Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/19/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    USAO is great for students who have a drive or want to know that they are not just a number. This school is every thing a person looks for when they want to be more than a number and still have a chance of meeting new people. Any one who wants to succeed can succeed here. This school gives the tools to go very far in life. Also, USAO is always trying harder to be better than they are.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would say take a trip here. It maybe small, but it just makes us that much like a family. When walking into a building there is always some one opening the door or saying hi. It really makes it refreshing. It is great especially when one gets home sick. Being only 30 minutes from Lawton and 45 minutes from Oklahoma City is also great. It gives you lots of options on the weekends. Really just come visit, I am sure anyone can find a reason to fall in love with USAO

    Bang for the buck

    It is very affordable here at USAO. Scooters is our restaurant here on campus and they are extremely affordable even without a meal plan. The big thing is the teachers actually want to be here and that makes it very worth it to spend money going here. They all enjoy teaching and helping the students.

    Am enjoying being here

    USAO is in a small town and every thing is very close together, but that isn't bad at all. There is usually something always going on here on campus. Basketball, soccer, and baseball are some of the big highlights and the students get into all sporting events for free. Another bonus is that a lot of the local things are located on campus so they are just a walk away from either the dorms or the apartments.

    Am learning a lot

    I have a great time learning. The teachers are smart and helpful. The lecture open up a whole new world to a student and really get every one thinking. I am a history major and have been able to work within my major since my first semester here.

  • 06/09/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    any students. the school does have a large number of foreign students though.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is definitely worth looking at.

  • 07/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any student would feel welcome here. If you are more accustomed to larger classes, i.e., you graduated with a class of 500+, make sure you can get used to being in a class of 15 or less. I went to a tiny school and graduated with a class of 18 so this was a perfect transition for me. There are also an abundant amount of foreign students with very diverse backgrounds, so there are many opportunities to learn something from even the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise prospective students to visit the campus, if your are invited to a Scholar's retreat, accept and get acquainted with the campus and both dorms, drop in a couple of classes, even classes that aren't going to be in your chosen major, as you might have the professor in one of your IDS courses and visit with some students and professors to get a feel for how everyone interacts. Also, have a meal in the cafeteria, just to see how you might like (or dislike) the food.

    Bang for the buck

    I love the fact that I am getting an Ivy- League University level education with a community college price tag. The professors really care about how you're doing in your classes and will help you to all hours of the night and day to make sure you fully understand what is going on.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy joining in on discussions with other students and the fellowship we all feel helps us find friends much easier and because we have to cross party lines so much, many of the groups have students from across the spectrum, in my group alone, we have a Bio/Chem major, a Physics major, a couple of English majors, and a few Art and Music majors, just to state a few.

    Am learning a lot

    All of my professors have pushed their classes to do their best. They don't let you slack off, and the Interdisciplinary courses help us become well-rounded members of society and, in my opinion, keep us from being duped by the media too much, by informing us of different areas of studies that we would not pursue in our decided majors.

  • 07/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any student who wants to know that they are more than just a number to a school. Any student who wants to be challenged and well rounded in all subjects other than just the one they are majoring in. Students who enjoy a small sized campus and the feeling of having a family away from home.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early. The earlier you apply the sooner you know what scholarships you are eligible for through the school because your application is also your scholarship applications. Visit the campus and get a feel for what it would be like attending. USAO Ambassadors host many events throughout the year that offer students the chance to stay on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    USAO is extremely affordable to students of all types. More than 70 percent of the students have some type of scholarship straight from the school. Housing is more afforable than most other schools with the same type of arrangements.

    Am enjoying being here

    Though USAO is located in a small town, i honestly couldn't see myself wanting to be anywhere else. I absolutely love the school and the people who attend as well as teach and work here. USAO is like a family to me. People genuwinely care for each other and are willing to help everyone in any way they can.

    Am learning a lot

    Upon attending college I never thought it would be nearly as challenging as it has turned out to be. the professors here force you to learn as much as you possibly can. They want their students to succeed and are willing to help in any way they can. I have learned more than just the specific topic I'm studying at the time. I have learned to be a well rounded and well spoken student and individual.

  • 02/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    we've got 2 sororities and (i'm not sure) 2 fraternities. they organize a lot of interesting work on and off campus. the last thing thing they did: they helped children who have cancer to make their wishes become the truth. so, one child went to hawaii.

    Great for these types of students

    great for international students! i'm myself from russia, and i love usao, as the price is not too expensive, there're a lot of other international students, and the program of studying is really interesting!

    What to do for fun

    there're a lot of things to do for everybody. if you're interested in sports, there's a pool opened every day, if you're interested in games, you can find xbox here, pool table, movie room, a lot of computers everywhere, moreover, there're always some interesting things happening on campus (concerts, plays, exhibitions and etc)

    Tips for prospective students

    it has a low price and a lot of opportunities to get financial aid. people here are really friendly. everybody is your fiend beginning from your roommate and finishing with people working in cafeteria.

    In three sentences

    it's a wonderful university! probably it's not your #1 in the list because it's not too big, and situated in a small town. but this is the great place to choose! i'm really happy that i've chosen usao as i can't imagine myself in any other college.

  • 02/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i always feel safe on campus and the campus security is always willing to walk you to your car or dorm if you want them to.

    Greek Life

    there are two sororities (one is greek, the other is actually latin) and one fraternity.

    Clubs and Activities

    club involvement is low at times, but there are many clubs to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    those who like small classes, people who work hard, those involved in the community and on campus, people who like art.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there is a large circle made out of stones on the edge of campus. no one i have spoken to knows why it is there.

    Bang for the buck

    for being a public liberal arts university, usao is very cheap, in fact it is one of the cheapest in the state, not including community colleges. you still need scholarships to avoid debt, but it is a low cost for a quality education.

    What to do for fun

    other than the movie theater on and off campus, the pool, and hanging out with friends, there is not a whole lot to do in town. the campus is about 30 minutes away from larger towns with more things to do.

    Food and Dining

    there are two main dining areas on campus and one convenience store. the quality is not fantastic, but far better than many cafeterias i have been to.

    Dorm Life

    there are two living areas. one dorm hall and one apartment complex. both areas have their perks. perks for the apartments include access to a movie theater, pool, and gym on campus. both places provide areas for students to socialize.

    Academic Rigor

    the teachers work you hard and push your limits. they challenge you and make you think. however, they do not ask anything of you that they do not think is possible to accomplish.

    Tips for prospective students

    get to know faculty, staff, and alumni. the more they like you, the easier your time in college will be.

    In three sentences

    the university of science and arts of oklahoma is a public liberal arts university. it has small class sizes so all students get individual attention. the university provides a quality education at a low cost.

  • 05/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have 24/7 security. The security guards are super friendly and always willing to help in any way. From opening locked rooms for art students to walking students from the library to their dorm room at night, they are very nice.

    Great for these types of students

    All students can fit in very well. If you like a small campus, small classes with awesome professors, and a challenging experience, this is the school for you. They are very accepting of all types of students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In April we have Droverstock. There are local bands and musicians playing from 10am to 10pm. Raffles, blowup games, dozens of booths, and lots of food makes a great place to hang out with friends and meet new people. The center of Droverstock is the giant chalk art contest they have along the entire oval parking.

    Bang for the buck

    Being the only public Liberal Arts college in Oklahoma, USAO should be very expensive. I love how it is not that expensive but I feel like I'm getting a top-notch education.

    What to do for fun

    The town around campus is small and has a movie theater, a bowling center, and not much else. In the basement of the Student Center, they do have a pool table, Xbox (and Kinect) and Wii, ping-pong table, and other little things. There are the big cities about 30-45 minutes away that have more things to do.

    Food and Dining

    There is the cafeteria and the Terrance room to eat at daily. The food is actually not that bad.

    Dorm Life

    There is a dorm hall, one for men and one for women. The dorm halls have more rules and regulations so they are good if you need a little strictness in your life. The dorm apartments are two or four bedrooms and are really comfortable in my eyes. There is a rent-able movie theater, an outdoor pool, a gym, a hair salon, and a mini Convenience store all in the Clubhouse.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers push you to learn hard and always do the best you can. Some dish out a lot of work that takes up a good amount of time, and not procrastinating will be key. Other teachers just have you read, and trust me, you need to read the stories when they tell you to. The amount of essays and tests depend on the professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the scholarship opportunities. You only have to fill out one or two forms depending on your financial situation, and not individual essays. Meet your professors in advance if possible. If you're nice, they'll go to even greater lengths to help you.

    In three sentences

    USAO is a public liberal arts school with a large diversity of students and faculty who create a unique and well-rounded place. The classes are small and you can always get one-on-one attention from your professors. For being so cheap compared to most colleges, the education is high quality.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never felt unsafe as security is always very friendly and helpful. You'll get to know the guards all by their names, however, the campus is a bit limited with lighting as some areas do not have street lamps.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs always had to have motivation and if you are in one, you'll need to be in a good group of people and come up with stuff to do. Professors usually just left it up to the students to come up with ideas and activities so its more up to how motivated your group can be.

    Bang for the buck

    Fairly decent price for tuition and living on campus. Well worth the education you get from this liberal art college.

    What to do for fun

    The indoor swimming pool, lawson court outdoor swimming pool, gym, volley ball court, Station 82 events, Ballroom events, Art gallery events, drover stock, Montmartre Chalk Art Competition, free movie nights, drover's den ping pong table and xbox 360, lawson court theater, davis hall theater productions, and concerts in the Te Ate Theater in Trout Hall

    Food and Dining

    Not the best cafeteria food. You do have many options to choose from either getting what was on the menu to what was in the salad bar and usually a good variety of desserts. Though never really the healthiest food they served, but there was always the option to go to the Terrece Room which sometimes you'd have to what until you could swap you meal points if you did not have any cash in your account.

    Dorm Life

    I lived in Lawson court for three years and did not have too many problems. Security was always good with coming whenever you called them and needed them to quiet down any rowdy neighbors. I usually felt pretty safe with walking back from my apartment from the parking lot or to the club house.

    Academic Rigor

    Great professors that are always open to listen to what you have to say. Usually are fair with how they grade and lecture classes. All have their own way of teaching a class which makes classes interesting. The IDS courses can be a hassle but it is what gives the student a more well-rounded education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Feel free to interact as much as you can with the other departments. Take advantage of participating with the other departments and activities they do. Don't limit yourself.

    In three sentences

    The most engaging with professors and friendly campus in oklahoma. The campus is small in comparison to the other colleges in oklahoma but has its advantages for this allows students to interact with not only their own professors and fellow pupils in their majors but also with those out of their majors. Students feel more free to participate with other departments and learn more about other careers out of their field which gives our students a liberal arts perspective.

  • 11/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school is very small, all on one street block. We have 24 hour security, and one semester in i already know all of those working. They are all incredibly nice and helpful and if you need anything they are there to help. At any point they will walk you around if you feel you need security or are unsafe in any way.

    Greek Life

    There are three sororities/fraternities. None of these are national which means they are less expensive. Sigma psi omega, and kappa delta pi are our two sororities both are community service based and kappa delta pi is mainly for education majors.

    Clubs and Activities

    The list does not seem long on opportunities, but i have plenty to keep myself busy! As a deaf education major i am involved in many things including: Drover Dancers, which is our dance/pom team, ASL club, we go to deaf coffee chat together and other deaf events, Ambassadors, this is the face of the college we help incoming freshmen answer any questions etc. I am also involved in SNEA, or student national educator association in which we help with different educational projects. There are many opportunities and these are just a few.

    Great for these types of students

    the school is the perfect place for those that excel in academics, and those who do not as long as you can handle the school load. It is trying at times, however as someone who did not do incredibly well in academics i still love it here.

    Bang for the buck

    The prices are much the same as a community college, but the experience is that of a typical university. The college is its own little community.

    What to do for fun

    For fun I am very involved, however besides this there are other options. I go to the local park, the gym, the little theatre, and the pool. We also often get together to watch movies or play games.

    Food and Dining

    The town in general has very few options, however on campus there is the cafeteria, the C store, and the restaurant. All offer available meal plans, and good food. The cafeteria is the normal basic cafeteria, but has good food. The restaurant serves many things from a deli to chicken strips etc. The c store is much like a convenience store that you can use the basic dollars you have initially.

    Dorm Life

    There are two options: the typical dorm, and the Lawson Court apartments. As an incoming freshman I moved into an apartment, but for most others i would recommend a dorm. For those far from home that enjoy their own space the apartments are well worth the money.

    Academic Rigor

    This school has an incredibly hard program, however if you make it through the classes it is most definitely worth it. While classes are hard they prepare you for everything you encounter in your future job.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! The school has many ways to get involved. Go to everything you can during orientation; this is where you make friends that get you through the start of the year. Later do everything you can to stay involved and have fun meeting new people.

    In three sentences

    I really like this university; the schools rating of good for its money is correct. The classes are difficult, but a wonderful place to learn. The school has an abundance of ways to get involved.

  • 08/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security is great. There are security guards who will walk you to and from the dorms if you feel you need one. They are always available when you have car trouble or get locked out of your room.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs at usao that it will be hard not to join all of them. the club meetings are usually not at the same time as the others so its easy to be in more than one.

    What to do for fun

    There is a pool, so swimming and hanging out with your collegues is great. There is also sports to attend and rec volleyball to play.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always study because the classes are small, but the teachers will push you to your potential. Always ask questions because the teachers love to answer them.

    In three sentences

    I chose this school because its small, but productive. Your teachers spend one on one time with you and the classes are small. Its easy to find each class and the buildings are close together to make getting to class on time a breeze.

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Be interactive and social. I am pretty sure that people will acknowledge you if you step out to everyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready and do not procrastinate.

    In three sentences

    I believe that this school is very appropriate to does that are looking towards going for and art or science degree. It is small and comfortable environment. Small classes and classrooms.

  • 11/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are several organizations on campus. All organizations are very involved in school activities. Each organization is unique, and there is something for everyone.

    Food and Dining

    The food is better than most schools. There are several options of were to eat. However, it is still cafeteria food, so it is not the best.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms and apartments on campus are very nice and comfortable living spaces. They are much better than other schools. The rooms are fairly big and have a lot of storage.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors push you to do your best. They know that you can do well. They will not give you anything that they think you cannot accomplish.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise prospective students to really think hard about attending USAO. Most students who attend here love it. I would not trade my experience here for anything.

    In three sentences

    I really enjoy USAO. This school has a lot of great opportunities and organizations. The classes are very well taught and small, so you can get more time with a professor if needed.

  • 08/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always see a security guard on campus

    Clubs and Activities

    I am a member and was an office of SNEA. Great club that helps prepare for a career in education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Drover stock. A week long of festivities on campus and includes a live band such as the Flaming Lips held a concert once.

    Bang for the buck

    Most of the instructors are there to help you not be your enemy.

    What to do for fun

    I live out of town so I am not sure what to do for fun in the area

    Dorm Life

    I was an off-campus student

    Tips for prospective students

    Make friends in your major. They will be very helpful in your professional studies and college friends stick with you for life

    In three sentences

    USAO is a small college with small classes. You are able to get much needed one on one time with an instructor. Most of the instructors in my professional studies were very flexible and really aimed for you to succeed if you showed ambition and the will to succeed.

  • 01/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a fraternity, many clubs/organizations, and people that are kind and accepting.

    Bang for the buck

    USAO is cheaper than many four year universities, but not the cheapest! Which is definately why I need a scholarchip!

    What to do for fun

    We have a gym with much equipment for free to students. We have a basketball court, a on-campus restaurant, and also a student center with video games, food, pool ect.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great on campus. Meals are available throughout the day and has a variety of choices. Even Vegan!

    Dorm Life

    There are dorms which is a one bedroom room with two beds, and apartments with either two or four bedrooms. I personally prefer the apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    USAO is a public liberal arts school and focuses on teaching students from many different perspectives.

    Tips for prospective students

    USAO is an excellent school for all pursuing a degree. Keep up your grades and you will have a great experience here.

    In three sentences

    The University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma is an amazing school. The teachers care about there students and help them along the path to graduation. The campus and social scene has a small town feel and makes me feel right at home.