Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

University of St Francis Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/16/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 out of 12 people found this review useful. 1 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are looking for a small school and are considering majoring in Nursing, Education, Business, or the Fine Arts this is a wonderful school. The small class sizes allow for individual attention, and your professors will know your face and name. After my first year at USF I already feel like a member of the community and family at this small university. A large part of the campus are commuters; however, the dorm life is thriving as well. There are many on-campus jobs for those students who need extra cash during the school year, and the University is located right by downtown Joliet and the Lewis-Joliet mall so there are many off campus opportunities for jobs as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the individualized attention during the application process. If you have any questions at all pertaining to your financial aid awards, where to go on campus, or even if you need to find out your student ID number your college admissions counselor will take the time to return your phone call and make sure you understand every step perfectly. Also, if you do not yet know your major take advantage of the wonderful Academic Advising department. This school is dedicated to prospective students as well as continuing students. Do not overlook this school, it is worth your time. Schedule an individual tour and you will automatically feel part of the community and family that is University of St Francis.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is always around, especial at night.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and activities to join; trips to Chicago event like the Annual Car Show and Blackhawk game.

    Bang for the buck

    It is an expensive school but worth it, a very prestige school that employers look for.

    What to do for fun

    There are some attractions within the city such as Slammers baseball and Speedway but Chicago is about 45 minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    Meal swipes! Great sandwiches in the Mother-house building.

    Dorm Life

    There a lot of activities, it can become a conflict to your studying if not your not organized.

    Academic Rigor

    It is not easy! You have to study and apply yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should research the teachers before selecting a course. Be open-minded and friendly to have a good college experience. Enjoy your breaks, it helps relieve stress!

    In three sentences

    A school that has a strong Catholic foundation, promoting a great college experience, within the inviting city. The teachers are very helpful and experts in the area of teaching. The class sizes are small which allows for an easy learning environment.

  • 08/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The things I do for fun is playing ping pong or pool with fellow students. They have various flat screen TV's in lounge areas so, I sometime occupy myself by relaxing in the lounge areas. The Rec Center is also for most part always open so I have the option of going to play basketball, workout etc.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria/dining area is welcoming to campus students or commuters. The food is good and they even have some nutritious eatables also. The cafeteria staff does a great job preparing the food and making sure everything is clean and tidy.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is very fun and entertaining. You have different lounge areas which include ping pong, billiards, and televisions to watch your favorite shows on.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here are not the rigorous. The class sizes are very small which are a good thing. You get a chance to connect with your professor on a one on one level.

    In three sentences

    It has a diverse population of students and faculty. The environment is very welcoming and hospitality orientated. Also, the college offers many programs and clubs to get you involved around campus.

  • 10/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants to be a person, rather than just a number will love it here. USF makes you feel right at home and really encourages its students to grow in their time here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to get as involved as possible! There are so many opportunities out there. Just be open-minded and take a chance or five!

    Bang for the buck

    The price is up there, but it's worth it. USF has a great atmosphere for loving your educational experience!

    Am enjoying being here

    I love it here. It's very small, but the atmosphere is phenomenal. The teachers actually care about your well-being, are interested in your life, and want to be of as much help as possible. The campus also offers many fun clubs and organizations to be involved in.

    Academic Rigor

    The liberal arts education pushed here at USF helps me to create a strong foundation for my future learning! All the faculty are open and willing to help you succeed!

  • 12/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Athletes or students on full scholarship. Tuition is not worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    The undergraduate admissions staff is a joke, extremely unhelpful. If you want to reach anyone in the business office to pay a bill you will have to physically walk in as they NEVER answer the phone or return messages. Make sure to constantly stay on your financial aid rep or your financial aid package may not be processed in time, resulting in a full tuition bill. If you do not pay this bill you will be dropped from your classes. However, good luck reaching anyone over the phone in either of these departments to correct your financial aid package. Also, do not expect any help after graduation in helping to find a job. If you need to request transcripts after graduation, again, physically walk into the office to do so as no one will answer the phone or return a message.

    Bang for the buck

    Not worth it at all. I also could not get any help from career services after graduation to help me find a job. Also, not even 6 months after graduation the alumni office called me and asked me to donate money to help other students pay for college. Sorry, I am paying $225 a month in student loans...where is my help?!

    Am enjoying being here

    St. Francis promotes all this personal attention that students receive here, but it is extremely untrue. There are SOME staff and faculty members that care about students, but most do not. The average class size is about 15-25, if teachers cared so much about students you would think they would at least know their students names. Out of all my years here I feel I only had 2 teachers that were passionate about the students. It seems that most employees here are miserable and honestly, most students are too.

    Am learning a lot

    I learned that seems are not always what they seem.

  • 06/28/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    6 of 26

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I cant wait to start at my new school. I hope I have fun, meet lots of new people, and get educated. :)

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hanging out with friends in the quad, where you can play sand volleyball or basketball. Also there are parks all around, and the mall is about 5-10 minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    Dont eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Never lived in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Very high graduation percentage.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to always ask for help when its needed and just have fun.

    In three sentences

    Smaller classrooms makes it easier for the professors to help their students succeed. A very friendly learning environment. Getting involved in classes and clubs help with learning experinces needed in the working world.

  • 08/18/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    It is very intense and I am looking forward to the challenge.

    In three sentences

    The staff is so helpful and they welcome you with open arms. I have a lot a of help from my advisor. The transition from community college to university was very easy.

  • 09/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Don't dine there but the food is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    Don't live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    I would definatly rate it at a 4 on a 5 scale.

    In three sentences

    USF is a top grade college and has one of the best, I feel, nursing programs in the state of IL. I feel as if my needs are met and that I'm obtaining a great college education there. The professors are friendly, easily accessible, very knowledgeable; and an excellent resource.

  • 09/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    there isn't any yet, but hopefully there will be soon!

    Great for these types of students

    People who come from a smaller school, the classes are smaller!

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of activities put in the events section on your portal. Some of them include movies on the quad, free smoothies, football games, ect.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely go to this university if you are used to a smaller high school, it makes you feel like you never left home.

    In three sentences

    I like the university because it is small. Everyone is really nice. The class sized are small.

  • 12/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security is fantastic! You can call them for any needs that you may have!

    What to do for fun

    I like sitting out on the quad in the sun chairs on beautiful fall days.

    Food and Dining

    I have not ate in the cafeteria, but I have ate in the Bistro, which is a delicious small sandwich shop!

    Dorm Life

    I have never stayed in the dorms at this university

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers do push you very hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend to study a lot and pay attention in class!

    In three sentences

    I love this university! All of the teaches know you by name and it is very personable!

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security is everywhere plus police drive by often

    Greek Life

    unknown

    Clubs and Activities

    anything you can think of

    Great for these types of students

    anyone who wants an education

    Bang for the buck

    you get a great education.

    What to do for fun

    The have all different types of things from playing pool to movie night

    Food and Dining

    Food is fantastic I would rather eat there salad then at a restaurant.

    Dorm Life

    unknown

    Academic Rigor

    They expect the best out of you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class, ask for help, and be motivated.

    In three sentences

    my school is an excellent school. They are there to help you and work with you. They don't care about race just as long as you get an education.

  • 12/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    All the security guards are super friendly and they are always walking around and talking to students. They are always there whenever you need them, even if it is only a ride from the train station back to school.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are not a lot of clubs, but they always are doing something. Like, twice a month, they have free bowling.

    Great for these types of students

    There is a great nursing program at school, and a lot of people apply for it. Students of all kind are great for this school, as it has so much for everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None.

    Bang for the buck

    It is not that expensive, a decent amount. You get a lot of personable help and everything is great there.

    What to do for fun

    On the weekends, there is not a lot to do, as a lot of people go home for the weekends. Yet, they have a lot of activities to do every month to get you involved.

    Food and Dining

    They have basically the same thing every day, but there are a lot of choices to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are great. Very spacious and you get your roommate that is basically just like you. From all my friends, everyone has a great roommate. No complaints.

    Academic Rigor

    I have only had my first semester as a freshman, and my classes were not that hard. It is spaced equally out. Every major has its own classes, and the teachers are all great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Remember to get to know everyone you meet. That first week is scary, as you are trying to make friends and get used to college life. Do like I did, go around and ask people to play a game with you.

    In three sentences

    This school is by far the most personable college I have visited. While I am a freshman there, it feels like I belong and that I am accepted. Everyone is loving, the feeling of the school is fantastic, and the classes they offer are great.

  • 12/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security at USF is available 24/7. Someone is always ready to help, if needed. Campus security always answers the phone and they will take students to the nearby train station, if needed. Security at USF is very helpful and students always feel safe with them around.

    Greek Life

    Currently, there is no Greek Life at USF, but it is being proposed to administration.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 40 clubs and organizations at USF, quite a large amount for a smaller, private school. Students are encouraged to start their own club if they have a good idea. Clubs always plan events and there is always something to do on campus. Joining clubs at USF is strongly encouraged because it builds community among the students, and it is FUN!

    Great for these types of students

    USF is great for students that want a high quality education. Students that like a diverse university with many events to attend as well as great opportunities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At the beginning of the year, there are many events that are held for the freshman and for the returning students. It is a great time to meet new people and reconnect with old friends.

    Bang for the buck

    The University of Saint Francis a wonderful school. It has a great academic level, great resources, good dinning options, and a nice campus for the students.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and organizations on campus that create and plan events during the week at various times, and also on the weekends for the students that stay on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    USF offers high quality education that can be strenuous at times. Be prepared to work hard, but don't fret because there are resources available.

    In three sentences

    The University of Saint Francis is a great university. It offers high quality education and outstanding academic resources. USF is a very diverse school that would be great for any type of prospective student.

  • 12/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    While it is important to pay attention to one's surroundings (especially at night and in the parking lots), USF security staff is visible on campus at all times which makes students feel safe. Students can also request escorts to any dorm or parking lot whenever they don't feel safe.

    Greek Life

    We don't have Greek Life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    USF has multiple clubs and honor societies. Participating in clubs is a great way to get to know more people and to enjoy fun activities such as field trips, skiing trips and guest speakers. Since USF is a small school, all club members' opinions and suggestions are taken into account and students have many opportunities to gain leadership skills.

    Great for these types of students

    USF is great for students concerned more about getting a good education than attending a school with a big party scene. Students who are considering commuting to school and those who want to attend a university with strong Christian values will also thrive here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a chapel on the third floor of the Motherhouse. Students can attend mass during the school week and on Sundays.

    Bang for the buck

    USF is a private school, so the tuition is high. It can be affordable, however, for students receiving financial aid and/or scholarships. I commute from home to save money. I recommend getting an associate's degree at a community college first and transferring to USF after sophomore year. Even though I haven't graduated yet, I believe that a USF education is a good investment because of various opportunities available to students such as student alumni networking, professional assistance with resume writing and job/internship search and a good job placement after graduation. For those willing to work hard and take advantage of the opportunities available, USF can be a great bang for the buck.

    What to do for fun

    Many clubs organize fun activities for students such as field trips and guest speakers. Students can also go to Chicago (USF offers a free shuttle to and from the train station). Malls, movie theaters and bowling alleys are also a short distance away.

    Food and Dining

    Students can purchase meals in the cafeteria, the Snack Shop and the Bistro. The cafeteria offers a buffet with different types of food. The Bistro, on the other hand, provides students with additional options such as salads and sandwiches. The Snack Shop offers quick snacks and smoothies. The food tastes good but the school would benefit from a wider selection of meals. Vegetarian and healthy options are also available.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are more challenging than others, depending on the instructor. Overall, students who put in the time necessary to learn the material will do well. Group projects and short assignments are common.

    Tips for prospective students

    Scheduling early morning and evening classes will help you ensure that you always find a parking spot. Participate in clubs and activities and get to know your instructors to increase your networking opportunities. Consider attending a community college and transferring to USF if you want to save money.

    In three sentences

    USF is a small, private institution with friendly and approachable staff and instructors. Many opportunities exist for those willing to take advantage of them. The majority of students commute to school, which often makes finding a parking spot difficult.

  • 12/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus safety is great. They is someone there 24/7 and will always be there for you, during the day or at night. If you are having car troubles, they will be there to help.

    Greek Life

    We do not have greek life on our campus but I have heard our dean is beginning to talk about starting up a greek life atmosphere.

    Bang for the buck

    Although our school is expensive because it is a private school, the professors and instructors help you with everything you need. I do believe that you get the best band for your buck.

    What to do for fun

    You can always go to football games and tailgating which is a lot of fun. There are many close industries that you can attend such as a bowling alley, or the closest mall is about 10 minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    Our best food at school is definitely from the Bistro Cafe. It has a variety of different foods and also very healthy. The cafeteria food is not the best but it is not the worst.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus but I have heard from many friends that they love living on campus and being away from their parents. They enjoy the freedom and being independent.

    Academic Rigor

    All of my professors thus far have many great. They are easy to make appointments with and always willing to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    The main tip I would give for prospective students is to get involved with as many sports and club organizations that you can. It is a great way to meet new people and make new friends.

    In three sentences

    I think University of St.Francis is a great school. I love the small school atmosphere. Although it is kind of expensive because it is a private school, it is a very well taught university. I would not change schools for anything.

  • 01/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is amazing! I feel safe wherever I go. If you don't feel comfortable walking from different buildings at night, you give them a call, (which they make you program into your phone during orientation) and they'll walk with you!

    Greek Life

    As of now, there isn't a Greek Life on campus, but surveys were sent and the school is looking into it.

    Clubs and Activities

    The variety of clubs is incredible! If you could think of something, we have a club for that. If there isn't a club, you can even start one up.

    Great for these types of students

    St. Francis is honestly great for any person looking for a private education. Even if you don't practice a religion, USF is a great school. Religion and faith aren't pushed on any students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There aren't many unusual traditions or locations on campus. It is said to be haunted though, so around Halloween it's normal for students to walk around at night to get a good spook!

    Bang for the buck

    Going to a private school is obviously more expensive than a state school. I think it's worth it though. Sure, it'd be nice if it was cheaper, but I feel like you get what you pay for, a private, liberal education.

    What to do for fun

    Throughout the week, different clubs offers activities for the students. There is always something to do, whether it be movies and a game night, or create your own air freshener. Students at USF are never bored!

    Food and Dining

    The food at USF isn't terrible. However, there's only three places to eat and it can get pretty tiring. The cafeteria is a buffet style; one swipe can get you all the food you want. The Bistro is like a Panera Bread and then there's the snack shop where you can get all the junk food you could possibly imagine.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at St. Francis are a nice size. They feel bigger than other colleges I've looked at. It's a smaller residence hall, which I like because you see familiar faces everyday. The rules are what you expect, no drinking, follow the quiet hours rule, and you'll be good to go!

    Academic Rigor

    The first semester classes depends on how well you did in high school. However, the course load isn't terrible. I was able to get my work done on time, have plenty of time to study, and actually sleep!

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for prospective students is to put forth the effort all throughout high school and not just in the last two years. Try and do well on your ACT and if you don't, don't stress about it and retake it. My final tip would be to stay active socially in your school and community!

    In three sentences

    The University of St. Francis is a phenomenal school to attend. Every person you meet greets you with a smile and so far, I have not had a bad experience. On a scale of 1 to 10, 10 being the best, I would give St. Francis a 9.

  • 01/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs available for any interest.

    Bang for the buck

    The education is well worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    Joliet area offers alot of activities. There are minor league baseball teams, shopping centers, plenty of outdoor activity and Chicago is just a 45 train ride away.

    Dorm Life

    I hear its great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for as much financial assistance as possible.

    In three sentences

    USF is small and very personal. The staff generally care about the students well being. Support and encouragement is phenomenal.

  • 03/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is a pretty small campus so its not hard to holler and get the attention of a security personnel. There are emergency towers in different locations on campus, and security is always there to help!

    Greek Life

    No greed life, but we are partnered with another school down the road; so if its your thing, you can just go there!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are loads of clubs and sports to attend on campus. It is much easier to get into if you live at the school but you can still make it worth. I would recommend getting involved with something to pass the time!

    Great for these types of students

    Small school high school students who like the small homey atmosphere will love it. I also fell in love with the look of the school, kind of mid-evil if you ask me!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a downfall to the location of the campus. Sometimes you have to be careful where you go if you want to go for a walk. It is safe to just keep the buddy system.

    Bang for the buck

    It is pretty pricey, but I feel that they really help you if you are percipient when first applying to go to the school.

    What to do for fun

    Meeting and hanging with friends is always a plus. Many activities are open like bowling night or movie nights. There are tons of activities open to everyone and down the street is a theater with old releases for just a dollar, always a fun and cheap thing to do once a week.

    Food and Dining

    Sodexo is the provider for the food here. The staff are all so friendly and happy, yet the food is as low quality as you can get. Once you get used to it, its alright, but when you come back from a vacation at home, you get pretty bummed to come back to this food.

    Dorm Life

    I would give it all five stars if it weren't for the state that the dorms are in. There could be more events in the dorms as well as renovations. With that set aside though, I have no problem living on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel that it is pretty challenging but not too extremely stressful. I am learning tons and enjoying it as I do!

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to open houses and get a feel of the campus. You should be aware that it is a pretty small school, and it may be a big factor in how you feel towards it.

    In three sentences

    University of St. Francis is wonderful! I feel so at home and welcomed wherever I go. The staff and students are all amazing and friendly, there is not place I would rather be.

  • 04/24/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Big campus in the downtown Joliet.

    Greek Life

    None

    Great for these types of students

    Nursing students

    What to do for fun

    Game room!

    Food and Dining

    Variety of food

    Academic Rigor

    Nursing program is tough but its worth it!

    Tips for prospective students

    Arrive early Study Sleep enough Don't skip breakfast

    In three sentences

    It is a very old and beautiful university located in the middle of Joliet. One of the university's majors is Nursing, which accounts for about 27% of all enrolled students. My first and second impression of the University is great, and I cannot wait to start my program.

  • 05/11/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    21 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is around and will escort you to your car if you want.

    Food and Dining

    There is a dining area, and a kitchen. There is cereal, burgers, and salads from what I've seen so far, and I'll get to see what else they have when I start in the Fall.

    Dorm Life

    I'll be commuting, and the dorms seemed small to me. On the bright side: you can have a pet fish!

    Academic Rigor

    I will be taking my first semester this fall, and I love my schedule. I am taking 4 courses and 2 labs, and I love how much free time I will still have.

  • 05/16/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    22 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there's always security around there's a security in ever dorm apartment in the first floor where people have to check in and out to go visit and its safer during the night.

    Bang for the buck

    its small and its great school for such a small price, they help you pay for it with scholarships. there are so many to chose from.

    What to do for fun

    you can do a lot of things around the school. Chicago is always a busy place. you can go to concerts around or drive to down town Chicago and enjoy a nice day at the beach during the summer or go shopping.

    Food and Dining

    food is great you have i think 3 places to chose form and thier smoothies/ milkshakes are awesome! i love the food there

    Dorm Life

    everyone is pretty cool there. you can bring friends over to your room but since you have to share a room with someone else and its a small room, its not that good of an idea. but other then the room been a little small they are great.

    In three sentences

    its pretty cool here. there are friendly people and its small. everyone knows everyone and i really want to go there.

  • 06/08/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    23 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    From what I saw for my class registration there was constant campus safety available.

    Bang for the buck

    Have yet to find out, but if it is anything like the staff then it most certainly will be.

    Academic Rigor

    USF is a good campus with a strong academic rigor. There main focus is on Nursing and other Biology major degrees. They also have Master programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Set up an appointment with a counselor to see if you are a fit for USF. The counselor will be honest and informative on what your best options for education at the University.

    In three sentences

    Staff was welcoming and reassuring for class registration information. Campus was clean with available security and maintenance staff available. Environment was clean, outdoor campus beautiful well kept, and a pleasure to walk around.

  • 08/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus resides just on the edge of the bad side of town, but nothing bad has ever happened on campus. The only thefts to occur are entirely the fault of the room's owner, and physical safety is always high. There is security patrolling at all times.

    Greek Life

    Nonexistent.

    Clubs and Activities

    Mentioned above already.

    Great for these types of students

    Those that want an incredibly small, urban campus in the middle of suburbia. Great for commuters, except for parking, and a good atmosphere.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a very expensive private school, but the experience, I think, is worth it. The faculty is amazing, and working on campus is easy to do. The only reason I didn't score it higher is because the food, compared to the price we pay, is atrocious, and because some faculty/departments are much lower quality than others.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs and organizations. There are an obscene number of clubs to join, with many being VERY active and having a lot to do. The trick to staying busy here really is to join a club and find your niche, get involved and be recognized.

    Food and Dining

    Mediocre at best, I would say. There are multiple places on campus to eat, with the most popular also being the worst. At times the food is very good there, and other times nearly inedible. It depends entirely upon who is working at the time, but the food management needs to step up.

    Dorm Life

    The biggest dorms I've ever seen at a college, and very comfortable to boot. Depending on which dorm you're in, the whole experience changes; there is an obvious social dorm, and an academic dorm, with the third being sort of in between. Most residents are very cordial, and the rules aren't too tough.

    Academic Rigor

    The majority of classes I have taken thus far have been quite easy; however, other programs can be much more difficult. The level of homework in a class or legitimate intelligence needed to pass can vary wildly, with MANY classes being obvious blow-offs, and some degrees practically handed out. That being said, other programs (especially Nursing) are incredibly dedicated and tough, so it depends.

    Tips for prospective students

    Depending on what field you want to go into, USF is the perfect school for you. Their nursing and business programs are fantastic, and highly rated, and the school's graduation rate is superb. It's easy enough to make friends and get involved. If you're looking for a small school with a mildly urban feel, with a decent amount of things to do outside of classes, this is a good place to go.

    In three sentences

    USF has a very fun atmosphere sometimes plagued by cliques. The academics are of varying difficulties, but the faculty is wonderful. Lots of opportunities for studying abroad, or other international experience.

  • 10/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security staff at USF is amazing. Tom,who is in charge of security, is really interactive with students. On the first day of orientation he will tell students to put the number for security in their phone. He cares about safety of students and holds seminars and presentations to educate the students. One thing that is unusual for security at a school to do is offer rides to the bus station and to certain areas outside of the school. The security will walk students to there car any time of day and will come if you need them even if it is for something silly.

    What to do for fun

    There is always some activity going on on campus. Tons of posters and flyers are hung throughout the campus with various meetings and opportunities. Living on campus puts those students at an advantage of knowing what is going on on campus. Clubs are great for passing time. There are events clubs set up outside campus and hold on campus as well. Students can take advantage of the rec center and the free gym membership at Inwood. On weekends the university holds movie nights which is all free. There's never a boring day on campus, students just need to look and keep an open mind.

    Food and Dining

    Sodexo Foods has been doing marvelous with meals at USF. School lunches always worry students because school meals have acquired a negative connotation during school years. The food is always made fresh and there are many options. There are different meals every time of day, so there is never the same old food everyday. The lines go by pretty quick because the arrangement is like a buffet in a way. Students pay with cash or meal plans before they get there food so it is an in-and-out ordeal. A great addition to the campus is the variation in food shops. After cafeteria hours the Bistro is opened, and once the Bistro closes the Pub opens. It offers a change of scenery and brings the campus to life.

    Dorm Life

    Living on campus is really an added bonus of going to USF. Waking up late or weather conditions are less likely to effect students from going to class. There's more freedom and privacy in a dorm. Students experience what it would be like living on their own and gain life skills like time and stress management. There are general rules for the dorms and some vary depending on the Hall a student lives in. For instance, Motherhouse allows students of the drinking age to bring in alcohol, whereas, Marian Hall is a dry building which means no alcohol is allowed in the building. Each floor has gender based bathroom facilities, laundry room, and study lounges. Each floor has two RA's for the wings to regulate over any problems and to be an aide to students.

    Academic Rigor

    The University of Francis really focuses on academics but also wants to prepare students to be better people in life. There are many study abroad and other academia enhancement programs to add to the quality of your education. Tutors are offered in every major, so there is always help to those who need it. Teachers are fair with grading; you earn the grade you deserve. Grades really depend on how much time and effort you put into assignments, tests, and studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    One thing I would say is to have great communication with staff, especially teachers, because they are the ones determining your grade and preparing you to graduate. Staying focused on studies is important because even on a small campus social life can interfere with studying. Put aside time to study for classes. For classes make sure to pay attention and understand the material so that for midterms you are prepared. Get help if you need it because the teachers do not know if you do not understand something. Apply for scholarships and stay updated on your student account for any alerts or items you need to complete. The most important piece of advice I could offer would be to have money put aside for college, even if it is a small amount, because even with scholarships and financial aid there is always a chance there will be a remaining balance on your tuition bill that could prevent registration for class terms and prevent graduation.

    In three sentences

    The University of Saint Francis is a wonderful school. The staff and students are very friendly and welcoming. Being a freshman, it was very accommodating to have such a warm feeling entering college. The architecture is remarkable. The quad is gorgeous with benches,lawn chairs chairs, fountains, gardens, sport courts. Food options are simple and are almost similar to a home cooked meal. The teachers are really understanding and want to help out their students as much as possible. Classes are challenging, but in a good way to enhance your learning. If a student is having trouble with their work there are tutors for every subject. There are hundreds of opportunities to get involved on campus with numerous clubs. The social aspect is a great way to network.

  • 10/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The University has been around since 1920 and considering that it used to be an all girls college, there are many antique but yet traditional places on campus that are really neat to take notice of. We have a grand stair cause in Tower Hall that was used by the nuns for lining up the girls and taking attendance. There is also a newly renovated chapel on the third floor of Mother House. Places like these on campus really makes the University that much special.

    What to do for fun

    At the University there are many events always happening. Clubs and organizations are very involved on campus with creating movie nights, service events, talent shows, fashion shows, free bowling, sport tournaments, etc. There is a wide range of different activites to do on campus so students don't ever have to feel like there is nothing to do. Additionally, the Joliet Mall, Barnes and Noble, and two movie theaters are close to campus that students can also enjoy.

    Food and Dining

    At USF, there are three dining options: Terrace Cafe, the Three Oaks Bistro, and Bernie's Pub. By having a variety of dining options on campus the student has more options of the type of food that they would like to eat. For example, the Terrace Cafe is set up as a buffet with freshly prepare food options for the students. The Three Oaks Bistro is a fast casual food option that serves hot sandwhiches, soups, salads, paninis, etc. Bernie's Pub is our newest eatery on campus. The pub serves anything from pulled pork sandwhich to a ceaser salad, and of course delicious burgers. There are many different places with different styles of food to eat on campus, making the choice of where to eat difficult but rewarding in the end!

    Dorm Life

    The Residence Life staff at USF is always looking for certain things to improve on, so that the experience of living on campus is a fun and enjoyable one. There are three residence halls on campus: Marian Hall, Tower Hall, and Mother House. Marian is made up of all incoming Freshman, Duns Scotus Honors Program Participants, and the Transfer living community. Tower Hall and Mother House are mostly upperclassmen. Each hall has its own sense of community, making any hall you live in a fun place to learn and meet life-long friends.

    Academic Rigor

    The University of St. Francis has a bery rigoreous academia in every major that is offered. Each major of course has its hard moments, but it is important to note that every professor at USF tries extremely hard to accomate the needs of the students. With having a 17:1 ratio between students to professor, makes the ability to create a relationship with the professor easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    The first tip would be to schedule a campus visit and if possible, an over night stay. USF offers several dates and options for campus visits, making it easy to fit into the prospective student's schedule. Through visiting the campus and staying over night, that student can learn a lot about what makes USF a great place to attend. My second tip would be to look into the clubs and organizations at USF. There are 37 clubs on campus, all diverse in their own way. With so many to choose from, students will surely find something they are interested in, which will make their college experience that much better!

    In three sentences

    The University of St. Francis is a small, private university that makes each student feeling right at home by having the ability to make a personal connection to other students, faculty, staff and administration. The professors really go the extra mile to make sure that students are well prepared and comfortable in the classroom. There is always an event going on at USF that you will learn something new, have fun, and sometimes even both!