Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

University of Southern Indiana (USI) Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/05/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any whom are willing to put forth the effort, and have a drive that motivates them to do their best in order to achieve their goal in life (whatever degree you may be pursuing).

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to jump in and work. Don't throw out all your study skills you've developed, because they will be extremely useful once the semester gets going. Don't let yourself slack off, because you'll be paying for it in semesters to come!

    Bang for the buck

    Really great school, easy campus to figure out and get around, and for a great price that can fit most family's budget.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the people down here! My roommates are awesome, we all get along so well! It's a wonderful feeling to go somewhere completely new, and feel so comfortable while you're adjusting to that new environment.

    Am learning a lot

    You learn a lot about yourself. It sounds cheesy, but it's true. You discover just what you're capable of doing and how much effort you're willing to put out there for what you want.

  • 07/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    USI is great for any student who wants a big university education with a small, friendly campus. The university is small enough to stand out and make a name for yourself if you want, but also big enough to let yourself blend in if you so choose.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit campus during one of USI's Southern Hospitality Days. They give you a tour of campus including the dorms and let you meet some of the faculty. They also break you up into groups depending on what field of study you might be interested in and let those groups meet with professors and faculty who are in that area. Going to a Southern Hospitality Day really lets you get the feel of the campus and decide if it is right for you.

    Bang for the buck

    The education and overall academic setting and experience are well worth the money. USI has several nationally ranked programs... you cannot ask for a better education than that for less money! Almost all of the activities offered on campus, such as the movies, are free, which offers nice, cheap entertainment to students who are watching their dollars and cents. The dorms are VERY nice and worth the cost as well. However, only freshmen are allowed to stay in the dorms. Other students who wish to live on campus may sign up for on campus apartments, which include a small kitchen. While these apartments are extremely convenient, they are not very nice. The college pays students to paint and clean them over the summer... and you can tell. There is paint all over the ceilings, mirrors, woodwork, and carpets. The woodwork is broken off in chunks and the carpets are pretty stained and filthy. Appliances such as water heaters and dishwashers act up quite a bit, but the maintenance crew is very good about fixing them in a timely manner.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is very well kept and the staff is extremely friendly. The advisors are more than willing to meet with you for any scheduling concerns, no matter how many times you need to see them. The groups and committees on campus offer many activities, such as new movies in the forums about twice a month or ice-skating during the winter. With all those kinds of activities, gym access, sports events, theater productions, etc., there is always something to do if you want. However, if you just want to take a break and relax, there are many quiet places to hang out or grab a cup of coffee on campus as well.

    Am learning a lot

    The amount you learn depends on the amount of effort YOU put into schooling. The professors, like at any other college, expect you to put time in outside of class to do your own studying. They do not spoon feed you all the information you need for tests, but are extremely willing to help when you do not understand things you are trying to learn on your own.

  • 12/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is very vigilant! Use basic caution though. Don't walk home alone after dark, but if you do or are attacked there are tones of blue emergency polls that you can get to and push and security will be there asap! Oh, and if you go out and party, be careful... Go in groups! That is off campus though..

    Clubs and Activities

    As far as I can tell, there is a club for everything. There are different types of religious groups, book groups, singing groups, Greek life, etc. Research before you join. Each group has perks but each has TIME COMMITMENT! Remember why you are here? It is to get a degree! So have fun, but not too much fun!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a flag football game during welcome week, but you have to know someone who is going to find out the where and when. The Holiday lighting ceremony is always fun (free hot chocolate!). Don't forget each final has a midnight breakfast! Bring a canned good at about 9-12 to the loft during the advertised time and eat, hang, and enjoy then go back and study! Psuedostarbucks! There is this area in the library on the opposite side from Starbucks that people hang out and study at. If you are in need of some friends find a group of loud friends and say hey!

    Bang for the buck

    USI has a good price tag. It is decently priced school. Not to mention you can get a good degree for a good price.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club! Work on campus! Go to the Rec! During welcome week there are hundreds of activities to do that will be advertised all around campus. You can find your club or clubs during the club fair. Or possibly a group of friends during a trip to Starbucks or in one of your classes. Campus jobs are great because they work around your schedule. Everyone need a bit of gym time! Try zumba with Alice! It is one of the most popular groups on campus! Or check a rugby or basketball game! There is always something to do!

    Food and Dining

    I really do not like the loft and if you live in the dorms you have to eat there a lot. On the other hand with your munch money I recommend Salsa Rico and Cyclone Salad! Avoid the fatty fried foods and go with some greenery! Salsa Rico has great quesadillas, but be ware of the queso. Cyclone has marvelous salads and great baked potatoes!

    Dorm Life

    The real question when you apply is apartment vs. dorm. I chose Dorm first. Though the location is great the meal plan for the dorms is pretty scary. It made me sick most of the time. My room mates and I typically avoid the loft. With the apartment you are further from the library (and Starbucks!!) but you have a kitchen and a bigger living space. The problem is the bus is not on time, so standing out in the cold or walking quite a distance(depending on where you live) may be necessary. Being close to the library will help your grades, but depending on where you live and who you live with (aka choose roomies that will study with you!) the apartments are a better choice

    Academic Rigor

    This all depends on your classes. PED classes like table tennis are easy and great GPA boosters. Pretty much every other class is hard and you have to work your tail off on in. Again, BIO 121 is HARD! Work at it from the beginning and please, what ever class you are in read the chapter BEFORE class. That way you have a head start on the material!

    Tips for prospective students

    Relax your first year. Do not fret too much. Yes, you will have to study, this will be much harder than high school. Will this actually be fun? absolutely! you are studying for something that you WANT TO DO! Remember you are going to have to do core your first two years. So if you have to change your major you should be fine. Also, choose a back up especially if you are a nursing or engineering major. Half the nursing students will drop due to frustration with CHEM 141 or BIO 121. You will struggle. Everyone does. Even the geniuses.

    In three sentences

    USI is the perfect school for me. There is a small town feel, where people actually care and it is still easy to make friends and be accepted, while having thousands around you everyday! The school work is challenging but there are professors who care and will help you if you need them and ask.

  • 02/04/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 8 people found this review useful. 4 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    yea it is!

    Tips for prospective students

    never let what you cant do get in the way can do

  • 05/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel that the campus is generally pretty safe. They have security around all of the time, and there are emergency polls all over campus. Also, Thursday through Saturday they have the police patrolling around the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    I love the International Club because it helps me to get involved with many people of many different cultures due to the fact that there are so many international students attending the university. There is a club for just about everything, and I'm sure if there isn't a club you want to attend, you could probably get with your friends and start your own club.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like to go to smaller schools and that like to live in a city that is not small and not big.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    People used to always put soap in the fountain on campus, and I have heard stories of how people would do other things to the fountain too like putting die in the water, but I think the school put a stop to it because it cost them too much money to clean it or something.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel it is a good college to attend because it is cheaper to go here and you still get to have the great college experience without paying the extra money you would at say the University of California.

    What to do for fun

    For fun people can join clubs on campus. There are many different clubs, even a Quidditch team. Also, there are many events on campus from seeing musicians to going to festivals, and it is a lot of fun.

    Food and Dining

    I like that there are many places to choose from. I know at other colleges I have seen they do not have as many choices of where you can eat, so that give this college a hands up. I do think that there cafeteria could work on having better choices, and better portions during lunch time specifically.

    Dorm Life

    Living on-campus is actually a lot of fun. I lived on campus for three semesters and it was a cool experience meeting new people, and having a convenient place to live close to my classes. Although I feel the rates for living on campus are getting a bit ridiculous, especially with the single style apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    The University of Southern Indiana has a set of standards that are very reasonable. They are not too hard, but not too easy either. I feel it has a good variety.

    Tips for prospective students

    Choose this college if you like a living in city that is not small and not big. Also, if you prefer a smaller campus size this college might be the college for you. USI also has a lot of international students so you should definitely think about that, if it is in your interest.

    In three sentences

    The University of Southern Indiana is a great school. It has a small campus, but the people and teachers there are so nice and easy to talk to. The overall experience at this college is good because it's such a diverse school.

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security on campus is high and very well protected. The campus is very well lit and has many stations for emergencies. I never felt unsafe walking on campus even at night. The apartments are also very well secured and protected.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is available. I did not participate

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several activities on campus such as intramural volleyball, softball and baseball. There are science clubs and academic clubs for all.

    Great for these types of students

    University of Southern Indiana is great for the student looking for the larger student academic rigor without the large number of students.

    Bang for the buck

    I considered private schools and some of the larger colleges such as Purdue and believe that University of Southern Indiana gives you the best value. All the private schools were twice as much and after speaking with a few of my friends they ae considering transferring.

    What to do for fun

    Univeristy of Southern Indiana has a large selection of on campus fun. Each department is always doing something to ensure there are a variety of fun things to do to remain on campus. There are several weekend trips scheduled that allow you to be adventures without breaking the bank.

    Food and Dining

    University of Southern Indiana provides a variety of food options for students. There are healthy selections such as salads along with pizza, subs and smoothies.

    Dorm Life

    University of Southern Indiana provides one dorm for Freshman and the others are personal apartments. The apartments allow you to be safe but become your own person.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics is challenging at Univeristy of Southern Indiana. I am currently enrolled in the radiology program and even though it is challenging it is what is needed to succeed in society today. Everyone needs a challenge and the professors are good at challenging you everyday. They are also there to help in anyway possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Consider University of Southern Indiana if you are looking for a large school curriculum in a small school environment. You are not just a number at the University of southern Indiana.

    In three sentences

    University of southern Indiana is challenging. University of Southern Indiana provides everything a larger college does in a smaller atmosphere. University of Southern Indiana engages every level of student to achieve.

  • 01/08/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never felt unsafe. Heard of a few incidents, but never witnessed anything.

    Greek Life

    Hardly any on campus compared to other schools.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are quite a few clubs, but the majority seemed to have low turnouts.

    Great for these types of students

    People from Southern Indiana, or maybe if you struggle some academically. There are solid tutoring options available as well.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None come to mind

    Bang for the buck

    Little charges and unwillingness to work around them were an annoyance. But the school isn't too expensive compared to others.. However you are losing quite a bit with that cost.

    What to do for fun

    Enjoy the natural beauty around the campus, the Rec is nice and they rent out bikes for those that like to be outside more often. Also plenty of basketball courts considering the population on campus. The international club was fun, though. Very few international students attend USI so it was nice to interact with the few.

    Food and Dining

    Limited options, especially for vegetarians.

    Dorm Life

    Nice dorms and decent apartments, but usually pretty dead.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the professors were strict, but the classes were never actually challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't expect too much. Not a great school for campus life or learning.

    In three sentences

    Nice looking campus, although small. Not stimulating academically, and at times student population appeared close minded. The school's office staff were also terrible to deal with, and offered little help\options.

  • 09/06/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 people found this inaccurate. 8 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    I honestly just wouldn't attend unless you know that you'll be transferring out. It's cheap and that's the only positive I ever found to it.

    Bang for the buck

    Just not worth what you pay. It is cheap, but the school tries to act like it is a finer institution and it falls drastically.

    Did enjoy being here

    I only slightly enjoyed it for the students that I met from other parts of the country. The locals aren't very accepting and very snobby.

    Did learn a lot

    I felt like I didn't learn a lot. A lot of it felt like high school part two.

  • 09/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Get ready to learn right away. Also, skipping class is a bad idea. Most classes after 3 times you're not there, you get kicked out. Other classes they won't let you come in if you're late, or they count you absent. so be on time.

    Am enjoying being here

    Evansville is beautiful. There are tons of things to do, all the time. The dorms are extremely nice, with air conditioning unlike other schools. The people are also extremely nice.

    Am learning a lot

    Learning is what you put into it. The teachers give you one on one, and the classes are way smaller than most schools, and it's good to actually interact with your teacher.

  • 11/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants an individual attention and professors that are always available to help

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont procrastinate as it bites you harder in college than it ever did in High School also study for your tests

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable for most families and is a top notch school for that kind of money

    Am enjoying being here

    There are many fun things to do around campus and everyone is nice and cordial to everyone else

    Am learning a lot

    all the professors are very helpful and will see you to help you if you are having trouble

  • 01/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security is very tight on campus. They make sure that if you need to have a ride they will give you a lift, help you if you locked your keys in your car all for free!!

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for students who are used to be by themselves in high school and who are shy people because i had a roommate who was very very shy and within two weeks, she was very comfortable and had plenty of friends and having a good time there still.

    What to do for fun

    You can do zumba, lifts weights, join a greek organization, or you can start your own and it can be what ever you would like it to be.

    Food and Dining

    The food is really good to me. As long as you don't eat the same exact food everyday and have something new.

    Dorm Life

    I love how I only shared a bathroom with one person and still had a dorm with four people living there. The only issue i had was that the walls are so thin you can easily get a noise complaint real easy!!

    Academic Rigor

    I think grading wise, it's all the same if you go to a public school, but if you go to a private school, than expect the grading to be harder.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never slack off on homework in any classes. I was taking general classes and I did in the beginning of the semester, and my grades weren't good as they could have been. Always do your homework straight after class if you have a chance so it's still fresh in your mind.

    In three sentences

    It helps you get a one on one talk and relationship with mostly all of your teachers. You are also able to have a flexible schedule even as a freshman compared to a bigger university that has over five thousand freshman. Plus, there are plenty of things to do!!

  • 01/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    mall just right down the road. many different trips offered throughout semsters

    Food and Dining

    great. many different choices

    Dorm Life

    don't live in dorm

    Academic Rigor

    good

    Tips for prospective students

    go here. small campus makes things so much easier

    In three sentences

    very nice college. campus is small but offers so many things

  • 02/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    overall safety isn't really a problem, i don't personally know anyone who has ever been harmed or threatened on campus. apparently there are a few people who have their apartments broken into, but every case i've heard it's usually someone who left their door wide open when no one was there. just don't be stupid and you'll be just fine.

    Greek Life

    there are several sororities and fraternities on campus, and they are always trying to recruit more people, and run events all the time.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a decent amount of clubs, people are always creating more which open up an opportunity to meet more people who may also have a similar interest to you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there are running and walking paths that lead all over the place, and it can be fun wondering around and exploring.

    Bang for the buck

    way better than i expected, its a cheap school and you can still get a great education.

    What to do for fun

    there are clubs, free rec center, dances, games, events, and movies happening all over the week.

    Food and Dining

    there isn't as many places to eat on campus which is unfortunate, but just down the road there's more than enough different places to eat. and on top of that most people here have cars.

    Dorm Life

    dorms and on campus apartments are amazing and for their quality it costs much less than it would at most colleges. did i happen to mention that they all come slandered? heck yeah

    Tips for prospective students

    try living on campus, u meet and get to know people way better than living off campus.

    In three sentences

    it is a small but beautiful campus, where pretty much everyone is nice and meeting new people are fun. there may not be as many things to do on campus but it's okay because with all the free stuff and people i've met here i'm always busy. dorms and apartments are really nice, better than most other colleges.

  • 03/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is very high on campus. If you are afraid to walk at night, you can call security and they will pick you up. The good is that people down here are very friendly and almost never bother you.

    Greek Life

    There are eight fraternities and three sororities on campus. They have two rush weeks. One during the fall and one during the spring.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are dozens of clubs and activities always going on. There are also usually free prizes at these events. If there is not a club that gets your interest you can very easily start one by having three students and a faculty member sponsor you.

    Great for these types of students

    USI is great for students who want to get an education and better themselves. If you want to make new friends and have fun without drinking, I recommend USI. It is a dry campus and most students here do not drink or drink very little.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is really only one tradition, and it's lighting up trees during Christmas time. The event is no very exciting, but is still nice.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall, its a great deal. USI is the cheapest university in Indiana. It has plenty to offer for the cost.

    What to do for fun

    If your an athlete, this would be a great campus for you. There a plenty of basketball and volleyball courts throughout campus. There are dosens of trails that already exsist, and plenty of room to make new ones. Every Friday there are tackle football games during summer, fall and spring. Pool and ping pong tables are also available at the rec center. Events are always happening on campus, whether its an activity or guest speaker, there is always something to do.

    Food and Dining

    There are several dining choices here at USI. We have a Burger King, pizza joint, sandwich shop, and Mexican grill. There is also a cafeteria which is known as the loft. Unfortunately, the main entree is usually dry and bland.

    Dorm Life

    USI offers dorms and apartment complexes for living options on campus. I recommend the apartments. They are more spacious and come with a kitchen and bathrooms for the same price.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes here are not insanely hard as you might think all college courses are. As long as you go to class and pay attention and try hard, you will succeed. The professors are willing to help you every step of the way.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring a bike if you like to bike ride, USI offers hundreds of acres of wooded nature trails. You can also rent bikes for free until eight o'clock. If you do not have a laptop don't worry, there are plenty of computers on campus.

    In three sentences

    USI is a great college for someone that comes for the academics. It has a friendly atmosphere and the staff is always ready to help. It has amazing resources that range from private study tutors to high technological computer labs.

  • 03/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus is very safe. There are always security vehicles driving around to ensure the safety of students.

    Greek Life

    Our greek life is fantasic. We have many different Fraternities and soroities. Thye are really nice and well organized. They do a lot for our community.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clus and activities. We have also any sport imaginable. We have great music and religious clubs as well.

    Great for these types of students

    USI is a place for a student who is serious about their studies, but is also looking for a place to get involved.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One unusual placeis we actually have an art gallery. This is a place where you can see awesome art made by some of our very own artists.

    Bang for the buck

    USI is a school that is not too big, but it is also not too small. There is a huge balance there. The housing is very nice and the campus is very clean.

    What to do for fun

    Hanging out with friend is something we all do for fun. The Rec is aloso a nice place to hang and workout. The University Center is also a great place to hang whenthere is nothing else to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining here is pretty good. ther are quite a few choices, however, it would be great if they addeda bit more variety.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. You really get to know the people around you. Italso helps that in our apartments we ahve a complete kitchen to deal with.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a lot od academic rigor at this institution. There are many different outside of class programs offered to make sure students succeed at what they are doing.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip would be to manage your time. There has to be a balance between homework, social life and relaxation. Without this combination you will not succeed.

    In three sentences

    USI is a very great school. The faculty and staff really want to see students excel. I really enjoy attending this fine University.

  • 03/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety is very well kept up and campus security drives around all the time. I get off work very late and I feel safe as I'm walking home each night knowing that security is looking after me.

    Greek Life

    I participated in a sorority and I loved it, but towards the end I just found out it wasn't for me. All of the girls are super friendly and it's not all about partying, like most probably think. The girls participate in a lot of volunteer work, which I loved.

    Clubs and Activities

    I love playing the intramural sports like soccer, softball, and volleyball. The outside sand volleyball courts are really fun when it's warm outside. Sometimes it's just fun to watch other people play, too. I love going to basketball games and rugby! I also enjoy the religious groups that they have on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    USI is great for students who live a far. I live 5 1/2 hrs north and I have not once regretted going this far from school. I feel like this is my new home and I couldn't wait to come back my second year. It's also great for students who don't want a community college, but don't want a huge school either. I think it's perfect size!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The fountains are the prettiest part of campus! We also have a lake behind the LA building and it's always so pretty to walk past there in your free time or when it's warm outside. The campus is so gorgeous in the spring!

    What to do for fun

    For fun I play sports, hang out with friends, walk on the beautiful campus, and go to my religious group. I also work.

    Food and Dining

    I think the meal plans are over priced, but for my first year and for most of my second year I didn't have a car, so having the meal plans really helped ( seeing how I couldn't drive and go get food off campus ).

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is amazing! I met so many people through living in the dorm and it made my first year so much easier. I was so close to campus that if I woke up late, I'd still be on time for class. It also helps because you're so much closer to gym so it's easy to stay fit!

    Academic Rigor

    Keep up on your studies and don't wait til last minute, especially when the weather starts getting nice. Usually people put off their homework or studying for their exams last minute and then they are forced to have to spend the rest of their day studying and usually that day happens to be a nice one where everyone is outside. I have only had one professor that I didn't like and it was an online class. My teachers have all been very helpful and wanted me to always succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet new people because the more people you know the better your experience is at college. Experience dorm life at least once because that's where I met mostly everyone I know now and try to be involved, even if it's just one thing.

  • 04/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The Activity Planning Board (APB) plans all kinds of fun activities, like movies on the quad, dances and roller skating. Not too far from campus there is a movie theatre and the mall is only 20 minutes NE of campus.

    Food and Dining

    I personally love The Loft, Salsa Rico, Cyclone Salad and SubCo. Burger King isn't too bad, but I honestly don't care for Archie's Pizza. The pizza doesn't taste good, and the food is really, really greasy.

    Dorm Life

    You really develop close bonds with your dormmates. Most of my friends have become GREAT friends with their dormmates, though a few didn't get along very well at all. I suppose it depends on each persons personality though.

    Academic Rigor

    I honestly have felt really challenged in most of my classes, but I love it. I generally have homework every night, but it's not impossibly hard and the instructors are so helpful when I get a little lost.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you find out WHERE your classes are, not merely the building. Walk through the buildings you have classes in, familiarize yourself with their layouts and how you can get from class to class. Attend the free movies and other activities, you'll meet tons of new people and make new connections with people in your major!

    In three sentences

    The professors are very open and welcome. USI also has a wonderful tutoring program in their education building. I absolutely love the campus layout, with the huge quad and dining in one area!

  • 04/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is big here, they always have people patrolling, throughout all of the night. They have the emergency buttons in several locations throughout campus.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is large at USI for being a smaller campus. With the choice of 7-8 frats, and 3-4 sororities, everyone seems to be in one.

    Clubs and Activities

    USI has a great student staff who offer something to do every week, sometimes free, and sometimes that cost money to go to a ski resort for example.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone can find their place here at USI. Their are several different sororities and fraternities that offer a wide range of group of people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have one weird tradition that I know of, and that is on Valentines night, people try to sneak over to the water fountain-patio area, and kiss their girlfriend, or whomever at midnight.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is a little pricey, but I think it is well worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    Evansville is a college town. They have several things to do for the age group. While most kids are from around the area and go home, the ones who stay have a wide variety of bars, several restaurants, movie theaters, or anything else imaginable doing is offered in this city.

    Food and Dining

    They do not have many choices for dining, but they do offer a dining hall that serves just about everything. They have a place called the c-store, something along the lines of a miniature grocery store that also serves and delivers food.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in the dorms, I lived in apartment housing. This is amazing however and definitely recommend it.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is very good here. It is a challenging program, yet the teachers will work with you and help you to pass the classes. They definitely want to see you achieve graduation and get your degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you ask about some of your teachers, as some of them need to retire from teaching.

    In three sentences

    It is a very nice, clean school. The social life here is very alive and popular with several choices of a sorority or fraternity for being a smaller campus. The educational program here is great, with good teachers who are willing to work with the students.

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a theatre close to campus and things on the other side of town. You would need a car to live here the bus system isnt the greatest.

    Food and Dining

    All of the food is good and can be healthy on campus but, there's not alot to chose from.

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived in a dorm

    Tips for prospective students

    If want to be able to get to know your professors and have smaller class sizes this is the school for you.

    In three sentences

    I think this is a great place to earn a degree. I have had a great experience here in Evansville, it's a small school but big enough for me. The campus is always clean and beautiful.

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Everyday I walked to Ruston Dorms I saw a security car, they practically live on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of different clubs at USI such as the Biology club to SGA. Their is a large varity of choices but activies are slightly low, they appear randomly throughout the months but nevertheless their are still some neat things going on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus has a lake and some pond areas, one of the secluded areas is a gazebo and it is beautiful and cool to just sit down to take pictures in or read with somebody.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with people around the area, joining some clubs like quiddich club or chilling at the recreation center.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good and their is a decent variety. But it can get old after awile, including the couple fast food places. We have a loft area where different food is brought in everyday and it helps with the variety so its not the same thing every day.

    Dorm Life

    Depending on whether you live in the dorms or the apartments, living at USI can be great or not so great. I lived in the Ruston dorms my freshman years, I liked it a lot but the only downside is being unable to cook on a stovetop. Whereas at the apartments one can easily buy food and make a homemade meal.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the teachers are very friendly, I signed up for environmental sciences and many of the geology professors are very helpful and passionate towards what they do. I also met other staff members such as the University of Division department and was pleased to find so many peopole willing to help and guide students towards their future goals.

    Tips for prospective students

    The campus is not too large, so it will only take a couple days to find your way around, but if lost, don't be shy to ask around their are quite a few friendly people willing to help out, including most students! Also don't skip class in first semester, it just goes downhill after the first couple times. Don't give up on yourself and keep a goal in mind to get you through the tough classes.

    In three sentences

    The flowers blooming in spring and trees lined up all around campus throws out a sense of beauty and passion. The staff are friendly, kind and for the most part, passionate about their job. I feel sadness when I leave the campus because it has became my second home, University of Southern Indiana is beautiful, kind, and adaptable to many students.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The best things to do for fun, would be to take a walk around campus, there are tons of little spots and little things that students can do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, there is a school cafeteria as well as several other places on campus to eat.

    Dorm Life

    The Resident Assistants are always available to help, and have many ideas and activties for fun.

    Academic Rigor

    the teachers and classes will challenge you but no to the point that you can not succed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join clubs and organizations to get to know more people around you.

    In three sentences

    The University has a wonderful environment, that gives students the greatest opportunities for learning, growing and devolping into well rounded people. My University also gives every opportunity for success with multiple programs for students succed. Finally my university has a multitude of clubs, orgianizations and activites for students to feel comfortable in their surroundings.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus life is completely safe their were never any fights or altercations on campus besides a few medical emergencies and security is always available if you need directions or help. The most dangerous part of being on campus is the the parking lot, which has been known to frequent some car accidents.

    Clubs and Activities

    I was a member of the USI film club, where students who like movies or enjoy making them or being in them can participate in student made films which are shown later at a film festival, where they will be judged by audiences and selected committee.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students looking for a medium size college where their aren't an overwhelming amount of people. It's also a great place for people who want an affordable college where they can learn and focus on studying.

    What to do for fun

    In the fall their is a Evansville Fall festival which offers a myriad of unhealthy food, such as deep fried snickers, brain burgers, frog legs. You can also go to many of the on campus events sponsored by campus clubs.

    Food and Dining

    University of southern Indiana has some good choice of food to offer students. Burger king is located on campus at the university center along with a sub-connection shop which sells hot and cold sandwhiches. The best food in my opinion is in the campus cafeteria where they have actual chefs who make the food and it's freshly made.

    Dorm Life

    I didn't stay in a dorm on campus but from what I heard, it was not a great place to stay. Their were numerous times when the power in the dorms went out and they had boil advisory's for the water. If possible find another place to spend your stay at.

    Academic Rigor

    When you take any class remember that you are paying for it, in either your time or money. Don't waste your time giving half your effort, for a class do the best that you can do to make good grades, if you have trouble in a class don't be afraid to ask questions or seek help. Most times if you show a teacher that your working hard and trying to do good in a class they will remember that when grading your work.

    Tips for prospective students

    I suggest always registering as early as possible, and finding out about good professors either online or from students who've taken similar classes. Also find out what books you will need for classes and try to rent them instead of buying them, it will save you alot of money. Get involved on campus, activities to help build a good resume and make networking connections. Make lots of friends, this seems trivial but the more friends you have the more people you have to help you, when you need to print, use a a computer etc.

    In three sentences

    University of Southern Indiana is a quiet and gradually expanding university. It offers many general degrees to students, and has some great proffessors on it's staff. While the campus offers many opportunities for students, their are times when campus life can seem less than thrilling.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel secure on campus at USI. There are a variety of trails that lead to campus from the apartments and I feel perfectly safe walking any one of them even at night. Security drives around 24/7 and keeps watch all over campus. There is also a variety of emergency buttons located in random locations around campus that you can push if there is ever a problem. My roommates and I often don't even lock our apartment door (not that I recommend that) but that's how safe I feel at USI.

    Greek Life

    I personally don't participate in Greek life but those who do are really into it. There are a variety of fraternity or sororities you can join at USI. They have a process of recruitment each year and it is a big event. Of course it is a bit pricey to be involved in Greek life, but from what I've heard it's definitely worth it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The cone in the center of campus was just built this year and it is a building that makes USI unique. It's located in the University Center in the dining area but you can see it from all over campus. Soaping the fountain is a common tradition that many clubs and organizations find to be something fun to do. If you see soap overflowing out of the fountains on campus, don't be surprised.

    Bang for the buck

    I definitely believe USI has great quality for the price, this is one of the main reasons I picked the school. Everything is so modern compared to other college campuses. It is definitely worth the cost.

    What to do for fun

    Like previously stated, getting involved is a big part of having fun at USI. If you don't take the time to get involved in something, it could be very broing because nobody is going to force you to go do something. Joining sorority/fraternitys are always an option. There is also a variety of intramural sports you can participate in. You can sign up to go on monthly outings with other students to places like Garden of the Gods or Marengo Cave. There are also a few volleyball and basketball courts around campus that anyone can use to play ball with friends.

    Food and Dining

    I have never had a meal plan simply because I can't afford it, though they do have a few different choices which are convienent. I can however put money (flex money) on my student ID and use it to pay for campus food which lets me not have to pay tax, like everyone with meal plans. There are more food choices on campus now that we have a salad place and a Mexican restaurant (Salsa Rico). They are also in the process of renovating the main place of dining (The Loft) which is a buffet so that it will be better. We also have a Burger King and Sub Connection. By the apartments at the Convenience Store they also make food such as chicken fingers and pizza, which is nice. The best place in my opinion on campus is the Starbucks located in the library. Like any college, the food could be better but it is not bad and is improving each year.

    Dorm Life

    Though I personally never lived in the dorms as a freshman, I have seen them and they are some of the nicest and newest dorms I've seen out of any college campus. Definitely better quality than dorms at IU or Ball State. I have lived in the apartments both years that I've attended USI and though they aren't as new as the dorms, they are still decent size. The apartments are great because they have a kitchen and a living area and two bedrooms for four people. If anything goes wrong in the apartment that needs fixed, if you fill out a Fix My Home form online, someone will be there to fix it either that day or the next. The apartments are great and I plan to live on campus my remaining years at USI.

    Academic Rigor

    The quality of education at USI overall I would have to say is pretty fair. It honestly depends on each individual teacher is what I have come to find out. There are some outstanding teachers at USI that could be teaching at Ivy League colleges in my opinion and then there are some who just aren't the best. I always have plenty of projects, papers and things to study though, so this is definitely a school for people who are devoted to their studies and is not much of a party school. Because USI is not super big, most teachers are willing to work with you and you can actually talk to them in person or at least email them and they will usually always help and answer questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    To prospective students I would say to definitely try to have a pretty good idea of what you want your major to be and if questioning at all, start out with general studies. It can be frustrating and complicated changing majors and have taken classes that won't count towards your new major. Researching teachers (like on Rate My Professor) before signing up for classes is a must or you will end up hating your classes in most cases. I would also say to definitely participate in orientation to learn the basics of USI. Also, I recommend getting involved in something on campus, whether it be a sorority, a club or a religious organization such as Student Christian Fellowship (like me!) Being involved really helps with making friends.

    In three sentences

    The University of Southern Indiana is a good college choice because you get great value for the money. The campus is not too small and not too big, in my opinion it is the perfect size. USI is growing and improving in many ways and is great for students who are serious about getting an education.

  • 05/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    24 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Town of evansville, great restaurants, movies, and video games.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early and make decisions early. The early bird truly does get the worm.

    In three sentences

    This college is has a beautiful campus with great facilities and diverse opportunities.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    25 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The cost per credit hour is right about $200, which is the cheapest around for a university.

    Food and Dining

    On campus there are like 5 or 6 little restaurants, SubConnection is like a Subway and I pretty much live there whenever I visit campus.

    Dorm Life

    I live on my own.

    Academic Rigor

    Well, I haven't started yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    At first it's a bit much to take in, but just walk the campus a couple times, take the tour, and then you'll learn it like the back of your hand. It really is amazing.

    In three sentences

    The University of Southern Indiana is a perfect campus for me. The class size aren't too big or small, the campus is the same way. And the cost of tuition is extremely reasonable considering I'll be paying for college all on my own.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    26 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security is really good about security and patrol 24hrs and if that isn't enough there are Blue emergency phones sprinkled everywhere through campus for an emergency.

    Greek Life

    There are both Frats and Sorority's

    Clubs and Activities

    There is ALWAYS something to do here and if we don't have it we can make it just grab a friend and s teacher.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are willing to make friends and get involved.

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable.

    What to do for fun

    There is plenty to do for fun. The RA's and school sponsored over 800 events last year.

    Food and Dining

    The are a wide variety of food choices. There are also meals plans and things used called Munch Money.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are only for Freshmen but they also have apartments for both Freshmen and upper class men.

    Academic Rigor

    The class sizes are very manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to be apart of a welcoming go to campus with the bang for you buck education then this is the one for you!

    In three sentences

    Very warm and welcoming campus the people there are all nice. You can always ask someone if you get lost like the Amigos.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Its cheaper than most schools.

    What to do for fun

    GET INVOLVED!!! The only way you will be bored is if you don't get involved. the school offers a wide range of organizations and activities to be a part of. People who don't get involved or expect USI to be a party school when its not, find them selves bored and breaking rules and risking great opportunities.

    Food and Dining

    There is something for every one. If you have a meal plan or pay out of pocket remember to be wise with your finances.

    Dorm Life

    There are so many options for freshmen between living learning communities , dorms, and apartments. What you decide may depend on your ability to adapt to independence.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics can be tough but its not impossible. There are a lot of people who can help you. Be willing to take constructive criticism and be honest. Manage you time well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know who you are and what you main goal is. Keep an open mind. Get involved!!!!! Stay on top of academics and ask for help when you need it. Meet people and keep in touch with them. Don't expect to party all the time and don't risk your education by breaking any rules.

    In three sentences

    USI is a great school with lots to offer academically and socially. It's a great environment for focusing on classes, adapting to independence, and experiencing the world. the university is always looking to become more diverse and get students involved on campus and in the community.

  • 08/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    there are not that many fraternities or sororities

    In three sentences

    USI is a very prospective university.

  • 08/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Emergency posts within eyesight all the time. Security is very nice and helpful

    Clubs and Activities

    If they don't have it you only need 2 people to start it.

    Bang for the buck

    Only 50 years old. Share bathroom only with your roommate. One of the lowest cost colleges in Indiana.

    What to do for fun

    Any and every sport or club you could think of. I've played things I never had before - extreme frisbee, capture the flag, rock climbing

    Food and Dining

    So much to choose from.. subway, burger king, pizza, meals at the loft

    Dorm Life

    Love it here. Staying in Newman Hall. Close to everything!

    Academic Rigor

    Haveven't had any assignments that I thought was a large amount. Everyone seems willing to help with everything.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you attend welcome week and sign up for your graduation year on Facebook.

    In three sentences

    Best of both worlds. Campus feels like being home in the country. Go off campus and you're in the big city.

  • 08/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe. Not so much violence or crimes occurs.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many of Activities to get involved in. The main ones usually helps prospective students create their college life such AMIGOS, Multicultural Groups, etc. Activities such Springfest, Showtime at the Apollo, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Students live life just well for a year, but usually have to find a way to keep motivated because after a while living on campus gets boring.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Unusual locations are the locations a person is usually introduced to when on campus such as the Student Lounge, or better yet, the Carter Room.

    Bang for the buck

    The campus is quite big in area. There are a lot of people a person will meet on campus. For a person who is unlikely to make friends in high school, is more likely to make friends quick at University of Southern Indiana.

    What to do for fun

    The Rec center has a lot of activities. On campus there are events to attend during spare time. There are events daily, so time is never boring.

    Food and Dining

    Food is great. There are a lot of options. The majority of the time the selection is quite wide.

    Dorm Life

    A lot of party students, but not so much affects occur.

    Academic Rigor

    As far as being just fair, the school is worthy enough to attend.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard, study well and try to be the best at preparing, organizing and giving your best in classes.

    In three sentences

    The University is decent, but the help students seek is not so well. The school instructors expects a lot of independent work. If a person goes to school to seek education, the education should be fair enough to help students in all aspects including the ones who aren't motivated.

  • 10/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are always patrolling campus. There are blue emergency poles on campus as well. Have never felt unsafe in my years here.

    Greek Life

    I am currently in greek life. Great way to met people and focused on grades.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs like SGA and APB are open to join. Intramural are very popular as well to students looking to play sports.

    Great for these types of students

    Nursing student receive a great training and get placed with great hospitals.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a huge cone that gives the college personality.

    Bang for the buck

    One of the cheapest schools in Indiana, but has great academics as well.

    What to do for fun

    There is a great mall fifteen minutes away you could attend. Weekends have nightlife downtown. Hiking and biking are popular among students.

    Food and Dining

    Most students do not get dining plans. Great remodeled loft is offered to students.

    Dorm Life

    Most students live in the apartments, very few live in the dorms. The apartments are amazing.

    Academic Rigor

    Most health major required good grades but other majors are not as hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in clubs. It is a great way to meet people. Try to get into the dorms your first year here.

    In three sentences

    USI is a hidden treasure of Indiana. It is a great school for academics and a good price. advisers are great at leading you toward your goal of graduation.

  • 10/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    University of Southern Indiana is one of the top pre-professional colleges in the state. One of the the top nursing schools as well.

    What to do for fun

    For fun I get involved with our Recreation and fitness building.

    In three sentences

    University of Southern Indiana is a great school. The professors here are outstanding and the class size is just right. They offer numerous services that make being a student away from home easy. Athletics here are superior compared to most other division II schools.

  • 11/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Most weeks there are organized activities on campus.

    Food and Dining

    There are several places to eat on campus and restraunts are very close to campus.

    Dorm Life

    So far I have had no complaints about dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors can be tough but they are almost always willing to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to get involved but also focus on grades.

    In three sentences

    USI is a great school full of wonderful people and professors. It is very easy to get involved on campus. USI has a beautiful campus and a promising future.

  • 12/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security on campus is amazing. Everywhere on campus there are the blue lights you can push if you feel you are unsafe, even on the trails on campus. You can call 7777 anytime to have them come by, and they even give you rides back and forth from campus and back to your dorm.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life is amazing! They are against bullying and are against hardcore partying. They also are involved in great activities and philanthropies they volunteer for.

    Clubs and Activities

    Like I have said, any and all student have clubs that they can enjoy! Even if you want to shoot zombies!

    Great for these types of students

    Any student! I have seen all kinds of students all in love with this University.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One I am Vice President of is Humans Vs Zombies; it was started my freshman year by my friends and I, and it is basically freeze tag with nerf guns. The cone will be a familiar place if you visit the campus. It is a new addition to our UC. It is the tallest building on our campus, and is filled with several study rooms for students to hang out.

    Bang for the buck

    Along with the FREE movies, REC, and Trail to Burdette, USI has many clubs; so many that each student can find one no matter what they are interested in. Plus the Greek life on campus is amazing. This campus is beautiful!

    What to do for fun

    If you are the active type then the USI to Burdette Trail is perfect for the beautiful weather down in Evansville; it is a ten mile long trail. If you are not so big on outdoor activities but still want to work out the REC on campus is perfect for you; it contains xbox and wii games, ping pong, a rock wall yes a Rock Wall, full gym and weight room, as well as classes like Zumba. The REC as well as several clubs on campus are constantly offering things for us college students to do, like APB provides new movies before they come out on dvd free of charge.

    Food and Dining

    The Loft was just renovated and adds a modern feel to the University. Manage your munch money and you will be set for the semester!!! The food quality in the Loft and at the various other restaurants are delicious for the student craving home cooking.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are huge! The dorms are in excellent condition and close to campus for freshman students! The apartments are a little further, but in excellent condition as well.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging as well as interesting. Everyone hates taking classes out of their major, but the professors here make up for it. It is an excellent school to challenge yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a nursing major or anything in the health field get prepared for little to no social life. The library is everyone's best friend and not just for finals week. Manage your munch money and do not sleep the day away.

    In three sentences

    Overall it is an excellent place to attend with a great atmosphere for a college student. However the advisers, depending on who you receive, are not very good at informing their students. But do not let a few bad seeds tarnish this beautiful university.

  • 01/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    USI takes safety very seriously. There are emergency poles all over campus that with the pressing of a button security will be there ASAP. While standing at an emergency pole you can always see at least one more emergency pole.

    Greek Life

    There are many sororities and fraternities at USI that you can join and help make a difference in the community while building a long lasting friendship with your new brothers and sisters.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities available at USI. Clubs to help the community, or to just have fun. Whatever you can think of there is probably a club for it at USI. From Quidditch to Humans vs. Zombies there are so many fun clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want a good education without paying the outrageous cost of other in-state schools. Great for students who like the small school feel where they feel like they truly matter to the school.

    Bang for the buck

    Being the cheapest in-state school in Indiana going to USI is definitely the best bang for your buck you can get!

    What to do for fun

    For fun you can go to the recreational building where you can partake in so many activities. You can: play basketball, play volleyball, climb the rock wall, play badminton, play pool, play ping pong, play video games, run, work out, rent Frisbees for the frisbee golf course, or even rent a bike.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining at USI is fantastic. With a meal plan you can get food from The Loft which is the schools cafeteria, but trust me when I say it does not taste like cafeteria food. The food you order is cooked in front of you and is always good. Other than the Loft there are several restaurants on campus. There is a: Burger King, Archie's Pizza, Sub Connection, Salsa Rico, Cyclone Salad, Red Mango, and a Starbucks.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is a fun experience. You meet so many of your friends from your dorm. The dorms are all co-ed and are four people per suite. In each suite there are two bedrooms, a living or common room, and two bathrooms. Having your own bathroom in the middle of the night instead of having to walk down the hall to use a community bathroom is defiantly a plus.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses at USI are challenging. If it wasn't challenging it wouldn't be worth doing though. With the education you receive from USI you will be glad that you toughed out the rigor courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should do their best to get involved once on campus. Getting involved is so easy and it makes a wonderful difference in your college experience. There is a club fair in which you can walk around and look at a majority of the clubs and organizations offered at USI.

    In three sentences

    The University of Southern Indiana is a great school with many majors offered. The class sizes are small and you feel a personal one-on-one relationship with almost every professor. The University of Southern Indiana is the cheapest in-state school in Indiana and is a fantastic school.

  • 01/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety here at USI, is top notch, noone should ever feel that they are not safe, or cant do certain things because of safety issues. USI, is as safe as can be.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the movies down the street, or to the mall, go see a gospel choir concert, or to a basketball game. There are soo many activities that go on at USI, that you should never be bored.

    Food and Dining

    THE FOOD IS AWESOME!!!!!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life can be tricky, because you may never know what you are getting into, but it also forces you to create grown-up relationships, and to comunicate, and share. Wi-fi at USI, can be a pain in the behind, but there are so many facilities to work and study and do homework, you shouldnt have a problem getting away from dorm life to do what you need to do.

    Academic Rigor

    USI academically is whatever you make it. No teacher will take time to help someone who is un-invested, lazy, or who doesnt want to learn. But, when you work hard, show up for class, and do your work, the academic side of USI can be a piece of cake, and the teachers ar every linient.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont be afraid to be afraid, because you ar enot alone. Home sickness with go away sooner than you know, and in the end all the days you feel like giving up will only make you stronger, and make your degree seem more worth something. Make friends, joing organizations, party, and enjoy being a college student, because some never get the chance.

    In three sentences

    University of Southern Indiana is a place where friends can be made, and enemies can be too. Its also a place where education can send you on the right path, and its a place where life can cause you to burn bridges instead of build them. But one thing USI has that will help you through the tough times, is an amazing support system of faculty, and staff.

  • 02/22/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    37 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    What isn't there to do for fun?

    In three sentences

    It's very entertaining. It's beautifully maintained. It has a wonderful variety of classes.

  • 03/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Get involved with this! It is a great way to meet new people, and you will never be bored.

    Food and Dining

    I have eaten pasta every night for dinner for the entire school year. That's the only thing that is good on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great! I live with three other girls in a suite-styled dorm. We have our own bathrooms in each room and we share a common room in the middle of each of our rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are great! They expect a lot out of you, but it's college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved with the groups they do have on campus. The greek life is a great way to go, and if I could go back- I would join a sorority.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful, and every professor I have had so far is amazing at what they teach. There are no school traditions because the school is so young. It gets very boring on weekends, so if you are looking for a school with campus involvement- this is not the one.

  • 03/25/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    39 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Again, the re-purposed room, looks really cool!

    Food and Dining

    I honestly have to say I didn't actually get to try the food when I visited, however they seem to have a pretty nice set up. From what I was told I got the impression that they have a wide variety of foods available and a lot of create your own... stations.

    Dorm Life

    Check out the freshman dorms! Awesome!!!!

    In three sentences

    The dorms for freshman looked awesome. They have an amazing looking rec center..... complete with three story rock wall! Plus, if you're creative, or just like seeing things being reused, they have this really awesome room that is made mostly of recycled products from local companies!

  • 07/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are sooo many activities around campus that you dont even have to sign up for. and obviously all the student clubs.

    Food and Dining

    food and dining is great:) plenty of options. slightly overpriced but still good food.

    Dorm Life

    i have never lived in the dorms or apartments. my friends all like it except ones who just didn't like dorm life in general.

    Academic Rigor

    this all depends on the choices you make

    Tips for prospective students

    apply early! classes fill quick

    In three sentences

    USI has a beautiful campus, with plenty of nice professors. the advisors are very helpful and there are plenty of student help groups if you just want someone else ideas to help make decisions. TUITION IS CHEAP!!

  • 07/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    On campus there are Clubs out of the wazoo! A Gym, Movies on the quad, many musical and drama opportunities.

    Food and Dining

    The food there is really good, but there is a ridiculous line from 11-12:45 everyday. If you can make it there before or after though, you'll be fine.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is nice there, being a native living on campus for me was just far enough away to do what I wanted and not worry my family was watching. In each apt, suite, etc there are four mates. I hung out with in other rooms and my best memories where in the dorm I stayed in.

    Academic Rigor

    I have taken some classes and it is up in the air. Some classes are difficult (anatomy) and others are high school easy (health). But all together it is a nice mix, especially if you have an awesome professor. I would double check your professors on Ratemyprofessor.com, before signing up!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved, USI has all the clubs you could possibly want, from religious to entertainment clubs, there is one perfect for you! The Library is the place for a quiet study group and if the group needs to discuss there are group room to can reserve. Live on campus, the dorms are inexpensive and comfortable. With dorms, LLCs, and Apartments(on and off campus) there will be something that fits you lifestyle.

    In three sentences

    USI is wonderful for students who want a stress free small environment. With food and entertainment only minutes away, USI is easy to study or get away. The professors and classes are great, especially the choir program!

  • 08/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are security vehicles that drive all over the campus and there are emergency polls with buttons to call them with all over campus.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life is small but I am in it and I absolutely love it. Greek week has tons of great events and Greek life teaches a lot about becoming a better person.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 100 clubs to join on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a fairly cheap school to attend especially for in state students and there is tons of stuff to do for free on campus.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of sports teams to join, growing Greek life, and many the university has sponsored movies it plays every week in a movie theater size room and movie theater quality equipment.

    Food and Dining

    The main cafeteria here is ok depending on what you get but there are many choices. The other food places can be really busy around lunch time.

    Dorm Life

    I loved living in the dorms and having tons of people around me that I could make friends with.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes are fairly easy but some are also very difficult. It depends on the teacher.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have prepared yourself for college and the courses you will be taking.

    In three sentences

    The school has many great programs to enroll. It has tons of extra curricular activities to be enrolled in. The teachers are great at helping or there is many places on campus to go get help.

  • 09/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I see security drive by every day, security here is unbelievable.

    Greek Life

    Pretty good for both sororities and fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have tons of clubs here and every year they host all the clubs outside for everyone to see.

    Great for these types of students

    USI is great for biology students and those studying for nursing.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I know that we have a Zombies versus Humans game that is hosted every year. It's going on right now.

    Bang for the buck

    This is one of the cheapest schools but on the flip side they get you with these ridiculous core classes.

    What to do for fun

    A lot of different programs like the movie nights. The set up brand new releases in either an auditorium or outside and its like watching in the theater for free. Their are clubs and different organizations. The Recreation center is fun with rock climbing, pool, and video games. They also have various different sports like four or five basketball courts and volleyball courts indoor and out.

    Food and Dining

    Food is ok, pricey like all universities but it's not horrible.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is ok, walls are thin so whoever your neighbors are, by the end of the year you're going to get to know them whether you like it or not. In the apartments most of them are old and expect for things to break down. I had to email maintenance 5 times so far and this is just my second week here! Twice was over the toilet that leaked into our downstairs neighbors room, ew! But the rooms are quite spacious and we have decent privacy with our own bathrooms.

    Academic Rigor

    Sometimes the professors you must deal with in certain classes are hard to understand and could care less about your grades. Others is the amount of information in a class, you have to read, do homework, quizzes, tests, and understand all of it before the big final. It's pretty tough especially if it's a class like Organic Chemistry.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend looking up Professors online to see their ratings before taking a class because sometimes the professor can really turn a class sour if he or she doesn't have their heart into it. Also try to study, college is awesome but waiting till the last minute to do the last thing can be a pain, some professors like to throw a curve ball at the last day so check your blackboard every day! I would know that by now! Other then that I say just say that you're paying to be here, don't waste your money on just trying to pass with a C. Make college count, have fun but don't forget about classes.

    In three sentences

    The University has a beautiful campus with a wide range of trails and flowers all across the various paths. Most of the majors for this school is based off of the Biological field of work and I would only recommend those majors to attend here. The campus is small so it easy to find your way around but that also means their isn't as much of an academic variety in certain fields of study.

  • 09/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The university offers many clubs and there is always a sports game to watch in the evening. They are always trying to get more people to join the fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very exspensive and there are always long lines. I always pack a lunch with me so that I can save money.

    Dorm Life

    I chose to not live in the dorms so that I could save money.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are tough and expect a lot of their students but they are always willing to help. They are very welcoming to students coming into their office for questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get involved. The university has a lot to offer and it is good to constantly make friends.

    In three sentences

    The school is very modern and updated in architecture and technology. The classes are smaller than division 1 colleges and the professors are usually available for assistance. Overall the university is a great place to go to school.

  • 09/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe and our security is very friendly.

    Greek Life

    It's there im not a part of it so i don't know much about it.

    Clubs and Activities

    I love all the clubs I am in and there are plenty of them to choose from.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This might not be so unusual but they hold quidditch competitions in the quad, and have zombies vs. humans.

    Bang for the buck

    USI's cost compared to what you get is amazing. the price of tuition is extremely low for the quality of education.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club! We have many great clubs and organizations to be apart of. They give you something to do and a way to meet new people.

    Food and Dining

    We have several things to choose from for food here. my only problem is that some of it can get pricey.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. USI has the cleanest dorms I have ever been in, which is very important to me. everyone is easy to get along with. I have never had problems.

    Academic Rigor

    most classes aren't very difficult, but you do have a lot of reading.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not true myusi, it is incredibly annoying. Do makes plans to speak with your advisor regularly. Join clubs and get into campus life, especially if you live off campus. Enjoy your experiences here. Study hard and you will get a lot form and education at USI.

    In three sentences

    USI provides an excellence environment for learning. The wide variety of classes is appreciated. The professors and advisors, for the most part, are helpful and kind.

  • 09/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I do not participate but it is kind of a big deal here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a bunker underneath the dock behind the dorms that previous students have painted. Leave your mark.

    What to do for fun

    Find the trails on campus!

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved!

    In three sentences

    Great sence on community and school spirit! Many on campus activities and ways to get involved. Small and large class sizes to fit your preference.

  • 09/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Ultimate Frisbee! There's a women's team now, too!

    Food and Dining

    There are very little healthy options, and the only available food for on-campus living on the weekends is one passable buffet/deli-style loft. You must have a meal plan, though, or everything is very expensive in cash.

    Dorm Life

    The on-campus housing is small, and there are up to four individuals in one apartment. If you like bunk-beds, sign up quick!

    Academic Rigor

    Most teachers are fairly relaxed, most deadlines are negotiable, and for the most part, there's plenty of scheduled down-time and days off right before finals.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always take your core requirements first, even if you think you've discovered your true passions and want to pursue related courses.

    In three sentences

    University of Southern Indiana is a moderately diverse student body capable of sustaining many clubs, sports teams, and scholarly organizations while still maintaining that home-town feeling of a small campus. The constant updating and creation of new buildings, and the new technology constantly administered to upgrade teaching styles are always appreciated. Overall, I'm glad I chose USI and am excited to see where my undergrad degree opens doors for me!

  • 09/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I eat off campus.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm a full-time sports management major.

  • 09/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is readily available and on site!

    Greek Life

    Greek life is offered at USI and is definitely a great opportunity to advance a student's campus involvement and is also a great opportunity to network with fellow colleagues.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs are offered for students who engage in a variety of activities.

    Bang for the buck

    USI is a very affordable 4-year public institution.

    What to do for fun

    The campus provides many opportunities for students to be engaged around campus! There are basketball courts, tennis courts, baseball fields, a gym, a recreation center that offers small classes such as yoga, core workouts, and climbing. There are also opportunities to join in on events that happen off and around campus such as movie night or going skiing/snowboarding at Paoli Peaks.

    Food and Dining

    There are many choices for students of quality food from different restaurants that are offered on campus. Sodexo is the prime supplier for the cafeteria foods and it's usually a hit or miss, but there is a large variety of foods to select from such as salads, pizza, fruit, pastas, chicken, hamburgers, and more.

    Dorm Life

    I would definitely recommend staying on campus for the first year because it provides great networking and other opportunities.

    Academic Rigor

    The difficulty of college course is most dependent on the students' work ethic, professor's teaching capabilities, and even the topic of the course. Academic rigor will not be all so bad if a student puts the time and effort to the courses he/she takes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Future students should plan to be prepared for huge responsibilities, because they are much on their own for study habits, homework, tests, and receiving the most they can out of their college experience. I would recommend to first year students to stay on campus so they can become more acquainted with other students and build a bigger, better knowledge base of the campus. It also allows for easier access to all the amenities the university offers.

    In three sentences

    USI is a very affordable 4-year institution for anyone who is interested in attending college. The university offers great opportunities for each and every student for each major offered. I would recommend USI for those who seek to advance their education and receive a degree.

  • 09/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe, they have lights all over campus. They also have put up many areas that you can call security from along the trails and such.

    Greek Life

    I don't like Greek Life. They wrote on my windows my first night ever on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of intramural sports and clubs to join. The only issue with it is finding the time and the money to spend doing it. They often occur late in the afternoon or on weekends when many students would be working.

    Great for these types of students

    USI is very good for science majors. You get to do a lot more hands on lab work with instruments you would not even be able to touch in a larger school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In the corner of the first floor of the library you can still find a typewriter.

    What to do for fun

    Often for fun you can go a little ways down the road and go to the theater. The campus is just right outside of the main parts of Evansville so a short drive can get you to the museum or mini-golf, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Most of the food on campus is really good, but not as good when you consider the price. The prices they charge are absolutely ridiculous.

    Dorm Life

    I was in an on-campus apartment my first two years. The best choice I ever made was to get an apartment off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Do not take too much in the beginning. Some advisers will push you to take more than what you can comfortably handle.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class before buying your books, and at the very least don't open them until you are 100% sure your professor requires them.

    In three sentences

    There are plenty of very good professors, that are very enthusiastic about their field. In the meantime, there is a lack of microwaves and parking to be found on campus. The library is very large and has a ton of computers for the students to use, and a very helpful staff.

  • 09/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's tuns of clubs and events all the time on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Good options

    Dorm Life

    i wouldn't know

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are passionate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learning the campus ahead of time will help you on your first day. A website that reviews the teachers exists; find it and use it when signing up for classes.

    In three sentences

    The University of Southern Indiana is the perfect size college, in my opinion. The teachers care a lot, and are usually very available for appointments.I would not have wanted to go to any other college.

  • 10/15/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    52 of 57

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Wonderful beautiful place

  • 10/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's plenty of lighting at night, and there are emergency poles throughout campus and on paths to and from the school.

    Bang for the buck

    USI is one of the cheapest schools I looked at, and yet it's so perfect for me. The size is good, education is great, and the campus is very appealing to the eye.

    What to do for fun

    There's free movies on Thursdays and Saturdays in one of the lecture halls. Sporting events are always fun to attend; USI competes well with other schools. I only wish we had a football team.

    Food and Dining

    There are plenty of choices for full meals or simple snacks. I normally eat at my apartment, but I frequently stop at the Simply-to-go or Red Mango between my classes.

    Dorm Life

    Besides a few roommate problems, it's nice living here. The rooms and living space is large enough, and it's nice having my own bathroom.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm only a freshman, so my response here may be inaccurate. My classes have been bearable thus far, not too hard.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful, the teachers are well educated and approachable, and the atmosphere is very friendly.

  • 11/02/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    54 of 57

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    USI appears to be the cheapest public college in Indiana that still provides academic rigor. I love the campus and all the research they are doing in the science department. It appears to be very safe while still being located close to a large city, Evansville.

  • 11/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are always events going on for students to participate in. Basketball games and trips one can take to go rock climbing or white water rafting.

    Tips for prospective students

    Living on campus is the best choice to make. Easier on you, and lets you meet new people.

    In three sentences

    I love the campus. It is a scenic view wherever you go, and everything is really easy to find. The classes and professors are great! Love this school!

  • 12/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    USI has several different dinning options. I believe there are 5 different restaurants within the campus. The campus also has a food account program which is very helpful to manage food money.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus, nor have I seen the dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging, but manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register for classes as soon as possible!

    In three sentences

    I believe USI is overall wonderful campus.Attending USI has been a great experience from the gorgeous campus landscape to the friendly administrative staff.If I could go back in time I would scratch attending Ivy Tech Community College and would have started my college education at USI.

  • 02/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    57 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Everywhere on campus there are these blue security poles and if you are standing at one you should be able to see at least two more.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have the cone. I'm not sure why it's there, but we have a giant cone shaped building.

    What to do for fun

    There are SO many clubs and sports. There is literally something for every student here, and if there isn't you just make your own club! Not to mention free movies in forum 1 every Thursday and Saturday night.

    Food and Dining

    The Loft is wonderful. It's the on campus cafeteria that has a great variety of food options. There are also a variety of on campus restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    I currently live in the dorms; I think they are wonderful. I only have one complaint: burnt popcorn. There were at least 4 fire alarms in the past 4 weeks due to burnt popcorn. Otherwise the dorms stimulate great community feeling and provide opportunities to know other students.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, you can pick challenging courses that keep you interested and really help you learn the material.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would tell the in-coming students to register for classes very early because they fill up quickly. I recommend living in the dorms as a freshman. Also the weather can be brutal so bring appropriate attire.

    In three sentences

    The University of Southern Indiana is a beautiful small campus which is easy to navigate. The campus is very clean and well kept. The professors are very knowledgeable, easy to contact, and genuinely care about the students.