Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

University of Richmond Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/05/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 out of 12 people found this review useful. 1 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who can't afford an Ivy League education for undergrad, want to do research and/or study abroad, wants personal attention from professors who care about you, and wants to be in an ideal location in the country!

    Tips for prospective students

    UR is small and not in a big city, which was what threw me back at first, but it's really a great college for undergrad. It has all you could ever ask for, and the students are great and friendly! There's tons to do on and off campus, and we are not all nerds by far! Just apply early for a possible Richmond Scholarship and focus on your essays.

    Bang for the buck

    They give good merit scholarships.

    Am enjoying being here

    Campus is beautiful, I made friends in my hall, food is good at the dining hall, I am involved in organizations already! Everything is pretty good!

    Am learning a lot

    I was challenged more than ever in HS just in my first semester at UR.

  • 06/09/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 2 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who don't know yet what they want to do, students who want to learn a variety of subjects and topics, students who are passionate about effecting change, leaders

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely take a tour if you have not yet had the opportunity to do so. Also, see if you're able to attend a class with a current student and/or spend the weekend at UR to see what campus life is REALLY all about! If you're specifically interested in a major, a club, or another aspect of the school, talking with a professor or director in that area will definitely be beneficial, they all are incredibly passionate.

    Bang for the buck

    Though UR is incredibly expensive on paper, the financial aid office offers outstanding awards and other options. After considering all scholarships, loans, and other forms of aid, this school was a more sound financial choice for me than a state school that was initially a quarter of Richmond's price. Also, the money that the school brings in goes to very good use, a Nobel Prize winner was hosted this past year, out living situation is amazing, and the food is DELICIOUS!

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being surrounded by my group of friends all the time, being able to meet with professors in their offices, or gather at their houses with my class for a meal. Though they sometimes interfere with the practicality of the buildings, the campus aesthetics are amazing and walking from class-to-class or to the dining hall always makes me smile.

    Am learning a lot

    The university certainly achieves its goal of creating a well-rounded education through the required General Education courses without being overly demanding of its students. Also, every professor from whom I have taken class has been very dedicated to, as well as enthusiastic about, his or her subject and material.

  • 04/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 3 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has its own University Police officers who are very responsive to all calls made. There are also on-campus emergency telephones illuminated with blue lights that are linked directly to the police station if you pick up.

    Greek Life

    A large percentage of the student population decides to take part in Greek life. A large portion of social activities and parties are run by fraternities. However, you do not need to be in a Greek organization to participate and there are other social events unrelated to Greek organizations that even members of Greek organizations take part in.

    Clubs and Activities

    Richmond is very open-minded about clubs and encourages students to be creative in starting them. There are a huge amount of clubs and activities, and many students will often overlap and be a part of several different clubs

    Bang for the buck

    Richmond is very expensive. But you definitely get your money's worth when you come. Students have so many resources that are free because tuition is so expensive. Absolutely worth it, but you have to make sure to find and use the resources

    What to do for fun

    A lot of the on-campus social scene is dominated by Greek life. However, there are a lot of fun mom and pop type shops and restaurants in Cary town.

    Food and Dining

    The Dining hall has about five different stations with a bunch of options that change and a bakery. And if/when the food there gets old, the campus is always adding on-campus food locations for food on-the-go, like the international cafe.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are average and decently sized. Many on-campus locations are also being renovated.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes at Richmond are very rigorous. Freshman year, you will have a lot of free time. Yet, once you declare a major, it will get intense and you will have a lot of work

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the Academic Skills Center. They have FREE tutoring in virtually every class taught at the university. You can really just schedule a meeting, bring your homework that you don't understand, and they will go through it with you. Also use the Career Development Center, even if you don't have a major or know what you want to do. They love getting freshman too and helping them to figure out how their interests can turn into career options.

    In three sentences

    There are too many resources available to count. Classes are small, but you get the personal attention you wouldn't at other schools. The University cares what you think and you are not just a number

  • 07/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 4 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Richmond is a great place to go if you want a beautiful campus that rivals Princeton and Dartmouth. Also, it is a great place for those who want to get involved in leadership positions. Richmond also has such small class sizes that you can really get involved in discussions in class (and are expected to by your professors) and you can easily receive help from your professors after class. Also, Richmond is great for those who want to feel safe on campus, as it is not in the city.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you did not enjoy high school because it was small and full of gossip, consider applying to a larger school. Also, if you want to have an array of options for your nightlife and you are a guy, definitely consider being a part of a D1 team or fraternity. Otherwise, I hear from my guy friends that nightlife can be pretty limited.

    Bang for the buck

    With such a big endowment, I know so many people who have received a full ride to attend based on entirely financial needs.

    Am enjoying being here

    The opportunities to get involved in organizations are immense, especially student government because we have separate coordinate colleges for males and females and thus separate student governments. However, it is a pretty small school and can start to feel like high school with all of the gossip. Also, a car is a must if you want to get out of the UR bubble.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are what you make of it. The opportunity to learn is available if you put the effort in and take advantage of all the professors have to offer. Also, there are constantly guest speakers, such as Thomas Friedman, who come to campus. Do not miss out on these lectures, you will learn so much!

  • 07/01/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 5 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    UR is expensive but it's known as a Southern Ivy League School. No one is ever going to look over your resume because Richmond is on there! It is wide-known and well thought of.

    Will enjoy being here

    UR is only a few minutes from downtown Richmond which provides a wide-range of community activities and fun. There is always something going on whether it be a club, sporting event, or Richmond outing. The campus is beautiful, and the students are really friendly.

    Will learn a lot

    Because Richmond is a liberal arts and sciences school, there are many opportunities and educational paths to choose from. Richmond is one of the top business schools in the nation and one of the only schools with a leadership program. There is definitely enough classes to fulfill any career goal!

  • 06/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 6 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you take and submit your AP tests! Doing so can help knock out prerequisite courses and get you to the classes you want faster.

    Bang for the buck

    While tuition is expensive, you are unlikely to find another college with professors of the same caliber.

    Am enjoying being here

    University of Richmond has a small yet vibrant campus making it the perfect fit for me. I greatly enjoy studying here.

    Am learning a lot

    While college is certainly a step up from high school, the professors at University of Richmond try their best to make the transition smooth. As a result, students learn a lot and have a great college experience.

  • 05/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 7 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus! We have a spider shuttle so you don't have to walk around at night and a blue light system throughout campus.

    Greek Life

    It exists but it does not dominate the campus. Those involves love it and those not involved do not feel excluded in anyway.

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many to count!

    Great for these types of students

    Dedicated students who also like to relax now and then and volunteer in the city.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Proclamation night and Investiture as well as Ring dance are all fun southern traditions that play out every year. Proclamation night and investiture take place first-year, for mena and women respectively. It is a night to write a letter to yourself to be read again senior year and sign the honor pledge. Ring dance is for women. It is the night they are presented with their class ring and then the night is to celebrate your academic achievement.

    Bang for the buck

    The financial aid you can receive, the friendships you make, and the amazing connections that you make through professors and spider alumni are amazing!

    What to do for fun

    For fun I go to the James river and lay out in the sun and read for class. If you do not have transportation, the green is also a great place to relax and play ultimate frisbee. We have a great game room in the current but my favorite thing to do is to go the deanery living room and bake cookies in the kitchen and watch the newest glee!

    Food and Dining

    The food is amazing! Every-time my parents come to visit they want to eat at d-hall (our dinning hall), instead of going out. I don't mind either because we have a French pastry chef and tons of variety. My favorite are the paninis.

    Dorm Life

    At U of R we call our dorms, resident halls because they are not only a place to sleep but a place to live and build community. The Resident Assistants are always creating activities for the hall to do together and everyone is very tight-knit and fun to be around. The hall community is often the core of a friends group especially the first year.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are very rigorous. Most international students express that their study abroad experience at Richmond is more difficult than their university study in Ireland, China, or Africa. However, the academic rigor is not unmanageable. If you are passionate about your studies and put forth a solid effort, you will be successful. A bonus is that professors are always there to meet with you and help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit! U of R has great financial aid, a beautiful campus, out of this world opportunities for study abroad and volunteering, and classes that are small and engaging but it is not for everyone. The best way to determine if U of R and everything it has to offer is for you is to visit.

    In three sentences

    The University of Richmond has a large suburban campus right in the middle of the active and corky city of Richmond. The classes are small, engaging, and fun! The social atmosphere, while not for everyone, is low key and student organizations are attempting to diversify it.

  • 10/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 8 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek life is a big thing at UR; a lot of students rush in their first or second years. This has caused some drama between sororities/fraternities and specific people. If you drop your pledge, the Greek population will invent a bad reputation for you. If you are really intent on rushing, though, UR is definitely a great place, because there are so many sororities and fraternities available to the student body. The Lodges host parties on the weekends, but there are also apartment parties depending on what your interests are.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am involved in SASD (Student Alliance for Sexual Diversity) and SURJ (Students United for Reproductive Justice). I sought these clubs out, specifically because I wanted to be involved in more liberal and progressive student organizations. I'm also working on starting a Quizbowl team here for the geeks and nerds on-campus. Again, I would say there's a place for everybody, and every club is large enough to make you feel welcome at UR.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I have heard that if you kiss someone in the gazebo on the lake, you will get married to the person, but you can always throw that person into the lake if you'd rather marry someone else.

    Bang for the buck

    It seems like you're paying more for the constant updates UR is doing to campus buildings and facilities than for anything else. The tuition is a lot higher than other private universities in the area � generally, the out-of-state tuitions at public universities and the tuitions at other private universities are around $30,000, where UR spikes to about $45,000. Room and board bring the cost up to almost $60,000. Most students receive financial aid, but because the cost is so high, a lot of students come from very overtly rich families. I don't think UR's academics really stand up to those kinds of costs, but it has been called the Ivy League University of the South.

    What to do for fun

    The on-campus shuttle and GRTC can take you into the city whenever you want to go shopping or to an event, but otherwise it's kind of hard to get out of the Richmond Bubble. Because Richmond is about 10-15 minutes outside of the city, students are generally land-locked on-campus unless they have a car or have friends with cars. If you don't mind being on-campus all the time, then it's really not that bad. I don't mind, but my parents live close-by, so I can always call them if I need to. If you do go into the city, be aware of your surroundings. Richmond has one of the highest crime rates in the U.S., and it's easy to find yourself in a more dangerous area than you intended. On-campus, there are lots of clubs and students organizations, and there are always seminars and presentations to attend.

    Food and Dining

    The food is generally decent, but it's better Tue-Fri than it is on the weekends. UR is very accomodating to vegans and vegetarians, and I think the gluten-free population has an easy time eating in D Hall. I think the vegan and vegetarian station in D Hall is generally higher quality than some of the other stations. Tyler's and the Passport Cafe are great places to go if you need something quick and to-go. The Passport Cafe always has cool international-type cuisine, and the ambience is nice and relaxed. 8:15 is UR's on-campus Starbucks, and I don't know of anyone who doesn't go there. It's a great place to stop by on your way to class, because the library is basically in the middle of campus. They always have pastries and unique, hard to find Clif bars, too.

    Dorm Life

    The Housing Office has a really great way of matching roommates and suite-mates; they don't match you up based on your first name. They have a housing application where you list whatever is important to you in living in a room. Your answers are matched to another person's. I haven't had any problems with my roommate thus far, but because we do live on a college campus, there is a lot of partying on the weekends. You definitely need to buy earplugs for Friday and Saturday nights unless you live in the substance-free housing. There are other dorm communities on-campus like Earth Lodge and Q Community for people who identify as LGBTQ+. Overall, dorm life is pretty normal, and it's really wonderful living on such a beautiful campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I would say UR is pretty average in terms of academic rigor. I'm a biochem major, and even though I'm taking just three courses and a half-credit research course this semester, I think tackling another course wouldn't be too difficult. I try to put myself in situations where it's easiest for me to learn, which has helped me through high school and my first year and a half of college. I went to a governor's school, and taking four classes at UR would definitely be easier than taking 7 classes in high school. If you didn't go to a rigorous, college-based preparatory high school, then I would recommend allowing a year or two to settle in to the work load. At least UR has a beautiful library where you can study all day and night.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you weren't born into a family with money, be prepared to meet people who were. Definitely get as involved as possible during your first semester, because then you'll have built the bonds of friendship with a lot of different groups. The first semester is also a great time to get into a balance of doing homework and spending time with all the friends you'll be making. I don't think it's possible to do well in a class here without spending an hour each night (Mon-Fri) on related material.

    In three sentences

    UR has a place for everyone, but its largest populations are involved with sports teams and Greek life. Most of my peers work hard to make good grades, and the library is always full of students even at 1 AM. The food is great; the academics are pretty average, not too hard and not too easy.

  • 02/10/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 9 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus seemed pretty safe to me- It's in the outskirts of the city in a very ritzy neighborhood, so I feel like there isn't much to worry about as far as safety goes.

    Food and Dining

    The Dining hall at University of Richmond is very impressive. There are so many options for students, at least from what I saw!

    Dorm Life

    I went on a tour of Richmond, and the freshman dorms seemed to be a decent size. They looked like typical college dorms, which can be a good thing or a bad thing depending on what you're looking for. I like how Richmond has single-sex dorms, so that's a plus for me!

    Academic Rigor

    University of Richmond seems like a school that is academically rigorous, but that also has a vibrant social scene. It seems to have the perfect balance of work and play!

    In three sentences

    University of Richmond is by far, the best school I have visited so far in my college search. The campus is beautiful, the people are friendly, and the academic opportunities are endless. I hope I get accepted there!

  • 10/25/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who want to get involved in Greek life but are not fully sure Students who want to do research Foreign language or study abroad interested

    Bang for the buck

    It is expensive, but merit aid is amazing. Great financial aid packages.

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus is absolutely beautiful. Also, the buildings are just so classically built. Lost of trees and foliage. The people all seem very friendly and there is so much going on to get involved in.

    Will learn a lot

    There are so many classes to choose from!! I love the small class size and individual attention. It seems professors really care about their students!

  • 05/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Kind of dominates campus (40% of people are Greek), but you find a niche either way.

    Great for these types of students

    Science majors: You'll most likely do research with a professor and have a good chance of being on a published paper before you graduate. Business majors: One of the best programs in the nation. International relations: THE best program in the nation. Anyone who wants to study abroad!: 50% of all students go abroad, and UR pays for the tuition at your host school.

    Bang for the buck

    100% financial aid met, Bonner Scholar gives full tuition.

    What to do for fun

    There are always frat and apartment parties. And if you aren't into that, there are always movies playing in Commons and groups hanging out. Getting to downtown Richmond is getting easier too if you want to explore the city.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is consistently nationally ranked as one of the best! The only reason I don't give 5 stars is because there's not many other options on campus (although they are building more) and everything besides the dining hall closes on the weekend.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms all have personally controlled A/C which is awesome in August. There are single sex and co-ed dorms so you have a choice, and the upper-classmen apartments are sick.

    Academic Rigor

    In business or science, the classes are always difficult and you learn a lot. I can't say much for the humanities, but the people I know who are majors always seem to go on to do great things.

    Tips for prospective students

    It may seem like a very homogenous (read: white) campus, but give it a semester and you'll find the people you want to hang out with. It's become a lot more socially and economically diverse as it becomes more popular

    In three sentences

    Great small school for students who want all their professors to know them by name; all my classes were about 20 kids! Professors care about teaching, not about passing you. Most students are hired right out of school or go to get additional degrees, they help a lot with getting summer internships.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    It is important to take advantage of school events, like football games, concerts, festivals. This will only increase the fun you have at Richmond. Also, try and explore the city. Public transportation isn't great at Richmond, making it hard to get off campus, but if you have a friend that has a car take advantage of that and explore the really neat city of Richmond.

    Food and Dining

    Great food, especially the dining hall, although there could be a few more options on campus. Luckily, Richmond is always looking at ways to improve and will be buildings new places to eat on campus soon.

    Dorm Life

    One half of campus is all freshman boys with one girls dorm, and the other side of campus is a very large girls dorm. Sometimes the girls in the large dorm feel isolated from the rest of the freshman but overall the dorms are large and clean.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is pretty difficult, but the professors will always be there to help, which is the benefit of small classes. It is important to take your time on schoolwork and do all of the reading in order to get the most out of your academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is important to attend every class in order to achieve what you can. Boatwright, the library, will become your new home and one of your favorite places, learn to appreciate it. Lastly, have fun and live each day at Richmond with the appreciation and the thought that you are very blessed to be able to attend school there.

    In three sentences

    This school taught me to love learning. I look forward to class every day and my mind has been opened with new possibilities of the things I can achieve. I appreciate each day and the gift of the University of Richmond.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I wish we had more greek life, but those that we do have are very active!

    Great for these types of students

    Everything!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Pig roast is a great yearly event for alumni and students alike!

    What to do for fun

    Hang out at the pier, participate in sport programs and join clubs!

    Tips for prospective students

    Come in with an open mind. Don't allow distractions make you loose focus of your goals. Take advantage of all Richmond has to offer!

    In three sentences

    I believe the university of Richmond has great opportunities. Richmond prepares students not only for the world but for the working community. I am proud to have attended this university.

  • 08/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Richmond uses a coordinate college system (women and men belong to different government associations and fall under the authority of different Deans), but is one of the most progressive colleges in Virginia.

    Bang for the buck

    Richmond will pay for practically everything you might want to do - you just have to find the right person to sign off on it.

    What to do for fun

    Living in Richmond gives a lot of options including bar/club nightlife, parks, museums, theme parks within 30 minute drives, mountains/trails/beaches within 1-2 hour drives. Campus usually has weekend parties and fraternity lodges for parties.

    Food and Dining

    Dining options range from a fast food joint, a Starbucks franchise, an international cafe, and a buffet-style cafeteria. Dining consistently receives awards in national competitions.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are serviceable, but old. Facilities/Maintenance takes care of issues within a day or two, and shared-hallways make it easy to build and maintain friendships with your neighbors.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers have high expectations with each other and with their students - expect to pull all-nighters if you can't organize yourself well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your professors - classes start and stay small, so leverage the ability to build a personal relationship with your professor and mold the University's resources to your interests.

    In three sentences

    U of R has a lot of opportunity available to its students, but they can be difficult to find. Self-motivated students who aren't afraid to build relationships with faculty and staff can move the stars with the University's considerable resources. Lazy students will coast by without much trouble.

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Not my cup of tea, but they're there if you're interested!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a pagoda on a small island in Westhampton Lake. Legend has it that if you kiss your significant other there, you will end up getting married.

    What to do for fun

    Think of anything you could possibly want to do. There's a club for that. Or resources to start a club for that.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get ready to work!

    In three sentences

    U of R has blessed its students with exceptional undergraduate resources, generous financial aid, in addition to an aesthetically pleasing campus. Classes are intense and never lack in material of work to enlighten the mind. There is great diversity and social culture, provided one is able to step out of his or her comfort zone and meet new people.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    University of Richmond is a safe school. Our police department does everything they have to do to keep the students safe. We have text, call and voice message alerts. We have safe shuttles to take students to different places around campus. We have a tornado call, in case of a tornado. You will know if something was going on on-campus.

    Greek Life

    We have 8 fraternities and 7 sororities on campus; however only about 38% of students participate in greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are too many student-run organizations of campus to fulfill any student's passion.

    Great for these types of students

    Love Sports: go to the athletic events- Basketball and Football games are very popular, but don't forget Lacrosse, Baseball, Field Hockey and Soccer. Love Arts: Check out the Modlin Center for the Arts. There are always productions going on-music, dance, plays, etc. Laid-back: Check out events that go on in the Pier and the Forum, as well as Brown-Bag talks.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The gazebo!!! There is a myth that if you kiss you boyfriend or girlfriend there then you are destined to get married. If you want to break that spell, you push your significant other into the lake and run around backwards 3 times!!!

    Bang for the buck

    Richmond both the school and the area are pretty affordable. Some restaurants and stores even give us deals!!

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot to do for fun both on and off-campus. Some students prefer to stay on campus, where they can take part in the events hosted by different student organizations, or athletic events. Off-campus, we are pretty close to the national theatre, other universities, the museums, etc.

    Food and Dining

    There are a variety of choices when it comes to dining at the University of Richmond. We have a small grocery store on campus that has all the dorm life essentials. In addition, we have a variety of eateries as well. From a take and go, to a milkshake/smoothie place, to international food and our own version of Panera. We also have The Cellar, which is a restaurant. Last, but not least, we have the dining hall, which has all the options you can imagine, from Thai and Mongolian, to Fast Food options, a pasta, salad and panini bars.

    Dorm Life

    I enjoy living in the dorms. As first year students, you are in single-sexed dorms. Sophomore, Junior and Senior years are when you are given choice and flexibility. You can choose to stay in a single-sexed residence hall or move to a co-ed living space, or choose to live in one of the on-campus apartment complexes. Each of these choices gives you the opportunity to meet and make friends, as well as participate in dorm activities. Even though we are college students, we like to have some fun with the people with live with too.

    Academic Rigor

    Don't be fooled by college. If you came here to party every night or every weekend, think again. The University of Richmond is academically rigorous. This is not to scare you, but to prepare you. Preparation for life after college is essential for students who want good careers and that is essentially what the academics of University of Richmond will provide. Professors are here to challenge and stimulate your mind to think deeper than you normally would.

    Tips for prospective students

    *Small class sizes *1 on 1 with professors both inside and outside of the classroom *Events that keep to the founding traditions of the University *Great food!! *Over 250+ student organizations for all your interests

    In three sentences

    University of Richmond is a very good school academically, athletically and socially. Whatever your interests are, there will be students who are willing to do the same thing. The atmosphere and the students are wonderful. Go Spiders!!

  • 11/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe.

    What to do for fun

    Frat parties are the main weekend entertainment. All students are allowed in, and many students drink, but not all. There are parties at the frat lodges or the apartments. Many clubs and groups have parties. There are other events held on campus, like movies and 'CA Alternative Events' like a pajama party, gift making, latin american night, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good, but can get repetitive. Many things are fried. Vegetarian options are always available. Desserts are A+.

    Dorm Life

    Freshmen girls and guys never live in the same building, which is good or bad dependent on your opinions. Some upperclassmen dorms are all one gender too. All housing is the same price, which is nice. Apartments are available to upperclassmen. Dorms are clean and rooms are plenty big.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes can be difficult but are in general fine. You have to do your work and show up at least.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early to be eligible to be a Richmond scholar.

    In three sentences

    Beautiful campus, beautiful people. Overall a lovely place to go, not too big/small. Somewhat homogeneous.

  • 05/19/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    18 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Richmond is an enclosed campus, we call it the Richmond bubble. We have campus police and systems in place to support safety on campus these include emergency phones, text alert system, campus police, resident assistants, and free campus shuttles. Richmond reports any problems in the campus papers so that the University community is aware at all times.

    Greek Life

    Richmond's Greek life is a big part of campus life. Greek life has pretty diverse options, there is a group for everyone from service groups to panhellenic organizations and even historic black greek organizations. Campus statistics suggest that students in Greek life have higher GPA possibly because of the social support, balance and grade requirements to remain in greek life organizations each semester.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are numerous clubs and activities from campus life, greek life, sports, activism, humanitarian, service and food and entertainment interest groups. Richmond is great about helping students to start new interest groups and providing financial support an administrative support.

    Great for these types of students

    Richmond is great for anyone open to sharing and exploring their collegiate experience. Any student with skills and passion for something in life!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Richmond has great culture and tradition. Ring dance is one in particular where junior female students have a white dress ceremony. A father or guardian/ support figure in your life walks you down to receive a daisy from the college dean. This signifies how far you've come as a student on campus. We continue to embrace this tradition because it's still so meaningful.

    Bang for the buck

    it's worth the money and Richmond is generous with scholarships and aid

    What to do for fun

    pretty good campus life, beautiful campus and cool things to do in the city of Richmond from food, shopping, walking, tours, museums, and the outdoors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of student groups, community service, the career development center and study abroad opportunities. These help you to make the most of your Richmond experience!

    In three sentences

    UR is worth the money! The experiences, attention and opportunity here are like none others. Richmond challenges and supports its students. I'm a proud Alumnus!

  • 05/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent patrol and escort campus support.

    Bang for the buck

    I have been a member of the SPCS/SGA for close to five years and have worked with dedicated and outstanding individuals. This Association participates in worthwhile endeavors to the University, its students and the community. I have encountered amazing colleagues, professors and made some great friends. It has been an pleasurable experience.

    What to do for fun

    They have a wonderful park like campus. Video games, billiards, the Cellar all located in the Tyler Haynes building. Movie night, join committees, family day, Golf tournaments, Trick or Treat Street etc. There so many wonderful organizations to join and volunteer.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent Buffet. The dinning hall offers a buffet style for all appetites. Vegan, Vegetarians, healthy conscious eaters and meat lovers. Fresh fruit, salads and a verity of deserts to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    Do not live on campus. This question would not apply to me.

    Academic Rigor

    Students are constantly being intellectually challenged by their professor. Each student receives instructions to help motivate and develop high expectations for their academic progress. The syllabus depicts exceptions and offers a variety of resources to aid the students. Resources provided are; SGA, Academic Skills Center for support, Career Services for choosing a major, Speech Center for preparation and practice for public expression, Writing Center consultants and the Online Writing Lab (OWL) another free service. This University offers a host of invaluable resources to aid their students in achieving academic rigor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Engage with your fellow colleagues and the professors. Take advantage of the campus tours, student mentor program and join the SGA committees. Learn the history of the University and volunteer to get a sense of pride behind the institution and the invaluable resources that are available to you.

    In three sentences

    I have attended the University of Richmond for several years and had several outstanding experiences. The professors exude excellence, passion and commitment to their students. You are inspired through their knowledge, creativity and valuable insight. All aspects of the University are supportive.

  • 09/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not much interesting to report here. Some things happen, but there are reasonable safe-guards against them. However, we did get put on that list of school that have failed to adequately address sexual assault...

    Greek Life

    I am not involved in this, although my friends have made clear that options are unusually limited here and that Sororities seem to have less freedom and flexibility than Frats. There are no Greek houses on campus, which is a major downer for most people.

    Clubs and Activities

    A total joke. Good luck getting more than 15 people to show up to anything. I have never seen a political group on campus get more than 15 people to show up. Musical ensembles are severely limited in their membership. There are perhaps 30 students at the entire school involved in instrumental music. School spirit does not exist. Again, perhaps 15 is the magic number, because that is about how many people will be in the student section at the start of the 4th quarter of a football game. I miss my high school in this regard. We had bands with 70 people in them, a marching band with 150...we had honor societies with hundreds of people in them. Things just aren't the same. Nor are they better.

    Great for these types of students

    If you like your school to be controlled by a board of Trustees who you do not know or influence, and if you could never possibly be moved to care about music, clubs on campus, or school spirit.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A lot of traditions here are negative, in my opinion. First off, we do not have any secret societies, which is a down side in my opinion. As for what we do have: An archaic gender-based Coordinate College System that has actually caused women to get harsher punishments than men for doing the exact same things (the men even had prior issues with the University.)

    Bang for the buck

    Good financial aid, but I would have taken some debt and a good experience over no debt and the experience I am getting. I am willing to pay for quality. I can handle a little debt if I get a good experience. You can not buy a new undergrad experience in 10 years. This is your one shot.

    What to do for fun

    Leave and go to the City of Richmond. You have to find a ride to get there.

    Food and Dining

    Dining hall is great during the week, mediocre on weekends. The major drawback on this campus is that you have very few options of places to eat. There is Tyler's, which is uninteresting and really just a fast food place (although the food does not come all that fast...). The Cellar, which is an OK restaurant, although they massively reduced the menu this year, including removing many favorite items. Passport Cafe, which is overpriced and has decent food. Lou's, where almost nobody goes, but the food is alright. The Eight-Fifteen is just a Starbucks, but most schools have a real Starbucks, which would be better. There are no chain restaurants on campus, which I would actually have appreciated as a means to add some diversity to the options we have here. Really, Tyler's is just fast food anyway.

    Dorm Life

    People here get stupid drunk 2/3 nights a week. Not just drunk, that would be alright, but dunk in the way that involves throwing up all over and destroying property. This was more of a problem Freshman year (I'm currently a Sophomore). However, the dorms are mediocre to poor in their quality. All are painted in the most depressing colors possible, and rooms are often small. They are not helpful at all if you get a terrible roommate. I am seriously jealous of my friends who go to average public schools, let alone people who go to state flagship universities. Their dorms are much nicer. I guess at least I have not seen rodent infestation...although there were bats in one of the girl's dorms...

    Academic Rigor

    I'm not sure that most of the professors are all that great, although a few are.. However, they do grade hard. Basically, you get somewhat above average professors, but the difficulty of a much better school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not attend if you are at all interested in school spirit, turn out at sporting events or club meetings. Especially do not attend if, like myself, you are interested in the music program. The ensembles are all mixed with community members and students (this might be ok, but I want an all student option) and there is no marching band. The pep band is only at basketball games and has only 15 or so members, most of whom are from the community, not students. Academics are not impressive if you are not in the Business School. Most other departments are above average to average, while anything related to mathematics is hopeless.

    In three sentences

    I am personally very disappointed in this school. We lack any kind of real school spirit, clubs and activities have almost nobody show up to meetings, the musical ensembles on campus are miniscule in the size of their membership, and the academics, while difficult, are not impressive for any major outside of the Business School. Looking to transfer out to a bigger school that will hopefully have a student body that cares about activities, has some school spirit, and frankly cares about things other than themselves.