Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

University of South Carolina-Lancaster Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    For the person who wants a more personal college experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you want the smaller campus before you decide to go here.

    Bang for the buck

    By the end of my college career here I will have no debt what-so-ever.

    Am enjoying being here

    Being at a smaller university really lets the professors get to know you, and when they know you they are more willing to help you out.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are understanding that the students have a lot on their plates, but at the same time they are challenging enough to let us think and learn.

  • 05/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I personally never heard of anything bad happening at this school.

    Clubs and Activities

    This school offers a chemistry club, math club, and a list of others.

    Great for these types of students

    This school would be great for students who like to learn and have fun at the same time.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This campus is located across from walmart.

    Bang for the buck

    If your looking to get a degree and learn I would choose this school because it's smaller which allows you to learn more.

    What to do for fun

    We can play basketball, tennis, or go swimming.

    Food and Dining

    We have a bookstore that sale snacks and sandwich that can be heated

    Dorm Life

    They have some dorms, but its not really an on campus school.

    Academic Rigor

    The best school ever!

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should really take advantage of this school. They have tutors in the library if student are to scared to raise their hand in class. The tutors are also around their age which makes you feel more comfortable. This school also offers relaxation time where students can shoot pool, watch TV on a flat screen or play a game.

    In three sentences

    The college I go to is very small which means that you have more one on one with the instructors. This school also have alot of student activities for example Spring Fling the school give out free food, a washable tattoo and other cool stuff. USCL offers students a rich environment to learn in. It's easier to learn here than those big over sized colleges.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The campus offer intramurals sports and several shows during the year.

    Food and Dining

    I do not think the campus offer anything.

    Dorm Life

    The college do not have a dorm rooms available to the students. The college is partnered with Lancer commons and oaks commons to provide comfortable and affordable living for student. I suggest students apply early to live these living spaces.

    Academic Rigor

    My nursing classes are online and will be difficult. Somethings will be hard but the professor are willing to help the students. I suggest students study and manage their time well to be successful.

    Tips for prospective students

    I suggest Students to focus on one major and stick with one school. Change schools and majors will put students behind. Go to class everyday and take notes.

    In three sentences

    I think University of South Carolina Lancaster because it is a small campus. The staff and professors love to help the students. The students are united and help each other.

  • 12/04/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    USC-L is great for all kinds of students. It doesn't matter if you commute, live in a campus apartment or live with your family, everyone fits in and makes friend while gaining a great education at the same time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always beware of deadlines, take every opportunity to study and complete assignments as soon as possible. Small university or not, USC-L is as serious as any other campus when it comes to academics. Basically, if you're not lazy then you will be fine!

    Bang for the buck

    The price is great and very affordable! Even if you're an out-of-state student, USC-L will probably still be better on your pockets than any other school around. If you have a job then you have a chance to build up your money, especially for when you transfer, so you won't be as broke as many college students are.

    Am enjoying being here

    USC-L is a great place to start off your college career. Many people go off to college unprepared, but here you get to still feel at home and have your independence at the same time. Even if you live with your family, there's always something to do around here to help you experience college life.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors here are very nice and quite knowledgeable in their areas of expertise. They teach you the material and make it their mission to help you understand. Many of the professors also offer reasonable office hours in case anyone needs help outside of the classroom. Classes are small, usually no more than 25 people, so learning and getting help is quite easy.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is always around whether you see them or not. Just know if you park your car somewhere you are not supposed to, you will get caught!!

    Food and Dining

    Never ate here before, so I really don't know!

    Dorm Life

    I don't stay on campus, but I heard the dorms are nice. They really don't have too many, so its probably hard to get a dorm room over here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always be prepared for anything. Don't be afraid to ask for help, because its always there. Don't ever give up, and always keep your head up.

    In three sentences

    Transferring to this college was the best choice I have made in awhile. I will be getting my degree in 3 years or less and this is a great opportunity for me. This is a great school if anyone plans to come here in the future.

  • 04/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Just make sure you look both ways before you cross the crosswalk across to get from the Commons to the campus. It is a safe environment, on-campus. There are security personnel at all times, and there are numbers you can call if there is any sort of suspicious activity.

    Greek Life

    There are no frat houses or sororities, here.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a travel club, Omega Scholars club for men, PAL instructors, and not much else.

    Great for these types of students

    This place is great for students who need hands-on assistance, like small towns and knowiing everyone and their business, like small classes, and are not city-folk.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None.

    What to do for fun

    To me, there is nothing to do. However, you can participate in tractor pulls, ride horses, go to WalMart, go shooting, drive to Rock Hill or Charlotte, go to the movies, etc.

    Food and Dining

    There is no cafeteria on campus. However, there are plenty of places to grab lunch around the school. There is: Wendy's, Sonic, Subway, Zaxby's, Taco Bell, Chick-Fil-A, Chinese food places, Subbies, Groucho's, Arby's, Bojangles, McDonalds, KFC, Wing King, Dominos, Papa John's, Fox's Pizza, Waffle House, Applebee's, Huddle House, Las Mariachis, La Chalupa, Pizza Hut and a couple of locally owned diners.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms available on campus. There are apartments across the street from the campus that are called the Commons. There is also various apartments throughout the area that are available for student use. I would definitely have a car at my disposal if applying to this school.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors aren't strict here, for the most part. Most of them grant leniency when it is needed, but I would not take that for granted. The grading process per professor is different, of course. However, all of the classes here are passable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not come here if you are a city-person, or do not like small areas. I very much got a culture-shock when I moved from Syracuse, NY to little, old Lancaster, SC. This is a good place to begin a college experience, though, since there are programs such as TRiO and Upward Bound for students who may need assistance in moving from a high school to college education.

    In three sentences

    This school is ideal for someone who likes small classes and a small campus environment. The professors are very willing to assist students. The softball team has been cut, but a new tennis team is arising.

  • 06/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school gym is set on the north side of Hubbard street. Behind the school is a hiking trail that only a few students know about. Many can walk, hike, run and at the end of the trail there is picnic spot. Its great to go on nature walks for those who enjoy the wild life.

    What to do for fun

    Since the school campus is located in a small town its hard to find things to do. Many join sports. There is the soccer, baseball, basketball, and a tennis team. The school also hold intramural sport competitions. The school also has a track as well as a hiking trail. Others students joined the debate, student council, and the runway show events.

    Food and Dining

    The school does not provide food or dining, however, there are many restaurants around the school campus.

    Dorm Life

    The school doesn't have any dorms. Which is a bummer. However, there are apartments across the street.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic are easy if you paid attention in high school most of the freshmen classes are just recaps. Some classes can be challenging but the teachers do what they can to keep it interesting.

    Tips for prospective students

    I encourage students not to take morning class nor take more than 6 classes a semester if they have a full time job. Never procrastinate and always follow the syllabus the teacher provides.

    In three sentences

    This a great school. Classes are small they average from 17 to 25 students. Teachers do go out of their way to help students. That's from either tutoring them to helping them arrange make up sessions.

  • 10/23/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 8

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    It has a very small class room size up to 18 students in a normal setting and everything is within walking distance. I can't wait to get accepted.