Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

University of Pittsburgh at Johnstown Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/18/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Pitt-Johnstown is great for students who come from a small town or city. Students who attend UPJ from a big city get bored sometimes. There is a lot to do around Johnstown, but just not as much as a big city. It is also great for students who are out-going and want to make friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't just sit around your dorm room and watch television or play video games! To get the full college experience, join a club or organization. It is a great way to make friends, and without friends college can be a miserable time. Get your school work done first then have fun; make friends!

    Bang for the buck

    Since Pitt-Johnstown is a public school, it is a lot cheaper than private schools that can offer the same education. However, with the Pitt name, it is a little more expensive than other public schools here in Pennsylvania. There are a few costly things that are a little outrageous. For example, parking permits, meal plans, and laundry. Shouldn't laundry be free at every school? Although there are some things that are pricey, the education and experience you can receive at The University of Pittsburgh at Johnstown is worth every penny.

    Am enjoying being here

    First of all, the campus is beautiful! It is set up on a hill and surrounded by trees, yet only a few minutes from many stores, restaurants, and etc.. There are many clubs and organizations that make an effort to get students involved on campus to make their college experience better. From the few clubs/organizations I joined my first year, I have made a few really good friends. The campus is also a very safe environment. If there is any type of threat or anything, even minor, the campus police send out emergency alerts to students via e-mail, text messages, and phone calls. The University of Pittsburgh at Johnstown is not only a good school for education, it is also a great place to put yourself out there and make friends that will last a lifetime.

    Am learning a lot

    From my first year of experience, all of my professors tried their hardest to help their students understand the material. Many, if not all, of the professors have after class hours for students who need extra help. As long as you do the work required of you, you should walk away from each class with an understanding of the material.

  • 01/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The cops are friendly and are constantly moving around. If the emergency button is pressed they are quickly on scene. They deserve much respect. (p.s. our campus is very quiet. not many issues.)

    Greek Life

    There is Greek Life on campus, however I do not know how many of each Fraternity/Sorority there are.

    Clubs and Activities

    Previously explained, but once again GET INVOLVED WITH CLUBS!!! The are worth your time, and I promise you will not regret your choices.

    Great for these types of students

    Become involved with clubs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    To the lack of many students knowledge, there is a old cemetery back behind the school, beyond the sports fields, down a bike trail among the many acres for you to explore.

    Bang for the buck

    The level of help and effective teaching from the professors is an immediate quality that you will not find in larger schools. The food is quality (not jail-like) food, and the school offers many free trips to different cities and a spring concert.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs, I am involved with 3 clubs currently. I would have been involved with more clubs if I had the time. Also, the school has Greek Life which many kids become involved with.

    Food and Dining

    This is a tricky one because I usually make my own food at school, but our school does offer a few great places to eat other than the main cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorm rooms may be a tight squeeze, but the ski-lodge-like dorm promotes strong social interaction.

    Academic Rigor

    It is not that the academics are strict or necessarily hard, but the professors are very thorough with their lessons, and if you are unable to understand a concept the professors will sit with you one on one to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check the campus out for sure, and ask questions to your tour guides and the advisers you meet with. Look up all the clubs that are offered, you will meet your good friends there.

    In three sentences

    UPJ is a growing college that is continuously expanding among the many acres owned. Huge variety of clubs that make the college experience enjoyable. If I could choose any school to attend, I would not have changed my mind.

  • 12/02/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Do your homework, Ask Questions, Study hard, Take good notes, Don't procrastinate.

    Bang for the buck

    For Being a Part of the University of Pittsburgh, UPJ is actually quite cheap. I'm not taking as many loans out as I expected to.

    Am enjoying being here

    Their are many clubs for you to join. RA's have lots of programs for students to attend. I've attended about 6 programs and they're all enjoyable and worth the time. You can always find something to do, or you could just relax in the dorms. Most kids hang out in the game room where there's Guitar Hero, DDR, and the famous Ping Pong. It's a good time. Love the campus.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors give you their office hours and they encourage you to ask as many questions as you need. They're all here to help you. Most of my professors always start class by asking If anyone has any questions. I'm learning a lot more than I expected to in my first Semester.

  • 04/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This campus is great for: students who want to major in some type of engineering (UPJ is known for having a great engineering program), nature lovers, those who would like to escape to a small city, savvy savers

    Tips for prospective students

    If you decide to major in something other than engineering, you, more than likely, will need to take extra classes in order to reach your needed amount of credits to graduate. Because of this, I definitely would suggest making this work in your favor. Count classes you use for general education classes toward classes for minors. Also, some professors will offer you extra credit for attending club events. Just join the clubs! They usually do not meet often, yet you still get to add them to your resume!

    Bang for the buck

    This is definitely one of the cheaper campuses to attend in the U.S. The tuition is a great amount cheaper than that of the main campus. However, I did subtract a star from my rating, because U.S. schools are all far too expensive!

    Am enjoying being here

    Unfortunately, there is a downside to this campus. It is in a rather small town that has very little to keep you busy in your free time. However, there is a shopping plaza, a movie theater, and a few restaurants near the campus, since it is in the busiest part of town. Nonetheless, if you are someone who enjoys being one with nature, this is a great place to be! The campus is surrounded by trees and pathways that cut through wooded areas.

    Am learning a lot

    The academics at University of Pittsburgh at Johnstown are outstanding! Originally, I thought that a campus in a smaller city would end up showing a rather mediocre learning environment. However, the professors are great and very knowledgeable!

  • 06/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The engineering program at pitt-johnstown is great for engineering majors. so is the Biology department, as well as the Education department. As well as the rest of the majors.

    Tips for prospective students

    . don't be afraid to be yourself people will like you for you. . Make some freinds .Studying in a group or at least with one other person is very benefical .take down good notes and make sure you rewrite them .your teacher's office hours are there for a reason. Don't be afraid go in and talk to them. They love that and get help extra help while your at it . get more points than food credit because the food in the cafeteria becomes overwhelming at times . make sure you get an ethernet cord, and a cable cord as well . desk lamps are must . have fun and enjoy your year they go by fast.

    Bang for the buck

    The University of Pittsburgh at Johnstown is a reasonable school to attend for a great education and for the price. Tution is very affordable.

    Am enjoying being here

    My school that I attend the University of Pittsburgh at Johnstown overall, is a great school. This term coming up I will be a sophomore. Before, I stated as a freshman I was so excited to be going to college. It was another step in my life a big step. I was happy for it. When I began school I was of course nervous about classed and how they were going to go, If I was going to go well and if I'd make any freinds. Turns out that classes are going along and I will only look up from here. I do appreciated everything that I am learning and I have amazinf friends. The bottom line is that while I wa gaining my new experiences I met some incredible people along the way. I have great friends that will be for a lifetime. I got to know some great teachers that love what they do, and challege to make your learning experience worthwhile. I met the president of the university who turns out to be a pretty decent, understanding, and all around nice man. I often think back and ask myself if it had not been Pitt-Johnstown. Would I have had such a great experience some place else? In the the beginnig, middle, and end I realized that college is difficult at times; however, it becomes manageable when you have people around you that care for you and about you and want all to go well for you and so they try just as hard with you. This is what I have gained all in my first year of college and I am looking foward to more experiences.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learnig a lot as a student and I know that I still have yet to go. I have made some mistakes, but I have learned from them. When I was a freshman just last term in my first sememter. I had the major of bilogly because I wanted to become a vet. I slowly realized that I was not where I wanted to be in that major. My grades were slipping, and I started to realize that maybe the major of biology was not for me. I began to ask my teacher's to help me with what I should do, and that is what happend I recieve further knowlege of how to fix this problem I was having. Through that I learned that you must make realistic goals and learn that if something is not how you planned it. It is okay to try and make it so that they do. That or it is time to make new goals. Goals that are realistic. So now, I am majoring in education. Early-childhood education to be specific. I feel that this is where I am supposed to be . Probably where I should have be all along. So as I mentioned before I made some mistakes but I learned from them by seeking extra guidence. That extra guidence helped me a lot and I am glad.

  • 09/25/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    -athletes that are not continuing sports into college Honestly, this college is a fit for everyone

    Tips for prospective students

    - try to get involved with different organizations when you are a freshman. -don't try to be something or someone you are not. We will accept you no matter what, just be yourself -come to college with an open attitude. There are a lot of ideas and thoughts out there about college and how bad or how good it is. Do not come in to college with a set idea of what it will be like. College is a time to form yourself for the rest of your life.

    Bang for the buck

    This school by far is worth the money. No other college in Pennsylvania can offer you the things that Pitt-johnstown has for the same price. The price might look steep, but when comparing it to what is offered and to other schools Pitt-Johnstown is the best fit.

    Am enjoying being here

    I live on campus and let me tell you there is a vast improvement things here since my freshman year. The atmosphere is one of friendliness.

    Am learning a lot

    It doesn't matter what major you are in. From engineering the whole way to business, Pitt-Johnstown makes sure that you enter the world as a well-rounded person

  • 01/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never heard of any safety issues on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a variety of different clubs and sports to join on campus. They are all listed on the website with contacts so that it is easy for students to get involved.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want a small, family like environment.

    Bang for the buck

    Good tuition prices.

    Food and Dining

    I have only eaten on campus a handful of times but there are a lot of options in addition to the dining hall and the food I tasted was pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus so I have no reference for this.

    Academic Rigor

    There is not a big class selection, being that it is a smaller school, but overall the classes aren't that bad. I don't find the work too extensive or the classes too engaging though.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would definitely recommend visiting this, or any school you are considering. It is important to visit to see if you believe it is a fit for you.

    In three sentences

    UPJ is a nice, small campus. Everything is easy to find and the students and professors are all very friendly. I have had some issues with different offices, being a transfer student, but overall everyone is fairly helpful.

  • 01/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    UPJ is totally worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of different groups you can join and different sororities and fraternities.

    Food and Dining

    There is this place called the Tuck Shop and there is a subway and a pizza hut there! The dining hall is not bad at all, there is always something different to eat everyday.

    Dorm Life

    I live in Laurel and I love this hall and my RA's and my RD. It is a fun place and you meet a lot of people!

    Academic Rigor

    Whatever classes you take, you are guaranteed to learn something.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a school that does not have too many students and the campus is somewhat small, then choose UPJ!

    In three sentences

    UPJ is a great college. There are many programs to join to stay interactive. I love it here.

  • 03/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is always safe and comforting to be able to walk across campus at night or any time. students even volunteer their time to escort students if they need the assistance

    Clubs and Activities

    upj offers countless clubs and activities and anyone that attends is sure to find one that it just the right fit for themselves

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    homecoming weekend is a great time for friends and family, along with sporting events. it allows the campus to come together greet each other and make new and lasting friendships

    Bang for the buck

    the school is defintely worth it the willingness of most teachers truly allows you to succeed

    What to do for fun

    johnstown has a few great things to offer such as a mall just 5 minutes away. however on campus there is always things going on from concerts to clubs to sporting events.

    Food and Dining

    the campus offers many different places to eat open at all hours you can imagine. different varities are offered and never allow you to be bored with the food.

    Dorm Life

    you truly become close with everyone in your dorm. everyone on campus is so nice and so helpful is you ever need anything. the campus really allows you to make your room as comfortable for you as possible.

    Academic Rigor

    the university provides many challenging courses that certainly help you reach your goals. they offer many tutoring sessions and provide one on one tutors if requested.

    Tips for prospective students

    visit the campus and as many others as possible. look into all the amazing things the campus has to offer, and see if it's the perfect fit for you

    In three sentences

    the university provides amazing opportunities for students to reach their goals. professors are willing to help you reach and achieve all your asperations. i am very happy with my decision to come here.

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police have shifts slatted for 24hrs a day. We have RSAs who are students that walk around campus checking that everything is okay and provide escort services for those students who do not want to walk alone at night around campus. There are emergency lights and phones located all around campus. Also, each residential area has a housing staff that is on duty each night and is available to students when they need anything.

    Greek Life

    I'm not involved in greek life so I cannot share much information.

    Great for these types of students

    I feel like UPJ is a great place for any student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a rock outside the student union that different organizations paint messages on. There is a graveyard on campus's property that a lot of students visit near Halloween. During orientation, the first year students have an opportunity to participate in the First Year Track Meet, an event that has componets of an actual track meet as well as other fun picnic type events.

    What to do for fun

    Attend you're housing staffs programs in the hall: they're close by, fun and free. Programming board has activities that are funded by the students activities fee so there is no charge when you attend(expect for concerts but students get a discount). If you join an organization, there is always plenty to do with them. You can also do intramural sports. Richland township also has a mall, movie theater, 2 bowling alleys and a bunch of restaurants.

    Food and Dining

    The University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown uses a company called Sudexo, sometimes the food in the cafe isn't the greatest but you defiantly can make due. If not there's always the Tuck Shop, Mountain Cat Club and

    Dorm Life

    The residential halls at UPJ are great. There is no floor bathrooms in any of the halls. The housing staff provides a ton of awesome programs for residents to attend within the hall.

    Academic Rigor

    As a business major, I have had many courses where I wasn't just learning from a textbook. My professors have assigned projects that are similar, if not exactly what I would be doing in a real world career.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you get your personality profile for housing, be sure to answer it honestly, it's how they match you to your roommate. Keep an open mind, the people and classes with be different than what you're use to from high school. Be outgoing: attend hall events, join clubs and talk to your neighbors and classmates. If you are struggling in a class take advantage of the academic support on campus: professor's office hours, tutoring sessions and supplemental instruction sessions. If you're a business major, take Dr. McGrath.

    In three sentences

    The University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown is perfect for someone who wants a small-school feel without feeling like you're still in high school. The campus is absolutely beautiful, full of trees that change into gorgeous colors in autumn. I feel confident I will be graduating with a strong academic background.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You can contact campus police at any time if you feel uncomfortable or afraid, but they don't always run to get there. I haven't had any personal issues with the safety though.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs on campus and you can start your own (with approval) if they don't have a club you want.

    Bang for the buck

    Besides the clubs, there isn't all that much to do on campus, so I was a little disappointed with that aspect. But if you're more concerned with if you're getting the education you're paying for, I'd say you definitely get your money's worth.

    What to do for fun

    I joined clubs right from the start to make friends. I joined some academic clubs and some for fun like Dance Ensemble and Habitat for Humanity. They keep you pretty busy so you'll never be bored.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is buffet style and I think it's pretty good food, but if you don't want that, there are other places on campus where you use points to pick up things like subway or something from their own cafe.

    Dorm Life

    They're all co-ed so it makes for a pretty interesting time. The only complaint I have is that the walls are paper thin. We could hear what our neighbors were doing all the time. All the freshmen rooms are suite styled though so it's pretty nice.

    Academic Rigor

    The majority of my classes are pretty hard, and some even require studying for hours every night. With that being said, the teachers will help you understand anything you have trouble with, and if they don't, there's always tutors available in the Academic Success Center.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to talk to your teachers! The classes are small to begin with, and if you talk to your teachers too, they'll know you by name quickly. And make sure you join groups on campus! It's the easiest way to make friends!

    In three sentences

    I really enjoy Pitt-Johnstown. It's small and pretty quiet, but it gives a lot of opportunities for students to be known on campus. All in all, I like it so much that I plan to graduate from this branch campus.

  • 06/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The Galleria Mall is within 2 miles of the university! They always have great sales!

    Food and Dining

    There are great places to eat on and off campus!

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus but the dorms I have seen were very nice! I have never heard any complaints!

    Academic Rigor

    Professors challenge you are are very willing for you to learn!

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard and never lose your motivation!

    In three sentences

    I have had an absolutely wonderful experience here at Pitt Johnstown. The staff, students, and facility provides a great learning experience! i am proud to be a student here and will also be a proud alumni!

  • 08/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I dont live on campus but when I am around, I am generally in the new Health and wellness Center, which has top of the line weights and workout equipment. I also go to the game room on occasion and work my magic on the ping pong table.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont be afraid to go and ask the professors for help or advice. Every professor ive had the pleasure of meeting here generally has an open door policy and will help with any kind of situation/obstacle that is hindering your path

    In three sentences

    Overall, UPJ is a very prestigious college to attend. The quality of the professors allows students to really grow intellectually, but the smaller classroom size allows more one-on-one time if needed. I would gigve UPJ a 9 out of 10 for the overall atmosphere and quality education that a student can receive by going here.

  • 10/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I like going to the frats on the weekends, there is so many clubs to get involved in. Theres always something to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty much the same, not much choices, but its alot better than highschool cafe food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are really small, but the hall is beautiful.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on what your major is depends on the work. They want you to do well here so the professors help you as much as they can.

    Tips for prospective students

    Its alot different than highschool be prepared for alot more work, but dont forget to have fun on the side. Its a great experience and dont take it for granted.

    In three sentences

    University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown is a great small school. Lots of one on one with the professors and they encourgage you to do well. Best choice I made.

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Recently there were some incidents that took place. But the police and security took care of it right away.

    Greek Life

    The Greeks are very involved. About 30% of the students are greek. They have some of the highest GPA scores. Sororities: Alpha Gamma Delta, Kappa Zeta, Phi Sigma Sigma, Alpha Sigma Alpha Fraternities: Sigma Tau Gamma, Kappa Delta Rho, Delta Sigma Chi, Delta Chi, Acacia

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Government UPJ Dance Ensemble Greek Life Concrete Canoe Steel Bridge Black Action Society Programming Board Drama Club Writing Club

    Great for these types of students

    Those who enjoy skiing, snowboarding, or camping would enjoy the campus because it gives you the feeling that you're at a ski lodge.

    What to do for fun

    UPJ Dance Ensemble Greek Life Programming Board Movies and activities on weekends Bowling

    Tips for prospective students

    This school has a very good engineering program. There are many activities for students to get involved in. The professors are very helpful and cooroperative.

    In three sentences

    My school gives me the feeling of home. Everyone there are very helpful and welcoming. There is always something for you to do and if you can't find anything then there is a problem.

  • 01/14/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    16 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join Greek Life

    Tips for prospective students

    Join as many clubs and organizations as you can to meet more people.

    In three sentences

    This school was a great choice for my personality. This campus has a beautiful environment no matter the season and the entire university staff are incredibly helpful no matter the problem. Lastly this school offers an array of majors all of which will land you a job in the future.

  • 01/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Theres many sororities and fraternities to join.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes are smaller so teachers learn who you are fast.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the movies, shopping & the mall, tons of restaurants and hang out on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pick the best major for yourself and really love it.

    In three sentences

    It's a nice quiet campus and it's not to large. I've had nice experiences with all of my classes so far. All of the staff is willing to help if you have any questions.

  • 01/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is taken very seriously. There has been a few incidents, but they were taken care of quickly.

    What to do for fun

    The campus has bus trip usually once a month that are free for students. Personally, I have gone to Maryland and New York city already, and each time it was free. They are on the weekend, so it doesn't affect schooling. Also, there is a game room where there is guitar hero, racing, ping pong, pool, and air hockey for free.

    Food and Dining

    The food here could be better, but the cafe has good and bad days. There is never a time where you can not find something to eat.

    Dorm Life

    There is a very nice community aspect in the dorms. I know everyone in my dorm, and anytime I need help with something there is always someone there to help you out. Plus, laundry is FREE!

    Academic Rigor

    Teacher's are definitely more harsh, but if you pay attention and do work then you will be golden.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely tour the campus to get a feel for how the campus is set up. Visit an Admission Advisor for any questions you may have about the school. Also, come see how us Mountain Cats work.

    In three sentences

    I believe this is the perfect campus for students who are transitioning from high school to college. I campus is small, and you make tons of new friends. The supplemental instruction offered here is very helpful especially for beginning freshman.

  • 02/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a close by movie theater that one can walk to, although it is a decent hike. There is also a moderately sized mall within minutes (driving). Other than those options, however, one must fill their time with the on campus clubs and activities.

    Food and Dining

    Sodexo provides all of the on campus food. There are two primary dining halls, one in the student union, the other in the largest housing facility, a cafe, and the Tuck Shop which provides convenient access to quick meals. The dining halls change the food each day providing sufficient variety that it does not get old.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms share a bathroom with one neighboring room. They are a somewhat average size with a provided refrigerator and microwave. The RA's often hold activities in the lobby, which gives access to a big screen TV. In each of the dorm buildings there is an activity room with access to exercise equipment and free washing machines and dryers. Overall it is everything I expected and I feel no reason to detract any points in this category.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor of UPJ varies greatly between classes. My experience so far, that of a 2nd semester freshman, is that the math and science professors push you to work as hard as you need to in order to learn the material. My history class and English class, however, were provided a minimum level of difficulty.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for the cold, dreary Johnstown weather. Although it would appear that there is little to do on campus- look deeper- clubs and intercurriculars are always looking for new members. Make sure to talk to your professors if you need assistance in class in addition to applying for the free, on campus tutors.

    In three sentences

    My attendance here at the University of Pittsburgh at Johnstown has overall been very positive. My professors have excelled at presenting the information, and the campus is compact yet roomy. There are very strong academic support opportunities such as tutoring and the professors are often available outside of their office hours.

  • 03/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Nearby activities such as the Galleria Mall, many food places, and Richland Cinemas. Group and club activities are always being held in different buildings. Some dorms offer different activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join groups and clubs. Go to your professor's office hours for assisted help. Live on campus for a much greater experience.

    In three sentences

    UPJ is an excellent school for one-on-one time with professors and students due to small class sizes. This school provides a wide variety of learning with many interactive and hands-on courses. Class sizes are very small not only to keep everyone in the class interacted, but friendships are more easily made.

  • 06/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I am a cheerleader for Pitt-Johnstown and I can say that it helped me a lot. Joining clubs and putting yourself out there can make your college experience that much better. You will meet people with the same interests as you and some potentially great life-long friends!

    What to do for fun

    There is never a dull moment on campus. There are movie nights and club activities and just so many things you can do for fun. Once you meet some people, the fun just comes naturally.

    Food and Dining

    Although the food in the cafeteria may not be the best, there is always a lot to choose from. There are so many different choices when you walk into the student union. There is something for each person's liking.

    Dorm Life

    You will meet some of your best friends in the dorms. You will do so many activities and fun things with your dorm that it is almost impossible not to make friends. They are great about making the dorm life fun!

    Academic Rigor

    Although the classes are challenging, the professors make sure it can be done. They set you up with drop-in tutoring and extra help from students of that major. There is always a way to get help with things when needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try new things. Pitt-Johnstown has so much to offer with clubs and activities. Joining these and putting yourself out there is a great experience when you are first starting out.

    In three sentences

    Pitt-Johnstown is a beautiful, remote college that makes you feel welcome. Your first days it seems as if you have been there forever. The faculty and the location really make the school a great place to be.

  • 07/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety of the campus is one of UPJ's top five priorities. The police ensure that illegal drug and alcohol use is prevented. The campus police also not completely horrible people, and they also try not to treat their perpetrator as criminal but someone who needs help.

    Clubs and Activities

    UPJ provides a vast variety of clubs and activities for the student body to enjoy. They even have clubs you would not expect to exist such as an Anime Club and a club involving Dungeons and Dragons. Whether you are studying to be an engineer or a teacher, everyone's hobbies will linger on the campus to help them relax and make friends.

    What to do for fun

    What I normally do is take a walk around the campus if it is a nice day. However should it rain or snow my dorm room keeps me occupied for roleplaying or surfing the internet. I also do plenty of extracurricular activities such as the History Club and Theatre Department.

    Food and Dining

    UPJ provides a vast variety of cuisine to its student body. Also the cafeteria is conveniently located so that it is easy to get to, Whether it's grill food, international food, or a salad bar; my school ensures I do not go hungry.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are adequate for good living and recreation. Now some of the dorms are not completely likable to some, but it mostly depends on which dorm you live in. For instance, the freshman dorms are not as up to date as other dorms; specifically heating/cooling system and getting Wi-Fi in a room.

    Academic Rigor

    My school strives for academic success despite its branch setting. The faculty provides tutoring programs and successions with a professor to help maintain or bring up ones' GPA. These programs were very useful to me for my math classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always be prepared for whatever the teacher gives you. Never assume you will not find a friend up there. Finally, keep up the optimism no matter what happens.

    In three sentences

    The University of Pittsburgh at Johnstown (UPJ) is a great environment for me. The people who work there are caring and welcoming to newcomers.The classrooms are very interactive and not to large make you feel like a spot on a white floor.

  • 07/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is pretty generic just like any other college campus. They offer many choices; however, the dining hall hours can be pretty inconvenient at times. The food grows tiresome and repetitive as each semester passes.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are fine, in my opinion. There are activities held around campus. Also, there is a gym, indoor track and pool, and rock wall in the fitness center. There are not many things to do around the campus in the local area, however. There is a mall close by, as well as movie theater and shopping plaza.

    Academic Rigor

    This campus offers a great education for those willing to take advantage of it. Like any other college, you have to work hard to obtain the information provided in each class. Opportunities, such as tutoring and TA classes, are available to all students who seek it. Also, most of the professors make themselves very available for students who think they need help.

  • 10/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a movie theater down the way, as well as the mall.

    Food and Dining

    As stated earlier, you will spend most of your dining time at the tuck shop, where in there is a subway, pizza-hut, and other eateries. The food is prepared by the catering company Sodexo. Food tends to be overcooked but still edible and enjoyable.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are slightly smaller than one would expect, but comfortably houses two residents. The halls are co-ed, you will room with and be suite mates with people of your gender. Most days are pretty quiet and there are quiet hours which the RA's and RD will enforce.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not extremely difficult, but they can become burdensome at times, especially during finals week and around mid-terms.

    Tips for prospective students

    When signing up for a meal plan be sure to go for one that is more point heavy, as most students tend to get food from the tuck shop and sparingly use their cafeteria points.

    In three sentences

    The University of Pittsburgh at Johnstown has a very beautiful wooded environment. There are many opportunities for those attending. There are various areas of study, and the staff is not only friendly but very well rounded as well.

  • 12/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is okay, nothing too great. But what cafeteria food is? The tuck shops has more variety, with a subway, a grill, a taco/burrito grill, Pizza Hut, and a mini panera, so if you get sick of the cafe food you can go to one of those places.

    Dorm Life

    I'm currently living in one of the five freshmen dorm buildings this year. The rooms are just a typical size, and between two rooms is a bathroom. The overall experience of the dorm life it great. The floors are co-ed which is nice because there are different people to interact with rather just having same-sex floors.

    Academic Rigor

    So far this year, my classes have been challenging. But I don't mind the challenge that much. The campus has several different academic resources that students can resort to when they need extra help with a class, so if you're having trouble there's always someone there to help you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that wherever you decide to go that you just make the best of your experience. It can be hard your first year being away from home and making new friends, but if you get involved with your campus you'll find college to be a great experience in no time. But just remember, academics comes first.

    In three sentences

    In my first weeks of studying at Pitt-Johnstown, I felt comfortable with my schedule and making my way around campus. The campus is smaller than Pitt-Main, but I love how you can recognize faces and everyone gets to know each other quickly. Overall, the professors are friendly and get to know you by name, making this a great place to start out at if you're looking to start at a branch campus.

  • 01/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are pretty apt. There should be more AEDs on campus, but they're working on that.

    Great for these types of students

    It's a small college that's not very sports-oriented or school spirited. High commuter population, so at times it feels like a community college. So someone who is okay with a laid-back community and wants to focus on studies without too many distractions.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It used to be a ski resort, and students have been trying to get the slopes reopened, but no luck thus far. Wish us luck.

    Bang for the buck

    You get a Pitt degree for a lot less than Main.

    What to do for fun

    Not much. It's not a renown party school, but let's say alcohol is prevalent as entertainment. If you try, you can find things to do, but it really relies on your friends. Students travel to Pitt Main's football games in fan buses.

    Food and Dining

    Decent enough. It's cafeteria food; it's not going to be spectacular. But they do mix the main food line up, and always have pizza and burgers in case you don't like main line food. The little shops are good enough (including Subway and Pizza Hut), but overpriced.

    Dorm Life

    I've only lived in freshmen dorms, but they're good. All the rooms are suite style and hallways are mixed gender, so it's pretty nice. They come with microwaves and fridges already, so that's a plus. Thin walls though, so bring earplugs if you're sensitive to noise.

    Academic Rigor

    It varies widely among professors. Try to talk to upperclassmen before selecting classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring warm clothing and shoes that won't be ruined by salt. Apply for tutoring as soon as you think you might need extra help. The administrative offices are pretty useless, but professors are usually pretty happy to help you navigate them.

    In three sentences

    Overall, it's a pretty decent school. There are certainly annoying things about it, but no school is perfect. It's a good stepping-stone for Pitt Main, or to get the Pitt degree.

  • 03/06/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    27 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt unsafe on this campus.

    Greek Life

    I was a member of Greek life and loved it! The fraternities and sororities are small, so you know all of your sisters/brothers. Greek life is a ton of fun too with events like Greek week which is a week of sororities and fraternities competing in intramural games. There are open parties and people who will become your best friends. Students who think Greek life is nothing but partying, however, will be disappointed. Each fraternity and sorority participates in their own philanthropies and activities. There are a lot of opportunities to work with local charities and to take leadership roles. My experience with a leadership role in my sorority actually landed me an internship at State Farm. Greek life also requires you to maintain a certain GPA which varies for each organization.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs on campus! Activities are somewhat less.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who wish to do other things while getting a degree. It is possible to maintain a job and have a social life while also getting good grades.

    What to do for fun

    Join Greek life or play a sport! Not much else goes on around there.

    Food and Dining

    Pretty standard cafeteria food.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman dorms SUCK! There are tons of plumbing problems and our room even had mice. Upper class dorms are somewhat nicer. The lodges in north campus recently got redone and are very clean/comfortable. The south lodges, however, are falling apart, have mold, mice, bugs, you name it. I suggest living off campus when you are able to.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are involved. There are more projects and hands on activities than there would be at a larger school. I had at least 3 hours of homework each night as a business major. The work is not so much difficult as it is tedious though.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you wish to have any social life on this small campus, your two choices are basically to play a sport or join a fraternity/sorority. If you hated high school, don't attend this school, because it's high school all over again. Being a very small school, everyone knows each other and each others' business. Also, I hope you like winter weather, because Johnstown sees a ton of it!

    In three sentences

    A small school with lots of hands on opportunities. Professors know each student by name and most wish to see their students succeed.