Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

University of Northwestern- St. Paul Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/25/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 out of 16 people found this review useful. 1 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students serious about pursuing God's will and calling for their lives. If you desire to grow academically, emotionally, and spiritually, I think this campus could be very beneficial for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Evaluate how much you are willing to spend before you commit to coming to NWC. 2. Be active in your dorm - this is a great place to make friends and connect with like minded people. 3. Go to the Ark! (Its a prayer room in the main dorm building; if you don't know where it is you can ask around.) 4. Remember that the people you invest in are going to mean so much more than the grades you got 10 years from now - don't be afraid to make relationships a priority. 5. Just because Northwestern is a Christian school does not mean you have to get married - just enjoy being here! (It can be really helpful to commit to not dating freshmen year....)

    Bang for the buck

    Because I have received multiple scholarships, filed my FAFSA, and have two jobs, I will probably be able to graduate from NWC debt free. This is not the case for most students here. If you decide to go to Northwestern I would encourage you to plan ahead financially, be in control of your financial situation, and be honest with yourself about how much debt you are willing to accrue before graduating. The quality of the dorms, the challenging academic courses, and the excellent faculty make this an excellent school full of valuable opportunities - graduation with too much debt will hurt you later in life, though, so do take the time to weigh out the values before you decide one way or the other.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have loved being a student at Northwestern College. As a sophomore I have taken part on Honors classes, spent quality time with faculty and staff, enjoyed being part of the Residence Life staff, raised awareness for AIDS and malaria, and heard speakers from around the world. The friends I have made in the dorms will last a lifetime, and the way my faith has been stretched and grown is truly amazing. Northwestern College is one of the best decisions I could have made, academically, socially, and spiritually.

    Am learning a lot

    I think that Northwestern can be academically challenging if you choose to apply yourself and mentally engage in the classroom. I have been challenged to reexamine some of my fundamental beliefs and values, as well as focus more on discovering for myself why I believe what I believe.

  • 07/11/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 2 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Northwestern is great for any students that knows that continuing their education is extremely important in finding a secure job. It is also a wonderful place to start a relationship with the Lord, or continue to feed one that has already been started, perhaps for many years prior. Northwestern also has some rules that are important for the students to follow. A prospective students should expect some code of conduct that is expected of the students at Northwestern. These rules are not enforced for the school's benefit, but rather for the student's benefit, therefore, the rules become foundations for a better future. Any student looking to grow immensely in the Lord along with continuing their education for the future would thrive at Northwestern College.

    Tips for prospective students

    I was looking for a college that not only would challenge me academically and help me find a career that would fit, but also one that would challenge me spiritually and help me grow in my relationship with the Lord. Northwestern was a perfect fit. Here, I am daily challenged in my walk with the Lord as well as my career path. Although times are tough and earning money is becoming more and more difficult, I think it is of the highest importance to consider Northwestern not only as a key to finding a good job in the working world, but also as a turning-point decision in growing in the Lord. Money cannot buy a truly secure job or an even more secure and founded relationship with God. I would highly recommend Northwestern to prospective students needing direction in their lives.

  • 10/12/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 3 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Ready to be challenged Committed to Jesus Education majors : )

    Tips for prospective students

    I would urge prospective students to come visit NWC! It really has a culture of its own and is not like other schools. Also, it is a place where your faith in Jesus has the opportunity to stretch and grow, so if you are considering coming here, be committed to your faith. Overall, NWC is a great place to grow academically, spiritually, socially, emotionally, and vocationally. I love it here!

    Bang for the buck

    While NWC is an expensive school, I feel like it will be worth the money in the long run. As an education major, I will come out of NWC with a major and two minors (Spanish and Bible) in four years. That does not happen at other schools! I know that education majors get so much more time hands on with students than people at other schools do. True, it is very expensive, but there are a lot of financial aid opportunities.

    Am enjoying being here

    I really like it here. One of the best parts is living in the dorms because it really is a close knit community where you get to know people in your hall really well. I was nervous that I would not connect with people or feel out of place, but there is so much fun stuff to do and so many awesome people to hang out with! Some people may not understand some of the rules, such as visiting hours in the dorms, but those rules have really helped me to focus on school and be able to have some quiet time where I can focus and get stuff done. Oh, and two more pluses: the dorms are HUGE and the campus is beautiful!!

    Am learning a lot

    Northwestern offers a myriad of opportunities to learn more about almost every topic if you take advantage of everything! From a wide variety of classes, to interesting clubs, the friendly people where who are always willing to talk about their experiences, and even the area, with lots of free yet still educational opportunities to get out and learn!

  • 12/22/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 4 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Christians, those wanting to grow closer to God, those wanting a great Christian community, and people that want a college that is very missions and globally oriented.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to make good friends your first few weeks, and get involved in as many programs as possible. I recommend Streetlight and Campus Outreach, as well as intramural sports!

    Bang for the buck

    The dorms are well worth the money because they have kitchens and bathrooms which is very unusual for a freshman dorm. I think the food is a little pricey but then again the kitchen cooks with local, organic ingredients. Academically, tuition is definitely worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being at NWC. The community is awesome because people are really friendly. I also love the setting on the lake and lovely buildings. Even thought I'm from NY, I feel right at home and actually missed it during my vacations!

    Am learning a lot

    Northwestern has challenged me both spiritually and academically. The work load is decent, but not too overwhelming. I have grown spiritually in just one semester more than I have the past four years of high school. I learn something new every day!

  • 02/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 5 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Overall, Northwestern is worth every penny although it is rather expensive.

    Am enjoying being here

    Another wonderful thing about Northwestern is how welcoming it is and how kind all of the faculty and students are to everyone. However it can be difficult to feel part of the community if you commute to college. This is one of the only things that I have been disappointed with at Northwestern.

    Am learning a lot

    Northwestern is a school that is just challenging enough without forcing the students to do an impossible amount of work. Every single class is full of interesting information and the professors really help the students in their classes to learn and do the best work possible.

  • 12/06/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone that wants to incorporate God's word into their everyday lives in a partical way.

    Tips for prospective students

    I wish I could go to school full-time, but the focus program is perfect for busy adults.

    Bang for the buck

    It is worth every penny!

    Am enjoying being here

    Absolutely enjoy the positive, safe feeling while on campus and the respectful and pleasant attitudes of faculty, staff, and students.

    Am learning a lot

    Classes are mentally challenging and spiritually based, which provides a more complete approach to instruction and learning.

  • 02/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    hard working students, people who want to be challenged in their faith and in their studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to get a lot of scholarships, apply for as many as possible! Do well in high school, take challenging courses.live on campus as well, it is a lot of fun.

    Bang for the buck

    It is very expensive and there isn't always a lot of money that they give you.

    Am enjoying being here

    The people here are all extremely nice and friendly!

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning more here than I have ever in my entire lifetime!

  • 07/19/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 8 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive, but with all the scholarships and jobs available, I know it won't be that difficult. Plus, a Christ-centered quality education is definitely worth it.

    Will enjoy being here

    I have attended a Christian school all my life and know I'll appreciate the Christian fellowship, rich community, and fun activities/extracurriculars.

    Will learn a lot

    I know I'll grow in my faith as well as my knowledge by attending Northwestern, where the teachers care about your relationship with Jesus as well as your grade in their class.

  • 06/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Relational Community Minded Christian

    Bang for the buck

    It's certainly a place that is rich in faith and academic excellence. The experience that you will have here will be so worth your financial burden. I've currently been struggling with how to pay for college but I'm becoming at peace with it because of 1) my faith in Christ and 2) the experience I've had already at this great school.

    Am enjoying being here

    Dorm life has been what it is about for me. Getting to know the guys in my hall and forming new relationships in classes have been surreal for me.

    Am learning a lot

    Class sizes are small enough where you will the attention you need and the classes are rigorous

  • 09/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school would be great for students that really want to learn about God and live around strong Christians. The professors expect a lot out of their students, so this school would be great for people who really want to study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely get involved in your hall, including all of the fun dorm activities. These will probably be your closest friends. Also, join a music emsemble or sport teams to meet other people - even if it is an intramural team (those are really fun!!). Also, open up to people - nobody is going to judge you and that's the best way to get close to people that you'll keep as friends the rest of your life.

    Bang for the buck

    Even though you will be paying more for tuition since it is a private school, I honestly would say that it is worth it. The professors really want to get to know you and give you the best grade that you deserve, which is not something that you would get at a public school. Students often have their opinion heard concerning new ideas around campus, making you an investor in the college.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the fact that I can recognize, if not know their name, of a lot of people around campus. Everyone is so friendly and helpful. There are also a lot hall activities for the people living in the dorms.

    Am learning a lot

    Because NWC is such a small school, the professors have the time to really get to know you. I have some-what personal relationships with a bunch of my professors which is great because I can talk to them about anything - not just school work. I am also learning a lot of things just being in the dorms - my RA and hallmates love getting together for Bible study each week and seeing what we can learn. Chapel is also a great place to learn new things.

  • 01/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for people looking for a great community to be in and who want a phenomenal education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for as many scholarships as possible and be ready for a very Christ centered teaching.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is very expensive and has caused for financial hard ship for my family and I. Although it is very expensive I believe it is worth it for the most part just because of how great the education is.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the people here, they are very supportive and they are always there for you. The teachers are also very helpful and really want you to succeed.

    Am learning a lot

    The school is very challenging and really pushes you. They move at a very quick pace and have a Christ centered teaching.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is only one entrance/exit at NWC, and the campus is surrounded on three sides by Lake Johanna! When you enter NWC, there is a guard shack that you have to go through before going any further. In addition, there are people on duty to call if you need anything!

    Greek Life

    NWC doesn't have any sororities or fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a ton of things to be involved in. There are intramural sports, random clubs, student activities council, student government, and much more. And if there isn't something you like, you can start your own club!

    Great for these types of students

    NWC is great for people who want a great education at a small school where they will also be encouraged to grow in their faith!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a giant rock on the side of the main road of campus. People love to dress in all black and go spray paint it in the middle of the night! People announce engagements, birthdays, and other random stuff on it!

    Bang for the buck

    I have loved my experience at Northwestern. Private schools are definitely expensive, but this one is worth it! The small class sizes, academic rigor, fun factor, and community life make it all a great place to grow. It's also a Christian school, and they have a ton of opportunities to really help students grow spiritually, as well!

    What to do for fun

    NWC is on Lake Johanna, so you can imagine all the fun things we can do! You can use canoes, go swimming, play sand volleyball, go fishing-lots of water stuff! We also have racquetball courts and a lot of workout equipment. In addition, NWC is located about 2 miles from Rosedale Mall, and about 15-20 minutes from downtown, so there is a ton to do just off campus, too!

    Food and Dining

    We have a brand new dining facility as of Fall 2011, and it's amazing! There are tons of options for every meal. There is always some sort of meat/potato, pasta dish, burgers, and make your own sub sandwiches. It's delicious!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at NWC is great! The dorms are huge and you have your own bathroom and kitchenette, which is great! There are tons of hall activities and bro/sis hall events to get involved with. Each hall also has a Bible study. I have loved my experience in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor definitely depends on the program. Some programs are more demanding than others! I'm a business major and have found the classes to be difficult but definitely not impossible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to put yourself out there and try new things! The more you're involved in, the less you have time to be homesick or think about what you're missing at home! There are tons of things to do around campus and lots of people to meet!

    In three sentences

    At Northwestern, I am strongly encouraged to get the most out of my college years. I participate in athletics (both official and intramurals) and work in admissions as a tour guide. I also have loved the academic side of things and really appreciate the great relationship the professors have with the students.

  • 07/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security is always on top of things and you can call them at anytime. They also have a system that sends out a message to alert you of storms, suspicion persons, etc.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are organized sports as well as intramural sports. There are many clubs as well as a chance to make a club.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for someone who enjoys a smaller sized community and getting to know people very well. It is also a great place of spiritual growth as a Christian with many people to support you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is an island on campus that has a sand volleyball court and where you can swim. It is small and has a closed chapel in it though it is very comfy.

    What to do for fun

    Relatively near by there is a mall, a couple of parks, and a movie theater. Most of the time there is also something schedules on campus. If, you don't have a vehicle there is a shuttle to get to the mall and movie theater while the parks are with in walking distance. Otherwise there are always people you could tag-along with who have vehicles.

    Food and Dining

    Some of my friends who go here like the food more then I do. Though, I have been spoiled by my father's cooking. The food is nice and at the main dorm there is The Nest (mascot is an Eagle), which is a place where one can eat on the weekend if they don't which to go out or make their own food.

    Dorm Life

    There is always something to do in the dorms whether it be with your hall, friends, or the entire dorm. Depending on which dorm you live in you would live with anywhere from 3-8 people. If you lived with 8 people it is apartment style with 2 people in a room. Every dorm includes its own personal bathroom, vanity, walk-in closet, and small kitchenette. The size of the smallest dorm is still extremely nice even with 3 people living there.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics side may vary for some people though I have found I have time to enjoy my personal life. The rigor can depend on your major though so if you plan on attending try and talk with some with the same major about this.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared to get to know people and enjoy whatever major you are pursuing. Apply for scholarships early given Northwestern is a little pricey.

    In three sentences

    Northwestern is a nice Christian college, where I have enjoyed the company of many people. It is a smaller college, but there is always something to do. The atmosphere at Northwestern is remarkable, and one can enjoy a one on one relationship with your professors and new friends.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I really like the rock that sits on campus. It is painted by students when the have announcements, such as engagements or other exciting activities.

    Food and Dining

    The only food I've eaten on-campus was some breakfast pastries at a PSEO meeting.

    Dorm Life

    I did not get a chance to see the dorms, so I can't really tell you much. The students all seemed friendly, so living near them should be no problem.

    Academic Rigor

    As an online PSEO student, I have found the classes both challenging and fun. The professors are always helpful and understanding.

    In three sentences

    I love the atmosphere that you can feel on-campus at Northwestern. The Christ-centered community is a huge draw for me in considering this college. I would love to have classes relate back to the Bible and living as Christians in the world today.

  • 12/29/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has only one entrance and is on a peninsula surrounded by water. It is very safe because there is 24/7 campus safety.

    Great for these types of students

    Northwestern is a Christ-Centered school which makes it great for any student looking to grow in their relationship with God. There is chapel everyday and it is a very encouraging atmosphere.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a small island on campus with a tiny chapel, as well as a volleyball net and bonfire pit. This island is great for hanging out on warm nights! Since the campus is surrounded by water, there is also a landing site here for canoes that students are welcome to use.

    Bang for the buck

    One of the greatest perks about campus is that there is a shuttle bus that will take the students anywhere, within reason, for free. This is just one plus of campus that makes it so much more inviting. It also have a beautiful chapel that is the second most popular place to get married at in Minnesota.

    What to do for fun

    There is always activities and sports events going on at Northwestern. Students have a great discount to attend the sporting events. There is also an island that is located on campus where students can launch canoes in the lake. Located on that island is a bonfire pit and a beach volleyball net.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is exceptional! I spent three days at camp at Northwestern this past summer and the food was amazing. There are several different stations and options. The cooks are so nice and the dining hall itself is clean and well organized, but also homey.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are gorgeous. I have slept overnight in them and felt at home. There are usually 2-3 people per dorm and every room comes with it's own bathroom, a very rare accommodation. There are lots of activities that surround the dorms too.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors at Northwestern are exceptional. They are one of the top business schools in Minnesota as well, so the professors except a lot out of their students. Northwestern is known for challenging their students while building life lasting relationships with them, a great mix.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students who are considering this college should attend as many campus visit days or activities. Familiarizing yourself with any college will help the process of eventually selecting a college. Also, speaking with professors and administration can give you a feel for the college.

    In three sentences

    Summing up Northwestern College in three sentences is a difficult task, because the college is so outstanding. Besides the gorgeous campus and exceptional programs, Northwestern offers the most personable and helpful staff and students. Every person on campus, whether they are administration or the student themselves, are down to earth and ready to help at any moments, making the school that much more inviting.

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who enjoy learning, have a passion for Jesus Christ, and have a fire to reach out to their communities and the world.

    What to do for fun

    There is a wide array of clubs, activities, games, intramural sports, dramas, and concerts to attend. It is very hard to be bored at Northwestern College.

    Food and Dining

    The food offered at Northwestern is amazing. When I first visited the Billy Graham Center, I was so overwhelmed at all the food to choose from, I literally didn't know what to do with myself! The college is also nearby several good restaurants and fast food markets, so variety will never be a problem.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are constantly active with a flurry of activities, games, and active resources. The dorms are set so Freshmen, Seniors, Sophomores, and Juniors can all interact and give help and support to each other.

    Academic Rigor

    Although Northwestern does not make school impossible, the professors do expect you to do your best. They have a passion for everything they teach, so as long as you pay attention and do the assigned work you will do very well and still have time for extra activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely take advantage of the free tours and activities offered to those interested in attending Northwestern. You will learn a lot, and meet people who sincerely want you to succeed in life.

    In three sentences

    Northwestern College is a place that is focused on getting me educated and ready for the real world. The faculty and staff are passionate, encouraging, and helpful. This combined with a beautiful campus and awesome fellow students make Northwestern College a great learning experience.

  • 11/25/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Northwestern is amazing for anyone looking to strengthen or develope a relationship with Christ and fellow Christians. Great for student who value a Chistian lifestyle, academics, and the arts/music. We have a great education, theater/arts/music, and business department.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely hit up one of NWC preview days to learn about about the school and academics side of college. Attend at least one campus event like Hoopsteria and if you are interested in the arts/music definitely check out one of NWC's many performances. And most importantly pray and let God lead.

    Bang for the buck

    Northwestern College is an expensive school but it is very much worth it. NWC provides an awesome Christian enviroment and community with great educational departments and student services.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love going to NWC and living on campus. I couldn't picture myself anywhere else. Northwestern provide an amazing community of Christian to grow stronger together in a relationship with Christ and one another. The campus provides us with numerous opportunities and events. The faculty, student services, and facilities are great.

    Am learning a lot

    Northwestern strives (and succeeds) in three areas: spiritual, academics, and serving. I am constantly learning and growing in all three areas with all the ways NWC challenges and expands my knowledge. The college truly provides wonderful opportunities for growing through their academic departments, ministries, and community.

  • 01/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    this is a smaller campus and they have security guards. they show on the rock in a special spot the crime at the college.

    Greek Life

    i don't think that they have a greek life here. i know they have dorms but not fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    i am sure there are clubs and activities. i don't get involved being that i have 2 jobs and full time college.

    Great for these types of students

    there is something for everyone in this college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    nwc has a rock that everyone takes turns painting on. if it is someone's wedding coming up or other event, they will paint on it for all to see. they named the website we go on for all our information the rock.

    Bang for the buck

    i see the students at this college so involved and having fun with their peers. the professors really care and will answer your questions quite quickly when needed.

    What to do for fun

    there are always concerts, plays, sports and sermons to come and see.

    Food and Dining

    i do not eat at the college. i have my classes from 6 - 10 wednesday nights.

    Dorm Life

    i am not living in the dorms. i live 1/2 hour a way. i can save money and the young kids in the dorms will not be stuck with an old lady.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are tough and in the focus classes one will get 8 weeks of school instead of 16. there is a lot of homework but well worth going the focus way. keep up with assignments so that they don't overwhelm you.

    Tips for prospective students

    work with your counselor's closely so that you can do everything correctly. take advantage of the school tutoring program, alpha. enjoy your classes.

    In three sentences

    i am really enjoying nwc. the professors are great, the people who help me schedule my classes are so helpful, and i love the focus program. i love how i can go to school one night a week, test out of classes, or go on line to earn credits.

  • 01/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we have campus security on campus, and they require you to show your i.d. before entering on campus. i feel very safe on campus.

    Greek Life

    there isn't greek life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    we have a lot of clubs and activities. intramural sports are really popular on campus especially broom-ball and basketball in the winter. the clubs that we have help plan a lot of activities on the campus, and many students are involved in leadership positions in those clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    northwestern is a wonderful school for those who desire to learn more about the lord while growing academically as well. we are also prepared for life after college during the four years it takes to get an undergraduate degree. there is a lot of diversity on campus as far as people from different countries and who have varying majors. anyone who loves having a strong community on a campus would love northwestern college.

    Bang for the buck

    i definitely believe that an education at northwestern is priceless. for the most part every student that attends northwestern receives financial aid and scholarships, so many students that i know of aren't having to pay the full price. in light of that, every person i have talked to on the campus have said that they have grown a lot spiritually as well as academically.

    What to do for fun

    since northwestern college is so close to downtown st. paul and minneapolis many times on the weekends students will go off campus and go into the city or visit neighboring universities that are close by.

    Food and Dining

    our campus is catered by a company called bon apetite. they have a wonderful variety of food options including vegetarian options ans gluten-free options. all dining fees are ala carte. i always love going to eat in our new community life commons though!

    Dorm Life

    i really enjoy the dorm live on campus. we have five different dorm buildings, and i am in the main freshman and sophomore dorm. many rooms have three people to the dorm but others increase depending on the size of the dorm and different dorm buildings. we have a lot of activities planned during the week and weekends that are in the main student center. it is nice being so close to the student center and having a chance to participate in those activities.

    Academic Rigor

    many of the introductory classes that i took and am taking required a lot of self discipline. the class sizes are smaller in comparison to a larger university, but from that the professors have an opportunity to challenge the students individually as well as in groups. i have been pleasantly surprised by the academic rigor, but i am thankful that the professors have not just taught from the textbook but have also given me ways of application.

    Tips for prospective students

    many students attend college and see it as a time to find themselves. for me, being a second semester freshman in college, it has been more of a refining process. i have learned more about myself from the professors and what the lord is doing on the campus. i have had the opportunity to grow off of what i already knew about myself and i am so thankful that i have been able to do that at northwestern.

    In three sentences

    i love the community that northwestern has to offer. all of the people and professors that i have met there have shown interest in me and my future. i am learning a lot academically along with spiritually at northwestern.

  • 02/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    excellent!

    Great for these types of students

    this is a great school for any denomination, but also for non traditional students wanting to further their education in a timely manner.

    Bang for the buck

    there are a lot of christian concerts and great speakers that come to this school because it has a great auditorium for these types of events!

    Academic Rigor

    the program i am in is an accelerated course for working adults. there is a lot of paper writing, but it is all pertinent to what you are learning. one class may last anywhere from 4-8 weeks but in less than two years a person can have their b.s.

    Tips for prospective students

    great college if you are looking for a christian college to attend. this school does all it can to help you attain success. students become cohorts throughout the entire time you are attending so you become like a big family!

    In three sentences

    northwestern college is an amazing college and is giving me the opportunity to learn with like minded professors and students. i am loving learning!

  • 04/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have Public Safety patrolling around campus. Our campus is surrounded by lake on three sides, so we only have one entrance.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a BIG rock in the middle of campus where you can spray paint when people get engaged, birthdays, hall events, etc..

    What to do for fun

    There are a variety of things to do for fun. For example Residence life puts on events for the hall or dorm sections. We have Students Activities Council where they put on campus wide events such as Variety shows, banquet, laser tag, grocery bingo, race around the cities, etc.. We also have Student Government and FORCE and they host various coffeehouses and festivals, etc... NWC is located 15minutes from downtown twin cities and so there are lots of fun things to do in the cities.

    Food and Dining

    Our food in the Billy Graham Community Life commons is so diverse and delicious! We range from pizza oven, pasta, grill, homestyle, exhibition style, bakery, soups and salads, etc.. The food is also very reasonably priced. The dining hall is on second floor and one side overlooks the lake, we also have a patio where you can sit outside in the sunshine. We have tall windows and so it is a very refreshing dining room and there are also fireplaces to sit by.

    Dorm Life

    I am a Resident Assistant and hence I am a huge fan of dorm life! We have integrated housing where freshman, sophomores, juniors and seniors all live together in dorms. They are not separated and this helps build community. We have brother and sister halls where we do events together such as dinners, sports, service projects, photoshoots, etc..

    Academic Rigor

    This school has academic excellence! Last year we had 99% of our Business graduates line up with jobs right at graduation. Professors are personally mentors. They care about you and sacrifice time for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Northwestern College strives for academic excellence, is engaged in the world, focused on the world and is wholeheartedly Christian. Northwestern supports students and wants to give everyone the best.

    In three sentences

    I love Northwestern! I feel safe, loved and at home here. This school is very uplifting and encouraging. Professors and staff and fellow students are so supportive of you.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    22 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Rock on campus is a place where students can go and customize for themselves by spray painting things from engagement announcements to sports activities.

    What to do for fun

    The Student Activities Council, or SAC, almost always has things going on for students to attend. Games, concerts, dances, clubs, and other activities can be signed up for and attended by any student that wants to. In addition to fun on campus, there are many restaurants in the area to choose from as well as the Rosedale Mall just up the road a ways. A YMCA is also close by where students can go to do things like swim and play basketball.

    Food and Dining

    The food has gotten much better from what it used to be and is actually enjoyable for the most part. Although priced fairly high, students can usually get a good meal that provides them with the necessary nourishment they need to sustain themselves physically as well as mentally.

    Dorm Life

    Almost everyone who goes to Northwestern is trying their best to follow Christ and is searching for the place where God wants them to be in this world. Because of this, roommates and hallmates are almost always willing to lend a helping hand and to be someone that you can pray with. The community that is created in the dorms at NWC is unlike anything else you will ever experience.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors at Northwestern College are committed to providing students with the academic abilities that they will need to survive and thrive in the outside world. Along with this, they also seek to assist students in deepening their relationship with God and other Christians so that the students might find and comprehend their own personal calling.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't get stuck in a bubble consisting only of people at the college. Get involved with a church outside of the school right away and find Christian mentors that can guide you along the path of seeking Christ as well as helping you with everyday trials and struggles.

    In three sentences

    Northwestern College is a Christ-centered, student-valuing college. Their goal is to take students and make them into wonderful academic scholars while also preparing them to spread the good news of Jesus Christ throughout the world. I would highly recommend this particular college to anyone looking for a first class academic education as well as a place to deepen their relationship with God and other people.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many activities on campus and off campus. The city is about 15 min. away from campus and is a beautiful city. You can go with students to restaurants around town, go to the mall, or walk around the area which is a fun and safe place.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good, and delicious. The dining facilities are beautiful, made in a way that resemble a camp. Food is healthy, and there are lots of types of food, from vegan to deep fried.

    Dorm Life

    There is always stuff to do on campus, and living in the dorms is fun, because RA´s have always something to do. If you need someone to talk to, they are there for you, or even your fellow hall mates are there to cheer you up.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a rigorous school, and academic programs require a lot from students, but you learn to give the best of you, and push yourself harder.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come with an open mind, and don´t think that because it is a Christian school it is boring. Being a Christian is not boring, but instead at this school you learn how to live it out, and have a blast you thought you would never have.

    In three sentences

    I am amazed by Northwestern, not only because of the education quality, but also because of the Christian based education. The campus is beautiful, and professors have a personal relationship with students. Northwestern College is a great place to study because of all the opportunities have been provided there for me to study.

  • 09/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are lakes all around Minnesota and having another College just down the road keeps the businesses busy with activity. A mall is only a few miles away that has a large plethora of stores such as Journeys, Forever 21, Express and many more.

    Food and Dining

    The food has been getting better and better through the year. Obviously it is not a five star restaurant but the new state of the art cafeteria offer a wide selection of foods from pastas, to salads, to pizzas, and the occasional oriental treat.

    Dorm Life

    Getting connected to a community will only be difficult if you are not willing to make friends. The diversity of people on campus is exciting to see and to get to know people, some, from around the world, and chances are you will meet someone and find a crazy, unbelievabel, connection to. There are some days when you just do not know what to expect, weather it be water balloon fights or a mob of students playing a classic game of Humans versus Zombies.

    Academic Rigor

    Expect to work hard and to put effort into your education. Do not expect everything to be spoon fed, processed and decided for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your mind open with whoever you meet, they just might be what you have been looking for.

    In three sentences

    Northwestern College is a Christ-based college that values each student as an important contribution to the word in which ever stream of concentration they are pursuing. They do not force the students to believe or not believe the Bible but they make sure the students know all the facts about the Bible before the students goes off into the world with their degree. Northwestern College has professors that are more than willing to discus anything and everything from deep theological debates to where to find the most economic shoes, without forcing their own beliefs on the students.

  • 09/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I find that the instructors pray before each class and that helps me to become centered before class starts.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of activities to do for the younger students.

    Food and Dining

    I eat at home.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    It is fast paced but worth it totally.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just to use the help the the staff has available to you

    In three sentences

    I have found the focus program for adults works for me. I only attend once a week but with my schedule it works great. The staff is truly understanding and helpful.

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    a security guard is at the entrance to campus at all times. People can genaerally recognize if someone doesn't belong

    Clubs and Activities

    Anything you want to do can be done. There are tons of clubs and you can also create your own clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to grow in their relationship with God and want to challenge themselves academically.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a private island! great for late night swims, campfires, tree climbing, or star gazing!

    Bang for the buck

    This is an expensive college. However it is worth it because its the best place to grow spiritually as well as academically.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of intramural sports and activities. There are opportunities to create your own clubs as well. Campus is in the perfect location for fun in the city. everything is only a bus ride away.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very healthy. All products used to make meals are guaranteed to come from farms that are not harmful to animals. However, there isn't a great variety in meal types.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very spacious. there is a small kitchen in every room and a bathroom. numerous fun and exciting hall events are organized and its easy to get to know your neighbors.

    Academic Rigor

    Much is expected of a student academically at Northwestern. However, the professors are very helpful to students who ask for help and there are countless tutoring and study services available.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be friendly with people. they will most likely be friendly too. And get involved in activities outside of campus.

    In three sentences

    The sense of community here is great! The teachers and staff really care about the students and invest in our lives, not only academically, but also with wisdom. Northwestern provides a multitude of opportunities to get out into the world and practice using your gifts and talents.

  • 09/25/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    27 of 51

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    This school sounds really great, and I think I would grow a lot both spiritually and mentally. This school is expensive though.

  • 10/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On campus there is The Rock which students can paint. We also have an island on campus where there is a sand volleyball court, chapel, canoes and a beach.

    Bang for the buck

    Since it is a private college, the price is a little high but Northwestern College offers financial aid to 98% of its students. There are plenty of opportunities for students to get paid as well in leadership positions or by having an on-campus job. The experience itself is worth the price because there is so much growth that happens intellectually and emotionally on campus. It is an experience that will be a great memory to look back on.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of options of things to do on campus during the week and the weekends. There are sports games, various activities planned by students, and resident events for the entire student body to partake in. There is also a game room complete with pool tables, a ping-pong table and a TV with cable to watch a football game on or find a movie to watch.

    Food and Dining

    The food can sometimes be unique but there are consistent options of pizza, burgers and subs which never fail. The dining areas are very cozy and offer plenty of room to eat or study or just hang out with friends. There are plenty of options to satisfy your hunger during the week and on weekends to keep you healthy and your stomach happy.

    Dorm Life

    Each dorm has a Resident Assistant living in the hall who plans events within the hall, with a brother or sister hall, and with the buildings run by a Resident Director. There is a lot of community within the halls also because of weekly Bible study and the willingness of the R.A.'s to get to know all of the people in the hall. The majority of the residents are willing to open up their rooms as well if anyone needs something.

    Academic Rigor

    A majority of the professors at Northwestern College have worked in the field of education in which they are teaching which means that as students we learn about what a real job is like and what we need to know. Homework and tests are challenging and are used as a tool to help us learn and remember concepts rather than just giving us grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice for prospective students would be to find a college that serves your needs for education best and will help you grow as a person. Northwestern College has helped me achieve a good education and grow as a person through challenging my faith, having intentional community and having professors who are experienced teach me. Find a college that doesn't just give you a diploma but helps you discover more about life.

    In three sentences

    Northwestern College is a place for growth in community, faith and as an individual. The college encourages students to discover who they are continuously. Northwestern College helps students succeed as they go into the real world as well.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students will have some rules enforced by the administrators, but there are lots of positives that outweigh the negatives.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Chapel is mandatory. Save your skips

    Bang for the buck

    It is worth the money IF you take advantage of the small class sizes to get to know your professors. They have a lot of information and insight to offer if you are willing to seek them out and get their feedback.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of clubs and athletic events as well as intramural sports, and coffee shops and shopping within walking/biking distance!

    Dorm Life

    I can't offer much insight here, I am a commuting student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work very hard, and be prepared for an environment that can be tough to work within. It can be taxing, but is well worth the time if you really take advantage of the opportunities available to you here.

    In three sentences

    A great program for visual artists with lots of opportunities for constructive critique. Small class sizes offer one on one attention available which is excellent. The professors are very engaged in student success.

  • 12/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe while on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Northwestern offers a plethora of clubs and activities!

    Great for these types of students

    Northwestern college is great for Christian students who care just as much about their faith as the do their education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One interesting location on campus is the chapel in Nazareth Hall. It is made out of gold and ivory. It is gorgeous! Weddings are held there every weekend and there is a big waiting list for reservations.

    Bang for the buck

    Northwestern is a private college, so it is expensive, but it is well worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of clubs, sports, outreach ministries, and other things to be involved in on campus. There are a few different things within walking distance, like Caribou coffee and it is only a 10-15 minute drive into either St. Paul or Minneapolis.

    Food and Dining

    Overall, the food is good and a diverse menu is offered. The Eagle's Nest food is okay, but it takes a while to make and the food in the CLC is better. I love the ice-cream at the cafe.

    Dorm Life

    The rooms are spacious, even though you are living with two other people. Each room has its own bathroom and kitchenette. There are activities for students to get acquainted with other students in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    NWC strives for academic excellence and I believe they achieve it. Students study often and professors challenge the students to become even better.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to apply if you feel this is where God is calling you; if He wants you there, He will provide a way. Participate in freshman orientation! You may feel somewhat bored while you are in it, but it provides you with fast friendships and a couple of upperclassman mentors.

    In three sentences

    Northwestern College thrives in academic excellence. The staff and students care about one another. Both spiritual and academic growth occur in student's lives.

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is very safe. I honestly feel very comfortable walking at night by myself. Its a closed in campus and campus safety circles around continually.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is located by Lake Johanna. There is a small private island connected to campus by a bridge. You can rent canoes for free, play volleyball, or go swimming.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of clubs you can join, or even start your own. It's a very short drive to the city where there is everything under the sun. My favorite things to do are to go dancing or to concerts. When you're low on cash, there are always beautiful parks and lakes.

    Food and Dining

    The food is on the healthy side and very tasty. Meal plans are expensive for freshmen though.

    Dorm Life

    This is definitely a clean, drug and alcohol free school. If you're looking for that kind of party, then this isn't the place. However, You will definitely bond with people in your hall and there is always activity going on if you want it.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are challenging but your professors will help you through it if there is something you are having trouble with.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know other students right away. Don't be afraid to introduce yourself to people. Get to know your professors, especially in your field of study. Buy your books online and sell them back to the campus store at the end of the semester.

    In three sentences

    I rate Northwestern as a 10/10. Its a beautiful campus. The classes are great!

  • 03/18/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    32 of 51

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Seems like a wonderful school, definitely glad Cappex matched me with it.

  • 03/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have our safety team driving around and checking the premises very often, and since it's a private college, it is located in it's own little area.

    Greek Life

    I don't understand what this means...

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of activities and events on campus, but there does need to be more clubs...which means more students need to create them!

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for Christian students who want to have Christian community and learn more about God in each class.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have an island and lake right next to the college where you can pray, or have a party with friends.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a little expensive and it keeps getting pricier. But they do have scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    I like to go to school events: cook-outs, festivals, worship night, etc. I like to watch movies with my friends and go for walks outside.

    Food and Dining

    There is a lot of food selection in the cafeteria, and we even a cafe where you can get coffee drinks, bakery items, or ice cream! It is all pretty good!

    Dorm Life

    The size of the dorm rooms are really spacious compared to other colleges. You get a kitchenette and your own bathroom! You usually share a room with two other people.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not easy, but they are challenging and you learn a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go visit the campus, it is really beautiful. Also, talk to a Student Ambassador and a faculty member to find out more about specific majors and programs.

    In three sentences

    Northwestern College is a Christian school, with small class sizes and really friendly professors and students. There is daily chapel and clubs. There are a lot of opportunities to get involved.

  • 04/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The campus is on a lake, and students can canoe or kayak. It is also extremely close to a mall that has several shops and restaurants, and is only a short bus ride from Minneapolis or St Paul, where students can take in various types of performances, whether theater or bands. There are constantly activities and events to attend in either of these two cities

    Food and Dining

    The freshman 15 is not a joke. It is an actuality. The food is plentiful, but does not tend to be overly healthy, unless a student is sticking with the salad bar.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms were very old and desperately needed updating. But they were large, and each one had its own bathroom and shower. Generally, the dorms sleep three to a room.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the professor, many of the classes are mentally stimulating and challenging. I learned a great deal from my art and English classes, but at times could be overwhelmed with the amount of required assignments and projects. Worth noting: Northwestern requires what is essentially a Biblical Studies major in addition to whatever the student's key focus is. The course load will be heavy when trying to balance the two.

    Tips for prospective students

    I strongly recommend getting involved in campus life. One can miss out on a lot of the community that makes up Northwestern, and as a result, have a less than stellar experience. I also recommend making friends with your academic adviser. They alone can help you graduate on-time by directing you as to how to best blend your academic schedule and life most efficiently.

    In three sentences

    The campus is gorgeous and professors are very personable. The class sizes are intimate and it is easy to follow up with a professor on any questions or concerns The internet portal, however, is often down and it can be difficult to send or receive emails due to the many restrictions it places on search engines

  • 04/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety is good, but becomes annoying for the students from time to time.

    Greek Life

    There are no fraternities or sororities on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Northwestern provides many clubs, but also gives all the students the opportunity to create their own clubs with administration approval.

    Great for these types of students

    Christians, God loving people, business majors, missionary aspiring individuals.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are people who call themselves cloakers. They wear cloaks, and read books in trees.

    Bang for the buck

    Even though Northwestern is expensive, financial aid is extensive and helpful, and the school truly prepares you for not just a career, but a life of ministry.

    What to do for fun

    Canoeing, fishing, swimming, piano, guitar, music, Frisbee, volleyball, numerous sports, biking, running, weightlifting, jogging, bonfires on the island campus island, boating, etc

    Food and Dining

    The food here is amazing, and would receive a five star, but is sometimes expensive.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life here is excellent, and almost everyone who comes and lives on campus loves it.

    Academic Rigor

    This assessment is based on high end prestigious schools.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't worry about the apparent Financial Load.

    In three sentences

    Northwestern College is truly a Christian College centered on Christ. It is a school that has wonderful professors and staff. Northwestern has an amazing community of people.

  • 06/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is a very safe college, it is something of a gated community because of how it is arranged without being a gated community. There are campus security personnel that patrol it to keep it safe. In general, it is a safer environment with very seldom every hearing of parties involving alcohol or marijuana, but not that it is beyond influence of this.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is a funny topic seeing as it is a Bible college and that the New Testament is written in Greek. In light of that, I'd say that there is a very active Greek life. Also, my roommates know a little bit of Greek.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of activities on campus that people can get into if they feel like it. I didn't join any clubs because I wasn't looking to join any clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    I would say that this college is great for most any student. In having a great experience at this institution, I am biased to say that, Well everyone should go here! when that isn't the case; though not for reasons of complaints but rather preferences.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Ring by Spring is an unusual tradition where students that may meet in the fall may even purpose by spring to the person they're dating! However, this is not a tradition but more of an outlier. On campus, there is what we call, the island that is on the North side and is a nice place to find some quiet time away.

    Bang for the buck

    In defining the bang for the buck, the bang being the end result is very much worth it. The bang is me being taught things that people can't just grade on an exam, but rather how things had ought to be and steps to see this come out through faith in God. The buck, however is expensive but financial aid does alleviate this.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do for fun there. Many things may be conventional such as canoeing, riding bicycle, long-boarding, or frisbee. There are also unconventional fun things to do-things that are not illegal mind you- but occasions such as Humans Vs. Zombies is a campus-wide event.

    Food and Dining

    Food is very good and of high quality despite outlier opinions. The food comes through a vendor named Bon Apetit of which their workers are outstandingly friendly and would call us by name to ask how we are doing.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is a great experience! I made friends with my roommates very easily and had come to grow very close to them. Friends would leave their door unlocked and we would leave ours unlocked so the community is very fluid. Very great experience with the people here!

    Academic Rigor

    This school has an outstanding academic standing. They just added a nursing major of which I am now a part of. The person who judges whether colleges have the right academic material for the nursing program said something to the effect that Northwestern should be the standard for the nursing majors in Minnesota. Kudos on that one, Professor Simat!

    Tips for prospective students

    A couple tips for prospective students would be that you should go with an open mind in some sense because college is not exactly what you think it will be. Another is that you ought to work hard because it does cost money to attend and you don't want to waste it on something that you will not use.

    In three sentences

    Northwestern College is a great college to learn aspects pertaining to community, God, desired majors, and how it ties together. Here, I found many professors willing to invest personal time into students to see them grow. Also, I found many people that genuinely care for the well-being of individuals there, not solely as a collective.

  • 07/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Well, you can get in campus pretty easily if you have something that somewhat resembles an ID. :P But I'd say the campus is very safe. I've left all my possessions out multiple times and nothing was ever stolen.

    Clubs and Activities

    They aren't well advertised, but there are plenty! There's Streetlight, SALT, Spanish Club, Way in the Wilderness, and many more. You just have to ask around and take the initiative.

    Great for these types of students

    People who are following God. Business majors. Vocal majors. People who want to stay in ministry their wholes lives.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Couples paint the rock when they get engaged.

    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive. It's not the most well-known Christian school, but it's perfect for some people. God will provide if this is where He wants you.

    What to do for fun

    Hall events, Coffee shops, Talent shows, Ministries (Do them!!), Enjoy the lake, Go to Target (haha)

    Food and Dining

    The food is really, really good. There's usually a lot of variety, and there are always the basics (pizza, burgers, salads, soups, subs) if you can't find anything else.

    Dorm Life

    It all depends on your hall. The dorms are exceptionally nice. The main dorms have kitchens and bathrooms in each dorm room, which is really great. I feel like hall and dorm activities aren't as well attended as they should be, but that doesn't necessarily stop you from making friends and having good times. Get to know your RA and MP's and attend events!

    Academic Rigor

    Coming graduating in the top of my class from a very rigorous, private Christian school, I was not challenged much by my classes. I had barely any work and it was not as demanding or thought-provoking as in high school. However, most of the people around me seemed challenged and like they were learning a lot (so it may just be me). Try the Honors program if you have a similar academic profile as mine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask LOTS of questions. Make sure you know what you're getting into. You don't want to regret your decision, so pray and ask for God's will to be done. No worries, though, because God is greater :)

    In three sentences

    Northwestern is small school that tries to focus on glorifying the Lord. The people are generally caring and helpful. The academics are sufficient.

  • 08/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is a secure, safe learning and growing environment. The security staff are always available to assist and ensure that the campus is a positive, nurturing environment for all students.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    With a wide array of intramural sports, as well as a growing number of clubs, anything that isn't available can be created.

    Great for these types of students

    Hard workers, athletes, musicians, actors, teachers, leaders, christ-followers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus sits on beautiful Lake Johanna, giving the students a unique environmental experience. The lake offers all kinds of extra activities, encouraging students to enjoy the great outdoors.

    Bang for the buck

    If you want to grow as person, and not just as a student, Northwestern is the place for you. You will be cultivated not just as a future worker, manager, CEO, teacher, musician, athlete, or employee, but as a leading contributor in your community. Northwestern helps you to engage the world beyond the bubble of college. You will learn to invest in the people that make our society so incredible, and to help every person make a difference. It's a learning experience like no other.

    What to do for fun

    Northwestern is situated in Roseville, a small suburb outside of St. Paul. You'll find the suburb packed with strip malls, theaters, restaurants, athletic fields, parks, museums, as well as access to the nearby city and all that St. Paul has to offer. The campus itself is always teeming with activities and student life thrives in a safe but exciting setting.

    Food and Dining

    A top notch, highly certified staff is present to ensure that all your dining standards are met and surpassed. Fresh, quality produce is made daily and presented in multiple varieties with great diversity. Your taste buds will be delighted by your choice. Snacks and cafe options are also available, along with a great selection of premium coffee, juice, and beverages outside the main dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    Constantly, you will be given opportunities to interact with your fellow students outside of the classroom. Bible studies, athletic events, dorm competitions, hall activities, school assemblies, talent shows, and many many more events will certainly spark your interest as you experience college life.

    Academic Rigor

    At Northwestern, you will be pushed to academic excellence. The collective goal of the professors and staff is to help you utilize your entire potential and to thrive in your respective field as a member of the global workforce.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come in with an open mind and heart, and allow yourself to be immersed in the environment and culture, keeping in mind that the size of the school in no way determines the success of the students. Be prepared to engage with students that are more than willing to help you more than they'll help themselves. It's not about the individual; it's all about the community at large.

    In three sentences

    Northwestern College is an engaging, riveting and unique experience that cannot be duplicated or found in any other school. With high academics, excellent athletics, and a mission that seeks to empower students from any and all backgrounds, you cannot find a better fit for your college needs. At Northwestern, you aren't just a number under the enrollment count; you're a uniquely gifted person that has the potential to make a difference.

  • 09/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Well, there is the ghost story, like any good college has. THere is an actuall island on campus, which is a great place to hang out.

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive but very worth it!

    What to do for fun

    Student Activities organizes a lot of events throughout the year. Otherwise there is a mall close by, with plenty to do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    Its more expensive than I'd like but its very good.

    Dorm Life

    Plenty of space, and only 2-5 people per bathroom, depending on what building you are in.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors will put you through your paces, but its worth it!

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit and stay overnight on campus. We love hosting prospective students, and its a great way to see what life here is like.

    In three sentences

    We have a very tight community here; even the professors care about what is going on in student's lives. The food and housing is great compared to other colleges in this area. This is a place to work hard, learn lots, get connected with other people in your field, and reach out to the city around us.

  • 01/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Northwestern is partially surrounded by Lake Johanna and the students can enjoy midnight swims, canoeing and lakeside bonfires on campus. Northwestern also has a pretty great student activities which organizes activities to participate in on campus, such as, Hunger Games, Luau Night and Campus Bingo.

    Food and Dining

    Each class has a meal plan that is automatically added to their fees at the beginning of the school year. Freshman and sophomores have more money because once a student has enough credits to be a junior, they are allowed to live off campus and cook for themselves. The food is spectacular and relatively healthy too, though Northwestern has a candy bar relatively close to the salad bar. They also have a vegetarian option and gluten free option for students.

    Dorm Life

    In most rooms a student has two or three roommates at Northwestern. Their room includes a bathroom, vanity, and kitchenette along with the normal dorm furniture. The Northwestern rooms are spacious and one of the main places that students hang out on the weekends.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors give a good amount of homework, enough to keep each student busy, but not so much that everyone is constantly locked in their rooms studying for classes. The professors know what they're teaching and Northwestern has picked the best of the best on each subject.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know that it's a Christian school where you will have to minor in Biblical Studies. Check to see if you like the atmosphere of the school and the fact that it's near a big city. Always check out colleges more than once because the experiences could be completely different.

    In three sentences

    Northwestern is a place where you can figure out who you are and who you want to be. There are people that are working primarily for the students benefit; to make good use of their money and time at the University. The people at Northwestern are also kind and caring and they want to help you succeed.

  • 01/09/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    41 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Motivated students, outgoing students, and one to one.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Dorm rivalry.

    What to do for fun

    Music, outdoor activities, a lake

    Tips for prospective students

    Being able to communicate properly with professors without the hassle of hundreds of students waiting.

    In three sentences

    Its a small campus. The campus has a great student and staff relationship build ups. Lastly, the campus is beautiful.

  • 01/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is an island in the north of the campus. There is a volleyball net and benches around where you can rest and have some quiet time.

    What to do for fun

    There are always events held by either Student Activity, the FORCE, or the Student Government, and also, dorms have their own events as well.

    Food and Dining

    Dining funds are included when you pay for the college, and you go to the cafeteria and pay with your student ID. The food here is not the best and rather expensive, but considering that you already paid for it and you can use it in the cafe as well, it is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    Considering Northwestern is an old private college, there is not too much to complain about. Few of the dorms are relatively older, but personally I feel like it is alright as long as you don't ask for too much.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic here is not the best of all, but I would say it is legitimate. In fact, since the class size here are relatively small comparing to other universities, students are given more opportunities to get close to the instructors and ask questions. Not to mention, all of them are welcoming towards questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are interested in UNW, I would suggest you to think through you motivation, whether you are only looking for a place to get education and not care about anything else, Northwestern might not be the best fit for you. But if you are looking for spiritual and personal relationships with great people and believe that academics are not the only value in life, you should at least try this out. Northwestern always welcomes new people.

    In three sentences

    Northwestern is a perfect place for not only academic but also personal growth. Northwestern has a small but closely packed community among students, and the students also have personal connection with the faculties. Although Northwestern is not perfect in academics, the value of it can be seen if you believe that there are things that are more important than grades and scores.

  • 01/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is a gated campus. There are security guards on campus. The campus is well lite as well. Unregistered cars will be towed and reported to the police. The crime rate is very low, mostly stolen laptops and cellphones. A complete daily report of incidents is available online for the students and facility.

    Greek Life

    There are no sororities or fraternities on the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs on campus, theater, sports teams, languages are just a few.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for those students that want to learn and expand their faith walk. A strong desire to gain a Christain worldview, while learning to serve the Lord in a great number of professions.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The old church on the island is a great place to visit for some solitude and especially nice for some quiet time with God.

    Bang for the buck

    With so many majors available, including religious fields and secular you are bound to find it in this close knit Christain environment. You will be expanding your mind as well as your Christain walk with weekly chapel. Most students will also have a minor in Biblical studies as well as their major when they graduate from the University of Northwestern at St. Paul.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is a short bus ride(campus buses go to mall and grocery stores several times a day) from the Rosedale mall. There is many shopping and food establishments in the area, as well as the movie theater. There is an iceskating rink a couple of miles away. In the winter there is skiing and skating on the lake as well, when safe. The dorms have fun events almost every week. You chose the ones you like. Some are chili cook off night, International food night, Cultural awareness events, and my favorite the yearly Film Festive. The campus also is host to live theater, and popular Christain artists and speakers.Of course there are lots of sports to get involved in as well. Weather you want to join one of UNWSP's official teams or just play with your friends on the quad there is always something to do.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria and several cafe and coffee shops on campus are catered by a good food service company. The areas are well kept and there is a large variety of food available. Fresh fruit and vegetables are always available. They also have special menus, such as Gluten Free. The new dining area in the Billy Graham Center is very welcoming with large and small tables, comfy chairs and fireplaces. Great on a cold Minnesota winter day or night.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are extremely clean and well kept up. The school provides desks, chairs, kitchen table and chairs, beds and dressers, and a small couch. Some rooms have four or five same sex students together. There are apartment style and traditional dorm style rooms available in three sections off and on the gated campus. There are a lot of fun community building event throughout the year. Most dorms have a central hangout area as well.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challeleging without being ridiculously hard. There is quite a bit of work for most classes. There is so much help available though if you have a hard time. Students can get help from student lead study groups, student tutoring, and teachers are always ready to help. One added department is the Dissabilities office, (DOSS) which can help many people including dyslexic students cope with the rigors of college school work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try out the dorm life, food and even classes by signing up for a preview weekend. You will see the friendly people and feel the welcoming atmosphere. You can come by the admissions office and the finical aid office with questions, they are super nice and helpful.

    In three sentences

    The University of Northwestern in St. Paul Minnesota is a small Christain School. It is located on a peaceful,safe, park- like stretch of land , including a lake and island,on the edge of Northwestern suburbs of Minneapolis and St.Paul. Academics are challenging and fun as well, with facility support always available.

  • 03/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus feels so safe! I don't have a problem walking around late at night outside.

    Bang for the buck

    It is true that Northwestern is very expensive. However, the way that I try to look at it is that if it is God's will for you to come here and you earnestly seek Him, He will provide in various ways. And you definitely get what you pay for if you come to Northwestern!

    What to do for fun

    Many students are gone for the weekend, but you can always find people who stick around campus. I love to watch movies with my friends or go on nature walks and what not. Campus Activities always has a vast array of events planned as well. Also, since the campus is on the outskirts of St. Paul, it is extremely easy to go exploring in the cities and have some fun adventure-time!

    Food and Dining

    The food plan is a bit spendy, but I do enjoy having such great food! I talk with my friends from other state school and they always complain about the small selection and unhealthy food. However, Bon Appetite actually makes the food which the cafeteria sells. The choices are very unique and can be quite healthy, depending what you choose to eat.

    Dorm Life

    There are always events almost every weekend with the halls in order to keep people involved and having fun. Other than the awesome events, the actual dorms are great! I love having such large rooms with a kitchen and a bathroom.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic level of the school is a natural step up from high school. It is not extremely challenging or prestigious, but what you do learn is very relevant and interesting.

    In three sentences

    The community is totally awesome! The professors are absolutely terrific and really care about your life! There are so many opportunities here to fit in and serve others.

  • 03/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do at the University of Northwestern. Many people encourage us to get involved with a club or extracurricular activity. There is so much space around campus to hang out with friends and play games outside. There is never a dull moment on campus. Even at night or in the winter, many students will stay in the student center and play games or just hang out. The community is really great.

    Food and Dining

    The food at the Billy is very good. They have the best staff there and the food is prepared very well. The Eagle's Nest in the student center is so nice to have, because it's close to the dorms. Sometimes the same food gets a little old, but there is always a special that brings a little variety.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life at Northwestern is fantastic. Many people meet their best friends at this school because they are roommates or they are in the same hall. It is so important to know your RA and the rest of your hall because they will always be there for you. The Northwestern staff is very good and well trained to be sure that everything in the dorm life is excellent.

    Academic Rigor

    Northwestern's teaching staff is incredibly intelligent. We have teachers from all sorts of backgrounds that are very knowledgeable about their area of study. Some of them even write the books we use in class.

    Tips for prospective students

    To all prospective students, please make time to come visit Northwestern! If you can, try to sit in on a class and chapel, because that's what sold it for me. Another great way to check out this school is by staying with some of the residents in their dorm.

    In three sentences

    University of Northwestern St. Paul is an excellent school. I have loved everything about it since I first visited. Now that I actually attend the school, my views on it have only been confirmed.

  • 03/17/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    46 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food was very good!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at UNW are a huge plus for me. I love that they all have a kitchen or kitchenette and no community bathrooms! The only downfall is with those amenities, comes an extra roommate or two. It's not bad, put it is a bit more difficult sharing a small space with 2-3 other people

    Academic Rigor

    From my research, they seem to have excellent academics.

    In three sentences

    When I visited campus, I felt at home! Everyone was so kind and willing to help. Another huge plus is that I really felt the presence of Christ while I was touring.

  • 04/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus Safety is pretty decent. There are not really any break in's or much that is stolen. I am comfortable leaving my computer out and walking around for like 30 minutes. The rules about what time and where you can be on campus are a bit strict, but I can understand why they have them. There are routine drills in the dorms, which show that the safety is on top of things and ready for something that might happen. Overall it is a well kept safe school.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot here to do for fun. There are many events that are campus wide like film festivals, talent shows, operas, plays, musicals, ministries, etc. A lot of activities to be apart of. There is also the dorm life and people to hang out with at almost anytime. The people here are great and it is truly a privledge to be able to go here.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is probably similar to most Universities. It is pretty average. The prices are extremely high however. The quality of the food is a little bit above average, but there is little variety so you can get sick of the dining food very quickly.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great! I love being apart of the dorms here and having a hall full of really cool guys. It is exciting and a great way to get connected on campus with other people. Whether you are a Freshman coming in without knowing anyone or a two year student like me, there is normally always a hall or room that you can get connected with. The intentionality to create community in the halls is very well done. I have been a Ministry Partner with the RA this year and a lot goes on behind the scenes to create that connection in the hall.

    Academic Rigor

    The Academic rigor is not extremely hard at Northwestern. It depends on what major you are in and how focused you are on your studies. Normally, Engineer majors, music majors, and Bible or Philosophy majors spend the most time on their studies. It also depends on the Professor that is teaching the class. Some professors unload a lot of work for the class, but overall it is pretty manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    The tips that I would give prospective students is to study well and look for places that you can get connected in regard to what you are interested in. If you don't know what you are interested in, then look for people that you enjoy being around and that is a good indication of what you might be interested in. Speak up and show interest in each of your classes and realize the amount of money you are putting into this experience. Use this time to its fullest capacity and don't waste time by focusing yourself in directions that aren't beneficial.

    In three sentences

    I would give UNWSP a high rating because of it's excellent teaching, it's intentionality to create community, and the Professors who care about their students. If I were to give UNWSP a rating out of 10 it would be a 9!

  • 05/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We're on a peninsula and public safety is pretty good about keeping the campus safe. We're located in Roseville and in a relatively safe part of town.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many things to be involved in on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    academically excellent sold-out for Jesus

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nightwatch=giant shaving cream war after the second day of classes between the girls and guys dorms We have or own island! Day of Prayer and Service- a day off of class to go out and serve our community and return to a worship service

    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive, but not only are you paying for classes, you get a community of people who love Jesus, and that's something worth paying for.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out on the island or play volleyball behind the stud (weather permitting). Play cards or games in the stud. Host a movie night in your dorm and invite your friends. (Pay attention to vis hours.) Ride the shuttle to the Rosedale Center and shop, eat, or just people watch. Lots of concerts, restaurants, stores, and fun things to do in Minneapolis or Saint Paul. Visit Como Zoo. (It's free!) Go to Vespers (student-led worship) at Bethel on a Sunday night.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good for cafeteria food, and the freshman meal plan provides enough money for each semester if you don't go crazy. Jut pay attention to your balance. The Nest leaves something to be desired as their is only fast-food style dishes and few healthy options.

    Dorm Life

    There is a bathroom and a kitchen in your dorm. The RAs are intentional about creating community in the hall, with all ages. The integrated housing allows students to find friends and mentors of other ages within their halls.

    Academic Rigor

    The difficulty and challenge of academics depends on the classes you take. The professors all have different styles of instructing, but they all require college level work and will dock points for anything less.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to work. Professors don't let you slack off. Be ready to be immersed in a Christian community. Northwestern tries to make every aspect Christ-centered, and they've done very well. Also, be friendly because people are just trying to get to know others, and be open to meeting new people. Don't let yourself get comfortable. Being at a Christian school and having to study the Bible for class does not replace your own time with Jesus. Don't let yourself be complacent. This university is expensive. Be ready to handle the costs. Also, do you really want to spend all your money to get an MRS degree? No matter how many times they tell you in orientation, it's the library, not the Bernie.

    In three sentences

    This school is a blessing. I am challenged to grow academically and spiritually every day. The community within the school is unrivaled by any other school.

  • 06/09/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    49 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a rock on campus that people spray paint for different occasions - weddings, events, engagements, as a hall activity, etc.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a pricey school, but comparable to many private colleges. I have never once regretted the money that I spent on my education there.

    What to do for fun

    Bike/run/walk around the 10,000 lakes of MN. People watch at the Mall of America.

    Food and Dining

    Awesome food program. Lots of great options and its not just frozen stuff heated up. Many of the food options are homemade.

    Dorm Life

    There are lots of rules but most of them aren't hard to follow if you are in the search for a Christian college in the first place. All of the dorm rooms have their own bathroom and mini kitchenette.

    Academic Rigor

    It's not only a Christ-centered education but a rigorous academic education, too. None of my classes were full of fluff, but were practical and applicable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go visit! I had decided on another school but when I visited, my decision was instantly changed. You can feel the presence of God on campus and the students and professors are more than welcoming.

    In three sentences

    A Christ-centered liberal arts education. Small class sizes and personable professors. Students truly feel like they are part of a close knit community.

  • 06/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The guard shack is pretty worthless. If you look friendly, they'll just wave you in (if they're even looking at you). They could definitely improve safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    I played a sport, and I loved it! The team is awesome and the coaching staff cares about your well-being. You definitely need to get involved in something!

    What to do for fun

    It has a great location! It's super easy to go downtown, so there's always stuff to do (like getting good food in dinky town).

    Food and Dining

    The food is alright. I guess it's good when compared to other schools, but I got sick of it pretty quick. Not the biggest variety either.

    Dorm Life

    It was actually really fun living close to everyone and being able to all hangout right there. The dorm rooms are surprisingly nice as compared to many other colleges.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest it for those who want a small campus experience (kind of a bubble). Also, be sure to consider financial options, because the tuition is rather ridiculous.

    In three sentences

    Northwestern is a beautiful campus with a close feeling community. The professors are great and really care about the success of their students. The classes are challenging and fun!

  • 10/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have check in points, rules about visitors, parking guidelines, and security staff.

    Clubs and Activities

    Academics Arts Athletics

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who is committed to excellence in all areas of their life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    KTIS radio station which was started by the second college president, Billy Graham, in located on campus. Amazing history here and I am blessed to be a part on the continuing tradition of faith here.

    Bang for the buck

    It's worth every penny. Social life is great and wholesome. The academics are well supported with integrity, purpose, and standards. Nice housing options and healthful food choices.

    What to do for fun

    You name it, the opportunities are here.

    Food and Dining

    On campus, flexible choices, no GMO's, tons of healthy options. Students can take out for eating later if their schedule is crunched. Lots of welcoming spaces to eat and socialize. Students are able to add on to their accounts and roll funds over to second semester.

    Dorm Life

    Did I say, AWSOME? AWSOME! Many dorm activities as well as choices of buildings. This smaller campus is friendly and convenient to classrooms, activities, and also public amenities. The dorms are furnished with all you need for furniture and allow for you own things as well.

    Academic Rigor

    As a student with disabilities I am supported to rise to these high standards. Also I appreciate the mix of tests, papers, reading, and projects which facilitates many kinds of learners. It is a tough school but the small classes and teaching staff allow for helpful contact through your coursework.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus Talk with admissions Pursue financial aid Take advantage of PSEO or try an online class Join us in the revolution of higher education

    In three sentences

    The University of Northwestern St. Paul in Minnesota brings a unique level of excellence to students seeking a higher education. They combine academia, real life experiences, and hands on problem solving with a Christ centered world view which encompasses all subjects of study. UNWSP is a cut above the rest.