Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

University of Rio Grande Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/10/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 9 people found this review useful. 1 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Country loving, quiet types; as well as those staying at home in other times. Also, Rio Grande is located only about 15 minutes from Gallipolis, which offers entertainment as well. Also, West Virginia is close by, so if you would like to go into the city on the weekends that is available too!!

    Tips for prospective students

    The only bad thing I have to say - Rio Grande is famous for their Rio Run Around. Be sure to call ahead to offices to make sure that is the office you must go to. Go to classes first before buying books. Make sure you ask about the transfer from being a Rio Grande Community College student to University of Rio Grande student. And if you're going into the Nursing program, make sure you strive for a high score on your ACT.

    Bang for the buck

    This school definitely gives you a lot of education for the money you give them. Not only that, but you can apply to several scholarships to pretty much get you college cheaper. it is however (like most students) more expensive for out of state, even if you are only coming from Point Pleasant, WV.

    Am enjoying being here

    I do not live on campus, as I live at home. But, it is close to family. they often have many sporting events/ student community events to attend. Yes, it is a small town, but this is better for those of us who enjoy the country. Also, its a lot more quiet, and therefore you can study more easily.

    Am learning a lot

    While some may feel a small town college atmosphere may be lacking a social aspects of bigger and more well known colleges, I think this makes it easier to learn. There is a better professor to student ratio. You aren't tripping over other students for a chance to speak/ask the professor a question. Its easier to get email questions answered. Also, the professors are very understanding and quick to answer questions/ teach you the course, no matter how long it takes.

  • 07/09/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    URG is great for people who are intimidated by a large campus and a large crowd. URG is a small town community with many commuter students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Future interested students should know that URG is in a small town location. There is only a Bob Evans, McDonald's, Subway and a Dollar General Store in Rio Grande, plus a local bar called Jimanetti's. To eat anywhere else you have to travel about 15 minutes into Gallipolis to get to more fast food chains and Walmart or Kmart. Most of the teachers you will have more than once, especially if that teacher is teaching a specific major. The campus isn't very big but there are still enough people to make friends. I didn't live in the dorms but from what I hear it might pay off more to go to a campus with nicer dorms unless you are commuting. URG is ideal for commuter students if they don't mind the drive because of the cheap cost. Also, I had a lot of problems with the advising office. If you declare a major when you apply to URG you will be given an advisor based on your major who you are supposed to confront concerning class scheduling each semester. The advisor will appear on the home page of your student space. But watch out for classes that have prerequisites because some advisers won't realize this and then when you go to schedule classes online you realize you have to rearrange your schedule due to this. I had this problem both semesters I was at URG. Don't purchase books until the you get into the classroom to make sure you don't make any unnecessary purchases.

    Bang for the buck

    I went to URG for the general education classes because I knew I would need them anyway for my degree so might as well save money. The first two years at URG are cheap, but unless you are in a program the Graduate tuition rates go to private college costs and are extremely expensive. I could have stayed at URG and continued with the nursing program but most people don't have anything good to say about it.

    Did enjoy being here

    I have lived in Gallipolis my entire lifetime so URG has always been close. It was nice to not have to live on campus but staying home isn't ideal to many college students. I did get accepted into the Honors Dorms at URG but I'd rather stay at my nicer and cleaner home.

    Did learn a lot

    You will get your education at URG with a better student to teacher ratio. It is easy to get help from teachers and most of the teachers you will have for more than one class depending on your major seeing as how URG is a small campus. I went to URG strictly for general education classes to save money.

  • 01/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The art department is a lot of fun and you can learn some great techniques from the seasoned professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply here and enjoy your first couple of years for at least getting your generals out of the way. If you really enjoy the campus and university, by all means, get your 4 yr degree here.

    Bang for the buck

    The first couple of years are cheap and worth it, however tuition jumps up your junior year.

    Am enjoying being here

    Campus is small and in a remote area.

    Am learning a lot

    The art instructors at this university are full of knowledge and inspiration.

  • 01/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    N/A I'm a commuter

    In three sentences

    The University of Rio Grande would do a lot better if they had better professors. They are not there to teach us, their there to receive a paycheck ever week. Also, if they had more professors for the same classes would be amazing.

  • 04/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police is right across the street from one of the dorms. Any time you need them, they are there for you. They watch the grounds every night - and day - and even go through the dorms when called. They make sure everyone is safe and that nothing bad happens to any of the students.

    Greek Life

    There are several sororities and fraternities on campus. They have a wide variety of people - it is not just the pretty popular people like in the movies. Even if your not in a Greek organization, they make you feel welcomed and included. They try to find ways to include everyone. I've been to schools with Greeks before, but this one is the only one where I felt I could connect and be friends with the Greeks, even though I am not a Greek.

    Clubs and Activities

    This school has a variety of ways to get people involved. They have multiple clubs and activities. There are the Greek organizations, religious groups, choirs, bands, student senate, and so much more. Almost anyone can find a group to join, and if they cant, they can probably create one

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for any type students, especially those interested in education. The education program is an amazing one, as are several of the other ones.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Greeks paint the rock. There is a huge rock outside the cafeteria that is decorated and painted differently almost every week.. You never know what you will see next on that rock and it makes it interesting to notice.

    Bang for the buck

    University of Rio Grande is my 4th collage. Yet, it has become my favorite one quickly. I have only been here since the fall semester and I love it here. Right away, everyone made me feel welcomed.

    What to do for fun

    We have an area called the Red Zone that has TV's, pool, Wii, and a big screen for movies. There is the gym, and pool, and other areas in the gym to play games. There is always something going on campus, whether it is a big outdoor movie, free bowling, or a dance - there is rarely a dull moment

    Food and Dining

    The food has its days where it could be better, but over all, it is pretty good. There is the buffet cafeteria and then cafe to eat on campus. The cafe has many choices, plus daily specials. It is pretty good. There is also Bob Evans and a McDonald's within walking distance.

    Dorm Life

    Most people are nice. The rooms are good. Can control your own heat or air. The Resident Advisers and other people are always coming up with activities for those on campus to do.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are easier than others, but thats the way it is at every school. There are alot of people around willing to help you if you need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in the activities. There is so much to do here, even though it is a small campus.

    In three sentences

    This school is a good one. I've gone to several different schools and this is my favorite one so far. I would rate them high.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Ists a very safe place

    Clubs and Activities

    I love boxing

    Great for these types of students

    all types of students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I joined the diversity

    What to do for fun

    Just hang out with friends work out and i box

    Food and Dining

    I love the food

    Dorm Life

    Its great

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard

    In three sentences

    i love attending the univ of rio grande.The facility and staff are so helpful . I have made lots of new friends and i love living in the dorm

  • 04/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Campus life has slowly but surely picked up, theater productions, art shows, and video contests are on the rise.

    Food and Dining

    Two different on campus food places as well as two walking distance fast-foods.

    Dorm Life

    Dismal, over priced and not worth it.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on your specific classes and field of study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't ever let financial aid give you know without good reason, it's run by students who aren't properly trained and don't really have a clue. If you ever need campus police for something, expect a 15-30 minute wait.

    In three sentences

    The professors here are in general wonderful. The financial aid and other offices are as whole unprofessional and will attempt to give you the run-around. It is I believe the second or most expensive tuition in the state.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I have no idea. This school is in the middle of nothing. I live 30 min away with three kids so my idea of fun is not the same as an incoming freshman.

    Food and Dining

    I hear that the cafeteria has good food but it will have you running to the bathroom in no time. There is a McDonalds, a Subway and a Bob Evans restaurant near by.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorm and i do not know anyone who has. This question would be best answered by someone else.

    Academic Rigor

    There isn't any. Any class can be skated through with minimal work. Some teachers create a rigorous classroom but for the most part this is not a rigorous school. If your looking for a challenge and really want a lot from your education, do not attend Rio Grande.

    Tips for prospective students

    Schedule very early because they usually only offer each class at one or two different times and they can fill quickly. Check you email often because they love to fill it up.

    In three sentences

    This school is makes enrolling/registering/and getting any paperwork done almost impossible. This is called the Rio runaround. After that though the school isn't to bad.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If you do not feel safe all you have to do is call campus police and they can come and pick you up anywhere on campus. There is someone on duty 24/7

    Greek Life

    There are many sororities and fraternities, you have to pledge and do the requested activities, none of which are shared. There is Greek Life and they do their best to be helpful to the community.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a few Christian Bible study groups that meet once a week and talk about a different story every week. Also there are groups of many different kinds, not all of which I know off the top of my head.

    Great for these types of students

    The nursing program is huge here, bigger than I have seen at some other schools of this size (Rio is a small school). Also the chemistry or science majors seem to be very common, but the school has many other majors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Rio Grande is located on the Bob Evans Homestead (yes, like the restaurant) and each year there is a Bob Evans Festival and the students do not have class on the Friday but they are asked to help with the Festival in some way. It counts for volunteer/community service hours if you need them.

    Bang for the buck

    Currently Rio has the plan where if you live in Ohio you pay the tuition of the Community College for your first 64 credit hours, rather than paying the private tuition for everyone who lives out of state or has at least 65 credits.

    What to do for fun

    At Rio there is the Red Zone which is place where there is a pool (billiards) table, ping pong, Wii, Xbox, and I believe a play station. In the Red Zone there is also a movie room, large screen and giant comfy chairs. Rio also has flag football teams from each dorm and they play on most weekend. The local movie theater offers $1 movies to students on Mondays if they show their student id. Other than that there is not much else, unless you drive and visit the Ohio River.

    Food and Dining

    It is cafeteria food, what more can be said? No, it really isn't too bad. There is a cafe where you can get a burger or a hot dog and foods similar to that. There is also the dining hall where you have the main dishes, salad, waffles and desserts offered all day long. The only down side is the limited hours.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is o.k. although on the weekends there is not much to do, they sometimes feel abandon, but a lot of students go home on the weekends. I have been lucky to find things to do on the weekends. Recently I have been working on papers and I will have to soon start writing speeches. There are floor activities once in awhile which are loads of fun too!

    Academic Rigor

    All grading scales are different. My roommate is a Nursing Major and some of her classes are on a seven point scale and others are on the normal ten point scale. Some teacher will not give the grade of a D. It is a C and above or Failing. While some of the other classes I have heard of are just Pass or Fail and no letter grade at all.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on attending Rio either keep busy with classes, definitely more than 14 credits, at least I am bored with only 14 credit hours. Make friends, I have met quite a few friends, and my boyfriend because I started talking to random people at one of the event. It will be hard to get through college being shy.

    In three sentences

    Rio Grande is a good school if you are looking for a small well knit class. Also Rio gives you many chances for the work study jobs, almost every office on campus hires work study students. Another good thing about Rio is that it is very commuter friendly.

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is not really anything fun to do around here, you have to create it for yourself! It makes you days interesting!

    Food and Dining

    The big cafe is not really good at all, but food is food! The small cafe is good, but they have very little selection.

    Dorm Life

    The showers are small and the water is not hot. But the rooms are nice and spacey. The maintenance crew is awesome they do a great job!

    Academic Rigor

    The education is great! We are one semesters so the day to day course work is not over whelming, but mid-terms and finals can be; but just a little bit.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are ready to live in a super small town, all we have are places to eat within 5 miles.

    In three sentences

    This university is super small. It has wonderful teachers and staff. And is great for student athletes.

  • 10/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are available anytime.

    Greek Life

    Typical fraternity/sorority houses are represented on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities available for various interests. There is even a songwriting club that meets and has the opportunity to record there work in the studio.

    Great for these types of students

    There are a lot of non traditional students and you will typically have a great deal of diversity in that regard in the classroom.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a very strong Welsh heritage in the community and have a wonderful exchange program with Trinity Saint David in Wales. Many students benefit from the experiences of meeting our Welsh exchange students or even spending a semester abroad in Wales. We have many international students her participating in the soccer program as well.

    Bang for the buck

    The college is divided by community college/university rates. The tuition at the community college level is manageable but once you reach 60 credit hours and move to university rates the tuition skyrockets to approximately $20,000/yr. This causes many students to transfer or drop out because the financial assistance is not as available especially to non-athletes. In house/local scholarships are not as abundant to those say in the arts as they are for athletes.

    What to do for fun

    There are a couple of local hang outs for students around town but we are within a short drive of Athens and other places with a more lively nightlife.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria that offers a variety of meal options and the marketplace which offers sandwiches/fries and other small food items.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter but I do have friends who live in dorms. It is the typical dorm life but the campus is dry so no alcohol is permitted in the rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on the course of study. I am a performing Arts major so much of my study is independent and requires much self expression, interpretation and discussion.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for a diverse age range in your classes from high school students, to the middle aged soccer mom, to the elderly.

    In three sentences

    The University of Rio Grande is unique. It is based in a small farming town, well, village but has much in the way of local culture. The Welsh heritage is strong and the artistic talent may seem insignificant but is really quite extraordinary. It is a gem hidden in the Welsh-like hills of Gallia County, Ohio.

  • 02/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many small towns,and a couple larger towns within half an hour of campus that have plenty of activities. Plus there is always the Red Zone on campus that has a variety of entertainment options.

    Food and Dining

    Both the cafeteria and the cafe on campus are very capable and provide delicious food

    Dorm Life

    It is a welcoming atmosphere, however there is not tons to do on the weekends without access to a vehicle.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are invigorating, yet not impossible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Utilize all the vast advantages that are provided!

    In three sentences

    The campus is close knit and comfortable. The atmosphere is pleasant, and quiet. The classes are small and highly efficient.

  • 07/18/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    the Red Zone is a great place to meet people from all over the University. There is always some sort of sporting event that you can attend. There are all sorts of groups and clubs you can join.

    In three sentences

    The University of Rio Grande has been a wonderful experience thus far. This school has a student friendly enviroment. My application process was easy and stress free.

  • 10/12/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 15

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    This campus was very lovely. I was surprised by the design of some of the buildings here. It is definitely a very unique place to visit.

  • 10/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Community College rates for the first two years if you live in the state, are very well priced.

    What to do for fun

    There is a Red Zone for those students wanting to relax, play pool, ping-pong, arcade games, Wii, Xbox, or just want to watch a movie.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are working on an associates and live in the state of Ohio, I highly advise you to come here!

    In three sentences

    The University of Rio Grande has a very diverse student body. The University has an awesome soccer team, we are nationally ranked! The University is small, but I like it that way.