Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

University of South Carolina-Beaufort Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 1 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    EVERYONE

    Tips for prospective students

    BRING SUMMER CLOTHES. THE WEATHER IS GREAT HERE ALMOST YEAR ROUND. TALK TO YOUR ADVISORS IT SAVES YOU LOTS OF TIME. COME READY TO HAVE FUN LEARNING.

    Bang for the buck

    DEFINATELY MORE BANG FOR YOUR BUCK. AT 1/4 THE COST OF MOST SCHOOLS ION SOUTH CAROLINA AND A BETTER ATMOSPHERE FOR LEARNING AND ENRICHMENT USCB IS THE PLACE TO BE.

    Am enjoying being here

    I LOVE BEING OUT HERE. THE FRESH AIR AND FREEDOM FROM BUSY CITY STREETS IS DOING WONDERS FOR ME. IT IS VERY LAID BACK AND RELAXING. GOING TO SCHOOL HERE IS LIKE A BREAK FROM THE REALITY OF CITY LIVING.

    Am learning a lot

    SINCE I HAVE GOTEN HERE I HAVE BEEN LEARNING A PLETHORA OF NEW IDEAS AND THEORIES IN THE FIELDS OF PSYCHOLOGY AND SOCIOLOGY. MY PROFESSORS REALLY KNOW THEIR STUFF. YOU WILL LEARN EVERYTHING YOU NEED TO ADVANCE IN YOUR FIELD OF STUDY BECAUSE YOUR ADVISORS ARE READY AND WILLING TO HELP YOU BE SUCCESFUL.

  • 10/23/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 2 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    You get a Private school education at a public school price.

    Will enjoy being here

    Everything is really new and high tech. The apartments are really nice too.

  • 01/18/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 3 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you want a small, personal university this is the one for you!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask questions and interact with others. Try something new, be willing to meet new people, and attend the various activities offered on campus

    Bang for the buck

    The dorms resemble an average apartment with a spacious living room, full kitchen, two bathrooms, and many students have their own room, and every apartment contains a washer and dryer. There is even twenty-four hour campus security. For less than a fourth the cost of a tuition for an average South Carolina college, a student has all the benefits of a high priced gated community.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is small enough for people to interact with those who attend this college. It feels like everybody is comfortable with everybody. There is a group for everyone here. The staff always have a welcoming smile and are hold conversations with students. This is a campus that will make one feel welcomed and at home.

    Academic Rigor

    This was the best choice I could have made. The teachers are very understanding and negotiable. They provide their personal contacts and allow one-on-one time with every student upon request. Even though they provide specific office hours, they are very flexible with time. These teachers love teaching. They are very knowledgeable in their studies and create an atmosphere in the classroom that encourage students to want to learn. The advisers are caring and are always ready to help a student in need. USCB, as a whole, is a wonderful place to prepare for the life ahead.

  • 02/20/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great school for students who like to be outside and around the beach. Even though the beach is about a thirty minute drive from campus, there are many activites that the beach has. A student who prefers a smaller campus as well as population would enjoy this campus. This school is not to large or small.

    Tips for prospective students

    A prospective student should try to take leadership and get involved in anything and everthing he/she can. Help expand activities to make the school a better, more fun and inviting school to attend. This lies in the hands of the students just as much as the staff so take charge. Stay positive and do your best on all of your work! Manage your time wisely and use every resource you can to excel.

    Bang for the buck

    It seems to be a little pricey every once in a while. While it is a new campus and everything is brand new with all the latest and greatest items once you're there it does not make much sense why you are paying this much! This seems to be the way for most colleges so it is nothing against USCB, it is just the cost of every college now.

    Am enjoying being here

    While the education is great as well as the professors the activities offered to students are very limited. They do not have many extracurricular activities. They do attempt to offer things for students but not too often and what they plan is not well suited for every student.

    Am learning a lot

    I am most definitely learning a lot! The teachers for the most part are great and most of them have a huge desire to help and assist the students! They have good class choices to accommodate the students needs and wants. The library is a great help for the education and has great resources to extend your knowledge.

  • 06/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    *Students who do not like huge cities *Students who want to live by the Ocean *Students that don't want to attend a very large University *Students who love the sun (it's generally warm here most of the times) *Students who would prefer an apartment-like dorm

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring clothes that allow you to soak up the sun

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition and fees are about $16,000 a year, which in my opinion is very good for a 4 year University. The education that is received is quality, and the faculty and staff are very professional. Also the since the apartment includes furniture, washer/drier, and a dish washer, i think that the room&board is set at an extremely reasonable price. You will surely get your bang for the buck here.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being at this University! USCB is tucked away in the small city of Okatie that is surrounded by palm trees, and there are beautiful beaches all around. The amenities are up-kept very well, and there are many activities to engage in here.If you are someone who enjoys peace and tranquility, this is the place for you!

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers here are extremely helpful, and make even the hardest classes a bit easier to learn! The professors offer additional coarse help in almost every class. I am learning a lot at this University!

  • 12/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    - Loves small school setting - Want the most out of your education - Specific Majors (do not have certain majors) - Be known by your first name - Beach bums - Almost anyone

    Tips for prospective students

    The University is absolutely beautiful and it is very low key. If you want very nice spacious dorm rooms with friendly peers and staff USCB is the place to be!

    Bang for the buck

    The University has a clean and crisp atmosphere. The South campus was recently built within the last few years, so everything is brand new. The quality of the University including professors, staff, and location - you do receive the bang for the buck, which runs approximately $12,000 in tuition and fees alone.

    Am enjoying being here

    Faculty, staff, and students truly make the University feel like a home to any student, welcoming them at first encounter, though considering it is a small university where you are known by your first name. The weather is perfect- the sun is shining on most days out of the year. The beach is thirty minutes away and Georgia border is only fifteen minutes away. Also, Walmart is right across the street to provide for your most essential needs!

    Am learning a lot

    The University Professors take pride and dignity into teaching their students the proper knowledge acquired in each course. All the professors so far, show enthusiasm and diligence put forth into the provided coursework for student completion.

  • 01/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Other than academics, campus safety is one of the top priorities at the University. DPS (Department of Public Safety) is on call 24-7, and is glad to assist any student with any safety issue.

    Greek Life

    Unfortunately, the University of South Carolina - Beaufort doesn't offer Greek Life. I'm currently a Senator here at the University, and plans have been made to bring in Greek Life in the near future!

    Clubs and Activities

    The University offers lots of clubs and outside activities in order to get students involved! Students can get involved with clubs such as Sandshark Productions, SGA (Student Government Association), etc. Not to mention the Fall festival every year. And this year we had fright night before the Halloween weekend!

    Great for these types of students

    The University is great for students who live within and hour from the University itself. Not too close, but not too far away! It's also a great place for transfer student to start their college career. Most students spend one or two years at this University then transfer to the mother campus, the University of South Carolina which is located in Columbia, SC.

    What to do for fun

    The University of South Carolina - Beaufort is right in the heart of Bluffton and Hilton Head, so of course there is plenty to do outside of school. Most students, including myself, love to spend the day at the Tanger Outlets, which is a big outside shopping mall. Other students prefer to go to the beach during the Spring semester. There are many restaurants around campus too, and lets not forget Cinemark Theatre located not even five minutes away!

    Food and Dining

    The Sandbar, which is our dining facility on campus, is amazing! They serve breakfast, lunch, and dinner each day! I work in the dining facility as well! I love the staff I work with, and the food! Other than the library, I find it convenient to study there. It's a great place to meet new people, and socialize.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life at the University of South Carolina - Beaufort is perfect for on campus living. Living on campus has so many benefits such as quick access to class, the gym, our dining facility, or pretty much anything on campus. Everything is in walking distance! Not to mention the fun extracurricular activities that are usually in the courtyard! On campus living gives each and every student a chance to meet new people and get involved!

    Academic Rigor

    Each major seems to have it's own level of difficulty. At the University of South Carolina - Beaufort, two of the most hardest majors are Nursing, and Biology. I'm a Biology major myself, and with a little hard work I'm able to function just fine! It just all depends on your intended major. But don't worry, your professors will be glad to help if your struggling! Don't let this scare you, chase after any major that makes you happy!

    Tips for prospective students

    Everyone should know that college, no matter which one, is going to be challenging depending on your desired major. Putting forth the effort doesn't hurt. Yes, you may feel exhausted and drained at some points, but it all pays off! Always stay focused, and stay one step ahead of the game. In other words; get your assignments turned in on time, take good notes, read assigned readings, and study each day!

    In three sentences

    The University of South Carolina - Beaufort is perfect for your college career! Not just for your whole college career, but also an excellent place for a student to start out and transfer after one or two years. I would give this University a 9.5 out of 10 with great academics, professors, and a wonderful learning environment.

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You are extremely safe on campus.

    Greek Life

    Sorry, no greek life available as of yet. The issue is up for discussion. One thing about the university the students have a voice.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are basically clubs for everyone from all walks of life. Whatever you are into, our school has it. If not, you can create your own club.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student that wants to become a better person both academically as well as mentally should apply here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus court yard is gorgeous. Throughout the semesters, student life always have movie nights on huge projectors to allow students to lay out on the grass and watch the latest movies that has come out. Did I mention free pop corn?

    Bang for the buck

    USCB is def worth the buck. The school is basically a home away from home. Everyone treats everyone as family and the atmosphere is small as well as friendly.

    What to do for fun

    Fun is great at any school. At USCB, the majority of the students hangout in University Park which about 20 seconds away from campus. Everyone knows someone from school that resides there. On campus we are allowed to check out tennis rackets, basketballs, tennis balls, play pool, partake in yoga, run track, play video games, or work out in the state of the art facility. The library is also pretty awesome as well. Off campus there is a great deal of places to grab a bite to eat, the beach is located about 25 minutes away on Hilton Head Island, and ofcourse friends can also make your day fun.

    Food and Dining

    Though USCB just recently opened their dining facility, I must say that the food is worth the bucks. There is always a fresh, well-kept salad bar, various locations for major meals, as well as ice cream machines, flat screened televisons, fountain drinks, and friendly people to better describe the ambiance.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at USCB is so comfortable and basically a home away from home. USCB offers apartment style housing which includes private bedrooms, fully equppied kitchens, washers/dryers, a mutual as well as spacious living area. Basically dorm life is like living in your own apartment unit with the exception that you're located on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    USCB Professors will assure that every student is helped and that no student is left behind. A great deal of professors can be found at their designated locations during office hours, or hey, one might even discuss study techniques for an upcoming test with professors during dining hours.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students, if you come into the University with an open as well as positive mindset, before you know it you will be well known throughout the university by both faculty/staff as well as students. Just remember to recieve respect, one must first give it.

    In three sentences

    USCB is a very great school. The class sizes are small and most importantly everyone makes each other feel as family. Basicaly, if one wants to achieve academically as well as mature personally USCB is the place for you!

  • 06/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is very good.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are different clubs and activities.

    What to do for fun

    Honestly, there's not much to do for fun on campus. It's best if you have a car.

    Food and Dining

    The food is exceptional. Some days you might want to cook for yourself or eat out. Overall, the food is okay.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is GREAT! To be honest, that's one of the main reasons I decided to attend.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is very high at USCB. They set pretty good standards for the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like to party, USCB is not the school for you. If you want to be at a school where you understand the lessons the professors are teaching and like small class sizes, USCB is the place for you. Be open-minded--you might like it.

    In three sentences

    USCB is a small school but very productive. There are small classes, which makes it easier to learn. I look forward to continuing my degree at USCB.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    USCB offers outstanding camps safety, provided by our helpful and experienced DPS officers. DPS is always here. They are available 24hrs a day 365 days a year to make sure that the campus is well looked after, and that students are safe. They even go as far as to give students rides to class in the instance of injury or emergency, and they will even walk a student back from their car to the dorms after hours. The officers here are really and truly here to help the student have a safe and nurturing environment to learn in.

    Greek Life

    Unfortunately, USCB offers no Greek life at the moment. But, they plan to add this to their amazing resume in the future.

    Clubs and Activities

    USCB is really big on campus clubs and activities, as i mentioned before, we have a great student life staff who really enjoy working amongst the students and making sure they get all they can out of their college experience. Clubs include The Student Government Association (SGA), The Anime Club, Art club, Fitness and intramurals, The Gay-Straight Alliance, Sand Shark Activities Board, Catholic Ministries, Campus Crusade for Christ (CRU), etc. All these great clubs are open to students, and members within each gladly welcome newcomers. The various clubs are always putting different activities and events for students to get involved in, allowing them to relieve some of the stress from academic pressures.

    Great for these types of students

    USCB is great for the student who wants to feel like they are actually a student learning in the classroom being fully engaged by their professor, and not just some sitting on the back row taking notes from a lecture. USCB is great for the student who loves to interact with people in a fun and friendly manner, and doesn't mind getting invalid whether it be just here on campus, or in the community as well. And finally, USCB is for that student who just loves living down south in the welcoming Bluffton community, and enjoys trips to the beach, shopping, eating great food, and just enjoying life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Well this may not be unusual to some people, but one of our history professors keeps bee boxes behind the student housing in the woods. i thought this location would be considered pretty unusual seeing how that's not exactly what you would expect to when you come to college, especially from a history professor.

    Bang for the buck

    For the great one on one relationship you get with your professors, available resources, great staff, beautiful location, and amazing students to befriend, USCB definitely gives you the most bang for the buck.

    What to do for fun

    Being located in Bluffton, SC is absolutely great for college students. It's not too far away from shopping centers and restaurants in the area, as well as the city of Savannah, GA and the beautiful Hilton Head community. Students enjoy going to the beach at almost chance they can, and going shopping at the local Tanger Outlets. In addition there are also nearby bowling alleys and a movie theatre for the students to enjoy as well. Finally the University itself and it's great student life dept put on fantastic events throughout the year to which all the students are invited, and have fun participating in. Things like horseback riding, kayaking, laser tag, sumo wrestling, stand-up comedians, chainsaw jugglers, the list goes on.

    Food and Dining

    I find USCB to be quite sound in this category. We have a beautiful cafe called the sandbar that offers different varieties of food from Asian cuisine, to Mexican food, salads, pasta, breakfast foods, desserts, and of course good ole burgers and fries. With such a large and tasty array of foods, the Sand Bar caters to both the picky eaters, and those who will eat almost anything.

    Dorm Life

    With the school only being five years old, the dorms that exist here are absolutely beautiful. unlike most college dormitories, USCB has apartment style housing. This allows for a very comfortable dorm living experience, while at the same time giving students the privacy they desire. Also with the help of helpful building RA's, the are both a fun, academically stimulating, and safe place to reside while attending the college.

    Academic Rigor

    The faculty here at USCB are here to make sure that students excel in all aspects of life, but most importantly in the classroom. They effectively challenge students in their classes, and are constantly engaging minds- our school motto.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come with a open mind, willing to learn and experience new things. Don't be afraid to join clubs and organizations to get involved in the community. Both faculty and staff are here to help you succeed, so take advantage of all the resources you can.

    In three sentences

    A university where people care. A university where all resources are spent on the current and future success of students. A university full of fun and learning, where you are a person; not a number.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food at USCB is good. They always have something new to offer, and they have different stations set up. The downfall to food and dining is the hours. If you have a class that falls between lunch hours, you may not be able to eat lunch. Also, you can only swipe your food card once so make sure you get everything you want when you're getting your food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at USCB are very nice. They are set up like apartments, and each student has the option of having their own bedroom. The dorm life allows for students to feel as though they can make themselves at home.

    Academic Rigor

    USCB's classes are set up to be rigorous however, the professors make sure to help students where they need to be helped. The class size is relatively small so if a student needs help, they are able to receive it. Overall, depending on your major, classes can be rigorous, and will probably need a fair amount of study time.

    In three sentences

    USCB is a home away from home. The people at this school are friendly and always there for a helping hand. Everybody at USCB has your best interest at heart.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus hs security present 24 hours a day.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot of shopping, movie theatres, tennis and golf on Hilton Head Island which is nearby.

    Food and Dining

    The food and the buffet style presentation looks good. I was given a tour of the facilities and cafes and the choices include healthy as well.

    Dorm Life

    Appears to be good. I will not be moving into my room until August of 2012.

    Academic Rigor

    Will begin classes in Fall of 2012.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tour campus and apartment style living and visit the library and dining halls.

    In three sentences

    The University is in an ideal location; close to a city but still private. The new Gateway campus has a state of the art library and technology access. The campus size is perfect in that it is not too big or too small an envirnment.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Many sports and clubs and activities to do everyday.

    Tips for prospective students

    always study, be prepared, make a schedule and follow it

    In three sentences

    University Of South Carolina is A great school. It has small classes for more one on one time with the professor. The university also contains many organizations and activities that all the students can do.

  • 09/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Armed security very visible through out the day and night.

    Greek Life

    None. Major bonus in my opinion.

    Clubs and Activities

    Kind of lacking in this department but the student body is more to blame than the lack of effort. Many organizations start up just to fizzle out due to lack of participation.

    Great for these types of students

    Intellectuals, Business people, healthcare majors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I can think of.

    Bang for the buck

    This is what I really like about this school. You are graduating with a degree from USC but you are paying for a satellite campus which is much more affordable than attending the main campus.

    What to do for fun

    You are located 30 minutes from downtown Savannah Georgia as well as 30 minutes from the beautiful beaches of Hilton Head South Carolina. Bluffton isn't a huge city but it does offer much in the way of shopping, dining, and activities.

    Food and Dining

    Surprisingly the food is actually good compared to other campuses that I have visited.

    Dorm Life

    This campus is relatively small compared to other colleges. If you are looking for a party atmosphere you will want a bigger school. They do have nice dorms with plenty of people in them.

    Academic Rigor

    Not as difficult as Oxford, but no one hands you your grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus to see if it would be a good fit for you. Ask questions when touring to advisers, student body representatives and financial aid counselors. Where you will spend the next 4-5 years of your life is a big decision.

    In three sentences

    USCB is a great place to earn a degree if you are looking for a small college that offers more classroom interaction than big universities. The professors know your name and actually care if you do well or not. If you want to learn this is a great college to attend.

  • 09/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is for every student who want a great education in a comfortable climate.

    Food and Dining

    The Dining place is good. They have very good food, but coffee needs to be grin more. Very good tea and the breakfast was delicious the other day.

    Dorm Life

    Not in dorm life yet

    Academic Rigor

    Just started, but good so far.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your Financial Aid ready on time. Register for classes early so you will get the classes you want or times or days you want on. Go to Class and be on time.

    In three sentences

    It's okay so far. Classes are small, which I like. Prefer this school to some who wants to go to college, but prefer not to have 300 or more students in a class.

  • 09/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe. They have text alerts for the weather and other dangers that could arise. There is campus security that is nice and they do not bother us unless needed. There is not ever any disturbances.

    Greek Life

    I am not to sure.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are academic, political, religious, athletic, and social clubs and groups that are easy to get involved with.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for any student. I am a little older than the usual student being 25 and I am married with a child and I fit in just fine. There are even programs for senior citizens. So the age range is anywhere from 17-70 and very diverse.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is located in the Lowcountry which is a beautiful area. The North campus is a historic campus located on the water and close to the historic downtown area that offers many shops and local restaurants.

    Bang for the buck

    I think that you we could get more for what we pay. The torturing services are free but there are not that many tutors and they are not always available. Also the programs are limited and competitive to get int to. The food is expensive and not worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities around the campus to get involved in and it is a small campus so finding friends and groups is not a problem. The beach is near by so it is easy to take time away from studying and relax.

    Food and Dining

    The meal plan is mandatory for students who commute and live on campus. It is expense and the food choices are not very healthy.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus so I do not know.

    Academic Rigor

    A lot of the professor have their Doctorate degree and expect you to know the material before coming to class. Most of the professors are willing to discuss your grades with you and take time to help you improve. It is challenging but very possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research housing and take time picking roommates. Make sure you visit the campus before you decide and familiarize yourself with the layout of the University. Search the area and see if it is somewhere you want to live.

    In three sentences

    Very friendly campus that makes college less intimidating. The professors are very approachable and intelligent. There are so many activities it is very easy to stay involved.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school is normally quiet. We are kind of in a secluded area, so we do not have much of any bad things going on. DPS is our on campus police, they are always there when you need them. They will come open your room door and if you need some help off campus, they will provide for some local help.

    Clubs and Activities

    We do offer a lot of clubs on campus. From Spanish to Anime. Whatever it is that you like, we probably have it. If we do not have it then you are always welcome to make your own as long as you have more than 5 people.

    Great for these types of students

    USCB is great for all types of students.

    What to do for fun

    There is not much to do for fun around here unless there is something going on, on campus. We are however, 30 mins away from Savannah, hour and a half from Charleston, and a couple of hours away from Florida. There is plenty to do in those three places. Besides it is nice to get away.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay. We some times have repeated meals, but it is not horrible. The kitchen staff are really nice. They are also willing to help if you have any food allergies.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are awesome. I would not really consider it a dorm, but more of an apartment. You have a kitchen, living room, a shared bathroom, and obviously your own bedroom. It has just enough space for you to make it your own.

    Academic Rigor

    USCB academics is just about average. The classes are not too hard and the professors are always willing to help you out. The only time you might run into some academic problems is if YOU are not putting in the effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come with an open mind you are going to run into a lot of different people that do not have the same views as you. There is a time to party, but do not let that run your life. A balance between social and academics is always good. Take it serious. Why waste your time and money if you are not going to do well. Get involved, join a club or two. It is an easy way to make friends. Finally, remember you are here to have fun and learn about yourself.

    In three sentences

    USCB tuition is the cheapest in our state. You are not living in a typically dorm, but more of a comfortable apartment. Friendly staff and students. They will make you feel welcomed.

  • 04/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's chill.

    Greek Life

    Have yet to see a Greek.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs but sadly they meet at inconvenient (for me) times. We even have an anime club.

    Great for these types of students

    People who just want to learn- this is a good place. People are friendly and peaceful, no drama.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This school is rather new, the traditions are still under construction... we do have the mystery of a campus lemur roaming around, but who knows what's behind that.

    Bang for the buck

    Meh. Average.

    What to do for fun

    You will need a ride. There is a beach, there are places to go, but without a car and an extra hour for driving you will be watching TV in your free time...

    Food and Dining

    Wish the cafeteria was open all day... like right now...I am starving...

    Dorm Life

    Not much to complain about. Not much to compliment on.

    Academic Rigor

    For the most part your grade is what your work ethic is.

    Tips for prospective students

    The teachers are happy to help. Always keep in touch and ask questions. Check your school email daily.

    In three sentences

    Very friendly. Rather peaceful. People smile.

  • 05/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is regular campus security that patrols the grounds and parking lots to ensure safety.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is still in the early stages at USCB.

    Clubs and Activities

    The campus offers several activities monthly, and they post the schedules for them all over campus. They also offer a number of clubs for students if interested.

    Great for these types of students

    USCB is great for students that want to get away from their hometown but still be close enough to visit their family. It's a great university for students that want to attend a university that's close to the beach. It also is great for students that are undecided in what to major in, because USCB offers several different majors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The cafeteria on campus offers a late night breakfast to students prior to finals for those that like to stay up and cram!

    Bang for the buck

    I feel that you definitely get what you pay for at USCB. They include tutoring in your tuition so that it costs nothing for you to get extra help if needed. They have an amazing library that also has a coffee shop in it. Students have access to several computers, and printers for a small fee once your ten dollar credit is used. USCB's campus is clean and safe and has security that patrols regularly. It also offers many activities to the students that attend.

    What to do for fun

    There is several things to do for fun in the area. First of all there's the beach, Hilton Head Island is minutes away! There is also the Sea Turtle Cinemas, a bowling alley that offers a student night, and the tanger outlets for shopping. Savannah, Georgia is also only a short drive and has many other fun things to offer.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria at USCB is pretty good! It always offers a salad bar, pizza station, and desert bar. There is also two other options that vary daily. The offer a fountain drink station, sweet and unsweetened tea, and lemon or cucumber water, which is my favorite! Breakfast provides a variety of different choices as well as cereal, waffle maker, etc.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at USCB are the nicest that I have seen around! They are almost like apartments. They offer a washer/dryer, and a furnished kitchen, and living/ dining room. There are four rooms and two bathrooms in each dorm. Typically two bedrooms and a bath are on each side of the dorm, and the kitchen, living and dining room are in the center.

    Academic Rigor

    USCB does offer grade replacement, but I heard that you have to request that upon the admission process.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students attending USCB for the nursing program should be aware that it is competitive like all nursing programs. The grades you make in your core classes are what set you apart from the applicants when you apply.

    In three sentences

    USCB is a growing campus, but it still has that small campus feel. There are many different majors offered at USCB, and the university offers many things to do in your spare time. The campus is only a short drive from the beach and Savannah.

  • 06/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus has a Department of Public Safety here 24-7. Our DPS is even on campus on holidays and weekends.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs and activities on campus are vastly growing because students here are organizing new clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    USCB has something for everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    USCB has traditions like Sharkapolooza and the Fin-ish Line annually.

    Bang for the buck

    When deciding on which college to attend, money was a vital factor. No other school that I looked at would give me the most for my money like USCB.

    What to do for fun

    There are numerous things to do for fun at USCB, on campus and off campus. On campus we have events such as Movie under the stars, intramural sports, and growing clubs and organizations. Off campus students can drive to the beach, go shopping at Tanger, and even go to the Drive-In movie in Beaufort.

    Food and Dining

    USCB is near Hilton Head Island and Beaufort, both places have exceptional dining and activities even for college students.

    Dorm Life

    USCB has apartment style living for students even freshmen. Freshmen can even bring their cars for their first year. Students can choose to have a single room in their apartment with roommates having their own room as well.

    Academic Rigor

    Our professor-student ratio is about 1:17. This allows students to be able to communicate with their professors and students do not have to be a number in a large classroom.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking for a school in the low country of South Carolina, this school is for you.

    In three sentences

    USCB is a beautiful four year college that is the fasting growing college in the state of South Carolina. The campus has something for everyone. This school is a tight knit family and has so much to offer students.

  • 08/13/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    21 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The officers are on duty 24 hours a day seven days a week to ensure a safe environment for all the students, faculty and staff.

    Great for these types of students

    If you like to be outdoors, or near the beach...this campus is perfect for you!

    Bang for the buck

    With the location (Near the beach), along with the home feel, you can't go wrong. It's a beautiful campus with great professors who really care.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved with clubs or new activities that you normally wouldn't do. The University offers indoor and outdoor activities daily!

    Food and Dining

    With the choice of meal plan, students get a bang for their buck. The variety of food is incredible!

    Dorm Life

    Living on campus is a great way for students to get connected to the University. all of the staff members are there to promote the academic success and personal development of the students. Students have the opportunity to learn new thing and meet new people as well.

    Academic Rigor

    To graduate with a baccalaureate degree from the University of South Carolina Beaufort students must complete a program of general study designed to provide them with a well rounded education. Making it slightly difficult but defiantly possible to do with hard work and dedication.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're struggling in a class go to tutoring before its to late! Oh, and guess what! It's free!

    In three sentences

    The University of South Carolina-Beaufort is a beautiful, welcoming and diverse Campus. I would rate the University high based on its location, wide range on academic choices and the diversity of people to gain more knowledge of different cultures.

  • 10/09/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    22 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I was impressed by the campus security on campus.

    Greek Life

    Didn't see any but I believe there would soon be some.

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable. I believe its probably the most affordable in the state.

    Food and Dining

    The food was great when I had my campus visit.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm is apartment style, I guess thatsone of the many factors why I love USCB.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm going to be taking up Biology. Some of the students at USCB said that Biology would test me when I get there.

    In three sentences

    Great school for people who dont want to be too close to home but not too far either. Very affordable compared to the other colleges I'm interested in. The small campus makes you feel at home.

  • 11/20/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    23 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There are so many restaurants right by the campus so you'll have your choice of food

    Academic Rigor

    It is supposed to be a great school academically.

    In three sentences

    Beaufort is a beautiful little town and the campus looks amazing.

  • 12/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police on campus. Feel very safe.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for local students but it would also be great for people who are looking for a warmer climate.

    Bang for the buck

    Walmart across from campus. That is a big bang for your buck.

    What to do for fun

    Student Life on campus has fun games and entertainment. Have fun and shoot some pool.

    Food and Dining

    Food on campus with addicting choices. 2 grocery stores across the way. You need to drive about 5 minutes to get to the closest food joint off campus.

    Dorm Life

    Clean area with spacious rooms. The kitchen area is small.

    Academic Rigor

    They are not pushy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meeting in person gets things done quicker than via email.

    In three sentences

    Quick service with dedicated staff willing to speak to you face to face. Clean campus with beautiful South Carolina scene. Advance equipment for an advancing world.

  • 01/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Campus often runs events, has movie screenings, or other things. Off-campus there's not much to do unless you want to drive to Savannah or Charleston.

    Food and Dining

    Wide selection of pretty okay food. Sometimes they offer something great, and sometimes it can be bad, but there's always a salad bar.

    Dorm Life

    I commute so I can't really say anything.

    Academic Rigor

    I don't know if the work is so much challenging as it is time-consuming. Almost all of my classes involve a lot of reading and the preferred assignment is paper-writing.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you see a class you think is interesting offered in the schedule, take it, because there's a good chance you will have to wait a while before it is offered again. Also, be aware that many class sizes are small.

    In three sentences

    USCB has a welcoming and excellent staff. Though it has limited course offerings, sometimes there are some really great ones. They are always trying to create events for the students to participate in, so there is usually something going on.

  • 04/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    USCB is a fairly new school, so it doesn't have a big greek life or athletics program. We currently have one fraternity, but next semester we are supposed to open up a new chapter of a sorority. The only sports teams we have are the women's soccer team, the men and women's track, baseball, and softball. We also have intramural games for a variety of sports including soccer, tennis, and ping-pong, and have many clubs such as the Anime & Games club, the Environmental club, and Sand Sharks for Service.

    Bang for the buck

    USCB is rated as the lowest-cost public university in South Carolina, and overall the facilitates available to students are above what we pay for.

    What to do for fun

    Perhaps USCB's biggest draw is the fact that campus is located just twenty minutes from the beach! When the weather's nice we like to car pool down to the sand and set up the corn holes and play soccer by the ocean. There are also various events going on every week, and bonfires occur often on campus when the weather allows. However, the area around campus isn't too student-orientated, and the only things to do off campus are going to the movies or bowling, unless you want to make the thirty-minute drive to Hilton Head Island or Savannah.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria on USCB is nice, well-lit and always has enough seats. They always have three separate meal options daily, however they do tend to serve a limited variety of foods such as hamburgers, chicken tenders, and pizza. The hours are wonderful, and the staff is lovely. Another drawback, however, is that the cafeteria isn't open on weekends, and a car is necessary if you want to go get any fast food considering the area around campus isn't student-friendly.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at USCB are very nice, and you get the bang for your buck. All dorms have a full kitchen and laundry set-up, and are nicely sized. The staff in the Housing Department are very kind and helpful, and will go above and beyond to welcome each student. The only inconveniences are that we don't get mail on the weekends and the visitor regulations are a bit strict, but other than that Housing on campus is wonderful!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes USCB offers range in difficulty, but each course is individually-rewarding and intriguing. Some classes require a lot of studying and much writing of the fated college papers, while others just require your attendance and participation.

    Tips for prospective students

    USCB is for students of all varieties- whether you are undecided, wanting to transfer to a bigger school, or ready to start your adult life. Everyone is kind and pleasant, so don't let the nerves get to you too badly before move-in day! Just bring a smile, a good attitude, and be ready to soak in the education and experiences USCB has to offer!

    In three sentences

    The University of South Carolina at Beaufort is a school that fosters the growth of creativity and self-interest. It's a new school, but part of a large university system that has a rich history in the state of South Carolina and has incredible potential. USCB has allowed me to become independent and self-reliant while keeping me in the reign of healthy supervision.