Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

University of Tulsa (TU) Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/18/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 10 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 1 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I've noticed that TU consists mostly of engineering majors. So if you're one of the geeks at your school, you definitely belong here. Here, geeks aren't considered geeks. Actually, many of them are part of fraternities and sororities. You would also enjoy TU if you are into international studies because there are tons of international students here and the university highly encourages travel abroad.

    Tips for prospective students

    I was told that I shouldn't worry about college - that it'll be easy. That isn't necessarily true for TU. I'm not saying that TU is impossible to get through academically, but you have to really set your mind on the school work. I do all of the suggested problems that are assigned to me and study rigorously for the tests. At first, I was just thinking hey, this is college, I can miss a few classes but I soon learned that that was a very bad idea. Missing a few classes means missing a lot of notes that will come in very handy for future tests. So my tip for any prospective students is not to miss any classes and actually try to do your best in all of your classes. As my chemistry professor said: You may have been one of the brightest students in your high school, but look around you. Here, everyone of you were the brightest of your high school. You're going to have to try harder than you did in high school to get through this.

    Bang for the buck

    As many students know, TU isn't the cheapest university out there. On the contrary, it is quite expensive. I'm not quite sure if it's worth it. I am learning a lot and I do enjoy the campus atmosphere, however, I do believe that I could find similar education at a low-priced university. But, TU does specialize in engineering and I feel like the tuition is worth it for engineering classes. Fortunately, I am an engineering major.

    Am enjoying being here

    At first, I didn't think I would like TU just because I have lived in Tulsa all of my life and going to TU would only mean that I would be stuck in Tulsa even longer. But the campus is like a whole other world - not even Tulsa. I don't feel like I'm as close to home as I actually am. Living on campus is great - it's so beautiful and you have so many opportunities to explore the school. I have yet to become too social though, so I don't think I'm having quite as much fun as I could be. But I plan to socialize a bit more in the near future.

    Am learning a lot

    In high school, I usually forget a lot of the material that I learn within a few weeks. But, somehow the TU professors have managed to implant into my brain everything they have ever taught me - I can't seem to forget any of it. This comes in rather helpful around test time. At the moment, I am taking very basic classes, so I don't see exactly how it'll be helpful in my career quite yet. But I have been taught all of this material very well. I am looking forward to my future courses that will focus more on my major.

  • 07/14/2009

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    6 out of 10 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 2 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    TU is great for students who would rather study a lot than think outside the box. I found that I could not have a good discussion in my English classes because the students there were too used to AP English where they just said what the teacher wanted to hear. Perhaps this was just because I was a freshman.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to talk to people from all over the world! You have a unique opportunity because you will be with people from, in particular, the biggest oil production nations in the world. I learned so much about this industry while I attended TU.

    Did learn a lot

    For the program I was in, I learned a lot, but I felt that my education was not well-rounded enough. I liked that I had to take many different subjects, but I felt that my computer science courses were too focused on security and not enough on theory.

  • 01/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    TU is really rigorous academically, but its definitely doable. You just have to be able to study. But one of the things I love most about TU is how diverse the student population is. There are so many international students and so many people from all walks of life. I love it!

    Tips for prospective students

    Come take a tour of the campus! Taking a tour will really let you know if you feel at home at the school or not. Also, TU offers a few events for seniors called Tulsa Time, where you come stay with a student for a night and go to several activities and meetings all about the university. That was a great time, and it was really cool to see the campus and the students from the inside.

    Bang for the buck

    TU can get pretty pricey, but you are getting a first rate education. We are often called the Harvard of the Midwest, and that is certainly true. The teachers are all passionate about what they teach, so its worth it. And TU offers some pretty excellent scholarships (i.e. any national merit scholar gets free tuition.)

    Am enjoying being here

    I LOVE the campus, and through different activities and events, I have met some amazing people. I was nervous about going to a school with no one from my high school class, but I was so perfectly matched with my roommate, and I have met so many great people that it isn't a problem at all. It really feels like a community because it is smaller, and its nice to see people everyday that I recognize or are friends with.

    Am learning a lot

    I love the University of Tulsa's curriculum. All students have to take certain classes, and it helps to break up your classes that are all focused on your major. Also, all liberal arts majors are required to have a minor (and science majors are encouraged to have one), which really gave me the opportunity to expand my horizons and learn about subjects that have always interested me.

  • 03/31/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always campus security patrolling the grounds. Not only are they helpful and friendly, they are also out to keep you safe, and I never feel unsafe here!

    Clubs and Activities

    There is never a loss of things to do at TU. Plenty of variety!

    Great for these types of students

    Anybody can fit in at TU. Fantastic environment!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You have to love the bell that you will ring on graduation. Can't wait until I can do that!

    Bang for the buck

    It is a little pricey, but the education here is top-notch!

    What to do for fun

    Tulsa has a lot to do! If it isn't football or basketball season for the Golden Hurricane anymore, you can head downtown to an Oilers game, or head out for a nice day at the zoo. Or just join a club and have fun on Campus!

    Food and Dining

    The dining areas are new and nice, and even if you do not want to eat on campus, Tulsa has a lot of good restaurants!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are awesome and big. Accommodations like these are hard to come by!

    Academic Rigor

    Great academics and the teachers are amazing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely apply! If you are unsure about your interest, visit the school. It is beautiful and you will feel right at home!

    In three sentences

    I visited the TU campus a couple of weeks ago and fell in love with the school. The staff and student ambassadors were so friendly and helpful that it made me feel right at home. Definitely at the top of my list!

  • 08/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is constantly patrolled. I have never had a security issue.

    What to do for fun

    There are many on campus meetings each day that offer free lunch. TU has wonderful sports teams and the local community comes out to support the Hurricane teams.

    Food and Dining

    ACAC offer fast and friendly dining.

    Academic Rigor

    Exceptional. It is easy to tell you are a part of a private university, but the resources make your education feasible.

    Tips for prospective students

    The class size is small and it is easy to meet other students. Campus is easy to navigate.

    In three sentences

    University of Tulsa offers superior education opportunities. The instructors treat students professionally and with respect. The bar is set very high, but TU provides many resources to assist students succeed.

  • 04/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Amazing. They do round 24/7 and they will escort you at night if you feel unsafe.

    Greek Life

    They do tons of activities and philanthropy. They are very active in school.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a club fair in the beginning of the year that would email you when an event is going on.

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of students but if your looking for a diversity school and experiencing new cultures than this is a great school

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have hurricane thursdays where in the fall there is an events every Thursday and you can get a card hole punched that would give out prizes.

    Bang for the buck

    The college is a little priceynut it really is a great school.

    What to do for fun

    You can go out with friends, they provide many on-Campus activities and a shuttle that will take you to shopping places on weekends. Also the student center is fun. Also you can relax on one of the U's.

    Food and Dining

    The staff is really nice and friendly. The hours are not late and the food is good but has its off days.

    Dorm Life

    The community is great and you can make a lot of friends. The resident halls provide excellent activity and also make sure the freshman or transfers are really settled in.

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent. They show you a lot of work but the courses are challenging but not failing hard and if you are failing then they will try and help you out.

    Tips for prospective students

    They have many job fairs and they are very active. They will tell you what kind of fields or jobs you can do that deal with your major

    In three sentences

    A wonderful community and very helpful. The school has a lot of opportunities and would help with anything. They really treat you well here.

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    TU is in a somewhat dangerous part of town but there are as many campus security guards as students.

    Greek Life

    Greek life makes up a large portion of the student body. The sororities and fraternities are very engaging, not just with each other but also with non-Greek students. The houses have philanthropy events and parties that anyone is welcome to attend.

    Great for these types of students

    International students (huge part of the student body), people with a desire for leadership

    Bang for the buck

    TU is expensive in comparison to a state school, but the education is much more valuable. More than half the student body has some form of scholarship from TU, and quite a few students have full scholarships. Because of the connections TU has, it is easy to get an internship even as a freshman. Some internships pay as much as an entire semester of tuition, making it definitely worth it.

    What to do for fun

    The faculty at TU do a great job at planning student activities that people will actually go to. Every event I've attended has been worthwhile.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is decent, the food isn't terrible. There is one on campus restaurant with good food, and several fast food places.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorm experience is awesome, there are interesting activities offered on a weekly basis. The lobbies of this dorm are constantly filled with students playing board games, watching movies, or talking.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at TU are very challenging but not impossible. I've left every class feeling like I learned something I didn't know and something that I would actually use in the future. Almost every class is time consuming and difficult but the professors grade very fairly. If you work hard, you will do well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early and be aggressive about scholarships. TU has plenty to offer!

    In three sentences

    The University of Tulsa is very academic based; curriculums require students to take the maximum amount of hours almost every semester. Despite the time commitment that this brings, the student association constantly has intriguing events to offer. Overall, Tulsa is an extremely well-rounded university.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never had anything stolen. Its very good.

    Greek Life

    I am not involved in greek life. My girlfriend is though, and she loves it.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many of my friends have plenty to do every day. I am too busy running on the school team.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who don't mind hanging out for fun rather than always having activities to do.

    Bang for the buck

    It is expensive. Thank God for scholarships

    What to do for fun

    I am on the school cross country and track teams so I have very little free time. Usually I just hang out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    Many people would dissagree with giving the dining a 5 star. For me, It was awesome though. I am celiac and they prepare me gluten free food for every meal.

    Dorm Life

    Good dorms, wish there were more hall activities

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on what major you select, the workload can be big

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved early. Do not wait to meet people because the size of the university leads to a less active campus.

    In three sentences

    If you enjoy and academic challenge, TU is a great school. The campus atmosphere is nothing like the atmosphere at a larger university so you have to search to get involved. The nice thing is that it is very hard to slip through the cracks at a university of this size.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campo (as they are affectionately known) are always around campus on bikes or in their cars. The campus is well lit and usually pretty quiet.

    Greek Life

    Greek life thrives at TU, although less than 25% of people are involved.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a number of different groups to get involved with at TU. There are a plethora of religious organizations and also intramurals, honors societies, academic groups, and greek life.

    Great for these types of students

    Any and all students can find a place at TU as long as they are willing to do some work. It's not plausible to just come to college, party, and still pass classes without any studying.

    Bang for the buck

    The University of Tulsa is on the rise as a well known, academically rigorous school. While tuition is pricey, the degree you will get from TU verses a lesser known school will give you the extra edge in job applications.

    What to do for fun

    Go to sporting events both on campus and off; visit local coffee shops; check out concerts at the multiple venues around Tulsa; or try shopping at either one of the local malls.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall was redone in 2010 and is very chic looking. The food leaves some to be desired though. Options are often limited, though the food is usually pretty good. Chick-fil-A, Subway, Benvenutos, and the Hut offer some different options on the other side of campus and all have delicious food.

    Dorm Life

    All of the dorms provide a different type of community. Lottie Jane is the all female hall where a lot of crafting, baking, and movie watching happens. John Mabee is the all male hall known for the more studious and international students. Fisher South is the all freshmen hall which has a lot of activities geared toward freshmen. Fisher West is suite style living for upperclassmen. East side includes Lafortune, 5th Place, and 7th Street house which are all currently being turned into an international living community.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses can be very difficult even some you will take for gen eds. Professors are always very helpful and considerate if you are struggling in their class. The important thing is to go and ask for help; they will be happy to have someone visit them during their office hours.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Live on campus - it is how you will make the most acquaintances and friends. 2. Study - you cannot play all day at TU, there is a lot of work involved! 3. Volunteer- find an organization you are passionate about and spend some time each week volunteering. 4. Play in the fountains - enough said. 5. Spend time outside- both the old U and new U provide sunny spots for studying and playing frisbee.

    In three sentences

    A smaller school with great academics and athletics. It's often called the Harvard of the mid-west and has been rising steadily in Princeton Review rankings. The people are friendly and the faculty is helpful.

  • 03/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I never feel unsafe here, even when alone at night. But some people have been mugged recently right near the school and its a fairly dangerous area in general. But the campus is well-protected with good lighting and lots of security guys driving around.

    Greek Life

    I love Greek life. I have been in a sorority since the very beginning of freshman year and it has NOT been the only factor to define my life. Greek students actually have the highest overall GPA and the most active involvement on campus and in holding positions on campus, so you definitely won't fail out and become an over-partied kid if you join a house. Once again, you get out what you put into it, and I've devoted a lot to my sorority so I have gotten out a lot too. My best friends are all spread out in different houses and different groups on campus so no being in a greek house will not limit you. I recommend going Greek! :)

    Clubs and Activities

    There is literally every type of club, group, and activity imaginable, but if for some reason you don't find the club you're looking for then you can start it yourself! Student Association provides funding for students starting new clubs if they are approved. So the sky is the limit, in fact you should come start a sky-diving club here!

    Great for these types of students

    Studious students. Kids who like to have fun but in a place that is safe and where there are friends around you. Students who want new exciting experiences like studying abroad, starting their own clubs, etc.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The fraternities always have ridiculous and hilarious traditions that you'll see happening every now and then. Some students have a tradition of trying to score the tallest buildings on campus. I've been to the roof of the second tallest building but no one can figure out how to get on the roof of the library... One day! Maybe you'll be the one who wins the title?

    Bang for the buck

    TU is definitely really expensive, but not if you get a lot of scholarships. But SA is always funding awesome stuff, parties, free shirts, and tonight we have a free on-campus concert that Imagine Dragons is performing live at, pretty sweet TU!

    What to do for fun

    I used to drink and party, which certainly does happen on campus (it's a wet campus), however I stopped drinking two years ago and still have so much fun here at TU! You can party and have fun without drinking, and you can also do tons of other activities like go to student shows and plays, attend awesome concerts at the BOK center or convention center downtown (they always bring in amazing bands, we just had Taylor Swift, Muse, Maroon 5, etc.). You can go to the malls that are nearby, the bar distract nearby, the riverwalk nearby, visit tons of art districts and museums, etc. We have a great gym on campus that I go to all the time. You can attend fitness classes, join fun clubs like the outdoor adventure club, TU Two-Stepping (dancing club), or just play outside in U (the commons) with a couple friends and a frisbee! We are a Division-1 sports school so our basketball, soccer, football, tennis, golf teams are all fantastic and students go to games for free.

    Food and Dining

    I only had a meal plan on campus for one semester before I moved into my sorority house. But from my experience, the meal plan wasn't the best. There weren't a lot of vegetarian options, the dining hours weren't very flexible if you had late classes, there weren't a ton of healthy options, and a'la carte items are so expensive. But it is nice that it's a buffet so you can eat however much you want, there are yummy desserts, the soups are good, and the salad bar is awesome! Also, there's a mocha machine, that rocks too. You can also swipe a meal and take a sack lunch whenever you need to and get apples and stuff whenever, plus your meal card works on vending machines and the cantine, so that's nice too.

    Dorm Life

    You get out what you put into it. I lived in the dorms briefly before moving into my sorority house and I loved the dorms. I felt like it was a small close family where I could be myself and go through some of the same experiences with other new students. Some people choose to stay quietly hidden in their rooms but if you come out to hang with the lobby rats you will make some goofy friends really quickly :)

    Academic Rigor

    This school will challenge you. Sure you can take easier classes at other schools but this school will require that you put some effort into your education. There is no such thing as an easy major here, they are all academically rigorous, but it is worth it and I guarantee that if you invest in it from your freshmen year on out then you�ll get the hang of balancing it. You WILL learn something here.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking for a school to just blend in and slip through, then don't come to TU, because this school is the place where you go to become part of a community. That's what small schools are all about. You WILL be challenged here, you WILL get lost in piles of work sometimes, you WILL need to study sometimes, you WILL stay up way too late having way too much fun sometimes, but you also WILL walk away in 4 (or 5) years with a valuable degree and even more valuable friendships and memories. I recommend that you take advantage of the opportunity to make an impact on your professors and get to know them, they can write some great recommendations for you in the future which helps with jobs and internships! Don't just skip class and treat freshmen year like a joke or you will regret it. I had a ton of fun freshmen year, joined a sorority, got really involved in organizations and clubs and STILL worked hard enough to get a 4.0, which helps so much late on down the road when the work gets harder. It's worth it!

    In three sentences

    The University of Tulsa is a small and selective school full of bright, high-achieving students who are so close that they're like one big family (I'm serious, we all pretty much know each other). Even though the city is a bit sketchy, I never feel unsafe on campus because there are always friendly people walking around and campus security on patrol. This school offers so many unique opportunities to design your own major and curricular, start your own SA-funded club (in case you don't find one you like among the many options), get personal attention from professors, and meet some of the most intelligent and fun friends ever!

  • 05/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek Life is a great part of the University. Rush is a fantastic opportunity to meet new people, get free food, and get to know a potential house that could grant you some interest. Being in Greek life means you get to create ideas for brotherhood events, community service events, philanthropy events, and sorority functions. The Greek Life at TU shows an entirely new social side to the campus that is work getting involved in.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of activities to do on campus. TU provides social events about every single day and they provide free food and an interactive experience. Whether it be sporting events, Greek philanthropy events, club events, and celebratory events. Tulsa also provides great activities off campus as well. Downtown Tulsa has a great scene for food, music festivals, bowling alleys, drive through movies, country bars, and holiday festivals as well.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is something that needs to be worked on. Although the renovations to the cafeteria are magnificent, the quality of the food can lack. Sometimes they have food that is quite tasteful and filling, and other days you don't even know what is on your trey.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is a great part of the University of Tulsa. Although there can be some difficulties because of the rising number of students coming into the institution, the dorms provide many fun ways to get to know your dorm-mates with activities such as games, movies, parties, and other social interactions.

    Academic Rigor

    The University of Tulsa is a challenging schools that expands on cognitive stimulation and provides new ways to look at course material. TU provides in depth looks at course material that may seem challenging, but is worth the while in the long run. Professors are very easy to meet with and reevaluate misunderstood material for students.

    Tips for prospective students

    TU does an amazing job at providing tips to create an overall better college experience. They provide ways to interact to with prospective students with meetings and get-togethers with students living in your state.

    In three sentences

    They are the absolute best at making students feel welcome and secure in their new environment with new ways to meet faculty and other students. TU provided great support when registering for classes and making sure that the students are on the right track to graduating. TU also provides great academic support to make sure that there is no student being left behind (as long as the student takes advantage of the opportunities).

  • 06/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    TU creates a good blend of academics, athletics and a party atmosphere. It may not sound possible but the University does it quite well. It is a Division 1 school for athletics meaning athletes do get a bit of preference in some things but don't let that make you think academics aren't important. TU is rather prestigious in the area and anyone will respect a TU grad. All the while, there is a large Greek presence on campus which rounds out the campus making it good for anyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    - Don't pass up on residence hall living for at least one year. You'll regret it if you do. Living in Fisher South or one of the other residence halls is an experience you won't regret - Stop eating at the cafeteria as soon as the option becomes available to you. It's not worth the money when you can make your own food or eat at other places on campus

    Bang for the buck

    A University like TU is great but it has a catch: the cost. The classes and everything on campus are great but the prestigious nature of the college and the division 1 athletics definitely works to rack up the price. But it pays you back, mostly. I may change my mind down the road depending on how much of my education comes in handy.

    Am enjoying being here

    The University is definitely a great place to study, live, you name it. The only thing that keeps TU from getting a full five stars is the cafeteria. Other than that, the classes are great, dorm life is fun to be a part of and there are even apartments on campus.

    Am learning a lot

    The University of Tulsa has a wide range of classes to choose from. Of course as with any college you will have to get through a stringent laundry list of required courses for your major (I am sure it'll be useful in the long run) but once you blaze through these, the options are pretty out there. Everything is there from Latin to Ancient China/Japan and all the way over to some open studio arts. The professors always have something to add and definitely act as if they want to teach what their topic is.

  • 07/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are serious about their education. Not for the all out party goer but greek life sates some of those. Athletes that want to play on a high level get a great education at the same time.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan to come to TU, don't plan on just breezing by and partying your way through school. It takes some self discipline and time management, but some handle it better than others. Studying is a must. Best advice, learn time management and certainly get your finances in order. Always get to know your professors, it really pays off. Look for text books online, it can really save some money. Check out the majors before you go there because there isn't a huge variety.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is pricey, but advisors do their best to find you a good amount of financial aid. There is a bit to be desired in terms of choices of majors. I would say the academics are definitely worth it, but the draw backs are the cost of housing and meal plans. Which living on campus and meal plans are required for the first two years unless you live within 20 miles of the campus and plan to commute. The school is great, but money can easily become an issue.

    Am enjoying being here

    I very much enjoy being at TU because it is so academically respectable and still a ncaa division 1 school. It is so true when they tell you that you can walk across campus and see somebody you know and at the same meet new people. The only downside I find is that since it is a smaller school and academically inclined, school spirit in terms of athletics doesn't always draw the biggest crowd. I just wish some people were more outgoing. The school is great about free tickets to all the athletic events, and it is easy to get involved. I participated in Blue Crew a few times in which I would paint up and run across the football field before games. I also ran the flags once at the baskball games. Plus, I just walked onto the cross country team. All the employees here are so helpful and don't treat you as a number. I really enjoy the fact that the school doesn't have the big issue of cliques. Overall it is a great school but only wish the campus was a little bigger.

    Am learning a lot

    The course work for this college sure is dense. You don't doubt if you are getting an education. It certainly isn't a blow off college and can't be treated as one. I am a pre-medical student and was a biology major for the first year and they were serious when they told me that pre-med students don't get a semester or two easy. You jump right into it and hit the ground running. With the smaller class sizes the professors are very encouraging for you to interact with them and talk with them outside of class. It was always rather easy to get a hold of them and almost always go out of their way to help you, but you certainly have to put in the work. In the end, even if you didn't get a 4.0 like high school, you have a sense of achievement and knowledge that I believe some state schools wouldn't of provided.

  • 01/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    every thursday, tu hosts an event. these events have included drive-in movies on the u, bowling nights, dances, car smashes, etc. the downtown of the city of tulsa is a mile away, and you can find a large variety of restaurants, museums and clubs.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria is open all day, buffet style. also, the student center houses subway, chik-fill-a, a great italian place, the hut (a mini-restaurant) and some coffee shops. dining dollars, which come with your meal plan, are accepted at all.

    Dorm Life

    there are 5 main dorms on campus, including an all girls and an all boys dorm. there are suite style rooms and traditional dorm rooms. also, on campus apartments are available to those who qualify. residents halls frequently plan activities (at least once a weak) that students are encouraged to attend

    Academic Rigor

    the university of tulsa jumped to spot 75 on the best colleges in the country this year (2011). professors cater to students needs; if the majority of students in a course are suffering, the professors will change the syllabus to the classroom needs.

    Tips for prospective students

    you need to get involved! tu has a plethora of activities, from gameboard clubs to religious groups. the university even partners with elementary and middle schools in the surrounding neighborhoods for mentoring programs.

    In three sentences

    the university of tulsa is an extremely diverse campus. many students from all over the world attend here involved in many of the extracurricular clubs available. furthermore, the professors treat each student as an individuals, truly intent on creating the best college graduates possible.

  • 03/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 15 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    overload of campo.

    Greek Life

    very tiny..

    Clubs and Activities

    boring.

    Great for these types of students

    smart people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    biggest bonfire on earth.

    Bang for the buck

    this depends on your major and what classes you choose. i think it's too expensive regarding the physical/biological science and math classes that are taught in a very confusing way. you're pretty much teaching yourself.

    What to do for fun

    tulsa is boring in general. go run through the fountain. ha.

    Tips for prospective students

    loans, scholarships, and dont take over 15 hours.

    In three sentences

    expensive, scholastic, and provides great opportunity.

  • 03/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    the teachers are awesome!

    Tips for prospective students

    try hard on your psats. it can be the difference between a full scholarship and a really good scholarship. apply early to tu, it gets you a more preference on scholarship. visit campus!

    In three sentences

    it is the most wonderful school; every day i fall in love with it more and more. the campus is gorgeous and down to earth. the faculty is really nice and helpful and make you feel at home.

  • 03/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Constant patrolling officers and the blue light system.

    Greek Life

    Not mandatory to fit in, but an interesting thing to be involved in if that's what you want.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 100 clubs to choose from, there is more than likely one out there for everyone. If not, start your own.

    Great for these types of students

    ALL

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't think that because it's small that it's not as good as some of the other schools out there, or that because some of its programs aren't the number one talked about that they aren't top notch. TU is one of the most amazing colleges in the country.

    In three sentences

    A school that provides a great cultural and artistic environment to students. A school that has one of the best engineering programs in the world. An all around good place to go to school.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The main dining place for freshmen and sophomores is the cafeteria that is in in between Fisher South and Fisher West Suites. It serves every meal each day and has some very good special occasion food, say during weekends where parents and prospective students. During finals week the caf serves breakfast one night after dinner to gives students that needed studying break to fuel up! However, the caf is the reason my rating of campus food options is three star. Other than the occasions I just described, the caf is known to sometimes slip on their food quality. For the most part though the food is good and the staff is friendly. The other food options on campus reside in the activity center on the other side of campus. Subway, Chick-Fil-A, an Italian eatery called Benvenutos, and a sports bar called The Hut are the most popular places. There is also a convenience store and various options for to go meals in the activity center as well as the cafeteria. You can pay for your meals with your student I.D. (meal plan) and can even use your meal plan off campus! There are various locations just off campus that accept Hurricane Gold Dollars, a type of debit account that is accessible through your student I.D.

    Dorm Life

    Fisher South is the all Freshmen First Year Resident Experience dorm and is really the most social dorm on campus! It is three stories with an open lobby on each floor to study or hang out in. A kitchen and a study lounge occupy the second and third floors. I highly recommend Fisher South for Freshman students, even if you live in Tulsa! Activities are regularly planned for every residence hall member to participate in. Besides the Fisher South co-ed freshmen dorm, there are residence halls with suite style living, an all girls dorm and an all boys dorm. There are also many apartment complexes on campus for a more independent housing option for most juniors and seniors. I have not heard too very exciting things about the boys dorm, John Mabee Hall. I have not lived there, but I've heard most guys there who are freshmen would rather be in Fisher South. But no matter where you live on campus, every room has a bed, desk, drawers, and a closet for each person. Each residence hall has a front desk for assistance and mail service. Overall I am very satisfied with on campus living so far and there is no better substitute for getting to know your fellow students and making life long friends than living on campus with them.

    Academic Rigor

    From the viewpoint of my completed classes so far at TU, classes are pretty rigorous, but far from impossible and very helpful. With a low faculty to student ratio, you get more attention as a student than you would at a larger, public university. The professors are very accessible and are always happy to answer questions after or outside of class. Course material is challenging, but you really learn as much as you want to. In other words, the more you put into your studying, the more you will get out of it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for the Presidential Scholarship! You can't beat a full ride scholarship with everything paid for including basically unlimited money for dining. Being an engineering student, I can tell you that TU's College of Engineering and Natural Sciences is top notch, especially the school of Petroleum Engineering and the school of Computer Science. But no matter your academic major, opportunities abound for you here.

    In three sentences

    The University of Tulsa has a small school feel, but gets big school attention. The smallest school with Division I sports has some of the best academic programs you'll find. TU's close knit family makes you feel right at home on campus and among your fellow students.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    19 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sports, nearby attractions. The activity center is a great place to spend time and exercise the stress away.

    Food and Dining

    The food is amazing! Be conscientious of the food plan you choose. Keep in mind that you won't always be dining on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Lovely dorms. Diverse community.

    Academic Rigor

    The curriculum is tough but not impossible. Stay focused and work hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your best on the ACT/SAT. It will only help you in the long-run. Push yourself to complete those scholarship applications because for an accredited school like TU, you'll need it.

    In three sentences

    Their campus is amazing! The curriculum is outstanding! I cant wait to attend after my 2 years at TCC.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a nice little cafe inside the library!

    What to do for fun

    There are many groups to join that host all kinds of activities. Also, there are tons of fun restaurants, movie theaters, and even a couple of bowling alleys.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for serious work and you will do great. The professors are really good about helping the students who put forth the effort.

    In three sentences

    The University of Tulsa is an excellent school for serious students. The professors are of the highest caliber and the classes offered are diverse. TU is one of the nation's 75 highest ranked universities.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have always felt safe on campus, even though it's in North Tulsa. While Campus Police [called Campo by its students and faculty] may attract a lot of jokes, they at least do their job well.

    Greek Life

    I am not involved with Greek life myself, but I have heard from a lot of boys in fraternities and girls in sororities that their respective houses are very open, welcoming, and foster friendship and academic responsibility. They throw some pretty great parties, too!

    Bang for the buck

    Why only three stars? While TU has a beautiful campus, interesting professors, and wonderful students, sometimes you might wonder if it's really worth forty grand a year. My friends and I have a joke, that all of our tuition money goes straight to watering the grass; they even water it while it's raining! In all seriousness, the bang for your buck all depends on why you're there, how much scholarship money you got, and how much you take advantage of the opportunities TU has to offer. If all you do is sit in your dorm and do your homework, then no, forty grand a year is certainly not worth it; you could be a social pariah anywhere. If you go out and join clubs, talk to professors, meet up with friends, and get involved in your community, then forty grand might not seem so bad. It all depends on what you make of it.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many things to do on campus, I couldn't possibly even start to describe them. First of all, there are hundreds of student clubs and organizations you can get involved with, and even though that sounds like just a resume booster, I can tell you from experience that, if you're interested, it can be a LOT of fun. There's always some sort of activity going on around campus, whether it be a dorm sponsored event like watching Monty Python out on the U, or just some friends getting together to play frisbee. There are things to do off campus, too; there are two malls within seven miles of campus, a few bowling alleys, a lot of places to go out to eat, some eighteen and over clubs, and a host of things to do downtown. My friends and I even went to a luchador wrestling match once! If none of that is for you, keep in mind that you can still do all the little, fun things with friends; watch movies, play video games, take walks, and goof around.

    Food and Dining

    TU has a pretty good meal plan; you can choose meals per week, or meals per semester, anywhere from about 6 to 10 a week or all the meals you can possibly get. Meals only apply to the cafeteria, known affectionately as the caf at TU, which is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. They also apply to a small store in the Allen Chapman Activity Center [known as ACAC] that sells to go meals. The meal plan also comes with dining dollars, that you can spend at the C-Store behind the Caf [they have delicious smoothies!], the smoothie bar in the gym, and the Subway, Benvenito, and Chick-fil-a in ACAC. All of the places to eat on campus will also take cash, though if you pay with dining dollars, you don't have to pay tax. The Italian place in ACAC, Benvenito, is certainly to die for, and I would reccomend eating there as often as you can, though the Caf leaves a lot to be desired.

    Dorm Life

    Living in a dorm connects you to the campus in a way that living off-campus never can. You're around all the time, and you learn about all the activities going on, not to mention you have all the free time in the world to hang out with friends. Living off-campus, if you can, is quite the money saver, but when you think about how disconnected you are from the people and the fun, sometimes, it might be worth spending that extra ten grand.

    Academic Rigor

    TU fosters a learning environment, and the teachers work very hard to ensure academia is taken seriously. Regardless, TU is not soley focused on academia; there's always something fun to do other than your homework, whether it be a party on Frat Row, a club meeting somewhere on campus, a campus sponsored activity, or even just hanging with friends, and in no way, shape, or form are the students one hundred percent focused on their academic work. College is not just a place of learning, it is a life experience, and TU and its students understand that.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure the school has good programs in every area of academia that interests you! As you grow as an individual and learn more about your possible career paths and what you want to do in life, you may decide to change your major---and that's fine! Changing one's major is very common, and nothing to be ashamed of. Just ensure that the college you want to go isn't so specialized that you get stuck in one area and can't change and grow. TU is one of those schools that has good programs overall; but no matter how much I claim TU is wonderful, you have to make sure it's wonderful for YOU.

    In three sentences

    A fun, beautiful campus packed with interesting students and hundreds of ways to get involved in campus life, as well as the surrounding community. The teachers care about you as a student, not as a number, and they try to help you succeed as much as they can. Overall, it's a wonderful place to go to college.

  • 08/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    Tough courses and high expectation of students. Professors are easy to access,.

    Tips for prospective students

    Need a good GPA so keep up your grades. Want to study law work hard.

    In three sentences

    One of the best in the USA. Tough but fair.

  • 09/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is probably one of the most important things to our campus. We have security patrolling everywhere on vehicles, bikes, swat trucks, and on foot. You definitely feel safe on campus with these guys around!

    Greek Life

    I definitely recommend Greek Life to everyone! I'm heavily involved, and it is a little bit different than state schools. Fraternities here get along with each other, same for sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have just about any kind of club. Events are always going on all over campus, and is open to the whole campus. Plenty of options!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want to further their education, get involved, have fun, and have a great college experience.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In the middle of our biggest courtyard on campus, we have a huge flowerbed that spells TU. Once a year, in the fall, we have a huge bonfire on campus to burn up the flowerbed right before the winter.

    Bang for the buck

    Even though it is very expensive, you get ALOT in return. We are rated in the top 5 for the most beautiful campus in the nation. We have very sought-after professors across all of our colleges.

    What to do for fun

    I am heavily involved in a fraternity on campus, so that keeps me busy. There are many organizations on campus to be involved in, and events are always going on (free food!). As for close to campus, there is bowling, paintball, laser tag, and movie theaters.

    Food and Dining

    Again, nothing special here. The cafe is nothing to brag about, but it's not bad. There are other choices on campus, such as Chik-fila and Subway, so you have options.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are ok. There is nothing special about them. Living on campus is very expensive though.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic competitiveness here is very real. For example, we are ranked fourth in the nation for our Petroleum Engineering program. We are in the top 75 universities in the nation overall.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely come tour the campus many times so you can get a feel for it. Talk to the professors and get to know them. Find ways to get involved on campus.

    In three sentences

    The University of Tulsa is a private university numbering at about 4000 grads/undergrads combined. It is a very academically competitive school, especially its engineering college. The beautiful campus, the small class size, and the competitive atmosphere makes it ideal for any student who is seeking a wonderful college experience.

  • 09/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The are campus security cars patrolling TU at all times. There are also bright blue emergency phone booths placed all over campus, and they were specifically designed so that no matter where someone stands on the campus, a phone booth is always in sight.

    Greek Life

    The Greek Life on campus seems to be a great way to meet new people and have fun. I am not in a sorority, but the houses seem to be great and very responsible.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many different intramural sports, foreign language clubs, community activism groups, and almost anything relating to each area of study.

    Great for these types of students

    TU is great for the shy student, and for the outgoing student at the same time. The extroverted students on campus are very welcoming to the shyer ones, which makes a great balance.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not much is unusual; it is a fairly classic campus environment. Lots of stuff to do, people to hang out with, places to go, sights to see, things to learn, etc.

    Bang for the buck

    TU is not the most inexpensive school out there, but the reward is definitely worth the cost. A degree from the University of Tulsa is an impressive one to most employers, and TU graduates are very likely to get high-paying jobs and make up for the cost of school quickly.

    What to do for fun

    TU students are very active in the campus community, and new clubs/organizations/activities are always being created.

    Food and Dining

    The campus cafeteria and activity center offer an incredibly wide variety of dining options.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus, but have heard very good things about the dorm life at TU.

    Academic Rigor

    TU has programs that teach the material well and exercise the mind thoroughly, but not to the impossible point. Students at TU gain an understanding in their skill set, without always pulling their hair out with frustration.

    Tips for prospective students

    If a student is looking for a school that is not too big or too small, and they like interacting with fellow students and professors on a more personal level, the University of Tulsa has the right characteristics. They will make many friends and find learning and studying very convenient.

    In three sentences

    The University of Tulsa gives me the chance to branch out and discover the possibilities in my area of interest. So far, I've found the campus environment and my classmates to be very welcoming. The professors are willing to help me whenever I need them.

  • 09/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus. The campus security is constantly patrolling campus, and as a result it's relatively safe for students.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a variety of clubs on the university. For example, there is a board game club that goes on every week, and a LAN gaming club that meets once a month. These are fairly enjoyable, and provide opportunities to play games that were harder to play during high school.

    Bang for the buck

    Tulsa is an expensive school, but it does offer a $10000 scholarship for many students. This is a good motivator to keep students focusing on getting good grades, which provides a good environment as well.

    What to do for fun

    The University offers a free bike service, which is very helpful when getting to class but it also is fun to take bike rides around campus for fun. Performances on campus are also cheap for students, at $6 per ticket.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria isn't especially great, but in comparison to the usual cafeteria food, it's all right. The biggest problem is the price of the meal plan (required for 1st and 2nd year undergrads) which is way too high for the food they are offering. The food around campus is pretty good, though, with most restaurants being in Utica Square or on Cherry Street.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms aren't great, but they are better than normal. The best dorm is clearly LaFortune. John Mabee is all right, and there is a nice commons area that's fun to hang around. Fischer dorms are next to the cafeteria, while the other dorms require about a 5 minute walk.

    Academic Rigor

    Everyone I've seen at the university is very focused on getting good grades. There are many opportunities for students to expand inside their area of study; as a computer scientist, there are many programs available to students to allow them to learn specialties inside their area of study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make full use of the library while on campus. There are computers and printers that students may use in a large computer lab, which is helpful for saving money on a printer. The books that the library provides are also very helpful, and it's likely that you can find a copy of a textbook for class or electronic materials that can help with subjects through the library's website.

    In three sentences

    The University of Tulsa is a great university. It offers many opportunities for students outside of class, and the smaller class sizes makes it easier to form relationships with other students and the professors that teach there. Extracurricular programs are also very important and helpful for students at Tulsa, some, like TURC, provide a lot of experience for students and allows then to specialize in something inside their area of study.

  • 10/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is insanely serious. The campus police are friendly as can be, but not naive. There are easily distinguishable blue pillars, with buttons signaling a need for help in case of emergencies, that dot the campus (not too far apart). Generally, nothing major happens on campus (possibly because this system is working well). The neighborhood surrounding TU seems a little shady, but not ghetto material.

    Greek Life

    I don't participate in Greek Life, but it looks pretty fun. The organizations don't seem to be obsessed with being better than everybody else. Being able to say one was a part of these groups is probably great for resumes I suppose.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are numerous clubs; not very many require documentation of membership. Interests represented by the clubs are very diverse; in fact, there are too many to mention. Activities are hosted by these groups all the time; non-members are usually able to attend due to the possibility that they will join. Everyone just wants to get along and have fun basically.

    Great for these types of students

    There's more of a draw for those with higher GPA's, test scores, impressive extracurricular backgrounds, etc. Also, science/math is what many students attend TU for; though, there is are great history, language, and music programs offered here as well.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a spot dubbed The Bayless Plaza where seniors ring a bell upon graduation. It is said if one prematurely ding-dongs, he/she will ultimately fail or have increased difficulty at their attempt to succeed at a college education. The mascot is a type of knight, Captain Cane. His name is short for Hurricane, the symbol of TU's athletic might. However, the choice for a tropical storm as a symbol for a landlocked state still bewilders me. One must accept the many vagaries of college life.

    What to do for fun

    Socialites will not have a problem adapting, especially if they join Greek life fraternities/sororities who happen to host weekly fundraisers (usually involving food). The Lorton Performance Center features various exhibitions by different groups: orchestra, film studies, drama, etc. There are movie theaters near and far. Two main malls occupy Tulsa, one of which TU provides a bus ride to.

    Food and Dining

    There are good and bad characteristics about many things, and the Pat Case Dining Center at TU is balanced both. The food is great; a buffet that is dependable in the morning and rotated every day during lunch/dinner. Drink selection is amazing; coffee is available all day long. The price is not so great. You have to eat at the cafeteria or select to-go items if you want to eat. Meal plans vary, but the lowest plan with meals/week is 10 with a stipend of $150/semester. Otherwise, there are plans with a fixed # of meals/semester with a larger stipend, seeing as one will most likely run out of allotted meals before the end of 1 semester. There is a concept dubbed Gold Dollars, separate from dining dollars, that one can spend at partnered restaurants/establishments; this works similar to a debit/gift card system. I'm happy with the arrangement the school provides (minus the price).

    Dorm Life

    Living in dorms is entirely affected by the way a student approaches and interacts with their immediate community. Roommates, that I've encountered, are generally amiable. Residence halls usually host many activities for students to participate in, but it is YOUR CHOICE. If no one decides to show up for events, then fun usually stays out of reach for whoever does come. Try to join in. The more the merrier. One cannot stress involvement enough.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm only a freshman, but the courses I'm taking so far have amazing teachers. Some faculty are even a little too brilliant for their own good when addressing the class with their field-specific terms. Overall, the academics are at the correct level if the students expect to actually receive any intellectual benefit.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you can afford TU. It's a private college. If you received a full-tuition scholarship or can pay for it without hesitation, then by all means attend. Be ready to buy books and possibly find a job. For freshmen, there is usually something to do every week, if not every day. Lots of food given out by various clubs and groups (originating from the money you pay to be at TU; therefore take advantage).

    In three sentences

    There are many ways to be entertained downtown and around campus; occasionally, the university hosts performances. Sports are important to the moral of the University of Tulsa; there's a big push for involvement. The focus on arts and humanities is relatively small compared to engineering and sciences, seeing as their are many research opportunities and multiple newer buildings that house the math/science classes.

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is extremely safe there are 30 emergency phones all around campus and 25 security guards that patrol the campus 24/7. The security rule is that during a incident from the time the call for security happens a guard with be there with in 20 seconds or they are to late.

    Greek Life

    we have 15 sororities and 13 fraternities so there is plenty of Greek for everyone.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs and activities for everyone even and underwater basket weaving club... not joking

    Great for these types of students

    There is something for every student weather you are artsy or athletic there is always something so everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    An unusual tradition is all freshman at some point in their first year have to run through the fountain. also all seniors are supposed to ring the bell no earlier then a week before there graduation date.

    Bang for the buck

    You definitely get what you pay for at TU from the excellent education to housing and dining.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of fun on campus weather it is sporting events. which you get free tickets to all sporting events. There is also intramural sports a free gym, and social events held by the student body and housing staff.

    Food and Dining

    Dining is amazing they have plenty of options in the cafe even for vegetarians. If you get tired of cafe food you can always jump over to chik-fil-a or subway on campus as well as a Starbucks on campus. There is also a sit down restaurant run by students called the hurricane hut.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is excellent, the housing staff are super nice and they are always throwing events for residents during the week.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are slightly strict, but are not super strict, They are always open to talk to when ever you need, and they do everything in their power to help you suceed

    Tips for prospective students

    Find as many scholarships as possible slightly expensive. Don't get stuck on the I don't have to study train. Definitely live on campus

    In three sentences

    has a big campus feel while being a small campus. Many social events held by the student body. teacher are willing to help in anyway possible.

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    There's plenty of events all around campus, take advantage of as many as possible.

    In three sentences

    Beautiful campus, bound to find a group(s) that you would be welcomed to.

  • 03/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 29 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Working adults.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    No.

    Bang for the buck

    Brown Mackie does offer good degrees. Just make sure what you want is accredited and credible.

    What to do for fun

    Not too much. The college is located next to the ghetto side of town.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms in Tulsa.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are laid back.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just show up and sign the expensive student loan and you are in.

    In three sentences

    Brown Mackie is a good school to get into if you cant get into the school u want. They will accept anyone that applies. This school is for profit and it is a large profit in my opinion.

  • 04/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    TU is way too expensive to attend without scholarships. But it is a great school.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of great places around town. Cherry street is only a few blocks away and has great food.

    Food and Dining

    The dining center has great options, but it's expensive.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice, but the apartments are better.

    Academic Rigor

    The honors program is especially wonderful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take classes you think you'll enjoy, not just ones you think will be easy. There are no easy classes.

    In three sentences

    This University is small but great. The classes are small enough to get personal attention, but big enough that you don't feel awkward. The professors are wonderful.

  • 05/15/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    31 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are serious about studying and research during your college career, Tulsa is a great college for you!

    Bang for the buck

    The academic environment at TU is wonderful. It may be a little pricey, but the admissions office and scholarship office did everything they could to make the college affordable for me to attend.

    What to do for fun

    Tulsa is a bustling city full of things to do. There are many features both in the city and on the campus itself for students to do.

    Food and Dining

    The dining services are very diverse. There are many places on and around the campus that cater to various needs and tastes.

    Dorm Life

    Tulsa's dorms are some of the best that I have visited. They are very roomy and provide free laundry services to eliminate the stresses of their students.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses at Tulsa are challenging. They press you to take their courses rather than opting out with AP credits, because they want you to experience their academically rigorous program.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely keep in touch with the admissions officers while applying. They will do everything in their power to find extra scholarship money for you if you express serious interest in attending TU.

  • 05/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lots of campus security

    Greek Life

    Lots of drinking

    Clubs and Activities

    Great religious groups. i love the Newmen center!

    Great for these types of students

    Smart and dedicated! Try to get some help in money though.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The library is amazing! check it out in the night times.

    Bang for the buck

    This campus is 50% international! Be prepared for many different cultures!

    What to do for fun

    I love the clubs on campus. Go to a church group like the Newmen center. They are awesome!

    Food and Dining

    Food is good at first, but its just the same thing over and over.

    Dorm Life

    My experience in the dorm was not a good one. The building was old, and the people were very rude. Watch out in this area!

    Academic Rigor

    This school is filled with the most intelligent students in the south. The amount of intelligence on campus is overwhelming.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is so amazing. The teaching is great quality, the campus is beautiful, and the friendships you will make will last forever. Try to be social and cut costs at all times. Tuition will be a pain to work off i the future.

    In three sentences

    The University of Tulsa is a fantastic school. The quality of teaching is high, and the campus is incredibly beautiful. This is the best University a person can attend.

  • 06/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel that the security could be improved and focus less on parking violations and more on keeping students safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of activities for every typing of student, major, religion, or ethnicity.

    Bang for the buck

    Very expensive but professor know their fields extremely well.

    What to do for fun

    TU is within a fairly large town and therefore their is plenty to do such as going to parks, libraries. theater, and much more.

    Food and Dining

    The food is ok, could be improved by having more variety.

    Dorm Life

    Does not apply, I live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    Some courses are more rigorous than others, but every professor is fair in their grading.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors, they have a lot insight that might help.

    In three sentences

    Although TU is a very expensive school, the professors are very knowledgeable in their fields. I feel that the courses prepare me for my job field.

  • 08/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Dont really know to much about greek life. Small campus so small Greek LIfe.

    Food and Dining

    Cafe sucks. The ACAC with Subway, the Hut, and Chik-fil-a make up for it.

    Dorm Life

    John and Jane dormatories kinda suck. Apartments are nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging curriculum but very doable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Its college, make friends and have fun.

    In three sentences

    Very solid and challenging University. Alot of resources to help get your studies done. Not alot of extracurricular activites however.

  • 12/02/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    35 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They have plenty of restaurants on campus. With a wide selection.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are new and clean.

    Academic Rigor

    Five Stars is all I can say.

  • 01/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Let's just say, our Campus Security Officers act like they are in the FBI or something.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In John Mabee Hall (the all male dorm) there is an annual game called The Toilet Bowl it's basically flag football but with a little added bonus. The John Boys treat this game like the super bowl with food, football, and girls (Lottie Ladies). Of the Lottie Ladies, one of them will be named the bowl queen.. It's weird but a lot of fun.

    What to do for fun

    As far as fun is concerned, there is anything obvious to do, however there is always an event at some point during the week. Student Association is always hosting some event, the RA's of every residence hall are always hosting events, plus there are random clubs and organizations all over campus. There is always something fun to do, you just have to look for it.

    Food and Dining

    I am going to be completely honest with you, the food in the caf SUCKS! I know that people want other people to come to TU and they claim the food in the caf is amazing... let me tell you now, those people are crazy. Now, the caf doesn't suck all the time, at the beginning of each semester the food is not that bad, not great, but not awful either. However, as the semester progress, the food gets progressively worst. The only reason people haven't starved yet, is because of ACAC (if you come here you will learn how great that place is). In ACAC we have the food court (good food), Chik-Fil-A (nuff said), Subway (Again, nuff said), Benvenitos (Italian food, pretty good) and the Hut (expensive sports bar, but pretty good as well).

    Dorm Life

    At TU, depending on where you live on campus makes a huge impact on your dorm experience. My freshman year, I lived in Lottie Jane Mabee (all female dorm) and I enjoyed it. My RA was really nice and really helpful if I needed something. Over the summer I stayed in Fisher South (co-ed freshmen dorm), I really enjoyed my time there as well. The community in fisher south was a lot better than in Lottie, however, the room was a little small than Lottie's. This year, I am staying in 5th Place (one of 3 international living dorms) by far, this one is my favorite. As an American who loves learning about other cultures the ILC is a fantastic place to live. Overall, the housing staff tries really hard to provide a great on-campus experience for residents, and I think they do a great job.

    Academic Rigor

    Assuming you are a freshmen, at TU there is definitely an academic shock (like culture shock but for academics). Being at the top of your class in high school is a little irrelevant at TU, because everyone that comes here was at the top of their class. So here, you really have to work really hard to get the grade you want. The professors are not easy, but they honestly want you to learn and know the information. So, if you work hard, and study, then you will be at the top of your class again.

    Tips for prospective students

    Assuming that you are freshmen, I recommend making a pre-decision as to what college you would like to be in. When I came in as a freshmen I knew I wanted to be in business, so naturally I chose the business college. Now I am a Marketing and Management Major. Although freshmen and sophomore year are designed to let you figure out what major you want, it is very wise to decide which college you would like to be in before you start picking random classes. being the

    In three sentences

    The University of Tulsa is a great school if you are planning on majoring in Engineering, Law, or Business. Although this school has various other programs that are offered, TU's primary focus is on those three careers/colleges. Each of the career focused colleges have their pro's and con's but overall, academic wise, TU is an excellent school.

  • 02/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It might be expensive to go here, but just know that you are going to a well respected institution and you will be thoroughly prepared for a professional career.

    What to do for fun

    There's always something going on to keep you interested. I usually just hang out with friends or go catch a game or play some basketball at the fitness center

    Food and Dining

    Could be better but can't complain

    Dorm Life

    Live in Fisher, you won't regret it

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on the subject and teacher, so be careful when it comes to picking your courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class and learn to manage your time

    In three sentences

    I love it here. We have a really beautiful campus. Although it's kind of small, it allows for relationships to develop with your fellow classmates as well as your teachers.

  • 04/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police, or campo, are constantly patrolling the area and are rather surprisingly friendly. As the weather warms up, more campo officers ride their bikes through the campus. They are adequately equipped to handle most situations such as, jumping a dead car, unlocking doors, giving directions, providing security for registered events.

    Greek Life

    TU has a smaller Greek community compared to other universities (roughly 20% students are Greek). However, each fraternity and sorority pack a punch when it comes to philanthropies and social events. There are 7 fraternities (5 with houses) and 6 sororities

    Clubs and Activities

    Student association Student Mobilization for Christ. TU treks (outdoor enthusiasts) Intramural sports( Tennis, flag football, basketball, soccer, disc golf, volleyball, golf,etc) Fitness groups (yoga. X-factor, pilates, zumba) Ultimate, LAX, Club soccer teams Board games club.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to venture out on their own and find a new network on campus. From a new circle of friends, or a new family with fraternity brothers or sorority sisters, TU has a place for everyone willing to look. Fantastic network of alumni all over the world. The business college is constantly presenting job fairs, mock interviews, luncheons, internships for students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    If the bell that is located near the center of campus is rung prior to your graduation year, bad luck will fall upon you for the rest of your semesters while at TU

    Bang for the buck

    Division 1 athletics Free tickets to all home events for students

    What to do for fun

    Less than ten minutes away from Downtown Tulsa, TU is a great location to branch out from. The BOK center, Cain's Ballroom, and other music venues offer many genres to choose from. Two different museums (Gilcrease and Philbrook)are within fifteen miles of the campus. The Tulsa Zoo is nearby for those that enjoy an afternoon out in the sun. Lafortune Golf Course and the driving range are excellent places to hit up on the weekend. Hookah Bars are littered all around TU (two lounges within two miles). A multitude of Bars and Pubs are downtown.

    Food and Dining

    Currently the Allen Chapman Activity Center is under-going renovation to bring in two new food vendors (Pizza hut, Einsteins Bagels') alongside the Subway and Chik-fil-A. The cafeteria is also available but at inconvenient hours.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are a bit bigger than standard issued dorms at other Oklahoma universities, namely OSU. There are multiple dorm situations you can choose from, co-ed, all male, all female. The staff at the dorms are constantly putting on events for their residents and campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics at TU requires more time commitment but that's what you pay for when you attend a pristine college such as this one. Teachers are very helpful, most classes range from 12-20 students (excluding labs).

    Tips for prospective students

    TU ranks in the top 50 business schools in America. A fantastic engineering program for petroleum prospects. Energy management is also a highlighted program here.

    In three sentences

    The University of Tulsa is a well-knit community of people from all over the world. Student life is medium sized but do not count TU students out when it comes to having a good time. The rich history and prestige of this university definitely boosts your academic goals to the next level.