Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

University of Saint Joseph Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/15/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Education focused; it's not social-less, but it is a woman's college. They have an amazing education and nursing program, and professors and programs that will make you contenders for jobs in the real world.

    Tips for prospective students

    Wear flip flops in the shower, get good rain and snow boots, and PARTICIPATE!!!

    Bang for the buck

    St. Joe's is expensive, that's for sure. But, when I put my mind to it and study hard, it translates into my grades. In the end, the money is worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    I get homesick a lot still, but that's typical of any freshman. The girl's I live with are great. The school has an awesome First Year Seminar (FYS) program; and I've had the best time hanging out with the girls in my class. There's also a broad expanse of clubs to join. They also run activities that the whole campus to attend.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors here are incredibly knowledgeable about their subject areas. They are all sociable, and incredibly helpful. I learn more then just what's in the text books.

  • 12/21/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Socialble, friendly, wellrounded

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a really great college that will prepare you for the work world more than other colleges. There is some work involved though but as long as you go to class and do you assignments you should be fine.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is really expensive. Almost forty thousand dollars a year. But they really help with financial aid and the average person pays half that price. I paid $1500 out of pocket for my first semester so there financial aid is definitely helpful.

    Am enjoying being here

    I really enjoy this college. It is an all female college though. I have no problem with it. If you have a problem with it go somewhere else. There is a lot to do during the week. A lot of SPEC (Students Programming and Events Council) activities such as Spa Day, bingo, concerts, craft nights and comedians all for free. The weekends are really quiet her but perfect for homework and during the weekends you have to be willing to make your own fun.

    Am learning a lot

    You definitely learn a lot. This is a small school, and for the most part, the professors here are interested in helping their students learn the subjects that they teach. They always have office hours or you can send an email and get a response in the same day. Really good college for learning your stuff.

  • 01/08/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are more of the interactive learner, this would work out wonderfully for you because a lot of the classes are discussion based and the professors like to hear students speak up more than they like to just stand there lecturing for the entire period of time. Here they provide a better teacher- student rraltionship because it is a small campus so each person is an identity instead of another face in the crowd. If you like

    Tips for prospective students

    For maximum achievement, visit the center for academic excellence and your academic advisor's office at least twice a week. The center for academic excellence because they provide help on any given day for all courses and for most social problems such as time management, best social events on campus, and most importantly how to survive in the real world. Visiting your academic advisor is essential because they are there to help you as much as possible with anything including personal problems. They are paid to do as much as they can for your best benefit.

    Bang for the buck

    Financial aid provides a generous amount each year to deserving students to lower the cost of living. The financial aid office is open weekdays from 8am- 4:30 pm and they have even more scholarship opportunities posted on the wall for those you need it.

    Am enjoying being here

    Everyone on campus is friendly and polite. You can walk to class and see the dean standing outside greeting students individually as they walk past her. Campus security is all around, giving that sense of comfort knowing that you are safe. There is always an on-campus activity taking place and for those who like being off campus our shuttle runs you to wherever you so desire in the west Hartford/ Hartford area. Being that it is a small campus every staff member gets to know your face and will greet you with a warm smile every time they see you.

    Am learning a lot

    Every week, each class would introduce new and comprehendable material which is fun and educational. Most classes are discussion based and open to free speech as long as it is on topic. It also teaches you life skills ouside of the classrooms such as work studies and independence from home.

  • 12/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for working hard students that are ready and expect intense work load. LOVES a small campus (run from one of the campus to the other in five minutes tops) and LOVES quiet environments. A school that has no distractions NONE unless you make your own.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Go to Saint Joseph's for the academics. -If you are looking for a party school its not here. -Need extra help go to the center of academic excellence book a tutoring session in advance. -Get active on campus by joining a sport team, club, or even attending weekly bingos(free prizes) -Oh and If you don't know by now, this is an all girl school.

    Bang for the buck

    Education wise yes, even the meal plan yes, but technology wise there is a gap and sometimes wonder where does the money go?

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy it here because I prioritize my time with an awesome group of friends, nursing classes, work study, and participating in my swim team. The campus is quiet and is nice for study time. When you come here you have to go out and look for fun. Thankfully, every night there are club events.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors challenge you and make students think outside the box. Be ready for hours of studying and prioritizing your time for intense work loads.

  • 01/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very visible. Parking is inexpensive.

    Bang for the buck

    Love it!

    What to do for fun

    I commute, work full time and have 2 kids - no fun times for me!

    Food and Dining

    Wonderful dining!!

    Dorm Life

    Unable to evaluate as I commute.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses are challenging and rewarding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Fabulous faculty. Nice campus.

    In three sentences

    I am in the Weekend Learner Program, and have found the staff and faculty very helpful. The courses are available around my work schedule. The tuition and fees are expensive, but its worth it.

  • 02/02/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for bright girls who really want someone focused on their future.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the CAE!!! It's there for you and free! Remember you need to study. And don't forget all the girls here are super nice, so make sure to talk to people!

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, it's expensive but I got a great financial reward and am definitely getting my money worth by using all the services they offer and attending lots of fun little mini events, meant to help you make friends and take a break from school.

    Am enjoying being here

    I'm a commuter and I'll stay a few extra hours in the library because I love to take over a really large table and spread out all my homework and just work. It's a great environment for homework.

    Am learning a lot

    I got to the CAE once a week and it ensures fantastic grades on all my tests. They are great there and having plenty of times that you can meet with them. The teachers are enthusiastic and want to see you succeed.

  • 03/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    i will recommend this school to any adult/working, parent with a busy lifestyle.

    In three sentences

    saint joseph collge adult program has an excellent curriculum, academic advising, and class sizes, that allow more interaction with professors. saint joseph college adult program is extremely affordable for a private school and the flexibility make them an especially attractive alternative for working adults with children. students with some college credits will benefit as transfer credits are accepted.

  • 11/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always safe here!!!

    What to do for fun

    There are always activities throughout the week as well as on the weekends where you get to meet lots of students. These students become life long friendships.

    In three sentences

    The University of Saint Joseph is a place where you can study your major as well as have that sense of community. Everyone is always welcomed with a warm and inviting smile, I can't wait to continue my journey here at the University of Saint Joseph.

  • 01/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Read the textbooks! Dont buy them from the bookstore!

  • 02/21/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    i'm not quite sure but i'd like to find out.

    Food and Dining

    i'm a very picky eater but i think this school can fit my food needs.

    Dorm Life

    i have a friend who goes here and the say that the dorms are okay not quite as cozy as home.

    Academic Rigor

    the academics here seem to be very important to not only the student sbut the professors as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    i would say that you should reaserch the campus and the professors by going on a college tour.

    In three sentences

    i think that saint josephs would be a good school to go to. i'm honestly just worried about the work load. this school has good potential on my list though.

  • 02/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    lots of variety

    Great for these types of students

    kids at heart, but serious about their studies

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none, really

    Bang for the buck

    a litte pricy, but a lot of students get pretty good scholarships

    What to do for fun

    watch movies, go to events, join clubs, play board games, hang out with friends

    Food and Dining

    the food's ok, sometimes good, but usually meh

    Dorm Life

    lots of friendly people, big enough rooms, must have quiet hours

    Academic Rigor

    not that hard especially if you've taken a lot of ap or college level classes in high school, labs can get tedious, also depends on what job field you're going in. science majors have a harder work load than an english or history major.

    Tips for prospective students

    have experience by taking ap classes before hand, it may take some time to make new friends and find where you fit

    In three sentences

    saint joseph college is an all-girls school which gives classes a more relaxed feel. there are a lot of great programs and fun events. they really do care about empowering women.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Every student who goes to campus for any reason will see campus safety strolling the campus, parking lots or buildings. They are always close by and very very friendly.

    What to do for fun

    The Student and Event Council provide students with a big gathering once a week and fun activities every night. There is always something to do.

    Food and Dining

    Bring my own food with me.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter

    Academic Rigor

    The course load is very vigorous. The professors are there to help their students though and make sure every student can pass if they try. The rigorous work helps create better professionals out of their students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know each professor, they are there for the student and not scary people. Also use the CAE!!!

    In three sentences

    This college has a humble environment and educational community. The work load is vigorous but it prepares you for graduate school and the work field completely. Highly recommend this school for any female looking for a great undergraduate experience.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Serious about studying. This is not for those who want to waltz through without trying.

    Bang for the buck

    It's pricey but worth every penny so far.

    What to do for fun

    Their site shows a handful of very active clubs and organizations, and the calendar has activities all the time. The locale has a fair amount to do as well with a minimal drive, or use the shuttle.

    Food and Dining

    Haven't tried it yet but looking forward to it!

    Dorm Life

    I'll be a commuter so no advice here, but the campus is very pretty and feels safe.

    Academic Rigor

    I'll let you know after my first semester!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make full use of the website, email and call. If you can't make a visit, make the most out of the very helpful and awesome staff!

    In three sentences

    I was impressed with the beauty of the campus and I love the area as a UConn undergrad alumna who enjoyed very much the West Hartford campus. I've dealt mostly with the Graduate office and Licensure office, but the experiences have been exceptionally helpful. The staff is so friendly I can't wait to start!

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Blue Light and Security Guards. Swipe key entrance for all dorms.

    Greek Life

    Non-Existent at this school.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many types of clubs, you can even start one if they do not already have it!

    Great for these types of students

    Girls who have a clear goal for their future and need a small campus with an abundance of helpful resources. (tutors, clubs etc.)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The whole school has to do community service, on the same day, all over the town. It is good for bonding of the girls.

    Bang for the buck

    USJ definitely provides a quality education but it is insanely expensive.

    What to do for fun

    It is right at the center of West Hartford- aka fantastic shopping, restaurants, and a free & safe place to lightly jog around.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is so amazing!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are cozy and everyone gets to know each other.

    Academic Rigor

    The Nursing Program is tough, they make you work and if you do not work hard, you could fail yourself out of the university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not shy away because it is an all girls school. The Education and Nursing Programs are incomparable to many other schools.

    In three sentences

    I love the campus because it is classic New England which I value since I have lived here for the majority of my life. The entire atmosphere is scholarly and friendly; the food is fantastic and varied. I would rate USJ an 8 out of 10!

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    These guys are great!! I always feel safe during late evening classes.

    Great for these types of students

    women returning to college after years of raising families or being in the workforce.

    Bang for the buck

    A little pricey, but I know the education is all worth it.

    What to do for fun

    I have no idea. Being a non traditional student, I tend to do more fun things off campus.

    Food and Dining

    I have grabbed a sandwich or omelet from the cafeteria and the food is pretty good.

    Academic Rigor

    I've maintained a 3.54 GPA, but it's a HARD one to keep!! Coursework is very challenging and you have to find the time to study!

    Tips for prospective students

    Come and visit the campus! Again, it's beautiful, but do your homework!

    In three sentences

    The University of Saint Joseph is already providing me with the tools necessary to work my plan and become an LCSW. The University is close to work and home, which a woman with a young family has to consider when going back to school. It also has one of the most beautiful campuses--very New England!

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Extremely safe campus, and the officers are super friendly!

    Greek Life

    We have one biology sorority, Tri-Beta. It's open to second semester sophomores interested in biology as part of their degree.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a lot the be involved in, but manage your time wisely.

    Great for these types of students

    Motivated, outgoing, patient

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a Deans Cup and Class Wars event ever year.

    Bang for the buck

    School is a bit pricey, but the quality of education is great.

    What to do for fun

    There is plenty to do on campus. There are a ton of clubs and organizations that you can join, as well as events scheduled throughout the year. Athletics are very prominent.

    Food and Dining

    The quality of food is definitely better than at other colleges, but there are sometimes really odd options for dinner. Be ready to eat lots of cereal/sandwiches.

    Dorm Life

    Living with all girls can be difficult and very dramatic. Make plenty of friends, but remember that you're not here to party.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers definitely have high expectations and let you know how you're doing in the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared to spend a lot of time on homework. Time management is key. You'll learn quickly how to balance extracurriculars with academics.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are always willing to help and really get to know students. Classes are small which helps build a sense of community. Plenty of resources available to help students study.

  • 09/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The University of Saint Joseph has limitless options for fun. Activites range from trips for students and guests of their choice to places like Lake Compounce Amusement Park, and New York City, or simple activities like designing room props or attending the comedian on Thursday nights. USJ also hosts seminars that are both fun, educational, and sometimes emotional that usually focus on safe dating tips and woman victimization.

    Food and Dining

    The dining is very accommodating to students with special diets. It's great buffet style breakfast, lunch and dinners make sure the students get exactly the kind of meal they want whether the student just wants a bagel, or a pasta dinner, the options are limitless. They are also very considerate of people that are lactose intolerant, vegetarian/vegan which is important for me as a vegetarian.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are always kept clean, and accessible.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics is always difficult, but the patient and friendly staff are dedicated to helping students as much as they need to succeed. The small classrooms make interacting a breeze and gives students the opportunity to interact with the other students during discussions, The classroom experience is a great way to become familiar with the professors, express your feelings and interact with other students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just be yourself, the campus at USJ is non judgemental and everyone is a friend to everyone.

    In three sentences

    The University of St. Joseph is a family oriented campus using small classrooms to ensure students can reach their full potential receiving one on one attention with professors. It is dedicated to the development of women leadership, as well as striving for equality for diversity.

  • 11/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Nice, but they don't do enough in my opinion.

    Greek Life

    None. Unfortunately.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty. Get involved. Plus you can start your own.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Deans Cup! Floor vs. Floor... it gets competitive!

    Bang for the buck

    It is expensive to attend school here. I would suggest scholarships and lots of them. The school does provide students with generous financial packets as well.

    What to do for fun

    They have plenty of activities to be involved on campus. As to be reminded this campus is in Hartford, Ct so if you want action outside of campus there is plenty to do. Also, other college campuses are close by.

    Food and Dining

    Okay. The cafe has good and bad days. Its no home-cooked meal by a long shot, but that is most college campuses. Also, we are always begging for better hours.

    Dorm Life

    You can make residence hall your second home. You feel a sense of community here. Sure it is a women college so it will be awkward at first and you may have minor issues adjusting, but overall the dorms here are nice, clean, and friendly environment. Only complaint would be guest policy, but if you choose to come here you will learn more about it.

    Academic Rigor

    Here at Saint Joe's you will be challenged. We have a top nursing program as well as other leading programs in the area. Professors here want you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come with open mind. Come prepared to be challenged. Come to learn and have fun with a supportive community of young women.

    In three sentences

    This university will challenge you. This university will bring great memories. This university will teach you things that can be used in real life experiences.

  • 11/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional learners.

    Bang for the buck

    Pricey but well worth it.

    Dorm Life

    don't live here. Can't say.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm a Weekender, but it's demanding!

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Go on a tour if you get the chance. 2. Meet the advisors. 3. A great place to be for a small liberal arts experience.

    In three sentences

    1. Definitely where you want to be if you want to build on your empowerment. 2. Beautiful campus! 3. Excellent faculty.

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Expensive graduate programs

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to get of grammatical, syntax and spelling errors from doctorate level educators. May have to fact check or sanity check presented information.

    In three sentences

    University of Saint Joseph has been helpful but is rather expensive. So far, the staff has been knowledgeable but their presentation of information has been lackluster.

  • 02/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is 24/7 campus saftey. They are great and easy to talk too.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a ton of clubs shown at the club fair that anyone can join.

    Bang for the buck

    You get what you pay for at this school. There is free tutoring and writing services.

    What to do for fun

    There are many on campus activities that are held every week. There are concerts, comedians, crafts, movie nights etc. Every month a calendar of events goes out around campus and on the bathroom doors (Tinkle Time News).

    Food and Dining

    The food is not great and gets old fast. There are always options like salad bar, pasta and making your own sandwiches.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is great! There is a small community of residents so you get to know everyone. The halls are very clean and the RA's are wonderful, it feels like a second home when on campus. The rooms are also very big compared to a lot of other schools, with big closets and place for storage.

    Academic Rigor

    It may be easy to get into University of Saint Joseph, but it is harder to stay here. It takes a lot academically and a lot of motivation to do well. As long as you try hard and make time for work you will do fine. It also depends on what major you are. Nursing and teaching are the top major areas of study at the school and by far the most grueling. However, all of the areas of study have their own challenges.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you have good time management and great study skills. Take part in the activities, it is a great way to get to know a lot of people and it allows you to make time for fun.

    In three sentences

    It is very welcoming and the faculty are amazing! If the school is the one for you, you will know the moment you step on campus. Just be ready for some drama because it is all girls.

  • 03/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Relatively small campus and an all women's school. There seems to be faculty everywhere you look and security vehicles circling constantly.

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many to mention, but Study abroad programs are offered to anyone who wants to be a world traveler.

    Great for these types of students

    Its geared towards dormers, but the commuter population is a good half if not more. We are looking to find new ways to build more community with commuters.

    Bang for the buck

    Fantastic financing is available and I personally am able to continue my college career through to my Masters.

    What to do for fun

    There is a full gym with workout room, basketball courts, track, swimming pool and cardio classes. A variety of clubs in every interest level and SPEC offers special events every day. Being in West Hartford, Blue Back Square is down the road for all your shopping pleasures.

    Food and Dining

    I hear from the dormers that the menu becomes redundant after a while. However, the vending machines are the best I have ever seen. Full lunches and exotic coffees....

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter, but the gals that live here appear to be very happy and close with one another.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get on the Honor society at your present school because the University of Saint Joseph offers fantastic scholarships to members.

    In three sentences

    At the University of Saint Joseph, the faculty is very personable and caring. The classrooms are no larger than 25 students, so we receive individual attention. The instructors get students involved and keep the subjects interesting.

  • 03/29/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    23 of 28

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    So far, this school is my first choice and I'm glad to have gotten accepted. I cannot wait to move in and experience the college life with fellow females. Also, with the scholarship I've earned, this school seems to be the more affordable out of every other I've applied to.

  • 08/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is delicious.

    Dorm Life

    This is the way of life. You can engage in many conversations with other students in a specific age range. We all learn and grow.

    Academic Rigor

    The study is challenging, but pleasing. You can hear from many voices of younger and older females being challenged by the same subject. You are allowed the extra help, as needed or wished. Academically, students are seeking privileges to further their own knowledge by utilizing the on-campus library's texts and resources.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions. Never give up.

    In three sentences

    The University of Saint Joseph is a superb place of education, it allows you to free your mind of obstacles, and clearly think about the possibilities for upcoming events, including in-class assignments and out-of-class assignments. I dreamt of the possibilities and this college made it happen for me, so the atmosphere is enlightening and refreshing to newcomers. The University's campus is well-organized and the teaching professors are full of knowledge, and always there to help you succeed!

  • 08/20/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    25 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Great softball/volleyball teams

    Great for these types of students

    Females, diverse populations, volleyball/softball players.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Annual Take Back the Night Event/ Walk.

    What to do for fun

    Go out in downtown Hartford or West Hartford! The school is within walking distance of West hartford center / Blue Back Square, home to a ton of cute little restaurants, coffee shops, stores, and a Whole Foods.

    Food and Dining

    Bon Appetit provides the food at the college, and they always have vegetarian/vegan and organic, sustainable options.

    Dorm Life

    I didn't live there, but I certainly enjoyed the food and all the lounges. Rooms weren't too bad either, and new suites had just been built when I graduated.

    Academic Rigor

    Known for their high standards, so be prepared!

    Tips for prospective students

    Join and keep up to date on SPEC, they plan everything fun! And if you are a nursing major - utilize absoluteyl every resource offered. Free tutoring, mentorship, job fairs, resume writing workshops and more. And if you plan to live on campus, I believe they still offer the chance for new students to spend an overnight weekend in the dorms.

    In three sentences

    Saint Joe's has an awesome nursing program. The class sizes were small, each professor had an idea of how I was doing in other courses and even the Dean knew my name and how I was doing! I was amazed at how personal and empowering my experience was at this small Women's college.

  • 09/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It's worth it! The way you can work with professors makes a huge difference.

    Food and Dining

    Usually bring lunch from home

    Dorm Life

    Communter

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard, and try to get into the honors program. It's really awesome!

    In three sentences

    I have found Saint Josephs to be an awesome school! Everyone is very friendly, and the professors really work with you and help you to do your best.

  • 10/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The guards here are very nice and provide everyone with safe transportation around, to, from, and on campus.

    Greek Life

    There is not any greek life but if you start one on campus as a new coming student, it could be adopted as a tradition if properly kept up each year.

    Great for these types of students

    If you like hanging out with girls who are nearly civilized enough to avoid high school drama then this is your school.

    Bang for the buck

    Honestly, I feel like I'm missing out on a really good class if im being forced to take an irrelevant class. The housing in my dorm is not worth the money. I could've kept my money for the meal plan and used it to just cook in my dorm. It was hard getting a job on campus, I'm a student who is struggling to pay her tuition and it took me months to find a job on campus because a lot of the students here work more than one job on campus which is not fair for students like me who really need it.

    What to do for fun

    SPEC does a great job organizing events. However, I wish that there was more of a variety for people who have different interest in things.

    Food and Dining

    The food is somewhat okay, I prefer to cook on the weekends to avoid tasting similar flavors every other day. It's very repetitive, the meals are, and it's hard not to eat french fries if the food is tasting the same every day.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm that I stay in is riddled with spiders and noise from upstairs. The hallways always have a funky smell and it needs some serious remodeling. The other dorms I've seen on campus look great but mine does not.

    Academic Rigor

    The Classes are somewhat challenging, however I feel that just because it's a women's college doesn't mean all of my english classes and other courses must evolve around women exclusively.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are okay with taking a mandatory religion class and women's study class then this is your school. If not, Please stay where you are and find another school to attend.

    In three sentences

    This school is one of many good schools but I would not recommend this school for someone like me who does not want to be forces to take religious classes that are not relevant to my major or future grad studies. It's a nice school, there's not a lot to do on campus, and its very quiet on the weekends.

  • 11/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety officers are constantly walking around. Also there are blue lights around campus to hit in case you feel unsafe outside. In addition, if you ever want campus safety to walk you back to your room you can call and have someone escort you if you feel unsafe.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's plenty of sports and clubs to join! There's one for almost every major.

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for any student who likes to have one on one personal relationships with their teachers and does well in smaller classroom settings.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One unusual location is the cemetery on campus. I still haven't found it yet!

    Bang for the buck

    I think this university gives it all to you for what you pay. There's plenty of free events and the teachers are always helpful. It's exactly what I looked for in a school.

    What to do for fun

    There's plenty of things to do on campus. There's spa nights and fried oreos. Best part is almost everything we do is free! The only time you have to pay is if you go on a bus trip to the theater or six flags.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great and there are so many options. There's a salad bar, and specialty salads that can be made. Also there's global where different foods are made from different countries, for example we had sushi the other day! Also there are many options for hot food such as pasta, chicken, or anything else they make depending on the day. Lastly, there are always sandwich makings out in case the food does not suit your cravings for that day.

    Dorm Life

    It's nice to have a community of girls who are all so serious in doing well in school. People have fun, but when it is time to study there is not a single noise in the hallway and you can always get the work you need to get done, done.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are amazing! Always willing to help. Also there are free tutors on campus! Basically everything you need in order to succeed!

    Tips for prospective students

    The University of Saint Joseph is not only for people who are catholic, you can be any religion. If you learn well in your classroom now in high school, I recommend you go to a smaller campus like this one so you can still obtain one on one attention from teachers. In addition, having all girls isn't so bad. There's less distractions and the University of Hartford is so close by you can go visit people there whenever you want!

    In three sentences

    USJ has a small campus with teachers that are always willing to help and free tutors whenever you need one. This environment is set up for you to achieve, with advisers always there to help and there are plenty of opportunities to meet with other students who graduated with the same attended major. In addition, there is always a ton of things to do on campus whenever you have free time, this can range from making cell phone cases to movie nights!