Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

University of South Florida St. Petersburg Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 9 people found this review useful. 1 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are emergency poles/buttons everywhere, so you don't have to worry about being unsafe!

    Greek Life

    in order to be part of the greek life, you'd have to commute to the tampa-main campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    emails are sent out once a week updating all students what's going around school. everyone always welcomes you in a pleasing way.

    Great for these types of students

    if you like the water, this is the right place for you!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we are located in downtown st.petersburg, so everything you need is just a few steps away.

    Bang for the buck

    every experience is worth your dollar.

    What to do for fun

    we are located in downtown st.petersburg, so everything you need is just a few steps away.

    Food and Dining

    we are located in downtown st.petersburg, so everything you need is just a few steps away. also, there is a chick-fil-a located on campus so it's very convenient.

    Dorm Life

    as of right now, dorm life is something everyone should experience. you'll meet people that will be your friends maybe for the rest of your life!

    Academic Rigor

    it is tough to take classes here, but it is also same with every other campus. the professors are great and will help you out with anything.

    Tips for prospective students

    i advice everyone coming here in the next year or few, just be prepared to enjoy life!

    In three sentences

    attending usfsp has been quite an experience. my teachers and peers are so wonderful and are more beneficial than i thought they would be. i just love it here!

  • 02/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    so many clubs to choose from, such as: barbecue club, gardening club, criminology club and way more.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    located on the water which is a nice and relaxing place to study or de-stress.

    What to do for fun

    hang out with my roommates, attend campus activities, enjoy the downtown st. pete since everything is in walking distance.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you enjoy one on one help from your teachers over being just a number in a bigger university then this is the place for you.

    In three sentences

    this school is quiet, small, productive and overall a great place to study and receive an education at.

  • 07/14/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    blue telephones every 5 feet in case a maniac is chasing you and you need the campus police.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not a lot to choose from, BUT anyone can start their own club.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who genuinely want a good education who want to have fun and party but dont want your neighbor throwing a kegger at 3am before exams. Also people who enjoy living in a fast paced downtown area.

    Bang for the buck

    Quality education in an awesome setting. The resources from the main campus are available to us but only to a certain extent.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs downtown and if you travel a little you can get to club city which is Ybor. Also, I cant stress this enough... BEACHES!! So many, so close. Also many concerts at places like Jannus and rays games and museums

    Food and Dining

    Located in downtown, there are tons of restaurants to choose from. This year they will be implementing a cafeteria in the main building with decent food options.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are beautiful! RHO was built in 2006 and it is still fairly new. Another awesome building (which is where I'll be living) is almost finished and will be open this fall(2012). Lots of great people. If you're looking for a party school, you might want to go somewhere else.

    Academic Rigor

    College is college. I assume academically they are all up to par. It's no harvard; but the availability of professors does make things a lot easier.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus to make sure that the intimate setting is what you want.

    In three sentences

    Small campus is great for one on one with teachers. Beautiful campus on the waterfront with tons of activities. Also great quality professors and students.

  • 01/05/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    who plan on furthering thier education in biological oceanography

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police is very effective at what they do.

    Greek Life

    NONE.

    Great for these types of students

    academic and business students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    No traditions.

    Bang for the buck

    Its a relatively inexpensive school.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot to do for fun! The campus recreation is awesome. The waterfront hosts many activities and you can rent canoes, boats, paddle boards, etc.

    Food and Dining

    There is none as of yet, however they are building a new building that will have dining.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life was fun the first year, however I opted to switch to live off campus due to lack of college experience.

    Academic Rigor

    USFSP has a semi-rigorous program.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour of the campus so that you can fall in love with its gorgeous views!

    In three sentences

    USFSP is an amazing school that gives many opportunities to each and every student that walks onto its campus. From the student activities, to the classes offered, to the student life- everything is tailored so that we have an educational and fun experience.

  • 03/13/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there is lots to do on campus as well as off campus. they have a variety of student activities and groups, as well as the city life that takes place in the downtown st. pete area.

    Dorm Life

    i do not know much about dorm life as i will not be living on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    the school is semi hard to get into simply because they want students that want to succeed in their institution. if you do not have a discipline to do well in school maybe usfsp is not the right school.

    Tips for prospective students

    if a prospective student was interested in the school i would tell them to do a lot of research about the school, then do their very best to get in. it will never hurt to try something new either.

    In three sentences

    i would rate the usfsp as a place close to home. it has far greater amenities than the tampa campus and is close to downtown.

  • 06/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have our own police. Emergency push poles everywhere

    Clubs and Activities

    Sports, Multicultural, Spanish, SGA you name it

    Great for these types of students

    Any student would like it. Very diverse

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    nothing really

    Bang for the buck

    Great tuition prices

    What to do for fun

    Intramurals, and the school always host fun events

    Food and Dining

    Getting a brand new cafe this coming fall. But there was a chick-fil-a

    Dorm Life

    Nice don't keep it messsy

    Academic Rigor

    You have to study and do not procrastinate

    Tips for prospective students

    Study study study

    In three sentences

    I love the campus because it's small. The classes are small and the teachers are very helpful. Plus IT'S RIGHT IN DOWNTOWN St.Pete

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are many emergency posts located all around the campus, the parking garage is video surveillance and the dorm and the hotel overflow all have floor management to keep peace among the roommates. Safety is the number one priority.

    Greek Life

    This campus does not have a Greek life. If they do, it has not been announced or made public.

    Clubs and Activities

    The various clubs is a short drive from the campus. Far enough so it is safe from creeps, and close enough to be able to arrive home safely.

    Great for these types of students

    The campus is located by the water, so it is perfect for the outdoors and waterfront type of student. It is also located near downtown St.Pete near clubs and upcoming concerts.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Students lounge by the water on hammocks and lay in the grass to study. The University even offers a rental sailboat and Kayak to take for a ride.

    Bang for the buck

    For the experience and education received from the University of South Florida in St.Pete, it is well worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    The Dali Museum, Tropicana Field and the State Theatre are included in some of the many things to do for fun category. The pier, Vinoy park, and the close beaches are also hot spots in the surrounding area.

    Food and Dining

    The St.Pete campus does not yet have a cafeteria. There are however, nice restaurants and small cafes with-in walking distance all around the campus.

    Dorm Life

    The St.Pete campus only had one dorm building, and the overflow had to live in the hotel down the street (with-in walking distance) for a more expensive price. However, they built another building and is set to open Fall 2012 which will serve as student living, activity center and more.

    Academic Rigor

    USF St.Pete is staffed with some the most well-rounded, down to Earth instructors. They have years of experience and are all experts in their studies. Their priority is to teach their students and broaden their minds.

    Tips for prospective students

    I suggest that any prospective student meet with an academic advisor before selecting classes so no money is wasted on a useless credit hour. Rate my professor is a useful site when determining which professor would suit the style of learning environment. Always show up to class early and constantly check Blackboard (the university's communication tool) for updates on assignments and class schedules. It is also always important to communicate with the instructor about questions pertaining to assignments, and absences.

    In three sentences

    The University of South Florida in St.Petersburg is a stunningly gorgeous campus. It is not as large as the Tampa campus so the class sizes are small enough to be able to have the one-on-one teacher-student relationship. The professors are friendly and more than willing to open after class hours to go over any further information to assist with assignments and tutor.

  • 08/03/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Are police system is great. We rarely have any problem on campus.

    Greek Life

    We don't have a greek life yet but we are working on a couple for this fall 2012.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs. and if there isn't one you don't like you can start your own club. How cool is that? :)

    Great for these types of students

    Students who wants to learn in a small environment. Also students who prefer more water then land. St.Pete is full of water

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Harbor hall as known as the old Dolly building which is really pretty.

    Bang for the buck

    It not that expensive but its the best compared to other colleges in Florida.

    What to do for fun

    We are in the downtown of St. Petersburg. Theres always something to do. Theres clubs, bars, pools, the beaches, and etc.

    Food and Dining

    We have a brand new dining hall opening this year fall of 2012 so it should be great.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are all new. One opens this fall 2012. The oldest resident hall we have is only 7yrs old.

    Academic Rigor

    You shouldn't have any problem as long as u study and go to class

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour of the campus. Keep all options opened.

    In three sentences

    The people there are very nice and welcoming. The school is in the heart of downtown, everything is right there. I love it here. :)

  • 09/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have our very own police unity on campus that are part of the St. Pete police. They are great at keeping our campus safe!

    Greek Life

    Because we are brand new, we don't have a lot of Greek life and you have to travel to the Tampa Campus for a lot of the meetings.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a huge variety with clubs and there is something going on every single day on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great at welcoming all types of students and there is something for everyone here at USFSP.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are two great places to hang out, The Grind, which is a coffee house that has AMAZING sandwiches, and the Tavern which is a small restaurant that has yummy food too!

    Bang for the buck

    I would say you get a high quality education but the food isn't really worth living on campus. But there are tons of apartments close to campus that are cheep.

    What to do for fun

    There is an amazing waterfront community where I like to rent out paddle boards or go tanning. Downtown is also only 2 blocks away so the nightlife is great!

    Food and Dining

    If you live on campus you have to have a meal plan. The food is alright but not the best. Then again it just opened up so this year is the testing year to work out all the kinks in the system.

    Dorm Life

    There are two dorms here, one is RHO which is individual rooms, and the other is USC which almost all freshmen get put in. USC has two people to a room but it was just opened this year and its attached to the dining hall.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on what classes you take, if you take easy math, then the class will be easy, if you take an intense class then it will be hard. Nothing you can't handle!

    Tips for prospective students

    Go here instead of USF Tampa for the first year. USF St Pete offers smaller class sizes with many of the same professors from Tampa.

    In three sentences

    I love it here! There is a great unity among student body, great faculty, great atmosphere! Everything is new and beautiful.

  • 10/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We police in all different directions, no that does not mean we are in a bad location, but half time you barley notice they are even there. We also have the blue lights around the school in case of an emergency. If anything happens on campus you will get an update on your phone.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life there right now, but we are trying to start one.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have multiple clubs, and we always are adding more clubs for people to join.

    Great for these types of students

    we do have the honor program at our school. We also have the gym for people who love to workout. The waterfront for anyone who loves water activities, varities of clubs, just anything you can think of we have and we are growing more.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    instead of having a homecoming dance we are having a masquerade ball.

    What to do for fun

    we have the waterfront, so we have multiple waterfront activities where you can go kayacking, sailboating, swimming, dolphin watching. We also have the gym across the street for usf students and there are many musuems around saint petersburg that are always exciting to visit.

    Food and Dining

    It has better food, then the high school cafeteria, but i do not eat there much since i do not have a meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    there are two sets of dorm housing, there is rho and usc where rho has single rooms and usc you share a room with another person but they both are really great.

    Academic Rigor

    Everyone there is very helpful and since the classes are smaller you get more one on one time with the professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Live in the dorm rooms unless you live near by to save money.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful. It has the right amount of services and class size. Last, the resources there are perfect.

  • 10/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Make goals for yourself and make commitments that would make the path toward completing the degree easier.

    In three sentences

    I really enjoy my learning experiences at usfsp. I am an eduxation major pursuing a master's degree in ESE-gifted and talented students. Part-time student.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 46

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I so can't wait to go here. I am excited to start college. I can't wait until classes start!

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    14 of 46

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Usf St. Petersburg seems to be a very great school. From the research I have conducted they are great for oceanography. Also, it is a very safe school to attend.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Who love small class room sizes, smaller community, and a nice little nearby town u can visit.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Near the water which is awesome

    Bang for the buck

    Cheaper

    What to do for fun

    Go to boardwalk and the nearby city.

    Tips for prospective students

    I prefer the tampa campus despite class sizes.

    In three sentences

    Small class size. Less complications. Good location.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lots of security and alerts of nearby activity

    Greek Life

    Tarpon Springs not too far

    Clubs and Activities

    They have them ALL

    Bang for the buck

    Worth every penny

    What to do for fun

    Beach, boat, fish parks, art, baseball game, Busch gardens, water parks, nightclubs, too much to list

    Food and Dining

    Not much on campus but a pub/deli, Coffee house, and Chik filA, but around town you can find any food you want

    Dorm Life

    plenty of apartments everywhere

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are great but limited

    Tips for prospective students

    See for yourself, it is a great litttle university besides the BIG USF in Tampa which is like a little city itself...so you decided!!!

    In three sentences

    Great Location on the water, with all the building close together for a short beautiful walk to all. The classes are small and the majority of professors are really cooperative. Great places nearby for dorms and a buzzing downtown with great arts, restaurants, and sports.

  • 09/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a lot of things to do for fun. We are only located about 15 minutes from the beach, we are in walking distance from downtown and the pier. On campus we have free kayak rentals and paddle board rentals that you can take out in the bay. We have lots of museums near by, including the Dali which is free for USF students. You will not get bored here.

    Food and Dining

    This is actually the first year there is a dining hall on campus. The food is great, but I wish there was healthier choices to choose from besides just salads. I do not believe that every student living on campus should have to purchase a meal plan, but that's the rule.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life in my opinion is great for your freshman year. Yes, the prices may be a little high, but it helps you get associated with other students and helps you become more mature since you are away from your parents. The dorms are clean and modern so you will be happy with where you live.

    Academic Rigor

    I am not to sure about the Academic Rigor of my school.

    Tips for prospective students

    The tips for prospective students that I can give are get involved on campus whether it be joining a club, creating a club or even going to events on campus. Another tip would be to make sure you balance your social life and homework because staying on top of your school work is important.

    In three sentences

    University of South Florida St. Petersburg is a great college to attend if you are interested in a small campus atmosphere. The campus is located right on the bay so if you love the ocean, you will love this campus. The campus is starting to grow so it is easy to get involved!

  • 10/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe. Cops are right on campus. There are emergency towers all over campus each with a button you can push which alerts the cops for help.

    Greek Life

    Not much for Greek life. Lots of Greek life at the USF Tampa campus though.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and activities! If they don't have a club you are looking for, then start one! It is so easy anyone can do it. Just apply with the student government and most likely they will approve (if you have a plan). Examples of clubs that exist; Barbeque club, sailing club, Pre-med club.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that aren't looking to go to an ant farm university. Students that like smaller classes. Students that like the small down town city life. Students looking to work and go to school.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheaper than many of the other universities out there, but friendly staff, personal relationships with professors, and welcoming students.

    What to do for fun

    Sailing lessons on campus, paddle boarding on campus (both of these are very cheap). Beaches, clubs, and intramural sports.

    Food and Dining

    So many wonderful restaurants in the down town St.Pete area. Mexican, New York style, sushi, you name it they've got it.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are brand new, and practically right next to the class rooms. Never worry about being late!!

    Academic Rigor

    If I could give it a 3 1/2 I would. The reason I say this is because a lot of the professors are easier on students because of the personal level. The tests aren't as hard as larger universities, but the classes will teach you what you need to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tour the campus to make sure you like the small University life style. Make sure they have a major you like.

    In three sentences

    The campus is extremely nice. The classes are small and personal. There is plenty of activities to do such as sailing, swimming, or going walking to the close by restaurants of down town St.Pete.

  • 10/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you like nature, being on the water, and just enjoying the outdoors, this is the school for you.

    What to do for fun

    There are many museums within walking distance of the campus. Also it's not that far from Tampa and the beaches.

    Food and Dining

    The one time I did buy food from the new cafeteria, it was good while I was eating it, but I felt sick afterward. I have heard similar stories from other students, hence the 1 star rating.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus, but from what I've heard, it's not too bad.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your high school GPA above a 3.5

    In three sentences

    It's a nice school. The waterfront campus is very pretty. Generally speaking, the professors are knowledgeable.

  • 12/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a lounge in which you can hangout in. There is a pool table, piano vending machines etc. There is also a pool. You can take a swim in between classes. You could even go kayaking with your friends.

    Food and Dining

    There is a chick- fila and tavern that has really great food.

    Dorm Life

    As I have never live in the campus dorm but I have heard really great things about it. Many people tell me about all the events that goes on. Being on Campus allows you to hear all the latest news.

    Academic Rigor

    There are many things at this school to help you along the way. The library which stays open pretty late and has study rooms to meet the needs of all students. There are the professors and academic advisors that are there to assist you whenever you need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you seek help from a college advisor they are extremely helpful in whatever area of study. Stay focused and make sure you take advantage of the Trio program as they help in assisting students as well.

    In three sentences

    The University of South Florida St. Petersburg campus is amazing! I love the small size classes offered. The college advisors are so helpful and make sure your on the right track.

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Excellent environment for students dedicated to their education; many working students, returning students, non-traditional students

    Bang for the buck

    Buying Bull Bucks for dinning on campus; the more upfront you put on your Bucks card, the more bonus money is matched by the school,

    What to do for fun

    The campus offers a variety of water sports, from wake boards to kayaks. Across the street local airport that includes helicopter rides and the Salvador Dali museum and uptown a few blocks are several stores, restaurants, the pier and museums including the Dale Chuhily exhibit.

    Food and Dining

    The Grind Coffee shop, Bayboro Cafe and the campus dinning hall The Reef all provide great food and environment - wifi and outlets a plenty in all

    Dorm Life

    Although I have not lived on campus I have seen the new facilities and they are wonderful

    Academic Rigor

    I am senior, dual major in anthropology and psychology. For the two semesters I have been at the University I have been fully challenged academically and grateful for the volume of knowledge I have been exposed to and gained. Professors have been clear and concise, challenging and engaging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Contact Financial Aid - they are wonderful and go above and beyond to be of assistance to students; Get to know your professors - the class sizes on this campus make it such that professors are accessible and are wonderfully open accepting to one-on-one interaction with students - regarless less of your ability in the classroom, connect with the professors - it can help bolster your success; Leverage the on-campus tutoring center - the fellow students and faculty that are available are excellent in their subject matter and dedicated to supporting others in their academic success.

    In three sentences

    As a returning-to-school student the experience with USF/St. Petersburg has been wonderful. The variety of courses, diversity of the student population and caliber of professors has exceeded my expectations. The support from faculty, and administration has been an additional bonus to the student experience.

  • 01/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 46

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    USF St. Pete is a beautiful campus, very tranquil on the water with a view of boats. There are some great places to eat on Campus. Over all I would rate the campus an eight.

  • 01/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police are all over campus throughout the day and night.

    Greek Life

    I along side my roommate are trying to bring greek life to the St. Petersburg campus. We are having a lot of success with this process.

    What to do for fun

    I hangout with friends I've made here. I like to go out to eat and walk around the city.

    Food and Dining

    I am not really a fan of the food service but I can manage with what I have.

    Dorm Life

    I live in a new building that was just opened this year. I love living here.

    Academic Rigor

    There are classes all over the spectrum from intermediate to very difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Manage your time wisely and do not procrastinate.

    In three sentences

    I love USFSP and what it has to offer. The classes are very interesting along with being diverse, which is a great contribution to the school. It is a great place to not only learn but grow as a person.

  • 01/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have officers on campus at all times, and emergency call boxes

    Greek Life

    I don't believe we have it on the St. Pete campus, but maybe at the Tampa campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a huge amount of clubs on campus. They will be featured in the courtyard every semester, so you can choose which one you like!

    Great for these types of students

    Environmental majors, art/graphic design majors, bio majors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school isn't really old enough for that, but lets make some!

    Bang for the buck

    Affordable, and nice.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of ways to get involved on campus! If that doesn't excited you, there is also downtown, museums, and the beach near by!

    Food and Dining

    If you are a first year student you will be required to pay for a meal plan. The staff is awesome, and the food isn't too bad, but I would prefer to cook for myself.

    Dorm Life

    Large dorms available. My dorm is four bedroom, two bath, living room, and kitchen! Right by the water, and a five minute walk to down town!

    Academic Rigor

    Like in any other learning facility, the output of what you get depends on your input.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the small classrooms. If you are interested in an enviromental degree or an art degree this campus is perfect. It s located right on the water (great research opportunities!), the campus it right by the Dali museum and the Fine Arts museum, and for those premed students.. there is even an All Children's Hospital down the street!

    In three sentences

    The campus at USFSP is breathtaking. You'll love study breaks by the water, and waterfront activities that are perks of being s student. The campus is small, so you are sure to get to know your teachers much more personally.

  • 01/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's police on duty all the time on campus, I always feel safe knowing they're around!

    Greek Life

    Unfortunately, the St. Pete campus does not have any fraternities of sororities, so if you would like to join you would have to go to the main campus in Tampa.

    Bang for the buck

    Worth it!

    What to do for fun

    USF St. Pete is a beautiful campus that is located right on the water. The school lets students rent kayaks any time and they also offer lessons for water sports such as paddle boarding and windsurfing. You can also take SCUBA classes and get certified!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is awesome. It's basically a big lounge area with several big-screen TVs and a game room. The food is delicious and there is a wide variety ranging from a great salad bar, to Italian food, to breakfast food, etc. There's also a Red Mango there which has the best frozen yogurt! Also, on campus there is a place called The Grind. Students go there in between classes to grab a cup of coffee or a quick bite to eat. They're also open early so you can get breakfast before your first class.

    Dorm Life

    This school is mainly a commuter campus. However, from what I hear from the students who do live in a dorm, they really enjoy it. The dorms that I've seen are very nice and most of the rooms have their own bathrooms which is always a plus! There is also a common area for every floor so people from different rooms can meet each other and hang out.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses are very challenging here; as are most courses in any college. The professors have very high expectations, however I find this to be a good thing about the college. It's good to be challenged to think and to question things so you can form your own ideas and opinions on certain topics.

    Tips for prospective students

    GET INVOLVED!!! Also, live on campus if possible. Doing these two things will make it much easier to meet people and get a good college experience! Another really good tip- don't procrastinate! This is the hardest thing to do, but school will be much less painful if you start work early. Also, take the time to meet your teachers after class. They will be more compelled to help you this way!

    In three sentences

    USF St. Pete offers a great Marine Biology program as it is right on the bay and also a fantastic education program from pre-K through 12th grade. I feel it is difficult to get help from people who work there at times whether it is questions about homework or just classes in general. Though it is a beautiful campus, it is hard to make a lot of friends because most people commute from home, so it is important to get involved around campus!

  • 02/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a pool on campus as well as a gym. They also do many activities like many other colleges do and they have movie nights on the lawn!

    Food and Dining

    They just built a new student center and it is amazing! There are so many choices when it comes to food and when it comes to where you wanna eat it. Not to mention the Campus Grind coffee shop and The Tavern which has amazing sandwiches!!

    Dorm Life

    I lived off campus but I had friends who lived on campus and loved it! It is close and you have access to a lot of things when you live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Stick with it. You can do it even if it seems tough at times I promise you can do it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep organized. I cannot stress that enough. The more organized you are the less stressed you will be.

    In three sentences

    The school is great! All of the teachers I have had have been more than willing to help me with anything I have needed. Not to mention the campus is beautiful! It truly is a great learning environment.

  • 03/12/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    27 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can do some great shopping and the scenery is beautiful.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great wherever you go if you find the right place :)

    Dorm Life

    I couldnt find anything about any dorms on their site...

    Academic Rigor

    The college offers some exciting programs. The Programs for Psychology and Graphic Design are very interesting. The GPA requirement for honors is 3.7

    In three sentences

    The Campus has an amazing waterfront which is very inspirational. The staff seems very connected with the students. The campus is very lovely and the community is a nice one too.

  • 04/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is one of the safest campuses around. We have the Blue Lights all around the school and campus police is always around and ready to help. Also, the campus is small so it doesn't take much time to get from one place to another.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is currently being established on this campus. This year they got the ball rolling and there should be a more established Greek life as the years go on.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs are very accepting and there are new clubs being created all the time. There are clubs for everyone and if you don't see a club you like, it's so easy to make one!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who love the outdoors, small class sizes and campuses and city life. When the weather is nice, the best thing to do is sit out at one of our many tables on the water and get your homework or other things done. The view is great and it's very calming. The class sizes are small and professors are very approachable as well.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of water sports and activities to do. You can rent a sailboat for the day, go paddle boarding, kayaking, and swimming in our pool. Also, there are a number of museums that students get free entry to with their student ID's. There is a pier with an aquarium in it and a few other restaurants, there is so much to do here.

    Food and Dining

    The food itself is not the best, however, we're located in a city so there are tons and tons of restaurant all around us. Also, half the dorms have kitchens in them so there's plenty of opportunity to make your own food.

    Dorm Life

    There are two types of dorms, the newest dorms are brand new. This year was the first year anyone lived in them. The other dorms have two full bathrooms in them and a full kitchen and living room. The dorms are great.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your classes, the push to maintain good grades is difficult. The professors push you to do your best and don't let you slack.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking for a small school and small class sizes, this school is perfect for you.

    In three sentences

    The school is located in a beautiful area right on the water. Class sizes are small and professors are easy to meet with. Student life is great, there is always something to do here.

  • 06/08/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    29 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Energetic, outgoing, eager students.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs seem very enjoying, many activities are near by, endless possibilities of having fun. Students are able, after trained, to take mini sail boats out, and even kayaks. After my campus tour I just feel like it'll be an amazing experience!!!

    Food and Dining

    Food and Dining are easily accessible as students dorms are actually above one of the student dinning areas! The location on campus also makes it very convenient. I've only had the food once but it was also enjoyable.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm rooms seem a little small, but that's the same as to where everywhere you go. As the room in the dorm is enough for a college life.

    Academic Rigor

    Has many general majors and minors, so if a major is a specialized one USFSP will most likely not have it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be outgoing and energetic as the teacher student ratio is 19-1 and will most likely see peers everywhere.

    In three sentences

    The campus is in a good area with many things to do. With it's good location I know that there will be many opportunities open. The class size is perfect for me as the student ratio is very low.

  • 08/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    USF is located downtown so there are plenty of fun things to do, there are movies night club and the beach etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused in class at all times.

    In three sentences

    USF is a great to attend for college. They provide an excellent education for all students and great social activities. Also they allow students grow in their own right allowing them seize what every opportunity that they can grab.

  • 08/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a campus police station and emergency calling posts located throughout the campus. Any concerns can be taken directly to the office, where they are very helpful, and officers do a routine walk through on campus.

    Greek Life

    Business fraternity only

    Clubs and Activities

    There are always an array of clubs and activities meeting on a daily basis. Whether your looking for a workout club, an academic club, or an activities club you are bound to find something that strikes your interest.

    Great for these types of students

    University of South Florida St. Petersburg is great for students who love water activities and being close to the ocean or for students who wish to peruse and ocean based degree. The campus is great for students who are open to a green environment and like to be active in the community. USFSP is worth considering if you like smaller classes, downtown environment, active clubs, and a chance to succeed with your education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Pat the Bull on the lawn, before finals, for good luck!

    Bang for the buck

    Local hole-in-the-walls downtown love to cater to students. Your USF ID will help you receive discounts. Pay attention to daily specials at restaurants and bars (like taco Tuesday's or ladies night).Also everything you might need is within walking/ biking distance from the school. You don't even need to use your car to get around. So save the gas and enjoy the scenery!

    What to do for fun

    University of South Florida is in the heart of downtown St. Petersburg. What is there not to do? Downtown has a strip of local bars and pubs as well as fine dinning and the local hole-in-the-walls! There are a numerous amount of concert halls like Jannus Live and the Orphium. Local events and concerts always take place at Vinoy Park and other local parks on the water. The Saturday morning market is also always a fresh way to start your morning and do a little shopping and dinning. Of course we can forget the location of Down Town St. Petersburg. Right on the water! Not only can we kayak, paddle board, and swim for free but the school provides sailing lessons, kite boarding lessons, and paddle boarding lessions for students, which is all provided at the campus Waterfront. USFSP is located 20 minutes from the beautiful Florida beaches, which makes for an easy trip if you want to dig your toes into the sand and catch some rays. Speaking of Rays, the Tampa Bay Ray's stadium is a center piece of St. Petersburg. Tickets are cheap for students, the stadium is walking distance from the school, and a night of baseball is always fun!

    Food and Dining

    Not only does the campus provide a meal plan and cafeteria, but also local dinning on campus at the Campus Grind and the Tavern (which is where you will find most teachers on their breaks)! The tavern provides an array of food and beer while the campus grind can brew you a delicious coffee to start off your morning.

    Dorm Life

    Freaking awesome! One of the BEST ways to be involved in student life and meet other students. The lower class men dorms are bran-spanking-new and the original, upper class men dorms are suites! Dorm life makes it is easier to attend campus activities and help keeps students focused on their studies.

    Academic Rigor

    It is just like any other school. If you don't apply yourself, you will not succeed and it will be difficult to pass classes. But, if you apply yourself and are determined to improve and graduate, you will be successful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to check out the outside lawn and waterfront activities! Go on! Meet new people and see what the campus has to offer. The waterfront is a great way to get active, meet new people, have a fun day on the water, and even get free food! Don't be afraid to ask other students questions. If your lost, curious, or have any questions, confronting other students is a great way to get answers and connect with other USFSP students.

    In three sentences

    The University of South Florida, St. Petersburg, is a luscious learning environment with beautiful waterfront surroundings. Smaller sized classes provide for a helpful learning environment and provoke more student interaction. The ongoing campus activities help stimulate students to get involved and check out what the campus has to offer.

  • 08/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lots of things in downtown St.Petersburg most of which are walking distance. Beaches nearby. On campus there's tons of activities, you can workout at the gym, rent kayaks, swim at the pool on campus, visit the nice big library. If you enjoy night life, there's tons of cool venues and restaurants and dance clubs nearby. Something for everyone.

    Food and Dining

    Extremely limited, you usually have to go off campus to experience good food. But then again it is a smaller school.

    Dorm Life

    Beautiful rooms with beautiful views but I wish they had private housing options. Not everyone feels comfortable living with a bunch of crazy random college kids.

    Academic Rigor

    Lots of good majors and classes but it does not have as much as others schools. Exactly why most people transfer out to finish their degrees elsewhere, after a couple years.

    Tips for prospective students

    You get the best experience when you're living on campus, don't be afraid to live away from home this campus is very safe and there are lots of fun things to do around town. This is a great school for people who are overwhelmed by the big school experience and who want to focus more on their academics and/or social lives. There's a good balance between fun and academics here. Very easy to make friends and find your place.

    In three sentences

    Many people tend to transfer to bigger schools after a year or two here. Limited dining and housing options. Smaller yet more personalized experience.

  • 10/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lighted poles line the walkways and edges of campus that can signal the campus police if necessary.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of clubs, especially for the size of the campus. There are multiple activities throughout each month for all different interest groups.

    Great for these types of students

    -Love small, close campus -Downtown city living -Not overwhelmingly populated

    Bang for the buck

    It's easier than most places to get a scholarship, and you get a quality education.

    What to do for fun

    The recreational department is amazing! You can rent kayaks, sailboats, and paddle boards. There are intramural teams as well as pick-up games regularly, plus downtown St. Pete filled with shops, restaurants, and fun places to walk to. There are always awesome concerts going on at Jannis Live, The State Theater, The Local 662, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Decent amount of choice for a small campus. Quality stuff.

    Dorm Life

    Didn't dorm, but I've heard it's decent.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are definitely do-able. The classes are usually very small, so one-on-one time with the teacher is no problem. It's very easy to get help if you fall behind. Most students are willing to form study groups or tutor as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early! Admissions & scholarships seem to come much easier for applicants that apply early. You won't have to worry about missing deadlines or paperwork mix-ups. Be sure to take a tour, also. Visit the campus on a regular school day to get a feel for what it would be like to be a student.

    In three sentences

    The atmosphere on campus is positive and upbeat for the most part. There are some opportunities to meet people, especially if you live on campus, but for commuters it is hard to make new friends and be continually involved. There aren't a lot of the same activities on this campus as on the main campus, but sometimes you can join in with the Tampa campus if you want to make the drive.

  • 10/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never feel unsafe

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Good clubs, but could use more

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like small classes and small campuses

    Bang for the buck

    Super cheap for a good education

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of events going on all the time. If that's not your thing, try free kayaking, or learn to sail for a discounted fee as a student. There are even sailing weekends for a price, in which you can take your friends on an overnight sailing trip.

    Food and Dining

    The food might make people nauscious one day, and then be fantastic the next. Its hit and miss, but the french fries cooked right in front of you are always great. Prices are good, though variety can be lacking.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are generally clean and taken care of. In RHO, the shred living space is spacious with beautiful views. The given fridge, microwave, oven, and stove are fantastic for sttudents with small or no meal plans. The USC is a brand new building, making it wonderful all in itself. Rooms are spacious and well put together. Prices are cheap for the nice accomodations, and are much cheaper than most schools.

    Academic Rigor

    This is very biased based upon majors and personal experiance. Some things to note that are not based on major are that many professors are very forgiving- out of four tests, for example, the lowest test score can be dropped. Tests are MUCH harder than quizzes. If studying isn't necessary for quizzes, it is for tests.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't buy textbooks until you've been to class. The professor will tell you whether they're necessary. Unless there is work assigned from the book (this includes reading unless you already know the material), the book really isn't necessary. Who wants to spend a crazy amount of money on textbooks?

    In three sentences

    USF St.Pete is fantastic for students who want a small school- everything is within walking distance, and I already personally know both the student body president and vice president. Having small classes makes it easy for the teachers to know your name and be able to help you as an individual. The school is also very good at putting together fun events for everyone, even people who don't generally like events.

  • 10/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 46

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    The university is very dedicated to helping students. The class sizes are small which is great for one on one if needed.

  • 10/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is emergency poles everywhere that will notify the Saint Petersburg police, along with the poles I always see cops at night by the dorms and sometimes during the day.

    Clubs and Activities

    Events are scheduled weekly at USFSP! It's easy to stay connected with what's going on around the campus through emails or on the schools Facebook page.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who love a small environment, or students who like to be near the water.

    What to do for fun

    For fun you can walk around downtown St. Petersburg, rent kayaks, go sailing, or even drive into Tampa.

    Food and Dining

    USFSP has a variety of food, with a sandwich and salad bar, a grill, a cafe with Starbucks brand coffee, and a World of Wings.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life at USFSP is amazing. With the two different dorm buildings, RHO and USC, you can choose to share a room with a roommate or have a suite style dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Small classes provides an easier learning and teaching environment, for both the student and the teachers. It allows one-on-one time, and the teachers seem to be genuinely concerned with their students success.

    In three sentences

    The University of South Florida St. Petersburg provides students with a big campus feel, while still remaining small. The classes are set up to provide students with one-on-one time with their teachers, which allows for better learning. Along with the amazing learning setup the beautiful campus is located in downtown St. Petersburg, and right on the water.

  • 11/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great! There are blue emergency towers to call for help every 200 feet throughout campus and campus police and security are always around, even during night classes.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs and activities for EVERYONE! Literally!

    Great for these types of students

    Students that appreciate being right o the water (it's beautiful) and can handle a tough academic career.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Can't think of any...

    Bang for the buck

    I absolutely love this college and am so grateful to be part of such an awesome academic environment!

    What to do for fun

    Downtown St. Petersburg is where the campus is located and there is a ton of fun stuff to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is best at The Tavern and The Grind has superb coffee and sweets.

    Dorm Life

    I live off-campus and am a commuter, but I hear that the dorm life is great.

    Academic Rigor

    It is tough but fulfilling.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be your own best advocate!

    In three sentences

    USFSP is a beautiful campus with most classes under 30 students. I have two semesters under my belt and I am totally thrilled to be part of this institution. The Journalism and Media Studies program is one of the best in the country!

  • 12/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Saint Petersburg is full of fun night life! Whether you enjoy restaurants, clubs, or activities on the water/beaches- the options are limitless!

    Food and Dining

    There are a lot of options to choose from on, or around campus.

    Dorm Life

    Very personal and friendly dorm life. While there are only 2 dorm houses, students can choose from a traditional 2 person room, or a more private individual room with suit mates.

    Academic Rigor

    Most professors are very willing to tweak their teachings in order to meet the students standard. As far as majors go, think broad. Very narrow or specific majors will not be offered on the campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a large campus with 500 students in one lecture hall, this is not the campus for you. If you prefer to know almost all of the students and professors on campus and take a short 5 minute walk to class, then this campus is for you.

    In three sentences

    University of South Florida Saint Petersburg campus is very quaint and home-like. The campus is just the right size and provides the perfect amount of opportunities for its students. The intimate sized classes allow for exceptional learning opportunities from professors.

  • 12/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    USFSP is right in the heart of downtown st. pete with a variety of neat restaurants, shops, and art galleries. The campus also offers many extracurricular activities such as scuba diving, sailing, and much much more.

    Food and Dining

    There has been a chick-fil-a on campus for quite some time but recently a really nice underwater, guy harvey inspired dining hall has been built which is awesome.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun but very expensive. It's important to have roommates in order to make connections and be further involved in the school. However, the dorms have many rules that I couldn't deal with.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor depends on the subject of a class and the professor teaching it but overall, students are taught and expected to know a large amount of information and work hard to do so.

    Tips for prospective students

    USFSP is the not the campus for you if sports are high on your agenda. This campus places more of an emphasis on academics and extracurricular clubs and associations.

    In three sentences

    USPSP is a beautiful campus nestled right on the water in the heart of downtown saint petersburg. It's the perfect place to earn your desired degree while getting involved in the college lifestyle. I love USFSP and wouldn't trade it for anything.

  • 12/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are the blue safety poles everywhere, and a call to the USFSP campus police arrive real quick

    Greek Life

    There's no Greek Life on campus, so don't expect to join a sorority or fraternity when considering to attend USFSP. There are student lead organizations on campus, such as the Business Fraternity.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs are the best way to get involved on campus. And because its such a small campus, joining a club can easily make you more identifiable on campus. I recognize students who are in Student Government, Resident Hall Association, Long Board Club, and more on campus. And most of the clubs offered on campus, contribute back to the campus by putting on different events, that are a lot of fun! There has been movie socials, bingo nights, poker nights, dances and more!

    Great for these types of students

    If you want to really be connected with the students on campus, and feel like you're part of a community, USFSP is good consideration. I recognize and see the same people almost everyday, and I like that because I feel I have a closer relationship with the students of USFSP. And because the classes are much smaller, for being a smaller campus, you'll have a close relationship with your classmates and teachers. And if you being by the water, this is the place for you!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every homecoming we have a cardboard boat race on our bay. Students get together and build a boat made out miscellaneous materials, and try to race each other at a marked point in the waters. Its very hilarious to watch, and an adventure to participate!

    Bang for the buck

    If you attend USFSP, it's not going to have the same university feel as you would have at attending any larger state university. But just how this campus is unique, your experience and relationships you will have will be unique too. The atmosphere is enjoyable, outgoing, friendly, and is defiantly worth the buck!

    What to do for fun

    Sightseeing down town St. Petersburg checking out the local art and history museums there's over 5 parks you can walk to clubs on campus is always hosting a few events threw out the week joining a club the beach sailing, kayaking, fishing, there are no clubs in St. Petersburg that anyone under 21 can enter. If you want to go clubbing, going to Ybor in Tampa is really popular. there's a movico thats a short walk away First Friday that happens every first Friday of the month, St. Pete shuts down two streets, and bars are open much later and are much cheaper going to the football games! There's a bus for ST. Pete students that takes them to the stadium in Tampa and back, for free.

    Food and Dining

    Since the campus is in the heart of downtown St. Petersburg, there are many high class restaurants to dine out to. Some of my most joyful times with my roommate was going to get gelato down the street, its only a 5 min walk; any restaurant can be from a 5-15 min walk. But there's at least three gelato places down that street (Bayshore Street) and I think from that, shows the kind of atmosphere St. Pete is trying to show case. One thing I don't like how there's not many fast food restaurants near by, and it makes sense because there shouldn't be fast food chains in a down town. But nearby campus is a Subway, Chinese restaurant, 5 Guys, pizza places. And everyone on campus likes to go to this small restaurant on the corner of 3rd Street I believe, they have the best burgers in town for sure! But if you want to get actual fast food food, you would have to have a car because its not a quick walk.

    Dorm Life

    I love being in the dorm! There's only two dorms on campus, so it really limits your choices. But there's the Resident Hall One(students nickname it RHO) and University Student Center(students nickname it USC). The USC is brand new, and it's in the heart of the campus. The dorm is connected to the same building as the cafeteria, and the ballroom. The ballroom holds most of the huge events on campus, so living in the USC makes everything much easier to get to. RHO is just a few minutes of a walk away, and I think its a better choice. RHO is designed as a apartment style. There's a kitchen, two bathroom, and living room in each room. So much space! That design is not included in the USC buildings. Since USFSP is a small campus, I think living on campus is the best way to be involved on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Because classes are so small for its campus, you have a great opportunity to get in touch with your teachers and classmates. The classes are going to be as rigorous as other studious universities, but it's still a college course, and it's not going to be a breeze.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have a Facebook. join the USFSP Know it all's guide to knowing it all group. There USFSP students dish on teachers, classes, events on campus, students ask questions on school etc. Its a great way for students to connect together, and get information that's going on school. Get the good grades and study! You are at college for an education, so take it seriously.

    In three sentences

    Imagine a university in the heart of a lively city center. An intimate campus right on the water, and a university that has all the advantages of a large public university but on a beautiful bay front in St. Petersburg. Go Bulls!

  • 02/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    USFSP Police Department and USFPD are at our beckon call.

    Greek Life

    Only Academic Honors Societies

    Great for these types of students

    Eco-friendly, Entrepreneurial, Students who work full or part time, Students who want to make a difference on campus

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Homecoming Week Carnival, Annual Drag Show, Spring Fling Concert (3Oh!3 this year), Campus tavern serves alcohol and great food and is located on campus

    Bang for the buck

    Reasonable prices considering the incredible professors and the fact that we are able to enjoy everything that both USFSP and the main campus, USF in Tampa, provide.

    What to do for fun

    What NOT to do for fun...USFSP is a trolley ride away from St Pete beach, a 5 minute walk from downtown, and a 30 minute drive from the main USF campus in Tampa. As a USFSP student, you will be able to attend all sports games, events, and clubs that the main campus offers in addition to everything that USFSP offers! There is NEVER a times when you will find nothing to do.

    Food and Dining

    Meal plans are fulfilled by Sodexo which offers a broad menu and tries to accomidate to the tastes and diets of all of the USFSP students. It features a gluten-free menu, vegetarian options, organic options, in addition to your typical bacon-cheeseburgers! Once a month, Sodexo offers students a steak night and a chocolate fountain for dessert!

    Dorm Life

    USFSP is small but is definitely growing. There are currently two residence halls- RHO and USC. USC features typical shared, 2 person rooms and is a completely sustainable and energy efficient building. RHO has many more dorm styles to choose from- everything from shared 2 person room to 4 person suites where each students has their own room, shares a bathroom with one other suite-mate, and a kitchen and common area with three other suite-mates. RHO also has full kitchens which is great for students who have special diets or any food allergies.

    Academic Rigor

    The College of Business has an international reputation to uphold so classes aren't a breeze, but professors are very helpful and there is free tutoring available to all students.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is the perfect campus for students looking for a small school with an honors program, students looking to commute from the Tampa Bay Area, and students who want the perks of a big university but also want to have a voice on campus. Another great thing about this university is that we have a beach on campus AND we are walking distance to downtown St Pete- it's the best of city and beach life combined!

    In three sentences

    The University of South Florida St Petersburg is a small, but growing and thriving university located in the heart of Downtown St Petersburg. The campus is know for its sustainability movements, incredible professors, and world-renowned business and entrepreneurship programs. At USFSP, students are not just another number; they are treated as equal members of a very close, professional environment.

  • 02/25/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    42 of 46

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I have been heavily researching this school, and it is in a great part of Florida for activities and safety. It is a beautiful campus which boasts a great campus and environment. The academics are also pretty good, and I cannot wait to actually visit.

  • 03/02/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    43 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    WONDERFUL!

    Great for these types of students

    Adventurous

    What to do for fun

    There is an outdoor park the school owns, kayaking is a great past time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep busy and stay on top of your school work!

    In three sentences

    Beautiful campus with wonderful educators. The employees make you feel welcome and love to help! The campus is beyond beautiful and set up wonderfully.

  • 05/09/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    44 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    hello

    Food and Dining

    food and dining

    Dorm Life

    dorm life

    Academic Rigor

    academic rigor

    Tips for prospective students

    hello

    In three sentences

    hello

  • 05/25/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    45 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety on campus is immense. There are security guards and police scattered throughout, but in a tasteful and peaceful manner. There have never been any true security threats or issues to USF in the past twenty years.

    Greek Life

    I am not too informed with this unfortunately.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs and activities are diverse and they are big on publicizing the features and help that the clubs and organizations contribute to the college. That's one thing great about clubs and activities, usually with the money they generate with projects or other money collecting ideas, it always benefits and goes back to the college.

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for those seeking majors in whatever field they so much acquire to have knowledge in. My sister graduated in the English education program and my cousin is about to graduate from the History education program. I have had several other friends graduate with majors varying from business to engineering. Either way, you can't go wrong with USF!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are some unusual traditions with letting individuals join certain sororities or fraternities, but I don't plan to join that so I won't have to worry about it.

    Bang for the buck

    Even though the cost is double than the current community college I attend, with the knowledge you acquire there and with the exceptional professors on campus along with the other wonderful things presented, it is well worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    There are several activities and clubs there and when I am enrolled, I will be expanding my knowledge with the many different opportunities in which they present. They offer great both academic and physically enduring programs to help the person strive to success.

    Food and Dining

    When my sister went to the University of South Florida, I found their cafeteria to be simply outstanding and very resourceful. It's also a great place to socialize and expand your ideas and horizons.

    Dorm Life

    Not having personal experience with the dorm life, from what I have viewed it seems to be clean and freshman friendly because it is mandatory for freshman to reside in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    They have many different wonderful programs presented and is why I am attending for the Psychology program. Both their undergraduate and graduate programs seem challenging, but also promote the individual to achieve success.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try and find a positive balance with school and another hobby because it is easy to get overwhelmed with college and especially at a university. When I attend in the fall, I am going to save up as much money as possible to assist me with additional expenses. If you strive to complete any task presented, you will overcome and achieve your goals regardless of what obstacles you have to face.

    In three sentences

    The downtown St. Petersburg campus is absolutely beautiful, organized, and clean. The library is the best of the county that I have ever seen with it's layout. The staff and professors all have high ratings as well.

  • 06/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    beaches, downtown life

    In three sentences

    really love this campus. it is so beautiful here. the counselors are very helpful.