Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

University of West Alabama Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The University of West Alabama is great for ALL types of students! As long as you can keep the minimum required GPA, you should have no problem with adapting to the college community.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make friends and strike some life-long relationships. It makes life in college a lot more easier. Also, it helps to be self-motivated and to choose the right groups to study with. Give the school a chance, try to explore all the activities that go on on campus and try to refrain from going home every weekend. You are being introduced to just a pinch of the real world and it could really benefit in the long run in developing your own independence.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition for this school is very reasonable. Especially when you are looking for a 4 year accredited school. The teachers are highly educated and are available in their offices during specified hours and can answer ANY questions you have for them and explain them thoroughly.

    Am enjoying being here

    College is what you make it. It should always be a priority to make time for studying, but you also need to reward yourself with a break from time to time. The environment is very friendly and the campus of this uiversity is one of the 10 Top Safest Campuses in the U.S.

    Am learning a lot

    The education at this school is outstanding! With the classes limited to smaller sizes it creates a better learning experience for students with more one-on-one teacher-to-student availabilities.

  • 12/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All students of all majors, but athletic training is a fantastic field to study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't ever get behind in your studies. Always ask for help early if you need it.

    Bang for the buck

    I honestly think my money is spent well.

    Am enjoying being here

    Even though there is not much to do in livingston,al the university of west alabama has a lot of student activities and events to help the boredum.

    Am learning a lot

    I am in the Athletic Training Program at the University of West Alabama and I can honestly say I have learned so much. Some of the things is taping ankles, what to look for when people are unconscious, how to react to certain situation, and etc.

  • 04/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe being on campus even at night. Our campus police are seen all over campus and at night, they provide services to take you to your dorm or any other part of campus.

    Greek Life

    I am in a sorority called Phi Mu and have the best sisters that anyone could ask for. Being in a sorority has given me many opportunities and allowed me to become best friends with some great girls.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am an associate member of Alpha Epsilon Delta which is a professional honor society for students who are interested in the medical field.

    Bang for the buck

    I personally love the University of West Alabama. I have met some great people here at UWA and would not change anything about my college experience.

    What to do for fun

    The University of West Alabama hosts several entertaining events throughout the school year.

    Food and Dining

    I love stopping by the deli when I am walking from class to class. It's in a convenient location with super fast service and great sandwiches!

    Dorm Life

    Living in the dorms allowed me to meet new people that I still keep in touch with today.

    Academic Rigor

    The classrooms are small giving you more one on one time. The teachers here know you by name, not by number.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend living on campus and being involved in many organizations around campus. This gives you the opportunity to have a great college experience.

    In three sentences

    The University of West Alabama has great teachers that like to see their students succeed. The campus is small, but still gives you the opportunity of attending a 4-year college. The University of West Alabama is truly my 'home away from home'.

  • 04/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are always around to make sure students follow campus rules. To ensure safety at the dorms, UWA has campus security guards.

    Greek Life

    UWA is home to several Greek organizations. The Greeks are nearly always taking interest in new members. UWA is home to the following fraternities and soroities: Alpha Kappa Alpha, Delta Sigma Theta, Zeta Phi Beta, Phi Mu, Alpha Sigma Tau, Omega Phi Psi, Phi Beta Sigma, Alpha Phi Alpha, Delta Chi, and a few others.

    Clubs and Activities

    LOTS!

    Great for these types of students

    UWA is a great school for students who are from small towns, and aren't quite ready to make that big transformation into big cities. The campus isn't too big, so if you want to be able to get your classes just by walking, you won't have a issue at all. UWA is also a great university for students who enjoy a small classroom setting and may need a closer relationship with their instructor in order to better succeed.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Almost everyone on campus knows about sitting under the tree. Outside of Selden and Spieth are sitting areas, in which many students come out and socialize.

    Bang for the buck

    UWA is totally affordable. *View the school website for more details.

    What to do for fun

    The Greek organizations are always having social events. Attending sports events with friends is always FUN! Many off-campus students have their own events, and on-campus students are always invited. UWA has an outdoor swimming pool and a very nice fitness center.

    Food and Dining

    The Caf, short for cafeteria, is the main eating quarters on campus. The Caf offers buffet style eating, and allows students to have several choices of food. Inside the building there is a sub shop, Tiger Alley. In the library resides the school's very own coffee shop, Java City. Javalanches are quite famous around here.

    Dorm Life

    I currently live in Selden, which is a traditional, all-girls dorm. This building is currently the cheapest campus living. Right next door are the boys' dorms, Spieth Hall. Next year, Fall 2012, these dorms will be closed. Our campus is now in the process of finishing construction to the new dorms, Gilbert Hall, also known as Freshman Hall. Upperclassmen have five other living arrangements, as well as the choice to live off-campus.

    Academic Rigor

    UWA has been said to be all about the Nursing Program. True enough, the school takes pride and dedication towards the program, but the instructors throughout other fields care just as much. UWA makes it their priority to ensure that all students succeed in their classes, and that we all meet our program requirements.

    Tips for prospective students

    - Go to class. - Have a little fun, but not too much. - There are always events going on, on campus. Go out and be social. - Classes run at moderate pace. There's not too much stress when it comes to the flow of class work. - Chicken Wednesday is the best day to go the Caf.

    In three sentences

    The campus is small, yet it feels much like home. Meeting new people is not an issue, because everyone is friendly. The atmosphere overall, is very welcoming.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    In addition to Livingston police officers, there are campus security officers patrolling everywhere 24/7.

    Greek Life

    Many sororities and fraternities to choose from if you are interested.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel that you get a lot for what you pay for. In addition to great classes and awesome teachers, your student I.D. doubles as monetary system that works at certain locations around town. The Tiger Bucks system is basically a re-loadable card (Your I.D.) that starts with a free $100 on it. once you run out you can put more money on it. Your Tiger Bucks do not subtract from your meal plan!

    What to do for fun

    There is a fitness center that you can work out at. Inside the fitness center there are pool tables and a foosball table. And there is always some kind of event on campus to go to, whether it's a football game or a concert party you will have no trouble finding something to do.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is somewhere everyone can go to hangout, relax, and have a bite to eat. The procedure to get in is simple. Scan your I.D. at the front desk and grab a plate to get your food. A large variety and no limits make finding something good easy.

    Dorm Life

    My first year in a dorm I was nervous about having a room mate and worried about being away from home. BUT the hall directors and resident assistants

    Academic Rigor

    Academically classes aren't too challenging. All classes are tough but the classes here aren't too terribly hard because the teachers do welcome questions and always have their office doors open.

    Tips for prospective students

    A tour of the campus is essential for anyone on the fence about the school. If you don't feel at home after the relaxing nature walk and with the small town community feel around the campus then the college isn't for you.

    In three sentences

    The teachers here have an actual personality and care about their students. Any time you have a problem or question the staff in the office listen and direct you to where you need to go. The atmosphere on campus is amazing; with ponds, lakes, and a few nature walks the atmosphere on campus is relaxing and in general just perfect.

  • 05/02/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police are always on campus, and you can't go from one side of campus to the other without seeing one. The atmosphere is very safe and well kept.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is not as big at UWA because it is a smaller school. The frats and sororities are more a social group on campus and they don't do a lot of extra like at other universities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several sororities and fraternities to join. Different clubs like SGA and the Exercise Science Club are great for your resume and offer a chance to meet students and people in the community alike because they both do a lot for the community. There are also several Honors clubs that are very active.

    Great for these types of students

    UWA is great for students who like a smaller atmosphere and don't mind a rural setting. If you like smaller classrooms West Alabama will be great for you, because teachers will always be there to help.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is over 175 years old, and a historical landmark. There is a covered bridge located on campus and a lake where students can fish and canoe. Trails circle the lake and allow for a great chance to be outdoors.

    Bang for the buck

    West Alabama is a very affordable four year university. Tuition is cheap and housing and meal plans are reasonable. The University offers several scholarships to help out as well.

    What to do for fun

    Livingston is a small community so there aren't many options for a fun night out, but that allows you to get creative and have more fun with friends. There is a movie theater that plays a different movie every week, a couple different restaurants, and several bars. The campus puts on intramural sports and band parties, and the community gets behind the sports programs. For more options students can drive to some other towns thirty minutes to an hour away in either Meridian, MS or Tuscaloosa, AL.

    Food and Dining

    Livingston is a small town, and there aren't many food options. There are some great mom and pop places in town, but the cafeteria on campus is okay. Improvements are planned to be made to on-campus dining summer of 2012.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are older. They are very affordable and convenient, but not that nice. New ones have been built for freshman and upperclassmen that are much nicer, and they are a great way to stay in touch with what's going on on campus and within walking distance.

    Academic Rigor

    Some courses are challenging, and different professors are more than others. West Alabama is not as well known for its academics, but there are some great professors and challenging degrees offered.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your classes and know what you still have to take. Advisers can be very helpful, but people make mistakes so just check on what you need for your degree and plan it out carefully.

    In three sentences

    The University of West Alabama is a small four year school that is great if you are looking for one on one interaction with your professors. I rate the campus a six because it is dated but still very pretty. The feel is just a more grown up version of high school.

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Make lots of friends. Weekends can get pretty boring in this small town area and small campus.

    Food and Dining

    Not my favorite. Not many places to eat on-campus.

    Dorm Life

    I only lived in one dorm on campus: Stickney Hall; it was decent. I prefer off campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends upon your major. Courses in areas such as science and nursing can be difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep an open mind, join organizations, and make friends. But always remember academics come first, but dont over work or over stress yourself.

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has its own police and a taxi service for student who wants to go around campus at night.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the movies, attend parties and social events that are put together by school organizations.

    Food and Dining

    Food is delicious, surprisingly so. There are also plenty of healthy choices are also available.

    Dorm Life

    Beautiful new dorms with private bathrooms for all freshman.

    Academic Rigor

    If you focus and get your work done as soon as you get it you should get good grades. Attending class is part of your participation points.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for the scholarship affiliated with the school even if you think you are not able to get one. Visit Campus and got to the first orientation it will be two days of fun.

    In three sentences

    Its a beautiful campus with cheap tuition for in state students and has the perks of a more expensive University. The campus has its own movie theater, that is free for students. The dorms are beautiful and recently built, any student will be happy at UWA.

  • 07/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. Though I don't recommend it, I have walked alone at night several times with no fear of anything happening to me. The police are great, and they actually do their job. They ride around the campus at all times of the night/ morning. It's like having 24 hr. surveillance (excluding the cameras).

    Greek Life

    The Greeks on this campus suck compared to those on a bigger campus. The President of the college doesn't even like Greeks. He doesn't see the purpose of a sorority or fraternity.

    Clubs and Activities

    I do not know all of the clubs and activities on campus, but I do know there is a S.G.A, math clubs, science clubs, sports organizations, campus plays, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are coming to college without a car, not much of a party animal, and looking to focus on academics,looking for a decent sized campus, then this is the school for you.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is not very very expensive compared to Auburn and Alabama, however, since this school was my last minute choice, I have to say I would rather pay my money elsewhere just because of that. Also, like most colleges, some of the staff aren't good at their jobs.

    What to do for fun

    To have a little fun, most students go to The Oak Tree, Trackside, or Tee's Lounge (three clubs). I've never been to any of these, but the best thing about the city is that it is located near Mississippi. That's where most students go for leisure. Also, Demopolis and Tuscaloosa are other places nearby to have a little fun. There is a very small movie theater in the community, and on-campus activities are held also.

    Food and Dining

    There aren't many restaurants in the city. However, you are allowed to use your tiger bucks card which comes in handy when you don't have any cash. There are three fast food restaurants (Sonic, Burger King, and Hardee's). There are about five or six dine- in (take-out is available) restaurants. I've never heard of these restaurants until I went to this college. The most popular ones are Dandy Don's, and Diamond Jim's. Both are very good.

    Dorm Life

    I love the setup of their dorms. Unlike most colleges, almost every dorm on campus has a private bathroom and kitchenette within the room. However, the first dorm I stayed in (Stickney Hall), had extreme pest problems. No matter how much we cleaned, pest still found their way in our room. Overall, on-campus living is fun and convenient.

    Academic Rigor

    When it comes to academics, they are pretty strict. If you fall below a C, if I'm not mistaking, in any class you are put on academic probation. If you don't bring it up by the end of that semester, you will no longer be able to attend the institution. You would have to file for an appeal for them to consider re-admitting you, but if that doesn't go through you would have to leave. However, if you have a certain grade point average at the end of the semester you will have the option of joining a Honor Society. G.P.A is a factor in very many organizations on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    To any student who plans to attend The University of West Alabama, I suggest buying your groceries in your hometown because groceries are expensive there. Also, there aren't many places around (stores, malls, doctors, dentist, etc.), so I would suggest investing in a car before attending the school.

    In three sentences

    It is not the best school, but it is pretty decent. The professors I have had have been great and have gotten to know every student individually. Overall, the campus and community is very safe and close-knit.

  • 08/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety at UWA is top notch. They have trained policeman and guards on duty at all times for your safety! Plus they bus that will escort you anywhere you need to go upon calling at late hours when you have classes!

    What to do for fun

    You an go to the sub for fun! There you can workout, hangout, swim and more!

    Food and Dining

    They have a great dining hall filled with extensive choices from fresh fruit, wide variety salad bar, pizza, deli, and a real food section set of selections to choose from, it's great!

    Dorm Life

    Exceptional!

    Academic Rigor

    Great academic program! The teachers genuinely want you too learn!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't waste your time or the institutions. If you truly want to learn then pursue it but if not find a trade or just stay home!!!

    In three sentences

    UWA is a fine school. They have many great majors and opportunities for anyone desiring an education! It will be a worth while experience!

  • 10/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Online student

    Dorm Life

    I'm an online student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to write! Be ready to follow a set schedule so that you do not fall behind.

    In three sentences

    For online graduate students, UWA provides a simple, easy to follow set of courses. Online courses demand being self motivated to learn. Professors are usually great to work with you.

  • 01/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    It is small and not worth it.

    Great for these types of students

    People from a really small town. People that were not very popular in high school.

    What to do for fun

    Go to Tuscaloosa.

    Tips for prospective students

    Focous more in your classes instead of the social life.

    In three sentences

    The smaller classes are beneficial. I would not recomend it to a student who wants a good school and atmosphere. The town doesn't have much to offer to a college student.