Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

University of Puget Sound Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    UPS is great for laid back and open minded students who have a fierce desire to get the best education.

    Tips for prospective students

    My first tip for a prospective student is to not enroll here with preconceived notions of college life. What you read about and see on TV or witness during other college visits is not what happens here. University of Puget Sound is a one of a kind place where everyone is accepted and embraced for exactly who they are. Every single student here is exceptionally smart and the academics are competitive, it is impossible to be the best so just be you.

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive. Yes tuition here is incredibly high, but I feel that it is worth every single penny. I receive a very solid education from the professors I pay so much for. The tuition also allows for free tutors in every possible subject and more available office hours than you know what to do with. It is a great comfort to know that the help is always there if you need it (even at 11pm the night before a project is due). While it does become a bit stressful figuring out how to make ends meet right now, I know that now and in the future I will be thankful for this top notch education.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus and student body are small at UPS and this allows for a close knit community and almost family atmosphere. I personally love everything about this campus and the friendly disposition that everyone seems to have. I always feel welcomed and at home when on campus, something I feel is very important to the college experience. I'm entering my Junior year and I have no desire to go anywhere else.

    Am learning a lot

    In my Freshman year I learned the hard way that High School study habits don't make the cut here and I am better for it. UPS makes you work hard for what you want to achieve, but the professors also know how to make it interesting. I was worried that college courses would be straight lecture then hours upon hours of studying later, but here it is a very cooperative learning process. There is a lot of class discussion and plenty of office hours to further talk things over with your professor. I never thought I'd be able to learn so much so quickly.

  • 04/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Relaxed students

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit Puget Sound! You won't know what it will be like to be here until you are here.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, it's very expensive. But your money goes not only to great professors, but other programs as well (such as Student Government, tutoring services, excellent facilities, etc.).

    Am enjoying being here

    I have found a place for myself here, within my major and Greek life. There are many groups and clubs to get involved with, so finding a smaller group of people who share a common interest is not hard.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a lot while here, and I enjoy my classes and my department. But, like any college, you will only get as much as you put in, so the harder you work the more you will learn. Sometimes how much you learn depends on the Professor, so ask upperclassmen during orientation, or upperclassmen in your major for their recommendations

  • 03/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i feel completely safe walking around campus at night, however there have been countless robberies in dorms and off-campus houses and tacoma has somewhat of a bad rep once you get a few blocks away.

    Greek Life

    there are 4 fraternities and 4 sororities. the process is different than other schools in that students can only join after their second semester of freshman year. until then, freshman are not allowed in either the frats or sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    personally, i've participated in varsity volleyball, repertory dance group (never danced before), luau, s.a.a.c (student athletics and academics committee), sailing team, cooking club, and have been published in crosscurrents (student literary magazine).

    Great for these types of students

    student who love to learn, who love the outdoors, who are willing to work hard, who like seeing familiar faces, who are adventurous, who don't complain about the weather, and who are creative.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    some sayings are tacoma aroma when the manufacturing mills give off a weird smell, tacoma goggles when students lower their standards for potential mates, t-loc aka tacoma local, and hipsters

    Bang for the buck

    university of puget sound is expensive unless you get scholarships, which the school works hard to give. it worth every penny.

    What to do for fun

    take a ferry to vashon island, go sailing, rent snow shoes, bike the five mile loop in point defiance, drink coffee at an artsy cafe, participate in the repertory dance group, join puget sound outdoors or cooking club, watch a local band, watch a famous band, watch a street performer, go to the farmer's market, walk along the water front, eat fresh fish, pick blueberries, bring a t-shirt to the wayzgoose printmaking event, camp at vantage, sell something at the student market, watch a $1 campus movie, watch the banff film festival, taste chocolate at the theo chocolate factory, take an seattle ghost tour, explore!

    Food and Dining

    i remember my campus tour when my guide was talking about dining services. she said something about the standard deviation regarding students getting sick is about two weeks longer than other school. to put plainly, the food is pretty hard to get sick of.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms themselves are quite nice in the brick-laid tudor gothic style buildings. there have also been many new renovations and buildings include common areas, a kitchen, and all of the essentials. they are within a short stride to the sub or student union building where the cafeteria is located.

    Academic Rigor

    university of puget sound, being a liberal arts college, places great emphasis on its cross-disciplinary structure and intimate campus setting, making for an interactive learning environment.

    Tips for prospective students

    your education is what you make it. the university will certainly lead you in the right direction, but ultimately, it is up to you to join a club, immerse yourself in tacoman culture, explore the surroundings and integrate into the community. looking back my only regret is not exploring tacoma more often and more intimately.

    In three sentences

    there are days when it will be raining and you will have piles of homework and a to-do list the length of shopping receipt, and you will ask yourself how you got tricked into attending this school, but then, there will be moments when you will have a completely unique experience that will make-up for all the dreary days put together. you may find yourself on orcas island with the sailing team or shaking your hips during the school-wide luau or snow shoeing on mt. ranier or watching street performers at pike place or volunteering at project homeless connect. you may find yourself talking to a local entrepreneur or handpicking blueberries or riding the ferry to the tipi camp on vashon island and that is when you will know that you made the right choice.

  • 01/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 5 people found this review useful. 4 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    anyone looking for a liberal arts education

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure to keep your GPA up and study for the SAT hard.

    Bang for the buck

    while it is fairly expensive, it is a very good education

    Am enjoying being here

    i have made friends here that i will surely stick with for life. there is a great atmosphere to learn and to have fun.

    Am learning a lot

    you will not find a university with more support from professors and student services. they are always willing to answers all questions and are very efficient at teaching their classes.

  • 07/03/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I really think any type of student could come here and really enjoy it!!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're struggling, really go and talk to your professors. They will be there for you 100%. Puget Sound is really great about choosing their professors, they also do evaluations every few years to make sure the students are enjoying them.

    Bang for the buck

    I have to say, coming from a very low income family, University of Puget Sound is on the expensive side, and it has been very hard for me to get scholarships. However, even though right now I'm a little afraid of how many loans I'm going to be working on paying back when I graduate, I think I'll look back and feel like every penny was worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being at the university along with Tacoma. Tacoma is a great college town; you have a ton of family and great neighborhoods surrounding the university so I've never felt unsafe walking home from someone's house back to the dorms or vise versus. The campus is beautiful, it looks like the colleges used in movies as dorky as that sounds, with the red brick buildings and the ivy growing up the walls, I absolutely fell in love. The social life is wonderful, Puget Sound really works hard on making everyone feel welcome whether you're living in the dorms or you are a few miles away from school living at home with your parents.

    Am learning a lot

    I am studying vocal performance and receiving a BM at the University of Puget Sound. I am currently a junior and transferred from NYU to UPS last year. I have to say, compared to NYU, you would think that UPS would be a breeze... well it's not. The classes are kicking my butt, but it makes it all worth it. The professors are amazing, along with the class selection, and you'll never walk away from a day of classes without feeling like you've learned something. All and all I feel like in the one year I've spent at University of Puget Sound I've learned so much, and I can't wait for the years to come.

  • 02/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    as long as you're careful, you should be safe. one of the biggest problems i've noticed is students letting strangers into dorms, and the strangers then go around looking for unlocked dorms with no one in them and steal their laptops and other valuables. therefore it's important to keep your dorm closed even when you go to the restroom--bring your keys. and it is totally acceptable to ask people waiting by doors to be let in to show their ids. if you're off-campus late at night, security services can escort you home. if you have a bike and don't have a u-lock, get one--bikes are stolen about once a week, and they're usually unlocked or sometimes cabled. u-locked bikes are rarely stolen. other situations do arise, as they do basically everywhere, but not very often. the campus seems to handle security problems very well.

    Greek Life

    apparently milder than most schools' fraternities and sororities. i can't speak for the greek life much because i'm not interested in it myself, but i know several people who didn't expect to get involved in it and did anyway, so it might be worth it for you to check it out.

    Clubs and Activities

    i haven't personally attended many of them, but from what i've seen and heard, they seem plentiful and growing, and lots of fun. there are quite a few clubs you might not expect.

    Great for these types of students

    ups' strongest programs are international political economy, biology, english, business & leadership, and psychology. they have strong international programs as well and some students are now (successfully) working to get an arabic program off the ground. it won't be a major/minor for some years, but it's coming into the limelight. this school is great for students interested in those and similar subjects (theater and art also seem popular), and for those who love the outdoors, want a small campus community, liberal arts classes, and value education. this school is also very amenable towards those who like sports, but while athletics are popular they are not exactly the school's strong spot.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    every year, the graduating class carves its year onto the handle of a hatchet unearthed near campus in the early 1900's. that is, when it hasn't been stolen--it's disappeared for years on end before.

    Bang for the buck

    it's definitely expensive, but especially if you can get good scholarships--i'm going here for less than it would cost to go to my state school alternative--it is totally worth it. cool people, great academic programs, great support programs (disabilities services, career and employment services, the center for health and wellness services, etc. are all very helpful). i can't say much for the social scene, but if you're paying for a solid education, that's what you're going to get, on a beautiful campus and great location (if you don't mind the cold and rain--tacoma does have some glorious sunshine!). just make sure you check with other students about the classes you want to take, because some professors are much better than others and will get you a lot farther more easily.

    What to do for fun

    campus films plays a new movie every friday; the asian studies department shows a few asian films throughout the year; puget sound outdoors does cool hikes every weekend; there are tons of clubs and fun recreational classes; there are lots of concerts and musical functions in a variety of styles; weekend parties; hanging out with friends--i'm probably missing a lot of things because i don't typically go out to do very much myself. and if you want to get off campus, the mall, downtown tacoma, and beautiful point defiance (park/zoo/aquarium/garden/beach) are just short bus rides away.

    Food and Dining

    as i said above, the food may seem old after a while, as you'll find lots of the same flavors even in varying dishes. but the choices are pretty broad, and it's very high-quality, especially for college food--and largely vegetarian/vegan. we have pasta, burritos, asian food, a table just for vegetarian/vegan options, a hamburger/fried fare grill, sandwiches, soups, and an awesome pizzaria with a very small convenience store downstairs. if you need anything else, there are several grocery stores within easy walking distance.

    Dorm Life

    i can't say much about the dorms because i'm living in the foreign language and culture house, the freshman theme house. it's a great experience, living in relatively private space with only 12 other people as opposed to some hundreds. but from my experiences in the dorms so far, there's definitely a good amount of space and cleanliness, and the floor communities are pretty cool. all dorms have a few lounges with comfy chairs and pianos, some of which are really nice. i've made some good friends by hanging out in other dorms' lounges and drawing on whiteboards, playing piano, or just joining in whatever else is happening.

    Academic Rigor

    coming from the ib program, the workload here is about the same if not a little less than what i had in high school. that is to say, you're definitely not going to get by slacking, and procrastination will often come around to hit you in the face, but as long as you treat your academic career here with respect, you can get by without too much stress. the classes are generally far more interesting as well. you might have a few hours of homework each day, but often you'll still have some time for socializing, clubs, etc., if you want. just be careful with your time later in the semester. of course, this is coming from an introvert. some students seem to socialize or be in activities all day and still get their work done. just take care to balance your time at first and you can adjust it as needed later.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you really want to go to this school, apply for early decision. do this only if it's your first choice, but if you're at least decent student with some good credentials, you're almost certain to get in. also be sure to visit campus if you can. this goes for any college, but it's always a good idea to take a tour so you can see more of the details of daily college life and of course ask questions to students.

    In three sentences

    the campus is small but beautiful, the classes and professors are (mostly) fantastic, and the food is healthful and largely sustainable. it may get old by the end of your first year, but compared to most other schools, the food here is gourmet--especially if you're vegetarian or vegan. there are great study abroad programs, the dorms are pretty nice and spacious, and there are tons of opportunities for fun things like hiking, sailing, and watching some of the interesting and amusing performances the students put on.

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Even in the middle of the night, I've never felt like my safety wasn't important at Puget Sound. Security is always just a phone call away and they are always willing to go above and beyond for their students. Whether it be to walk you across campus at night or pick you up across town because your car battery died- security will always been there. Security has never let me down and always made me feel like my safety was the most important priority.

    Greek Life

    Unfortunately, I am not a part of Greek Life but I do have a variety of friends who are involved in it. I do plan to rush for a sorority in the Spring 2013. All my friends that are involved- both in a Sorority and a Fraternity- love being a part of it. The Greek Life at Puget Sound is not stereotypical or what one would usually expect of Greek Life, it is welcoming to all kinds of people and extremely understanding and caring to all members. A friend of mine told me that at the beginning of rush, sororities ask your opinion on drugs and alcohol and if you are strongly against using them/have never used them- the sorority doesn't force you to drink or participate in drug usage. That statement made me so happy to know that they were so respectful and understanding.

    Clubs and Activities

    UPS has a large variety of clubs on campus from BGLAD (the LGBT club) to Veggie Might! (a club for vegetarians/vegans), there is a club for everyone. We even have a circus clubs which invites people to come and learn moves such as tight rope walking and other various things. In the beginning of the school year, we have an event called Log Jam which has all the school clubs out on an open field, allowing all students to come and learn about/join as many clubs as they want. There's so many to choose from, it's hard to not be involved with all of them.

    Great for these types of students

    At Puget Sound, I have met people that I never thought I would. There are people from all over the nation and all over the world. This is one of my favorite qualities about UPS, that there is such a large variety of people here. There is no one type of person at UPS, there's just a very eclectic group. One thing that is so great, is how understanding everyone is at the school for all walks of life. Puget Sound has a great LGBT community and is very proactive for equality. Everyone I have met there is so understanding and welcoming, no matter who you are or where you come from. It's a great place to not only learn about so many people and backgrounds, but to be accepted and loved for your own.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    UPS has a variety of little nooks and crannies- as long as you are willing to go look for them! One wonderful thing on campus is Oppenheimer Cafe. It's a cafe with walls that are made entirely out of glass. In the winter, they heat the brick floors and the cafe becomes somewhat of a reverse snow globe. It's a great place for both studying and socializing. Some other great places on campus are the Cellar (our on-campus pizza place), Diversions Cafe, and all the various lounges sprinkled around campus.

    Bang for the buck

    One big worry about Puget Sound is just how expensive it is- it's a pretty pricey school. But I think it's absolutely worth it. Puget Sound has not only become my school but my new home. The dorms are absolutely beautiful with spacious rooms, a kitchen in every building, and laundry on every floor. The class rooms and class buildings are fantastic and the cafeteria food is absolutely amazing. The sub is always serving a variety of dishes and has so many stations to chose from- I've never gotten bored of the food. Although UPS is expensive, it is more than worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Puget Sound is located in the middle of the residential area of Tacoma. This is great for safety and for feeling like part of a community, but this can also be bad if people are looking for night/city life. If someone is really looking to go out for the night and have a good time- Seattle is a pretty short drive away. But if you want to stay in town/on campus, there are so many options for that, as well. One of the buildings on campus has an underground movie theatre that plays movies on the weekends for just $1. Also there are always a ton of events happening on campus- ranging from school dances to stand up comedy- something is always happening on campus. Another thing that never fails is to just be with your friends. Having friends at Puget Sound is crucial, there are the key to having an amazing college experience and always having fun.

    Food and Dining

    One of my top three favorite things about Puget Sound is the food. The sub (the school cafeteria) has stations in which students can choose to get food from: Italian, Latin America, Asian, Vegetarian/Vegan, The Grill, Chef's Table, The Deli, and the salad bar. UPS always has a variety of meals and dishes that are being served- I've never gotten bored or sick of the food there. Not to mention that every thing is delicious. I always enjoy and look forward to eating at the sub.

    Dorm Life

    I love dorm life at UPS. I loved the dorm that I lived in my freshman year- the rooms were spacious and had great furniture. The bathrooms are always clean and there are laundry rooms on every floor. I lived in the only dorm on campus that was co-ed by floor (meaning that there was an all girls floor and all boys floor) and usually the dorms are co-ed by door. I loved living in a co-ed by floor dorm. I felt like part of a family with the girls on my floor, it was great because I felt like I was good friends with each and every one of them. There was a lounge on the third floor (which was a boys floor) and going there to study or socialize was always great. Everyone was always so friendly and outgoing- I always felt welcome. I've been in all the dorms on campus and each and every single one was so unique and so beautiful. UPS's dorm life is really top notch.

    Academic Rigor

    UPS offers a large variety of great classes. Classes such as Ancient Greek (which I've taken!), Latin, classes on the Extraterrestrial and even a class on Lord of the Rings. While these classes sound amazing and interesting, the definitely aren't a walk in the park. Puget Sound's classes can be hard- but they are such great classes that they make you want to do all the work that they require. Every professor I've had this year has been amazing. They are so wonderful to their students, they always make themselves available to help students and always have the students best interest in mind. I felt like the classes I took pushed and challenged me- but in a way that I loved. I learned so much during my first year at Puget Sound and I am so eager to learn more.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be outgoing! A great thing about UPS is the orientation program. They give you a full 10 days to great acquainted to the campus and living away from home. A tip for new students would be to use every one of these 10 days to help you! Use it to get yourself out there and meet people because friends will become your life at UPS. The hardest thing for me about college life was being so far away from my family and my home, it was such a drastic change in such a short amount of time. First semester was harder for me because I was afraid to get out there and meet new people. Second semester was so much better because I taught myself to be outgoing and friendly to everyone I met. That is my biggest tip to freshman: to not be afraid that you're going to be on your own, you have to learn to be both self-reliant and self-sufficient and to make a LOT of friends! They are the key to surviving the sad and stressful times, and are an essential part of college life.

    In three sentences

    UPS is the most welcoming, understanding, accepting, and loving community I have ever a part of. It is a place for challenging your mind, enriching your soul, and discovering yourself. Puget Sound is not only my school, but it is my home.

  • 06/27/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Beautiful, beautiful campus and expansive catalog of courses and majors. If ever in the WA area again, I would love to apply here.

  • 06/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Am enjoying being here

    students are very friendly. I was afraid of not making any friends, but that wasn't a problem because the University tries to help students make friends.

    Am learning a lot

    As a liberal arts school, I am taking various interesting classes that I would have not taken if it wasn't required. I just took a SETI (search for extraterrestrial intelligence) and it was very interesting. After taking this class, my view of SETI completely changed. This class looks at the perspectives of different professionals (biologist, evolutionist, etc). I have always thought aliens were fake and I didn't believe they existed. After taking this class, I got to learn more about the field.

  • 03/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus is very safe.

    Greek Life

    only about 5-6 fraternities/sororities.

    Great for these types of students

    good for students with a wide range of interests.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we have the obelisk, which is in the center of campus and has all the years of graduating classes on it. we also just built commencement walk, which goes from the library to the stadium.

    Bang for the buck

    well worth the money, although i wish tuition was slightly lower.

    What to do for fun

    many different clubs and organizations on campus, downtown tacoma has many parks, restaurants, and activities.

    Food and Dining

    many options for lots of different dietary restrictions, and decently high-quality food.

    Dorm Life

    very safe, organized, and friendly environment.

    Academic Rigor

    most, but not all classes are very rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you actually want to go to a small school, and be prepared for lots of rain. also, tuition is very expensive.

    In three sentences

    puget sound has a beautiful campus, rigorous classes, and a wide variety of majors. it is ideal for students wanting to pursue multiple different things. it is also great for students who have many extra-curricular interests.

  • 10/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Don't get behind!!!

  • 12/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are interested in: - Becoming involved on campus - Actually being able to interact with the Professors - Sciences (This field is pretty strong here) - A friendly environment - A liberal arts school Overall, I think that this school has something for every student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just be aware that the style of classes and work load in college is very different from high school. Classes are much more demanding, especially math and science classes. Other then that, you should be just fine.

    Bang for the buck

    Puget Sound is kind of expensive, but the school is very good at providing financial aid. This is especially true if you're in financial need. The administration and staff are very helpful to the students. As a small school there are some drawbacks, but all in all I think that this school can be affordable and is worth the price.

    Am enjoying being here

    I certainly enjoy being here at Puget Sound. The campus has a very nice academic feel and look to it. There is a very nice and inviting environment here as well. As a student I have always felt welcome at Puget Sound, and I enjoy both my academic work and personal time that I am spending in college.

    Am learning a lot

    Most of the classes that I have taken were very educational, informative, and interesting. The professors are all very invested in their work, and are all willing to help their students. Classes are demanding, but I definitely feeling like I am learning a lot. Small class sizes ensure that the Professors are more connected to their students. There are also plenty of opportunities to conduct research here.

  • 04/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school is located in the northern part of Tacoma, which is known as a somewhat up-scale, safe area. Students are safe to walk around at night, go for runs by themselves, and frequent the campus grounds after hours with almost complete impunity. If you're worried about expensive personal possessions, like a bike or phone or lap top - LOCK IT UP. Always. It shouldn't need to be said but for whatever reason some students get lulled into a false sense of security and leave their dorm room unlocked, or their bike unlocked, or their study materials and laptop alone in the library - and that's when things get stolen. That's pretty much the only reason things get stolen. Ever. Nine times out of ten, your stuff is completely safe, and most students on campus are honest. Take precautions so that for the other ten percent of the time that a theft may occur, you can at least keep the thief honest by keeping your stuff out of his/her/their reach.

    Greek Life

    There are currently three fraternities and four sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's the college radio station, KUPS, and a variety of Student Diversity organizations, religious clubs, fraternities, sororities, sustainability/alternate lifestyle clubs, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Interested in post-grad degrees, doctoral degrees, scholarly research, conservatory style school of music education, inclined to long hours of study. Also good for those who can't wait to be done with their education but want to expand their options for a post-grad career.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Arboreum behind the library, and the Midnight Breakfast after the last day of classes; The Rail (happens on Halloween night or the weekend after - you basically visit all the off-campus houses hosting Halloween parties just make sure to bring your own libations and don't steal stuff); the focal pendulum and the solar calendar in the science center; the Slater Museum of Natural History

    Bang for the buck

    Depending on if you get enough scholarships and find a part-time job, is definitely worth the time but college is always expensive. Edit: College is never a waste of time, but it may be a waste of money. At UPS, you're going for an interdisciplinary liberal-arts education, professors whose primary directive is teaching--with scholarship coming second (oh by the way they're also top-notch scholars!), access to a wide range of research resources, academic intensiveness, and peers and advisors who are dedicated to giving you their all, and encourage you to give your 100% as well. Do what you are passionate about. If your dream school will bankrupt you in student loans, then go for the second best, and be secure in the knowledge that you will be getting just as good an education there--plus, you won't owe anything after college! If your dream school IS worth it, you'll find a way to make it work. :) Go with your gut instinct.

    What to do for fun

    Free music concerts, lectures, talks, conferences, movies, film-viewings, etc. In downtown Tacoma, there's the Museum of Glass, Tacoma Art Museum, theatre district and also the Point Defiance Park and Zoo. Seattle is a 45 minute drive away. Both Tacoma and Seattle have good music scenes, and if you're a lindy-hopper/blues dancer or dance any of the following (tango, salsa, swing, ballroom, etc.) Seattle has plenty of places for you to dance.

    Food and Dining

    Pretty decent food. As someone who just recently found out she has a food allergy, it's become more difficult to eat from the meal plan. SO: Vegans, vegetarians, celiacs/people with gluten intolerance, those with nut allergies: you may find yourself buying things off campus, depending on the kind of foods you prefer/how severely allergic you are to certain substances, as the dining facility not nut-free/gluten-free. If you're an athlete, they do offer options for a mega meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    It's a dorm. Unless you're living suite-style in a fancy state school that just upgraded their duds then there isn't really much to commend dorm living.

    Academic Rigor

    You will probably write a lot more than you ever expected; however, the professors are always happy to help, and they keep a lot of office hours.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for scholarships, live off campus after your first or second year.

    In three sentences

    Exceptional liberal arts education, rigorous academics, good part-time job opportunities while in school, and excellent school of music.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You will not find a safer campus then Puget Sound. It's a small campus and there is help everywhere.

    Greek Life

    The Greek community has been a part of the University of Puget Sound for over 50 years. Being a member of a Greek organization provides students with opportunities to be active within the campus community, as well as the community at large. Members participate in activities that include academic organizations, student government, clubs and organizations, athletics, social projects, and many others. Puget Sound owns seven Greek chapters in which students may live after their freshman years. The houses are located just across from the university on Union Avenue. There are 3 Fraternities and 4 Sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Puget Sound offers tons of clubs and activities for all walks of life. There is no way you will not find something you like.

    Great for these types of students

    Puget Sound is a great school for the hard working student who finds themselves to be arty and an environmentalist.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have a very cool freshman orientation. Students are taken on a three day adventure and are able to test their skills in hiking, camping, sea kayaking and so much more.

    Bang for the buck

    While the school is expensive you will truly get an amazing education at Puget Sound. If you did well in high school they will be generous with their money as well so you will be able to come. They added on a work study for me when I asked too. They want to make sure that you can come and learn without worrying about the money.

    What to do for fun

    Puget Sound has lots of different clubs to get involved with that cover a wide area of interests. There are free concerts all the time too. Also Puget Sound has greek life and a great student government that you can also get involved with.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Puget Sound is pretty good. The dinner area is nice and there will be someone friendly to sit with all of the time.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone gets a room but all freshman living in two to three to a room and community bathrooms. They offer different living environment like coed halls or coed floors.

    Academic Rigor

    Puget Sound had an 8% acceptance rate this year and this private school offers hard classes where students can grow into worldly learners.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking for a small, liberal arts school where the competition to get it is tough but the students are real and kind, this is the school for you. Puget Sound offers a rigorous classes in a small learning environment where you will know your teachers by their first name.

    In three sentences

    Puget Sound is a friendly environment where everyone seems to know each other. Students there are helpful and want to see one another succeed in their personal area of study. The campus itself is beautiful and promotes learning at the highest level.

  • 08/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always security guards patrolling the campus which makes you feel safe. If you are leaving the library late on night and want to be escorted to you dorm, all you have to do is call. There are phones posted all over campus that go directly to the security office.

    Greek Life

    There are three fraternities and four sororities on campus. These are not the usual stigma that many of us think of when we think of Greek like. Enforcement of the minimum GPA is strict and most of the time a house will post a better overall GPA than some of the varsity sports teams. A large percentage of the campus is affiliated in Greek life in some way.

    Clubs and Activities

    Our campus has many clubs and activities to become involved in. Even if there is something you are interested in and is not yet a club, become a pioneer! Bring that club to our campus. All it takes is a written proposal and one of the professors to be the advisor for the club.

    Great for these types of students

    Puget Sound is great for students that learn well in small classes. Since the average class size is between 18 and 20 people, you will definitely get personal attention from professors where they get to know you on a first name basis and truly care about your education. They even motivate you to attend class daily.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During reading period which is a few days given for studying before finals week, the SUB serves breakfast at midnight for students that are up studying late. It is a great way to relieve some of the stress that comes along with the upcoming finals.

    What to do for fun

    Since the campus is near the bay, many students drive to the water for the scenery. There is also a few shopping centers that are not far from campus. There is Tacoma Central which has restaurants, shopping stores, and much more. The Tacoma mall is also close to campus which has many of the nationally renowned department stores like Nordstrom and Macy's. There is also movie theaters that you can go see a motion picture at.

    Food and Dining

    The SUB offers many different types of cuisine daily. There is a station for Italian, Mexican, a grill, sandwich station, vegan, Asian, and much more. Not only is the food delicious but it is not unheard of to mix and match your meal. You might be in the mood for teriyaki chicken with some linguine. The combinations are endless. There is also a pizzeria on the floor below the SUB that serves wings, ice cream, pizza, quesadillas, and sandwiches.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. Everyone is interested in not only meeting but connecting with people that live in their halls and forming lasting relationships with them. Since it is a small campus, everyone gets to know each other which makes it easier to adjust being away from home.

    Academic Rigor

    Since you are interested in getting a higher education that is exactly what you will receive at the University of Puget Sound. This institution stresses the importance of being able to write proficiently. The rigorous curriculum that is in place is not to ruin your GPA. It is to challenge the mind's capacity for knowledge and to get you prepared for the world after you graduate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Since Puget Sound does have high expectations for students and prospective students, it is imperative that you do well in your high school classes as well as taking challenging courses. Score well on your SAT and ACT exams and refrain from getting senioritis.

    In three sentences

    The University of Puget Sound is everything that I was looking for in a school. The campus is beautiful, the professors are interested in the well-being of the students, and the student body is diverse yet still a very close community. If you are looking for a challenging and rewarding education, Puget Sound is the school for you.

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Let me tell you right now, I can attest to the vigilance of the Parking Patrol at UPS. The parking sticker is free but I was too lazy to get it and 3 tickets later I have learned my lesson! There are always security vehicles patrolling the campus and there is a security office. I know that I have seen phones around in case of an emergency.

    Greek Life

    I am not a part of Greek Life but I have some friends that are and they love it! The Greek Houses I have heard are a little on the cramped side but they have had fun enjoying the company of their sorority sisters and brothers and attending balls.

    Clubs and Activities

    The University of Puget Sound has a WIDE variety of clubs and even The Club That Goes To Other Clubs so that you can feel around a bit. There are serious clubs like the Mathematical Society of Puget Sounds and there are fun ones like the Nerf Club, you just have to look around. Since it is such a small school it is easy to find people with like interests and get involved in the community.

    Great for these types of students

    Many of the students at UPS have a great concern for the environment, so if you share in that passion you would fit right in. If you don't most people let it be, but someone may hassle you from time to time. I have also heard they have a great drama/music program and physical therapy program. There is even a practicing building on campus. Really, it's a good school for anyone who has a laid back personality but also wants to pursue academics seriously.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In Oppenheimer there is that cool glass gazebo type building I mentioned earlier that houses a cafe. Also the local and renowned glass artist Chihuly has donated several pieces to the school, some of which can be seen dangling in a giant window at the front of the Wyatt Hall. It is quite spectacular.

    Bang for the buck

    I am slightly biased in this matter because I have the strong belief that all universities are incredibly overpriced. However, it is worth it for a smaller school, I love the sizes of the classrooms. I do not want to be drowned out by hundreds of students which is in no way a problem at UPS, the biggest class I have had had 36 students in it. I honestly love that about this school! And as aforementioned the professors do take the time to be there for you, all have posted office hours during which students are welcome to swing in for a chat. In addition if you're not getting the help you need from the professors, each department has a set of tutors available for even more extra help.

    What to do for fun

    Even though the location of the school is not prime for safety, it is in the heart of the city. Within 15 minutes of the school is Downtown Tacoma, which features a glass museum, art museum, a brand new car museum, and other attractions including Opera and Antique Alley. Students can walk right over to 6th Avenue which features fine dining, local bars, clubs, and a few specialty shops. Also nearby is Ruston Way, a waterfront area, Point Defiance Park and Zoo, Owens Beach, and Titlow Beach. For any shopaholics, if the boutiques are not enough, there is a Mall about 10 minutes away, which has Nordstrom, Macy's, Sephora, and many other shops. Tacoma has it all and UPS is located right at the pulse.

    Food and Dining

    There are many dining options at the UPS, there is the school lunch area, two cafes, and The Cellar. The cafes make absolutely delicious and reviving drinks, one is inside a glass gazebo type building and provides an interesting environment and a nice study area. I haven't eaten much on campus but what I have had has been reasonably priced and tasty.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in the dorms on campus so my review of this aspect of the college is a compilation of what I have heard from other students. It seemed to me that the dorms were neither extraordinary nor were they awful. In the rare times it gets warm out in Washington I heard that they dorms could get pretty stuffy but at the same time they keep them nice and toasty throughout the long winter. I am not really sure how soundproof the dorms are.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically this is a fine school but I have rated it with only 4 stars for a couple reasons. The courses offered are indeed challenging and cover a wide variety of interests, however the professors in each are not all up to par. I am a person who appreciates clear organization and build up of ideas and some professors are admittedly better at this than others. This could definitely be purely a matter of opinion but I think it's worth mentioning. The courses are intellectually challenging and engaging, many professors take personal care and pains to attend to each individual.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not let the pretty campus fool you, UPS is nestled in a kind of nook between the better part of town and the not-so-great part of town so be prepared for that. In addition, Washington does not rain nearly as much as people put on so it isn't necessary to go crazy on the rain gear.

    In three sentences

    The University of Puget Sound is a beautiful campus located in the City of Destiny - Tacoma, Washington. The campus creates a cozy environment which is emphasized my small classrooms and a fairly tight knit community. The professors I have had were passionate in their subject and provided one on one care to their best abilities with their students.

  • 01/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    T-town has is ups and downs, be intelligent and you will be fine. Campus has few issues excluding the awesome 2 am false fire alarms.

    Greek Life

    Its there and prevalent, very different from big schools however, if you want to take part its easy and available, if you don't its just as easy to ignore.

    Clubs and Activities

    VAVA now WEB is awesome for all the ladies out there, JuST is a social justice group that does amazing things and provides awesome opportunities to students on a regular basis. We have it all from a circus club, knitting club, puget sound outdoors club, to honors societies

    Great for these types of students

    Be dedicated, be focused, and be ready to have a blast.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Get ready for Passages, its an awesome three day orientation out in the Hood Canal, with canoeing, hiking, arts and crafts the whole shebang.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a pricey school, but scholarships are available, regardless it is worth every penny.

    What to do for fun

    Explore. Point Defiance National Park, Mt. Rainier, Seattle, its all accessible and an awesome day/ weekend trip away.

    Food and Dining

    The Sub is the Sub, you will need a break from it from time to time, but it will keep you well feed and thriving. 6th avenue has great restaurants so take the ten minute walk and explore Tacoma for a nice meal now and then.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great to start off, made my best friends freshman year, all of whom were my neighbor. Go to the school events, everyone wants friends, and its a great way to make them. The school is great at promoting new friendships.

    Academic Rigor

    You will work hard, the max 4 courses suggested is there for a reason. The school is very challenging, however if you make the effort there are more than enough resources to help you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors, they truly want you to succeed and are always willing to help. Get out into Tacoma, although campus life is awesome, there are countless amazing opportunities outside of the school.

    In three sentences

    The school is astounding. It is amazingly challenging, however the faculty, students, and school are supportive beyond belief. Attending was the best decision I have made so far.

  • 03/11/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Nightclubs are close by right on 6th Ave and walking distance from each other.

    Food and Dining

    Close to 6th Ave and they have Farmers Market in the warmer seasons!

    Tips for prospective students

    A must see campus. Very pricey college, but definitely a motivational school.

    In three sentences

    This campus is beautiful! I walked around the campus and it definitely felt like a college campus where as some colleges just look like commercial buildings. Easy to navigate around the campus

  • 03/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Living right next to Seattle, there's always something new to do. However, you don't always have to leave campus for fun. The school has an outdoors program that has trips planned almost weekly. If you're not an outdoors person then there are usually plays or concerts or some interesting activity happening on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great, and there are many options even for those on special diets. There is an entire section dedicated to vegan/ vegetarian, and there are plenty of gluten free options.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. It's convenient, and you are more fully emerged in the community and social life. There are many dorm options available, themes, suites, houses. etc

    Academic Rigor

    It's as hard as you make it. The science and music department are crazy. The rest are about average. The academic rigor is enough to get you to learn the material , but there are enough resources that you won't fall behind.

    Tips for prospective students

    Schedule a visit. There are overnight or day tour options. Keep in mind that you do get the most out of an overnight stay and you can attend a class.

    In three sentences

    The price of attending is is high. However they do give a bunch of scholarships. There are so many opportunities for leadership, extracurricular and academics, that is wroth it.

  • 03/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is super safe! There are always security guards patrolling around day and night.

    Greek Life

    The Greek Life here is excellent! I am in a sorority here and I love it. The greek community is very tight knit and everyone is amazing.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Definitely check out the Cellar! It's the pizza place on campus. They also have a store that you can pick up snacks from in case you have late night munchies.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the park! Pretty much the only thing to do in Tacoma.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is pretty decent but it gets old after a while.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are dorms, what can I say? Some people are disgusting but you have to live with them anyway.

    Academic Rigor

    For some of the science classes, the workload is heavy but for other classes it isn't as bad.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are not from Washington (like me) I suggest you bring some warmer clothes.

    In three sentences

    The campus is gorgeous and the teachers are very approachable. I've only had one bad experience with a teacher. The classes are challenging but definitely do-able!

  • 03/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There a variety of things to do for fun ranging from playing intramural sports to pick up games for Frisbee or soccer on the fields in front of the dorms. this campus also encourages club activity with a variety of clubs on this campus.

    Food and Dining

    The dining facility offer varieties of different foods. Food is prepared fresh everyday and is quite delicious. There is a lot of seating within this facility and more than ample space for the whole campus to eat.

    Dorm Life

    All of the dorms are quite nice. There are dorms for people of all class years and they are kept cleaned at all times. All dorms are comfortable and will become your home away from home.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics here are quite challenging. Be ready to use that mind of yours to absorb knowledge like a sponge. As long as you study hard, you will do fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply to this school and come with the intent to learn. Classes are small so you will have the attention of your professors.

    In three sentences

    This University is amazing. Beautiful Campus surrounded by a very nice neighborhood.

  • 06/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Streaking through the library during the weekend of reading week. Hang out anywhere in Thompson or claim a classroom in McIntyre to study

    Bang for the buck

    The academic advising part is a little unhelpful but if you know what you want to do and can do it without the advisors then this is a great school.

    What to do for fun

    Walk down to the waterfront, hang out at Point D, walk down 6th Ave, go to Seattle

    Food and Dining

    The SUB's food is a little bland but overall not bad and quite convenient.

    Dorm Life

    The Residence Life is all about helping you find connections to make UPS a safe environment for you.

    Academic Rigor

    Small classes and friendly professors make it easy to schedule one on one tutoring time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join a club or sport and don't be afraid to ask questions.

    In three sentences

    UPS is a home away from home. It's small enough so by senior year you know a lot of people on campus, students, faculty, and staff members. It's a nurturing environment where academic standards are matched with opportunities to expand extracurricularly.

  • 07/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel extremely safe on campus, and the security officers have always been helpful and kind.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities available on campus! The only problem is that there are so many that are interesting, it's hard to choose which ones to dedicate time to!

    Great for these types of students

    UPS is great for students who are looking for an open-minded school that is big on community.

    Bang for the buck

    This is an expensive school, but I would definitely say that it is worth it. Campus life offers a great community, the professors are wonderful, and the quality of education is superb.

    Food and Dining

    The food at UPS is decent, as good as you could find in any college dining hall, and a lot better than some! There are always vegetarian/vegan options available, as well as many options for other dietary needs. The food gets somewhat repetitive--there isn't a lot of variety from week to week, but the food certainly isn't bad!

    Dorm Life

    UPS is big on community, which is great if that's what you are looking for. The Residence Life Staff is filled with wonderfully helpful people, and there are so many resources available to residents. The school is also very good at matching roommates; most people are very happy with roommate selections.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at UPS are difficult and challenging in the best way. Classes take a lot of work, but it pays of. The professors are incredibly helpful and determined to help students succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved right away! It's easiest to get involved Freshman year, and there are so many wonderful things to do. Campus life is really great, so participate in events that interest you, and you are sure to meet other people who you can get along with.

    In three sentences

    Puget Sound is a great school with open-minded professors dedicated to their students' success. The students are also very open-minded and welcoming, and there are many student activities and groups to involve yourself in. Overall, it is a great school with a healthy learning environment and a beautiful campus.

  • 07/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Security is around the clock everyday. I've not once heard nor experienced any threats to anyone on campus.

    Greek Life

    I myself am not in a fraternity, but I heard that the connections made are worth it.

    Clubs and Activities

    From Clubs for one's majors to clubs about hobbies, they have it on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Hard workers Financially well (it's expensive)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It's a small campus, but it still has things such as Rush Week for Greek Life.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a costly adventure to attend this school, but the various people you meet here makes up for it.

    What to do for fun

    There are various events that occur on campus along with the clubs keeps one busy when you have downtime.

    Food and Dining

    Food isn't horrible, but it's not superb on certain days. Grill is always open and is default cheapest food source. Downstairs, in the afternoon/evening times: the pizza place is open for business with snacks and pizza.

    Dorm Life

    First year is rough since you'll be paired up with an unknown person. Just try to get along with him/her and the rest of your floor. Second year, you can choose your roommate (of same gender) and where you'll live so it's not as bad.

    Academic Rigor

    The curriculum isn't too difficult, but it's not easy. Depending on the teacher, you may have a hard time or easy time. Most of the core requirements aren't difficult, but when you step into your major, the difficulty spikes a bit.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring an umbrella and expect for the rain at any given moment. Don't slack off on work, certain teachers may be reasonable but don't push your luck. Get to know people: join clubs or participate in events that occur on campus.

    In three sentences

    Puget Sound has been a wonderful experience for me as a student. I've learned much in the field of Computer Science and the campus is small enough that you have no excuse to be late to any class. The multiple programs offer make it easy to get into at least one program.

  • 07/30/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    25 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    http://www.pugetsound.edu/student-life/student-activities/greek-life/ There are 3 Fraternities and 4 Sororities

    Clubs and Activities

    Puget Sound has a number of various clubs. If you can't find it, make it! They love to see people take initiative and spice it up on campus. There are a lot of events that happens on campus from barbecues to luaus, everyone participates.

    Great for these types of students

    Puget Sound is great for those who love the outdoors and love being active. it is for those who are hands on learners and work well in a small setting. Puget Sound is for those who are open minded and accepting of others no matter how different they are, and it is for those students who want a sense of family and community, to feel like you count and exist among a crowd.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Puget Sound's Orientation consists of a three day two night camping and kayaking trip, where you hike up local mountains and through the forest and go sea kayaking as well as do yoga and meditation, creative writing etc. It's all about bonding with your freshmen class. Puget Sound also host's annual Luaus put on by our Pacific Islanders club.

    Bang for the buck

    Puget Sound can be a little costly especially for those coming from out of state which is 76% of the students on campus, however, Puget Sound does work with its students to provide as much financial aid as possible and opportunities to receive money for school. http://www.pugetsound.edu/about/

    What to do for fun

    http://www.pugetsound.edu/student-life/ This website talks all about student life and what some students like to do for fun. Also, it displays what places are around campus that students can access for fun

    Food and Dining

    Puget Sound offers centralized dining in Wheelock Student Center--a gathering place for students, faculty, and staff alike. Other options include The Cellar, a student-run pizza place; the student-run Diversions Cafe; and the Oppenheimer Cafe in the courtyward of the Science Center on the west side of campus. http://www.pugetsound.edu/student-life/campus-living/dining-areas/

    Dorm Life

    Each Residence Hall is themed and as a Hall we go out and do activities. For example, The Adventure Hall goes on Campus adventures and do several Physical Activities or games around campus. Campus life is about more than just where you sleep at night. Whether you live on campus or off, in a residence hall or a campus house, a large portion of your Puget Sound experience will take place right here on our 97-acre campus in Tacoma's residential North End. Most student live on or within one mile of campus. Most students eat some, if not all, of their meals and grab their morning coffees in our various dining venues. And many students work on campus--some even work in Residence Life! http://www.pugetsound.edu/student-life/campus-living/

    Academic Rigor

    Like most Universities, Puget Sound has firsts and second year class requirements. Some classes can be hard others not, it all depends on the student. In any case Puget Sound has tutoring facilities and works with struggling students to succeed. http://www.pugetsound.edu/academics/

    Tips for prospective students

    -Visit the campus (its beautiful) and make sure that you are up and prepared for the rainy seasons -Be Yourself: Puget Sound wants to know who you are ad if you are the perfect fit for the campus -Communicate with them; let them know who you are and that you are interested. Puget Sound is very personable and will aid you

    In three sentences

    The University of Puget Sound is a small homey campus, that gives you a sense of community and family, and works hands on with its students to make sure they thrive in their field of education. It is an open minded and accepting environment that is surrounded by lush green forest and is one of the best small liberal arts colleges out there. The University of Puget Sound is one of the top colleges that changes lives, according to author Loren Pope of Colleges That Change Lives: 40 Schools That Will Change the Way You Think About Colleges. http://www.pugetsound.edu/about/

  • 10/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are many call booths in case of emergency even though I have never heard of anyone having to use one. There are also plenty of security guards patrolling the campus.

    Greek Life

    There are 3 fraternities and 4 sororities. The houses are located close to campus. They are very active in the campus community.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs for just about everything. The school constantly hosts activities on campus for students.

    Great for these types of students

    People who really care about their education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a pizza place open on campus until 1am that you can buy almost anything from.

    Bang for the buck

    Personally the school costs too much but that is the price you pay for having such small classes.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of clubs and sports to partake in as well as many campus events.

    Food and Dining

    The hours for the cafeteria are awesome and there is always multiple options to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived in the dorms here but I know the school does a good job maintaining them as well as making the dorms very comforting.

    Academic Rigor

    There is always homework. This school is very focused on writing papers.

    Tips for prospective students

    The school is designed for you to graduate in four years if you attend as a freshman. They have some work to do on making it more transfer friendly.

    In three sentences

    Very academically challenging with small class sizes. Professors are very accessible and available to meet with. Campus is kept looking nice.

  • 10/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Not the typical Greek Life as we have 4 Fraternities and 3 Sororities. They are all full of awesome people that are, in no way, the stereotypical Greek Life students you see on the T.V. Tons of community service and options to network.

    What to do for fun

    Everything! Tacoma is an awesome little city, with the Waterfront and Downtown being prime locations to hangout and see what Tacoma has to offer. On top of that, Seattle is a 45 minute drive, as shuttle will also provide transportation for a reasonable price. The music scene here is fantastic and the atmosphere is even better. The coffee is too... The delicious, warm, Seattle coffee...

    Food and Dining

    The Sub, as we call it here at UPS, has a wide variety of food ranging from an Italian Station to an Asian Station, with all the awesome cultures in between. The food here is great, and you can never really get tired of it because there is so much to choose from. It is pretty cheap and will leave you satisfied.

    Dorm Life

    All the dorms are super homey and comfortable. Your RA will be awesome (because I haven't met an RA here who doesn't enjoy doing what he/she does.) UPS does a great job at assigning roommates too! Rooms, for the most part, are huge. (At least mine is and it's a double.) Your floor mates will be awesome. They are all very likable and encouraging.

    Academic Rigor

    Although UPS is a rigorous school, it is nothing that anyone cannot handle. It really depends on your particular major as sciences tend to be more intense with all of the labs and such. But all the class you will take here will lead you to figure out who you truly are and what you want to be for the rest of your life. As I said, the popular major here coming into freshman year is the Undecided major. It's the best one, trust me.

    Tips for prospective students

    Number one, never refer to the Wheelock Student Center as the Wheelock Student Center... Or else everyone will know you a noob right out of the gate. Always call it the Sub. Come orientation, you will be in the same situation as every other freshman. So go to other floors of your dorms and other dorms, introduce yourself, make friends! Don't buy pizza from the cellar all the time, it'll eat up your dining dollars. And the biggies: Do your homework, and go to class! Seriously though, do it.

    In three sentences

    Well, I hope you like the rain! University of Puget Sound is a great school full of great people, professors, classes and a laid back atmosphere. It is rigorous, but provides a great education for all of its student. If you are undecided, so is everyone else here!

  • 12/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is extremely good here. Security guards patrolling the campus 24-7 and there are even emergency phone stations around campus when someone is in serious trouble. However, the people on campus are extremely friendly resulting in a fairly low crime rate.

    Greek Life

    Joining a fraternity can be very interesting for some kids who are interested in it. The best part about them is they offer an outlet for kids to develop their interaction skills with other student. Greek Life here is also a way to build connections toward joining a job later down the road.

    Clubs and Activities

    A wide variety of clubs to join as well as intramural sports. Intramural volleyball and basketball, and soccer are the two most popular sports around here. They are extremely competitive, and fun as well.

    What to do for fun

    Parties, sports, chilling at the houses across campus, and shopping is about 5 min away from school. The

    Food and Dining

    Good food for the first few weeks. Need to get creative with the food. but overall they offer a wide selection of food from asian to sandwiches, and even a grill with hamburgers, hot dogs and other foods of that nature.

    Dorm Life

    Very decent sized dorms, great use of the space.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging workload, a lot of reading and writing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Perfect your writing skills, and don't be afraid to ask for help when you need it. One of the most important things to understand about this school is that the teachers and staff care about you and will always be willing to help.

    In three sentences

    The academic atmosphere at this school is amazing. The teachers really care about their students, and take interest in how their student are progressing in the class. One thing is that it is mentally challenging, but the benefits are extremely rewarding.

  • 01/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus, unlike Tacoma itself.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that want to be able to access their professors.

    What to do for fun

    There's tons of clubs you can join. Tacoma isn't the best city to hang out at, but travelling to Seattle can be fun (it's about an hour). Hang out at coffee shops, very Washingtonian activity. Hike/bike or go swimming. The school has a rock climbing wall as well.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dinning services at UPS are getting remodeled. There are different stations in the cafeteria with lots of options in food. UPS is very careful in offering good options for every dietary need. If you live on campus you have to purchase a meal plan. The kitchens are not the best for cooking anyways.

    Dorm Life

    There are many living options on campus, most do not have elevators.The halls feel like small communities. The rooms are spacious but lack in storage areas, so bring storage. The bathrooms in each hall are different. If you are lucky, you can live in A/L which has been remodeled and is the nicest freshman dorm. The ones in Smith are not as great. The showers are cramped and old.

    Academic Rigor

    It is challenging but the school provides you with tools to succeed. For example, you can get free tutoring or essays reviewed by other students.

    Tips for prospective students

    The building names here can get confusing, study the map. Participate in ALL of the freshman orientation events, it will help you understand the school better. Visit office hours, no one really does but Professors love it when you do. Apply for scholarships, UPS is expensive. Bring a car if possible, being on campus at all times can be boring. (Take the bus)

    In three sentences

    University of Puget Sound has a beautiful campus. It may be expensive but if you are looking for a place where you can talk to your professors one on one, this is it. The community is not very diverse but it is welcoming to everyone.

  • 01/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The zoo, hiking at Mt. Rainier, the mall.

    Food and Dining

    The food is delicious, though somewhat repetitive. They are renovating the dining hall so it's kind of hectic right now.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a good size

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers expect a lot from their students and the homework load can be heavy at times.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring a rain coat

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful and the professors are nice.

  • 01/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus at the University of Puget sound is small, and campus security may be reached at any time. All students are encouraged to become educated on the topics of campus safety and how to prevent dangerous misconduct.

    Clubs and Activities

    At UPS, there are many opportunities to join clubs and become involved with the community.

    Great for these types of students

    The University of Puget Sound is great for students who benefit more from a smaller learning environment.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe that although The University of Puget Sound is a little more costly than some other schools, I will graduate with a quality education and various connections that will serve me well later in life.

    What to do for fun

    The University of Puget Sound is located in Tacoma, a diverse city that is rich with culture. Downtown Tacoma offers various attractions, such as the Glass Museum, or the Tacoma Art Museum. There are also many quality restaurants in the area. Tacoma is also just 40 minutes south of Seattle. A train ride to Seattle from Tacoma is only $3.00. If you wish to stay on campus, there are many clubs to join, such as the Ultimate Frisbee team, or the Psychology Club. The Film Club shows a movie on campus every weekend for just $1.00.

    Food and Dining

    The University of Puget Sound offers many different dining options. There are two cafes on campus, including Diversions, and Oppenheimer. Both cafes offer a variety of sandwiches, baked goods and warm drinks. Oppenheimer is made of glass and is located in the courtyard in the middle of the math and science building. Diversions is located in the Student Center, and offers a cozy studying environment. The Cellar is another great dining option. It is located in the basement of the Student Center and offers a variety of ice creams, pizzas as well as a small selection of non-perishable items. The cafeteria is located on the main floor of the Student Center and offers a variety of dining options, including pasta, grilled foods, Asian foods, vegetarian options, and many more alternatives. The cafeteria is undergoing some remodeling at the moment, and by fall of 2014, there will be even more choices at meal times.

    Dorm Life

    I couldn't expect anything more from dorm life. The dorms at the University of Puget Sound are clean and friendly places to live. The Resident Assistants are all very friendly and communicate in an effective way. Students are encouraged to participate in a student council for each dorm in order to enhance the dorm life experience and become more involved with other students.

    Academic Rigor

    All through high school, I was an honor roll student enrolled in AP classes. When I got to the University of Puget Sound, I soon discovered that the professors had created a curriculum that was much more challenging than any other class I had ever been enrolled in before. While the classes were challenging, I felt that I had learned more in my experience at UPS than I had ever hoped. I developed a strong foundation in all of my introductory classes, and my music classes took my performance skill to a new level.

    Tips for prospective students

    While The University of Puget Sound is a wonderful place to be, the small school experience isn't for everyone. Make sure to visit to test out the atmosphere and meet a few professors before making your decision.

    In three sentences

    The atmosphere at the University of Puget Sound is supportive and close knit. Because of the small size of the University, the professors are able to take time with each student to personalize each student's education based on his or her academic needs. The University of Puget Sound is a wonderful place to build lasting connections with other students, and establish a strong academic background.

  • 01/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security here is very quick to respond and very approachable. Though the campus tends to be safe even at night, security patrols throughout evening to ensure everything stays calm.

    Bang for the buck

    Puget Sound gives generous scholarships for both academic and needs-based criteria. Students worried about finances can easily get answers they need from admissions, and Puget Sound tried to make it work. We have work-study programs for needs-based students and other on campus jobs for both needs-based and non-needs-based students to make some cash.

    What to do for fun

    The clubs here are all really well-rounded and open to both beginners and people passionate about the subject. We have yoga club, ceramics club, nerdfighters club, beekeeping club, academic clubs, Greek life, social justice clubs, Queer and Allies club, literary magezines, theatre, a capella, and more. Our student government hosts movie nights for $1, and often show movies newly out on DVD. Events are constantly happening, be they presentations, speeches, concerts, or even professional chef's demonstrations.

    Food and Dining

    We have four options for food and drinks: the Diner, where we have typical cafeteria style service (with lots of delicious options), the Cellar, a pizzeria and snack shop, Oppenheimer, our glass-walled coffeeshop and lunch spot, and Diversions, our main coffee shop. All really good.

    Dorm Life

    The RAs are incredible here. Any issues that arise, they deal with extremely well. Additionally, in the larger res halls, rooms are HUGE. I'm talkin' bigger than my room at home.

    Academic Rigor

    My first semester was really easy, coming from a highly rigorous senior year of high school. My science and math classes had such good teachers that once I got the knowledge, I had it. My second semester, though, my English, seminar, International Political Economy, and language classes are really challenging me to work hard and grow. They're all fascinating and have extremely dynamic professors!

    Tips for prospective students

    Find what you love, and plan to do it here. Even if it doesn't exist here yet, Puget Sound is very accommodating for those who want to start initiatives. The Admissions Department wants to see your passion, but be sure it's something you really love, because you'll want to take advantage of the accessibility to what you love here on campus!

    In three sentences

    Puget Sound aims to make you a well-rounded citizen. Professors all know the purpose of liberal arts studies is to achieve this. Students can and do manage to do a little bit of everything.

  • 03/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 33 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very small. You can walk from one end of the campus to the other in 5 minutes or less. Also, the people are all very passive and its extremely safe. Nothing bad ever happens here.

    Greek Life

    Small and boring.

    Clubs and Activities

    the usual

    Great for these types of students

    Run-of-the-mill average types who like a small environ and no interaction.

    Bang for the buck

    They give out scholarships to everyone. Makes a very expensive school somewhat less expensive.

    What to do for fun

    Do your own thing. The usual activities available, nothing amazing.

    Food and Dining

    Ok food. Like any other gets boring after a while.

    Dorm Life

    Not much happens here. People go to bed around 10 pm and get up early. Almost no one around. Everyone stays in their rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    Like anywhere else, some good professors and some bad. Especially weak departments are sociology and English. There are no really bad professors but no amazing ones either. Students have a very pre-professional attitude.

    Tips for prospective students

    Would not recommend coming here unless you don't get in anywhere else. Not much to do. Very hard to get around unless you have a car.

    In three sentences

    Small liberal arts college, but most students major in sciences rather than in humanities. People do their own thing. Campus is small but people are very into themselves.