Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

University of Southern Maine (USM) Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 02/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I hate the city. I hate driving in the city, I hate the smell of the city, I hate city water. But I love the city campus. The University of Southern Maine has a split campus. All of the dorms are in Gorham, ME, and a large majority of the classes are in Portland, ME. The Portland campus is right in the hub of Portland. Growing up I never knew there was a school there. The Old Port is about 10 minutes away from campus, and there are some very unique little stores right next to the Student Center on Campus. Both campuses feel like home, and they both have great locations.

    Tips for prospective students

    If I could go back in time and repeat my first semester, I would. I hated the majority of my classes and I started off living alone. This semester is about a million times better. I picked classes that fit my requirments that I was interested in, and I love all of them. Having a roomate, even if you sometimes cant stand them, is the best idea in the world for first year college students. I knew my roomate in high school but we weren't very good friends. We were the only people eachother knew, and we were both insanely lonely, so we moved in together. I personally suggest making sure you and your roomate will get along. Nothing is worse then having to live with someone you cant stand. Pick classes you will enjoy, and make friends in every class. Get a work study on campus and meet as many people as you can. Get involved in anything that strikes your fancy. College is supposed to be the best time of your life, and the people you meet here are the people you will have in your life for at least the next four years. Make the best of your college experience!

    Bang for the buck

    The Univeristy of Southern Maine may not be the cheapest school around, but you definetely get what you pay for. Compared to alot of other schools, USM is pretty cheap. Although sometimes the food isnt gourmet, you can usually find something that you like. The dorm rooms are very good size, and theres a variety of places to live. You definetely get your pennys worth for the education, and thats really all you need.

    Am enjoying being here

    My first two weeks of college life were honestly hell. I didn't have any friends, my boyfriend and I broke up the first week I was there, and I missed my friends at home more then anything. I lived in a single room and felt as though I were in prison. After a few weeks, a friend of mine from high school suggested we move into a double together. We slowly became really close to the people we lived. Now we have become a family. I had originially dreaded going to college and having to live with a bunch of strangers, but not I am dreading going home for the summer. Although it took the majority of the first semester to settle in, I am really happy with where I am. I have met so many amazing people, a have awesome classes, some pretty cool teachers, and a campus that's close to home.. but also feels like home.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning so much! College is awesome, I can't believe how many different classes are offered here that you can take. I am an accounting major, but Im interested in everything. I get to take super cool philosophy classes and pyscology courses that count toward my major requirments, but really don't have that much to do with accounting. Only being a second semester freshman I feel like I am already a very well rounded student. The teachers are all unique in their own ways, but they really do care about every one of their students. They know every student by name. USM is a big school with a little school feeling.

  • 09/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 6 people found this review useful. 2 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    You do get your bang for your buck with the classes, I know that for sure. However, the food system is really confusing, and sometimes isn't particularly great. The rooms are okay, and usually have a good view, but it depends on where you are, really. But I can definitely say that I am enjoying the classes I am taking, for sure, and they are worth the money.

    Am enjoying being here

    I do enjoy being here, all of the campuses are really nice and all except maybe 2 of the people I've met have been the friendliest, most helpful people I can imagine. No questions asked, I thought the people would just treat me like dirt because I didn't know how to add/drop a class or maybe didn't know where to go. But all in all, the people really step it up here at USM, and not just the teachers, but the students as well.

  • 02/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are street lamps everywhere, campus is very well lit at night. there are emergency phones located around campus, and the on-campus police department is always on call and patrol.

    Greek Life

    greek life on campus has gone downhill, there are only 6 main fraternities and sororities, of which only 2 have houses. the school has banned the expansion of any additional greek life, but the current members do their best to keep greek alive in the usm community.

    Clubs and Activities

    everything you can think of! if you manage to think of a club or activity that the school doesn't have, you can start a petition to make it happen!

    Great for these types of students

    arts, music, theater, biology, business, etc...

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    robie andrews, a residence hall that also contains the art department is rumored to be haunted.

    Bang for the buck

    if you're from out-of-state, make sure that you're coming to usm because they offer a major or program that schools in your home state don't offer, otherwise out-of-state tuition might not be worth it.

    What to do for fun

    if you live on the gorham campus, there are events planned every week. portland is a short car/ shuttle bus ride away, with unlimited access to the maine mall, and all that old port and the art's district have to offer. the 1st friday of every month is art walk in portland, everything is open late, with tons of freebies and street performers/ vendors, makes for a very fun evening. a long with your typical: movie theaters, bowling allies, ice arenas, beach, etc...

    Food and Dining

    over-priced cafeteria food. enough said.

    Dorm Life

    i love living on campus. the dorms are in good conditions, and while the atmosphere isn't always the best for studying, there is plenty of social life and fun to be had.

    Academic Rigor

    almost all classes are small, and you're able to speak to your professor if you need assistance. classwork and homework depends on the class/ major, but this is college after all, don't expect it to be a breeze.

    Tips for prospective students

    life on campus is great, the meal plans are a bit over-priced, but in the long run you do save money.

    In three sentences

    usm is a great school that is often taken for granted. there are tons of opportunities available once you become involved in the community. usm is also known to have some of the best programs around, in certain majors.

  • 01/22/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 7 people found this review useful. 4 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    For incoming Freshman it's easy to carried away with all the freedom but remember you are here to learn and get your degree.

  • 01/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 4 people found this review useful. 5 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are present this I know because their presence tells me so.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty to choose from. You won't get bored. With weekly email reminders of current meetings, you certainly have no excuse for not attending.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for dedicated, technology oriented, inquisitive, students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Got me on this one...

    Bang for the buck

    While I'm not into field hockey the games occur frequently enough that you won't miss them. Make sure you check out the learning center where staff are always there to help you out. It's a small university for sure but you will be challenged, I'm certain.

    What to do for fun

    If all else fails and you are bored out of your mind, the ice rink is always a good place to hang out and watch some ice skating action. Those little ice skaters sure are impressive!

    Food and Dining

    There are plenty of options for the most picky eater, someone with gluten-free requirements, vegetarians, or not. You will not leave the dining hall hungry, that's for sure!

    Dorm Life

    I cannot review something I do not take part in.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic life can be challenging at times and it is how you meet those challenges that matters. USM is committed to its students success so utilize the resources provided. The student success office is a great place to start.

    Tips for prospective students

    Planning and preparation are good strategies for preparing yourself for upcoming semesters. Staying organized is key to a successful start and maintaining good grades. Stay on top of assignments and turn in your homework.

    In three sentences

    The Financial Aid office is very helpful. The Gorham campus isn't all that bad now that the library construction is complete. The shuttles are an excellent gas saving option for commuters.

  • 10/21/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 5 people found this review useful. 6 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    ........and also a good price for the services offered.

    Will enjoy being here

    It also appears that it has a impressive campus.

    Will learn a lot

    During my research, it appears that this college has good teachers and staff.

  • 03/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there is always something going on on campus, and there is a 18+ club called the church in gorham that is very popular.the portland campus is walking distance from downtown portland and the old port.

    Food and Dining

    the cafe food could be better, but when they do something right.... it's amazing! there are also many cafes on all the campuses that you can get cheep eats

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are all good sized and the ra's are always nice. i have never had a problem with room selection here.

    Tips for prospective students

    get to know people right when you get to school.

    In three sentences

    i love it here! the hills on the gorham campus are tough on your legs but it's worth it. the community is very accepting of everyone!

  • 03/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Things to do for fun are the planned activities that they send out in a mass e-mail to your school e-mail.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining here is alright. They make food for a mass amount of people, but it could be worse.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life here is great, you get to meet new people. A couple dorms have a close living community, allowing you to make better friends faster.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors here really care about your education and try their hardest to make sure you understand everything they teach.

    Tips for prospective students

    A tip for a prospective student would be to apply for as many scholarships as you can so you don't have to pay as much in loans after you graduate.

    In three sentences

    The University of Southern Maine gave me the opportunity to attend a college that wasn't too big, or too small. The professors take the time to make sure you understand what they are teaching, helping you to succeed.

  • 04/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Cops drive around all the time. Emergency buttons within visual distance of each other all across campus. Feels very safe, though no college is perfect. (you can't control everything and stop every crazy person.)

    Greek Life

    I'm not part of the Greek life but I hear they're great and really close-knit. There are quite a few sororities and frats.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many diverse clubs and activities to do almost every day! I can almost guarantee you will find something you find interesting!

    Great for these types of students

    Athletes, students who want a small school, can roll with whatever they're given, likes to be outdoors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a second food service place on the Gorham campus and it's open late. So every one calls it the Crack! You know, because druggies get the munchies?! Great food though!

    Bang for the buck

    It's a cheap school, but not as cheap as it could be. Atmosphere, classes, and dining seem to be up to par, but the living spaces (which is usually most important to students) really isn't.

    What to do for fun

    Like I said it's an athlete school so if you like sports you're set. Lots of clubs and intramural sports to do. Also, RAs and students and sororities put on events all the time which is fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great, most of the time, and the dining area is so cool. All you can eat? Yes please! Hello freshmen 30!

    Dorm Life

    They're not the nicest dorms we could have and they're pretty expensive but the atmosphere is great. Everyone is very nice and involved. That's what I was hoping for in college.

    Academic Rigor

    It's a lot harder than high school was for me, but I think that's only because my high school didn't really challenge students. I am also a nursing major so all my classes are science and math intensive so that makes it harder. But Butch Fenton is a great professor for nursing and makes it all worth while!

    Tips for prospective students

    Professors are hard but the material is important. They're understanding, especially with sports. (It's an athletic school) Just get your work done and put in the effort and ask for help if you need it. You should be fine, though it's nothing like high school work!

    In three sentences

    USM is a state school so it's not crazy fancy, but it's good enough for me! It's a cheap state school and the campuses are beautiful. I love the atmosphere.

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a campus police station and the officers are always available. There is not a lot of safety issues on campus at all.

    Greek Life

    I am a sister of Kappa Iota and there is another sorority, Alpha Xi Delta. There are three fraternities; Kappa Delta Phi, Sigma Nu, and Delta Chi. The Greeks do a lot on campus and we all do a lot of philanthropy work in the community as well. I think that it is a great idea to visit a Greek organization and see if it would be something you are interested, even if you hadn't thought of it before.

    Clubs and Activities

    Any student can propose a club of there own at anytime if they have the interest level. There are many intramural sports and more than 40 clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Its great for a diverse population of students. There are a lot of jocks, a lot of musicians, a lot of artists, theater majors, business majors, science and nursing majors. It can be great for anyone.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved! We have Gorham Events Board and they set up weekly programs that are free for everyone! Movie Nights, T-shirt decorating, Game Nights, Comedians, and Musicians are some of our weekly programs. There is never a time where you can't find something to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food tastes fine it is just often the same. There are a ton of places near to campus that accept Husky Bucks though (Burger King, Amatos, Gorham House of Pizza, Subway etc...). You are given Husky Bucks with your meal plan and they are stored on your ID card.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is a great experience at USM. There are always residence hall events going which are a great opportunity to get to know people. The more people you meet the more likely you are to get involved, and getting involved is the best thing you can do.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are average in rigor. Sometimes there is struggle but generally the classes are easy to manage and study for.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should turn in financial aid forms sooner than later in order to get a decent amount of aid. Live on campus! Dorm life is a lot of fun and definitely worth the cost for the experience.

    In three sentences

    The University of Southern Maine is split into two campuses in nearby towns; Portland and Gorham. The campuses provide a huge variety of classes and academic opportunities. The University is very diverse with professors and students from many different cultures.

  • 12/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have some of the hardest working campus officers who truly care about the safety of their students.

    Clubs and Activities

    Boff club, soccer, GLBT groups, multicultural groups, boot camp workouts....

    Great for these types of students

    For the serious, hard working, motivated students, this is the place for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Friday's it is a tradition to wear our school colors

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition like any University is high, however you will notice when you get into your classes with Professor who are passionate about their work, that the money you have spent is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    USM offers frree activites and tickets weekly. From hockey games to trips to six flags, you will never get bored.

    Food and Dining

    USM offers a large variety of food. Healthy, comforting, it's all there. They make a pretty nice soup which for us Mainers, is a good thing.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm , never have. However upon listening to fellow students they like that there are many options for dorm life. You have the athletic dorm, the adventurous dorm, etc...

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are tough, yet professors are fair. They will help you when you ask, and will support you when your trying.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a long look at the offered majors. Find three that call out to you then narrow it down to one or two. To often students try to take on to much at school, knowing what you want to do going in will help keep that from happening. Complete your fasfa on time every year for that is the best way to get the most financial aid for your year. Get to know your professors and don't be afraid to ask for help

    In three sentences

    The University is a multicultural, multi religious center where education meets eye opening cultural differences. USM goes bent over backwards to meet the needs of each student, so each one can succeed. USM is located in the heart of one of Maine's biggest cities, where one can join friends for a movie or fellow students for a study session in the near by park or ocean beach.

  • 03/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 12 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there have been problems reported but hasn't there been on every school campus?

    Greek Life

    i don't know anything about this

    Clubs and Activities

    join sports if you can

    Bang for the buck

    it's a good program that i am in, but it's also a challenge.

    What to do for fun

    i do a lot of stuff off of campus with my friends, like sports events, go to movies, plays and out to dinner.

    Food and Dining

    i don't eat on campus

    Dorm Life

    i don't live in the dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    you are responsible for your education. take the first step and communicate with your professors. get involved with extra curricular activities to get to know people on campus.

    In three sentences

    it is a commuter school, lots of activities to do on both gorham and portland campus and lots of diversity.

  • 03/30/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 13 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Music majors

    Bang for the buck

    The school seems very affordable, especially for in-state students.

    Food and Dining

    The food that I've had here wasn't that great, but it was okay.

    Academic Rigor

    It seems that the academics are about average.

    In three sentences

    I have been on the campus many, many times for musical activities. Parts of the campus are pretty. The food is okay, and the dorms are okay.

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    They have many clubs and activities available to students.

    Great for these types of students

    Athletes and business students. People from Maine or out-of-state who want to be in a great place.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am unsure of any unusual traditions or locations. There is the Planetarium on campus though.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a good tuition price for the education.

    What to do for fun

    In Portland there are many things to do. You are not far from the beach, downtown shops, the Maine Mall, Old Orchard Beach, Funtown, and other attractions.

    Food and Dining

    I have heard okay reviews of the dinning halls.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms so I am unsure of dorm life but have heard good things.

    Tips for prospective students

    Connect with admissions early to discuss any transferring credits. Find out who your advisors are early to plan out your degree map to stay on track.

    In three sentences

    A fantastic campus located close to water and downtown Portland. The faculty is focused on educated students with knowledge they will need after leaving USM. The students are all very friendly and willing to help one another.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Some of the best. To be commended. They even provide rides to the dorms at night, to avoid students walking alone. Commendable.

    Greek Life

    Do not participate, so do not know.

    Clubs and Activities

    Several different venues. Need to check the student catalog.

    Great for these types of students

    A majority of students do live off campus. It provides ample jobs and housing opportunities for those that prefer to live off campus, but also addresses the needs well for those that prefer to live on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Being located near the ocean and beaches, there is ample ability and group offerings to see local semi-professional sporting events, hiking, sea kyaking, astrology, museums, and especially a lot of theater offerings.

    Bang for the buck

    Both in and out of state residential students have expressed the affordability. Just wish there were more scholarship offerings in the area of music.

    What to do for fun

    The local mall and city life as well as campus offerings provides what anyone needs or seeks out, even without a vehicle. Their public transporation for students is the major assett to getting around and experiencing.

    Food and Dining

    Need a little more focus on vegetarian type meals, and less fried-food offerings.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are what students make them. The facilities are older and need some uplifting, but the mixture of students and residential life activities is great.

    Academic Rigor

    Very agressive. Very challenging. The right mix of student radio with teacher.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campuses without your parents. Sit in classes during the school years, and participate in a weekend event.

    In three sentences

    Great friends, great professors and gread administration.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have always felt safe on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs to be a part of at USM.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The beech trees are beautiful.

    Bang for the buck

    After attending USM for nearly 10 years it has become very expensive. I don't know how I will be able to continue. I have had to take the last year off to save money.

    What to do for fun

    Portland is full of things to do. Museums, art, music, cafes, walk along commercial street, shopping, dining, cycling, you name it!

    Food and Dining

    Lot's of options. The renovation of the student center brought in much better food options.

    Dorm Life

    I don't know about the dorms; I was a commuter. I heard it was okay.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically some courses are more difficult than others, it does depend on which professor you take. But you also need to set aside time for study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Decide your major first. Don't waste time and money changing majors.

    In three sentences

    Great location. Decent faculty. Needs better advisors.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I think that campus safety at USM is probably similar to other university campuses in similar size cities or maybe a little better. I'm not aware of any significant crime level increases in Portland.

    Greek Life

    I don't know about Greed Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't know about clubs or activities.

    Great for these types of students

    USM is really good for any type of student. It is a tremendous value for all and they have extremely talented, credentialed teaching professionals. Additionally Portland is just a really fun city so there is just no down side.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are a Maine resident there is simply no better financial deal in terms of getting an education. I teach in New Hampshire and the cost of in state education is no where near as good of deal as it is in Maine.

    What to do for fun

    I can say that Portland is an AWESOME city to live in... there are endless things to do including cultural activities, great pubs and bars and lots and lots of young people. Portland is a relatively clean, safe city and being on the ocean makes it just that much more beautiful and adds to the opportunity for fun and adventure!

    Food and Dining

    Can not help with information on food and dining as I am not on campus and even when my son was he largely ate at home!

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus, however, interestingly my son is also a USM student and did live on campus last year. I think he did enjoy dorm life but we are trying to save some money this year so he is commuting. We are just barely within commuting distance.

    Academic Rigor

    So Far it seems to me that the rigor is strong. I'm three weeks in to my first graduate course and have had to read three texts and write one 8 page paper. Discussions online are rather intense but very, very meaningful.

    Tips for prospective students

    As an instructor at another college, I will share tips I pass on as well as those I'm learning all over again. Be sure that you know who your adviser is and contact them to make sure they know who you are too! When you have questions about requirements, ask those questions sooner then later. Same goes for instructors for your classes. Get to know who they are and what they expect so that you can use your study time wisely. Finally - two hours of work should be done for every one hour spent in class. This is a little different for online classes and, since I'm taking my first online course, I haven't got much advice to offer on that except I think it is even more important to stay in touch with your instructor!

    In three sentences

    The University of Southern Maine offers flexible course schedules and venues including on campus or online degrees. Additionally they have professional, talented and responsive instructors and advisers. Although I am just beginning my degree program, I feel like the professionals involved in the program make sure that I feel connected to and involved in what's going on.

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never had a problem. I guess there have been thefts lately though. Don't leave stuff lying around. It is just stupid.

    Great for these types of students

    Lewiston is great for full time workers. Lots of evening classes.

    Food and Dining

    Lewiston dining is GREAT

    Dorm Life

    U/K I don't live in and have not lived in the dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what you are getting into and when the classes you need are offered. Set lots of time aside! Prepare for busy work! Take Dr. Robert Small!

    In three sentences

    USM's classes are a lot of busy work. After moving to the Lewiston Campus I have had a better experience. However I am ready to be done with them.

  • 09/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I've heard that the art building and the Dickie-Wood dorm are haunted....

    Bang for the buck

    It's a great school at a comparatively low price.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club, go into town with friends,....

    Food and Dining

    I wouldn't know, to even set foot in the cafeteria you need a meal-plan and I haven't tried any of the various cafes scattered around the campuses.

    Dorm Life

    It sounds like you really bond with your dorm-mates, but there are issues with alchohol and noise...

    Academic Rigor

    Different classes have different levels of difficulty...

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have a question or need help finding someplace: ASK! Someone will help you, and it can help you meet people. On your first day, make sure you find your classroom early: you never know if you'll, say, be locked out of your class's building because it's a dorm and you don't live there. Walk around not just the campuses but the areas around them: you never know what interesting places you may find!

    In three sentences

    The two campuses I go between have different feels: the Portland campus is busy, clearly a part of the city while the Gorham campus is quieter and more open. It can be difficult to find a niche if you're a commuter, but never be afraid to ask others for help finding places (who knows, you may meet a friend in the process!). The Gorham campus has several nice places to sit under a tree and read a book/do homework, but I recommend the Portland campus's library over Gorham's.

  • 10/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safe. There are blue lights where you can contact the campus police if you want a ride across campus at night.

    Greek Life

    There are fraternities and sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Great variety, if there are clubs you can't find you can start them.

    Great for these types of students

    Gorham is great for artistic students and nature people, Portland is great for people who prefer a more urban setting. Access is available to both and you will probably end up riding the Shuttle Bus at some point to get to class.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Portland campus is walking distance to Back Bay and a park.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely has great value.

    What to do for fun

    From fraternities and sororities to boffing club, there are tons of groups for a broad range of interests. If there isn't something you were looking for, you can start it.

    Food and Dining

    Great if you live on campus and eat there often. If you are a commuter and don't get a meal plan then you will never go here.

    Academic Rigor

    Definitely has a range for the needs of the student. If you took honors and AP classes in High School, prepare for challenging classes. However, there are some classes which are pretty easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get a sturdy backpack and start preparing for the up-hill walks to classes. Also, try to meet as many people as you can if you're a commuter, otherwise you feel a little out of place.

    In three sentences

    Well worth the money. Classes are challenging, the campuses are in a great location, and it has plenty of groups to join. The Gorham campus is great for more rural people, the Portland campus is better for urban-city people, and a bus is always going between them.

  • 11/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is very strict and is their for your perfection!

    Greek Life

    There is some Greek life not much.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs and activities aren't promoted much but they are there if you hunt for them and can get in tough with people! It's a great way to make friends.

    Food and Dining

    Food is typical school food, some days is better then others.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is always fun! Freshman dorms are old but fun, upperclassman have nice new dorms and best dorm life, most fun!

    Academic Rigor

    Some professors are easier then others but if you get your work done you will pass the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Contact the school and make sure the school offers everything you won't before making your final decision.

    In three sentences

    The university of Southern Maine is a good state university for people who know what they want to major in. They offer a large variety of majors and classes but the advisors don't always help you the way they should. Overall it is a fun school for all ages.

  • 11/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Portland Police Dept. is attached to the Portland Gym, so there is that added factor of security and Portland is a safe place to live anyway.

    Clubs and Activities

    Amazing core group of students that run all the clubs and organizations, they have helped me tremendously get my club back up and running after the officers the year before me tanked it.

    Bang for the buck

    If you live in-state its a pretty good value at about $10k per year and i believe around $26k for out-of-state. A lot cheaper than a private school and in my opinion your getting a better academic program.

    What to do for fun

    I am president of the Sports Management Club and there are plenty of other clubs and organizations to join as well. Also a lot of intramural teams and pickup games always going on at the gym.

    Food and Dining

    Your regular college food and quality, not much variation but can't expect much.

    Dorm Life

    Don't live on campus but i hear its not that bad, had a couple friends who lived on Gorham campus and didn't mind it.

    Academic Rigor

    Been to 4 schools with one being private and this is the hardest school out of the 4.

    Tips for prospective students

    I could write a book on this subject but in the brief, explore as many colleges as you can before you commit to one. Everyone is different in their own way and has different academic strengths and weaknesses. Figure out what you may want to do and find the college that fits you the best academic and money wise. The last thing you want to do is commit to a college you can't afford as well.

    In three sentences

    Nice small campus in Portland, with great teachers and a copious amount of classes to choose from. Great core of students to meet on campus or off at clubs and other types of organizations.

  • 11/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security once called me to let me know i left my headlights on! Awesome!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    As a psychology major im slowly finding out about the small study rooms throughout the fifth floor!

    Bang for the buck

    I really do love this school and being in-state, i get plenty for the amount of money i want to spend.

    What to do for fun

    Any of the USM sponsored activities!

    Food and Dining

    salad bar is nasty and limp.

    Dorm Life

    Hated living in Dickey Wood..

    Academic Rigor

    Its definitely not easy, and it challenges you, but thats the point.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the bus from gorham to portland! Parking in the garage is the biggest hassle.

    In three sentences

    I love the portland campus! Gorham campus is only alright. Parking is the absolute worst thing about this school.

  • 12/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Emergency call boxes in parking lots and cop cars at the two larger campuses. I've never felt unsafe at USM.

    Greek Life

    I can't really speak for this...

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs and activities, although mostly housed at the Gorham/Portland campuses.

    Great for these types of students

    The L-A college really supports nontraditional students. USM is good for commuters that are housed near the center of the triangle of campuses. Dorming is good if most your classes are in Gorham.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The fact that the university is divided into three campus creates a very unusual dynamic. The Lewiston-Auburn college is an oddity that has been largely overlooked in the past but is now becoming a prominent piece of USM.

    Bang for the buck

    After scholarships, I am only paying $835 this semester for tuition. I am very impressed with the education I am getting here, and for the price it is unbeatable.

    What to do for fun

    Some of the greatest experiences though come from random opportunities that are made available through the college that are unrelated to any clubs.

    Food and Dining

    My experience is limited to the Lewiston-Auburn Café and the Bailey Hall Café. The former has amazing food, albeit pricy, and the latter serves overpriced mush.

    Dorm Life

    I commute to all three campuses, so I can't speak firsthand about the dorms, but I have not heard anything positive from my dorm-dwelling friends. Gorham campus is the only one that has dorms, though there are other housing options (like apartments) available near the Portland campus. As a commuter, it is difficult to make friendships at the Gorham campus because everyone there already has dorm friends. However, the commuting student thrives at the Lewiston campus. It's tough, though, because most of the clubs and activities are housed at the bigger campuses...

    Academic Rigor

    So far I have been challenged deeply.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know which campus your major is housed on. Always keep your eyes peeled for opportunities for involvement that arise unexpectedly. Through keeping myself in the loop, I have been involved with a local shootings of commercials and films, campus scholarships, work study opportunities, and other campus events. Take at least one class from each campus, so as to get a taste of each of them.

    In three sentences

    This a fantastic school, especially for the price. Programs are divided into three campuses: Gorham, Portland, and Lewiston. The Portland and Gorham campuses are the most established, but the Lewiston campus has a small-community feel that makes it the favorite of many.

  • 12/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is vigilant and promotes a sense of safety and well-being.

    Greek Life

    None on the Portland campus

    Clubs and Activities

    There are numerous clubs and intramural activities for students to participate in

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like

    Bang for the buck

    A great value for in-state students. Tuition is about half to one third what you might pay t a private school and the quality of education is top notch.

    What to do for fun

    There is a running trail and park at Back Bay Cove on the waterfront. The Old Port section has numerous shops, bars, and restaurants. Portland is home to minor league baseball, hockey, and basketball teams. for active types, there are are numerous running clubs, yoga groups, and cross fit chapter.

    Food and Dining

    There are many great places to eat in the surrounding area.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus. The Portland campus does not have housing. USM's maine campus in Gorham does.

    Academic Rigor

    Be prepared to work hard. However, this experience will solidly prepare you for the career of your choice.

    Tips for prospective students

    Portland is a great small city with a lot of culture. Get out and enjoy it!

    In three sentences

    USM is an excellent school with one of the best nursing programs in the country. The faculty are among the best in their professions. The Princeton Review has consistently rated the school one of the best in the Northeast.

  • 01/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never had or heard of a problem with safety at USM. The fire department is less than a mile away and we have a police station on campus if you need anything.

    Greek Life

    I know of a couple frats on campus but I am not in one. A couple of my friends just started one up this year and they are loving every minute of it. The frats are also pretty easy to get into. They advertise it everywhere and they put on events all the time. So if that's an attraction for you USM has it!

    Clubs and Activities

    I am on the Track team and the team is really amazing. The people are great and the coaches really make you succeed. I don't do many clubs because I am taking a ton of credits as well as doing track so I don't have much time for it but from what I have heard if there are activities going on they are usually pretty good but can also be boring at the same time. When they have guests come in (comedians, magicians, ect.) go see them! They are amazing!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who really want to work hard. You can get away with slacking off at USM pretty easily but you won't get as much out of the school if you don't put in the effort. So I seriously say come to USM and act like its your job. Sure skip a few classes to catch up on some sleep and relax and have a good time but don't let your grades fall to low because once you do you put yourself in a bad situation.

    Bang for the buck

    They might as be well handing out the tuition for free! Classes, for the most part, are really well organized. Although I can only speak for mostly the engineering classes and a couple math classes I am impressed at how much I learned. This my classes have cost me about $8,000 and I have taken 11 classes (36 credits), so that's roughly $222.22 per credit. Also the professors here understand you need to save money and they try to get cheaper books or make it so you don't need a book or can use an older version of the same book. Watch out for the campus book store though they really do rip you off 90% of the time. I would definitely look online for books and rent them or buy international editions of books when you can. The dorms I feel are a little on the expensive side but they really aren't that bad. I am in a 4 person suite and we have a living room, personal bathroom, and each have our own room. We have great heating for the winter and two mini fridges, two microwaves, and a sink. It is about $10,000 give or take. I also like how they don't kick you out during holiday breaks. I stayed on campus for most of winter break (but the cafe wasn't open so you have to get your own food). So I spend about 9 months of the year here on campus and that $10,000 pays for my room and 2 meals a day, everyday, and $300 to spend elsewhere on campus for food and other necessities. So that's a little over a grand a month for rent so in all reality it really isn't that bad, but I can say that if you rent an apartment with a buddy or two you will save a lot of money not living on campus.

    What to do for fun

    Fun; its all about what you put in. Don't come to USM expecting to be flooded with fun (as I hope you wouldn't any school). You need to get out and do stuff yourself. USM doesn't have much for Activities though. That's the one thing I think they are missing. Most of the school is commuters so it's difficult to host events if less than half of the school even lives on campus. Then since no one goes to these events no one wants to go. I will say in the two years I have been here they have been getting much better about hosting fun events that attract a lot of attention. There are normally things to do but you really need to go out and find/do them. Take a trip to Portland, or the mall, and enjoy the city or come back to Gorham and hang out with a group of friends or head to a party. You seriously get back what you put in when it comes to the fun section of USM.

    Food and Dining

    USM's dining hall is all you can eat. They also have a couple food spots around the campuses, ie. Husky Hideaway (Gorham) and there is a small cafe on the Portland Campus. I'm not going to lie the food isn't always that great (like most campuses) and you need to make sure you go at the right times or you might be going at that awkward time between meals and essentially waste a meal. The best meal, hands down, is breakfast. USM's breakfast is just amazing. If you can think of it they will make it for you. They have an open grill set up for every meal. During breakfast you can order anything you want and they will make it right there in front of you. Anything from egg white omelets to breakfast sandwiches to pancakes and french toast. It is my favorite meal here at USM. As for lunch and dinner, I prefer to hit up dinner if I am not going to go for 3 meals in a day (I normally do 2). Lunch is normally pretty bland. Dinner on the other hand can be extremely good, but it really is either hit or miss. The deserts are normally very good also. They also always have a vegetarian/vegan option. They even have a small separate grill that you can have them cook on so your food isn't being cooked on meat grease or anything like that. They also always have soy milk, which is my favorite (even tho I'm not a vegetarian or lactose intolerant), stuff just simply tastes amazing and they also have a gluten free section for people who need such accommodations.

    Dorm Life

    Branch out is the only thing I can say. Having friends, especially in your dorm building is key to enjoying USM. The RA's here are really relaxed and great to talk to if you have a problem with some thing or some one. I love the dorms. Some of the freshman housing is a little on the worse side of things but once you get to be a sophomore you can get into Philippi (the building I've been in since my freshman year because of a scholarship) or Upper Class Hall. These are the newest dorm buildings on campus. They are just amazing and really become your home.

    Academic Rigor

    As an Electrical Engineer Major with a double minor in Mechanical and Computer Science i keep my classes loaded up to my neck, but that's just how I like it. Most majors here at USM have a well structured layout for what classes you need to take and when. They will keep your class load to the minimal and the advisers really know their stuff. The classes may seem easy at first but I can promise that as you get further into your college career classes will get much harder and you will seriously learn some amazing things.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join a club or a sports team. Nothing is more boring then sitting in a room by yourself all week. USM offers a lot of clubs and has some great sports teams. They may not be #1 and winning championships everywhere but I can guarantee that you will meet some amazing people doing things like this. Talk to your teachers. They listen to everything really really well. If you need help in a class get a tutor or go to the teachers office hours. USM's tutors are simply amazing. They are students who are really well at the classes you are taking and are there because they want to help.

    In three sentences

    This school is home for me; you get the big campus with the small campus feeling because USM is split into the Portland and Gorham campuses, which are about 15 minutes apart from each other. Classes are well organized and the curriculum is amazing (engineering section at least). USM keeps you on your toes and allows you to still enjoy college and prepare for life after college with internship fairs and gives you a great name in the Portland area.

  • 02/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe on campus. Pathways are lit. I dont usually see security, but usually there is no need.

    Bang for the buck

    Not expensive at all for the great educaton I am recievng.

    What to do for fun

    Not much to do, honestly. There is a nice gym and the Portland campus is near the Old Port, which offers plenty to do.

    Food and Dining

    Fresh food, often creative. Good iced coffee and cozy dining areas.

    Dorm Life

    Not much offere by the campus to do, but dorms in Portland are in a good area and they are comfortable.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor is average and depends on your class schedule.

    Tips for prospective students

    All of the professors I have met have been extremely friendly. Talk to them and get to know them and become active and I am sure you will be offered good oppurtunities in the future.

    In three sentences

    I give the University of Southern Maine a 7/10 because the education and professors are great, but the college does not always have a lot to offer that other colleges have as far as activities and research. It is not enjoyable to travel between two campuses, but the University makes it easier than one would expect. It is a great value as far as the price is considered!

  • 02/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food on the Portland campus is great, even though it may at times be a little pricey for what you're receiving. The food on the Gorham campus however is awful and repetitive. Same thing, different day. The few meals that I did have on the Gorham campus were not worth the money that I spent for them, by far.

    Dorm Life

    I honestly haven't lived in the dorms, however from the visits that I have made to my friends and from the stories I've heard they aren't that great. The buildings are old and seemingly in poor condition.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class and develop a relationship with your professor. It honestly makes classes more interesting, and you are much more involved.

    In three sentences

    The University of Southern Maine is a generally alright school, however I feel as if there is a large lack of communication between the staff and students. Most professors that I've had are wonderful, I'm mostly referring to the higher ups (president, etc). I wish that there was a larger focus on commuters, due to the fact that the school is comprised mostly of them.

  • 04/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs that you can join and you can also go downtown, it's fairly close to the school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do the best you can and if you need help, don't be scared to ask someone!

    In three sentences

    Students are friendly and kind. People will always be willing to help you with anything. Tutors are free!

  • 06/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Watch deadlines

    In three sentences

    3 different campuses which is great!

  • 07/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Ranked Maine's safest school in 2012, students at USM have a reason to feel safe and secure. With fully-trained police officers monitoring Portland and Gorham 24/7, and a 24/7 hotline to call staffed with live operators, students are never out of touch with USM PD. Parking tickets may be the only part of campus safety students complain about, but it is worth the $15 fee to have such an incredibly safe school.

    Greek Life

    With 5 fraternities (Sigma Nu, Delta Chi, Phi Mu Delta, Kappa Delta Phi, and Alpha Phi Omega) and 2 sororities (Kappa Delta Phi NAS and Alpha Xi Delta), USM has a growing Greek life. Only the first two fraternities listed have houses, while none of the sororities do. Gorham ordinance has halted the creation of new fraternity houses in the future, meaning most activities are on-campus in a safer environment. Members of Greek life fill positions in Student Senate, Residential Life, Athletics, Health and Counseling, and other crucial areas on campus. Greek life may not be for everyone, but the groups at USM are evenly divided between more social ones and those focused on philanthropy and community.

    Clubs and Activities

    With dozens of clubs and organizations, there is literally something for everyone. Every person can easily find a club to meet their interests - but if not, starting a new one is so simple that even a first-year student could navigate the system.

    Great for these types of students

    Students in STEM programs receive large scholarships, especially if coming from out of state. The Gorham campus is also great for students in art, theatre, music or athletic-based majors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    USM Gorham is home to a large water tower. This tower, in addition to the two 8-story, cylindrical towers that together are named Dickey-Wood Hall, form an interesting dynamic on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    If the financial aid at USM was better, this would be an amazing school. I have come to love it so much over my time here. Not all appreciate it, but to me it has its quirks like any school. The problem is that, even at $18k for in-state and $32k for out-of-state, the value just is not there. Students are given minuscule financial aid packages and left holding the bag for the rest. Work study is held onto as thought it is a fine gem, leaving many students with low EFCs with no campus employment. The housing costs have decreased, thankfully, but the cost for food is higher than it should be for the quality. Students pay nearly as much to live in a brand new dorm as they do for one built in the 1960s that has not been painted since that time.

    What to do for fun

    Located so close to Portland, students have access to concerts at the State Theatre; free nights at the Art Museum; open mics in the Old Port; and sporting events such as the Seadogs, Pirates, and Redclaws. The school gives away free tickets to events all year, and transportation is an ease thanks to the shuttle between campuses. In Gorham, you have a small village with a fair deal of options. Several restaurants line the quiet streets of the town, including Italian, Chinese, Thai, American, and other great cuisines. There are also movie theaters, including an IMAX 3D theater, within twenty minutes of the Gorham campus. Find a friend and drive to the movies! The Gorham campus also houses campus-wide events every Thursday to Saturday in the student center.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is run by Aramark, which is one of the largest in the country. Many schools in Maine use this company, and they usually have the same complaints. The variety is minimal - chicken burgers and pizza are guaranteed. Despite the predictability of many meals, the cafeteria workers make this category shine. They are warm, inviting, and knowledgeable. Students enjoy the Aramark employees and build connections with them. The sandwich and stir fry stations are big hits, and the salad bar is quite good. While you may not always enjoy the food at USM, the number of backup items makes it so that you will never go hungry - unless, of course, you are vegan. If that's the case - this might not be the school for you.

    Dorm Life

    The sad truth is that the University invests little money in its housing. Aside from the two newer halls, erected in 2003 and 2007, the residence halls are outdated and in dire need of upkeep. Simple things like burnt light bulbs or a broken screen can take weeks to get repaired. Additionally, the accountability for student Residence staff is at a low - thus chance to feel part of a community is shifting from the role of the RA to that of living learning communities designed to assign students to live with similar individuals.

    Academic Rigor

    Some majors, such as Sociology, have become known for their lackluster academic rigor. But other programs, such as Nursing, Business, Political Science, or any major science provide an exceptional level of challenge. Many programs are nationally-ranked, and students generally find their classes and Professors to be the highlight of their experience at USM.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research the split-campus system as well as your financial aid package. Students who know little about the split-campus will be unhappy and want to leave. If you put most of your core classes in Gorham and focus on Portland's campus in later years, you can avoid the stress of traveling on the school-sponsored shuttle. Also, consider living on campus for at least one year. USM is largely commuter, so when you are a commuter there is little sense of community.

    In three sentences

    Despite its confusion to prospective students, the split campus system serves as a blessing to students. By having a commuter campus in Portland (pop. 65k) and a residential campus in Gorham (pop. 15k), students can separate where they work and play - and have a good balance of social life on both. Additionally, USM provides outstanding academic support and extracurricular activities.

  • 09/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I was asked to Rush for a sorority, but I turned them down. Having to pay to be in a group wasn't appealing to me.

    What to do for fun

    Make sure to meet new people as soon and often as possible so there are people to hang out with. Otherwise there is nothing to do.

    Food and Dining

    Good food but needed more variety. They made the same thing too often

    Dorm Life

    I lived in Anderson hall and it was a decent building. Often people were very noisy, but the RA was good about getting them to quiet down. Our origional RA got fired closer to the end of the year (no loss there), but our RA at the end was fantastic. Unfortunately, I didn't like living in a dorm enough to go back. I didn't have many friends (which made for some lonely days/nights while others were hanging out), it was often loud and the parking was terrible.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes are pretty difficult, but they're meant to be. This is college and they want you to be good at what you do, especially for the major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you study hard and really focus in class! I thought I could slide right by like I did in high school, where I ended with a 3.3 GPA and I'm currently fighting to get my GPA up from a 2.3

    In three sentences

    The University is a great choice because of a (somewhat) affordable cost for tuition. The parking is terrible, especially during the winter but some of the teachers make up for it. There were a lot of fires in different buildings and a gas leak while I was in my calculus A class my freshman year.

  • 10/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus is very open with few dark places. i've never felt threatened at school.

    Clubs and Activities

    there is a club for everything.

    Bang for the buck

    usm is so affordable and we get an equal education to more expensive private schools.

    What to do for fun

    portland is a fun town where you can find anything you need or want. there are tons of stores, a movie theater, more restaurants than you could ask for, and a fun night life.

    Food and Dining

    there are two eating commons to choose from on the portland campus and they have the same options. woodbury campus center also has a sandwich shop, a pizza and noodle place and a fried food stop. as a health conscious student following the paleo lifestyle, i sometimes have a difficult time finding something to eat at school other than salad.

    Dorm Life

    i've never lived in the dorms but other students seem to enjoy them.

    Academic Rigor

    classes are challenging but professors are available for extra help and there usually are tutors available.

    Tips for prospective students

    get involved with clubs and activities, it's the best way to get to know people and find things that you are interested in.

    In three sentences

    USM is a small university where it's easy to find a familiar face anywhere. Professors are accessible and eager to help. There are lots of classes to choose from and usually enough sections of each class to organize your schedule how you like it.

  • 11/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The dining hall has a huge number of options for meals, and the building and seating areas themselves are very convenient and spacious. There are also small snack kiosks in academic buildings on both campuses.

    Dorm Life

    My hometown is less than an hour away from USM, but living on campus rather than commuting was probably the best decision I've made during my time here. The RAs are very enthusiastic and want their residents to succeed and be comfortable here. The room sizes vary building to building, but from what I've seen, they are a humble, comfortable size.

    Academic Rigor

    The class workload, for me, was very similar to that of my workload in high school. The exams do require a bit more time spent studying, though. I would say that the rigor of the classes is manageable, but you have to be able to commit a little more time to your academics than you did in high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are from Maine, don't disregard this school simply because it's a public in-state university - this was probably my biggest regret in my college search. We have a pretty big population of out-of-staters, too, attracted by our music, business, law, engineering, and health science programs, in particular.

    In three sentences

    USM was truly the perfect choice for me. The campus is a cozy size and is situated in a quiet town which is a convenient crossroads for accessing Lewiston to the north and Portland to the south. The quality of education for the cost is also very high - you get a pretty high 'bang for your buck'.

  • 12/04/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    35 of 40

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    This is a great school that is fully committed to its student. From the professors right down the administrative staff in the offices, they are knowledgeable of all processes and are always looking to be of help. The school was a great place along my journey of education; if I ever need to take classes again, I would look here!

  • 01/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lots. There is so much this school is in the heart of a really artistic and eclectic small city in Maine!

    Food and Dining

    They support local businesses! yah!

    Dorm Life

    unknown

    Academic Rigor

    Really a great core curriculum. The university really aims to shape student for the culturally rich and diverse global environment of the 21st century.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved. Utilize all of the resources available to the maximum extent possible. Use study groups and writers workshops.

    In three sentences

    Great teachers and class sizes. Plethora of resources. Great location.

  • 02/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety people are always on the look out. I never feel unsafe!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school is split into three different campuses in Gorham, Portland, and Lewiston-Auburn Maine. The Lewiston-Auburn campus is more on it's own being an hour way from the other two campuses, but often people have classes in Portland and Gorham which is easily handled by car (which even freshmen are allowed to have) or by shuttle between the campuses.

    Food and Dining

    The dinning hall is not great, I'll admit it. It's a lot of salad, soup, pizza, fries, and sandwiches. There are many gluten, dairy, and vegetarian options though, which is great. They try to bring new things in but it isn't always the best. The student center has a grill which although not healthy, is good.

    Dorm Life

    People are really friendly, especially in the freshman dorms where people are just beginning to meet people.

    Academic Rigor

    In my major classes (I'm a Music Education major) I work really hard and learn a lot. General classes not so much, but I still find them helpful sometimes

    Tips for prospective students

    Find out as much as you can about your program, like what classes you would take and what campus your major is based on.

    In three sentences

    USM I would give different scores for different reasons. If your major is nursing, law, or music, I would give it a 9.5 out of ten. For anything else, about a 6 out of ten.

  • 02/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Unfortunately if you live on campus there isn't much to do for fun....at all.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to take advantage of study groups and tutoring if needed, that's what they are there for!

    In three sentences

    USM is a wonderful school with extremely helpful knowledgable professors. The campuses are clean and easy to navigate around. You're really given all the tools needed to succeed.

  • 02/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe at the campus. If there is the slightest concern there is a network of protection from the resident assistants to the campus security that is there to resolve any dispute.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's something for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    All types, artistic, scientific, medical, business

    Bang for the buck

    Good bang for the buck...even better if you get scholarships. Very affordable for working students.

    What to do for fun

    Winter in Maine...skiing. Performances on campus, ie., plays, concerts, movie nights, and of course Portland, Maine which is an arts community offering monthly art walks, many music venues, great food.

    Food and Dining

    The meal plan is all you can eat. I would prefer more variety of fruits and vegetables. They do try to accomodate as best they can.

    Dorm Life

    I live in the Arts dorm and I love it. There are extra curricular activities on and off campus. We keep our dorm rooms open and I always have a chess board set up. There is a student club where we show off our talents and socialize.

    Academic Rigor

    Core studies for a broad knowledge in addition to the rigorous demand of a music major can make for a tough curriculum load. Most professors are determined to make your experience a positive one.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for Merit Based Scholarships based on SAT/GPA Audition required for Music Majors Pioneer Scholarship for science/math/engineering pays all tuition and fees for 4 years and you even get a computer Apply for FAFSA before 2/15

    In three sentences

    I highly rate my education at the University of Southern Maine as a music composition major. The music program is top notch, competitive and challenging. The living-learning music community at USM is an essential connection for students and professor musicians to collaborate in creating meaningful work.

  • 03/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Everything, its in a great city too!

    Food and Dining

    I dont eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I dont live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging!

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay ahead on homework!

    In three sentences

    Great core. Great professors. Great opportunities.