Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

University of Washington-Bothell Campus Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/10/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Perfect if you want the benefits of a big school while attending a small school. UWB has many of the same professors as the Seattle Campus so the level of education is the same, and you can minor in any of the programs UW Seattle offers. You're still a full-on Husky but can have a more personal connection to professors because it's smaller. I come from a relatively minute area so the idea of 600 person lecture halls freak me out! UWB classes are at max. 60.

    Tips for prospective students

    Here are some pros: -No dorms! All housing is fully furnished on-campus apartments for about the same price as a dorm would cost -Close to Seattle -You can minor at the main campus -Private school feel (less than 3,000 people) -Same professors as the main campus -Small class sizes (Max. of about 60 for general studies) -Simple campus (only 2 UW buildings--hard to get lost!) -Campus is kind of set up on a hill so it's rather private (but only a short walk from downtown Bothell) -Extremely earth conscience!!! UWB is VERY eco-friendly! They use solar panels, are big on recycling, have a special plastic on the windows to help regulate temperature), and even let the grassy lawns die in the summer.

    Bang for the buck

    Again, the UW is often known for providing near Ivy-league educations for a public school price. How can you argue with that?

    Will enjoy being here

    To me the idea of living in Seattle itself is overwhelming, but Seattle has a lot to offer. Bothell is 15-20 minutes north of Seattle, so I will still have access to the big city without constantly being in it. I think the location will make it more enjoyable for people who like the city, but don't necessarily want to live in it.

    Will learn a lot

    University of Washington (Seattle) has an excellent reputation of education, so I am very pleased to know that many of the same professors also teach at the Bothell Campus. I feel like it will be a more personal experience.

  • 03/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    i live off campus.

    Dorm Life

    nb/a

    Academic Rigor

    it's a solid academic environment with heavy emphasis on research.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you attend uw bothell, be sure to take advantage of the wonderful academic support such as the writing center and library assistance. develop a relationship with each professor outside of classroom by scheduling time during their office hours.

    In three sentences

    uw bothell is a wonderful, small learning environment with supportive professors and staff. i love that there are plentiful computers around campus for student use. the library connects with the main campus of uw and provides wonderful online connection to extensive academic research!

  • 12/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Competitive and unique.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to study and open to others. Ask as many questions as you can. Do not take on too much or it may become overwhelming.

    Bang for the buck

    College tuition was increased 20% yet our campus is much smaller than the Main Seattle location. A letter was sent to each student saying the Bothell branch was better off financially than its counterparts yet needed to go with the increase regardless.

    Am enjoying being here

    The classes at nights after work are interesting enough to keep me awake even after my eight to ten hour day at work beforehand.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are taught by professors from all over the world who are exceptional in knowledge. My peers are intelligent and competitive yet accepting and eager to share their learning experience.

  • 05/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Billiards in the basement. Lounging in the Cafe. Hanging out in the center for serious play.

    Food and Dining

    The Food for Though Cafe is delicious. For a more normal meal there is a Subway on campus. The Commons is good for small snacks, but meals are so-so.

    Dorm Life

    I do not stay in on campus housing, but I would like to not have to commute everyday.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are hard if you make them hard. Do the work when it is due and you should be just fine. Make a little extra effort after that and you will excel.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sit in the front. You can measure a students grade in these classes by how close they sit to the front and center. Always participate, the teachers just want to make the learning experience more enjoyable.

    In three sentences

    The teachers actually care for their students, mostly due to the much more intimate class sizes. The staff is always friendly and willing to help. Parking is plentiful and close to campus.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The University of Washington provides a safe and welcoming atmosphere. The school's main drive is to be welcoming to those of diverse cultures. Diversity is carried on a high level within the campus and housing grounds. Harassment of any kind will not be tolerated to students. The school also has a local security office which has security officers on duty, which are also on call whenever. They patrol the area to enforce that problems or conflicts will not occur to the student body or the school.

    Clubs and Activities

    On campus grounds, there are many clubs and programs to choose. There is of course UWSB, the University of Washington Student Body (similar to ASB). This organization is dedicated to provide the best time you can have within the University. They take suggestions to what you would like to see, whether that is a program or an event. They listen to the opinions of students to construct the productivity of the school. Some clubs are available to those in housing. There is the Residential Housing Association (RHA) and the subcommittee of it; Housing Sustainability Committee (HSC). These organizations are there to plan and coordinate events. Whether you are interested in being a part of being Green within the community or simply want to help put together a celebration.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are interested in dance, agricultural, psychology, law, and programming, this school has a variety for you. These are some of the programs available at UWB; anything else is available to see on their main webpage http://www.uwb.edu/. If you like a smaller class environment, then this is perhaps one of the smaller sizes of student population at a university.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On the campus grounds, there is a group of interesting wooden figures. These monuments are known as the Guardians that watch over the campus. It goes along with the local lore that the guardians protect the local wetlands. The campus location is by wetlands to observe the local wildlife. Agricultural programs will be developed in the near future for interactions to learn about the life within Washington.

    What to do for fun

    Whether it is playing outside in a friendly game of Frisbee or visiting a friend within the dorms, there is so much to do. If interested in the clubs, you help plan and coordinate events with fellow peers. There is also a local trail for joggers and bicyclists by a local park for those enjoy the outdoor activities.

    Food and Dining

    There are a few choices for food on Campus. A Subway is located within the same building as the library. If you want to have a social gathering of friends, there is both Food for Thought and the small cafeteria in the UW2 Building. These are great choices to pick from if you are hungry and on break from a class. If you want to explore the area of Bothell, it is about a mile walk to get to the mini mall of Bothell. This area consists of small businesses, most of which are dinning places, some of which even accept Student discount.

    Dorm Life

    Life in the dorm could not be any more fun. You have the options to choose either your own private dorm or share with other students. The types of room options available are single bedroom shared with two others, share a room with one other, or share a room with one other and two others in another room. Student placed together by the results of a quick poll that is taken prior to housing assignments. You are then best placed with another with similar options that you chose. This is to make the chances of you and your roommate get along with one another. -See more of special programs in Clubs and Activities section-

    Academic Rigor

    Those employed at the University of Washington Bothell Campus want to make you succeed. You will be given material that you will construct your understanding. In any given topic enrolled into, you will learn and retain at least a few ideas or concepts. The classes at the UWB are not to be skimmed, they contain information that can be vital to life around you. There are a numerous classes to choose. There is no reason to fall behind in your grades, this school is designed to educate you, not to get-by.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to expand your mind of the program choices that are available. Be sure to lose that idea of procrastination, assignments become difficult after the second quarter. If you are dedicated to the readings and other assignments, you will have a fun and enjoyable time. If you are a freshman, take classes that interest you the most. Do not worry about determining your major right away, there will be time for that later on to decide. Do talk with your advisors in the office for it is their duty to help you succeed. Use the resources from the school to help you, programs available are the Quantitative Skill Center and the Writing Center. Of course, more programs are Careers finding, Finances, and Travel abroad. The library of the University is very helpful to you as a student. If you need a book or information but cannot find it, just ask the workers inside. Remember that these programs are for your usage, and you will enjoy the school's education and resources.

    In three sentences

    The atmospheres of the students and professors are very positive. The school welcomes diversity with a strong, focused passion. Everyone is dedicated to help the students to be successful.

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    UW Bothell is a VERY safe campus. I've always felt safe there. They'll send out the crime statistics report at the end of every school year, and for the occurrences of each type of offense, you'll be pleasantly surprised to find 0's, 1's, and rarely 2's. Even out of those offenses, I've never seen incidents of violence.

    Greek Life

    There currently is no Greek system at UW Bothell. Some students have suggested it, but nothing has been formally established.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are always new clubs and activities being set up at UWB. We have a great Student Life department, and many students with diverse interests. There are also activity fairs a few times a year, so you can always know what's happening around campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who commute, students who prefer individualized attention, students who aren't looking for the typical college experience, academically and socially open-minded students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    UWB is a very green campus. Just down the hill from the main part of campus we have a huge wetlands restoration project...great for science and environmental majors! If you go the opposite direction, there's a trail running through the forested area of campus, where you can see The Ancestors Sculpture and a few original houses still standing from when the entire campus was a farm.

    Bang for the buck

    At UW Bothell, you're paying a public school price for a private school education. Of course it's a deal! However, tuition costs keep rising at a ridiculous rate. Sooner or later, we could be paying as much as these private schools.

    What to do for fun

    There's always events going on on-campus: holiday celebrations, movie nights, open mics, intercultural night, Bollywood night...and many more, with new events added every year. There's also becoming more and more clubs on campus--it's likely you'll find one that matches your interest.

    Food and Dining

    There are two cafes on campus: Food For Thought, the cafe and student center in the U Bookstore, and Common Grounds, the cafe and common area in the UW2 building. They are good for a quick snack or coffee, but it's hard to get a full meal here on the cheap. There's also a Subway in the library building, but eating from there gets old quite fast. Because the school is so small and so many students are commuter students, there's really no cafeteria or dining hall. Sometimes it's better just to walk 8 minutes to Bothell's Main Street and get some Thai food.

    Dorm Life

    Personally, I've never lived in the dorms. However, they are not your typical student housing. The dorms at UW Bothell are relatively new: I believe they first made them available to students during the 2009-2010 school year. I've heard great things about them, and they seem to be a great place for students to spend their first year. They're all converted apartments, so as far as I know there are private bathrooms and kitchens. This is quite a step up from traditional dorms, but is in turn a bit more expensive.

    Academic Rigor

    UW Bothell presents the same level of academic rigor as the other UW campuses. However, the support and small class sizes make it a bit easier to learn and focus on your studies. The only thing notably different from other campuses is that some classes seem to have more relaxed midterms and finals. Relaxed meaning they aren't always a huge deal and usually consist of a paper or presentation (sometimes a quiz, too).

    Tips for prospective students

    Go into UW Bothell with an open mind- I came to the school dead-set on transferring and becoming a linguistics major. After my first year, I found that I was much more interested in two majors from the School of Interdisciplinary Arts & Sciences: Global Studies and Media & Communication Studies. Also, I loved my professors and fellow students too much to leave. UW Bothell offers many things that large universities can't. The school is heavily invested in one-on-one student tutoring (writing center, math and science center, digital media tutoring) and on-campus jobs where students can learn from experience. Socially, UWB wouldn't be the top choice for a typical college experience, if that's what you're looking for (and you could be looking for the opposite!). There's no Greek system, limited dorms, and no party scene. As the school grows, however, more students are living on campus and developing a more social feel. Get in while you still can, it gets more competitive every year!

    In three sentences

    UWB is a public university with a private school feel--small class sizes and a warm, tight-knit campus community. Here, there is a heavy focus on interdisciplinary studies, critical thinking, and getting students prepared for life after undergraduate education. In my time here, I have learned so much that I will take with me for the rest of my life.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very inviting and extremely safe. There is 24/7 campus security, and every where on campus is lit at night time!

    Clubs and Activities

    There is many clubs to get involved with! If there is not a club you are interested in, you can create one!

    Great for these types of students

    The University of Washington Bothell is a place for everyone! This campus is a great place for anyone looking for a sense of community, and great academics. There is many opportunities to grow and prosper. Anyone is welcome!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The freshman orientation is very well known and is a huge tradition here at the University of Washington Bothell!

    Bang for the buck

    University of Washington Bothell is very open, honest, and real. The people here are extremely nice, and the school is great!

    What to do for fun

    For fun there is many clubs, and places to hang out with friends on and off campus!

    Food and Dining

    The food is great, but there is no cafeteria. Food is a bit challenging but catering people come in daily to serve food.

    Dorm Life

    This life is very open, and really fun. It is very exciting and you will meet many new friends!

    Academic Rigor

    This University is extremely challenging, but it is very reasonable!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be extremely open about college. What you put into college, you will get out!

    In three sentences

    The University of Washington Bothell is very open The University of Washington Bothell is very honest The University of Washington Bothell is very real

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always campus security patrols and Bothell Police Department patrols at UWB making it so that the campus is incredibly safe!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons and tons of clubs and activities to join including student government!

    Bang for the buck

    UWB is very affordable and has many ways to make paying for school not so hard.

    What to do for fun

    There are a huge amount of clubs and actives that you can join at UWB. There are also job fairs and carnivals that you can attend. UWB is also right next to downtown Bothell which is currently being renovated and will soon get a shopping mall!

    Food and Dining

    Since UWB is a small campus there is not much selection of food. However there is a Subway and two other student/school run areas where you can get great food!

    Dorm Life

    I don't actually live in the dorms but I have heard nothing but great reviews about them! Students who dorm together always get along and have fun! The dorms at UWB are very safe!

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at UWB are amazing. The academics are challenging but there are lots of programs like the writing centers and the math help groups that are provided to make sure that you achieve great grades!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to talk to a counselor at UWB! I also suggest talk to any current or former students of UWB that you can find, they are full of knowledge and are willing to help!

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love The University of Washington- Bothell Campus! The class sizes are small which allows students to be able to better understand the material. Everything is easy to find and everyone is so helpful!

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities but many aren't really active or involved. Many students don't go to club meetings.

    Great for these types of students

    studious, independent (maybe nonsocial), and laid back type of students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are none.

    Bang for the buck

    There's really not much to do there for fun. The campus is located in a quiet neighborhood

    Food and Dining

    There's not much places to go and eat. We have Subways, Food for Thought, the UW bookstore cafe, and the cascadia building cafe. If It is recommended that you bring your own food from home.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are new this year. Also, the dorms are really nice and they resemble apartments. It is a lot better than the dorms at the seattle campus

    Academic Rigor

    Courses here are just as tough as the courses in the Seattle campus. Some are exactly the same, such as the chemistry and biology courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to attend to have parties with friends, this isn't the place. On Fridays, the building is almost empty.

    In three sentences

    It a nice small, nonpartying campus where you can focus on your work easily. The campus has several nice places to study from, and currently building more buildings which means there will be even more places to study. Also, with the small class sizes, you can easily contact professors and build connections with them

  • 10/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always there!...even if you dont want them to be!

    Greek Life

    none...thank god

    Clubs and Activities

    Quite a few to choose from!

    Great for these types of students

    Small town kids (like me). People who want a close relationship with their professors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none.

    Bang for the buck

    The stars will decrease if they keep raising tuition! ..which is already high.

    What to do for fun

    Always have activities going.

    Food and Dining

    There is none!

    Dorm Life

    Over priced for size and quality, but not bad for freshman year.

    Academic Rigor

    Your perseverance will be tested.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early! class sizes are small which means acceptance rates are small!

    In three sentences

    An excellent school. Brilliant professors and staff. Amazing Campus.

  • 10/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is knowledgeable, friendly and accessible. Don't mess with the parking monitors though. Make sure you park using consideration and pay for you parking! You don't want to make the parking monitors unhappy.

    Greek Life

    Honor societies are present and do quarterly community activities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many and varied.

    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional, undecided, advancing from Associates to Bachelors' or higher.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Amazing library reading room view of the Woodinville valley.

    Bang for the buck

    You are getting a great deal for the money here. This is a big university (part of the University of Washington, Seattle) but it feels like a community college.

    What to do for fun

    Many activities are organized through the UWAA. A new football/sports field was just completed and a team is being formed for fun play. More sport fields are coming. Beautiful campus is easy to walk around, provides for a variety of terrain to challenge even the most athletic, while keeping is reasonable between campus buildings.

    Food and Dining

    Mom's Home Cooking, coffee stands, Subway on campus, bookstore has a grab-and-go selection. Cascadia Community College is starting a Bastyr culinary school, supposed to start seeing some good food from there too.

    Dorm Life

    Unknown. There are college campus accommodations, I commute from off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    High standards but with an accessible faculty you are almost guaranteed to succeed. You always get out what you put into it: if you work hard, you will learn the material and learn to become a leader in the community.

    Tips for prospective students

    Wear you walking shoes and come prepared to learn. Learn what your resources are so you can best use them to help you achieve your scholarship goals.

    In three sentences

    Beautiful campus, caring and accessible faculty, resources available from the entire UW network of campuses. UW Bothell is a big university with a community college feel. Small class sizes make for a better learning environment.

  • 12/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 8 people found this review useful. 12 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Not very smart ones

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't go here

  • 07/03/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have guards that are willing to help you. Rarely anything has happen through out the years. Just mostly thief and that is rarely.

    Greek Life

    No sororities and frats have to be Seattle campus to do that.

    Clubs and Activities

    Make your own club have fun!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a small environment and one on one learning. A quiet place to learn. And a student who likes to have fun!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    No sororities, and frats. Can't really join a sport for the UW team. You have be at Seattle to do that. In order to join a sport you would have to be just a club.

    Bang for the buck

    It's like any college, really just a smaller environment.

    What to do for fun

    Bothell is such a boring place most students, just go out and hang out. You can make you're own club. You can also go around Bothell.

    Food and Dining

    Not much to each to eat around the campus. They have a tully instead of a starbucks. And they have a cafe with a small commons, they also have another cafe where you can buy Italian soda.

    Dorm Life

    It's not even a dorm. It's an apartment. They have a washing machine and everything, internet anything you possibly need in a dorm, it's basically luxury.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm not really sure what the academic Rigor is because I haven't been attending their yet. I'm a future student who hopes to get a great education.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're failing a class they have tons of resources like the writing center. They also have a sort of like a homework center where you can get tutoring too. They have all types of programs and fun at the school.

    In three sentences

    It's a way smaller campus than UW Seattle campus. The classrooms are 20 to 30 people at max, so it's more of a one on one learning experience. The campus is really easy to navigate since it is so small.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    study

    Food and Dining

    has a hub

    Dorm Life

    Decent living, kind of expensive.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are great tools.

    Tips for prospective students

    Getting walking shoes, the hills are intense.

    In three sentences

    Beautiful and small university, the provides everything one would need to pursue their degree.

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Totally safe.

    Greek Life

    Non-existant.

    Great for these types of students

    People who get lost easily, but still want a University of Washington education.

    Food and Dining

    Food on campus is lack-luster.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the classes are amazing. If high school lacked a challenge for you, then you'll enjoy the classes here.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you don't live on campus, be sure to get a U-Pass.

    In three sentences

    This school can be boring. There isn't a huge variety of classes to choose from, and the campus is small. However, the classes are small, and the professors good, which makes for a good classroom experience. At least complete your graduation requirements before transferring if you are planing on doing so.

  • 12/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Get out of town and go to seattle

    Food and Dining

    Not too many choices

    Dorm Life

    Nice appartments. Do not have many events

    Academic Rigor

    Great teachers. Easier classes than seattle campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Great if you want small, easier classes. Draw back is there isn't much going on at the campus or town.

    In three sentences

    Smaller campus than imagined. Not much events happening. Extremely small town, slow feel.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There have been minimal crimes occurring in comparison to the Seattle campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    If there's a club you want to join, but it's not there, you can make it following the requirements.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who like small class sizes and a small campus.

    Bang for the buck

    With the limited amount of majors they have, if they don't have the major you're looking for, don't go to this school. I have met a couple of people who need to transfer because there major isn't there.

    What to do for fun

    The student life has some activities going on during the quarter and there are a lot of clubs you can join.

    Food and Dining

    There are three places to get food: the commons, Subway, and the cafe by the library. It's expensive to buy from the commons and the cafe, but the Subway has similar prices with other branches.

    Dorm Life

    Not living on campus, but from visiting my friends on campus it looks decent. It's apartment style living, so you need to buy your own food.

    Academic Rigor

    This rating is for first quarter freshmen. As long as you do all the work with quality, it's guaranteed for you to get at least a 3.0.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend all your classes and don't be late for them. The professors notice because of the small class sizes and it could affect your grades.

    In three sentences

    It's a really small campus with only two buildings and they are currently constructing the third building, which will be the science building. The class sizes are small with the biggest being around 100 or less I think. The library is shared with Cascadia Community College and offers a vast amount of resources.

  • 01/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pretty much the only campus safety issue is occasional petty theft.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life on this campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activity opportunities.

    Great for these types of students

    hard working students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of the activities sometimes available on campus is Quidditch.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is expensive at all universities, so comparatively tuition is reasonable, especially for an in state student.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of campus events that are fun to attend, especially during fall quarter.

    Food and Dining

    There are limited food options available on campus.

    Dorm Life

    The campus housing is not the traditional dorm layout - they are apartment style.

    Academic Rigor

    Most professors assign a lot of readings, expect participation and require lots of writing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend the Leadership Camp if you are given the opportunity, join clubs if you have the time, and reach out to other students.

    In three sentences

    The students at the University of Washington are friendly, and the campus is well maintained. The class sizes are small and the professors are approachable and it is easy to have one-one-one conversations with them. This campus does not provide the traditional college experience, which can be a positive or negative depending on what a student is looking for.

  • 03/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The crows that roost on campus at dusk is absolutely amazing, Thousands of crows come from miles away to roost there at night.

    Bang for the buck

    The smaller classes make it worth spending the $4000 a quarter.

    Food and Dining

    Not good options on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I'm not staying on campus, but they seem okay.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenges you to think outside the box and work in teams.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join one of the clubs in campus to get involved with other students.

    In three sentences

    I love the small class sizes. An expanding campus with new ideas continually improving student life. Teachers are invested in your future.

  • 08/09/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Overall very safe, they have emergency poles in about everywhere you go on campus and the security is 24/7 :D

    Greek Life

    No Greek Life D:

    Clubs and Activities

    Ton of them! Come to the open fair on the day before class starts and they tell you all kinds of clubs and opportunities!

    Great for these types of students

    Study hard Leaders Like to connect with profs

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    *woof*

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is cheaper than the seattle campus, and closer to home for some.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs, join those sports clubs and explore work and study/job opportunities!

    Food and Dining

    Overall pretty good at the Commons!

    Dorm Life

    Never lived in the husky village but it sounds pretty nice and you get free parking!

    Academic Rigor

    Study hard, because its for your life!

    Tips for prospective students

    Go and talk to your academic advisor and really check out the resources you have as a college student!

    In three sentences

    Small classes let you have a great connection with the profs. The new UW3 building is coming soon, excited! You get to see your friends almost every time you walk around campus!

  • 11/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    One of the greatest benefits of UWB is its location. It is in a very safe location and you dont have to worry much. You get the quality of the University of Washington, but do not have to worry about being downtown late at night.

    Great for these types of students

    UWB is great for diversity. As a LGBT student I have never felt a bit of discrimination and most teachers would not tolarate it anyway. This is a great school for people who want to become more outspoken.

    Bang for the buck

    College is expensive, but I really feel like I am getting my money's worth. I was EXTREMELY hesitant to go to school just because I have to do it completely on loans. UWB is a great value and I feel like with this education I can take my future careers further.

    What to do for fun

    Bothell can be a little boring, but with the great public transit system you can get to downtown Seattle for things. UWB also plans snowboarding, kayaking, concert, and other fun trips.

    Food and Dining

    There is a subway on campus which is great. Other than that there is the cafeteria and another small cafe to get food. The options are not the best, but there are frequent visits from local food trucks that are great!

    Academic Rigor

    For my degree, Society, Ethics, and Human Behavior, there is a lot of reading and writing. As long as you complete the readings you will be fine. Time management is key!!

    Tips for prospective students

    UWB prides itself on diversity. Having an open mind, but taking a position is important, especially if you enter any of the interdisciplinary studies programs.

    In three sentences

    I never knew I could learn so much!! In the interdisciplinary studies program all the professors have enthusiasm to question the burning questions of society. Students are encouraged to think critically and become global citizens.

  • 12/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security everywhere and a security report is sent to your phone every time theres an issue or at the end / beginning of every quarter.

    Greek Life

    No fraternities or sororities at this campus

    Clubs and Activities

    There's always something happening-some of then have bad timing though, so if you work you have to pick your clubs well :)

    Great for these types of students

    If you feel Bothell is great but want to experience being part of a class with over 200 students then you are welcomed to take a class at our sister campus in Seattle- which is huge and full of beautiful buildings :)

    Bang for the buck

    I would recommend not buying any new books, just because used ones are much cheaper and also take advantage of the free food! They always have activities with free food! But not as expensive as it would be in a private university :)

    What to do for fun

    What not to do! With other 90 clubs, UWB makes sure you never run out of things to do! There's always an activity- community service-dance-kareoke night-free massages- going on!! There's nothing that the UWB doesn't do! :)

    Food and Dining

    We have a subway on campus, a cafeteria with a Starbucks, a cafe from by the students for the students, and a different food truck comes every day! We have quality selections at affordable and reasonable prices :)

    Dorm Life

    Well, i don't live in a dorm but i have seen them and they are amazing! They used to be apartments and the University bought them, so you can only imagine how roomy they are, they have a kitchen, washing and drying machines! :) and every week there's an activity going on for all the students occupying the dorms- free food! Oh yeaahh!!

    Academic Rigor

    Since we have a quarter based year- classes go by quick with a lot of material Being implanted into our brains, which is always good, who doesn't like a challenge ;)

    Tips for prospective students

    Use all the resources available in school, they are there to help you! Take advantage of UWB biggest attraction; the fact that you can communicate with your professors and they are willing to help - should definitely increase your chances for success. Never be shy to ask questions, they like it. Just because it's a smaller than usual University it doesn't mean you shouldn't treat it with the same respect you would treat a bigger school, be proud- husky pride to the max!

    In three sentences

    Due to the usage of small class sizes ranging from 6-48 students, the University of Washington Bothell provides a higher chance of interaction not only with the professor but also with other students. The better the connection a student has a with a professor the better his or her grade will be since there're more chances for understanding the material to the best of his or her abilities. Apart from being the fastest growing campus in the state of Washington, UWB, offers new and different courses every year, updating things and keeping prospective students interested; with this evidence the UWB clearly deserves a solid A+ as they have everything you need and more, to succeed in life.

  • 12/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Extremely safe!!!!!

    Clubs and Activities

    knitting club?

    Great for these types of students

    Environmental

    Bang for the buck

    It is cheaper to go here than main campus

    What to do for fun

    Go to Seattle

    Food and Dining

    They have variety and outside sources coming in

    Dorm Life

    I dont know, I live off campus

    Academic Rigor

    The classes and teachers challenge you

    Tips for prospective students

    If your major is related to the environment this is a good school to pick

    In three sentences

    This campus is not overwhelming and you get the same degree as if you attended the main campus. The teachers really seem to care about your education but they treat you like your an adult

  • 03/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is so small I don't think anyone can really get away with breaking any rules or stealing (unless it's small things like taking a cell phone that someone left in the bathroom). If you keep track of all your valuables and take reasonable precautions, nothing should happen to you. Security also regularly patrol the campus and you can even ask them to walk you to your car if you feel unsafe. The campus is pretty safe and the Security guys are also really friendly. So, don't be afraid to ask them questions. :)

    Greek Life

    Nonexistent? I have not heard of ANYTHING that has to do with Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There seems to be a lot of clubs and activities going on around school but I can't attend much of them because they either meet when I am in class or when I need to get home before it gets dark (I live in a somewhat shady neighborhood). So, for me, there isn't much available when it comes to activities or clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    This campus is great for students who like smaller class sizes and a smaller campus. The campus has a lot of resources but virtually no sports clubs or organizations (that I am aware of). And there is a lot of construction in and around campus so some things may change but I don't expect too much.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In order to get to Main Street, Bothell, you have to walk through an old cemetery that is not as scary as most would assume. It's actually rather relaxing if you can get past the fact that you are relaxing with some ghosts and buried dead bodies. ^^ Cheerful, isn't it?

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition for this school and the tuition for the Seattle campus is virtually the same. If money is the problem, GO TO THE SEATTLE CAMPUS. If you plan to live with your parents and desire more for your money, go to the Seattle campus. If location is the problem and the size (and possibly quality) of the school is less important, then feel free to attend Bothell. But I say with complete honesty: IF YOU WANT MORE FOR YOUR MONEY, GO TO THE SEATTLE CAMPUS!

    What to do for fun

    Nothing (so far) for me. I have to take a bus for 1 and 1/2 hours to get from my house to school and I like to be home before it gets dark (I live in a somewhat shady area). So, I leave school before 4 (during fall and winter). That means all of the activities that tend to begin at 5 or later, are unavailable to me. Sucks, right? Not to mention, most of the clubs that I have any interest in meet when I have class (and it's chemistry so I can't exactly skip...). Therefore, nothing much for me to do... Although the new field is open to students (i think...).

    Food and Dining

    Like I said before. This campus is really small. Heck, the whole town is small. The Common Grounds and the Food for Thought is readily available but, again, over-priced for somewhat decent food. The food trucks that come by are pretty good, still over-priced, and they only stick around from 11 a.m. - 2 p.m. There are some restaurants nearby in Main Street, Bothell but not many. If you're a picky eater, you're going to have problems. I only went to the Thai restaurant but there was also a Japanese restaurant, a diner, and a donut shop (you have to travel a little further though). About 15 minutes from the campus through a graveyard (not as creepy as it sounds). If you take a bus or drive, there is also a Starbucks, a Subway, and a teriyaki restaurant (next to Starbucks and tastes pretty good). Other than that, not much else without driving or taking a bus a few miles.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm but I visited a friend's dorm. The rooms were small and many of the students seemed to know each other. Learn to clean up after yourself. Your parents won't be picking up after you. You might want to also learn how to cook. As college students, we don't have a lot of money so cooking for yourself can probably save time. Also, make sure to establish some rules with your roommate. Friend or not, if one of you is okay with sharing food and the other isn't, you're going to have problems. Establish rules to help decide what is okay and what isn't. It will make dorm life much more comfortable.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the classes you take, college can be very hard or very easy. It also depends on the professors and your effort. If you skip a lot, don't pay attention in class, and procrastinate; you're going to fail. The professors are very easily accessible so be sure to ask questions and try to talk to them face-to-face rather than through email. DON'T PROCRASTINATE. Seriously. Just put in effort and you should do great. The campus has a lot of resources you can use to get help, so USE THEM.

    Tips for prospective students

    Either learn to drive or become very familiar with bus routes. There isn't much very close to the school and the closest Starbucks is a short distance away. The Common Grounds and the Food for Thought has decent food but I you shouldn't expect too much. The food trucks that come are delicious but pretty over-priced. Much of the student activities are later in the evening after around 5. Lots of available clubs (apparently) but I haven't been to a single one because they tend to be during my class hours. So: learn to drive, maybe get a part-time job, and don't expect too much from this very new campus.

    In three sentences

    The University of Washington is a very small campus. It shares some resources with the Cascadia Community College and has small class sizes. The only real redeeming quality it has are that the professors are easier to connect with and that much of the facilities are new.