Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

University of South Carolina-Aiken Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/15/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 out of 13 people found this review useful. 1 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Everyone is welcomed at the University of South Carolina. Our Nursing Program is top-notch and so our other programs which makes it hard to point out one. Some students use our university as a beginning step to go to the Columbia school, but after you stay for a semester, you will probably want to stay the whole four years. Our Education programs are great also and there are many scholarships/grants that are specifically for this program. If you wish to work locally or within South Carolina then there are many intern positions available to allow you to experience your pursued career hands-on. All in all, our university is diverse and prepared to suit anyone in there particular field of study. Like I said before, our university's main priority is to assist you and make sure all types of students succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Call the University of South Carolina - Aiken Admissions Office as soon as possible if you are interested in attending at 1-888-WOW-USCA. The people here are on call especially for you and can start you on your way to success. The majority of USCA students have a Facebook so you can look people up and ask why they chose this university. My personal Facebook profile can be found at www.facebook.com/trottie. Send me a friend request and/or message and I will give you information needed to the best of my ability. The University of South Carolina - Aiken wants all of their students to succeed and that could include you.

    Bang for the buck

    The University of South Carolina - Aiken is not a expensive college and what you pay is worth it. The teachers are always on call for you and you can ask them questions at anytime through email or office voice answering machines. Computers are everywhere and internet is also, so you can research information in the library, student life center, etc. and even in your dorm room. The University of South Carolina - Aiken is also rapidly growing and building new centers that specialize in helping their students. When paying for your education, you are truly getting your money's worth here. There are just so many places and people that are there that can help you. As a matter of fact, we are building a new computer center that will be ready before the Fall Semester this year. The campus is beautiful, by the way.

    Am enjoying being here

    Though our school population is growing every year, the University of South Carolina - Aiken is considered a sizable school without a myriad of wandering students. We are a small environment with hard-working young individuals with an overflow of resources to help you succeed. We have tutoring services, computer desk help, writing rooms, math rooms, etc. And if you have a question to ask a teacher outside of class, then simply go knock on there office door and they will assist you in a timely matter. The University of South Carolina - Aiken has a number one priority of the student being successful.

    Am learning a lot

    The University of South Carolina - Aiken is one of the top five schools in South Carolina. No other branch of University of South Carolina can say that. All professors work with you and are easily accessible. Everything that you need will be on the syllabus and other than pop quizzes, you know when and what is going to happen at all times. If you don't succeed here, it is because you didn't try or just didn't care.

  • 01/11/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The University of South Carolina in Aiken, the last time I checked was the most inexpensive school in South Carolina. Many people may hear that and think that the quality of education is not good, but let me reassure you that you will definitely be getting your moneys worth and then some out of the University. We have top notch professor that will know you name. You will get one on one time and small classes at this University as well as great housing. Most big schools that are extremely expensive won't give you one on one time with your professors. You would be paying 13,000 in tuition only and your professor will not know your name. That is not the type of college experience you want. The University of South Carolina Aiken provides you with more than your monies worth.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am enjoy every moment of my undergrad years here at the University of South Carolina in Aiken. Aiken is such a wonderful community with very supportive Alumni that stand by the University. The campus life is only what you make it, and the more involved you are the better you experience will be.

    Am learning a lot

    The University of south Carolina Aiken is a wonderful learning environment. I am not only learn a lot in my classes but am gaining cultural awareness from the Aiken community. The people here are very welcoming and stand behind the University.

  • 07/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any Type Those who want to learn!

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great college if you are into smaller surroundings. If you rather be a name and not a number come to Aiken. Go Pacers!!!

    Bang for the buck

    The money I received from FASFA pays for most of the tuition, room and board, and other expenses.

    Am enjoying being here

    Aiken is a small city so its peaceful and quiet. Everyone is friendly and will aid you if you need any help.

    Am learning a lot

    The student/teacher ratio will allow students to know their professor one on one. Knowing your professor and having contact with them will help you learn a lot during college.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is extremely safe. You can find police patrolling all hours of the day and night. They definitely give a feeling of security.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is very active on USC Aiken's campus. They hold cookouts, parties, and even offer multiple volunteer opportunities for students.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over seventy clubs and activities on USC Aiken's campus. There is a huge variety for all types of interest.

    Great for these types of students

    There really was not a change in types of students for me. The only thing was there were more international students. Overall there was always a welcoming feeling no matter who you are around.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The only unusual tradition on campus was the Homecoming Parade. It ran through campus during the day. Different organizations decorated floats and trucks and drove, but there was not much student involvement.

    Bang for the buck

    The university may not be the place to party, but as a student you will definitely get your education. It is a great university to get your degree, and is in the perfect location to be able to balance study and fun.

    What to do for fun

    Since nightlife is not very open to students there may be nights when you have to make up things to do for fun. The good thing is throughout the year different organizations host parties on-campus that are of little cost.

    Food and Dining

    The Student Activities Center, or SAC, is where all food will be served. It is a buffet style cafeteria, that may not always serve the ideal entrees. For the most part the staff is friendly, but the food may not always be what is expected.

    Dorm Life

    There are three sets of dorms at USC Aiken, all are co-ed. It is extremely exciting living on-campus. Access to campus is much easier. Living on-campus will provide you with the full college experience, and will help broaden your horizon to new people.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors expect students to do their part inside and outside of the classroom. In no way is the perfect grade going to be handed to you. Students must perform at their best in order to do well.

    Tips for prospective students

    One major tip I have for prospective students is to make sure this is the school for you. USC Aiken is not surrounded with an ample amount of nightlife for students to participate in.

    In three sentences

    USC Aiken definitely has a very welcoming environment. This university has professors who are willing to help and aid students to achieve success. It's location is in the small urban town of Aiken, that provides students with a better learning environment.

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Aiken makes sure that its campus is safe by having emergency boxes available everywhere for students to be able to access if anything ever went wrong and there is a 24 hour police station available at all times.

    Greek Life

    I am not involved with Greek life, not at this time because I am not sure what i would like to pledge but the people in Greek life love it and the ones that are not, can not wait to be in it. It is an amazing experience at least from what I have seen, where you will meet lots of students and they will be there for you no matter what. I encourage any of you that have the desire to be in Greek life to do it as soon as you can, you will thank me for the experience.

    Clubs and Activities

    Aiken has a broad variety of clubs and organizations that they offer to students. Find the organization that fits you or seems like something you want to do and you absolutely love being around the people who have the same desires as you while you are there. Personally I am involved in habitat for humanity and I really enjoy helping building homes and sheds. Even though it has nothing to do with my career path, it is something I enjoy doing as a hobby.

    Bang for the buck

    The University of South Carolina of Aiken offers an exceptional experience for their students and I will personally guarantee that you will enjoy your time at Aiken.

    What to do for fun

    Aiken has a lot of activities that they encourage students to participate in during the school year and has a lot of surrounding common locations students go to, to enjoy their night. Augusta is only a short drive away also and most students go to Augusta every once in a while to have fun.

    Food and Dining

    Aiken has lots of different choices of food offered in the SAC and they also have a sub station, which is similar to an convenience store, that has coffee and subs obviously and snacks and etc. Aiken also has partnered up with domino's pizza and students can order whatever they want from there with their declining balance.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is an amazing experience at Aiken and is something I encourage everyone to experience at some point in their lives. Some of the dorms are new but they all are beautiful and offer different luxuries.

    Academic Rigor

    Aiken offers a great learning environment and works hard to give students as much peace and quiet and alone time as they need.

    Tips for prospective students

    I encourage that all incoming students take advantage of the small campus that Aiken offers by getting familiar with your professors. Obviously do all the work that your professors require you to do so that you can do your best. Get involved with school functions and the activities Aiken has to offer. Meet the many different people that attend Aiken.

    In three sentences

    The University of South Carolina of Aiken is a wonderful college and has a great environment for learning. The professors and fellow students are nice and Aiken provides a lot of opportunities for it's students. It is a great place to get familiar with the professors and to be able to get involved with school functions.

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    At USCA, there are 12 different Greek life one can choose from.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 70 clubs one can get involved with at USCA.

    Great for these types of students

    USCA is great for any student who is ready to learn an a commute with others on all levels.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a place located on campus as, the SAC, meaning student activities center.

    What to do for fun

    To stay busy and involved at USCA, one can join clubs, greek life, sports or even pacer fanatics.

    Tips for prospective students

    Its a tremendous atmosphere with wonderful people and outstanding athletics.

    In three sentences

    At USCA, one can feel the level of safety once a foot is place on USCA soil. Students, faculty and sometimes guess embrace one with a warm welcome anywhere on campus. Unlike at a big campus, USCA views one as a student or a successor not as a number.

  • 03/03/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs and activities might be good on campus for something extra to do like a stress breaker if you have time outside of studying.

    Bang for the buck

    Poor customer service for the dollar.

    What to do for fun

    If your idea of fun is drinking and or dancing in talked about clubs you won't get that in the surrounding area.

    Food and Dining

    The infestation of flies everywhere in the cafeteria or dining hall and all over the food was likely against regulation. It makes people worry about getting sick.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life in the suites is crowded. Each person is given less than half of a standard room of space and if you stay in the room to long you can get claustrophobic. Four peoples food in one refrigerator including yours doesn't fit well. The dorm may not be clean when you move in it either. The bathroom had mold in it and five work orders were put in for the spreading mold problem.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic setting at USC Aiken is not necessarily a good learning environment for students. Dealing with rudeness from professors and school officials disrupts the learning process.

    Tips for prospective students

    USC Aiken is not worth the money it costs.

    In three sentences

    Not worth the money. Definitely not a top school.

  • 12/21/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The University of South Carolina-Aiken is great for all types of students. We have a lot of international students attending our university and they are just like us. The university is also great for non-traditional students. The university has organizations and clubs for everyone with all backgrounds and ethnics group as well as unity groups that bring all students together. Together as one, a student body, USCA is a great university for all types of students.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are researching USCA as college choice I know you are starting off right. If you are interested in attending this university you should attend one of our Freshman Fridays which is a great event for all prospective students. It allows you to get a feel for the university and allows you to learn the university's personal mission statement and what they offer their students. I also encourage prospective students to become familiar with the Financial Aid office, the Student Activity Center, and the Career Services. I choose these three because the Financial Aid office will be very helpful when deciding how to pay for college, the Student Activity Center is a great way to get involved on campus and make more of your college experience, and the Career Services center help guide students to choosing majors and finding out careers paths they can pursue with the degree they are pursuing. Our Admissions Office is also of help for prospective students with additional questions and we can also be found on Facebook.

    Bang for the buck

    The University of South Carolina-Aiken is a bang for the buck! This university is one of the cheapest universities in South Carolina, even with our current year's tuition increase our tuition still remains cheaper than many other campuses in South Carolina. With the buck students will pay for a college degree, they will receive one on one time with their professors whether it’s through email, meeting them in their office, outside of office hours, and many professors will even take time out of their day to drive back to the campus to help a student with their work. Also for your buck you meet a lot of people, people who are just like you with the same goals, and people who are completely different which allows you to get ready for the real world because in the real world everyone is not just like you, they are themselves.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am enjoying myself very much at this university. I have met a lot of new people from all around the world, and the professors are awesome! We have experienced professors who know how to instruct a class as well as keep their student's attention and make us want to learn. The Student Activity Center keeps events on campus running smoothly. Everyday there is something to do so if one day you don't have any homework you do not have to sit in and watch television, get out and get involved. Outside of the campus the City of Aiken is also a great place to reside. There are many great restaurants, places to shop, places to gather with friends, and it is all in a reasonable distance from the school for students who do not drive.

    Am learning a lot

    The University of South Carolina-Aiken does more than just teach the required material to their students. The professors try to get all their students to understand and apply the things they learn in the classroom to their everyday lives and their future. However, it is up to the students to allow the professors intentions to be successful. I am learning a lot at this university and if I could go back and do it again I would still attend USCA. The classrooms are so small that the professors know their students by name and the professors know their students well enough to know when they do not understand what is being taught by the confused look on their faces. I am a sophomore at USCA, and I have learned so much both inside and out of classroom, and I am looking forward to broaden my education as my complete my last two years at the university.

  • 05/09/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    9 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    there are lots of scholarships and grants... it seems as if the financial aid is help full

    Will enjoy being here

    Has a lot of opportunities

    Will learn a lot

    seems like a great school with a lot of possibilities

  • 12/20/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    10 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who like small classes and small schools. If you enjoy being in high school (drama and all) then this is the right school for you. No football team so don't get your hopes up.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you visit the school first. It may seem different in person than on-line.

    Bang for the buck

    Out of state isnt too bad and in state is even better.

  • 02/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    excellent. offices are located close to all dorms. security is present at all times.

    Greek Life

    several fraternities and sororities are located on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    lots of activities for everyone. there are the usual clubs at usca that are at every school. just search around campus and you will find them.

    Great for these types of students

    the library is great. it is open late and has any book you may need. for those who just have to have peace and quiet to study, every floor has a quiet room where you can study to your hearts content.

    Bang for the buck

    this college offers lots of opportunity for a great price. the teachers are wonderful. tutoring is available for everyone and the faculty really wants you to succeed.

    What to do for fun

    there are several events on campus that you can attend. you will not be bored. there is something for everyone. scheduled activities are posted all over campus so that you will be in the know of whats going on.

    Food and Dining

    well, lets face it, it is not your mothers home cooking, but it is tolerable. there are several options in the dinning room so you don't have to go around hungry.

    Dorm Life

    it can be a challenge to live with 7 other girls. there must be limits set by everyone in your suite in order for there to be harmony. i fortunately have wonderful suite mates and a great room mate. i plan to live on campus all 4 years of college.

    Academic Rigor

    studying at college is different from high school. you will have to learn to prioritise your time. classes are also different from high school. you will have to learn to be an independent sturdier. you will burn the midnight oil in order to stay on task.

    Tips for prospective students

    be patient. college life is different from your home and high school life. you will make friends, just give it time. check with your prospective roommate so that you won't both be bringing the same items. pack light. space is limited. you will be surprised what you can live without.

    In three sentences

    great school. small setting. beautiful campus.

  • 04/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Aiken is truly not that expensive if you live in or out of state. The money I get from FASFA pretty much pays for everything.

    What to do for fun

    Honestly there is nothing to do in Aiken but you are not too from fun places. Aiken sits about 30 minutes from Augusta, GA and about and hour from Columbia, SC.

    Food and Dining

    USC Aiken offers great dining choices. They have home cooked food, salads, subs and pizza all from the cafeteria. They also have an agreement with Domino's pizza. You can use your declining balance to get pizza.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. You have options of who you would like to room with and who you would like to be suite mate with or if you would like to have a room to yourself.

    Academic Rigor

    For my major, nursing, the classes are pretty hard but that's OK because i know the teachers are giving me work that will prepare me for a career in the nursing field.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you come visit the school and talk to students that attend the school and some of the teachers if you know what major you want to pursue.

    In three sentences

    USC Aiken offers so many majors and classes. They have great advisers that make sure you are on the right track when it comes to getting your class schedule right for your major. They also offer many extracurricular activities, which makes USC Aiken a great school.

  • 04/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you do not just want to be another number on a professor's roster, then you should definitely enroll at USC Aiken. The class sizes are small and personal, and professors actually want to get to know you. You are also able to receive one-on-one help if you need it.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is relatively low in comparison to other universities, and it is absolutely worth it. USC Aiken might be small, but it is NOT a community college. It offers so many classes and opportunities, and you will be prepared for graduate school if you plan on attending.

    What to do for fun

    Most of the student organizations have events throughout the year in order to make your year a little more enjoyable.

    Food and Dining

    The food is fairly decent, but it's far too expensive. It's much better to purchase your own food.

    Academic Rigor

    Due to the small class sizes, professors are able to assign more work than with a class of 200 or 300. Therefore, classes can be difficult due to the amount of course work, and how in-depth the assignments can be. Personally, I enjoy having more difficult classes because I feel that they are actually worth the money.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not flip-flop your major every semester. You will get nowhere, and the general education requirements are not the same for every major. Think long and hard about what you want to do, and don't do it just because.

  • 05/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On campus we do have 24 hour campus police that are certified as Medical First Responders. We also have on call poles all around campus in case of an emergency.

    Greek Life

    Currently USC Aiken holds 12 Greek organizations. These organizations are well apart of the many activities hosted on campus, with them around there is never a dry moment.

    Clubs and Activities

    USC Aiken is always adding new organizations, but as far as the ones they already acquire; here are some. Habitat for Humanity, PUB (Pacer Union Board), Circle K, COMPASS, NAACP, MAP, Pace Spirit, Pacesetter, and a host of others.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During the hours of eleven am an three pm there is a location on campus called The Station is were fellow students meet, eat and gather in fellowship.

    Bang for the buck

    If referring to food, or shopping; The list of restaurant's (including fast food and sit down) is endless as well as shopping. Great places are downtown Aiken if your willing to spend more money. If not, one can go to Whiskey Road, and have the same amount of enjoyment for less.

    What to do for fun

    Almost every night there is an activity held on campus hosted by Aiken After Dark, and organization on campus in the pursuit to try and lower the number of college students that go out an drink and drive. The Fraternity's an Sororities host cook outs as well in the evenings and all organizations have a table in the student activity center. So whether it is day or night, there will always be something fun to do on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe' is located in the SAC student activity center. It has six different stations to choose from. Grill, Pizza, Saute', Home cooking, Sub and Salad. The Saute line is usually the station that gets the most buzz around 11-2. Here is where the chefs prepare different food from different countries and backgrounds, it will truly widen the variety of your taste buds.

    Dorm Life

    Being that I currently live in the Freshman dorms which are the newest, they are very spacious and homely. Aside from th freshman dorms, the other two dorm complexes are extremely nice, and are always being worked on for improvement.

    Academic Rigor

    At USC Aiken they take Academic Honesty extremely seriously. One has to always sign the Honor Pledge when turning in any assignment. The penalty for such crime can lead to expulsion or suspension.

    Tips for prospective students

    If I were to give prospective students any tips it would be to constantly use your resources. USC Aiken has a plethora of tutoring sessions for every class, major, etc.

    In three sentences

    USC Aiken, is one of the best choices out there if any student is looking for a homely vibe. This school has taught me to look outside the box, challenge myself as well as others all in my first year. USC Aiken is a university of integrity and success, the staff constantly goes out of their way to make sure every student will meet their own personal criteria.

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe!!!

    What to do for fun

    After a long day of having classes, you can relax at the pool or go play all sorts of sports.

    Dorm Life

    Very safe!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not procrastinate and keep going.

    In three sentences

    I rate the University of South Carolina-Aiken in a scale of 1-5,5 being the highest , it would be a 4. This University for me has helped me tremendously in achieving my goal in graduating with my bachelor's degree. USCA is a small hands on school which I love because that way i know that I'm getting the proper education that i need to succeed.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    At this campus the students feel safe. The campus is on lock down every night after nine pm. The only way to get in is with a school I.D. There is always a campus police at the school. The police make rounds every hour to make sure everything is fine. also located on campus are safety buttons. These buttons, once pushed, get through to the cops immediately and they show up in a matter of seconds.

    Greek Life

    The Greek Life on campus is live. With over 20 Greeks to choose from, getting into campus activities is not hard. Each Greek organization represent a different outlook on life. Every year all the greeks get together to put on a show for the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs that are community based as well as fun based. Other clubs are for the better of the school such as Student Government. Getting involved in these clubs also make the experience at this University better.

    What to do for fun

    Aiken, South Carolina is a small town that has little to do. Luckily, Aiken is in between Columbia, SC and Augusta, GA. With two different locations to travel to, getting through the weekend is a breeze. Whether its going to the movies, mall, or skating rink, balancing between academics and social life is easy.

    Food and Dining

    Although the campus is beautiful and the atmosphere is warm and welcoming, the food is not. The food at USCA can be good on some days and bad on others. If there is one thing that should improve at USCA, it is their cafe.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms on campus are one of the best in the state of South Carolina. USCA's dorms are made to replicate an actual apartment. With a living room, 2 bathrooms, and a full kitchen, USCA provides a spacious and comfortable living arrangement for the students. USCA also has a freshmen dorm which helps the freshmen get used to college life among others that are trying to do the same.

    Academic Rigor

    At USCA you are put to the test. This school is based on academic performance and nothing less. The strict grading at this school helps the students learn more and work harder for a good grade. All the hard work put in will be rewarded with a well deserved diploma.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should get involved in the on-campus activities. If you do not apply yourself and approach things with an open mind, your time at USCA will not be a good one. Also if there is anything that says free food, go!

    In three sentences

    USCA is a fun environment with a lot of loving people. There are many opportunities to get involved and meet new people, such as step team or Greek life. Another great aspect of USCA is that the professors get to know you for you, not as just another student.

  • 06/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    USCA is located in a small town. It depends on what your idea of a good time is, as far as options. The really great thing is it is close to Augusta, which isn't a huge city but has more options than Aiken, and is only a few hours away from Charleston, Atlanta and Charlotte for weekend trips.

    Food and Dining

    I live off campus, and therefore have not dined on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus, so cannot attest to dorm life.

    In three sentences

    USCA seems to be an excellent school. I have attended one semester there so far. The faculty is amazing and engaging.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are smack dab in the middle of the dorms, and there are emergency phones littered throughout the campus should a student want to call them if their is trouble afoot.

    Greek Life

    There are so many sororities and fraternities that one can not even count.

    Clubs and Activities

    Pep band, basketball, baseball, racquetball, cheer-leading, dance team, and many many more

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On campus is this big white mansion looking house that is said to be haunted by a woman.

    What to do for fun

    USC Aiken is close to Augusta, which has malls, restaurants, and much more. On campus students can go to concerts, partake in school activities, or just hang out in people's dorms.

    Food and Dining

    The food is no five star restaurant, but it is still good and nutritious, depending what a student picks. The staff are kind and friendly. And they contain many selections of foods.

    Dorm Life

    There is nothing that compares to actual dorm life, the feel of being on ones own is the first step into learning how to get along in the real world. Dorm life gives students a chance to taste what independence and freedom are like. It also gives them a chance to connect and make lifelong friendships.

    Academic Rigor

    The University of South Carolina Aiken is not as academically challenging as say the USC of Columbia is because professors focus primarily on the success of their students. Students are able to form friendships in the small school setting and help one another out in their classes. The students who are enrolled there come to get a higher education and therefore take their studies seriously.

    Tips for prospective students

    If a student is struggling with classes, they should never wait to get help, a student should go get help even when they think it is too early for it, better it be too early than too late. Always ask the professors how you are faring in their class so that you do not get behind. Keep a record of your grades so that you are able to calculate how you are doing on your own.

    In three sentences

    It is a very safe learning environment. It has a good student to teacher ratio so that an incoming student is not just a number. It is a school where a student can hope to accomplish getting their degree in four years.

  • 07/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food at USC Aiken is moderate. The university could offer more of a variety with food choices. I feel that if you are paying an excessive amount of money for a meal plan, you should be getting your money's worth.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life at USC Aiken is great! The hotel suite styled dorm rooms offer that welcoming feeling unlike other college dorm rooms I've visited. Living in the dorm makes you feel closer the your fellow classmates; almost as neighbors.

    Academic Rigor

    USC Aiken is ranked number one as the top public regional college of the south. The programs are challenging, but the hard work will eventually pay off. I am majored in Business Administration and with the completion of this program, I am eligible to attend any accredited MBA program in the US.

  • 08/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Saftey is very helpful. They're always on duty, meaning there available whenever you need them.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life at USCA is good. I wish they would do a little bit more, but overall I enjoy it. I am not apart of Greek Life yet because I'm not sure what I want to be apart of, but when I do- I know I will enjoy it.

    What to do for fun

    Join organizations and get involed in the community.

    Food and Dining

    The on-campus dinning is okay. We have a good variety of food choices.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. The best dorms are the Freshmen dorms. I am a current sophomore and I have a single room. They are basically new and I loved the room size.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure USCA is for you. Do not fall behind or fail any classes becasue it is had to get your GPA back up. Also learn to mange your time and stay organized.

    In three sentences

    The University of South Carolina Aiken is a very good learning environment. You have teachers that are willing to work with you and you also can sign up for a tutor. There is no reason you should not succeed at USCA; you have all the help and guidance that you need.

  • 09/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is delicious. There are so many choices to choose from. They have pizza, wraps, and burgers. So much more than you can imagine. When you want something sweet you can enjoy a cookie or ice cream.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice and cozy. Even when your away from home you still feel secure in your dorm. They each include their own bathrooms and living room.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are designed with you in mind. If you put the time in you can make good grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open-minded. Put effort into all your classes. Study. Get involved.

    In three sentences

    The University of South Carolina-Aiken is a great school to attend. It's a small campus, but has a lot to do. The teachers and students are very easy going and great to get along with.

  • 09/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    The university has a variety of clubs and organizations. It is also very easy to start new clubs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Many proposals occur at the fountain in the quad!

    What to do for fun

    The university is relatively close to larger cities like Augusta and Columbia.

    Tips for prospective students

    Getting involved in campus life is one of the best ways to get to know people on campus.

    In three sentences

    The University may be a small campus, but we have a big heart. The university is centered in Aiken and does its best to remain tied to the community. Education and personal growth is the top priority.

  • 10/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    USC Aiken has there own app you can get to put on your phone to personalized to contact to the police.

    Greek Life

    At USC Aiken there are over thirty fraternities and sororities to choose from.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many activities and clubs students can join. I'm in MAP this a minority achievement program for first year minority students. Most of the students do a lot of community service projects.

    Great for these types of students

    USC Aiken is great for all students, because it doesn't matter what background you come from.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At USC Aiken there's a knot statue in front of the Penland building that represents unity of the Aiken community.

    Bang for the buck

    I have to say that USC Aiken is a great college to attend if you want to pursue a bachelor's degree. They have great programs that you can choose from.

    What to do for fun

    I listen to music and hang out with my friends on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food at USC Aiken is amazing, because there are foods you can choose that are healthy.

    Dorm Life

    At USC-Aiken the housing is amazing, because personally I live on campus and I quite enjoy it. You get your own suite mates and a room mate.

    Academic Rigor

    At USC-Aiken there are many majors and minor you can purse as a student here.

    Tips for prospective students

    USC-Aiken is a great school for future students, because this school is dedicated to the community of Aiken

    In three sentences

    The University of South Carolina Aiken is great school to attend to to further you education. There are many activities on campus you can involved in such as sports and clubs. At the University of South Carolina I'm pursing my career as a pediatric nurse.

  • 11/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have Emergency Stations all over campus in the event that something bad happens. And the police station is also nearby.

    Greek Life

    I'm not involved in sororities, but the ones at USCA do not participate in hazing rituals. Once again, the focus is on brotherhood/sisterhood--it's a very welcoming environment.

    Great for these types of students

    -nursing students -those interested in politics -those interested in law (there's a court house not far from campus) -those interested in a job immediately after graduation -any student interested in a smaller campus -students not interested in sports--there's a good deal of focus on the theatre, poetry, and other artistic pursuits

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Pickens-Salley house is a fixture on campus and lends a historical aspect to the campus.

    What to do for fun

    There are MANY events hosted by the various clubs and sororities/fratenities at the school. Also, there are brilliantly well-acted plays and rousing sporting events happening all the time. Also, the poetry club has Open Mic Nights.

    Tips for prospective students

    The surrounding area of the school is fairly close-knit. They pretty much have everything you'll need within a five mile radius. You can practically walk to the Walmart, there's a hospital right across the street (great for nursing students), and there are several restaurants close by.

    In three sentences

    This college is appropriate for those looking for small class sizes and closer relationships with their professors--many of them want you to refer to them by their first names. There are many enriching events that take place on campus, and the camaraderie between the students is endearing. Also--the cafeteria menu is varied, but everything is delicious!

  • 01/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There are several places for students to dine at USCA. The SAC is the cafe of the campus. They have several different stations with varieties of food. When you aren't feeling the SAC then you can eat at the Station. The Station is like the Subway of the campus. Subs are EXCELLENT there. The Market is the store on campus which is kind of pricey, but okay when you don't feel like running to the store

    Dorm Life

    As a freshman, living in the Crossings has been one of the best experiences of my life. The RA's are always there to help you. Students are always engaging in something and the rules aren't too hard. There's always something fun going on in the Crossings.

    Academic Rigor

    Aiken isn't a difficult school neither is it an easy school. There are some classes where you have to work harder than others. Some teachers assign more work than others then some you barely have work in. My advice is to read when your teacher tells you because if you don't then you might get left behind. Most teachers allow ample amount of time for assignments to get done.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you come to USCA, be prepared to work. Yes, they will be times where someone is throwing a party that you want to go to, but academics come first. Teachers will work with you if you have a legit reason why you missed class, but you MUST read your syllabus because everything that you will do in class is on that document. The campus has several clubs that engage in activities for the school. Overall the school is excellent.

    In three sentences

    The school offers several undergraduate and graduate programs that allows students to have a variety of majors to choose from. Teachers are very helpful and will schedule meetings where the student can get extra help outside if class if they don't understand something in class. The school also aids freshmen in becoming comfortable during their first semester by planning activities for them to attend.

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe and there is a police station on campus. The campus is not spread out and it is in a safe area as well.

    Greek Life

    USCA is big on Greek life even though there is not on campus Greek housing. There are several options to choose from and the sororities and fraternities are always hosting events on and off campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are organizations for all majors, and there are also fun ones like language clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    I think any type of student can fit in here. If you are looking for close-knit friends it is very possible here. If you are looking for leadership opportunties it is possible here. Even if you are a loner it is still a comfortable place to be.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a water festival at the beginning of every Fall semester. It includes lots of inflatable water slides and pool parties.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is a very good deal. The tuition is under 10,000 dollars a year even. It is like getting a quality education for a discount price.

    What to do for fun

    There are two pools at USCA. One is indoor and the other is outdoor so pool parties are year round. There are also many festivals throughout the year for entertainment. The University is also not far from Augusta, GA which has alot of entertainment options.

    Food and Dining

    I have never been to the cafeteria at USCA since I am a commuter, but I have went to the Station. It has a sub shop and many other meal options. I have gotten the breakfast sandwiches there often with a Chemistry study group.

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived on campus, but the dorms are fairly new. There are pools, volleyball courts and other recreational areas in the dorms. All of my friends that live on campus have enjoyed their time in the dorms. It does not have the party aspect alot of dorms have though since there is no Greek housing on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors at USCA make students earn their grades, but the classes are not impossible. I think that the amount of work for the courses matches the GPA quality points. Also, just because a class is in the Humanities or Arts does not mean that it will equal an easy A.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not overlook USCA due to its small size or location. It is a great school with a strong sense of community. It may not be a large and famous university, but it has great programs and very competitive tuition rates. The professors on campus also get to know each student in the class since the class sizes are small.

    In three sentences

    USCA is a very well-laid out campus with a decent variety of majors. It has some of the top professional schools in the South as well. The professors as USCA also seem to really care about their students.

  • 01/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hiking, playing clarinet, going to church, hanging out with friends, sleeping, studying, working

    Food and Dining

    DELISH!

    Dorm Life

    The people that live in the dorms are great, but the dorms themselves aren't that great.

    Tips for prospective students

    STUDY! You will never get through college without studying hard and completing your work on time! Do what you need to do to finish what you have to finish ON TIME!

    In three sentences

    The University of South Carolina at Aiken is a wonderful college. It has a beautiful campus, and many diverse people. This school is life changing.

  • 01/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Everything is so pricey. don't eat in the cafeteria, go off campus. you'll save some money. Unfortunately if you stay on campus they make you buy a meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    Though there aren't many dorms, they are mostly new, and nice on the outside at least. I don't stay there.

    Academic Rigor

    They don't challenge you in some classes, but others are rigorous. It all depends on the professors.

    In three sentences

    It's a small campus that thinks its big. it is kind of like a family if you get to know everyone. But sometimes i think it looks like a jail.

  • 01/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety on USC Aiken's campus is great. We have state certified police officers that are always on campus. There is also over 100 call boxes around campus. They are located all through out the campus and go straight to the USC Aiken call center. USC Aiken has recently come out with an app that is down loadable to your phone. You can get important information in case of an emergency. The campus safety works hard to make our campus a safe environment for everyone.

    Greek Life

    USC Aiken Greek Life is a thriving community of men and woman that work very well together. The university offers different counsels of Greek Life. Each chapter at USC Aiken is on the smaller side in numbers which makes it a very unique experience from larger chapters at larger schools.

    Clubs and Activities

    USC Aiken offers for than 90 campus clubs including Greek Life. They also offer intramurals year round. Also through out every semester these clubs and organizations hold actives that are open to the pubic. These activities are some of the best on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    USC Aiken is a great school for just about any student. If you are looking for a campus to be just as involved as you where in high school its great as well as looking to escape your comfort zone and take some risk USC Aiken brings a lot for these students as well.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a very small tight nit campus. We have a lot of great places for students to study as well as hang out. One very unusual thing that USC Aiken has is its particpation in the horse community. We have do this by having an equestian team, as well as different statue horses around campus. In Aiken and around the downtown Aiken area there is a scavanger hunt you can do finding each of the horses. The horses are painted in different attire to protray a different aspect that the Aiken community takes pride in.

    Bang for the buck

    USC Aiken prides it self on being a rather inexpensive school. They also offer many things so that students get the bang for the buck. We have tutoring for class that you take on campus. We also offer student help with resumes and things for finding a job after graduation. Another great opportunity USC Aiken bring is that for most majors they allow you an internship. These are actual places that you get to go in Aiken County and see what it would be like to do that job. It also allows you great on site training. These opportunities for larger universities can sometimes be hard to come by but everyone of USC Aiken's students has been known to make great connections.

    What to do for fun

    USC Aiken brings a lot to the table for things to do that are fun. Their is always something going on around campus to do. The student life center offers over 99 clubs as well as intramurals for just about any sport all year long. As well as plays at the theatre and even an amazing talent show.

    Food and Dining

    The food at USC Aiken is great. Their are many options in the actual cafe as well a little cafe we call the station in another building. The station is more subs and snacks. They also serve a great variety for breakfast. At the cafe the hours all day they offer many options. They have lines that change as well as some lines that stay the same. My favorite part about the cafe is that they like for students to try new things. They especially enjoy doing themes and the greatest part is that its all you can eat!

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is great at USC Aiken. We have some of the best dorms in the state of South Carolina. Also living on campus give you immediate access to all things going on around campus, as well as events just for on campus housing students. Also each of our dorms is equipped with a computer room as well as several hang out places inside and outside of the actual dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor of USC Aiken is very high. This doesn't mean that it is unreachable. The faculty members understand that students come from all different types of back grounds and from different academic rigors of high school so they work with each student to ensure success in all things.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip for prospective students is come for a tour. You can look online and even email an admission counselor but you can't going to get to see the real USC Aiken until you come and see the campus and meet some of the amazing people we have here.

    In three sentences

    The University of South Carolina is a great school to start at, weather coming from a small high school, big high school, or anywhere in between. USC Aiken gives you an at home feelings with great students, faculty and staff. USCA is a wonderful choice to make your college years memorable and unique.

  • 02/05/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    30 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police officers on campus at all times.

    Great for these types of students

    Good for students who want a personal relationship with their professor. Want to make friends and want to excel.

    Bang for the buck

    Its a semi small school so you will be able to have that one on one connection with your instructor. Also the food is extraordinary, many different varieties are available.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities basketball different clubs and a recreation lounge.

    Food and Dining

    Cafe styled area with wide variety of food.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman in one dorm

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are nice and welcome you

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be discouraged if your GPA isn't sky high. Attend the freshman Friday event its very enlightening.

    In three sentences

    The institution is very nice. They are a close knit FAMILY and they work with the students. The campus is beautiful, and makes you feel welcome at all times.

  • 05/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused

    In three sentences

    USCA is an awesome school. I have attended other colleges and have decided to come back since it is such a great school. I would not want to attend or graduate from anywhere else.

  • 07/27/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    32 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is no joke. If you're walking around at night, they will question who you are and what you're doing on campus. They'll leave you alone after showing them your school i.d. After awhile, if you walk around and they see you enough times, they won't bother you any more. The campus police gets to know you after awhile. They patrol campus every other hour of the day and they don't mess around when it comes to suspicious activity, alcohol, and drugs.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for biology students, chemistry students, nursing students, music students, athletic students, and business types.

    Bang for the buck

    USCA is cheap. . .and worth it if you can put up with everything that I mentioned above and also follow through with everything down to the T. If you know what you're doing when it comes to keeping up with your grades and checking after the professor's work, then you can easily graduate from that school with little to no trouble.

    What to do for fun

    If you're looking to party then you've come to the wrong place. It's hard to be able to find a decent party. People will either not tell you about parties or they won't tell you the location until it's over. Not only that, the parties are very mediocre. You're better off just going downtown to a bar or club. . .if not that, you could go to Augusta and have fun there, it's not too far away. On campus there isn't much to do. The school is scrimping on funds so the activities are either very small or nonexistent, but occasionally you'll find something fun to do. Stand-up comedians do come in from time to time and they're pretty good.

    Food and Dining

    Be very careful...People have a tendency to be highly nasty here as well. The cafeteria itself is clean, but I have consumed food that was contaminated with illnesses. If you ask some of the people who have been attending this institution for awhile, you will find someone who has had the same problem. Strep throat and the flu has known to run rampant on campus and you will pick it up easier in the dining hall...those who work with food have spread it that way. Sometimes it's better to just cook your own food in your room. The food has gotten healthier regardless of the fact that the workers infect it from time to time. It also doesn't taste bad on some days it's actually good.

    Dorm Life

    Terrible. Just terrible. I had terrible experiences in the dorms there. The Pacer Downs are simply just filthy...the DO look like apartments, but the insides are just disgusting. Some dorms literally have mushrooms growing out of the bathroom walls and floors near the bathtub. The Downs and the Commons both have black mold on the ceiling. The crossings would have to be the nicest set of dorms that are limited to only the freshmen. If you decide to go to USCA live in an apartment. Not only the conditions of the dorms are terrible, a lot of the time the people who live there are terrible as well. I have encountered some of the nastiest people in the dorms, and I have never gotten any sicker. You will most definitely catch what ever your roommates have. No matter how clean you are. The style of the dorms are usually two people to two rooms, so you live with a max of three other people. In the crossings you live with seven other people amongst four rooms. Four rooms with two people living in each. The crossings are very spacious.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on which class and major you choose, prepare to study. Sometimes you don't have to study. It really does depend. There are some professors who care about your grade and will help you...and I do put emphasis on some. The ones that are willing to help you, don't be afraid to ask questions. The ones who are just there for the money, trust me, they will not help you at all. The way they answer questions will be sub-par or mediocre. So much so, that you may visit the department head more times than often.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep up with your grades and make sure that you study. There are professors who will cheat you out of grades. There have been many occasions where I would do grade A work and ended up with C's. Take work to other professors and they wouldn't understand why I made so low of a grade. Also be aware that there are professors who do not care whether you pass or not and will tell you upfront that they're only there for the money. Choose your classes wisely because for new students selecting classes will be either a hit or a miss...either you end up with a great professor or a professor that won't teach anything. Depending on the teacher, you'll be relying more on tutors than on the actual professors themselves.

    In three sentences

    USCA is an OKAY school, but it's not great. I wasn't too impressed with the overall quality of the school. Though the security was top notch.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Haaaaaa.

    Clubs and Activities

    Sad.

    Great for these types of students

    Teachers and nurses.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing is as good as USC.

    Bang for the buck

    Just go to USC I miss it and its better.

    What to do for fun

    Be creative. Very.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know your exact education route.

    In three sentences

    Too complicated. Not enough options. Needs more realistic professors.

  • 10/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus is an open campus, but we do have a police station on campus as well as gates that surround those that live on campus that close at a certain time and you need ID to get in. We also have around the school areas where you can press a button and the police come right away.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life on campus is a major thing, we have many fraternities and sororities. They sponsor many events that almost everyone goes too.

    Clubs and Activities

    There aren't many clubs in the area, though if you are apart of anything on campus our university does host many on campus parties that are usually really fun that last up until 12 midnight. Activities come from our SAC office or Student Activities Office, and they create most of the events or activities that go on with our campus.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for those who are into Athletics, meeting people from different countries, and wanting to be in a small school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The most unusual location i can think of on campus would be the Penland Building (Administration Building) because right in the center is like this open area where they have our school's Double Knot.

    What to do for fun

    As far as fun is concerned, our campus is really small so if you aren't involved on campus with any organizations you may have to find your fun elsewhere.

    Food and Dining

    When it comes down to dining in on campus you can choose from 3 places on campus and one place off campus. The first of the on campus dining is the cafeteria, many students go here and they offer buffet style eating, next would be The Station which is located in The H&SS building, which seems like a typical store. Lastly for on campus dining is The Market, which looks like a stop and shop and is located right across from the police station on campus. All the food on campus is really good. Our school partners with Domino's Pizza so if you ever want to eat there you can with the use of your declining balance with accompanies most meal plans.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life can be the best part about college. Here at the university we have 3 dorms. The Crossings, which is only for freshman students only, its a learning community and you get to interact with other freshman instead of being mixed up with all the other students. The Commons, which is for sophomores, juniors, and seniors, and in this building you have a choice of whether you want a roommate or not. Meaning you may have you own room and share a suite with 3 other people. Lastly, The Downs, it's very similar to actual apartments and in my opinion the most private of all the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Being a liberal school, our university offers a different type of curriculum. All of the courses are difficult to a certain degree, but overall it is very simple and easy to handle. The workload can vary from class to class, and also major to major. So be sure to look over everything with your adviser.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to meet lots of new people that may differ from you in many ways. Get to know your advisers and professors as they can help you out with anything you need. Get involved on campus, this can help you branch out and meet new people also help you to gain great communication skills.

    In three sentences

    The University of South Carolina-Aiken is a wonderful school to attend. They have many different organizations for students to be involved in and feel apart of the college. The university is also one of the top ranked schools in the state of South Carolina, and is very diverse as our school has many students from different countries.

  • 11/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    To all students: DO NOT PARK IN YELLOW SPACES. The campus police are ridiculous about parking in yellow spaces. In some parking spots, it's hard to tell which lines are yellow and which lines are white just because it hasn't been recently painted, but just take extra caution and park in a space that has clearly painted white lines. Unless you want a ticket, then you can park anywhere.

    Greek Life

    Pretty cool, I'm not involved in it though.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's over 90 organizations to choose from! And there's always the option of starting an organization or club yourself!

    Great for these types of students

    USCA is great for anyone who wants to start off at a small place. When I first came here, I was a little worried about finding my classes, but all the buildings are focused around the SAC (Student Activities Center) and it's pretty easy to find. Also, the classrooms are small too. None of my classes have more than like 30 people, so that's great for that one-on-one professor student experience.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall, USCA is a great campus. It's small, but has big opportunities for everyone and anyone.

    What to do for fun

    The SAC has ping pong, wii, tv, and there's also a gym and a pool so you can swim or workout if you have some extra time. Also, there's basketball, softball, tennis, soccer, and a few other sports to play so get involved!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has great food, and so does the sub station (in H&SS)

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus but the dorms seem to be pretty kept up.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are challenging, but again, everyone is here to help. If you don't understand, just ask.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study and DO NOT PROCRASTINATE!

    In three sentences

    Everyone here on this campus is here to help you. Professors, staff, and some students are all available to help. There is always something to do here!

  • 12/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Attend the dorm activities and hang out with my roommates. We go to sporting events and dinners together.

    Food and Dining

    Tired of eating the same foods everyday

    Tips for prospective students

    Allow yourself to be open minded about new things and people. Be your own leader. Make smart and wise decisions.

    In three sentences

    This college is the best things that happen to me. The people here are wonderful and welcoming. Real easy to get around campus . I love it

  • 02/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is pretty safe. There are emergency stations built all around campus (a mile apart from each) so that if your walking alone after a event or meeting and you start to feel in danger, you can press the emergency button and it will connect you to the police. There is a also police station on campus and you can see them walking around throughout the day. They are all friendly and willing to help!

    Greek Life

    We have several different greek fraternities and sororities to choose from. Make sure you do your research on them and love who you choose!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of different options of organizations and groups to choose from. There are plenty of people involved on campus, so don't be scared to put yourself out there. The Student Activity Center would even be open to you starting your own!

    Great for these types of students

    Very laid-back, small school, wanting student. The class rooms are very intimate and personal. The professors will know your name by the third class session.

    What to do for fun

    Sometimes you may have to get a little creative to find what you want to do, but I highly suggest getting involved in at least one group or organizations. This campus is very laid back so you just need to find your niche.

    Food and Dining

    There are different types of dining options on campus. We have the Cafe. (main dining area) It has a salad bar, a saute area, home style line, line for pizza and different common foods, and a area to make your own sandwiches and wraps. There is The Station if you need to grab something quick and The Market with more home-style options for cooking. We also have a brand new Starbucks on campus which is very popular. If you want to grab something else, there are plenty of other options right off campus.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is really what you make it. There are no greek- based dorms so we are all one big happy family. There are three building (Pacer Downs,Pacer Commons, and Pacer Crossings) They are all in a row and not very far from campus. Its never uncommon to see groups sitting enjoying the lounges on each floor and the access to computer rooms. The amenities in the dorms are pretty up to date, but if you ever have a problem, the maintenance men are always there to help.

    Academic Rigor

    There are classes that are harder and there are classes that are on the easier side. Once you get closer to classes that are more focused on your major, they WILL start getting tougher. Stay in the books, the library, and stay focused!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you do your research before committing to USC-Aiken. (any school at that) It has so many different organizations and groups you can choose from, so make sure it has whatever is right for you.

    In three sentences

    USC- Aiken is a great, small school to receive your education. It has many opportunities and connections, you just have to make your own and give it your all. Regardless of whether you attend USCA, you will definitely feel welcomed!