Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

University of Pittsburgh-Greensburg Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 03/31/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want a public school with smaller classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out the campus!

    Bang for the buck

    My main reasoning for attending a branch campus of Pitt was the ability to gain merit scholarships. The tuition is around $21,000, and I already have a $6,500 merit scholarship!

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus is beautiful! Also, it's nice and spread out so it is large enough to explore, but it is small enough to make it to classes on time.

    Will learn a lot

    I will be attending UPG in the Fall, and I truly believe this university will be great for me. After all, I'll have the benefits of small class sizes and the University of Pittsburgh diploma.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Due to the small nature of the campus, it doesn't take very long for security to get anywhere and with all the emergency phones set up all over campus I feel very safe. Plus, there isn't much crime in the area or anything else for that matter.

    Greek Life

    To my knowledge, there are no fraternities or sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    I know there are a lot but I was not part of most of them. So I would say so but I can't honestly answer

    Great for these types of students

    If you want a very open campus, a little more one on one ish feeling with the teacher, and less distraction. Then this could be a place for you. Plus, if you want to go to the main campus all the credits transfer over.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus doesn't have any unusual things. Their have been some stories of ghost but they could have been pranks. The students are trying to have a humans vs. zombie games.

    Bang for the buck

    They do offer a lot of things that if you used them all you would be saving money compared if you tried to do this outside the school. However, I don't eat multiple meals at once, go to every event even if I don't feel like it, and make sure I take 18 credits just to have 18 credits.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of on campus events, clubs, and plenty of free space to try your own thing. I do feel like at times you have to make your own fun and with the lack things near the campus to do you may find yourself wonder what to do today.

    Food and Dining

    They always have a lot of choices and some common ones in case you don't like today's special. They also have a side store encase you don't want anything in the cafe that service common fast food things such as burgers, chicken, or fries.

    Dorm Life

    Granted I have low standards, they do offer all the basic needs and luxuries most people would want. Though roommate or hallway member issues vary, you can ask for aid with confronting your hallway members or roommate on anything that is bothering you.

    Academic Rigor

    The campus is very not very strict. The rules are enforced but other then that you basically have the free will do to as you please.

    Tips for prospective students

    Everything closes over the weekend. The cafe and other basic thing will be open but the quality has great decreased.

    In three sentences

    It has a very good student to teacher ratio. There are very few things around the campus helping one focus on their studies. However it does have plenty of on campus events to take break from ones studies.

  • 01/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    this is key in my opinion. feeling safe when you are miles away from home is very important. there are always officers on duty and the chief is amazingly nice and caring.

    Greek Life

    there are many academic sororities you can join. no frat housing or anything like that. all is for good grades and such. it looks amazing to be in an academic sorority.

    Clubs and Activities

    recently the school has come out with so many new clubs to join and with those clubs comes many new activities. it's so nice, especially if there isn't anything to do.

    Great for these types of students

    who are looking for a smaller environment, something to ease into for their first few years because you always have the option of transferring to main.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the coffee house is located in the academic villages, it is kind of cool because you walk and you are in one of the villages. it's a really popular hang out spot.

    What to do for fun

    we kinda just hang out and watch movies. we are always having fun and always finding something to do.

    Food and Dining

    it's not your typical gross cafeteria food. at times it is a poor selection but most of the time it is good. a lot to pick from .

    Dorm Life

    at first, i was very iffy about living in a dorm. they are not bad at all! i have become very very close to not only my roommate but the girls beside me and down the hall. cannot complain! i think everyone needs to experience this!

    Academic Rigor

    not going to hide anything, this school is very challenging. especially their biology and chemistry program. however, professors will go above and beyond to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    look into this if you are interested in small class sizes and knowing your professors well. also, if you don't mind seeing the same faces everyday. in my opinion it's a good thing. i have made so many friends.

    In three sentences

    i would rate upg very well, it was a good choice for me. small class sizes, close personal relationships and one to one help. i can't complain about this school other than it is boring at times.

  • 03/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a individualized education and a small student to professor ratio

    Bang for the buck

    Get a great education for a lot less than other universities as well as more personalized relationships with professors.

    What to do for fun

    Always activities going on, student government as well as other clubs provide a lot of entertainment.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging but provide a good development for future skills.

    In three sentences

    Great experience, people on campus are so friendly and the professors are truly dedicated to their students. Much better than a large university, you get much more individual attention and help! Should be a number one choice for anyone looking for a small yet well know and accredited school!!!

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is safe. Since it is so small and not located in a city, it is not easy for just anyone to walk onto. The campus police are frequently driving around and there are lights everywhere.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is the human-zombie game on campus that takes place every spring. There is one zombie to start out, and as humans you get missions to accomplish every night but watch out for the zombies because they are watching too. Also, there are the Hall Olympics. Don't worry you can be a commuter student and still participate.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is all you can eat, and there is a snack bar outside of it that you can get fresh salads and hoagies and pizza hut pizza. Also, there is the coffee house with frequently has open mic nights and is open late.

    Dorm Life

    There are a good amount of campus activities, and there are always fliers hanging around to let you know when,where, and what is up. There is even a monthly calendar that lists all the events. Also, there is a zombie-human game that takes place every spring.

    Academic Rigor

    It is challenging, but it is college. Just keep on top of your homework, essays and projects and you'll be doing fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do research your professors, it will help you get to know if your learning style with work with their teaching style. Do not stress out, the classes are small and it is easy to talk to your professors.

    In three sentences

    It is a small campus, so there is no worrying about leaving an hour before your class to make it on time. It is easy to get to know the professor(s) of your major. The classes are not overly huge, they are conducted in a normal classroom, not a giant auditorium.

  • 11/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I love the food where I can eat and have fun with my friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    I advice students that want to attend this university to live on campus or near by. Also try to be involved with organizations and student life. It is great and fun.

    In three sentences

    The university is nice and easy to get around. But for me it is a little too far. However I still like it and look forward attending it.

  • 01/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus.

    In three sentences

    This campus is small and great if you need one-on-one help. I know a lot of colleges promise supreme academia, but Pitt @ Greensburg is no doubt one of the best institutions I have transferred to. The only set back is there is honestly not that much to do on school grounds.

  • 01/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I will probably transfer in the future, in hopes of a better overall experience.

    What to do for fun

    Try to attend the events if possible. They are usually separated into commuter and non-commuter events. There aren't usually a lot of people that attend.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good. There is a wide selection. They have a nice salad bar.

    Dorm Life

    There is not much to do in the dorms. They are kind of dark and dreary. You can request roommates if you know your friends are attending.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging but understandable. The professors are usually helpful. Some professors won't explain what material you should study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Buy your books online. Join clubs early on. Limit clothes you bring; there isn't much closet space.

    In three sentences

    Pitt-Greensburg has a variety of good, educational classes for any major. The professors are, overall, helpful and pleasant. The social life at Pitt-Greensburg is lacking but could be helped if they would hold more events and activities.

  • 03/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Be aware of your surroundings at all time and do not take any unthroughtout chances.

    Bang for the buck

    Brfore you declare a major be sure. Changing your major waste time and money.

    What to do for fun

    If there was a sport or activity you enjoy doing, find someone who also enjoys doing it. This is a good way to boarden your circle of friends.

    Food and Dining

    It is not moms home cooking.

    Dorm Life

    If you are having problems do not try and handle it yourself, take it to an authority figure.

    Academic Rigor

    Do not wait until the last momment to do assigments.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not get too caught up in the freedom.

    In three sentences

    While attending college the student must learn to be responsible got theirselves. College is definitely not an extension of high school. Thw student gets out of school what they put into it.

  • 05/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Studious, quiet and active in clubs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They celebrate birthdays of every month.

    What to do for fun

    The student activities board and many other organizations always have something to entertain, educate and inform.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great school if you are looking for a quiet environment to study.

    In three sentences

    University of Pittsburgh at Greensburg is diverse. It is very quite, sometimes too quite which is great for studying. There are fun events to participate in almost everyday.

  • 10/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Ha! What greek life?

    What to do for fun

    Absolutly nothing, it's in Greensburg. Do you like golf? Or student run movie showings? Thats about it.

    Food and Dining

    I love the cafeteria, I'm not gonna lie. All you can eat for seven dollars? I will take that any day.

    Dorm Life

    No wif-fi in your dorms and weird lounges. Also, they have no staff at the door, so that's unsafe.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are mostly boring, and they all let you out early. I have no mid-terms, and barely a final.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get into main, and if you don't, go to Johnstown or Bradford, because here is just awful.

    In three sentences

    Pitt-Greensburg is a boring campus and in the middle of no where. The professors I have are mostly part-time and this is their second job. The entire thing is honestly the most draining experience I've everhad.

  • 12/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Nothing

    Tips for prospective students

    Effff the Police

    In three sentences

    The Campus police are cold hearted people. They think that they're a lot more important then they are. People should spit in their food.

  • 01/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are in fact, real police. That being said, they are not mechanic automatons, they are friendly human beings.

    Clubs and Activities

    From what I have seen and heard, there are many different clubs and activities that are staff and student operated for you to get involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    This place is great if you want a very well rounded education and enjoy a small campus.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is one of the most affordable in the area, and it has the benefit of providing a Pitt level education.

    What to do for fun

    There is plenty to do when you are not in class and many different clubs and organizations that you can get involved in.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria, coffee house, and cafe all have a wide variety of options for students to choose from, although at university prices.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm halls themselves are very nice places to live. My only advice is to make friends with people early so that you do not get stuck with a roommate with whom you don't get along with.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are challenging, but not impossible. If you did well in high school, there is a good chance that you will do well here as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be intimidated. Begin looking for what you want to do after graduation soon and make friends among the professors as this will help later.

    In three sentences

    From what I have experienced, the academics are top notch, as are the professors. The campus is very scenic and very safe, with an on-campus police department. The dorm halls on campus are an interesting and safe place to stay.