Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

University of Pittsburgh-Titusville Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Because you will be living in a small town, there isn't much to do at all. There are no night clubs, or night life here. Occasionally we will go on trips to local stores on the Pitt bus just to get off campus. These trips serve as good bonding experiences.

    Food and Dining

    The food currently given is mediocre at best. It's much like the food they serve in high school and it's not good to eat too much of it at a time because it WILL make you sick. However, they DO have a new dining hall opening up that is newly renovated and will be open in the Spring. I'm looking forward to the change.

    Dorm Life

    I'm in love with my dorm room in Spruce Hall. It's spacious and there are many many situations in which you'll get to know the people in your hall. Every morning, I'm greeted with a GoodMorning by the students that pass and the R.A (Resident Assistant) makes sure that you're taken care of throughout your stay.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at this point are relatively easy. That is, if you study and complete assignments successfully. There is no reason for you to fail any class.

    Tips for prospective students

    FOCUS, being in a small town setting makes it a lot easier for you not to get distracted. Don't stay in your room, however. Getting to know your roommate and classmates may be very beneficial to you.

    In three sentences

    This school puts you in the perfect learning situation. It's quiet, small and the students are friendly. The staff is always willing to help, too.

  • 03/21/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that would like a small school Students that would like to get their core classes out of the way and then transfer to Pitt Main Campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely visit the campus and check it out all the buildings.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a lot cheaper than Main Campus and is definitely worth considering especially because of the fact that you have the option of transferring to Main Campus after just a year or two.

    Will enjoy being here

    I will enjoy the small campus and being able to walk to my classes literally everyday, even if the ground is piled up with 3 feet of snow.

    Will learn a lot

    I know that my learning experience will be greater than if I was to attend a main campus or a larger school because the class sizes will be smaller and I'll be able to gain more one-on-one time with the teachers.

  • 04/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pitt is very well known for their safety, and this campus is no different. All dorms have key cards for access. Safety officers all receive the same training as municipal police officers do and are armed at all times. Call boxes are throughout campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Someone looking for a small college where the faculty and staff know you by name. A mom, dad, or someone in the workforce who needs someplace close to go to school while working. A top notch two-year college that will prepare you to go into the workforce or continue on to a bachelor's degree.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a great value for a public university outside the state system. Tuition is about the lowest around second only to Edinboro. The cheap tuition doesn't at all reflect the quality of the education or experience.

    What to do for fun

    There are many on-campus activities planned. In addition, there is a large state park within a mile of campus. It includes a 20 some mile paved bike trail, miles and miles of hiking trails, a boatable and fishable creek, and enough land to explore to keep one busy for months. In addition, it isn't too far of a drive to go to Erie for some entertainment or night life.

    Food and Dining

    As with the dorm life, I can't comment much. I don't hear so wonderful things about the food. There is currently one place to eat, and it is several blocks away from the upper set of dorms. Food quality is also lacking from what I hear.

    Dorm Life

    I am unable to rate this well since I don't live on campus. I hear others speak highly of it.

    Academic Rigor

    This is a tough school. They tend to only accept the best of the best, especially for their pre-professional programs and nursing and PTA. They are up on their standards and want to not only teach you to be whatever it is you intend to be, but to go beyond to get you through your boards and into a job.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early, especially for more professional programs. Fill out FAFSA and financial aid paperwork on time. Don't be afraid to ask questions and seek out the answers. Get involved in something. You will be miserable if not.

    In three sentences

    Pitt Titusville is a very small, close-knit campus. Professors and staff are top notch. Feels like a two-year school with all the benefits of a four year college.

  • 08/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police are pretty reliable when they need to be and because the campus is located in a fairly small town, its relatively safe. Don't be stupid about your own personal safety though. Small towns still have some crime and you do need to be on your guard at night.

    Greek Life

    I honestly cannot speak on this due to there not being much of a greek life to speak of at UPT due to it being a branch campus and lack of any personal interest in greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    The variety of clubs is small as are sports options. They really have the bare basics of both. If you enjoy being a leader and helping organize a lot of activities for the campus at large and various groups outside of campus, then some of the clubs may be up your alley. You can also try to start your own clubs if you can get enough interested people together. Overall, expect a lot lesser quantity of clubs than in high school.

    Great for these types of students

    Those that want to try something much different from city life and are good at making their own fun will likely like this campus. Aspiring writers and musicians will find a scene that is willing to help them grow and expand their horizons.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The only real unusual place on campus, or near it at least, is Burgess Park right near Ball Hall. Its a very relaxing spot with a small island in a pond when you enter. I recommend going there during a clear night with a full moon. Its beautiful.

    Bang for the buck

    The campus is very nice, if small and they try their best to make sure you get what you paid for in tuition. Its a tad cheaper than the main campus and can be something to think about for the first two years of your schooling. Personally, the academics, experiences you can have and people you can meet are worth the price to me.

    What to do for fun

    Like I said earlier, you kind of have to bring your own fun. The university tries it's best to have a lot of activities available for students to ease the sting of boredom but sometimes it isn't enough. The town is a very relaxing place and does offer a variety of options for those into more nerdy prospects such as magic the gathering and various pen and paper games. The Queen City Cafe is a great place to find out about things to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food quality can......vary to put it lightly. Pasta is a regular staple as is pizza during dinner hours. There is the likelihood of the food being great one day and result in upset stomachs the next. Metz is the provider for food services and if you had them in high school, you can expect a good deal of similarity from them at the college level. My advice is to try cooking some of your meals yourself or go out to eat every now and then.

    Dorm Life

    I can only really speak about the dorm I lived in, Spruce Hall, so this part might be a tad biased. The rooms are a tad on the small side but you can make them roomier with a little creative rearranging. Make sure to bring an Ethernet cord for your computer because there is no wifi to the rooms in either dorm. Weekends can be a little crazy and you do have public bathrooms (with individual shower stalls!) instead of private but its relatively nice once you get used to it.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers expect a good deal from you. The work is a big step up. If you were like me and didn't really need to study much to excel in high school, that will likely change once you come here. Expect several hours of studying for midterms and finals and sometimes just the average test in some classes. D\As long as you don't slack off on outside class readings or any of your homework, you should do just fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to bring lots of entertainment items for your downtime like movies, game systems, sports equipment and so on. Expect some longer classes than what you're used to right now in high school as well as night classes to boot. Also, try to take advantage of sites like amazon and eBay to get your textbooks for a lot cheaper than the campus bookstore will ever offer.

    In three sentences

    The professors I've had in the past year are some of the nicest people I've met, let alone some of the best teachers I have had. The town may be small and lacking in usually staples of moderate sized towns, but it is a nice escape from the normal hustle and bustle of bigger cities. I've enjoyed my experiences there thus far and look forward to, hopefully, returning this fast approaching fall school year.

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's really not that much that you can do. But if you get a group of friends together and onesome has a car, there is plenty to do an hours drive out of town!

    Food and Dining

    My first week here was horrible because of getting used to the food. It doesn't seem like it's put in a refrigerator when no one is using it and will upset your stomach for at least the first week amd a half

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are stantitary and quiet bigger then what i expected. The RA's try to get you all together so you can meet new people all the time!

    Academic Rigor

    The campus being small gives you a good chance to get to know all of your professors. Their one on one time is almost always open for you to stop by.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're picking a college look for the one that will fit you. Think of how well you might fit in and don't be afraid to ask questions while visiting!

    In three sentences

    This is a very small town so as you can image it doesn't have a lot to do. The fact that it's so small gives you a great excuse to get your work done with little distractions. Also the campus is small with around 2000 students so you can know almost everyone.

  • 10/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe with all of the cameras and guards. I feel safe even walking from classes at night.

    Great for these types of students

    Local and small town students, students from big cities tend to have some issues adjusting to the small classrooms.

    What to do for fun

    The are clubs, a gym, computer centers, and other various activities in and around the campus.

    Food and Dining

    They are remodeling the cafe which serves excellent food.

    Dorm Life

    I don't currently have experience with the dorm life but it seems very average.

    Academic Rigor

    There are many resources and some programs are very strict about grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get a tour of the campus and all the different buildings, there are classrooms in unexpected places.

    In three sentences

    It's just the right size for me, not to big like the main campus but not so small that the teachers concentrate on every move I make. It's warm and welcoming, giving it a wonderful working environment. There are many resources available at very convenient hours.

  • 10/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus, but from what I have heard everyone helps each other out.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on the class as to how hard it is, but your always learning in each class.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your willing to ask for help a professor will help you to the best of their ability.

    In three sentences

    It may be a small campus, but there is definitely a lot to learn. The teachers are very friendly and helpful. Lastly, the more experienced students are always willing to help out freshman.

  • 11/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is nice and friendly and helpful. They will escort students to dorm halls or drive them to the hospital. They will help in emergency situations.

    Greek Life

    One for students with high academics

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Government Commuter Student Association Black Student Union Alpha Omega Basketball team Cheerleading

    Great for these types of students

    That want a small campus, in a little town, with little class sizes and barely no distractions.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Ball Hall and Townhouses are located a block away from campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Great school! Nice little town. You can make tons of friends.

    What to do for fun

    Student affairs brings in entertainment and takes us on bus trips to Erie.

    Food and Dining

    It's nothing like mom's cooking, but it's better than high school meals. Boomer's Cafe is pretty awesome. They are expanding it so it will be bigger and better.

    Dorm Life

    The RA's and GRD's on campus are awesome!! The dorms are nice. Spruce is the party place and Ball is mostly quiet. Both are nice. Townhouses for nursing students are pretty awesome. They're like living in condos.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes are challenging enough, however there are some easy A courses. Freshman seminar seems like a pointless class at times.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't procrastinate in any of your classes. If you need help go talk to your teachers. The learning center is there for a reason, use it when you need too. Visit the counseling center and speak to Molly Wagner she is very helpful. Get involved in some of the campus activities and make friends. Don't be afraid to ask older students to tutor you. They will. Don't slack off in freshman seminar just do the assignments, it's an easy A. Medical Terminology is a dry and boring course, so study hard if you have to take it. If you don't then avoid it at all costs. The teacher is ridiculous.

    In three sentences

    The class sizes are small and manageable for teachers. The teachers know all their students by name and are there to help them on individual basis if needed. There are many opportunities for students to get help from the counseling center, tutors, teachers, and the learning center.

  • 05/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There can be barbecues at the park with classmates,professors of friends. Almost every Saturday the school takes you roller skating. Every other Thursday the school also takes you bowling.

    Tips for prospective students

    In order to keep up with your work always read the textbook or material before the class and after the class. you will never know when you have a pop quiz or surprise test. if this happens you will always be ready.

    In three sentences

    The campus is small so you can get to know your professor and you can also go to them for individual help. You will not be known as an number like on bigger campuses.

  • 05/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Yeah, they're okay.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Basketball

    Great for these types of students

    Students who don't like to party.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The lobby.

    Bang for the buck

    You can work in the cafe.

    What to do for fun

    I chill with my friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good in the beginning, but after a while they start making the same things.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are okay, they need to be cleaned a little better.

    Academic Rigor

    They're pretty tough, depending on what classes you take and what professors you have.

    Tips for prospective students

    Save your money, they weren't lying when they when they college students are broke.

    In three sentences

    I enjoy the Titusville campus, its small and thats what I like about it. I feel like I have better access to my teachers. Also the people I have met so far have been wonderful,

  • 09/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's plenty of activities on and off campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Show up for class and study.

    In three sentences

    I think this school is great. The teachers are always available for help. The classes are small and the campus is nice.

  • 11/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The activities offered Cheerleading

    Tips for prospective students

    Drama is stupid, do your thing and don't get yourself into drama. Talk to people, don't be shy. If you don't understand something, get help!

    In three sentences

    It isn't bad at all here. I love my teachers, my classes, and my schedule. The only thing I don't really like is dorm life, but everyone is different.

  • 01/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Enjoy the company of your classmates since there isn't much to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard, stay away from the drama.

    In three sentences

    Small, secluded, boring.

  • 01/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are looking for a quiet campus and want to really work on their studies

    In three sentences

    In three sentences UPT would have to be the quietest, most interesting place i have been at. The campus is really what you make it, it can be a very boring experience or one of the best times you've ever had.