Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

University of Northwestern Ohio Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 out of 11 people found this review useful. 1 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for someone that is independent. If you love cars, race cars, or diesel, this is the place for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't live in the dorms. Get an off-campus apartment. It's cheaper and the dorms have ridiculous rules.

    Bang for the buck

    For the ARCA team members, we have a car that we practice pit stops on. The school pays for our equipment when something breaks. And like I said before, we only have class four days a week. You also only have one class at a time so you aren't trying to keep up on homework for several different classes - you only have one to worry about.

    Am enjoying being here

    For us students that are an intern on an ARCA team, we are allowed to miss class days to travel to races. It doesn't get any better than that - we travel the country, race on live TV, and get excused from class to do so. Also, we only have class FOUR days a week to begin with!

    Am learning a lot

    Before I came to UNOH, I knew almost nothing about cars. After one year here, I have already had a full-time job offer with an ARCA series race team when I graduate. I've now been here for a year and a half, and am starting my second full season working with Andy Belmont Racing through the school's Race Club program.

  • 10/12/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 9 people found this review useful. 2 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Automotive High Performance Diesel HVAC And much more on the busniess side that i am not aware of

    Tips for prospective students

    The winters here are a little rough. i recommend bringing a heavy winter coat.

    Bang for the buck

    It is most definatly the best bang for the buck. u get just as much class time along with shop time so u get the book smarts and the shop smarts.

    Am enjoying being here

    i am in the Drag Club here and its pretty sweet we have a s-15 truck, 69 cougar with spray,a long rail car, a short rail car, and we just recently got a foxbody mustang that is a newest project.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are great i have been learning since i had stepped in the door. i have been getting a lot of hands on experience and a lot of time to talk with the instructor if i were in need of help.

  • 03/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Grease monkeys-car fans -Agg & deisel this place definately catters to our kind-CAR FANATICS!!!!!!!!!!!

    Tips for prospective students

    After 1st session find a couple guys to trust and get an apartment-I save 300$ a month and have my OWN room

    Bang for the buck

    class are 6 week sessions so it goes pretty fast-books and assorted fees can be brutal-living off campus is the way to go.Much much Much cheaper

    Am enjoying being here

    yes, its pretty cool here-met a lot of people with different experiences and we all love cars!!!!

    Am learning a lot

    I can't wait to be finished with the non-auto classes-but yes i am -even from talking with the older guys

  • 02/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i know i do not live on campus but they do have saftey services driving on campus all the time. and they are very strict.

    Greek Life

    none that i know of

    Clubs and Activities

    i cannot even list all the clubs and activites there is to do here. there are so many to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    all types of students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    since unoh is known for thier automotive more than the business side. we have many huge trucks on campus from the automotive students. there are also tracks for the automotive students to use on campus.

    What to do for fun

    the university provides a club on campus (club unoh), there are more clubs in the area. if you do not like to go to the club, they also have free tickets to many events in the area. you just have to come to the office with your student i.d. card and they will hand you a ticket to get into a event for free!

    Food and Dining

    there is the racers cafe on campus. and many fast food resturants around campus.

    Dorm Life

    i choose not to live on campus. sorry cannot help with this one.

    Academic Rigor

    the university does have very strict rules. but you have to see that they are trying to keep you on the right track with these rules put into place. to make you come a better emplyee/ adult once you leave the university.

    Tips for prospective students

    very little parking, so arrive to class early. classrooms are never more than 30 students, so you have more one on one time with your professor. the advisors make sure you are always on track to graduate.

    In three sentences

    the university is most known as an automotive school. it is also a business school as well, and they offer great programs. i am a current business student and i love the classes that are offered to us.

  • 04/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Movies, Join the latest school club.

    Food and Dining

    We relie on outside of school sources or cook your own. Lots of nice restaurants nearby .

    Dorm Life

    Great if you can afford the new housing

    Academic Rigor

    Must be experienced.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn to cook.

    In three sentences

    This college is very hands on and any one should be able to learn something here.

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Movie theaters & shopping close by.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the open house and take the campus tour.

    In three sentences

    It's close to home. It has the classes/courses I am interested in. It has hands-on learning.

  • 06/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    In a good area, well lit, and vigilant campus security. I take classes that let out at 10:00 pm. and have never felt even slightly nervous or apprehensive about walking to my car alone.

    Clubs and Activities

    I do not personally belong to any, but it seems they have a club for just about everything.

    Great for these types of students

    High School Grads, Working/Adult/Non-traditonal

    Bang for the buck

    Small classes and experienced professors create an environment for optimal learning.

    What to do for fun

    I am an adult/non-traditional student so I do not participate in any activities hosted for the students' entertainment. They do have movie nights, bowling nights, and many other fun events.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafe' and vending machines. I have never been to the cafe' but do appreciate that I can use a credit/debit at the vending machines.

    Academic Rigor

    This 3 star rating is only my opinion because I am a very serious and dedicated student. Many of my fellow students would probably give 4 or 5 stars.

    Tips for prospective students

    From day one, work with an academic advisor to plan your class schedules for your entire degree program. Many classes are only offered during certain quarters and you don't want to get near the end and realize you have to wait for one or two classes to be offered so that you can graduate.

    In three sentences

    UNOH is a small but growing private college. Tuition is very fair and affordable and class sizes are small. They offer flexible scheduling and online classes, all with extemely qualified professors who are truly concerned with the success of their students.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    people who like fast cars

    What to do for fun

    night club. lots of clubs and sports.

    Tips for prospective students

    come to learn.

    In three sentences

    very exciting school. perfect for me cant weight to attend.

  • 08/05/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Dorms are monitored and they offer a secure environment for the students.

    Greek Life

    I enjoy the activities they offer for students.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a wide range of clubs, like drifting, learning to race in them will be fun.

    Great for these types of students

    People looking to get into the automotive field. It also is goodfor many other types of degrees. I especially am in the High performance engines and I love the environment.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have a new state of the art facility for working out. It includes yoga Karate classes. Barnes and Nobles bookstore for ease of buying school books.

    Bang for the buck

    You have small class sizes. They have great tuition prices.

    What to do for fun

    They have Lima Raceway with weekly races. Some of the Nascar Drivers do come and race there. The movies and area shopping are just blocks away.

    Food and Dining

    Meal plans offered are easy to use and include local restaurants as well. 5 star

    Dorm Life

    they offer two different types of dorms. They are like an apartment setting. You have your own little kitchen area. They allow extra refridgerators. They give a list of students to help set up your move in for furniture/etc.

    Academic Rigor

    This is a 5 star college. It has all the top of the line equipment we will need to get our education. They have small class sizes which will help with the learning environment. This also allows the students in the automotive field to have easy access to equipment needed in the lab settings.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you can attend the testing days they offer to new incoming students for scholarships, that was very helpful for me. You also can do tours at that time and get to know the school and what it has to offer. I am now moving from Florida to attend this school and I feel very comfortable going there for college.

    In three sentences

    I am very impressed with the orientation and ease of starting college at this school. I enjoyed the test days for scholarships they provided, with touring of the school. This has been a great experience so far with beginning college.

  • 07/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never a problem.

    Great for these types of students

    Agriscience career technical education students, FFA members, automotive/racing/car/truck interest

    What to do for fun

    Study, movies, race track, rodeo.

    Food and Dining

    On your own for this in the dorm living which is apartment style. make sure you know how to cook or partner up with someone that does.

    Dorm Life

    I lived in dorms for about three terms then moved into an apartment. Dorms housed 6 people, a little crowded for me.

    Academic Rigor

    Materials presented are definatley pertinent to my career.

    Tips for prospective students

    New students should be sure to participate in the orientation offered by the University.

    In three sentences

    The university is everything I expected. The classes are pertinent, instructors are informed with current trends and helpful. All members ofthe staff treat as an important valued individual.

  • 08/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The race track! There is also a hall where there's a pool table and TV's. WII bowling tournaments and of course.....the off road club!

    Food and Dining

    The food at the different cafeterias is great, there are alot of options available.

    Academic Rigor

    It's something I'm interested in so the classes are fun. There is alot of hands on which is great!

    Tips for prospective students

    do something you love to do. UNOH was once described to me as the Harvard of mechanic schools, this truly fits

    In three sentences

    I love UNOH! The instructors are fantastic, it's fun to learn here. Everyone in the administrative offices are very helpful. It really is a great environment and I'm on my way to earning an associates degree in something I love to do!

  • 09/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Every fall there is a welcome week for the business school and tech school. They are filled with fun games and activities. Club UNOH is a fun place to chill out with friends watch TV, play pool or video games, snack on some popcorn which is offered free at least once a quarter for a day. At club UNOH there is also a Halloween dance, costumes contests for Halloween, and occasionally some free ZUMBA classes.

    Food and Dining

    The Racer Cafe is a good place to grab a quick lunch between classes. They offer meal cards that can have financial aid money put on. This is good for kids on campus that do not have time to cook meals. The meal cards can be used for three meals a day if needed.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus. I commute to campus because I have a child. I know some girls that live on campus and the dorms are nice. There are three separate dorm places. The Racer's Village is a quad with 4 rooms connecting to a kitchen and living room. This includes a washer and dryer. They can fit up to 4 students per room and 16 to a quad. I have not seen that many students in a quad yet. It's usually around 10 students to a quad.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do you homework on time, most of your classes homework being done can help your grade. If you're not a good test taker, homework being done will help improve your grades.

    In three sentences

    The University is a great experience. The staff are very understanding for personal situations, and family issues. The classes are small, and it is easy to get one on one time with a professor to help you as needed.

  • 12/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is constantly a patrol going through the campus. Safety is a force of off duty police officers that monitor the campus for disturbances or threats.

    Clubs and Activities

    UNOH has several sports teams and groups, such as the racing, drifting, off road clubs and the soccer, volleyball, and tennis teams. Also including many more. There is also a race track near by that UNOH students get into free. Along with club UNOH.

    Great for these types of students

    UNOH is great for mechanically inclined, or business inclined students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I really can't think of any unusual traditions or locations on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth the cost and is definitely cheaper then a lot of other colleges.

    What to do for fun

    For fun UNOH has a club. this club has pool tables, free wifi, and helps students to engage in college life. Club UNOH puts on many events such as Halloween nights, comedy nights, open mic nights, free pizza nights, and pool championships. Also many businesses around town have UNOH student discounts.

    Food and Dining

    Along with a stove and refrigerator in your dorm UNOH also provides an on campus cafeteria in which students can use meal swipes to pay for food. Besides that there are several restaurants and fast food places around campus.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life can get crazy at times, as it does at all college, but UNOH provides clean, spacious dorms, and they provide regular maintenance sweeps to make sure all dorms are kept to code. However, living off camups is definately a cheaper option.

    Academic Rigor

    No matter what college a person attends there is a lot of effort involved. UNOH helps their students tremendously by using visual, auditory and tactile teaching techniques along with classes that work around student's schedules and the usage of CDX. CDX is an online program that helps students to better understand the course that they are in through the usage of videos, script, and practice test questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are interested in mechanics, business, good teachers, a laid back, but professional atmosphere then you should choose this college.

    In three sentences

    Very good Automotive, Diesel, High performance, Alternative fuels, and Ag programs. Also has a business side of the campus. Teachers stimulate and facilitate learning very efficiently.

  • 02/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Country kids, non traditional students

    Bang for the buck

    Cheap tuition

    Food and Dining

    Food court and cafe are very reasonable and decent. There are also many restaurants right off of campus.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms aren't the greatest and housing is hard to deal with.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you prefer a smaller campus and smaller class sizes I would consider UNOH.

    In three sentences

    The class times are reasonable and 45 minutes per class is perfect. Doesn't delay or cancel as much as they should. Dorms aren't the greatest but living off campus and going to school is much better.

  • 07/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus safety is great. They have numerous cameras and call boxes around campus, so they always know what is going on and are there if you need them.

    Greek Life

    This is one thing that disappointed me when I came to the school. There is no greek life at all around our campus. Maybe this will change in the future, but there is no sign of it yet.

    Clubs and Activities

    This school makes a great effort to provide us with things to do in the form of clubs. No matter what you do with your free time, it is almost guaranteed that you can join a club with students who share the same interests.

    Great for these types of students

    This college would be great for the students who have an easy time staying busy, and have a wide range of interests. There are many random little things to do if you take the time to discover them. It is also good for students who prefer to work and go to school, because they offer flexible class schedules. For the student coming to college to party, this would not be a place for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The off-road hill and the autocross track behind one of our buildings would probably be one of the biggest excitements to new students coming to the school. I don't know of any other schools that have this type of thing. The events here were always fun to go watch when I first started and had the time.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is a little on the expensive side compared to most technical schools, but there are a lot of benefits that come from what we pay for. Almost all of our tools are top of the line. We also have a lot of training aids as far as cars, trucks, tractors, etc, that are very nice and easy to work on. I have enjoyed most everything I have got to work with at this school.

    What to do for fun

    There is not a whole lot of campus life around this school. They have thrown a couple awesome carnivals and concerts, but they do not come around very often. Most of the activities have very low turnouts. I have noticed improvements through my two years here so far, and I would imagine things will just keep getting better. This would be great, because there are not a lot of things for college kids to do around the city of Lima.

    Food and Dining

    The school has just put in a large commons area with a restaurant inside of it. Most of the food is great quality. A little on the expensive side, but that is to be expected of a college cafeteria. We also have a couple smaller cafeterias inside the buildings that make for great meals in between classes.

    Dorm Life

    I don't much care for the dorm life around this school. They are very expensive for such a small space, and they have very strict policies. There are also not a lot of campus activities, and the dorm villages get very empty on the weekends. I am very happy with my off-campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    All of the professors push us very hard throughout our classes. There is a lot to learn in such a short session, and they do a great job of getting it all covered. Most of them have great schedules as far as classroom/shop work time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do a lot of research on the school before you start your first session. Try to understand how everything will go as far as financing and class schedules beforehand, because some stuff can come as a surprise after you start. Also start to look for a job before you start, so that you don't come up short on cash when you can't find one until a few months in.

    In three sentences

    Overall, I feel that this university has given me a great education. The teachers so far have all had a vast amount of knowledge in their fields. My only complaint would be that some of the offices are very hard to get through to, but I understand that it is that way for mostly all universities.

  • 07/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety are always riding around campus just to ensure safety for all students.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that are interested in vehicles... any type of vehicles !

    Bang for the buck

    I would say that i have received more bang for the buck than i expected!

    What to do for fun

    Lima is a small city so there arent a lot of activities all the time, but there are a decent amount of clubs and places for fun on campus. It was good for me to get out and make friends.

    Food and Dining

    I would have to review food and dining at a 3.5. There are multiple places on campus to dine but there is not much variety.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is good, nice dorms, good people, and safety patrol just for security. It would be a solid 5 if it was more coed.

    Academic Rigor

    I would rate a 4 because its very organized, compact, and gets a lot of progress at the fast pace it moves.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for prospective students would be, make sure that you are ready to learn as soon as you hit the classroom. Make sure your head is in the books and dont party to hard.

    In three sentences

    I think UNOH is a great school for students looking to learn the many trades the school offers. So far I would rate the school a 4.5 on a scale of 5. I would recommend this school for anyone looking for a quality education for a reasonable price.

  • 10/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is more worried about kids parking in the wrong spot, then the drunk drivers.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    There aren't any

    Great for these types of students

    If you are absolutely positive that you want to learn about cars then i'd recommend it because of the education.

    Bang for the buck

    You get a University accredited degree while learning about something that might interest you. This is by far the best thing the school has going for it.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing, and I honestly mean that. If this school were located in a different area Im sure my feelings would be different but I have never been so bored in my life. I feel liked I really missed out on the actual college experience. The dating life is also nonexistent, and seeing girls in public is almost rare.

    Food and Dining

    The food is ok but extremely overpriced

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very dirty and outdated.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics in class are very rigorous, five hour long classes. Outside of class is incredibly easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are undecided on what you want to do please go to a different college. There is a ridiculous amount of people I have met here in the first weeks of school that drop out within days of being here. Im now looking into transferring but I will most likely get my degree here and then continue my education. The options of study are very limited also.

    In three sentences

    After being at The University of Northwestern Ohio for almost a year, I still have very mixed feelings about my decision. The learning experience has been great, and the education I've received is amazing so far. On the other hand I am emotionally miserable; the area of lima is dreadful, on campus housing is a disaster, there is no social scene, and it might as well be an all guys school.