Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

University of Washington-Tacoma Campus Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/27/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 1 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Because it is a newer branch of the University of Washington in Seattle, Tacoma campus is smaller, and more personal. It doesn't have as large classes which enables your professors to work more closely with their students. Its caliber of education requires that you are dedicated to your studies, so don't expect to be able to dawdle about on homework.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would highly recommend visiting the campus and meeting with an advisor. They are extremely helpful, and knowledgeable about the school, and have excellent advice to give those who need a bit of direction. You have a much better chance of being accepted if you apply early in the year, and once in, make sure to register for classes as early as you can.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition for instate residents is very affordable, roughly 7,000 a year for a full time student. They offer a myriad of scholarships, and their financial aid office is especially helpful, although they can be hard to reach the couple months before classes start. They also collaborate with local community colleges to accommodate place-bound students whose classes are not offered at the Tacoma campus.

    Will enjoy being here

    University of Washington-Tacoma has a beautiful campus. Set on a hillside in down town Tacoma, you can sometimes catch a glimpse of sunshine on water as you climb the terraced stairs to class. Speckled throughout with small trees, the grounds are full of places where you can sequester yourself to study that ever present homework!. You are within walking distance of quite a few restaurants and cafes, one of which is located directly on campus.

    Will learn a lot

    I am excited to attend UW Tacoma because I have heard exceptional recommendations about the science faculty which is the program that I am majoring in. The professors require you to work hard and apply yourself and if you want a good grade you can't help but study and learn! Their science program is very strong so if you are looking for that major then your have many wonderful classes to chose from.

  • 11/01/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Already in the workforce and returning to school Prefer small-school atmosphere

    Tips for prospective students

    Definately consider the University of Washington and the Tacoma campus if you are local. If not a local, you may have a better experience at the Seattle campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Before applying, I spoke to a few job recruiters independent of the school and asked them if a degree from one of the private universities nearby was of any greater value to them on a resume than the University of Washington. Across the board, they agreed that an education from the UW was just as valuable as a private school, and at a fraction of the price!

    Am enjoying being here

    If you want a party school, this is probably not the place for you. If you want a small-school environment with big-school education tools and resources, this is a great place to be. The location is convenient and near many of the attractions Western Washington has to offer.

    Am learning a lot

    The teaching staff at the University of Washington - Tacoma has been top-notch for me so far. I have taken classes in Literature, Mathematics, History, and other varying categories and each professor has delivered an interactive curriculum enabling students to learn both in and out of class.

  • 06/20/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I would say this school is great for students who do not want to communte to Seattle or do not need to live in a dorn considering there really is not much living on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Well, this is not a private school, so I guess I need to appreciate that it does cost a lot less to attend this school as appose to a private school. Also, I will be paying in state tuition which will save me a lot of money compared to out of state. However, it is very difficult to get scholarships or financial aid. There are very few scholarships to reward students for academic excellence or volunteer work. basically if you are not extremely financial needy you will get no help at all. On top of that, tuition rates are going up starting in the fall.

    Will enjoy being here

    I will enjoy being at this school because I have heard many great things about it from a lot of different people. Everyone loved the small class sizes, the good location and the fact that it is close to home, and that there is more of a closer relationship with the professors since the class sizes are smaller.

    Will learn a lot

    University of Washington is a prestigious school and is known for its academic excellence.

  • 02/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    if you life close to campus and are willing to make the commute, this is a great deal because you can save on boarding. my tuition each quarter has been $3,445 or so, but i also got a scholarship so i only pay $2,445 a quarter for full time. in my opinion that's really super awesome, so if you utilize this site and others like it to earn those scholarships, yeah i think this school has a great value.

    What to do for fun

    there is the tacoma art museum right across the street, and a plethora of small shops around which are a blast to explore. plus there are on campus events like movie nights, dances, tie dying, and so much more. personally, for me fun means eating, so if you share a similar passion i suggest reading about food and dining :)

    Food and Dining

    because the campus is right in the middle of thriving tacoma, there are plenty of places to eat. besides the many coffee and snack shops in the school, there is starbucks, subway, taco del mar, and a cute gyro shop very close by. if you're willing to walk just a bit further, there is a hello cupcake (i cannot recommend this highly enough), thai, japanese, pizza and candy shops all within a block of campus. the food is a definite plus!

    Dorm Life

    it's not that dorm life is actually bad, but rather that there are very few dorms to begin with. while most students do commute to the campus, that doesn't mean that there's any shortage of on campus events. students are very social and friendly, and there's always someone new to meet.

    Academic Rigor

    the uw tacoma campus is just as rigorous as the main seattle campus. personally, i've been in college for the past three years, so at this point it doesn't seem all too hard, grant there are those moments with teachers or homework or peers that just makes you want to pull out your hair--but hey that's college. it is comforting to know that my degree is the same as someones who graduated from the main campus, even though it was less competitive to get in.

    Tips for prospective students

    the biggest tip i can give a new student is to take one of the new student tours that they offer. all the buildings where classes are held are actually renovated old store buildings, for example the mattress factory building where you can find the cashier's office, did in fact use to be a mattress factory. many of these buildings are one building with multiple names, so it's important to have an idea of where everything is, otherwise it's all too easy to get lost.

    In three sentences

    the uw tacoma campus is beautiful and unique in that it is right in the heart of tacoma, washington creating a truly urban campus experience. another thing that makes it unique is that it is a commuter campus, meaning that very few students actually live on campus and most students are transfers. one of the things i like best about this school is that you can get a great, highly recognized education, while still getting a small school feel, without actually being secluded.

  • 08/14/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Everyone can find a place at this school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to approach your professors if you have questions, they truly are there to help you with your education. And make use of the peer advisors, they will help get you involved around campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Because of the flexibility of the class schedules, I have been able to live at home and work five days a week, saving money all the while. It is a great opportunity to earn a four-year degree for less money than many other universities, while maintaining the prestige of the University of Washington.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus has a convenient street location amongst small businesses and restaurants which allows for easy access to coffee, snacks, even meals during breaks. The mattress factory is a great hang-out spot which offers TV, pool tables, ping pong and more as entertainment. The peer advisors are great at getting you involved, just be open and you will definitely meet some fantastic people.

    Am learning a lot

    There is a pretty extensive variety of courses available to accommodate many with different interests and intended degrees. The professors are approachable and willing to work outside of class time in order to ensure that every student has the opportunity to get questions answered. I have learned a lot more this past year at the university, than I have in my previous years in other education systems.

  • 08/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who loves being in an interactive environment where their opinions are welcome.

    Tips for prospective students

    The campus is wonderful. What I love most is how friendly the campus environment is, as well as the Professors. The amount of interest they show in the subjects being taught makes it a wonderful place especially for those who are visual learners. It is a university that teaches its students to speak up and become more opinionated and the encouragement of growth is a key factor in the professor’s lessons.

  • 09/02/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People that want the smaller town feel but want the opportunities for fun in the city as well. It has lots of fun activities very near by and many out door opportunities!

    Tips for prospective students

    Begin researching early to find out all the requirements, especially for graduate studies, you need a certain GPA and not a lot of college students realize that!

    Bang for the buck

    Totally affordable, especially if you are prior military using the Post 911 GI bill and the yellow ribbon programs!

    Will enjoy being here

    I love Washington, I would suggest for the older student returning to school to live in one of the the local suburbs like University Place or DuPont since downtown Tacoma can smell fishy at times and it's really crowed, If you like the downtown scene then living in the urban environment near the harbor may suit you nicely!

    Will learn a lot

    They have dedicated Autism Centers for advancing research in the cause and treatment of this disorder that are open to the public and offer many needed services for the community while affording it's student hands on real life training.

  • 03/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    tuition is not that bad.

    What to do for fun

    ruston way. point defiance. mattress factory is a great hang out

    Food and Dining

    great cafes and resturants in the area.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is nice. campus is great. students are easy going.

    Academic Rigor

    professors are cool and work you hard. they also are very helpful. there are lots of resources for academic success.

    Tips for prospective students

    check out the school web-site, it has a lot of information about the campus. if you can visit, that would be great.

    In three sentences

    university of washington-tacoma has a beautiful campus. you are within walking distance of quite a few restaurants and cafes, one of which is located directly on campus. tacoma campus is smaller, and more personal.

  • 03/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus security is always close at hand.

    Bang for the buck

    uwt has one of the best computer programs in the state, and is much more affordable than other universities in the area.

    What to do for fun

    there is a glass museum across the street from campus, along with the washington state history museum.

    Food and Dining

    there are many different places to eat on and around campus. they range from big restaurants to small cheap walk-in pizzerias. almost any food you could be craving can be found nearby with a great college student price.

    Dorm Life

    uwt is mostly a commuter college, they are planning on adding dorms in the near future, but for now there is a floor of an apartment building used for uwt students. i am a commuter, i don't have any real experience with the uwt dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes in the computer software and engineering program can be very difficult and time consuming.

    Tips for prospective students

    start or join study groups with your classmates, they are very important if you want to succeed in your classes. most professors have office hours, if you have any questions about class, or about jobs in your field of study, talk to them.

    In three sentences

    uwt is an excellent urban university. it has small class sizes, so a one on one with a professor is very easy to do. ideal commuter college for students who have jobs or want to stay close to home.

  • 07/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have always felt very safe on this campus. The security staff is very willing to help with any problems if they are able to .

    Bang for the buck

    This school has services that help the entire learning experience, not just the academic one . This school takes active involvement in it's students in the form of the staff that work there and the services offered .

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of extra activities that enhances campus life as well as student involvement .

    Food and Dining

    There is a large selection of restaurants and cafes for the student to choose from.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are fast paced, however there is ample tutoring and support service offered to help with the coursework

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is a fast paced diverse learning environment.There is a large selection of classes to chooses from, as far a class selection. The extra curricular activities enhance the learning experience at the campus.

    In three sentences

    The Unversity of Washignton was a place where I could learn in a diverse enviorment . The instructors and support staff were helpful in my success at this school. I came into the University as homeless, because I had lost my job. The professors and other staff were extremely helpful in helping me improve my situation for myself and my family.

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    One thing I really like about this campus is that it is very safe despite being right in downtown Tacoma, there have not been any security problems since I began and the security officers are always a quick phone call away.

    Food and Dining

    There are many places to eat out here, The Swiss (pub), and The Rock and a few other, smaller cafes.

    Dorm Life

    I personally cannot say anything about the student housing here, but from what I have heard is that the apartments are nice. You either live with one or three other people,each paying $700+/month.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes can be anywhere from easy to difficult based on personal strengths.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you don't plan on living in Tacoma, live north of Tacoma because traffic is horrible going south.

    In three sentences

    UW Tacoma is a nice place to study, right in downtown Tacoma. There is a variety of majors and minors to study and the ratio of faculty to students is helpful in the learning ability. This campus is also easily accessible with I-5 just off campus and the campus itself is not spread over a large area, making it easy to get from place to place.

  • 09/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus may be in the third largest city in Washington, but it's also one of the safest. You can have a campus safety officer escort you to your car and the area is pretty lit at night.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs but not many advertise; therefore you have to take the time to seek out these clubs. It's quite exciting as if you are a part of a secret society once you join, but not really. What's great is that it's fairly easy to create your own club!

    Great for these types of students

    UWT is great for those that have a busy schedule but also want to work in an intimate academic environment in an urban setting.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are some odd but amazing study areas that over look the city. It's really peaceful. It's just a matter of finding those special places.

    Bang for the buck

    Because it is a commuter school, you are really just playing tuition and your books which is definitely a BANG! UWT has a general scholarship application that is considered for several scholarships offered by the school - DOUBLE BANG!

    What to do for fun

    You can take fitness classes during the day and participate in an Open Mic event in the evening. Billiards and ping pong are popular on campus.

    Food and Dining

    There are several places on and nearby campus ranging from $2 pizza to a fancy meal at the Melting Pot. Usually people go to the West Coast Grocery store that is located on campus to buy delicious snacks and deli products.

    Dorm Life

    Because UWT is a commuter school, not many people live on campus. However, there are apartments available for students at Court 17 which can be paid with financial aid. Unfortunately, there aren't any meal plans and only a section of the building is reserved for UWT students.

    Academic Rigor

    Freshmen take part in UWT's core curriculum which is a mixture of different fields of study into interdisciplinary classes. Students get to know their professors and take part in research and service projects.

    Tips for prospective students

    You help make the campus what it is. A lot of people don't realize how much activities goes on, on campus because it is a commuter school. Stay up-to-date with current events.

    In three sentences

    It's a small campus with an urban setting, renovated from historical buildings including a mattress factory and a grocery store. The school is only 22 years old and continuously undergoing change. You can make history!

  • 09/10/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They did not have a single incident the entire last year.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a wide variety of clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Small school students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus. You won't understand how great the campus is until you take a tour. Itâ??s truly an awesome campus.

    In three sentences

    I've visited the campus and it's beautiful. It has a nice small town feel. All the historical buildings give it a nice feel. The dorms are great there as well. They are apartment styled, but not expensive.

  • 11/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Transfer students, graduate students, students who don't like large campuses, students who like school to be fairly close to home, and students who don't know yet what they want to major in.

    Food and Dining

    A decent amount of places nearby to get food, you just have to know where to look.

    Dorm Life

    I don't actually live in the dorms, but I hear they're nice. Dorms are in an apartment building near the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I think it depends on what your major is and who your professors are. Some are easier than others and some are harder than others. Either way, hard work will get you good grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're interested in environmental science, business, nursing (though you can't enter this program as a freshman), graduate studies, and education then this school is for you. UWT offers a variety of other programs but the ones already listed is what the school is most well known for.

    In three sentences

    The University of Washington-Tacoma is quiet, clean, and small. Students for the most part are friendly as well as the faculty. I give UWT an A-.

  • 12/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    strict police men are always surrounding the area

    What to do for fun

    There are many activity nights and clubs all students and faculties are always ivited

    Tips for prospective students

    always keep track and schedule important dates when assignments are due

    In three sentences

    diverse, friendly, fun

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    16 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who want to feel like the campus is their family.

    What to do for fun

    Glass museum, WA history museum, and art museum right across the street. Campus is right on the bus line, so you can take a trip to Seattle for about $6.

    Dorm Life

    I lived off campus and didn't experience the dorm life. I've heard it was a great experience from others though!

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy it :)

    In three sentences

    Small classroom sizes make for great discussions. Feels like a community college. Great professors and staff.

  • 12/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I like supporting the sports teams. There are also so many different clubs to join and you can even start your own.

    Food and Dining

    Haven't really ate here

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    My advice is just try to be ahead on all your work and do not procrastinate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you never give. You always want to give 110% in anything you do because you will never know the outcome.

    In three sentences

    This is a wonderful Uw campus. If you love a small classroom environment and a more closely related group of students then this is the school for you.

  • 01/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Haven't had much problems besides the occasional parking ticket. But I guess campus security were doing their jobs.

    Greek Life

    I haven't heard of any frats at UWT, but then again I haven't really looked into it.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a bunch of different clubs available, there'll always be at least one that you'll fancy.

    Great for these types of students

    If you had a rough education background, bad grades, etc. This UWT is a great place to go to if you'd like to start fresh. As long as you're willing to put in the extra effort the curriculum isn't too grueling. Those that like smaller class sizes (as opposed to the Seattle's campuses 300+ students per class) will really like it here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school used to be a bunch of businesses. Some buildings still kept their name (ie. The Mattress Factory). Most of the buildings are brick buildings, they look like they came straight from the early 1900s.

    Bang for the buck

    It costs about the same as the Seattle campus, but I think it's worth it for the sake of smaller class sizes.

    What to do for fun

    Tacoma is on of Washington's largest cities, there is always something to do here.

    Food and Dining

    There is a pavilion towards the waterfront with a load different places to eat.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm, I really don't know from first hand experience, but from what folks tell me the dorms costs roughly the same as an apartment in downtown Tacoma. It probably isn't a terrible place to live if you're away from home.

    Academic Rigor

    Overall about the same you'd find anywhere else, as long as you put in the effort you'll do fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join clubs, meet people, study hard. It's a college experience, enjoy your time here.

    In three sentences

    Although my grades were sub-par throughout high school and my community college years, I managed to get accepted into UW Tacoma, and let me say, I love the school. I would highly recommend it to those students living in the Tacoma area and don't want to drive up to the Seattle every morning. The class sizes are small, roughly 20-30 folks per class, so you'll receive individual attention as well as a better learning experience.

  • 03/11/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    19 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They are a lot of lounge bars and close to Museums.

    Food and Dining

    So many places to go and most have student discount. The Harmon is one of my favorites. They have local brews and great happy hour and sometimes live music.

    Dorm Life

    I have heard that they got great dorms

    Academic Rigor

    I'm only researching this school, but I'm sure the academic-wise its going to be challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check with your advisors on applying for scholarships and merit aid. Take a tour of the campus and take a look at surround local business.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful and blends well with the community. This school have a smaller numbers which makes learning more personable. The administrative staff are helpful and provide many resources to help students succeed.

  • 05/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a ton of museums right across the street. Most of them have student discounts too.

    Food and Dining

    There are so many shops and amenities around. There's Subway, Starbucks, and the Cupcake Shop just to name a few. There's a few classy places up the street like Pacific Grill.

    Dorm Life

    I live up the hill so it's only a 3 minute drive for me. You can find reasonably priced apartments on the Hilltop, but the area isn't comfortable for everybody.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are as challenging as you pick them. Again, the students are a very good resource to help pick classes, along with the advisers.

    Tips for prospective students

    I don't find the enrollment or support that too helpful for new students. The best way to find your way around resources is the other students around you, they have always been amazingly supportive and helpful.

    In three sentences

    It's a good location in downtown Tacoma, and free parking is available if you're willing to walk a block or two (up and downhill). The class sizes are very reasonable, similar to a community college atmosphere. The best thing about it is all the shops and food places that are attached to the buildings.

  • 06/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs and organizations that we can get involved in and on Wednesday's especially, there is some event going on during Husky hour which is from 12:30-1:30

    Food and Dining

    There are a lot of places to eat downtown, and there is food to buy inside the campus as well.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms, but I have heard nothing but good things about court 17.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is really challenging, some classes more than others, but the professors have office hours available that give you more one on one help if needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask questions, professors, counselors, and peer advisors are there to help.

    In three sentences

    UWT is an amazing school filled with many people willing to go the distance to get you everything you need to feel comfortable.

  • 08/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    As a student leader and student employee at the University of Washington - Tacoma I am in constant communication and work close with Campus Safety. I have been thoroughly impressed with how personable, available, and professional these individuals are. They are available twenty four hours a day seven days a week and will be there within five minutes of you calling for them. Being a college campus in the heart of the city, Campus safety is definitely needed. If there is ever a problem or you need an escort to your car after a night class they will take you.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life at UW - Tacoma. So if you are looking for that, this is probably not the school for you. With that being said, UW - Tacoma is always growing and expanding. If there is a want and need from students, the faculty will listen! It's never to late too start the Greek Life on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    I believe UW - Tacoma is great for students of all ages. I have found more and more students in my classes are a variety of ages, anywhere from 18-60. Many students find they are able to work and go to school because of the flexible class schedule UW - Tacoma offers. If you enjoy small class sizes, a small campus, and city living I would recommend attending college here. Also, I would highly recommend students who are looking to live at home and commute to school come here. I don't think that students who are looking for a big party atmosphere should come here. UW - Tacoma doesn't really have that!

    Bang for the buck

    As we all know, students are finding it very challenging to afford college and those who are able to attend are finishing college with an outrageous amount of debt. One of the deciding factors for me as to where to attend college was tuition. I chose UW - Tacoma because tuition for Washington State residents is currently about $12,000 per year, so $4,000 per quarter. The affordability of UW - Tacoma combined with degree's such as Nursing, Social Welfare, Accounting, Computer Science, Criminal Justice, and Psychology had me sold. Not only is it one of the most affordable schools in Washington State, but it has an awesome financial aid office who will do the best they can to help you financially. I have been extremely impressed at how quick and easy it is to meet with a financial aid employee when needed.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many things to do for fun here. I highly recommend getting involved on campus!! This will help you to get that genuine college experience we are all looking for. There are weekly events year round through campus such as; outdoor adventures, movie nights, dances, etc. Not to mention our campus is located within walking distance from the History Museum and the Tacoma Art Museum. UW - Tacoma is also only about a 5-10 minute drive to the Ruston Way Waterfront, The Lemay Car Museum, Point Defiance Zoo and Aquarium, and Cheney Stadium.

    Food and Dining

    One of the benefits to attending a college in the city are all the food options that are available! On campus we have Subway, Starbucks, Cutter's Point Coffee, The Old Spaghetti Factory, The Rock, Indochine, Hello Cupcake, Hot Rod Dog, Taco Del Mar, The Harmon, and The Swiss. I have found that nearly every one of these dining area's mentioned gives discounts to UW - Tacoma students. Also, the food is always affordable for a college students budget. There is also Metro Coffee on a campus, which is a great location for students to gather and grab some excellent coffee between classes! (This is more affordable coffee than at Starbucks.) This coffee shop also has a very urban feel to it, which I love. The Dawg House Cafe on campus has a great variety of grab-n-go food which meets the needs of individuals with food allergies and preferences such as; gluten, peanuts, vegan, and vegetarians. The small grocery mart near GWP hall and the Joy Building also has an excellent selection of snacks, meals, etc. for those with food preferences and allergies.

    Dorm Life

    UW - Tacoma recently built housing for the Student's on Market street called Court 17. I have many friends who live there and love it. It is in a great location and extremely nice and new. One of the perks of living in the student housing is the parking garage that is attached, and the gym you can use for free. There are studios, one bedrooms, and two bedrooms available, and the monthly rates range anywhere from $600-$900 dollars a month. I'd highly recommend looking into living on campus at UW - Tacoma for it's convenience. Yet, if other factors prevent you from doing so, there are many other options. UW - Tacoma can be considered a commuter school. Most of the students here find it more affordable to live off campus and commute by bus. The city has an excellent bus system that runs to and from campus consistently. Some of my friends drive to the Tacoma Dome for parking and then take the bus to campus. I chose to live close enough to campus to where I can bike or walk to school and save on gas. There are also quarterly and annual parking passes available for students who choose to drive to campus daily.

    Academic Rigor

    I would highly recommend this college for any students who excel in a small class environment. Most of my classes here have ranged from 15-60 students depending on the class. I have taken many classes from many different departments such as Psychology, Education, Political Science, Art, etc. and I have found that each class has been challenging and intellectually stimulating. The professors are more than qualified and I have enjoyed nearly all the lectures I've experienced here. I would highly recommend this school for those who are willing to work hard and enjoy being pushed academically.

    Tips for prospective students

    After transferring to three colleges within a three year time period, I feel as though I finally know how to choose a college that is right for me. After trial and error, I realized how important it is to meet with an advisor, tour campus, and talk with students who currently attend that campus. As I was writing down what I truly wanted from a college campus, I realized UW - Tacoma has it all. I highly recommend writing down what you would like from a campus first. Once that has been determined, set up an appointment with an advisor! Every advisor I have talked with has been extremely helpful and genuinely cared about my goals and what they can do to help. The campus tour helped me realize that it's not as overwhelming as I had thought it would be. In fact, it's small and easy to find your classes. My last recommendation is that you reach out and talk with students who are currently attending. Fortunately, they will not try to sway your decision and they are your peers. With this being said, I found that students will be brutally honest with what they do and do not like about their school, which will help you have a clearer idea of what you want and need.

  • 09/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    though there isn't much involvement between student and student organizations, there are a lot of activities offered by student organization.

    Food and Dining

    most of the food near by are restaurants. The plus is there are quite a few within walking distance from the the campus as well as right in the heart of campus. The negative is most of them are sit down restaurants where you need time to order and dine.

    Dorm Life

    this campus doesn't offer dorms, however there are many apartment complexes near by.

    Academic Rigor

    involvement within student organizations is not very high. there also isn't much school spirit.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are looking for a simple university especially if you have the intentions of transferring colleges after a community college this place is perfect

    In three sentences

    This school is very small and comfortable. The staff, students are very helpful and friendly. Overall the campus is simple.

  • 10/07/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    24 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety was good at answering my questions and aiding students in need.

    Greek Life

    There are some that you can apply to, but you won't have rush week like you would at the main campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs for all types of students. It just depends on what you want to choose.

    Great for these types of students

    everyone!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Giving Garden is a great place to learn from, meet new people, and broaden your horizons in science!

    Bang for the buck

    While at UW I got all I needed money wise, especially from the professors. It was a blessing to be taught by such exquisite professors instead of TAs. No university is going to be 100% cheap, but for what I paid for my education, I believe that it was a win-win relationship.

    What to do for fun

    Walk, run, shop, social media, music, and just have fun.

    Food and Dining

    The restaurants have a variety of foods to pick from. There aren't too many fast food joints which is great because that equals less junk put into your system. But, when you are in a hurry there's always somewhere to go.

    Dorm Life

    Living at home is the best. It is easy to relax and get into the zone for studying. New dorms are available about a block away from campus.

    Academic Rigor

    If you can keep up with the pace of the homework, group work, and time it takes to study, then it will be easier as the year progresses. Try not to fall prey to partying and social life as those can discourage you from completion of your classes and cause you to neglect your drive for success. It is tough with family life, financial struggles, and other obstacles, but it is truly worth it in the end when you walk across the stage and listen to your name called.

    Tips for prospective students

    My first tip would be to check out the campus and see if it fits your vision of what you want your college life to be. Because the campus is smaller, and class sizes are typically smaller than a traditional 4-yr university, you have a more to gain from as a student. Should you want to pursue a more defined career path, you can get the most out of your core requirements from a smaller campus and feel better about your choices.. For parents, single parents...this campus is great and for the most part flexible. The professors are truly willing to work with you so that you can succeed in your path to completing an education at the University level. They do have ways of funding child care facilities a small compensation for those who need day care. The internships that you learn from, especially as an environmental science student gear you for an education in many different directions.

    In three sentences

    UW-Tacoma is an absolutely wonderful place to receive an education from because of the small class sizes and ability to be taught by a professor first hand. It is a smaller campus and relatively easy to get around, plus it is central to restaurants, close to the freeway and has an unbelievable amount of classes to choose from. UW-Tacoma deserves 5 stars for their academic integrity, small class structures, introducing new innovative programs and career paths, and overall academic model for incoming and prospective students.

  • 10/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent, as far as I am concerned.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Here is the link of the clubs offered at UWT: https://tacoma.collegiatelink.net/organizations

    Great for these types of students

    Great school for people that require a more personalized learning. The classes are small in size (such as those in a high school) which allow for a more individualized learning. Overall, you are not just a dot in the crowd. The teachers also have office hours that you can attend to for extra help. There is a teaching and learning center where you can go for help in writing, reading, science, and math.

    What to do for fun

    You can attend free yoga classes, and there is a REC center that organizes hikes and other recreational events.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafe and a Subway, and other than that I haven't really explored other options. The Melting Pot and The Rock Wood Fired Pizza are nearby as well.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home and the commute is not too tedious. I use the public transit system which is excellent. You can use the bus and the Sounder Train, however the Sounder is only available in the early morning and in the afternoon. * The dorms have their own kitchen which is a plus and they are pretty compared to the dorms of other schools. The dorm building has its own mini-gym.

    Academic Rigor

    So far, I have gotten a ton of readings. One or two each night and around thirty pages long (each). They can be hard to understand but I am glad we have a class discussion about each one.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Attend one of the earlier class registration dates as classes fill up quickly. 2. Make sure to have filled out the FAFSA before the priority deadline. 3. Plan your commute beforehand if you will not be staying in the dorms. 4. THERE ARE ONLY CERTAIN DEGREES OFFERED AT THIS SCHOOL. MAKE SURE THAT YOUR CAREER PLANS CAN BE MET BEFORE ENROLLING. I CAN'T STRESS ENOUGH HOW IMPORTANT THIS IS. I signed up

    In three sentences

    The teachers are very approachable and helpful. However, the institution is a tad unorganized and makes registration errors/mistakes here and there, which can be very frustrating. These errors can usually be fixed after visiting the school or making a few calls. Other than that, I really like the school and I have only been attending for about two months.

  • 11/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It does get a bit pricey, due to snacking, parking, and the UW gear.

    Food and Dining

    Really good! The Rock for dinner, for snacks they have little snack shacks in the building and of course Starbucks is connected to the bookstore.

    Dorm Life

    I live in an apartment so I am not sure abou the dorm life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know where your classes are and be prepared for class.

    In three sentences

    This school is very substancial and you have to make sure to do all your reading and homework for the classes. They like pop quizes. I have learned a lot and enjoyed going her so far!

  • 11/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Convocation is a recent tradition where depending on your major, you go to a different location in Tacoma, and at a certain time, everyone starts walking to campus to meet up with all the other groups to ring in the new academic year. There is usually food and live music to go along with it.

    Food and Dining

    Lots of good food in walking distance of the campus, and even more good locations a short drive away.

    Dorm Life

    The school rents out an entire floor of an apartment, so not only are you in the same building as other students, but general residents as well. Depending on what kind of room you are assigned, you might have one or three roommates. A one bedroom will have two people, and a two bedroom will have four. Each room has their own kitchen and bathroom. It's really easy to meet other students, but unfortunately, most students forget that there are other floors with non-students who live in the building, so the noise level can be a bit too loud, but most of the time it isn't a problem.

    Academic Rigor

    As an undergraduate student, I find the rigor to be a good challenge, but it isn't anything unusual or extremely difficult. Simply scheduling out your time to dedicate for homework and studying will help you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Although the school does provide housing to some students, the majority of students travel to school. Make sure to take the time to find and use the many resources on campus to help you pass your classes. Also, don't be afraid to ask questions about anything related to the campus.

    In three sentences

    Small, intimate school. Academic challenge is substantial, but reachable. A great alternative to a larger college.

  • 12/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is located in the heart of downtown Tacoma and can sometimes feel a little daunting as far as safety, but we have exceptional security officers. During my time here, there have been far fewer criminal instances than the Seattle campus.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    There a many clubs/student organizations you can join. You could even start your own.

    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional & transfer. NOT for students who want the traditional, stay in a dorm, type of experience

    Bang for the buck

    There is an excellent pizzeria that does daily slices for $2.50. Throughout the year, UWT offers discounts on many activities around the Sound (movies, concerts, comedy shows, etc.) During the holiday season, UWT offers discount tickets for Zoolights. Students are also given free admission into a few of the downtown museums.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of restaurants, museums, bars, etc. in the surrounding area.

    Food and Dining

    The campus and surrounding area is growing. More options are opening almost every other week.

    Dorm Life

    The only student/on-campus housing is an apartment building that has a very long wait list. It is very expensive so it would probably be better to find your own accommodations.

    Academic Rigor

    The level of challenge for each class differs between course types, levels, etc. I have had a very mixed range of difficulty levels.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of work shops and activities for students like free yoga, free museum entrance, discounts, etc.

    In three sentences

    Overall, I highly recommend UWT to transfer students and non-traditional students. Everyone is friendly, the campus is growing, and there are a lot of opportunities if only you search them out. The campus is small and feels connected.

  • 02/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Don't hesitate and apply!

    In three sentences

    Best urban 4-year college. Best Computer Science and Information Technology programs. Best school for adult students.

  • 02/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is full-time security.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    A lot to choose from

    Great for these types of students

    Commuting, transfers, and international students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Washington Wednesdays

    What to do for fun

    Nothing

    Food and Dining

    The food sold at the student store is overpriced but there are other restaurant's around the are to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    I did not love on campus but there are living areas available.

    Academic Rigor

    The core classes are interesting.

    Tips for prospective students

    Choice another university that offers various majors to choose from.

    In three sentences

    The campuses are clean and well-kept. There aren't many choices or opportunities here as the majors offered are very limited. This college is a good choice if you plan to transfer to another university.