Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

University of South Dakota Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    USD is perfect for students wanting a wonderful education in a big yet still small college. The size is large enough for many opportunities, but not so huge as to not be able to feel part of the community.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please don't forget that Vermilion is in South Dakota! It gets cold in the winter! :) Also, even though USD is located in a small town, there are tons of things to do on the weekend. Get creative!

    Bang for the buck

    Considering the tuition for many other in-state colleges, USD and other South Dakota public universities are quite a steal. USD offers a wonderful education for a wonderful price.

    Am enjoying being here

    While the first few weeks are rough if you are a freshmen (the usual getting used to college kind of things) the community advisers on each floor really take the time to get to know students and make sure life is going ok. The student center (the MUC) has daily activities and movies on the weekends. Even though USD is in a small town, there is a lot to do if you look for it.

    Am learning a lot

    From day one the teachers are really excited about teaching. Many professors, while not able to get to know students in class, welcome office visits with open arms. The class variety makes it easy to explore options and get a taste of other majors. By the end of the semester students will feel like they have actually learned material, not just memorized it.

  • 01/19/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 7 people found this review useful. 2 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    USD is great for students who are looking to be part of a community and really get involved in their college experience. It is also a very nice fit for students who come from small or rural communities because the college really makes an effort to helping these students adjust.

    Tips for prospective students

    For those students who are interested in The University of South Dakota, I would advise coming to visit campus. This is really the only way to see how great the campus is and how much students and faculty members can interact with one another. After being here for a little while and getting to know people, campus has really started to become like home for me, and it definitely feels like one big family.

    Bang for the buck

    The University of South Dakota is rated one of the best schools for it's value almost every year. Because I was not interested in any of the colleges that were in my state, USD was a great choice for me. I am paying the same, if not less, to go here than I would have at a university in my home state. Also, the amount of financial aid available to students is relatively generous.

    Am enjoying being here

    Vermillion is known for being a small town that is home to a big university. With the amount of students that are enrolled at USD being approximately 10,000 and the number of permanent residents of Vermillion being a similar number, the town is definitely centered around the campus and its students. I have encountered nothing but warm regards from all of Vermillion's residents. Also, campus is always busy with something going on from weekly free movies at the Muenster University Center (MUC) to special events like a luau in the middle of winter! There are so many opportunities to get involved, it's hard not to find somewhere that you fit in.

    Am learning a lot

    Because USD is a smaller university than most, I am able to have direct contact with all of my professors, instead of having to go through a Teacher's Assistant when I have questions. All of the professors are very willing to help a student with any problems or questions they may have, even in the large lecture classes. Also, there are numerous research opportunities for undergraduates that just aren't available at other universities. Overall, the level of education I am receiving here is highly above average.

  • 05/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    trying to raise GPA, wanting to stay close to home

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk and engage with your professors from the first day. Professors may seem intimidating, but they love talking to their students and they will have a positive view of you if you take the time to talk to them. Always do the readings for a class, you never know when you will be called on.

    Bang for the buck

    USD is a great school. Its cheap and has a lot of really great professors. The campus has a lot of new buildings and some historic buildings. I would encourage students looking at this school to apply and seriously consider coming to this school.

    Am enjoying being here

    USD is a fun school. However, there are not a lot of student events. Most of the events on the weekends are house parties or redbox movies. There is a lot of emphasis placed on seniority once you start taking classes in your major. If you have been around longer, there is more admiration for you.

    Am learning a lot

    There are great professors here. However, there are also some not so great professors. The trick is to ask some upper classmen about your professors so you can have only the best. I had a terrible professor for my algebra class and i already hate math and he just made the class worse for me. If you get some of the really good professors it will be easier to learn and it will be more fun.

  • 05/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Tour the school! Go to activities!

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is very cheap compared to most schools! Staying in state is helpful but it is also a good deal for out of state students!

    Am enjoying being here

    It is a small town, but you can always find something to do! Vermillion is a town with a lot of historical importance! It keeps growing and the university is always bettering itself. We just got a new wellness center!

    Am learning a lot

    I am majoring in Psychology and Alcohol and Drug Studies. Professors are amazing, and give you the help you need! You just have to ask!

  • 12/01/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 5 people found this review useful. 5 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Will learn a lot

    I will do my very best at learning.

  • 07/08/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    USD was extraordinary in providing me with a financial plan that worked.

    Will enjoy being here

    I like the liberal arts feel wrapped in the larger university package. You are more than just a number here.

    Will learn a lot

    The teachers I have talked to are very helpful and amiable.

  • 01/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    great stuff to do.

    Great for these types of students

    hard-workers, fun lovers, scholars, theatre geeks, knowledge lovers, and those who wish to get a good education in a comfortable town.

    What to do for fun

    cities like sioux falls and sioux city are nearby for nights on the town, but vermillion has a fun music scene, a small pair of movie theaters, and a theatre department that is great at putting on a good show.

    Food and Dining

    the campus dining has been greatly improved and the town is full of great restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    rooms are small but workable.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't be put off by the lack of big city glamor, usd is a good, solid school where you will receive a fine education. enjoy the different clubs and entertainment on campus and in town. do your homework but save time for some fun as well. plus, visit the theater as the department puts on high quality plays and musicals for the same cost as a movie, but far better.

    In three sentences

    i love the campus at usd. the environment is small and comfortable. i've had nothing but great professors and my horizons have been widened.

  • 03/04/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    plenty of meal plans to choose from. ranging from 10 to 17 meals per week, or flex cash!

    Dorm Life

    with the newly opened coyote village, there are a lot of dorm style, or apartment style living available to students on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    i plan on earning my bachelor's degree in dental hygiene

    In three sentences

    after visiting the university of south dakota, it seems like a very nice school, where there will be plenty of opportunities for success. it's a small quiet town, with the big university atmosphere which is really nice.

  • 03/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    safety here is a priority to the campus. it is very safe here; i have never felt a moment where i do not feel safe with where i am at!

    Greek Life

    greek life is very strong and very fun! these groups are families and they are very supportive of those in their groups as well as those out of it.

    Clubs and Activities

    there is so much going on here that i have a hard time trying to decide what i should do! there is something for everyone here!

    Great for these types of students

    this school is great for anyone looking at almost any major. if you are looking to meet new people and start a great new chapter in your life, this is the school for you!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    some traditions our university has are wearing red on fridays, yote flotes on tuesdays, and great d-days (homecoming) events!!

    Bang for the buck

    this university is worth every penny they charge! of course every university could use some work, but i truly believe that this university is worth everything i pay to attend!

    What to do for fun

    i am involved in cru and psyc club. however, i love to hang out with my friends, and we often have just dance parties in my dorm room. i also attend varsity athletic events with my friends; these events are a great amount of fun!

    Food and Dining

    the food and dining is one are the university could update a little. the muc is great, but the commons is only really good the first couple of times. more variety could be added.

    Dorm Life

    i love dorm life here! you get to know a ton of people who have the same interests as you! the dorms are also very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    classes can be very challenging, but if you keep on schedule and do your best, you will be just fine. also, ask questions!! the teachers are there to help you understand the material!

    Tips for prospective students

    my biggest tips for prospective students is to get involved and to stay caught up! classes can get rigorous, but it is not all that hard if you set aside time everyday for homework. getting involved is a huge things too because it will allow you to relax and have some fun!

    In three sentences

    i absolutely love this university! there are somethings that the university could improve on, but overall, they have a goal to educate their students to the best of their abilities. this university definitely has the students in mind at all times.

  • 03/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out with people, intramural sports, volunteer work

    Food and Dining

    There is quite the plethora of choices for food on campus. There si a little something for everyine to eat and enjoy everyday.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is very fun. You meet a lot of new people and have some fun times. It's a great social place to be.

    Academic Rigor

    I place this as high because there is a lot of hard work. For a nursing major there is a lot of required work and it can be very difficult at times. However, the pay off in the end is well worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get ready for some fun times. You will have good memories. It may be hard when you aren't in your major to feel like it is worth it but after that initial hump, once you are in your major it is amazing.

    In three sentences

    It is a very nice school. It has a very home town feel to it. It is great for those from a small home town.

  • 04/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security vehicles are constantly roaming the parking lots and just making their usual rounds. I feel safe around the city of Vermillion and on the college campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs to participant in around campus and the new wellness center always has intramural activities taking place.

    What to do for fun

    There are several mom and pop restaurants that have delicious food! They are often filled with local residents and college students. There are a couple nice walk/run/biking trails around the Vermillion River and the town. There are also two movie theaters and a bowling alley.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is located in the freshman dorms complex, which is convenient for those students, but not for anyone else. The food court in the University Center has the basic food items, but they could add a little more variety. However, plans are in the making for adding a couple restaurants in that building!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is definitely an experience that every first year student should experience. You meet a lot of new people and you get to interact with the students a lot more.

    Academic Rigor

    Certain areas of studies have different expectations. However, as far as the science departments go, they are tougher on their standards and expect more, which could be a positive thing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Regarding things to bring for your dorm/apartment, cut what you think you need in half. You end up storing most of it without ever using it.

    In three sentences

    The size of the USD student body is great because the classes are small enough to have more one-on-one with the professors. I like the small-town feel of the city of Vermillion with a bigger school experience. The staff of the University are always friendly and willing to help you with anything you need.

  • 04/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No one likes campus safety/security but that's because they give parking tickets.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is very big at USD. Lots of houses to choose from with great people in all of them

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs and activities to be involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    Law, business, nursing, and dental hygiene students. All are very competitive.

    Bang for the buck

    I think University of South Dakota is very reasonable for the price we pay.

    What to do for fun

    We drink, a lot. We all attend events, work out, outside games.

    Food and Dining

    Food on campus is not amazing, but it is not bad. Lots of variety. Since Vermillion is such a small town there is not a lot of food places off of campus which is nice to save money.

    Dorm Life

    Large dorm size. Not the newest, but very roomy.

    Academic Rigor

    Very good academics at University of South Dakota. I am a transfer student from South Dakota State University, and I had nothing but horrible professors, and at USD I have loved every professor I have had.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know your major right away to get a good advisor.

    In three sentences

    Vermillion is a very small college town. I like the professors a lot. Parking sometimes is a hassle.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have university police and regular police that patrol the campus and around the campus regularly

    Bang for the buck

    With the cheap tuition and size of the location it is worth coming here. You will get the full college experience without having to spend a lot.

    What to do for fun

    Not much to do in Vermillion unless your 21. There is a movie theater and a park but that is about it. You can visit

    Food and Dining

    The Common's food is alright but is the same thing all the time. The MUC is the same but has better made food. and later on they will add on with other food chains

    Dorm Life

    It mainly depends on the people on the floor. You might be on a quiet floor or a floor that never sleeps. When move in day comes just introduce yourself to people in order to see what your floor might look like. Also you can see what people are from and learn more about them.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not that bad. Many of them are not to hard but also challenge you to put in the work. If you study the notes and complete all of the assignments then there should be no problem. Just don't overdo it on classes because it can be stressful

    Tips for prospective students

    To meet new people and find some places to hang out. Go to the library to study because the dorms can be distracting. Find activities and clubs to get involved on campus

    In three sentences

    It is a good size campus for people who want a big time college without the college price tag. There are many people that go to this college with transitions into making more friends along the way. Also there is many different classes and different majors for many people to chose from.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe enviornment.

    Greek Life

    Very active Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many different activities for all. You just have to get out and try them.

    Bang for the buck

    I am an out of state student and I still spend less than many of the in state tutions from my home state.

    What to do for fun

    Small town close to two metropoliton areas. Also close to the Missouri River for the outdoor types!

    Food and Dining

    There are a lot of choices. Dining room and other venues for your dinning passes.

    Dorm Life

    Rooms are nice compared to others I saw.

    Academic Rigor

    Very competitive yet the professors are easy to talk with and will help if you ask.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a chance on a new environment. Try different classes to see what really spark your interests!

    In three sentences

    Great opportunities as there are many fields of studies. The campus is beautiful, safe and easy to get around. I love my university!

  • 06/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    The campus offers 7 fraternity houses and 6 sorority houses.

    Great for these types of students

    USD is great for students looking for a career in the medical field, accounting, or education.

    What to do for fun

    USD has an outstanding Wellness Center that provides multiple exercise opportunities, as well as intramural activities. The campus has a music museum and an art museum that are incredible to browse because the exhibits change often and there is always something new to see.

    Food and Dining

    The Commons Cafeteria offers a variety of food. The MUC provides culturally diverse food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is a phenomenal way to meet many people and get involved. You can live on a co-ed or same-sex floor.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are extremely helpful for finding different techniques for students to learn. Teacher assistants hold study sessions that provide excellent information.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be involved in as many activities as possible. Future employees look at your experience in the field and with people versus your overall GPA.

    In three sentences

    USD is a spectacular campus to learn and grow. I rate them 4 stars out of 5 because there is always room for improvement.

  • 06/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very small town. There is no direct threat to your safety on campus except very drunk people during D-Days.

    Greek Life

    The greek system is amazingly large. It is a very great time and a great way to meet friends.

    Great for these types of students

    Jocks will love this place.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    D-Days. A wonderful weekend for all children that like to drink and party.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, this school is definatley worth the affordable tuition price. Out of state tuition isn't nearly as bad as most other out of state tuition pricing in other states. USD offers very affordable tuition price.

    What to do for fun

    There is plenty to do for fun! The gym membership that comes in with paying tuition. Plenty of people on the dorm floor to befriend and hang out with.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is your typical college buffet. It is not anything special and one can get easily sick of the food. The school is planning on expanding their food program which makes me happy to see. The resutranunts around town are very tasty and much better quality that of the college's buffet line.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is a very fun experience as long as you know everyone on your floor. There are plenty of people to befriend and get along with. What happens at USD stays at USD ;)

    Academic Rigor

    Like I had said before the education provided is wonderful. The instructors/professors are generally amazing people and are prepared to teach you and get their point across.

    Tips for prospective students

    This college is a great college to start off as a freshman and get your feet wet. However, some people like the idea of transfering and not finishing here. Make you sure like this college enough to apply and stay here. I highly recommend this.

    In three sentences

    The University of South Dakota is an amazing educational instituion that provides a well-balenced learning experience to thousands of students who come there every year. A fun experience this college is and the size makes you have plenty of friends. This college is very affordable.

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I felt safe 24/7 on campus! There was nowhere I was afraid to go, and there was no one i was afraid to see.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life is awesome at USD. There are so many houses to choose from. Both the Frats and Sororities have so many options, and they each have separate points that make them appealing to particular students!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many intramural teams to join, and so so many clubs that you will be amazed. Thanks to their new wellness center, any type of sport you want to play, odds are, we have a team. So just because the Sports Programs are Division 1, doesn't mean you still can't play your favorite sport for fun! :D

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    D-Days is definitely the best tradition to participate in. Its USD's Homecoming week, and it gets ridiculously crazy fun!

    Bang for the buck

    USD offered so much for the reasonably low price of admission. I was amazed. So many buildings were new or re-done, and just offered so much to do.

    What to do for fun

    There's the obvious, hang out at the dorms/apartments with your friends, but there is always so much more to do! The Student Center almost always has activities for people to participate in like dances, game nights, contests, and other fun things that sometimes can win you money or prizes!!

    Food and Dining

    The Food at USD was very good for the most part. Especially the food at the Student Center! Can't wait to see whats new when I get back this fall!

    Dorm Life

    I met my best friends on the floor that I lived on. I loved dorm life at USD because the CA's on my floor seemed to do a good job at getting us involved in activities as a floor and get to meet new people!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes here are challenging, but nothing that you can't do. they aren't so easy that they are boring, but they also aren't so hard that you will have difficulties passing either. The teachers are AWESOME, and are very easy to get along with, and are very understanding. They always seem to be looking out for YOUR best interest!

    Tips for prospective students

    Say hi to everyone, don't judge or rule anyone out. You are going to meet alot of people, and ANYONE could become your closest friend.

    In three sentences

    USD provided so many great opportunities, and on such a lovely campus. There were so many things to do both on and off campus, that it was very hard to be bored. My freshman year was a success, but only because of the greatness of the college, and of my friends I made along the way.

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I am never worried while on campus! Being 4'11, safety was a big concern for me. At USD I feel right at home.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs and activities are available for any interest or personality.

    Great for these types of students

    USD is the perfect school for anyone looking for that big university feel in a small town. I love the exciting atmosphere with the small size.

    What to do for fun

    Movies at the MUC Activities held weekly by different clubs Bowling Sporting events Department held speakers Dance Marathon Strollers Many more!

    Food and Dining

    There are a lot of different choices, but the choices don't change daily. However, the taste is great!

    Dorm Life

    Something every college student has to experience! Many great memories take place in the dorms, and the friends you make will last a lifetime.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics at USD can be as easy or as challenging as you want!

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for students looking into The University of South Dakota: 1. Manage your time, there are so many great opportunities at the University of South Dakota, but keeping those grades up is your most important job as a student 2. Live in the dorms during your freshman year to experience what many know as dorm life 3. Get involved 4. Try new things

    In three sentences

    The University of South Dakota has a very welcoming and friendly environment from the moment you step foot on campus. The entire staff is very helpful while guiding students on their path to whatever lies ahead of them, and the opportunities available to students while attending USD are limitless. Overall, I have been very satisfied with USD and would recommend it to anyone looking to go to school there.

  • 06/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I never thought I would join, it just wasn't my thing. Not joining would have been the biggest mistake.

    In three sentences

    This college has given me the most incredible experience. Aside from getting a great education and pursing a degree that I am very excited about, I have made the most wonderful friends a student could ask for. Not only have I learned a lot, I have have a lot of fun.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I believe that the campus is very safe and I see campus police at night roaming the campus making sure nothing is going on. I have never heard of anything bad happening to anybody on campus nor has anything bad every happened to me!

    Greek Life

    USD is known for their Greek Life. They are very involved with the school and help out where ever they can! Being in a sorority or fraternity really helps you meet so many new people and being in one really helps with grades too because they create such a high standard otherwise you can not join if you do not make grades!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of activities at USD. There is a club for probably everything you could think of. The athletics has many sports for every type of person!

    Great for these types of students

    USD is great for everybody!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The biggest event on campus is Dakota Days which is their homecoming and it is so amazing! Everybody gets hyped up and the energy is absolutely awesome! TKE fraternity has TKE dance night on Thursdays (not every Thursday, but it seems like it!) and they always have a theme to them and many people go and it is a really good time! I would suggest going to those if you plan to come to USD in the fall/spring.

    Bang for the buck

    USD is fairly cheaper than most colleges in the United States. Students get a lot of bang for their buck. USD also has great scholarship opportunities so they try to make it affordable for everyone

    What to do for fun

    There really is not anything fun to do in Vermillion. There are many sororities and fraternities that host events and they are always fun to attend. The people in the student life office do a really good job of creating activities for everyone to do at least once a week and during busier weeks they create more events to keep our minds off of the clutter. If people live in the dorms there is always something going on so they will never get too bored.

    Food and Dining

    The commons at USD are really good the first few weeks until you realized they basically have the same thing every other day. The food is good, but it does get pretty sickening eating the same thing everyday. The MUC at USD has better food than the commons does. The MUC also has the same food everyday, but there are so many different things you can choose from (kind of like fast food) so it never gets too old!

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life at USD is awesome! They have nice sized dorms and there are always people on the floor that you will get along with! I had such a great experience with the dorms and I would highly suggest them for all incoming freshman!

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the classes provided at the University of South Dakota are challenging and students do have to make an effort to study for tests and do all of their homework. There are quite a few classes that students will have to take for generals that are fairly simple and that is nice to have when all the other classes the student is taking are harder. The classes are nothing the students can not handle, as long as they put forth the effort they will get the rewards at the end.

    Tips for prospective students

    The only couple of tips I would give for prospective students is that you really need to learn to manage your time at college! Do not go out and party every night and think you will get awesome grades, because you really will not. The classes are challenging and you will need to make time for studying for each one.

    In three sentences

    The University of South Dakota is such an amazing school! It has a lively campus life and they really try to keep activities going from week to week! The classes there are not always small, but the professors really do make an effort to get to know each one of their students and I have had only positive experiences throughout my first year!

  • 06/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Vermillion is full of opportunities for students and involvement. USD includes sports, government associations, work out opportunities, and many campus inolvement

    Food and Dining

    There are many food options on and off campus.

    Dorm Life

    The droms are very nice and involved with you and the school. They are deffinitely an experience worth getting.

    Academic Rigor

    There are many options and opprotunities for your acedemic career.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research thing to get involved and don't be afraid to try new things.

    In three sentences

    USD provides ample opportunity to students for getting involved. They are interested in you as a person and not a number. I have no regrets for attending USD.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    22 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I think that the University of South Dakota would be a great choice for any student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In October, there is Dakota Days (D-Days)...which is the college's homecoming. There is a huge parade followed by a home football game...which is inside of the Dakota Dome.

    Bang for the buck

    The price of USD is fantastic! You get a great education for a lot less than some other schools.

    What to do for fun

    There are many fun things to do in Vermillion; anything from Mini Golf, going to see a movie, going out to eat, bowling, golfing and many others.

    In three sentences

    The University of South Dakota is a bit of a smaller university, but it's a great place! I have lived in Vermillion for a few years and have gotten to know the campus very well. The campus is great and everything is in walking distance.

  • 08/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The town is pretty small, there it is not hard to find the fun. The dome is in our own town.

    Food and Dining

    Always something to eat, there are restaurants on every corner.

    Dorm Life

    I commute to the universty.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't give up and always talk to your adivors when you have a doubt.

    In three sentences

    The university has a friendly atmosphere and the staff is always ready to help you. Every dream and aspiration can be met there. There are options for anyone.

  • 09/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Though there have been incidents, if responded to correctly UPD will be there in 2 minutes or less.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is a huge part of campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for everything!

    What to do for fun

    Go to floor activities, go to the MUC or campus activities.

    Food and Dining

    If you live in North Complex, the commons can be a godsend on lazy days. Not having to leave the building is great. But if not, the other options aren't far and have good selection.

    Dorm Life

    Depending on where you live, it can get loud. Invest in a white noise machine if that bothers you.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are laid back but there is a high expectation for success.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find your classes before the first day of classes and feel free to ask for help from CA's and desk workers. It's why they are there.

    In three sentences

    Nice campus set up. Small but not without opportunities and aesthetics. Class sizes aren't too but but have enough people to make them comfortable.

  • 09/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never really hear of many issues on the campus. Very rare that anything violent happens. There are people that volunteer to walk students at night if they feel they need an escort.

    Greek Life

    Many sororities and fraternities. Everyone in them enjoy the activities that they have going on.

    Clubs and Activities

    There seems to be a club for about every major and minor at USD. All the clubs have their own goals they like to accomplish every year. There are also some other clubs outside of the education clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for every type of student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have D-Days (Dakota Days) which is the homecoming that happens usually the 1st weekend of October. Everyone gets very excited and there's a lot of school spirit the week before the football game. Also, the day of the game there is a parade downtown.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a very affordable college and they really help to keep it affordable for everyone with their financial aid office.

    What to do for fun

    There's always movies being shown on campus on weekends. Games are definitely a huge part of the campus's life. There also are frats and sororities that people can join.

    Food and Dining

    There are quite a few options. Some areas you can have buffet styled meals and other food areas are more like a small restaurant style.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are small but everyone in the halls that you live in are very welcoming and they become your family.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are definitely harder than others but they push you to really achieve your full potential.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you need help just ask your professor because they are all willing to help you.

    In three sentences

    A great college that's big enough yet small enough to get around easily. There are wonderful staff and great professors that are all willing to help you in anyway needed. Definitely a college that has all a student could need.

  • 09/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's pretty safe. The time you hear any kind of violence is when the students get to drunk. But it's taken care of in a pretty good manner for the students and administers.

    Bang for the buck

    For non-traditional students it's great place to attended. The cost of living and going to school are pretty cheap.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the gym play basketball, workout, play in flag football, and go to the college games on the weekends.

    Food and Dining

    The two times I've eaten at the food court was great.

    Dorm Life

    I don't know; I personally haven't lived in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging for a student. The University tries to place you in classes that will challenge you as a student.

    Tips for prospective students

    To get out of your shell and venture out.

    In three sentences

    The University is about a 7-8. Very Friendly place to be. Classes are 25 people or less.

  • 10/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    USD is one of the least-expensive universities out there, especially when it comes to Out-of-state tuition.

    Food and Dining

    Typical college food, but enough options that you don't get bored.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nothing special, but have many activities going on.

    Academic Rigor

    The Honor's program has a different general education core than the rest of the University, and it is geared more towards academic prowess. My speech class is focusing much more on Media and Communication theory than actual speeches. The BFA Musical Theatre gets you off running right away with training. A Dance minor is being added next year, so the school and program are continuing to find ways to attract more students.

    Tips for prospective students

    It can get very cold here, so steer away if you aren't a big winter fan. Also, the surrounding community is not very exciting. The BFA program, which I am in, is growing rapidly!

    In three sentences

    It's a great value, with the opportunities of a bigger state school. Located in a small college town, campus is always busy.

  • 11/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 51

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    This School is great so far. The teachers are amazing and are very understanding.

  • 11/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is a very safe campus even though we are known as a party school

    Greek Life

    There is greek life here, I personally am not involved but I know several people who are.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    alot of people hang out in the MUC or at the pool tables. our homecoming week is called DDays and on DDays week it gets pretty crazy.

    What to do for fun

    mainly hang out with friends. attend floor activities, get involved with an organization on campus, we also have a bowling ally here. If you want to see a movie in a movie theater, I would recommend not seeing the movie in Vermillion but take a evening trip to Sioux Falls or Sioux City.

    Food and Dining

    The food is ok. The food at the commons is kinda gross, but the food at the MUC is editable.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life really sucks, but I would assume so with any college that you would attend. You can choose to live in the freshman dorms or in coyote village. If you choose to live in the village than you will probably have a hard time meeting people since coyote village is set up as a apartment style living.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a small school, so be aware there is not much to do in Vermillion.

    In three sentences

    It is a quite little town, and the campus is small. The classes are smaller once you get into your major, and it is a good school. If your looking for something small and closly knit together USD is the place to go.

  • 12/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe!

    Greek Life

    Huge greek life here on campus!

    Clubs and Activities

    For such a small campus we have many clubs for the variety of people here on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Any one! We have all types of people here on campus and clubs/groups that will fit them

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have huge head cut-outs of our president, snookie, homer simpson, and other silly characters that we hold up in our student sections at our football games. I have no idea why we do it but it keeps things fun!

    Bang for the buck

    Being at USD is great. It is a perfect fit for me, it's relatively inexpensive, and the people here as so kind.

    What to do for fun

    Just like any other school we go to sporting events, parties, and join clubs that interest us.

    Food and Dining

    The MUC food is great and that requires flex money. The meal plan is for the commons which is a buffet style. The food there is good, but not fabulous.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun! Get into Beede or Olson your freshman year and meet as many people as possible.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging but in a good way. Our intelligence is always tested and professors keep us on our toes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply here, you will love it! Get involved in anything be it sports, greek life, or just clubs that apply to your major. Just be yourself and there is definitely a place for you here on campus.

    In three sentences

    I love it here! Being from San Diego and coming to a smaller city has actually been great. The campus is small but not too small, the Contemporary Media and Journalism program is exactly what I was looking for, and the sports programs here are successful.

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    It has the perfect amount of challenge mixed with encouragement.

    Tips for prospective students

    Open your mind to every experience and try it all before you make your decision.

    In three sentences

    I love attending the University of South Dakota! It has everything a person is looking for in a school and I am thrilled each time I am on campus.

  • 12/21/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    32 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I do not attend their campus.

    Food and Dining

    I do not attend their campus.

    Dorm Life

    I attend classes off campus in Rapid City.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask a lot of questions.

    In three sentences

    They have been great so far, and very helpful. I look forward to school starting to start attending classes. They make it very easy to attend their college off campus in a different town.

  • 12/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    For freshman look into the dorms at North Complex: Beede is the honors hall, Olson is the party hall, Mick and Richie are in between.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Coyotes= cy- yotes (no ee sound at the end) its weird, but its the way it is.

    Bang for the buck

    It's pretty cheap compared to other colleges, which is nice for students who have to pay for their education.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends, go to the gym, make a friend who has a house, drive to sioux falls or sioux city for a day

    Food and Dining

    From the eyes of a vegetarian: the commons are terrible, the MUC isn't to bad though. Not a ton of options for vegetarians, but enough to survive.

    Dorm Life

    It's awesome if you find a place you fit it. It's important you enjoy being on your floor because you'll be there a lot.

    Academic Rigor

    They challenge you, but its not anything you can't manage.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get enough sleep to function, wake up and go to class no matter how hard it is. The commons food place is pretty bad but convenient, the MUC is where it's at.

    In three sentences

    The size of the school is great- not overwhelmingly large, but not too small so you still meet a ton of new people. The campus is nice, in the winter is a little brisk, but most of the walks aren't too bad. The biggest downfall is the town, its got a nice small town atmosphere but there's not a lot to do.

  • 01/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Dakota days. Week full of fun activities. It's our homecoming week.

    In three sentences

    You are not just a number here. Professors make you feel important. It's fun learning and there are a variety if majors to choose from.

  • 03/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe, everyone looks out for each other

    Greek Life

    Strong greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs you just have to find them

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    D-Days, Hate State

    Bang for the buck

    Goo dvalue for what it costs

    What to do for fun

    Hang out, go to rec center

    Food and Dining

    Food at the MUC is great. Commons not so much

    Dorm Life

    Rooms a bit small but se a great place. Always something going on

    Academic Rigor

    HArd but professors willing to work with you to help you succeed

    Tips for prospective students

    You will love the feeling of belonging. D Days is awesome

    In three sentences

    Awesome University, big time feel but smaller in size. Division 1 athletics

  • 03/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek Life is a big deal here. However, it is not true that you will be a 'nobody' if you are not in Greek Life. I myself am not a member of any Greek house, but I have numerous friends from most houses and am just as involved as I want to be, just like the freedom of involvement that everyone has.

    Food and Dining

    The commons are not everyone's favorite when it comes to food, but they do have many good choices and the MUC also has some great quality food as well as variety.

    Dorm Life

    While the dorms are definitely not fancy apartments, they are cleaned daily and the community with people and friendships in the dorms are great.

    Academic Rigor

    There are some wonderful professors and impressive graduate schools. However, as a freshman I have only been able to meet a small amount of professors and don't have much comparison to work with.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to meet people and get out there, there is such a variety of people that you would not wish to miss out on the wonderful friendships available.

    In three sentences

    This is a wonderful school that has a variety of people. There is a large student population but it honestly does have a small school feel. There's always someone to meet but it's hard to not always see someone you know as well.

  • 05/17/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    37 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus. USD just installed a ton of lights that keep the whole campus well lit!

    Greek Life

    Great Greek life, there are 8 fraternities and 4 sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Great Greek life, many different clubs and organizations. Plenty of leadership opportunities.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who don't mind the small town life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There aren't really any odd traditions on campus. Homecoming, also known as D-Days, is a lot of fun and can get crazy!

    Bang for the buck

    USD has a very low cost, so you are getting a great education for low cost!

    What to do for fun

    USD is a great party school, so there's that. Also, the Missouri River goes right through town so it's great!

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is sub-par right now, but they are getting a Qdoba, Einstein Bagels, and a few other places on campus soon!

    Dorm Life

    Great dorm life! You will have tons of fun!

    Academic Rigor

    Not too bad, but definitely not a walk-in-the-park either!

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep up on your classes!

    In three sentences

    Great place to study, great teachers. Small town, so you should like the country life. Great graduate programs.

  • 05/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very secure. There are various locations on campus to call for help.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs and activities that one can get involved in on campus. One can even start a club if he or she cannot find what they are looking for.

    Bang for the buck

    This University is definitely worth the money that it costs. Everyone takes you under their wing and helps you along anyway that they can.

    What to do for fun

    There are a few things to do in Vermillion. There is a movie theater, and the University offers many sponsored activities in which many students get involved. If you can't find anything to do, you can also always take a small trip to Souix Falls or Souix City.

    Food and Dining

    There are a variety of options for food and dining at the University of South Dakota. The food is delicious, and the staff are very willing to comply to health needs and concerns. They are also all very friendly.

    Dorm Life

    I loved living in the dorms. My roommate was chosen for me, and they did a very good job. My roommate and I got along very easily, and we also did a very good job coordinating sleep schedules. The CA's were very helpful and friendly. The dorms are such an excellent opportunity to make friends and meet new people.

    Academic Rigor

    The University of South Dakota challenges all students to do their best. They offer help to all students who request it, and are very willing to give any help that is needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your homework during the day as much as you can so you can do more things with your friends at night. Get as much sleep as you can. It is your friend and the more you get, the better off you are for the next day and the rest of the week. Stay out of trouble. The last thing a student needs is to get into trouble with the law. As always, do your best.

    In three sentences

    The University of South Dakota is a very beautiful and compact campus. All professors are very kind and interested in helping their students excel. The University is also very cost friendly and helps students anyway it can in helping them continue their education.

  • 07/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've literally never felt unsafe here.

    Greek Life

    There are limited sorority options here, while there are plentiful fraternity options. However, almost anyone who wants to join Greek life seems to find the right house for them. I know I did.

    Clubs and Activities

    I wish there were more options, and that some groups were less like high school cliques.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to stay close to home, want an inexpensive option, or prefer a small-town feel.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm getting a good education without taking out loans, but I'm not sure how great USD will look on grad school applications.

    What to do for fun

    Most of the school tends to drink the weekends away. If this is your style, that's great. Otherwise student groups can be very good.

    Food and Dining

    There are decent options, and the options are just increasing with things like the student center expansion.

    Dorm Life

    Housing is sub-par.

    Academic Rigor

    I barely feel any more challenged at this school than I did in high school. I do feel like I'm learning, though.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your focus is on financial deals, USD is a great option. If your goal is to find the best undergraduate experience, you may be better off somewhere else. If you do choose to attend USD, be sure to get involved immediately. Student organizations are crucial to enjoying the experience. Another big positive of the school is the professors' interest in their students. There is a smaller student/faculty ratio here than in other schools. Take advantage of this!

    In three sentences

    USD is a good school for the area. It has a very comfortable small-town feel, and there are great opportunities for the price. However, this school isn't the biggest or most exciting school around.

  • 07/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I do not live near the campus

    Dorm Life

    I do not live near the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The online classes do take discipline, but the instructors are dedicated to assist the students in every aspect of the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take every opportunity to grasp higher education at every level. The University of South Dakota has multiple online degrees, numerous satellite campuses to assist any person achieve their dreams.

    In three sentences

    I am a nontraditional student completing my BS in Alcohol and Drug Studies with a Criminal Justice minor 95% on line. The University of South Dakota has given me the amazing opportunity to accomplish something I left behind 30 years ago. This is an exceptional college with instructors that have compassion for a persons eduction.

  • 09/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I like all the food but some days lunch and dinner are the same in a day. However, there are many kinds of food to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    I have really nice doormate and we get along well. My CA would always tell us waht going on in the campus. We even had free food in our floor and so many activities.

    Academic Rigor

    I like all the classes that I have so far. All of my professor are nice and all the classes are worth the money.

    In three sentences

    I beleive that University of South Dakota is the best school in South Dakota. I love the school, love the setting and it's just a perfect university size in a small town.

  • 10/06/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    42 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely visit the campus!

    In three sentences

    Really pretty campus, super friendly people. This school offers great opportunities, and it is so cheap compared to other schools!

  • 10/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Great school for a lower cost!

    What to do for fun

    Go on walks, go to the river, bowling, movies, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not bad. I enjoy the MUC food a lot better than the commons, but the commons tries from time to time.

    Dorm Life

    I lived in the dorms for three years. There is always someone up and no matter what time of the day you are not alone! The staff does a really good job at keeping the residents in line without a bunch of noise.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers work your mind in different ways and most classes are not just tests!

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy the small classes and the teachers that actually care about your grades!

    In three sentences

    I love USD! The campus is beautiful and it has a small school feel! The class sizes are small, but the athletics at DI! I absolutely love USD lit up at night. The Dome with the red lights shooting up the sides and Old Main with the spot lights! It's truly beautiful!

  • 10/28/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    44 of 51

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    love the campus! medium sized school. professors seem to love their jobs.

  • 12/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Homecoming week is big at any college but D Dayz at USD are very fun and a blast to participate in.

    Bang for the buck

    USD is very affordable even for out of state students and being a division 1 college with great athletics it is a very good bang for your buck.

    What to do for fun

    Vermillion isn't a large city to say the least but it has movie theaters that get the newest movies. On campus events are always happening and Vermillion is located near too fairly large cities with plenty of shopping and entertainment choices. Sporting events are always happening and are fun to attend as we are a division 1 college.

    Food and Dining

    The food can get kind of boring due to lack of change much but it is very good and there are many restaurants around to change it up if you like and you also have many options on campus if you go to a different facility called the MUC, which is getting a Chick-fil-A and Q'doba and a Cherry Berry soon to come.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life on my floor and in general is very fun. Almost all of the people are nice and friendly and want to hangout and chill with you.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic Rigor is about average I would say, some classes are easier than others but drawing compared to bio isn't expected to be as tough. If you pay attention in class and study hard while having fun you will do just fine here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Typical college stuff: don't mess around. pay attention and attend class, make new friends and enjoy it. Also dress for the cold because it can get cold in South Dakota.

    In three sentences

    USD or University of South Dakota has been very pleasing for me so far. The classes are very informative and my professors are very cool and relatable. Dorm life is also very fun and people are very kind and welcoming here.

  • 12/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Top value for your tuition dollars.

    What to do for fun

    Athletic and other campus events, always something going on.

    Food and Dining

    Good food and coffee!

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in dorms, so can't comment.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging--but you get out of it what you put in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tour the campus, meet with people in academic departments where you have an interest.

    In three sentences

    There is a wide choice of majors and minors. The academic advisors get to know you are interested in helping you succeed. The quality of instruction is excellent.

  • 02/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The food is a little over priced, but it is not that bad. Everything in the Beede Bump is over priced but people have the Flex to spend it. Otherwise, tuition is appropriate and housing.

    What to do for fun

    Playing pool downstairs is always fun, also it is nice to be able to check out board games at the desks. The school also puts on a variety of events that are fun. Like: movie nights, open mic nights, and concerts.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay. The variety was better before they moved the commons, but now there is other options besides just the commons and the market place.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms can get kind of loud, even after quite hours. Also, the bathrooms are not always clean. Otherwise living this close to other people is not that bad.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are hard, but there is always someone to ask if help is needed. I have learned a lot from the classes I have taken.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved into things to get to know people. Make sure you study and seek help when you need it.

    In three sentences

    The University is a great school. The people come off a little egocentric, but they all seem nice in the end. The teachers have been a great help.

  • 02/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus dorms have no cameras... at all! But they have C.A.'s who go on several rounds a night and there are lock systems to even get into the dorm life. The campus itself is really safe, friendly faces, small school, police on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs and activities. Finding out where they are is the hard part.

    Great for these types of students

    Shy students or those who want to be in charge of the entire campus!

    Bang for the buck

    It's very cheap and you definitely get a good education. Not too much of a challenge unfortunately.

    What to do for fun

    I'm still not sure. Personally I don't party and it's a relatively big party school. The MUC has several movie nights though, and basketball, football games are big, the plays put on by the students are amazing.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining was actually upgraded starting this spring. The vegetarian options are limited but the stores are very convenient and close.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is amazing! Live in co-ed, you'll meet plenty of awesome people. I live on the honors floor and I've met plenty of people with similiar interest, even though majority of them are local and go home on the week-ends. Dorm with someone who stays for the weekend it's a lot less boring!

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are really easy, and most teachers offer extra credit for the general level courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class because attendance is really strict, teachers will drop you for missing more than three classes.

    In three sentences

    The campus is small but nice. Professors aren't all that great, their is a huge difference between T.A.'s and older tenured Professors. Good price, sweet people, boring location.

  • 02/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus.

    Greek Life

    Greek life plays a big role on campus. The members become family through bonding activities and events.

    Clubs and Activities

    The walls are filled with posters of clubs and activities to join. Some are school related while others are just for fun.

    Great for these types of students

    The University is great for students wishing to earn a business or teaching degree.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A tradition at the University is to take a picture on the coyote statue during nighttime. I've seen a lot of crazy pictures!

    Bang for the buck

    The University of South Dakota is an affordable college. You get a great college experience while accumulating less debt.

    What to do for fun

    There are programs all over campus that get you involved while having fun. The best way to have fun on campus is hanging out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    The University just finished construction in the dinning area. The dining is located in the Muenster University Center which is also a great place to hang out and do school assignments.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms are on a great location on campus. Also, the CA's on the floor are very helpful.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the classes at the University are worth the price. Also, the online mathematics system is so beneficial!

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest to prospective students to not feel pressured to consume alcoholic beverages. The University of South Dakota is known as a party school, but if you surround yourself around the right people you will never have to drink just to fit in with others. Go Yotes!

    In three sentences

    I give the University of South Dakota a good rating, because the school can give a variety of experiences. There are multiple opportunities to get involved and meet new people. I also found the professors to be engaging and, overall, to be good people.

  • 02/10/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    50 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Looked like a very good cafeteria!

    Dorm Life

    Coyote village was quite nice as were the dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Looks like fairly challenging coursework.

    In three sentences

    Has a beautiful campus, with a vibrant student body. Talked with a few of the teachers during a campus visit and they seemed very nice and helpful. The dorms looked nice and Coyote village was awesome!

  • 02/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    D-days is an awesome USA homecoming celebration.

    What to do for fun

    Concerts, volunteer work, and numerous other activities.

    Food and Dining

    They have some great chains on campus.

    In three sentences

    USA is a great place to live, learn, and have fun. The professors are personable. The programs are wonderful.