parkway, hiking, the city of Asheville is within a mile from campus and students get to use public buses for free.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria always has good variety and theme. Our food court contains a burger place, a mexican place, a noodle bar, and a vegetarian kitchen.

    Dorm Life

    We are in the process of renovations to our residence halls and we have completed construction on a new residence hall as of 2012.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come attend an open house or campus tour. We also have an accepted student overnight stay program where you can shadow a current student.

    In three sentences

    UNCA is a public liberal arts college that balances both science and humanities for its students. You have a diverse, accessible faculty who support and guide you through your college career. It is a close knit community with many opportunities and resources to help keep students on track.

  • 05/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have 24/7 campus police and the campus police phone number is the first number every student receives when they first step foot campus as a UNC Asheville student. The campus is very well lit, and the campus police are always available. I have NEVER felt unsafe on campus!

    Greek Life

    Yes, we have two fraternities and two sororities at UNC Asheville.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have around 110 students organizations and our students can get involved with and if a student cannot find an organization they are interested in then they can organize one.

    Great for these types of students

    Involved, Driven, and excited about college/UNC Asheville!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    My favorite tradition at UNC Asheville is the changing of the Maples that takes place each fall. Of course, you can always rub Rocky's head for a little good luck! My favorite location is at the top of the library steps looking out over the Quad and a very clear and beautiful view of Mt. Pisgah.

    Bang for the buck

    UNC Asheville is the BEST and Biggest Bang for your Buck!

    What to do for fun

    Campus Life is great! We have a ton of Student Organizations to get involved with, as well as Greek Life. There is almost always some kind of event going on on campus, and if not then only a mile away from campus is downtown Asheville.

    Food and Dining

    There are various food options from burgers and fries, to burritos and quesadillas. We also have vegetarian, vegan, and glutton free options, as well as food for all of the meat lovers out there! We also have a dietitian on campus that students can talk to about any food allergies or other concerns.

    Dorm Life

    The Residential Halls at UNC Asheville are great! The rooms are pretty roomy and NO COMMUNITY BATHS (no more than 4 people to a bathroom)!

    Academic Rigor

    The professor here will push you to be the most that you can be. It is personalized to where they know your strengths and weakness, the professors really get to know you and what you want out of your education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply soon and be aware of scholarship opportunities. Get involved, UNC Asheville is a place where all students can get involved academically and socially!

    In three sentences

    At the University of North Carolina Asheville you will fall in love with the environment and the people. The classes are small and the professors know you by name. Here you are number 1, not 1 in a million.

  • 06/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are way more safety features and campus police staff than we really need, but hey, I'd rather have too manny than too few.

    Greek Life

    Frat dudes SUCK!!

    Clubs and Activities

    plenty of clubs and things to do to provide adequate distraction when needed, but being a smaller school, we have fewer clubs and less funding then a large 20k+ student school

    Great for these types of students

    IT'S A LIBERAL ARTS UNIVERSITY. if you don't have a creative bone in your body (and a really big one at that) just don't bother.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Unca Mascot is the bulldog. We do this thing called barking It's this really clever chant that all freshmen MUST learn at orientation if you ever want to attend any large gathering or sporting event.

    Bang for the buck

    for 7G a semester you get a very personal learning experience.

    What to do for fun

    Down town is just a short walk away! we have tons of stuff on campus aswell as being right on top of Asheville, close enough to walk or take the bus, but not so close that a down town traffic jam causes problems for us. Downtown has a great night life and plenty of interesting places to see during the day.

    Food and Dining

    You can always find something tasty and healthy (probably vegan aswell) no matter what meal plan your on. people get adjusted to the great food then start complaining about small stuff taking for granted that we have some of the best food on any public university.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very inconsistent. Some dorms are beautiful and resemble a hotel filled with people who study, while the one i stayed in smelled like booze vomit every Sunday morning.

    Academic Rigor

    Unca is pretty intense. The smaller class sizes allow you to know your professor better, however, it gives them the opportunity to increase the rigor of the class far easier.

    Tips for prospective students

    diversify your extracurriculars, UNCA is a Liberal Arts school, they like to see active, motivated, creative, and passionate students.

    In three sentences

    Wonderful! Unca has almost all of the amenities of a large school at a small school feel and price. The faculty and staff genuinely will go as far as they can to meet YOUR needs.

  • 06/28/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The city is loaded with adventures. My fondest memory was finding Greek food at 3 in the morning after a long game of hide and seek in the city. Though for people who are introverts and would like to stay to themselves a great way to get out is to go find SAIL events and join in.

    Food and Dining

    Caf food is pretty bland after awhile, but it has great choices to the herbivores of the school. Coffee from Ramsey Cafe and a Tofu wrap from the Wellness Cafe makes my day.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a lot better than what I have dealt with. I am usually never in my own dorm because I always visited my friends in West Ridge which to me is the nicest dorm on campus even though it is farther away than the rest.

    Academic Rigor

    I have met a few of my future professors and they all seem to love their job and know what they are teaching. I recommend Sophie Mills to anyone considering Classics.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take care of finical aid first. UNCA is pretty understanding and will help you out, but you have to ask for help. Also don't be afraid of exploring the city, but it is recommended to uphold the buddy system. It is a city after all.

    In three sentences

    The place is a coming of age story with amazing intelligent people and memorable professors. The city Asheville is the perfect backdrop to UNCA. People who come to UNCA will never regret staying.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There is excellent food offered in Highsmith Union, burgers, sandwichs, tacos, all sorts. There is also a Cafe located in the library offering pastries and espresso drinks.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus so I don't know about the dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging but the professors are there to help and offer help, they want to make sure you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    UNCA is writing intensive, you need to have strong writing capabilities in order to succeed.

    In three sentences

    UNCA is an excellent university with small class sizes and professors that care about your education. The university is big on community service and encourages students to get involved with the community. The campus is beautiful and located in a beautiful location in Asheville.

  • 08/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is a great campus for innovate, free-thinking, peace-loving students.

    What to do for fun

    Going downtown, joining clubs, taking advantage of the free fitness center and classes, walk through the Botanical Gardens and attend U.P. events.

    In three sentences

    1. A wonderful, inviting environment for students of all race, gender and creed to study their interests safely. 2. UNC-Asheville is a beautiful campus that provides serenity and a safe haven for all of it's students. 3. UNC-Asheville is a campus full of fantastic and involved professors that will go out of their way to make sure their students understand the course material and succeed.

  • 10/14/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    16 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lots of blue light up poles and police officers.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of clubs to choose from.

    What to do for fun

    Hiking and a lot of out doorsy stuff.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely visit the campus.

    In three sentences

    Beautiful campus and a wonderful vibe. The buildings are strategically placed to where even the laziest of us can make ourselves walk to class every morning. I would love to wake up to that view every morning.

  • 10/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    It's very small, but it does exist.

    Great for these types of students

    Liberals, artists, music buffs, hippies.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Changing of the Maples is beautiful, there is RockyPalooza for incoming freshmen, it's overall beautiful.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs, recreational activities, and opportunities to see live music in the city.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, there are vegan and vegetarian options aplenty.

    Dorm Life

    It's good overall, but it's very small so things can become tense quickly.

    Academic Rigor

    Many classes are very difficult, some more than others, as is typical of any university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be bullied into registering for specific classes, you can always take them next semester. You can always change your major, don't feel to set on the first one you choose. Get involved as soon as possible in clubs and organizations, and befriend your roommate.

    In three sentences

    It's a small, liberal arts University that has an emphasis on the arts and on sustainability. It's very diverse, very small, capping at 3700 students, and politically active. It's a good school, and it's definitely on the up and up.

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    18 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is amazing at the University of North Carolina at Asheville. The campus police are very friendly and will remember seeing you around. One staff member is especially known by the students and always greets you with a smile. Since the campus is so small, reaction time by the safety staff is very quick. Also, around campus there are lots of emergency poles which are wired to make direct contact with the campus safety office. They also offer escorts around campus in case the students feel unsafe at night.

    Greek Life

    While there are a few fraternities and sororities on campus, the reputation is nowhere near the same as at other schools. Greek life is active in community service and is also a very small fraction of the student body.

    Clubs and Activities

    The are many clubs and organizations on campus presently. It is also very easy to begin your own club if you don't see one that you would be interested in. From intramural sports to Ancient Gardens, there is a little something for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    The campus is great for all types of students, except for those who seriously want to melt away into the crowds. It can be done, but one of the rewards of the UNCA experience is the interaction you have with your peers, professors and other staff members.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At the beginning and the end of a student's career the statue of the school's mascot (Rocky the bulldog) is rubbed on the head for luck.

    Bang for the buck

    In comparison with the other liberal arts colleges around the country, the University of North Carlina at Asheville is a very good price. Campus living is a bit pricey and frankly not enough bank for one's buck; however, the education that a willing student can receive is more than enough to make up for the university's shortcomings.

    What to do for fun

    Asheville's night life is thriving and every year more activities are available right on campus. Also, with the campus located in the mountains, there are diverse options for the outdoor enthusiasts among us. Plenty of programs are put on by the many organizations at UNCA, bringing a lot of entertainment to the students. There is never a shortage of things to do.

    Food and Dining

    The city of Asheville offers amazing alternatives to the campus food service; however, the food supplied by Chartwells is notoriously horrible.

    Dorm Life

    The official rank (as supplied by the university) ranks as a two out of five. The campus has a reputation for being a commuter college, but also a very active party life. There are options for those who need peace and quiet, but you're more likely to end up in one of the predominantly freshman dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The difficulty ranges drastically between classes, but over all the academic rigor is about a four. There are very hard classes everywhere, but the main challenge is how diverse the material can be in one class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start strong and finish strong. While ever opportunity to thrive is presented to you from the beginning, never forget that you are the one responsible for yourself. Get involved! Students who get involved are more likely to get more out of their college experience and also be more successful.

    In three sentences

    Asheville is a haven for expression, but it easily begins to distract students for their studies. The faculty bends over backwards to work with students and success is the natural result of such a supportive atmosphere. For those who need a smaller class size and a niche to find, this school is a perfect introduction to university.

  • 01/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've tried calling campus police several times and if the weather is chilly, they'll try to evade traveling to a dorm or academic building.

    Greek Life

    heh.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a nice spread of clubs that can appeal to most interests; however, the amount of time those clubs spend exploring those interests is beyond me.

    Great for these types of students

    Social activists. People interested in expanding their knowledge of themselves and others.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One time this kid overdosed on k2.

    Bang for the buck

    My freshman year, I would of given the school 4 stars. As time has progressed, however, I've come to see how much money this university wastes on frivolous things (they're wanting to build a full baseball stadium... why? Have more than 5 people ever gone to a UNCA baseball game?

    What to do for fun

    Go to shows around Asheville. Eat at Rosetta's.

    Food and Dining

    Chartwells ruins everyone's lives. How could anyone think it's a good idea to bring in a company that charges students $8.50 for a burger, fries, and a drink (no refills)? I mean, come on. I could rant about this for awhile, but I don't know if it would do much good. But I digress.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty decent. I've lived in Mills for two years for it's sweet arrangement, but I'm moving off-campus for next year. I've hung out with friends who go to other colleges across the southeast, and their dorms don't even compare.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors will not make it easy on you, but if you aren't in college to learn and grow as a person, I'm not sure why you are surfing this website. Maybe you want to find a nice boy to take home to mother and father, I dunno.

    Tips for prospective students

    Whatever you do, don't join the Greek life on campus. The 2 fraternities are both full of guys who try to get freshmen girls drunk, and I don't really pay attention to the sororities. I mean, if you want to become a scummy kid, then go for it?

    In three sentences

    This school has an abundance of potential, but fucks itself over fairly often. It is slowly transforming from a hardly diverse (a.k.a., almost exclusively middle-upper class white folk) to an even less diverse school (it's becoming a mini UNC Chapel Hill). But the professors are all pretty cool.

  • 06/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Student Alumni Association and Bulldog Nation are all-around great organization to get involved with!

    Great for these types of students

    All!

    Bang for the buck

    No matter who you are, you will find someone like you at UNC Asheville.

    What to do for fun

    There's always things going on on-campus and the athletic events are always fun and exciting. There are lots of outdoor opportunities as well.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining is alright, the vegan place Rosetta's is great, and Highsmith Student Union has a small food court for those tired of the dining hall. Compared to other schools, our food is pretty great.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great; with all suite style rooms, you get to know your suite-mates and don't have to deal with hall style bathrooms. You also get to know your hall-mates and Resident Advisers very quickly.

    Academic Rigor

    Your classes will be as hard as you make them. Some courses will have more homework, or more writing, or more exams. It depends on the professor and the effort you put into it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open minded to classes that you might not have thought about taking. Many students at UNC Asheville switch around their career path because they all in love with an unexpected course.

    In three sentences

    UNC Asheville is a great places for students wanting a unique liberal arts education while meeting diverse students eager to learn. Because of the small school size, the class sizes are small as well. This allows you to make great personal and professional relationships with your professors.

  • 07/01/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    21 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you haven't been for a campus visit, I strongly urge you to go. Tours are conducted in small groups and by current students, making the experience both interesting and informative. Plus the campus is just adorable!

  • 07/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are botanical gardens connecting to campus that you can pretty much do anything you would like. Lots of sponsored events and free food on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Obviously, every college student gets a little sick of school food. UNCA has a lot of good options that you will eventually get sick of. The cafeteria is very vegan, vegetarian, and meat lovers friendly. Great omelets, endless pizza, and yummy desserts. The quality of meals will change daily, but there will probably always be at least one thing everyone likes. We have a local cafe that serves vegan foods, a mexican place, burger place, noodle place, sandwich place, and coffee cafe. All are good options you will want to rotate into your schedule.

    Dorm Life

    Only 33% of UNCA students live on campus. All freshman must live on campus their freshman year. That being said, very few upper class men live on campus. The dorms themselves vary from three to five stars in my opinion. There are five dorm areas: The Ridges (West and South), Governors, Mills, Founders, and Overlook. The Ridges are very nice, suite style dorms, however they are furthest away from central campus. South is substance free and West has noise regulations. Governors has many room types, suites, apartment, and singles, one of the older dorms though. Mills is very nice, but only apartment style rooms. Founders is predominately freshmen housing, but is usually a pretty social dorm. It is also one of the oldest.

    Academic Rigor

    Every semester, you will have mandatory classes that will be a good mixture of very rigorous and difficult to get an A in, and there will be classes that you really only need to pay attention in and do the required work to be successful. There are a lot of professors that consider a C to represent the average student, and you will have to go above and beyond to receive an A. It really just depends on your motivation at UNCA. Professors will recognize your hard work and determination to get good grades if you communicate with them. Anyone can be an average student at UNCA, but I gave it four stars because not many can be A students.

    In three sentences

    UNCA is seriously creative. They are very invested in making sure every student experiences a well rounded, liberal education. You will learn what you love here.

  • 07/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are friendly, but very attentive. Lately the school has invested in emergency poles all around the campus, though in the two years I've lived in Asheville only one assault has occurred. All the other dangerous things that have happened have been in result of students breaking rules (such as allowing people who are not enrolled in the school live in their dorm room).

    Greek Life

    I'm not sure what this box means.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and events on campus that it's absolutely impossible to keep track of them all. There is never a night without an event sponsored by some club or another, whether it be for entertainment or educational. If you like to be in clubs, good luck picking just one or two.

    Great for these types of students

    I think that students who have always felt different will prosper here. Asheville is very proud of its population of weird people. It's a VERY liberal city, and you will see a lot of poofy skirts, brightly dyed hair, tattoos, piercings, unshaved armpits, dreadlocks, and hula hoops. There are a lot of weird but very friendly people in Asheville. It's a great place.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every couple of weeks, a group of people gather to play Humans vs Zombies. So you'll see a lot of people running around in body paint, wearing bright orange bandannas and carrying Nerf-Guns. You can sign up to play whenever the opportunity comes around. A lot of people love to play Frisbee and practice slack-lining on the Quad. UNCA students also seem to have an aversion to shoes. It's not uncommon to see people coming to class barefoot despite the snow on the ground.

    Bang for the buck

    We all know that colleges are a business at heart and it always seems like they need more and more money. Asheville is really no different, but I feel like I'm compensated a little more than what I've seen from other colleges. Students of UNCA get health insurance, a meal plan, cable and internet, free laundry, a free bus pass, and a lot of other perks. They only catch is that you always have to have your student ID on your person. That is the card that proves your existence.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is within walking distance from downtown Asheville. Asheville is filled with interesting and eccentric people. There is plenty to do, even if it's just window shopping. Honestly, if you can't find something fun to do in Asheville, you're just a really boring person.

    Food and Dining

    If you're an extreme health-nut or not a health-nut at all, eating at UNCA can be a little bit difficult. The quality of the food in the cafeteria wanes and waxes without warning, but there's always the other food courts scattered about the campus. UNCA supports the vegetarian and vegan lifestyles, and offers gluten free options as well. They seem to fire the head chef every year, so you can't ever be sure what'll be there one year and gone the next. Overall, you can survive on cereal and salad if nothing else ever appeals to you. And I'd stay away from the peach cobbler, if I were you.

    Dorm Life

    I would recommend the dorm life of UNCA. Freshmen are all funneled into Founder's Hall, which is the most social dorm on the campus. The rooms are fairly large and the dorms are co-ed. The RAs are attentive but not overbearing. We have access to cable and internet, as well as our own thermostat. The other residence halls are fancier and quieter, but Founder's Hall is a great place for Freshmen to start out in a college setting.

    Academic Rigor

    Whether a class is difficult or not is really a matter of perspective, but the professors here at Asheville are both people that want to see your very best and people who aren't going to fight you to get it. They'll push you, but they'll also treat you like an adult. If you don't put the effort in, they're not going to put it in either. However, if you are dedicated, the professors in Asheville will do everything they possibly can to help you succeed. Plus, there are plenty of resources available to students to assist them. The harsh academic rigor needed to get that 4.0 GPA has to come from you, but if you are trying hard, you will have the help you need.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't come to Asheville expecting everything to be tough and strict. The atmosphere is softer and less abrasive than that of a typical college. The authority figures here expect you to look after yourself rather than them constantly telling you what you should and shouldn't be doing. If you prefer to move at your own pace with only the guidance of due dates and your GPA, then UNCA is for you. Expect to walk around a lot, as Asheville is a city of health-junkies, and don't come live on campus unless you enjoy a certain amount of nature and cold winters.

    In three sentences

    It has a friendly, clean, and easy environment. I would recommend it to both introverts and extroverts. The small class sizes make learning easy and intimate.

  • 08/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There is a buffet in a the dining hall with a good selection of vegetarian and more, but if that is not your type of thing you can go to the restaurants around campus.

    Dorm Life

    You share a suite with other people. You are in a double, which is two people, and the bathroom is conjoined between them. Singles are available, but bathrooms are still shared.

    Academic Rigor

    As a freshman, I have yet to really see the classes and how well they work. But so far the thought process seems good and well, and I have heard that in my field particularly, computer science, things get very hard indeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open and be friendly. You're not alone here. Everyone is scared and wide-eyed as a freshman or transfer and there's nothing of which to be afraid.

    In three sentences

    It is a gorgeous campus, and because the student body is so small, it is easy to get to know people and the professors are very nice. The price is affordable; especially for the education one receives. It is a good school.

  • 09/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    When the maple leaves turn red in the fall, there's cider, cookies, and live harp music on the Quad. It's really a special time and it's fun to be a part of.

    What to do for fun

    There's always something to do on or off campus. Students are given a free bus pass for ART (the Asheville bus system). You can go Downtown, go to the drum circle, get some ice cream at The Hop, or just go for walks on our nature trails. There's always activities going on around campus (yoga, fencing, belly dancing, photography, block parties... you name it). There's also places like the game room where you can play video game, pool, or ping pong. If you are looking for something to do for fun, you won't have trouble finding it.

    Food and Dining

    UNCA has a wide range of options to choose from. They serve plenty of vegetarian/ vegan options along with separate meat options. The dining hall is fantastic.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms (residence halls) make you feel at home. It really does become your home away from home.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to get involved! If you get involved with things that interest you, you will meet all kinds of people that have similar interest.

    In three sentences

    UNCA is a unique experience itself. Located right next to Downtown Asheville, there is always something to do on or off campus. No matter where you go, there is always a friendly face to talk to.

  • 10/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is ridiculously safe.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is very small, we only have two sororities and two fraternities. That said, they are there and do hold events on campus, but they aren't super exclusive, and they are really friendly and enjoy being in the greek system.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs to join and it is really easy to start your own. For instance, a guy started a mindfulness club this year and they do slackline demos on the quad, as well as holding weekly mediation meetings. Our campus recreation classes rock as well, you can even become a student instructor.

    Great for these types of students

    Outdoor lovers, musicians, future activists, those who don't care about sports that much, and people with chill attitudes

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a rumored secret society on campus that aims to increase school spirit in different ways on campus. We have Cider and Fire, which is where we roast marshmallows and drink apple cider around the giant Japanese kiln by the art department. We also have Turning of the Maples where we serve free maple cookies, and cider when the maple trees on the quad change color going into fall.

    Bang for the buck

    UNCA is an incredibly affordable school, especially for in-state students. It offers a lot for a relatively low price.

    What to do for fun

    Go downtown to Drum Circle, or the festivals that pop up every weekend, go hiking/paddling/climbing in Pisgah National Forest, attend lectures on campus, go to the Biltmore. There is a never ending list of things to do in Asheville!

    Food and Dining

    The other dining options like Argo Tea and Rosettas are really great, but the caf food can get old after a while, however they are completely revamping the dining hall so I am sure that it will improve.

    Dorm Life

    The RA's are great. No, there are not on campus parties, but the dorms here are actually really nice and they've renovated almost all of them in the past couple of years.

    Academic Rigor

    I definitely don't think that UNCA is extremely difficult, but some teachers here are no joke. They'll make you work incredibly hard for your grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't think that because we have a reputation of a little bit of a hippie school that everyone around you isn't prepared to work hard. You'll be surprised to find the same hippies studying for hours in the library. Everyone here is incredibly passionate about something and you're in a community of intellectuals who rejoice in hiking just as much as reading a book.

    In three sentences

    Fun loving people who are happy to eat organic apples in their hammocks on the quad. Quirky musicians who frolic in the free concerts downtown. Passionate professors who teach here because they love the school and it's mission.

  • 10/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that want a large university education with a smaller feel and smaller price.

    What to do for fun

    There are several things that my friends and I like to do for fun. We always have some sport playing on the weekends, between soccer and basketball. There are many hiking trails around the school, after all we are in the mountains. Downtown is fairly close, and a quick bus ride will get you to restaurants and vintage shops quickly.

    Food and Dining

    The Caf has some of the best university food that I have experienced so far. Some may say that it is too healthy, but the dessert bar is the best part!!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very nice here, and there are no hall bathrooms which is unusual for a public university. The residence hall that I live in is very quiet most of the time, and our RA is very nice and takes time to get to know each one of us.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes here are challenging, and the professors really take the time to get all students involved. That is the one important aspect of having small class sizes, the high level of student-teacher interaction.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would make sure that prospective students take all AP classes that they can, in order to maximize the credit hours that they can be exempt from. This gives them the opportunity to take classes that interest them right away, and they won't have to take so many prerequisites their first year.

    In three sentences

    UNCA is a small liberal arts college that is focused on creating well-rounded students. Class sizes are small, professors are involved, and students are able to form close communities within the school. If you are looking for a great liberal arts university with a lot of culture and personality, this is the place for you!

  • 01/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    fake.

    Food and Dining

    Coming from a small town/state like i do at first it seemed like there were many different options. There's the caf, the down under ( with the best hours, a sort of sandwich shop), argo tea (funky hours, located in the library), Rosettas (a vegan/vegetarian place near the athletic buildings), and highsmith union has a dining area as well, though currently under renovation.

  • 01/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe both on & off campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Fun place to live as well as a great school!

    What to do for fun

    Too many to name all! Winter activities - skiing & snowboarding close by. Warm weather - hiking, white water rafting, cycling, camping, All year - fine arts & craft studios/shows/schools, restaurants, concerts.

    Food and Dining

    Asheville is in the forefront of farm to table food culture! Everything from Tapas to brew pubs to modern & down home southern to barbecue to fine dining! All price points!

    Dorm Life

    Live off campus!

    Academic Rigor

    Varied and challenging liberal arts curriculum.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the many activities offered to really benefit from the value of attending a smaller school.

    In three sentences

    Great small school where professors actually know who you are and take an interest in your well-being. Located in vibrant town of Asheville - year round activities, lots to do and easy to get around.

  • 02/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    UNCA is ranked highest in safety among the UNC public school systems. There is police in the heart of campus who are trained policemen from the city of Asheville. There are plenty of emergency towers scattered around the campus and lights down every street to make you feel secure.

    Greek Life

    UNCA has two fraternities and two sororities. They do not have housing. They do have strict anti-hazing rules.

    Clubs and Activities

    UNCA has over a hundred organizations and clubs for students to join, and if there isn't a club for what a student is interested in, then they can just make it with a signature from a faculty that agrees to oversee it.

    Great for these types of students

    UNCA is great for artistic students who want to unleash their creativity with others like them. Students who want to work closely with professors and have opportunities like working with people in their field of interests.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    UNCA has an annual Nearly Naked Mile where students donate the clothes they wear to charity and run a mile. An organization hosts a drag-ball every year to raise money and awareness for the LGBTQ* community. Another tradition is Human v. Zombies week, where people pretend to be in a zombie apocalyptic setting with nerf guns and try to maneuver around campus while others play zombies and try to tag them. This goes on for a week, while classes and everyday living goes on normally.

    Bang for the buck

    UNCA is one of the least expensive public schools in the state. Everything is close by so it doesn't take much gas to get anywhere.

    What to do for fun

    On campus there are a lot of events that are free and open to students; from fitness/dance classes to guest speakers such as Laverne Cox from Orange is the New Black, and Holocaust survivors. We also host Tedx talks. The campus is also close to downtown which has lots of restaurants, shops, cafes, music venues, and breweries for those over 21.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is either really good or really bad. The cafeteria closes kind of early and the only thing open until a late hour is a sandwich shop. We only have about 4 places to eat on campus. The unlimited meal plan isn't unlimited. You're restricted to meal zones which can be a bit lengthy at times.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very safe. In some ways the rules may be a little strict, but there are no rules that are ridiculously strict. All rules are within reason and easy to follow. The dorms are also well kept and pretty spacious. All dorms have suite style bathrooms so you never share a bathroom with more than 8 people max.

    Academic Rigor

    The intro level classes are just challenging enough to not insult your intelligence, but not too hard to make you want to drop out. The higher level you go, the harder they do get, but professors are more than willing to help you along the way.

    Tips for prospective students

    A good tip is to be outgoing. The majority of the people at UNCA are very friendly. Getting to know people will not only make great friends but good connections.

    In three sentences

    The faculty are very helpful. Classes are small and manageable. Campus is close to downtown, which provides for a lot of things to do.

  • 03/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a police station located in the center of campus. There are blue lights located in several areas across the campus, which will contact campus police at any time, when pressed. Due to the small campus, the police can be anywhere in a few minutes, ready to take on the scene.

    Greek Life

    There are two sororities and two fraternities at UNC Asheville. Both participate in service to the campus and community, while creating a stronger bond of brotherhood and sisterhood with fellow bulldogs and other campuses.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are more than 100 student organizations at UNCA. Any student has the option to start their own club, as long as it is open to the public. They can plan events and rent space for free on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    UNCA is great for any student who wants to know more about themselves, and their impact on the world. Even students who prefer the STEM fields gain so much from the opportunities UNC Asheville has to offer. If thinking inside the box comes as a challenge, or thinking outside the box is something that a student would like to try, UNCA is the place for them.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not very many students realize that UNCA owns a ropes course across the street from the main campus. There are also multiple nature trails leading into various forests and the Botanical Gardens.

    Bang for the buck

    As a liberal arts institution, students are prepared for real-world connections and networks. Financial aid is always an option, and the low ratio of students to teachers really caters to the high quality education.

    What to do for fun

    On campus, there are multiple student organizations that host events, as well as residence halls that host programs. The campus is less than ten minutes away from Downtown Asheville, and have the option to ride the city bus for free.

    Food and Dining

    UNC Asheville's lifestyle dining hall ranges from Western cuisine to Eastern. There are always vegetarian and vegan options for those who prefer, as well as a pizza/pasta bar, salad bar, and sandwich bar. On-campus restaurants are also reasonable options, where students have the choice between using declining balance, cash, or meal equivalencies.

    Dorm Life

    Living on campus is mandatory the first year. Students have the option to select their roommates and living communities while having the on-campus advantage of ease of access to classes and amenities. Each residence hall is equipped with computer lounges, study lounges, personal micro-fridges, and suite-style living spaces.

    Academic Rigor

    If you are looking for classes to challenge you academically, UNCA has them. In addition to that are classes that allow for personal growth in more ways than a large institution could.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't rule out all of your options based on one visit. The more time you spend at UNCA, the cooler it gets.

    In three sentences

    UNC Asheville is a very eloquent university for students who think outside the box. The university equips students to take action with their bright ideas, while making a sustainable footprint in the world. Though the only public liberal arts institution in the UNC system, UNCA produces highly competitive students in the STEM fields.

  • 03/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a police force on campus, so no rent-a-cops. The campus feels very safe.

    Greek Life

    Not my thing, but it does exist. There are not actual houses though.

    Clubs and Activities

    For having a smaller student body, there are a surprising number of extracurricular activities going on. As one walks around the campus, you may see 4-5 messages written in chalk on the sidewalk promoting an upcoming event. There are also frequently talks and events unrelated to clubs, such as the upcoming event where Tibetan monks will build a mandala over the course of several days.

    Great for these types of students

    LGBTIA-identifying people, liberal white people, humanities-minded people

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The UNCA Botanical Gardens on campus provide a lovely place to eat lunch or self-reflect. While it is difficult to find spots that are completely isolated from modernity, finding serenity there is definitely not difficult.

    Bang for the buck

    UNCA is frequently voted best school for the money for a reason. The (in-state) tuition is EXTREMELY reasonable, and in general attending UNCA does not feel like a state school at all. The student body is at about 3000 people, which I feel is a great number that makes me feel like I'm at a large-ish private school. The dining options are simply phenomenal, and the botanical gardens are wonderful.

    What to do for fun

    I go on walks almost every day. The Botanical Gardens are a wonderful place nestled right behind the dorms that I spend a lot of time at, usually eating lunch or just walking around with friends. I also go to meetups, usually Computer Science-related, but I'm also a part of a local chess meetup. I read news, and occasionally watch good movies.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall has excellent and diverse options every day, including daily vegetarian and vegan options. There are also multiple other satellite restaurants and cafes around campus. There are no fast-food chain options, and every place to get food has high-quality options.

    Dorm Life

    I live off-campus, but all of the dorms are suite-style, which says to me that the college cares about the living spaces of the students. A new dorm was just built, but I have heard rumors that the construction was hastily finished. Different dorms are also different prices.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm still in intro classes, but the level of rigor does seem to be rather average, at least for the classes I'm taking. My major (Computer Science) is also rather small at the school, and in particular my major is very average in its rigor. However, Humanities majors are more popular and seem to have very rigorous classes at the 300+ level.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're not comfortable with extreme progressiveness, you might want to pass this school by. Also, if you're not white, be aware that the population is rather saturated with whiteness. The saturation is counter-balanced by the progressiveness of general public opinion, but, the lack of racial diversity is certainly striking.

    In three sentences

    UNCA is the only Liberal Arts school in the UNC system. The community at large is exceptionally LGBTIA-friendly and a generally progressive place. The small relatively small student body gives the college a quaint feel, an almost unheard-of perk for state schools these days.

  • 05/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe while I'm on campus, and the police station is close to the residence halls so its very reassuring.

    What to do for fun

    There are just a handful of things going on during the weekends on campus, but downtown is super close and always has events happening.

    Food and Dining

    I have visited several other college dining halls (not on tours, when the food is 10x better than any other day) and UNCA has the best food by far! Everything is super healthy and delicious.

    Dorm Life

    I did have a little problem with my suite mates for much of the year, but overall I loved living in a dorm. Every dorm building has suite bathrooms instead of hall style like other public schools, which makes a huge difference in the comfort level of living in a dorm. Make sure to do a roommate agreement and stick to your rules!

    Academic Rigor

    I definitely feel like I'm at a private university much of the time. The professors are the best at what they do, I have only been disappointed with one of my professors so far. Just do your research on ratemyprofessor.com and you will be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely keep in touch with your advisor and come prepared to meetings. Be ready to do most of the work when planning your schedule. I am one credit hour short of being able to graduate within 3 years, and nobody helped me plan my credit hours out. Be proactive in your education!

    In three sentences

    UNCA is a very small, intimate school that is great for someone who wants a private school education with a small campus! It is super friendly, and I have no regrets about picking this school to pursue my undergraduate degree.

  • 06/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are police officials on campus at all times. The campus is very very safe, even at night.

    Greek Life

    There is not much of a Greek life here. If you are looking for that, this is not the school for you.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a wide range of clubs and activities. There's the main clubs and then also the unique student-run clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    This is great for students who like the outdoors. There's a club on campus that provide students with outdoor adventures many times a week.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It is set in the mountains and the town, Asheville, is very unique with a lot of personality. You will never be bored here as there's always unique events going on.

    Bang for the buck

    For in-state tuition, it is well worth the cost because of the staff to student ratio. I highly recommend applying and the financial aid office really works with students to get funding.

    What to do for fun

    The best seller is the basketball games. Locals in Asheville and students fill the stands and it's probably my favorite event to go to. UNC Asheville also sponsor events on weekends throughout the year for students to enjoy.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has recently been updated this past semester. However, most students have complained that it's still not very good. You won't get 5-star meals and most of their ingredients are not organic or nutritional.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nothing special. Some are newer than others, so it depends on what hall they place you in. The RA staff is very friendly and helpful to new students.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a fair amount of workload. Students really have to apply themselves because all tests are short answers. In the time I've been there, I've never used a scantron.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would take a tour of the campus to see if it's a good fit. While there, be sure to ask students walking around what they think of the school. Also, try and meet with a professor in your major to ask questions about the curriculum and opportunities they have for students.

    In three sentences

    I really appreciate how passionate each professor is in the classroom. The class sizes are very small for a public university so I get more out of my education. I am getting much more out of my degree because of the class size.