Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

University of Scranton Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/24/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 9 people found this review useful. 1 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The University of Scranton is great for all types of students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just study at least a little bit every day, and you will learn the material plus save yourself time from cramming and pulling all-nighters a few days before tests/quizzes. Try to stay active on campus somehow, whether it is clubs or sports. Most importantly take it easy and enjoy your time here.

    Bang for the buck

    The University of Scranton utilizes the money you pay very well. They have a top notch tutoring center. It provides many other services also, such as help with computers, essays/papers, etc. They have a wellness center and volunteer office. We have a great gym and recreational area, along with an outside sand volleyball pit, soccer field, tennis courts, and basketball court. Also, they have a new business building and will soon begin construction of the new science building. These are just the few things I can list off the top of my head. Overall, the University of Scranton is well worth your money.

    Am enjoying being here

    Scranton is a fun place to be. We just opened a new student center last year, it is quite amazing. We have plenty of sports, intramural sports, and clubs to keep everyone happy. The city is booming with plenty of things to do. There is a mall a few blocks away from campus along with a movie theater. Downtown is about 2-3 blocks away. There is a park few blocks up for those outdoor people. Whatever the need is, you will find it at Scranton. There will and is always something to do.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes can be challenging at times, but are very worth while and you will learn plenty. The science classes tend to be quite challenging but aren't too bad. The philosophy classes are quite interesting and make you think quite a lot about things that you probably have before. Overall, you will learn but won't kill yourself in the process.

  • 06/17/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 2 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Biology, Biomedical Science, Chemistry, etc..

    Tips for prospective students

    When applying don't forgot to include every little thing you have done throughout high school, it will make a difference in the end, plus you will end up paying less money!

    Bang for the buck

    It is a lot of money but if you have the grades they are very generous in their scholarships and in the end you will be paying for quality

    Will enjoy being here

    A brand new student center + the city of Scranton + endless activities and clubs = total fun, when your not studying of course!

    Will learn a lot

    Freshmen year courses are specifically designed to ready you for your respective major.

  • 05/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants a school to get a very good education in the sciences or math-type majors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Figure out how to manage your time as soon as possible.

    Bang for the buck

    The University of Scranton, although very expensive, gives you a lot in return. Just like the saying, what you put in, is what you'll get out. You really do get a lot from the school.

    Am enjoying being here

    I absolutely love being at the University of Scranton. The atmosphere is amazing, you can tell the people here are different than those on other campuses. If you need someone, there will always e somewhere you can go to talk to another person, whether it's an RA, teacher, counselor or someone else.

    Am learning a lot

    They have great teachers here, you really have to work hard not to learn a lot.

  • 06/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Involved, active, leaders, team members, social, friendly, easy-going, happy, and religious.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use every opportunity you are given to your advantage. Work hard, but make sure you find time to enjoy yourself and to take part in the various and multiple events and activities that are offered each and every day. Don't be afraid to ask questions or seek help because everyone on campus is more than willing to lend a helping hand.

    Bang for the buck

    With the activities, events, classes, and academic support offered by the university, it is worth every penny. The tuition is pricey, but the school won't disappoint. They offer you so much for your money. The dorm life, the food, the class sizes, the office hours, and the endless events are more than enough reasons to attend here.

    Am enjoying being here

    The friends that I have made at Scranton are friends that I will have for the rest of my life. Campus life is active and constantly ongoing. There is always something to do, and events on campus are limitless. The clubs and activities offered to the students are numerous, and I wish I had time to check them all out. There is never a dull moment here, and I love it.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes that I have taken over the past two years here at The University of Scranton have taught me so much about my major. I have learned to apply myself as a leader and a team member throughout each and every class that I have taken. I have taken advantage of my professors' resources, office hours, and willingness to help. The university offers so many unique and different classes for everyone, and I even find myself disappointed that I cannot take them all. I have not only learned here at Scranton, but I have matured and developed as a person.

  • 01/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Since U of S is a Jesuit school, there is no greek life.

    Great for these types of students

    Roman Catholics (or non-religious), students who want a good education and want to party

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Parade Day: Scranton, PA has the second largest St. Patty's Day Parade. Students make the day of the parade into a day of celebration with drinking all day to celebrate. There are parties galore. The city makes a huge big deal about it.

    What to do for fun

    I won't beat around the bush...Scranton is a pretty big party school. They say, There ain't no party like a Scranton party! Other than that, with a Scranton student ID, students can ride the bus for free which takes them to several shopping areas that also have movie theaters. There is also a mall within walking distance as well as many restaurants. The University also offers many clubs and sports for students to get involved in.

    Food and Dining

    The food is DELICIOUS! Usually college food is fattening and bland but there is so much of a variety and Scranton and all of the students love it! There are about five different places students can get food on campus. There is a cafeteria, a Chic-fil-a, a mexican place, a starbucks, a quiznos, and a few other areas to get food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorming at Scranton is awesome! You are able to dorm with who you'd like and RA's are great! The dorms are more spacious than most and by Junior year students are able to live in brand new apartments and have their own room.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are very hard at The University of Scranton. However, you really feel as if you are getting an excellent education which is a good thing when you pay loads to go here. Just make sure not to fill up your semester schedule with too many difficult classes at once. Also, make sure you check ratemyprofessor.com to see how other students previously rated a professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Remember that college is an experience. Learn to balance schoolwork with social events and friends. Come to this school if you like delicious food! The cafeteria at Scranton is AMAZING for college food. Branch out and be social. You will find some of your best friends in life while at college.

    In three sentences

    The University of Scranton is a Jesuit University in the small city of Scranton, PA which is nestled in a beautiful valley in the Pocono Mountain area. Students and teachers are so kind and are always looking to help out others academically and socially. When attending the University of Scranton, students receive an excellent education and say they feel as if they grow to be more independent and learn to understand themselves on a deeper level.

  • 01/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    it's good since the price is so high but not amazing.

    What to do for fun

    many on and off campus activities set up by the school.

    Food and Dining

    amazing

    Dorm Life

    average

    Academic Rigor

    difficult courses and challenging professors.

    In three sentences

    the university of scranton is a wonderful school with a lively student population. the campus is beautiful and close to anything you need. the food is amazing too!

  • 02/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i always feel safe on campus, there is public safety everywhere as well as the safety emergency boxes. recently the police of scranton teamed up with the university for more safety on campus.

    Greek Life

    we do not have greek life, and i think that is great because it makes the school closer and a better community.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a lot of clubs and activities. at least twice a year there is a club fair and also fairs for voluenteer service. the university encourages the students to get involved.

    Great for these types of students

    it's great for all kind of students. the university is very diverse and accpeting of everyone and anyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    every year there is a thing called parade day and it is a st. patricks day parade held the weekend before saint patricks day. all the streets get closed down and a lot of people attend, as well as the cast from the office. there are vendors and it is a lot of fun. there is also an italian festival every year on labor day weekend. great food!

    Bang for the buck

    it is very expensive to go here but it will be worth every penny.

    What to do for fun

    a mall and a movie are walking distance, or there is a free shuttle that takes you to another mall and movie theater. the shuttle also takes you to a lot of different restaurants.

    Food and Dining

    the food is very good, you don't have to worry about spending money on extra food.

    Dorm Life

    everyone is very friendly and you make so many friends.

    Academic Rigor

    it is very difficult but you get a great eduation.

    Tips for prospective students

    it has a great atmosphere and the people make you feel very welcomed.

    In three sentences

    best experience ever!

  • 04/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are always public safety officers driving around campus along with circling around the off campus area as well

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of options. There is a nearby movie theater along with bowling, the mall, lots of restaurants, and activities put on by the clubs. There are also typical college parties and several bars

    Food and Dining

    The food was better than many other schools that I looked at. There are lots of options and the time is convenient

    Dorm Life

    I loved living in dorms. Everyones door was always open and there was always someone around to talk to!

    Academic Rigor

    I'm a biochem major so there is a lot of work and studying to be done but it was expected.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to keep on top of your work. Try to read over things before you go to class so you know whats going on and actually go to class.

    In three sentences

    Scranton is great. It is homey and the people are friendly. The campus is warm and welcoming and it couldn't have been an easier transition from living at home to being on my own.

  • 05/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    play sports, party

    Academic Rigor

    You must study, and attend class!

    Tips for prospective students

    STUDY!

    In three sentences

    It is a great school, I have a lot of fun here while my learning is pushed to my highest potential. The teachers and very smart and fun! Everyone is really friendly!

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The University of Scranton's priority is the student's safety.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life at the University of Scranton, something I love about the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are countless clubs and activities on campus, and even more than that, if there is nothing to your liking, it is possible and encouraged to start a new club.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student that wants to feel like part of a community should come to the University of Scranton. We are a family. One day when we are employed, we will come across an alum from Scranton and know that we are connected.

    Bang for the buck

    I think that even though the school is expensive, it is so worth it. I know that a degree from The University of Scranton will mean something to employers all over the world.

    What to do for fun

    The University makes sure that there are events all the time to keep the students occupied and satisfied with their time at Scranton. The school is located close to downtown Scranton which has so many things to do like shopping, movies, walking, and hiking.

    Food and Dining

    We have a top-rate cafeteria with so many healthy options that fit anyone's taste. Our kitchen staff is kind and completely concerned about the students happiness.

    Dorm Life

    I loved housing at the University of Scranton. There is guaranteed housing for 4 years and the maintenance staff is wonderful.

    Academic Rigor

    Speaking with knowledge specifically from the Biology department, professors expect the best from their students because they know they can provide great futures for us.

    Tips for prospective students

    My main tip for prospective students would be to have self-knowledge. They should know coming in how to study and how to manage time because professors at the University of Scranton expect the best of their students.

    In three sentences

    The University of Scranton has become my second home. While I love being home with my family, I know that Scranton will always be a part of me now too. The University of Scranton is an amazing place with amazing students and staff that make a community like I have never known.

  • 06/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    PUBLIC SAFETY IS EVERYWHERE

    Clubs and Activities

    SO MANY OPTIONS!

    Great for these types of students

    ANY!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    FIRST FRIDAY! GOOGLE IT!

    Bang for the buck

    $$$$$ EXPENSIVE

    What to do for fun

    SKI, SWIM, PLAY, READ, THEATER, FIRST FRIDAY!

    Food and Dining

    FRESH FOOD :) MADE IN Front of YOU!

    Dorm Life

    LOFTSTYLE!

    Academic Rigor

    Quite quite rigorous if you are a science major. It's very difficult to get an A. A-'s are all over.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work hard!

    In three sentences

    The faculty and staff are extremely caring. They make it like home. Don't feel bad about asking questions.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a full police force that is constantly on patrol of campus to ensure a safe atmosphere.

    Greek Life

    We do not have a Greek system. Instead, we have team and club houses that throw parties of all sorts.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs and activities to join from humanitarian clubs to club athletics and everything in between.

    Great for these types of students

    Athletes, Scholars, Competitive individuals, Everyone

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our biggest tradition is, of course, the Jesuit Tradition to Go Forth and Set the World on Fire. Our second biggest tradition is Saint Patrick's Day Parade. Whether you go to the parade or not, you'll never feel more Irish than when you're in Scranton for Parade Day.

    Bang for the buck

    Although we have a near IVY league level tuition, employers want their employees from the University of Scranton. Professional schools look to us for their top students.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something to do. From comedians, to musicians, to campus programs, we always have fun!

    Food and Dining

    Do you like having options in an all-you-can-eat near fine-dining atmosphere? That's how the dining hall is every single day. The staff are friendly and awesome!

    Dorm Life

    Brand-new apartments for upperclassmen, quad-style dorms for sophomores, and doubles for freshmen. Maintenance staff are great people and work hard. Easy to make new friends wherever you live.

    Academic Rigor

    Competitive classes for those who like a challenge. Pre-Professional programs are top-notch. Fun electives.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit the campus, sit in on some classes, and hang out with the students.

    In three sentences

    The best college for all types of people. Extremely fun place to live and study. Competitive classes for who like a challenge.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life

    What to do for fun

    There are sports to do that make the school fun. You can also go downtown or go to a party on the weekends or find one during the week.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are very interested in the school before you attend. It is a good school and the social life is great if you join a sport or like house parties. Other than that the academics are challenging, but make sure you think of how you are getting home without a train.

    In three sentences

    I would have to say that the University of Scranton is a nice place to go to school at. Unfortunately, the surrounding area doesn't allow the school to reach its full potential along with the transportation it has to offer its students. Because there is a lack of transportations like trains it makes it tremendously harder to get home.

  • 06/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Whenever you're out on campus you can be sure to at see one member of Public Safety (they're easy to spot, always wearing BLUE)

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Many to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    If you have more than 3 of these qualities, this is the school for you: Easygoing Fun Lively Smart Excited Inspired Holy Easy-going Driven Passionate Healthy

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It rains - a lot, so bring rainboots!

    Bang for the buck

    Although it's expensive to go here, you get excellent food, great housing, and a friendly environment. Not to mention the attentive staff and high level of education.

    What to do for fun

    Join intramural or a sport, attend floor programs, and weekend programs.

    Food and Dining

    This was a high deciding factor in my choosing schools. We have excellent food and a variety of options.

    Dorm Life

    Your floor mates become a type of family, especially freshman year. Get to know them!

    Academic Rigor

    Each class challenges you, whether or not it is in your major. Many majors hold high standards in order to continue in the program.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in activities, sports, clubs, etc. You meet a lot of great people, and make a lot of connections.

    In three sentences

    The University challenges you to not only grow your mind, but also your body and spirit. Everyone is friendly and welcoming, especially professors. It truly is a home away from home.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Let's be honest- the University of Scranton is not cheap. However, attending this highly accredited Jesuit University is without a doubt worth every penny. I have never known a student to regret attending Scranton. In addition, with the variety of scholarships, grants, and federal aid available to students, you would be hard pressed to find a student paying full-price for their education. The University truly wants its students to enjoy their time at school, so are more than happy to assist any student who needs financial assistance. With that said, the academic, social, and community aspects of the University make it worth the price- many times over.

    Food and Dining

    The dining experience is the best I have experienced at any college, hands down. The variety, availability, and quality of the food is beyond what I ever had for college. Being able to watch the chefs prepare your food right in front of you is a huge plus also- you know what you're eating is fresh. Best thing about the dining- the chocolate milk in DeNaples!

    Dorm Life

    Rooming at the University of Scranton was one of my favorite things as an underclassman. I met my 6 best friends in my residence hall freshman year, and now live with them in an off-campus house. The community feel of the University is ever present in the dorms, where students and maintenance workers alike are genuinely friendly and interested in getting to know you. The rooms are appropriately sized, and provide the necessary furniture and ammenities for college students.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses at the University of Scranton are not for the feint of heart. While there are some courses that you can take simply because you know the teacher is easy or you are guaranteed an A, the majority of courses offered will challenge students, but in a good way. The courses push students to fully utilize everything they have learned previously in order to advance their thinking and prepare for the future. Even though students may say Why am I learning this?, they quickly realize everything they are studying will be put to good use at some point. And while courses may be difficult, especially as students advance through their degree, faculty are more than willing to lend a helping hand. Convenient office hours and review sessions make those tough courses easy enough to handle.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    16 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    What to do for fun

    lots of great live music in scranton, skiing and snoboarding really close

    Tips for prospective students

    get off campus housing

    In three sentences

    it's the ivy leage of northeastern pa

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public safety at Scranton is very quick to respond, very friendly and understanding, too.

    Greek Life

    There is no form of Greek Life on campus here at Scranton.

    Bang for the buck

    It can be expensive to continue studying here, but I have a great feeling that it is well worth the money. Given all the opportunities present for the taking, and the help that is available, this certainly is a great school, at a great price.

    What to do for fun

    There are many events that go on at Scranton. They occur very often, too. Sometimes a carnival comes around, the next there's live performances, and one time a laser tag set up was here!

    Food and Dining

    The food is great here at Scranton. My buddies and I always enjoy going in big groups to dinner so we can talk about what is good, what is different, and what didn't meet our expectations when it comes to food. The cafeteria is large and the people working catering are really friendly and understanding.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are not the best, but they are certainly comfortable and cozy, in my opinion. They are clustered together and in different levels. which provide for many hang out spots. The RAs were also very cooperative and friendly if any problems arose.

    Academic Rigor

    Scranton can be tough, as we any other college class, unless you pay attention. I found myself making more use of taking notes and paying attention rather than just taking the study guides provided and looking the answers up in books. Some classes really require a hands-on approach, such as research methods for Psychology students.

    Tips for prospective students

    The first couple of weeks, as with any other campus, can be overwhelming. I was not used to so many class-mates, but after those few weeks, everything seemed to fall into place. The buildings can be a bit difficult to navigate through, but the class size, and one-on-one attention makes up for it. Scranton has great tools for helping those in need of guidance, such as their curriculum online.

    In three sentences

    My experience at the University of Scranton has been both exciting and overwhelming, so far. The atmosphere, both educational and social, are filled with opportunities that I would not want to miss. It is a great school, no doubt, and I look forward to continuing my education here.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. We have University Police riding around all the time and they provide a student safe ride service that will pick you up and walk/drive you back to your dorm at night. The city itself is dangerous to walk around at night by yourself. Don't be stupid and you will be fine.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Besides the basketball teams, sports are not very big here. Hardly anyone attends the games. Certain clubs have a high membership but a lot of clubs do not. There are always a lot of activities going on on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for science majors and people that like to go out a lot to house parties on the weekends.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Dionne Green is where all outdoor events take place. We have a Ball Roll where they roll hundreds of tennis balls down the commons and if they pick your tennis ball you could win a prize.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is very expensive but they do give a lot of scholarship money and financial aid. The dorms are beautiful and the campus is all practically new with all the construction. If you are science major I'd say you get a lot for what you pay but as a Communication Major I don't believe I am provided the best resources for what I pay.

    What to do for fun

    Most people like to go to parties on The Hills on the weekends. If you don't want to do that the school offers a lot of Late Night activities that you can do. They show movies not yet on DVD, karaoke, comedians, bands and a lot more. They are good at creating alternative things that you can go to if you do not like to drink.

    Food and Dining

    Food and Dining IS the best thing about this campus. We are known for our amazing cafeteria. They have a huge variety of things to eat upstairs and it is hard to find something you won't like. There is also a Quizno's, Zaccos and Chic-a-file downstairs. The school just finished building The Pod which also has amazing food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is one of the best things about this school. The RAs try very hard to make you feel welcome and they do a great job. Normally your floor gets really close and even though they are cheesy, the ice breakers and events they make you go to help you make good friends.

    Academic Rigor

    As a communication major, so far I do not think the academics are too rigorous and I am disappointed with the things made available to help us see what the real world in this career is like. If you are going to major in something besides Business, Science or Teaching I would not come here. My friends who major in Biology or other sciences think it is very difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you come here plan on staying on campus for most of the time. There's nothing really in the city besides a deserted mall with a few good stores. The things the campus offers makes up for the lack of activities in the town it's up to you to become active on campus.

    In three sentences

    The University of Scranton has a lot of different clubs and activities to do on campus. The faculty and staff try hard to make you feel welcome but in the end it is up to you to participate in things. It also has a beautiful campus.

  • 08/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Personally, i have experience some trouble with the local people, but every college will have theft, muggings, and crime. Scranton University has their own police force, but their effectiveness does leave some room for improvement.

    Greek Life

    none what-so-ever.

    Clubs and Activities

    a bunch, pretty much whatever your into you can probably find.

    Great for these types of students

    outgoing, independent, friendly, and open minded.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Fat Daddy's is the place to eat after a night out. We have the ball roll which is a great fundraiser that gives you a chance at a lot of cool prizes

    Bang for the buck

    Honestly, if you don't receive any financial aid or scholarship, it can get pretty expensive; so when it comes to bang for your buck it all depends on how much money you or your parents can spend.

    What to do for fun

    This may be Scranton's big draw back. The city of Scranton got hit hard by the recession and local business and entertainment has been decreased. However, The University always has events planned during the week and week ends for your entertainment. The U is also very well known for their parties.

    Food and Dining

    The Fresh food company operates all of The University's dining options on campus, and they have operated a top 5 kitchen in their region for the past few years. Their selection covers omlettes for brunch to gyro's and chicken fried steak for dinner.

    Dorm Life

    Very few colleges deserve higher than a 3, they will always be small and never exactly what you want. However, as a Freshmen at Scranton, you will experience a comfortable transition to the college life. Following your freshmen year, the luck of the lottery determines your dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    As an education major, we face a lot of restrictions and requirements to move up to each level of the major. This is something Scranton imposes on all professional studies majors (nursing, teaching, therapy, etc..) and you will be prohibited from continuing if you don't keep those standards. Scranton is also a Jesuit University, they believe in a well rounded education. This means your General Education will consists of science, math, theology, humanities, and gym; along with your major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Scranton really is a great University, but it is quite expensive (as college pricing is on the rise), so before coming here make sure you it is the right decision for you because (depending on your major) the academic requirements can become strenuous.

    In three sentences

    For some reason, the community that comes together at the University of Scranton through each student body culminates in some of the nicest people I have ever met. Most Professors are the most knowledgeable people you can talk to, but every single one cares about their students. The surrounding community isn't the greatest, but if you are willing to be open there will always be something to do.

  • 10/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The University of Scranton has done all it can to cater to my gluten-free diet and has done a decent job doing so.

    Dorm Life

    The University of Scranton provides more than enough services to make college living as comfortable and as enjoyable as possible.

    Academic Rigor

    I have been challenged at the University of Scranton to critically explore various topics pertaining to my majors, neuroscience and philosophy, as well as many topics outside of my major.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is mostly a contained campus and I have never felt unsafe on campus. However, when venturing off campus, especially at night, students should be aware of their surroundings and make intelligent decisions such as not using expensive electronics and walking in pairs or groups.

    Greek Life

    None. Sports teams seem to be the U's equivalency to greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Although limited, there is a variety of clubs and activities available to students but they may be something you have to actively seek out.

    Great for these types of students

    Pre-med students, business students, biology or chemistry majors, occupational therapy students etc.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    As a Jesuit school there are religious traditions that the school promotes such as the annual Christmas tree lighting ceremony and special masses. Students are never required to attend religious ceremonies.

    Bang for the buck

    At the U I am satisfied with my education and experience however, tuition is expensive and unless you are a science or business major I don't know if you are getting what you should be for the price.

    What to do for fun

    The U provides a pretty good amount of on-campus entertainment throughout the week and on weekends. The university's programming board tries very hard to get quality and varied entertainment in for students and works to get students to attend. However, while this school may not be considered a party school by some, there is a high prevalence of partying on the weekends.

    Food and Dining

    The food at the U is considered excellent by most students. I am a vegetarian and find my options very limited. With the addition of the third dining option, the new POD, that is available to any student without an unlimited meal plan there are a few more options.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman and Sophomore dorms and relatively spacious and kept clean with a light cleaning service. People are friendly and the school stresses a positive community in and outside of the classroom. Especially in freshman halls, the hall becomes a community.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics at the U are rigorous especially for students interested in studying in the sciences. Despite being a liberal arts school it is predominately science driven, as evidence by the multi-million dollar new science building. Accepted students are accepted for a reason and can achieve excellent grades but it will require effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    Had I known how science-focused the U is I may have decided to attend elsewhere. This is a great school for any science major and those students have state-of-the-art equipment and learning resources. It is also a fantastic school for business majors. Unfortunately, departments such as theater, foreign languages, education and English/ literature could use an update and leave a little to be desired for students.

    In three sentences

    The University of Scranton, or the U, is a small closely-knit school that stresses excellence in the classroom. Academics are not extraordinarily hard but a high GPA will require work from most students. It's a small school where everyone knows one another and small class sizes.

  • 01/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Everyone assumes that college food is going to be pretty bland and disgusting. However, at Denaples, there are so many choices it's impossible to get bored. There is always the first floor with Chick fila and many other choices. I have had many friends that have visited from other schools and they all agree that Scranton has the best food!

    Dorm Life

    I live in Nevils and in only a couple of months my floor has become a very close group of friends. Everyone is friendly and there is always an RA around which creates a really safe community and a very enjoyable one to be apart of!

    Academic Rigor

    Like any other college, at Scranton, the work you put in is what you'll get out of it. I haven't had a class in which I felt unable to pass. The teachers are always there with office hours to help with whatever you need and it's a very assuring feeling.

    Tips for prospective students

    When first applying to Scranton, I didn't even really consider it to be one of my top choices. I extremely recommend coming to visit - I came to the junior open house and I immediately fell in love with this school. You may have your ideal school picked out but keep your mind open and come visit - you won't regret it!

    In three sentences

    Scranton is the perfect fit for students who don't want an overwhelming population. The teachers are always there to help and in the one semester I have attended, I have met many great friends. Everyone here is so friendly and it's quickly become my new home away from home!

  • 01/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    What to do for fun

    Go into town, ski, or go visit Dickson City.

    Dorm Life

    It all depends on where you get placed

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep organized. Invest in rain boots and a decent rain jacket.

    In three sentences

    A very welcoming community. Lots of opportunities to get involved. There are lots of helpful and caring people.

  • 01/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On-campus is very safe, but the streets around the University are not. Someone is mugged or assaulted almost every weekend on Thursday, Friday, and/or Saturday nights. The University does, however, provide the Royal Ride, which is a car service run by campus safety that will come get you from anywhere around campus or even off campus if you don't feel safe walking around. They also send out Community Advisories every time there is an incident to warn students and look for witnesses.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs offered, but it's hard to know where they meet and when if you can't make it to the first club fair.

    Great for these types of students

    Partiers, but also pre-med students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    CK's Pizza is down the street: it's the local hangout for everyone, especially after a night of drinking. There are a lot of statues around campus that end up being meeting points for people. Saint Patrick's Day is practically a holy day of obligation, and someone is seriously injured or even killed almost every year.

    Bang for the buck

    The education is outstanding, but the school is pricey and they demand a lot from you to keep your scholarship.

    What to do for fun

    If you're into drinking and partying, there's a ton to do on weekends. Scranton tries to provide alternative activities, but people are usually so busy partying that they don't show up to the activities. A lot of times when I go it's virtually just me, two or three of my friends, and the people running the event.

    Food and Dining

    Great cafeteria and food court, but not a lot of variety for vegetarians. Dining Services has been trying a lot harder lately to help students with gluten allergies.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms can be crappy and more than a little shady, but Condron Hall and the new junior/senior apartments are awesome.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the teachers are really intense, but as long as you work hard and get your work done you'll be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to boost your application with community service as well as outstanding academics. Scranton's not only looking for the brightest, but also the best.

    In three sentences

    Scranton has a truly family-style feel where everyone cares about everyone else. The academic challenges are rigorous, so don't come if you only want to drink and party. Athletics are not a main focus here.

  • 01/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very good campus security including student officers

    Greek Life

    No Greek life

    Great for these types of students

    Science majors and business majors

    Bang for the buck

    Although the tuition I'd pretty hefty, i do feel like I really am getting the most for my money. The services that are available at the university are unmatched,

    What to do for fun

    Scranton is a small city with a lot of things to do. There are a lot of restaurants nearby. There is a mall within walking distance of the school. Dickson city, a town close by, has a bowling alley, another mall, more restaurants and a movie theater.

    Food and Dining

    The dinning hall has a variety of foods everyday. There are always healthy choices available and even a gluten free station for those with gluten allergies.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are beautiful and the bathroom are very clean. There is a housekeeping service included in the room and board charge.

    Academic Rigor

    Being a. Biology major, I chose the university over school such as Pitt and temple because of the high acceptance for medical school.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest getting to know your professors, the professors at the university. The professors at the university take pride in building relationships with their students. I would also suggest joining some clubs to get tot know more people. Also talk to some of the people in your classes. You should even consider making a study group with some of them.

    In three sentences

    The University is a great place to be. Being a Jesuit university, the faculty and staff are very hands-on and take the time to get to know their students. The environment at Scranton is very friendly.

  • 01/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have our own campus police and call buttons at various locations on campus. Campus escorts are available if it's late and you don't want to walk alone

    Greek Life

    City Cafe is a Mediterranean restaurant that's close to campus

    Clubs and Activities

    Every major has it's own club. Aside from that there's International club, chess club, ski club etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Nature lovers-Nay Aug Park Coffee drinkers-Northern Light Coffee Movie lovers-Marquee cinema theater and on campus Redbox Burger Fanatics-Kildare's Irish Pub

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Well it's a Jesuit school so there's a church. The Christmas Tree lighting ceremony is nice.

    Bang for the buck

    Manning's ice cream is a must try!

    What to do for fun

    On campus offers movies nights, comedians, concerts on weekends and weekday nights. There are plenty of restaurants, convenience stores, pharmacies, a mall and movie theater etc within walking distance from campus. There's is also beautiful Nay Park up the street which has a nature path, picnic areas and a gorge with a waterfall.

    Food and Dining

    The main cafeteria has delicious options and great variety. The University's dining website list menu options daily for all meals. If you are not interested in what's offered, there are 4 other dining areas on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Inviting. The campus is beautiful and there is plenty of dorms available to accommodate students.

    Academic Rigor

    It's challenging, but manageable. As long as you stay on top of school work, you will have plenty of time for friends and hobbies. Tutoring is available and flexible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Expect to do service, especially if you are interested in a major that helps people (ie. medical profession, counseling, teacher). Scranton is a Jesuit University and values helping others. If you like volunteering, this is a good choice for you.

    In three sentences

    The University of Scranton offers a friendly and welcoming atmosphere, which truly makes it a second home. Everyone here is really nice and the majority of people, when asked, admit that they love the university. Many people return after graduation to visit the campus, friends, or former professors.

  • 02/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I'm an on-line learner.

    Greek Life

    This is not a matter of interest to myself.

    Clubs and Activities

    Scranton has a strong reputation for all of their programs, especially education. Getting in touch with the appropriate people, one, even as an on-line learner may be part of groups and activities when we reach out.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is phenomenal for any student who makes a decision to grow in all areas, not just education. It breathes life into the journey of your choice, curiosity into the wanderer, and calm into the student looking for a home.

    Bang for the buck

    Working on my MSED is very important to me. My desire for truth, ethics, and an understanding that we are all equal and global is bundled up in a package of professors and administrators who share this vision. They open up to me when I express my concerns about myself or the concepts at hand. It's vital that I walk with a class and recieve my diploma, in front of my two daughters in order to model what life-long learning is about. It's not just about making more money but learning more about myself and the world. This is not-for-profit school, so obviously, it's less expensive, but it holds a name, character, and rigor of any international university and goes the extra mile that many other schools demand financially, first.

    What to do for fun

    The most exciting forum at Scranton for the on-line learner is that we get to join in whatever is going on at the school. We are able to participate in many schoolwide functions, ideas, contests, and exchanges, which are always made assessable to us.

    Food and Dining

    I am an on-line learner.

    Dorm Life

    I am an on-line learner.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor is not questionable at the University of Scranton. Professors expect the best and more from each student, as an idividual student, along with prior experiences and rapport. Rigor of the experience may be altered when the student focusses on presenting more than what is asked.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be completely honest and ethical, in your work, even when it's not comprehended. Scranton finds ways to address the individual's learning style, if the student addresses concerns or frustration of any kind. The university is openminded and is principled in ethics and methodologies.

    In three sentences

    The professors are not only professors, as they are life-long learners in their fields. They welcome and invite self insight and experience. Scranton has an invaluable creation of complete acceptance of all students, regardless of status and religion of any kind.

  • 07/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The campus has groups that organize activities to do. Even your RA's have activities for you. Some cost money but I have never paid for anything more than $20 and then I got half my money back anyways. If you join clubs they always have events. Not only are there activities by the school you can take the bus out of town to go to movies or you could walk right off campus and find something to do. I can honestly say I am NEVER bored.

    Food and Dining

    I LOVE THE FOOD! There is always something for everyone. They even bring in sushi sometimes. Don't even get me started on upscale Wednesday! TOO YUMMY!!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a lot better than most places I have visited. Maintenance are the best people ever! They are really nice and do a wonderful job. Even though it is considered light house keeping, they do a lot. They are spacious enough for two people and they are in pretty good condition.

    Academic Rigor

    All my classes have not been easy. If you do your work, listen in class, participate in class, and actually GO to class, they become easier. The professors are great. They are always willing to help and they really try to get to know you. You might not think that is important but it really is. The professors challenge you with work and push you to do your best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you look at where your classes will be before your first day of classes, that way you can make sure you know where you are going. Don't be afraid to speak up in classes because the professors like that and it will help you in the class more. Also, it is super easy to make friends so just put in a little effort it is super easy here.

    In three sentences

    The University of Scranton is a warm and welcoming campus that thrives off of the students' diversities and interests. The beautiful campus allows students to feel at home and makes getting to classes simpler. There is always something to do and the food is amazing!

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There are no fraternities at the U.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club fair every year where all of the clubs are interested in talking to YOU. It's fun!

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone interested in the sciences! This school is great for anything science related, but not limited to them. Overall, it's a fun school for everyone who attends!

    Food and Dining

    The food is fresh and made to order! There are very few days where you'll be disappointed with what is offered! You should never be hungry!

    Dorm Life

    Possibly the best part. Your freshman year, I would opt for the smaller dorms because you literally become best friends with all of your floor mates! The Cura Personalis and Wellness program are two examples where freshman are in a smaller residence hall.

    Academic Rigor

    As always, it depends on what you're studying, but for the most part, it is pretty rigorous. Luckily, if you utilize the resources the U provides (and you pay for) you should have no problem doing really well at this school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! There are so many opportunities to get involved at the U. From volunteering at a local animal shelter in the Scranton area to international service trips to places like Honduras! The possibilities are endless, and you can make a difference!

    In three sentences

    The University of Scranton is a very homey community. Everyone is friendly, and the professors want to make sure that you do your best. The Scranton opportunity provides many volunteer opportunities for students who are looking to get involved!

  • 09/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We receive alerts any time there is an incident on or off campus. Additionally, Public Safety is always around to assist you if you should need it.

    Greek Life

    The University of Scranton does not have Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are countless clubs and activities on campus, anything from Ultimate Frisbee to Urban Beats (the school's hip-hop dance team), from Relay for Life to being able to volunteer at the campus' own free clinic for the surrounding area. Whatever your interest, you will be able to find a niche at Scranton.

    Bang for the buck

    The University has a high acceptance rate into medical schools, dental schools, and graduate programs. I believe that it is worth the money.

    Food and Dining

    The dining options are great. You can choose from 3rd floor DeNaples (normal college cafeteria cuisine with an upscale option such as lobster and steak, etc.), 1st floor DeNaples (Chick-fil-a, Quiznos, Starbucks, etc.), or the POD (salads and sandwiches). Everything is delicious!

    Dorm Life

    Dorming at the University of Scranton is amazing! The rooms are larger than many other college dorms that I have seen. Res Life puts on great programs such as floor dinners, outdoor movies, and the campus block party. The Junior/Senior apartment options are gorgeous.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here are difficult, but designed to benefit you in the long run. However, I feel that I can do well in class and still have a social life.

    In three sentences

    The University of Scranton is a beautiful campus located in the city of Scranton, Pennsylvania. It is known for its academics and wonderful students. People will always hold the door for you here (literally).

  • 11/04/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    31 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Close to city but very safe.

    Greek Life

    Non existent.

    Clubs and Activities

    Everyone enjoyed!

    Great for these types of students

    Students seeking close knit and one on one learning.

    Bang for the buck

    I don't think the cost is worth it, it seems like smaller state schools fit criteria as well.

    What to do for fun

    You can do intramural and club sports, join a club, or hang out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    Best food I've eaten.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone loved dorms. Bigger than normal.

    Academic Rigor

    I know that they help a lot with internships and working, but you can handle the courseload relatively easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your SAT up.

    In three sentences

    The professors are extremely polite, I recommend talking to admissions counselors. If you like close knit, this school has it. The people you meet are so friendly and happy to be here.

  • 11/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    with our own police force campus always feels very safe.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    With tons of clubs on campus there is something for everyone and you are allowed to start your own club too.

    Great for these types of students

    Hard academic types, party goers, and everyone in between.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Parade day! The St. Patrick's day Parade boast over 150,000 people in attendance and the students go nuts for it.

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive as hell but a great school.

    What to do for fun

    There's always things to do on campus with tons of events every week and lots of diverse programs to choose from.

    Food and Dining

    The food is fantastic, Even people who live off campus have meal plans.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are great and lots of fun to live in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard but enjoy your time here too. Get involved on campus and meet new people.

    In three sentences

    Scranton is a fantastic school. Everyone is very friendly and welcoming there. The teachers really care and want to help you succeed.