Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

University of St Thomas Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/10/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 1 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Like personal attention, being taught by professor (not teaching assisstants), and a friendly enviornment in the heart of HoUSTon.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to visit any school you are interested in and sit in on classes. Choose a place that is comfortable for you (not just because it has your major... because it will change. Believe me!) :-)

    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive. It's a private school. BUT the kind of education you recieve is definitely worth the price. You come out well-rounded and prepared. I truly feel that my life has been enriched with all the philosophy and theology courses that I took.

    Am enjoying being here

    There is so much diversity. I've made many new friends. There is always something to do. The people are always friendly.

    Am learning a lot

    This is an amazing school. I have learned so much. My faith has also been enhanced. They really stress the balance between faith and reason. The professors really care about who you are. You are not just a number, but a person. They enjoy teaching, so you enjoy learning.

  • 12/27/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the school and go and sit in a class. Get a taste for what the interaction between students and professors is at UST.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes it's expensive but worth it and it won't be out of your pocket if you just look for scholarships. Most of us are on scholarships.

    Am enjoying being here

    The balance and opportunities that they provide you with it is beyond just furthering your education but also the support to being a well rounded individual

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are always campus security officers on campus, doing rounds till late in the morning. All over campus there are also emergency telephones, but rarely has anyone been in danger on campus. Students tend to always feel safe, but just in case we always keep them close by.

    Greek Life

    There are no Frats or Sororities, but males are allowed to join at the University of Houston fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are about 80 clubs on campus and they are all different and unique. From cheer leading club to the chemistry club. They all vary and all you have to do is sign up to become a member. Its a great way to get involved, and host events on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Friendly, cultural, international, diverse, and liberal people. If you love being outdoors, small campuses, classes, and things nearby, this is perfect.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school is located in the Montrose area known as the museum district and people are very liberal and artsy. The night life is always busy and there is always something going on nearby. The school is known to have their infamous crawfish boil, salsa night, neeowallah (Halloween party), and Spring Fling every year, with many more mini events.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is pricey, but the school offers many scholarship opportunities and payment methods. They don't want students to not attend because of financial purposes,so they will find scholarships and loans for you to stay enrolled in the school.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is located in the museum district, so students get in for free or with discounts to museums and the Zoo. There are also parks and shopping stores around campus where students ride their bikes to, and ten minutes away are performance halls, nightclubs, and shopping centers.

    Food and Dining

    The food varies from time to time, but everyday there is a grill for burgers and Veggie burgers. Also we have Quiznos available and its covered by your meal plan. There is always a variety of food, and if not there are really cheap restaurants and fast food places down the street.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are one of the best so far and have a small waterfall in the middle of the dorms. You have a big room with a balcony and share your bathroom with only one person. The halls are always decorated and the RA's hold an event for their residents once a month.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are more difficult than others, but if you go into class knowing what to expect, it will motivate you to study more, and the professors help you out a lot. Do not be afraid to ask questions!

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of everything offered your freshman year. The classes are easiest your first year so do not mess up. Try to attend events held on campus since your money funds them, and balance your social and school life.

    In three sentences

    This school is a catholic school and brings students closer to their faith while keeping a small community on campus. Their objective is to help students exceed in school and provide an easy learning environment with great professors. The campus is beautiful, and the area its in has everything you need within walking distance.

  • 02/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    nothing bad ever really happens on campus. there are good number of security guards patrolling the campus, and the campus itself is located in a fairly good neighborhood.

    Greek Life

    while the university itself does not have much greek influence, there is a greek-orthodox school across the street. every year, they hold a greek festival.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many clubs on campus. there is are martial arts clubs, multi-media clubs, academic clubs, and a selection of language clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    it's really great for shy or timid students. it seems that many of the students who come here, are shy or timid. it makes it easier for them to relate to each other.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there are many catholic traditions that are often celebrated at the university. there are also many fairs and event that happen annually. things like decorating a giant christmas tree or having costume contests on halloween, are just a few of the many traditions that are celebrated at the university.

    Bang for the buck

    judging by the quality of the classes and the personality of the faculty, it's pretty much worth how much you pay. the quality of classes are high, and material taught is well organized. there are also many extracurricular activities and services that are free or discounted, because of the tuition you already pay for.

    What to do for fun

    there are many clubs and extracurricular activities on campus. there are also sports available for students to join. the gym is also free for students.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria food is ok. it's definitely not the best food around. there is a quizno's on campus, if you don't like the cafeteria food.

    Dorm Life

    i have had no experience living in the dorms. from what i've heard, it's actually pretty good.

    Academic Rigor

    the teachers here are very motivated to teach. they put a lot of effort into helping you, and making sure you understand the material that is covered. as a result, students are more willing to put time and effort into their studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    finding a good professor that fits you may take a little bit of time. do your research, and ask some of the older students about which professors to take.

    In three sentences

    the university of st. thomas is a small catholic university. while it is deeply immersed in catholic morals and traditions, the university is open to people of all religions and beliefs. the staff and faculty at the university are very kind.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is a major thing here. There are many security stations that allow you to press a panic button of sorts that alerts security of your location and that you need immediate assistance. Also you can call them if you feel you need an escort back to the dorms or to your car, which is great for those students who take night classes and are slightly fearful of the dark!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs from Martial Arts to all sorts of Academic clubs aimed at your major.

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for a good science program look no farther! There are many science classes, majors, and minors to chose from. Being a liberal arts university, if you love to write you're going to love it here. Also great for those religious students, since it is a Catholic University your faith will strengthen and grow here!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Labyrinth is pretty cool. A nice quiet place beside the Chapel to go sit, study, or think as you walk it.

    Bang for the buck

    The quality of the education you get here is pretty good in my opinion. Most of my classes do challenge me, I'm always either reading something, studying, or writing some kind of paper. Most of the professors actually teach you something, and nearly all of them will help you if you're struggling. And best of all an actual Professor will be teaching all of your classes, not a student or assistant. The price can be pretty steep, honestly if you can live at home I would totally recommend you do so, even if it's not what you want to do because it will save you, including the dorm and mandatory meal plan you must purchase, around $7,000 a year.

    What to do for fun

    The University hosts a lot of events, music and free food can be found outside the dining area throughout the year. There are also one or two different festivals that take place on campus so that could be fun! Also there are a lot of places to go out and hang with friends. Pancakes and ice cream at midnight can be found just down the road, so pack up some friends and head out!

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good, and has actually gotten a little better over the past year. Lots of choices to fit any ones preferences. I recommend the grilled chicken sandwich and curly fries, Delicious! Lots of healthy options, convenience store type items for those who live on campus, and a large selection of beverages. The only thing I would say is that it is a little expensive, but manageable so long as you don't buy an armful of stuff. The dining area is quite small though, so between 12-2 and after 4 it can get very crowded and you might have to go to your room to eat or eat outside.

    Dorm Life

    The fact that every room comes with a mini fridge, microwave, balcony, and most importantly a PRIVATE BATHROOM is enough to give the dorms five stars! The dorm hosts a lot of events in the lobby, has student workers sitting at the front desk 24 hour a day, ID card entry to rooms, large laundry room, and a full service kitchen down stairs. Older students have the choice to move into the University Apartments down the street, which include a Full service kitchen, living room, bedroom, and bathroom.

    Academic Rigor

    The Pre-Med program here is both hard and one of the best you'll find. The acceptance rate into Med school is pretty good, so if you are interested in becoming a doctor look into it. They are lots of opportunities to get involved in research for those who are interested. And even the core classes everyone has to take, such as English 1 or World Community 1, are going to require your full attention! Lots of books to read and papers to write!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't just chose this or any college because that's where your best friend is going. Believe me, my best friend from high school and I attend the same University and were even room mates for awhile, but I honestly have not talked to her or seen her in over a year. People grow apart and follow different paths academically and personally, so please chose the school that's right for you, not your best friend. You'll make new friends and will start to feel more independent and not so dependent on the other person being there all the time, which has truly been one of the best things I've had to go through in my college career so far.

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love it here! Most of the classes are small, I only had about 10 other people in my General Biology class, and the Professors are super nice and helpful. Great for those who want the college experience without being overwhelmed or overlooked.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus parking garage is a well-lighted concrete fortress with a security watch always coming round, even on street parking. The helpful security office located adjacently to the first floor of the parking garage keeps contact information from car owners and a ready tool box to give a student a hand whether it's a flat tire or a start up to a dead battery. There are emergency help buttons placed strategically around the campus which is small enough to cross in minutes in order to aid a student. Drills and security systems are tested routinely, and there is an emergency text alert network that one may sign up for and receive in case of an urgent announcement. If one desires, a security guard may escort you to your vehicle. If any incidents or near incidents happen the campus is alerted immediately for precaution.

    Clubs and Activities

    It's not difficult at all to start a new club if you don't find what you want with the current sixty-seven already existing clubs/organizations. There seems to be a club for the elite of every interest and a club for every sport, there's clubs with particular credentials and those with none but the enthusiasm to participate, there's humanitarian groups, student organizations built for the pure ambition to further themselves in their fields of study and gain grown in the actual profession, a club for first-generation college students, even clubs for members of a certain ethnicity though they are not exclusively for that one pool of students. More than one of my acquaintances has decided to join these ethnic groups when they're of a completely different heritage and they feel very comfortable. Whatever tweaks your interest it's most likely already an student activity option but if it's not just grab two other people and make it one.

    Great for these types of students

    I like a more involved and personal community-like atmosphere at a school, not being lost in a crowd or simply being a number on the roster for the professor, so St. Thomas is the school for me but even so I can testify that not running into everyone I know on a daily basis keeps things fresh. So I get to know my teacher on a personal level and I never know for certain who or what kind of cultural mixture I'll be surrounded by for each class. The varying department buildings are conveniently located in the center of the campus facing each other so even though you may be let's say a science major and most of your classes are in that one building you will make contact with everyone from the other buildings as well. You aren't really allowed to hole yourself up in one place or another unless you really want to, but who would when the campus has so much to offer. I love this environment and the fact that the campus is easily accessible in walking distance, I'd get lost with a bigger campus!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At St. Thomas there is a list of traditions for so many yearly occasions. A few examples, we do not celebrate Halloween we celebrate Neewollah, we have a spring formal, Catholic traditional events, secular events such as the Italian arts festival, Christmas events, charity events, organizational events like the International Festival, careers week, the job festival, the mental health week, dealing with stress week, eating healthy focus week, we have traditional furniture even! The library chairs are the most comfortable you will ever rest in and a popular napping spot, they have been there since the day the library opened and have been reupholstered but will never be sold! Another lovely little quirk I love about the school is that there's cookies, water, tea, and coffee scattered about the school at least once a week throughout the year for students to enjoy. Right when you've just come out of you last class and you're in the mood for something sweet, or just feeling down in the dumps, or u need that re-hydrating or caffeinated push, as if the magical refreshment fairies have just granted your wish, there it is! It is the fact that the school is based on tradition from its Catholic roots but extending to its non-Catholic population that gives it a fun anticipating atmosphere season round.

    Bang for the buck

    The university goes out of its way to have the world visit the students in the forms of conventions, sessions, presentations over subjects covering important issues currently in discussion and evolution in the world. The topics covered by international leaders are the topics touched on and brought up to for the students to be engaged in.Innovations for the campus and new programs for student benefit are very frequent and students hold weight on these decisions. For example, the soon to be new arts devoted building which will not only be available for the use of the university but will be an asset to Houston as well. Year round the school facilities are available for the students to use just by simply reserving ahead of time; the school hires professionals to give an assortment of body fitness classes such as: yoga, at-your-desk yoga to take with you in any situation, dancing, weightlifting, cardio-focus, and so on without any additional fee to the student that are available year round and some even in the summer.

    What to do for fun

    A variety of supermarkets, art galleries (as the university is located in the art district), different cultural restaurants, book stores, and buzzing downtown itself surrounds the school placing it in an ideal location for even someone without a vehicle. The Houston zoo is located not too far either, and public transportation in our dear city is quite reliable.

    Food and Dining

    I personally am acquainted with the cafeteria staff. The schools kitchen staff is very friendly and not having dinned there every day it truly says something, it means that the employees are given a respect and liberty which places them in a position greater than just cook or cashier or cleaning duty. Every dinning station in the cafeteria is matched to the staff member's personality in my mind because they bring that little bit of themselves into the food I believe. The neighboring foreign English language building has many customers come to our schools cafeteria, and if the students get tired of that, they're traditional Spanish, Greek, Indian, and Chinese restaurants a walk away even. Talk about variety. The best part is, the above mentioned restaurants have lunch specials and even university student discounts.

    Dorm Life

    The best part about the dorm life is that you're practically never confined in your room and the atmosphere is comfortable enough to feel like a miniature community with their own committees and activity groups, with some event always on the weekly schedule if not daily and exclusively for members of the dorms. Housing/Dorm options vary in aesthetics and structure from building to building but there always is some community formation, comfort, and privacy. The school itself has many activities to join so even if the dorms happen to unusually end up in a dull week there's an event on the school campus which is a walking distance away from the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    As mentioned, because every classroom has an active Doctorate professor who is obviously there because they have a natural interest in teaching and in their vocation of their field, these professionals expect the same desire to be attendant and fervent from their students. St. Thomas expects academics to be a priority in the student's lives so the work one must endeavor is not to be done carelessly or without drawing out something more out of the student with every passing week, but it is a university that promotes involvement in non-academic activities so as to keep with their goal for a well-rounded overall informed person. From the first day of classes to the last weeks of finals in every semester the students are vigorously at work but the library is not a scene of dead cemetery-like isolated desperateness instead it is a lively place of interchanging ideas, a collective community of ingenuity even with respected areas of silence/privacy if that is your preference.

    Tips for prospective students

    Incoming students should know not to by shy, to ask as many questions as they feel an impulse to, and to explore every club and activity available because there is always a group which will share your interests. Even if it isn't already an organized club because you can always make one with just three other people. The Catholic faith is present at the school but not overbearing or imposing on non-Catholic students, yet the school's values are based on a balance between faith and knowledge so it is a personal balance one is encouraged to achieve on one's personal faith values. New students should be prepared to be challenged to always place their greatest effort before every assignment, if one thing is certain it is that the professional level at which one is expected to perform not only in the classroom but transitioning into life, is ever expected. This doesn't mean creativity is stunted though; on the contrary it is encouraged to groom and grow into one's individual passions. An open mind is not optional because the sheer variety of different views will always be present and will often force one to think and consider.

    In three sentences

    It is a school with a genuine interest in the students' overall growth with a focus on liberal arts aiming to make every student his/her own teacher for life, and has a super well rounded basics structure. There is always a source of help for any question or problem easily accessible on campus with an actual person to individually assist you for your particular situation. It is a campus with a grand international community which encourages diversity, leadership, community service in every student with active professionals and Doctorates in every classroom to teach.

  • 07/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The dining room is really nice and there is always other students or professors you can hang out and eat with. The cafeteria has many options ranging from a salad bar to a grill. There is also a convenient store within the cafeteria with anything you may need. If you get bored with the cafeteria food, there is also a Quiznos, Starbucks, and Freshens smoothie shop on campus. The only downside is that the food and convenient store can be kind of expensive. The good news is that you pay for everything with your student ID so you never have to take out your wallet :)

    Dorm Life

    The residence hall comes with 24/7 security, wifi, a media room, conference room, computer lab, kitchen, chapel, and countless study rooms. Each spacious room comes with its own A/C control, microwave, refrigerator, balcony, and private bathroom! There is always an event taking place and everyone gets along. The only downside is that a lot of people go home on the weekends, but you can still always find one smiling face looking for someone to play ping pong or pool with him or her.

    Academic Rigor

    University of St. Thomas takes pride in the fact it is a writing intensive school. Just about all your classes will have essay formatted exams and every class from english to astronomy will have at least three essays per semester. The school has received many academic honors over the years and has an pressive reputation for getting its students to top notch graduate schools, medical school, and law schools (this includes a high number of students going to Harvard Law School).

    In three sentences

    University of St. Thomas is a great school for those who like small classes and one on one attention from professors. It provides many resources and networking opportunities for students that many other colleges do not provide. University of St. Thomas provides a superb academic environment as well as a rich campus life experience.

  • 08/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who is studious and interested in a really laid back atmosphere on campus, regardless of their religion.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Do not walk on the seal on the ground! It's disrespectful! :)

    Bang for the buck

    It's a private school, so it's definitely expensive. However, I feel like I am definitely getting my money's worth in education and atmosphere.

    What to do for fun

    There are several clubs that have events open to everyone constantly on campus, always with free food, including a social night every Wednesday in the dorm. We also have free access to several museums in Houston and to the zoo! There are plenty of things to do in Houston, you are definitely never bored.

    Food and Dining

    There are several places to eat on campus, especially in the cafeteria. There is also a Quiznos on campus, which is an awesome place to go if you get tired of cafeteria food. If you are wanting to go out to eat, there are hundreds of places within walking distance. Not to mention all the free food available on campus. It is IMPOSSIBLE to go hungry here.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are completely safe and secure. The staff puts a lot of effort into offering fun things to do in the lounge area, and have lots of tvs and games to play around with. The dorm rooms themselves are spacious and fantastic. Every room has a balcony and it's own bathroom!

    Academic Rigor

    Every class is challenging, yet enjoyable. The professors all love their subjects and are complete experts, so there are always good conversations to be had and interesting things to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the small classes! Get to know your professors and definitely go to class. Also take advantage of the tutoring center. They are fantastic and almost everyone goes to them at least once. There is definitely no shame in going twice!

    In three sentences

    This university has a very welcoming faculty and staff and fantastic students. The professors are all very personable and are easy to connect with in such small class sizes. The campus is small, yet located in a big city with a lot to do.

  • 09/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus ia really safe. People are constantly on patrol. You can call security at ANY time to drop you off where you need to go on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    UST has a club associations for anything you can think of!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Crooker is a very popular place for students to hangout, BUT if you go to the second floor it is also great for studying or simply getting away to catch up on TV!

    What to do for fun

    UST is located within minutes of...almost everywhere! The Village is great for shopping and dining out, and the museums are great to visit on the weekends. UST usually always has something exciting going on like: Salsa Contest (the kind you eat and the kind you dance too!), Italian Festival, Movie Drive-In Nights, and cheering on the basketball team is also always fun!

    Food and Dining

    The food is tasty, and it is provided without the anxiety of gaining the dreaded Freshman 15. There is also a Quiznos on campus that offers a lot of choices!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms in Guinan Hall are well equipped, spacious, and it doesn't hurt that every dorm has a personal bathroom! The dorms are also very safe - no one comes in unidentified by the front desk!

    Academic Rigor

    A Liberal Arts education in general requieres a lot of determination, so it is understandable that the academic rigor at UST requires diligence and passion to EARN a degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn to ask for help, because everybody at UST is willing to give it!

    In three sentences

    At the University of St. Thomas one has the opportunity to not only excel in one's role as a student, but also explore one's other roles, so be it daughter, friend, sister, or brother. One learns to discover personal strengths and values. An education fostered by UST guarantees a productive and happy future.

  • 05/29/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is 24 hour security on campus. The on duty security guards are always willing to come pic you up from any place on campus and help you when needed.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs to join and the University is very open to students starting a new club or hosting activities.

    Bang for the buck

    It may be expensive, but the University is willing to help out their students pay for their education in any way it can. The education you will receive is worth the buck.

    What to do for fun

    The museum district is very close as is the theater district. You are in the heart of Houston and there is plenty to do.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is delicious and if you are not in the mood for cafeteria food; there is a Quiznos on campus and plenty of restaurants around the area.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are like hotel rooms. Very neat. Very secure. Very comfortable to live in.

    Academic Rigor

    The education you will receive here does not compare to that of another University. You will learn a great deal and grow in your spirituality, whether you are Catholic or not.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your admissions counselors. Try talking to current students. Visit the campus. Don't be afraid to sit in a few classes or tour the University.

    In three sentences

    The best University in the city of Houston. The spirituality is evident on campus. All of the students are satisfied with their college choice.

  • 12/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is meant for hard workers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your professors and even if you do not need the help go to the professor's office hours. It will make the professor see that you are not simply blowing off the class.

    Bang for the buck

    This is an expensive private school but I have never been given a better challenge. You have to work hard to get good grades here but every professor I have encountered thus far truly cares about your understanding the class.

    Am enjoying being here

    On top of the campus being beautiful there is always something going on. Someone is always handing out free stuff and the school hosts many events that keep the campus active and fun. All of the students are extremely nice and helpful to freshman which definitely gives a great learning environment. What I loved best was that the campus hired massage therapists, relaxation dogs, and gave out free breakfast in the few days before finals. I can not imagine a school that cares so much about your personal success.

    Am learning a lot

    For me high school was a breeze that I could have pretty much slept through. This university woke me up and finally gave me the challenge that I had been looking for. The best part is that there are so many opportunities for help. The tutorial services center is at the very least amazing and every professor has office hours and is more than willing to set up personal appointments to suit your schedule.

  • 01/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    St. Thomas is very safe! Public Safety patrols the campus 24/7. If a student wants to be escorted somewhere on campus at night, the Public Safety Officers will gladly do so. There is also an emergency alert system on campus. If a student needs assistance right away, they can press a button and a big blue light starts flashing. Public Safety will respond withing 30 seconds. All of the residence halls are locked 24/7. You need you student ID to enter.

    Greek Life

    UST does not have crazy frats and sororities like you see in the movies. They have a business fraternity and a service/volunteering based sorority.

    Clubs and Activities

    UST has over 140 clubs to get involved in! Whether it be shaking what your mama gave you in swing dance club, or crushing your opponents in one of the many intramural sports, there is something for everyone!

    Great for these types of students

    St. Thomas is great for all types of students! Even though it is a private university, only 50% of the student body is Catholic. There are plenty of opportunites to grow in your faith if you choose to do so, but Catholicism will not be pushed upon you if you are not of that religious affiliation. UST also has 11 men and women's Varsity sports teams along with several club teams. St. Thomas truly has something to offer for everyone, it is just a matter of getting out there and getting involved!!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Tommie-Johnnie football game (against St. John's) is the highlight of the year. It is one of he biggest rivalries amongst private schools in the Midwest! To become a True Tommie, you must kiss another Tommie under the arches a midnight! UST is located just a couple of blocks away from the Mississippi River. It has many gorgeous paths to walk, bike, and jog on!

    Bang for the buck

    Don't be scared away by the cost of tuition! Although it is expensive, it is worth every penny. UST offers a whole bunch of scholarships and financial aid to make it do-able for you and your family. There are also plenty of job opportunities on campus to earn money towards school.

    What to do for fun

    St Thomas is located fairly close to both of the downtowns. Discounted tickets (usually $5) are available for UST students through the Box Office and Expeditions and include transportation to and from events such as Twins, Vikings, and Wild games, fancy restaurants, and theater productions. There is always stuff going on around campus too! Every fall and spring we have a concert that is free for students in the field house. Dierks Bentley, Jordin Sparks, Jack's Mannequin, and Gavin Degraw have been a few of the past performers! We also have a homecoming dance and a spring dance. Sporting events are also pretty big at UST. Students get in free to all home games with their student ID.

    Food and Dining

    There are plenty of dining options at UST! There are two cafeterias, Scooter's (a sit-down restaurant), The Pitstop (smoothie and ice cream joint), a coffee shop on North campus and a snack shack on South campus. All students have the option of getting a meal plan. Meal plans work in either cafeteria on the St Paul campus and also in the cafeteria on the Minneapolis campus. In the cafeterias, we have a Mexican section, Italian section, Chinese section, a main line (home-cooked meal-ish), in addition to a salad and cereal bar and also a sandwich line. I have been a vegetarian for quite a while, and i never ran out of food options! I could eat a brand new thing every day for two weeks straight!

    Dorm Life

    All residence halls on campus are separated by gender (4 female residence halls and 3 male residence halls). I had such a great experience living in a dorm my first year that I wanted to do it again the following year! Every residence hall has a kitchen, lounge area, laundry room, and computer lab in the basement. There are always activities going such as speed dating, bingo, holiday dances, movie nights, etc.. You will never be bored!

    Academic Rigor

    The courses at UST can be challenging, but you gain a lot from them! The average class size is 21 students. Every course is taught by a professor who genuinely wants you to succeed. There are also tutors in every department to help you out if you need it!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are really considering St. Thomas, I would strongly suggest taking a campus tour. If, after, you decide that you UST is still a top contender, sign up for one of the Tommie Overnights! This is an opportunity where you go to campus in the morning, meet other prospective students, attend a class, have lunch in the cafeteria, participate in a whole bunch of fun activities and then spend the night in the dorms with a current student. I did this when I was a senior in high school and had the time of my life!

    In three sentences

    The University of St. Thomas has a really strong community feel. You are surrounded by students and staff who genuinely care about you and want you to succeed. After going here for a few semesters, I can honestly say that choosing to go to St. Thomas is one of the best decisions I've ever made!

  • 01/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is great. they have emergency buttons every where just in case you need the security guard. the security guard also drives around every once in a while to check on things. dorm entrances are also monitored to see who goes in or out. i never feel like i'm in danger when i'm on campus.

    Greek Life

    i can't tell you about greek life because i am not in any greek organizations.

    Clubs and Activities

    clubs are great and organized. there's usually free food too which is a plus! each club that i've been in has had an active and organized schedule. they know what they're going to do for the year/semester.

    Great for these types of students

    it's great for people who don't like to be in crowded places.

    Bang for the buck

    i think personally that it's really great for those who are majoring in sciences and pre-medicine because they have many programs and opportunities for you to have a hands on experience.

    What to do for fun

    university of st. thomas has activities all the time. like they have bingo every once in a while where you can win neat prizes like snuggies and blenders. and they have other events throughout the year that are really fun.

    Food and Dining

    i think that the food that isn't bad. i actually do like a lot of the food. there's also a quiznos that you can eat at too, but if you don't want to eat on campus, there are plenty of places nearby to eat at.

    Dorm Life

    i can't really say much about living in the dorms since i don't live in them, but i do have friends that do live there, and it seems to be really nice. something that allows you to get to know other people is that each hall decorates to a certain theme which could possibly let you get to know people that aren't within your major.

    Academic Rigor

    i don't think i'm taking a class that is too easy or too hard. i've learned a lot from all the teachers i've had and i've retained a lot of what i've learned too.

    Tips for prospective students

    a tip for prospective science majors is that it is kind of difficult and that you will have to take out a lot of time to study.

    In three sentences

    i believe that the university of st. thomas is a great school because i like the small campus and small classes. i also like the fact that it's catholic, which allows me still be an active catholic. i also like the teachers there because they are easy to approach and help you whenever you need.

  • 03/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Guaranteed sure safety at the campus with security roaming around all the hours of the day.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many different varieties of clubs from ethnicity based clubs to belief based clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for those who want to stay close to home, increase their faith as a Catholic individual, or for those who enjoy being close with a close group of people.

    Bang for the buck

    The people there make the stay worth while.

    What to do for fun

    There is always events to do on campus or off campus. Every Tuesday or Thursday is sure to guarantee food and fun for everyone.

    Food and Dining

    The food there is decent. Nothing spectacular there. But there is a campus-owned Quizno's and a cafe that has limited selection of Starbucks coffee.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't give up on your studies. Though there is plenty to do around campus or out of campus, always revert back to your studies and don't lose track or it'll drain you drastically.

    In three sentences

    The campus is not very large and yet not very small. It's a community that is familiar with not just the ones in campus but the ones around and affiliated with the campus. It's a great private institution that is very reliable in your studies and interests.

  • 04/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    5 stars

    Clubs and Activities

    5 stars

    Great for these types of students

    Catholic students or anyone wanting a safe and pleasant environment.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It is a Catholic campus rooted in Catholic tradition which is enlightening and reassuring

    Bang for the buck

    Great value with many ways to reduce costs if you work hard.

    What to do for fun

    Play with the Rock Band, visit local museums and restaurants. Many clubs and other activities available/

    Food and Dining

    5 stars

    Dorm Life

    5 stars

    Academic Rigor

    5 stars

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your grades up to benefit from scholarships. This is not a party school, it is for serious education, but still fun.

    In three sentences

    Small school with many course options. Great spiritual and learning environment. My instructors are all outstanding people and teachers, it is a blessing to be here

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security is present on campus, and there is very little crime in the surrounding area.

    Food and Dining

    It is a small campus, so are there are not a lot of choices, especially if you have special needs like gluten free.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms, but I have never heard anyone complain.

    In three sentences

    Classes are small, Professors are readily available, and genuinely care about the students.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have these little posts about every 100m or so, if you ever need assistance just go up and press the button and the security on duty will get to you very fast since it is a very small campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Everyone is really friendly no matter what club you decide to join, just make sure you participate in events.

    Bang for the buck

    I don't think some classes don't benefit me in the long run but the one's that are relevant to my career, i get a lot out of.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs and attend events!!

    Food and Dining

    Honestly, the food is overpriced and isn't very good.

    Dorm Life

    I don't stay in the dorms but i've been in there a lot and it's pretty nice from what i've seen.

    Academic Rigor

    Absolutely tough schedule if you are a science major.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're pre-med, it is very crucial and beneficial if you take both bio and chem during your first year.

    In three sentences

    UST has great resources to aid you in your academic career, whether it be an accounting degree or a chemistry degree. The professors are very helpful and are almost always available, regardless if it is class-related. Lastly, the rigorous workload and degree plans will prepare you for whatever your post-graduate plans you may have.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Extremely safe

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and activities that involve volunteering.

    Great for these types of students

    UST is great for students who want a small close community and close one on one time with teachers. Its easier to get teacher recommendations. School also has religious studies, hence it is a catholic school but the school does not only teach Catholicism.

    What to do for fun

    Work out at the gym, UST is located close to the museum district and the zoo and other places in downtown. Theres great restaurants around as well.

    Food and Dining

    Don't really eat there cause i don't dorm at UST. Im a commuter Theres a meal plan when your at school.

    Dorm Life

    Don't live in a dorm I heard its good but expensive but what isn't

    Academic Rigor

    Not really sure what academic rigor is but nonetheless all colleges have it's difficult points. UST is great. not to hard but not too easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid. It's a great place. The school helps you out a lot financially and more even if tuition is expensive, don't be afraid. You'll get lots of one on one time with teachers.

    In three sentences

    The school is amazing, extremely cozy, and a great environment. Campus is small and very accessible located in the heart of Houston. Student -Teacher ratio is amazing and because it is a small campus, the university has a very close tight nit community. The school won't leave you behind, they'll do whatever they can to help.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very secured, security guards are always around, especially during night classes.

    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional students with children and families

    Bang for the buck

    Very expensive, but worth every dollar

    What to do for fun

    Join as many clubs and organizations as possible.

    Food and Dining

    Very good and many choices to choose from each day

    Academic Rigor

    Very strenuous and strict.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to give your very best because the professors expect your very best. Attend an Open House and meet the faculty in the department you are interested in attending.

    In three sentences

    University of St Thomas is a awesome Institution of Higher Learning. The staff, faculty, and professors are all educated, no matter what their role is in the university. The atmosphere is very peaceful, which makes for a great learning environment. I have never learned so much vital information in 5 months in all my life.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Expensive, but very worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Movies, museums, parks, sport events, and festivals.

    Food and Dining

    Healthy food at proper temperatures and lots of choices.

    Dorm Life

    Clean, tidy, everyone is nice to each other.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging, fast-paced, very informative.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan accordingly, there is a lot to prepare for.

    In three sentences

    Pleasant student body with high goals and morals. Friendly and helpful professors. Excellent staff willing to help you with anything.

  • 08/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many, many restaurant around the area and UST students get a discount if they show their ID.

    Food and Dining

    The foods good but a bit like fast food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are wonderful and clean, the dorm leaders are really nice and it's really fun to live here.

    Academic Rigor

    It's a good, small school to look forward to because there are good teachers with small classes, so you will learn and get attention from each teacher.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to attend each class and keep up with all the reading and homework.

    In three sentences

    A very good school. The teachers are caring and teach very well. The school is a small and decent size.

  • 09/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The officers really do their job. Whether it's during a school day, weekends, or even during parties thrown by clubs, they seek the best interests of the school and wish no harm to befall students.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs, clubs, and more clubs! Every day, there is some activity somewhere on campus. There is never any rest it seems! But I suppose that is also a good thing, for students shall never lack of a club to join, or perhaps even start. With so many clubs to choose from though, it is difficult to participate in many actively because so many clubs choose to have their meetings on the same day and usually, around the same time too. Unfortunately, that cannot be help. But these clubs on campus are always full of activities and are searching for ways to both entertain and educate students. Perhaps that is why I think that the clubs here are great. Plus, all the students are friendly too. ^^

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A tradition the school wish to have is to have every students and employee revert back to the Don't walk on the seal! tradition. The school also have little American Flags planted in the Academic Hall in remembrance to 9/11. I think those are the two main ones here on campus, but perhaps I am wrong.

    What to do for fun

    Like I mentioned in my Dorm Life Review, the residents have a hang-out place where every Wednesday, the RAs (Residents Advisors) and SA (Sophomore Advisors) through together a meeting with food and sometimes gifts! But if a student is not a resident, he or she can still hang out and have fun too, as long as a resident signs him or her in that is. Other places around campus is the park behind the main hall - Guinan Hall. Students can go for a stroll in the park, or perhaps enjoy a little picnic. For musically incline students, I suggest Cullen Music Hall. It's a building mainly for students who are taking any music courses. On the upper floor in the back, there is a row of rooms; each containing its own piano. It's a great place to practice singing or playing the piano. If a student wishes peace and quite, or a place to chat, the labyrinth is a great place to hang about. Then there is the courtyard for basketball, soccer ball, volleyball, tennis court, and there's even a pool! But if a student is more interested in dancing or something similar, there are lessons in dancing, Tai Chi, Yoga, and even Argentine Tango! A great variety, So, the students will always have a place to hang out and enjoy themselves either physically, mentally, or even spiritually.

    Food and Dining

    What else is there to say? During a semester, the meal plan is included for every residents. There are two different types of plans, and that depends on which residents hall a students decides to stay in. Better yet, the school has a place called Freshens on campus where students can stop by and get a cup of coffee to start the day, fruit blended smoothies, or perhaps even an energy drink to help study. But best of all is the small grocery place inside the cafeteria. They sell both hot and cold food along with ready-to-eat meals and a variety of snacks. Students can buy cereal and milk, frozen food, and fruits too. But among these edible products, the store also sell necessity for the dorm rooms such as cleaning products, sewing kits, Neosporin, band-aids, etc. But enough of that. If residents ever feel like eating out instead, the school lies close to other restaurants that they can walk to too!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty sweet. Though each room has the same furniture, all it takes is a person's touch and time and voila! A student's own personalized temporary home. The school even provides a mini frig and microwave too! That, and if students ever feel like cooking, they can check out the Kitchen whenever. Oh, I almost forgot, On the first floor, there is also a computer lab specifically for residents and upgraded to the versions of every program. Plus, residents can print free of charge there! Of course they must bring their own paper, but compare to ink, that's nothing. Besides, there is also a student lounge where residents can hang about, or perhaps watch a little TV and maybe play ping-pong, pool, or air-hockey! Another thing is that the laundry room, located on the second floor, is easy to use and there is also a coin machine just in case residents do not have any. And last but not least, there is NO curfew time! (:

    Academic Rigor

    The classes here are small, and the professors really get to know you on a more personal level - which is good, because it always help with your grade. If you feel more comfortable around the professor, you are more incline to ask for help when needed, so that is always a plus. (: The professors here are really well accomplished too. Not only that, but their teaching methods really help engage the students in learning the material for the course. It's not always lectures, and so the students get to interact with each other and the professors more often. During a student's college years, he or she has more opportunities open to them for a possible future job. The internships the school is offered and the study abroad programs really helps students to get the best of their college years. That, and the language programs really help students expand their horizon along with other aspects. All in all, a great school to consider.

    Tips for prospective students

    The University of St. Thomas is really a great place to attend. Despite not being a medical school, the school really does have great pre-med programs for medical students and have many available scholarships for struggling students of different majors. As for graduates students, the university has a really great philosophy program and that is definitely something to look into. But as long as students have an open mind and are tolerable, their experience at the university will be worth it.

    In three sentences

    As a small private campus, the University of St. Thomas really shine. Not only do students never lack for an activity, but have many opportunities to fulfill their dreams and satisfy their curiosity. Despite being a Catholic school, the university treats all students the same without any prejudice or stereotypes - both good signs that students shall have a safe and enjoyable time on their journey through life.

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always security walking around campus to make sure everyone is safe. You can always call the security office if you're out at night and need someone to walk with to your car or something and they get there pretty quickly. The university takes student safety VERY seriously so it's not something I tend to worry about on campus.

    Greek Life

    UST has no greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are dozens of clubs and if there isn't a club you want, you can start one no problem. All of the clubs here usually have SOMETHING happening once a week that anyone can come to and the Staff will have little events as well so there is always something to do if you're bored.

    Great for these types of students

    If you're REALLY passionate about your education and care about your academics, this is the school for you. We have sports, but they aren't as big of a deal as a major university like A&M. Most everyone here is really focused on their academics but that doesn't mean they aren't amazing people to just hang out with!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There really isn't a big tradition aspect to UST but the class of 2016 is starting a new tradition of not walking on the seal which is in the sidewalk walking toward the academic mall. UST is in the middle of a quiet neighborhood which is great to take nice walks through and being in the middle of the Montrose area lends it's own unusual aspect to the community.

    Bang for the buck

    Some people give up on St. Thomas because of the cost but I really believe that you get what you pay for and I've only been here one semester. I can really tell that I've learned things because I'm able to talk about it in everyday conversation and I'm really proud for that.

    What to do for fun

    There is literally ALWAYS something happening! Some club is always selling food for fundraising or there's an event once a week like a movie or something fun like that. If you don't like any of that, we're right next to the museum district and the zoo and great restaurants are everywhere around.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good but it is a bit monotonous. Quiznos can always give you some variety I suppose and maybe the Homestyle line but if you're looking in Crooker for something new, don't get your hopes up. Thankfully, it's all really good! If you just can't stand it, there's literally any restaurant you can think of (or something close to it) within ten minutes of campus.

    Dorm Life

    I love living in the dorm! The rooms are great and I think they have a little more room than other dorms which is nice. There is ALWAYS something to do, you just have to venture out of your room. Every Wednesday, there is Wonderful Wednesday which is a great time to just take a break and meet people and have fun! Everyone in the dorm (working there and living there) is insanely nice and willing to help. Don't be shy, say hello!

    Academic Rigor

    So far, I've only had one class that was particularly challenging for me but the professors really try to get you to think and critically apply what you learn in class to things outside of school. Make sure you read everything given to you and get to know how your professors work because it's a HUGE advantage when tests come around. Don't be afraid to ask any question. These people really don't believe that there is a stupid question!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to talk to your professors! They are there for you and they will make time for you but you have to ask! Get involved in as much as you want because it's truly worth it.

    In three sentences

    I've only been here for one semester studying Biology and I can tell that I've really learned and gotten my money's worth. Everyone here is welcoming and easy to talk to. I'm very happy with my decision to come here.

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is small, and I see a security guard about every five minutes driving by. This is a very safe campus.

    Greek Life

    very minimal.

    Clubs and Activities

    For a small school, there are a MILLION clubs. It's also very easy to create one. The clubs on this campus thrive and are highly supported by the student body.

    Great for these types of students

    creative, smart, enthusiastic, dedicated.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This school is not very traditional. I think the prayer maze by the chapel is a pretty cool place to study or talk with friends. The quad is where most clubs stay to annoy you to join.

    Bang for the buck

    The money that you pay mostly goes towards the quality education that you are getting and campus expansion. Its a pretty low-tech school, but is still computer oriented and up to date.

    What to do for fun

    There is usually always a show from the music or drama department. Reslife throws lots of events if you live on campus. There are lots of events on campus that are actually pretty fun, and jerabeck is full of free classes and activities available all the time. Also,the school is in the museum district and minutes from the theater district, downtown, and the galleria area. There is a ton to do at this campus.

    Food and Dining

    The only good thing about the food here is the quiznos. Crooker cafeteria is low quality food (sometimes I think that they just throw together left overs), is way to expensive, and there are not a tone of choices. I know that this is a small school, but I expect more at a private school. The convenience store is not usually stocked, and is very small. The dining area is pretty nice though.

    Dorm Life

    Guinan hall is a great place to live. Evey one has a balcony (or entrance outside), their own bathroom (granite countertops), big rooms, microfrdge, and a lobby with lots of games, community kitchen, study rooms, and a computer lab. The only down side is all the regulations, because it is a catholic school.

    Academic Rigor

    Its definitely a hard school, but it can be done if you are dedicated and love to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Call the school if you have any questions at all. Communicate with the chair of the department that you want to major in. You need good grades (3.3 for scholarships) and good SAT/ ACT scores.

    In three sentences

    This is a great liberal arts college, and the education received here is astounding. The university is Catholic, but widely accepting. The student body is extremely diverse for such a small school.

  • 04/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    its relatively safe, the security is friendly.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Diverse and always looking for new ideas

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive, but they help you out with scholarships the best they can, it helps out a lot.

    What to do for fun

    Just hangout, sometimes go dancing or go out to eat.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good at first, but after a while, you will not like it anymore.

    Dorm Life

    I love living here, but the food you are required to buy is not the best.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, but the teachers help you in any way they can.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like a small campus where people look out for each other, St. Thomas is the place for you.

    In three sentences

    This school is an amazing school. There is more required core classes, but they will help you with the rest of your life. The people here are not as diverse, but that comes with the smaller campus setting.

  • 08/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    wide variety of clubs available.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are ok with a quieter lifestyle. it is by no means a party school, so if you want to go and get drunk with classmates, I'd suggest looking elsewhere.

    Bang for the buck

    This school has an amazing acceptance rate into secondary educations programs for science majors. This includes medical school which was clocked in at 85%. That is high. Come here and the well connected and educated staff will take care of you if you're willing to work.

    What to do for fun

    Its a small campus so most of us go off campus for fun. However it is located downtown so there are plenty of clubs and attractions nearby

    Food and Dining

    The school is located next to Montrose blvd. which is notorious for its unique restaurants. If you're not too lazy to walk down the street you'll never be hungry ;)

    Dorm Life

    dorms are horrid. Heavily regulated and random searches. I'd either commute or get an apartment with a friend.

    Academic Rigor

    Plenty of work, just have to push your self and grind to get it done.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just make sure you have good study and time management skills. A lot is expected of you, but you will always find the help you need if you actively seek it.

    In three sentences

    Great for science majors. Plenty of connections to hospitals for internships and grad school. Plenty of paid research opportunity in the school.

  • 10/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is always many activities and social gatherings going on all the time. They are lots of fun. On of my favorite events is Spring Formal. It's always a good time.

    Tips for prospective students

    The University of St.Thomas is a very friendly school. Don't be afraid to ask for help because everyone is willing to assist you. Become involved and it will open a window of many opportunities. Apply for scholarships!

    In three sentences

    This University is very international. It has a friendly environment. It is such a great school.

  • 10/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The University of St. Thomas is right in Houton's museum district so dont theres alot to do around here. From museums, to a variety of restuarants you are sure to never get bored!

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is not that amazing but everyonce in a while clubs will give out free delicious food that has the taste of home cooked meals so you are not completely doomed to only eat the cafeteria food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms really nice! Each dorm has a bathroom so you dont have to worry about waiting in line! The residence life staff is so friendly they make you feel right at home. Every wednesday it is resident appreciation day they give out food and one is able to play games, do different activities and meet new people. You will definitely make alot of friends!

    Academic Rigor

    The University of St. Thomas is a liberal arts school for such the professors here always challenge you to think out of the box. Although at first it might seem a little hard maybe even stressing the whole purpose is to make out of you a person that will be able to give alot to the community.

    Tips for prospective students

    Although it is a small university, the University of St. Thomas has a lot to offer in every aspect of life from academics to personal life this university will change you for the better.

    In three sentences

    The University of St. Thomas is a small but very friendly university in the Houston area. It is a campus that stresses out the importance of faith and reason. The professors are very kind and willing to help a student suceed.

  • 12/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    People have started walking around the St. Thomas seal in the campus.

    What to do for fun

    JOIN all the clubs, activities and definitely make lots of friends. Theses are the best things to have in there.

    Food and Dining

    Food is pretty good, gets tiring at times though.

    Dorm Life

    I don't dorm here, although I heard it was okay.

    Academic Rigor

    Very rigorous, like I said keep up with all the work and study hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you keep up with all your work! It becomes stressful, but you'll get through it.

    In three sentences

    Good enviorment, really good professors and very rigorous subject. It's quote hard to adjust because it was a new enviorment for me, coming from a public school into a private university, I love it here though.

  • 12/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus. Guards are visible all day and evening long.

    Greek Life

    The Knights of Columbus are the only major known Greek-like organization, though not very active and more secretive than most

    What to do for fun

    Multiple clubs and easy to create new clubs. There are several events held on campus such as the Italian Festival, the International Festival, and the Major Festival.

    Food and Dining

    Not much variety unless one wants to drive to the several restaurants surrounding the campus.

    Dorm Life

    Expensive for one to live in the dorms. Living in the college apartments is less expensive though still in a roommate situation.

    Academic Rigor

    Very challenging and high expectations from professors. Attendance is highly expected and challenging questions and comments are encouraged.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure you are not only college prepared, but University ready. This is not a party school, but a real campus with a small warm environment.

    In three sentences

    High quality university, with small classes allowing more one on one time and help from professors. The campus is pretty much opened up to many people of different and no faith at all. University has an array of travel abroad opportunities and scholarships for many fields.

  • 01/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Im not sure. I work and go to classes so I really haven't had time to explore.

    Tips for prospective students

    study hard make sure you pay attention don't throw money to the trash

    In three sentences

    good teachers greta class size love the campus

  • 01/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    -UST is a place where you feel safe all the time.

    Great for these types of students

    -It is great for all types of students especially for catholics

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not walk through the UST seal until your graduate

    What to do for fun

    -Join different clubs, and go to the games of the different teams in school.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent food for different tastes.

    Dorm Life

    -It is a warm place where you will meet great people

    Academic Rigor

    -It is an excellent place where you will grow academically bceause they offer many classes that noone would ever imagine.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Organize your time wisely. -Involve in different clubs and assosiations -Talk to your professors -let them know that you are interest in their classes.

    In three sentences

    University of St. Thomas is a great univeristy where it will provide the students the liberal arts education with a background of Catholic belief. University of St. Thomas is a university with people from different cultures. University of St. Thomas is a place where everyone can have the best experince that would remain for the rest of their lives.