Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

University of Wisconsin-Green Bay Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/18/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 out of 17 people found this review useful. 2 people found this inaccurate. 1 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Green Bay has a wide range of extracurricular activities and when you find the right fit for you know that money is given to each of these groups for extracurricular activities making it cheaper for those of you who don't have a lot of extra spending cash. Campus Crusade is becoming even more popular for college Christian's. However intervarsity is a great group with a very welcoming attitude.

    Tips for prospective students

    When looking at Green Bay consider that even the dorms have their own bathrooms when many colleges have communal bathrooms, and that when buying a meal plan know that you don't have to eat on campus to use your dining points; order in pizza ,wings, salad ,burgers.. the options are endless. Also before you make your final decision on a college look at their gen ed. requirements, if you don't like what your studying your first two years of college then you might be more prone to drop out or not succeed. Some classes are unavoidable though so make the best of it by joining a study group or getting into a routine to make yourself sit down and learn the material. Textbooks are expensive at any college so look for signs around campus advertising textbooks for sale. You won't regret it when you save over $100 on what could have been a $500 book tab.

    Bang for the buck

    The great thing about this university is that they offer you a wide range of classes, and then activities every month all the students living on and off campus can participate in..and what makes it even better is they're all free!

    Am enjoying being here

    plenty of activities, great professors

    Am learning a lot

    Most professors want you to come talk to them if your struggling and by doing so they learn how to help you succeed in their class.

  • 12/11/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 out of 12 people found this review useful. 2 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    There are a variety of degrees (majors and minors) for students to choose from. Definitely meet with an advisor to explore your endless opportunities within University of Wisconsin Green Bay.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely meet with an advisor. I thought my options were slim before I met with an advisor. She showed me a few different options I wasn't aware of that helped me transfer more credits! Look at the general education requirements; I was very surprised with the variety of classes that fulfill each of them. I'm working towards a Bachelor of Applied Studies degree which allowed me to transfer 60 credits of my associate degree (from MATC) into UW-Green Bay to help reduce the tuition I have to pay and can graduate faster!

    Bang for the buck

    I graduated from MATC December 2009. So coming from an associate degree to a bachelor degree was definitely a big change when it came to tuition and fees. I started at a private college Fall 2010. It was $1,065 for a 3 credit class; this spring semester I'm spending $707 for 3 credit class. Not only does UWGB seem as if it's a better experience than the private college, but it's also a lot cheaper! Another great thing is that you get discounts with your student ID from UWGB. Such as men's basketball games are at a discounted rate and women's basketball games are FREE!

    Am enjoying being here

    It's a very friendly environment, a lot of space for EVERYONE to share. The bookstore is very large with a lot of different, neat supplies and clothing. Various 'restaurants' and food stands that are available around campus plus you can use PassPoints to buy at places such as toppers, festival and subway. Also, don't worry if you get lost, anyone will be willing to help you find your way! (personal experience)

    Am learning a lot

    I'm just starting this Spring semester, but I've ONLY heard good things about UW-Green Bay. My advisor is always willing to meet with me about questions and emails me back very quickly. She suggests many different options to what best fits me and my lifestyle.

  • 11/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Athletic, Environmentally Friendly,

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you join lots of Orgs and get really involved. Community Councils, RHAA, Student Government are just a few that are really awesome to get involved in. There are also some more fun ones like Ballroom Dance, bowling, sign language, etc. I would advise joining at least 2. You should also become friends with your RAs. They're super fun people and can also be extremely helpful. If you're worried about getting an on campus job, don't freak out too much before you get here. Some listings are on PRO, but not all of them, plus more open up as the semester gets going. Give it at least a semester before deciding that it isn't for you here. It can be hard adjusting to school but if you get involved, you will meet a lot of new people and it will be awesome!

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to most colleges, and all of the other UW schools, UWGB is by far the best bang for your buck. It is one of the cheapest UW system schools and is a fantastic school with a great reputation.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have met so many great people in the few months that I have been here. All of the RAs are fantastic people and are super fun to hang out with. My only thing is that the campus is very secluded and it can be hard to get somewhere if you don't have a car. But that also makes the campus very nice because it is a lot quieter than a city campus and because it creates its own little campus community. It is also a very beautiful campus with all of the arboretum trails.

    Am learning a lot

    All of my professors have been amazing! They are always willing to help out, whether right after class of in their office hours.

  • 12/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    1. The study rooms in the library are great for students who need to meet up to work on a project. 2. The Kress Center is the perfect place to work off some stress and help keep off some of that freshmen 15. 3. The Ecumenical Center is great for students who want to keep up with a faith life while on campus and meet friends with similar beliefs.

    Tips for prospective students

    1.Get the BARE MINIMUM meal plan your freshmen year and try and prepare some of your own food in the dorm kitchens. I grew sick of the repetition of the dining hall food options, how expensive they were, and how unhealthy they were (I got my freshmen 15). 2.Go to the Kress Center! Use the fitness center, rock climbing wall, and join in on some of the fun fitness classes. 3.Join a club or an intramural sport. It's the best way to meet friends, and I met a ton of friends right away by joining intramural tennis and Spanish club!

    Bang for the buck

    As expensive as school can be, UW--Green Bay, for me, is a great deal for a great education. The only problem I have with the financial aspect of my university is the Aviands food service used, which is very expensive.

    Am enjoying being here

    Within my first semester, I fell in love with the campus (trails, trees, tunnels and toilets!) and with my classes. I also immediately got a wonderful job on campus and joined an intramural sport and extracurricular activities and made many friends.

    Am learning a lot

    My professors are, without a doubt, my favorite part of attending UW--Green Bay. They are knowledgeable, helpful, and truly care about their students. I have never had a TA and every professor I have had remembers my name and greets me when I see him/her on campus. With such a personalized relationship like this, I find that I learn so much every semester.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is small enough where you don't have to worry about a lot of things. Even if you do get nervous, there is a security escort service.

    Greek Life

    Sorry to say, there is one fraternity on campus and it is not very special. Same story for the sorority. But that can always change if someone comes along.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs and PLENTY of activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Sociable, disciplined, open-minded, and active students. This school is not geared towards any one specific education path. Many people, from all different areas, have become very successful post-graduation.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is the graduation tree, all the graduates throw their shoes onto the tree, something all students look forward to doing. Location, there are underground tunnels connecting building, so you don't have to deal with too hot or too cold of weather.

    Bang for the buck

    Just an outline: Living on campus (dorm) + full meal plan (plenty of food) + full time tuition= about $18,000 for the ENTIRE SEMESTER. This is what you get: Top notch education + You get FED + you get housed. Not enough for you? Free entertainment brought on campus (musicians, comedians, hypnotists, speakers, movies, activities) + Chances to do things like travel to Chicago and stay for the weekend or go and see the Milwaukee Brewers for HALF THE PRICE (this sort of event is what I program for) + gym membership (and free group classes) for free + CHEAP personal training sessions + a LOT more. For $18,000 a year, you get a lot of great things.

    What to do for fun

    I am programmer for Good Times Programming, a board of students who brings fun to students (or the students to fun). There is frequently musicians on campus (we brought Hot Chelle Rae and Breathe Carolina here). There is always something to do as I mentioned as long as you don't say no to opportunity. ALSO there is FREE group exercise classes and your tuition covers membership at the Kress Center (high quality work out facility). I work at the Kress as a group instructor and will likely be becoming a personal trainer there as well. If you like working out, the Kress will feel like home because there is great, positive community there.

    Food and Dining

    The food is delicious and affordable. I frequent the cafes on campus and occasionally eat lunch from the cafeteria. You must try the stir fries and the green leaf salad!

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus, but I hear mixed reviews about dorm life. Most of it though, is good reviews. Most of the time after your first year (or even your first semester) you can move into the apartments which are very nice. Rule number 1 about dorm life though, your dorm = community. Don't disrupt that community or you will soon find that you don't like your living situation and you are just plain miserable.

    Academic Rigor

    My most difficult courses so far have been Chemistry I and II. I managed a 3.61 GPA through studying and utilizing the FREE tutoring center. Basically, I would think this college is just as demanding as most colleges. Which, in all honesty, is not anymore demanding than highschool. The big thing I have noticed, is that instead of being assigned homework (which forces you to study) you MUST be disciplined to study on your own. In other words, poor discipline = poor grades. ABOVE ALL, the professors are hard working and caring. I have already met three professors I greatly admire and I would take classes in the future with.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start networking, the more people you know the more you will enjoy, and succeed, at UWGB. The only way to network is by being outgoing, so don't ever be afraid to approach someone (people love confidence). I have a job on campus because I went out and tried yoga and then I met the instructor who introduced me to the Kress Events Center coordinator. For the high school students: Make sure you study, this isn't high school anymore, you have professors, not teachers; you will learn this lesson well.

    In three sentences

    The campus is very well taken care of. There is a lot to do as long as you actually get OUT OF YOUR ROOM to do something (I am an event planner on campus, trust me.) Finally, the tuition is cheap and you are getting a lot for what you pay.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have so many safety precautions at Green Bay. Public Safety helps with anything that you need. From a walking buddy back from a late class, to coming and jumping your car in the middle of the night. They are fast, and very dependent!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are various clubs that are so easy to join! Anything from Spanish Club to Circle K! Anyone can join, and they're all such nice, welcoming people everywhere you go!

    Great for these types of students

    The library is an amazing place if you LOVE studying and peace and quiet. Studio arts is the best place to just sit in a sound proof room and sing your heart out, or play an instrument! The Kress Events Center is the place to be if you want to run, lift, swim, and just about do anything physical! Talk about a great stress reliever.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Well, there are trails that run all around campus, which is awesome, because even at college you can run into deer.. almost literally! At Green Bay, we have what very few colleges have, tunnels. That way, students don't have to be outside to get to and from class, which is nice on those cold or rainy days!

    Bang for the buck

    It is everything anyone ever tells you! An out of town, small (but still fun) campus. Your dorms are within walking distance of where your classes are, as well as dining options. The campus is the most beautiful you'll ever see!

    What to do for fun

    In my opinion the library and the kress center are the best places to be! You also have the phoenix club and all the basketball courts. Everywhere you turn there are programs being held where you can get some free food and meet a lot of new friends too!

    Food and Dining

    There are so many different places to eat on campus, you never get tired of the food. Anything from chinese to your plain old cheese burger! The staff there are always smiling too!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at UW Green Bay is awesome! There are three options, residence halls, traditional apartments, and contemporary apartments. You get your own bathroom in either of these, and they are all spacious enough to not be cramped!

    Academic Rigor

    Everyone has there own challenges about school, and college definitely brings them out. At UW green bay, they are they for you with tutoring sessions and other help. The professors are so nice and understanding too!

    Tips for prospective students

    Always study, there is never enough time to spend doing homework. Trust me, you have no time to screw around. Use all your time wisely, summer is for friends. The school year is for school! Use the things that the school provides you, like tutoring and your academic adviser are so helpful! They are all there to help, and will do just about anything! Don't forget about the free walk in clinic, that will help with those nasty colds!

    In three sentences

    University of Wisconsin- Green Bay is a college filled with opportunities that never stop growing! It is a top notch school that will make your dreams come true. This school is small, but with a wide range of EVERYTHING!

  • 11/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel pretty safe walking back because there are so many dorms and people around. Public Safety is quick to respond to anything.

    Clubs and Activities

    ASL, WEA, ENACTUS....there are so many orgs, that there is a fair dedicated just to them.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants to have a rigorous academic schedule and have plenty of events during the week and go home on the weekends or don't mind an empty campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The seniors throw their shoes into the shoe tree when they graduate.

    Bang for the buck

    I am academically challenged and there are enough events on campus to distract me when I can't study anymore.

    What to do for fun

    They do have a lot of activities. They have Mix Mashed Mondays-making magnets, Bingo, spin art. They also have the Phoenix Club with pool, a Wii, ping-pong, a playstation, and an xbox connect. Not to mention the different people who come to speak and a variety of other things.

    Food and Dining

    The food is really good. However, it is limited and rather expensive. Even if you don't eat alot, you might want the middle plan if you plan on eating more than fried foods.

    Dorm Life

    It's fun to meet people, but apart from that...there isn't much that kept my interest. They have Haunted Halls, and that is the best thing the dorms have had so far.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors definitely keep you busy and studying. They are willing to help you though, and there are plenty of tutors for those who need extra help and the professor is already swamped.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you don't mind an emptier campus on the weekends-that is seriously the only con to this wonderful school. Enough people stay on the weekends though that you can normally find someone.

    In three sentences

    UWGB is perfect for anyone who wants to find a fun community with interesting classes.

  • 12/25/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved on campus. Go to anything and everything you can. And don't be afraid to go and talk to your teachers!

    Bang for the buck

    Overall, it's reasonably priced. You're student ID gets you many discounts around the area such as 10% discounts at retail stores. Also, all sporting events are free with an ID. There's many opportunities on the UWGB campus such as the use of the Kress Center/Gym. It's free to use and an extremely nice facility! Saves me $35 for a YMCA membership.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is very secluded, but is an extremely nice and clean campus. There are gas stations and grocery stores close by.

    Am learning a lot

    For the most part the teachers are great! They are all willing to meet outside of class and help you out if you need to. There are also AMAZING student assistants as well as a great Tutoring and Learning Center if you need some extra help. It's hard to fail at this school!

  • 04/18/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for those who want smaller class sizes, a more personable relationship with their professors and a big selection of ways to get involved on campus. This school is also a Division 1 school. All of the sports teams here are AWESOME! This school is also a good choice for AP and IB students. I was a IB student and UWGB took 17 credits from my IB test scores. There are some people I know who received 20-30 credits based on their IB and AP test scores. So if you are an AP or IB student, this would be a good school to come to.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise prospective students to become active in the campus community and take advantage of the opportunities offered. There are plenty of advisers, jobs, travel opportunities, academic aid, etc. I have gone to 4 conferences during my second semester and they were all so much fun, inexpensive and I was able to put all of them on my resume. I also have advises to talk to that give me support. I was also able to join many student organizations on campus. The student organizations gave me something to do, helped me make friends and I was also able to feature my participation in those student Organizations on my resume.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is very affordable. For me it was difficult finding a place that would not put a dent in my finances. The quality of living exceeds the pricing. The dorms are not over crowded and the apartments are luxurious compared to other school dorms and apartment. Unfortunately, the food can be a little pricey. However, If a person is living in the dorms, they receive an $800+dinning plan

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy the opportunities here. I have made so many friends and the most of the people are so friendly. It seems that everyone here is willing to learn something new. The campus housing is also very nice. I was able to adapt to living on my own easily. We also have private bathrooms :D

    Am learning a lot

    There is a nice variety of classes here. Every semester, I am able to choose classes that I want to take. For the most part I talk classes because I have a general interest on the subject

  • 07/08/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone looking for a midsized school that's not in a city but nearby.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the Preview Day(s). It's a whole day of good information with a tour at the end.

    Bang for the buck

    As I haven't started classes or attended any other college, I can't say much. But I've heard that it's a pretty good value.

    Will enjoy being here

    The couple of times I've been to the campus everyone is friendly and will help you if you need it. I chose to attend UWGB because it felt like home.

    Will learn a lot

    I think that I will learn a lot at Green Bay. I've heard that the teachers are good, and advisors and other people I've needed to contact have replied to emails in a timely fashion.

  • 07/25/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Environmental Science Communications Education Biology Psychology Social Work Theater

    Bang for the buck

    For a UW system school, this school is pretty cheap but it's so worth every penny. For the quality of education I'm getting you would think it would be a lot more expensive.

    Am enjoying being here

    I absolutely love the campus. It's clean, has tons of opportunities to get involved, a fun union, and the tunnels!

    Am learning a lot

    As a theater student I'm learning so much. The professors are so knowledgeable in their field. That goes for all the professors, not just theater professors. The GEN EDs I've taken so far have been with professors so passionate about their studies, even if they're teaching an introductory course that they've taught a million times.

  • 08/03/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Leaders, activists, distance learning, travel abroad students, people who like to study, dancers, people who like to volunteer

    Tips for prospective students

    -Come for a tour! -Join one of the many many orgs on campus for fun -email professors ahead of time so you can get a feel for classes - dont get worried about getting lost in the underground tunnels, it will take no longer than a week to figure them out. Promise!

    Bang for the buck

    Its not a very expensive place but with the amount of time and dedication the professors have with you and the quality of the living in the on campus housing, its worth everything! Its really cool too because unlike a lot of schools out there, each room has its own bathroom and shower, so no communal bathing!

    Am enjoying being here

    Its quiet, surrounded by forest and nature preserve, so its quiet and kind of secluded but in no way far from main Green Bay. Its kind of nice not having cars driving outside your window, or police sirens or anything. Its a quiet little place but it has plenty of fun stuff to do. Its also really nice that the school has underground tunnels so you dont have to deal with the Wisconsin winters too much and keep you dry and warm on your way to each building.

    Am learning a lot

    Im learning a ton here at Green Bay and with the way the professors treat you as fellow colleagues really helps. No matter what, the professors always have your back and try to do the best they can to help you. Its great!

  • 08/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Green Bay's tuition and housing fees are very reasonable for the quality of living and education you receive. They offer many scholarships as well as personalized student loans and grants to enable each student to receive the education they deserve regardless of their financial situations. They also have hundreds of on campus jobs available for students that are both flexible and lucrative, so every student has the opportunity to work and earn money that can be put towards their education or for fun. =]

    Am enjoying being here

    As an outdoor kind of girl, I love the University of Wisconsin- Green Bay's campus. It is cozily nestled on a beautiful nature reserve teeming with trails that students can use for running, hiking, biking, as well as cross country skiing- which happens to be a big sport at our school. The trails wind around the campus as well as take you down to the glistening bay (about a 5 minute jog) and connect to other nature and wildlife reserves bordering the campus. Campus housing is also rapidly expanding. In the past, Green Bay was more of a commuter school, but in the past ten years has become much more of a residency school. New dorm and apartment complexes have been constructed in the last couple years to allow Green Bay to keep up with its ever increasing enrollment numbers. Each dorm room, as well as apartment, has its own bathroom, quite a luxury for a college student, as well as laundry rooms and lounges for students. I also find the Green Bay community as well as my fellow students to be very welcoming and friendly. There is always someone around willing to lend a helping hand, and people across the hall looking to make new friends to enjoy this new college experience with. Everyone is here for the same reasons, to further their education as well as make new friends and embrace new experiences and opportunities, so you might as well enjoy it together!

    Am learning a lot

    Since being accepted and enrolling at the University of Wisconsin-Green Bay I feel as though I have received an excellent education. There is a plethora of classes that enable Green Bay to cater to each and every student's interests and further their knowledge and education in the subjects of their choosing. A wide variety of available majors and minors allow each student to earn the exact degree that they desire as well as explore new subjects that may interest them. While Green Bay is primarily acknowledged as an undergraduate school, they also have excellent graduate programs.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    -party -chill with friends -game it up in union or your room -60/40 ratio of girls to guys ;)

    Food and Dining

    -barely any good food on weekends

    Dorm Life

    -can be fun if you make it fun -leave your door open to meet new people -keep making friends, can never have too many -enjoy life

    Academic Rigor

    -can be challenging at times -professor's are always there to help -don't be afraid to ask

    Tips for prospective students

    -bring a car -always leave your dorm room door open to meet new people -attend class even if you don't need to -get out and about -sit back and relax every once in awhile -take advantage of d1 sports and kress center use

    In three sentences

    university of wisconsin-green bay is a fun learning environment. classes are medium sized so you still get the college experience along with one-on-one with professor's. make sure to bring a car though, as it is no where near town, making weekends boring.

  • 04/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus safety personal all over if you need them.

    Greek Life

    I am not a part of this.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a huge selection.

    Great for these types of students

    People looking to explore opportunities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are tons of little cubbies to sit and study in all over the campus as well as in the tunnels that connect the buildings.

    Bang for the buck

    It is very cost effective and you definitely get your moneys worth for the education you receive.

    What to do for fun

    I work a lot as I live on my own, but in my free time I enjoy walking around the beautiful campus and enjoying the nature.

    Food and Dining

    The selection here is very good, as well as in the surrounding area.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    This school has many challenging classes and you are expected to pull your own weight.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would take all your gen eds and explore options before committing to a major, you may find something else you would love to make into a career.

    In three sentences

    It is a nice school with friendly staff. There are endless opportunities to what you can achieve here.There is an infinite amount of knowledge to be obtained, and this school is a great place to continue learning,

  • 04/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    The opportunities abound if you want to be involved in just about anything.

    Food and Dining

    Pretty good food, but a bit pricey.

    Academic Rigor

    You WILL be working. You can't coast through 4 years here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your online to-do list that the university gives you.

    In three sentences

    UWGB offers everything you might need, including a beautiful campus, state-of-the-art fitness center with a rock climbing wall and personal trainers, and faculty who are genuinely interested in helping you succeed.

  • 05/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I am a distance student so not involved in any of the activities- I have a full time job and am on several boards- FUN?

    Academic Rigor

    I am only an online part time 53 year old student, so not affected by academic rigor. S

    Tips for prospective students

    Give them a try- great staff!

    In three sentences

    I have just started with this college because of the assciation with IIMC. EVERYONE has been professional, friendly and extremely helpful in getting me signed up, books ordered and help with tuition aid. Whenever I call or email I get a response within 24 hours.

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I often walk back late from the computer lab/library during the busy times of the semester, and I feel completely safe. The walkways are well lit and the only thing you might face is a deer crossing your path.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Upon graduation, students throw a pair of shoes on the shoe tree.

    What to do for fun

    Tailgating at Green Bay Packer games, the New Zoo, campus events: concerts, recitals, etc., trails are around the campus, and there is the beach on Lake Michigan within walking distance.

    Food and Dining

    Depending on your food preferences, Green Bay has decent choices if you don't mind eating the same arrangement all year.

    Dorm Life

    This campus is quiet at times, but if you branch out and meet people you will have plenty to keep you busy.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes range on amount of time and course work, with a high emphasis on interdisciplinary, critical thinking.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to approach professors and fellow colleagues for help and discussing class work. The very laid back campus is very green, literally and figuratively, and is a great choice for those looking for a fun and fulfilling college experience.

    In three sentences

    UW- Green Bay has a very comfortable learning atmosphere with highly rated and helpful professors. Many opportunities for field experience are available through help of advisors, professors, and the career center. At this university, anything is possible when you put forth effort.

  • 05/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 19 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Appears to have a great security from the emails that I get

    Greek Life

    Unknown

    Clubs and Activities

    Unknown

    Great for these types of students

    Public Leadership IIMC students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Again long distance online student

    Bang for the buck

    A bit expensive for on line classes but they do have the courses in public leadership and government that I need

    What to do for fun

    I get lots of email showing lots of campus entertainment

    Food and Dining

    long distance student can not rate this

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life. Am long distance student

    Academic Rigor

    I am only a part time student online.

    Tips for prospective students

    Give it a try they have just reduced the tuition for online classes.

    In three sentences

    I have only just started with Green Bay. So far the experience has been wonderful. I started classes this week online and it is very easy to use.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Because of the large amount of students who live on campus the school has many safety options set in place. Public Safety is considered the on-campus police and are very helpful. They patrol the campus throughout the day and night. The school also has emergency blue-light phones set up every hundred feet in the housing area in case a student who is walking home late begins to feel unsafe or needs assistance.

    Greek Life

    Although the school does offer Sororities and Fraternities the members do not live together. Instead they function more as clubs than as living arrangements.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are hundreds of clubs offered at the University. Anything you can imagine they have. If you enjoy gaming their are a group of students who come together for that. Political? Then you in luck. Their are many groups who focus on politics and the elections. Religious? From Catholic to non-denominational. Their are also sports teams that accept everyone who just wants to play for fun.

    Great for these types of students

    UWGB is know for its business, nursing, and education programs as well as human development and psychology. If you are considering any one of these then this is the school for you. English is also an excellent degree field and many of the professors are warm, funny, and friendly as well as experts in their field.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The tunnels are by far one of the most unique things when it comes to university living. The tunnels connect to almost every building on campus and provide a safe and inviting way for students to get from class to class without having to go outside in the rain or snow.

    Bang for the buck

    Not only do my profeesors provide an interesting syllabus they provide their expertise on the subjects as well. Most of the professor don't read from their slides but instead share their passion for the subject with their students by drawing us into the world of the Bronte sisters, reinacting a battle scene or courtroom case, or perhaps weaving a story that will allow us to remember an important formula, date, etc.

    What to do for fun

    GB nights is an event that happens once a month were college students are offered crafts, games, and photobooths to use. The school also has a $2 movie theatre that shows a film Thursday through Sunday almost every week. GB also houses The Phoenix Club which offers pool tables, gaming systems, and big screen t.v.s to watch the packer games on.

    Food and Dining

    From burgers, pizza, subs, and vegetarian options the school offers many options. The breakfast is delicious and extremely cheap so that all students can start out the day with a balanced meal. The university also has a coffeeshop that serves fresh brewed Alterra coffee and espresso.

    Dorm Life

    UWGB is one of the few schools who has bathrooms in each dorm room. You only have to have one roommate and if you decide you would rather live in one of the apartment options on campus you can apply for that. I managed to live in an apartment my freshman year and loved it.

    Academic Rigor

    The grade you get is what you earn. It is up to you as the student to take your college education seriously. If you show that you care then your Professors are more apt to give you tips and ideas for projects, papers, etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    The school provides you with an email of your roommate(s). Get to know them before you move in with them. I did and I became friends with one of mine before we even moved in together.

    In three sentences

    Professors who know their field of study Great on-campus living options for students An environment that promotes learning and friendship

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I eat once in awhile on campus. I love the restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus, but my friends do and they love it.

  • 06/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great lengths are taken to secure students' safety, and make sure they have what they need to feel safe by themselves.

    Greek Life

    Not as big as other schools, but it still exists

    Clubs and Activities

    There is always something to join, and something to do

    Great for these types of students

    Environmentalists, those that do not like large crowds, intimate campus: secluded from the city

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The shoe tree is strange, but an interesting concept. Graduates throw their old shoes up into the tree's branches, and it's said that the higher the shoes stay in the tree, the more success that person will receive in life after graduation.

    Bang for the buck

    College is expensive regardless, but there are times when one feels their money is being well invested. For example: air conditioning in some of the housing buildings, as well as each room's personal bathroom.

    What to do for fun

    There are events almost every night provided by students of resident life, with the other students in mind. They go out of their way to make out of class time enjoyable.

    Food and Dining

    Expensive, but of good quality.

    Dorm Life

    A comfortable home away from home. The other residents, including roommates, are also away from their families, and it's a completely different environment. However, all necessary accommodations are available, and everyone is friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    It is college, and college is where one begins to develop the specific skills for what they want to pursue. It is a time of freedom and enjoyment, but one must not get carried away. College is the crucial time where one's independence begins, and their successes in life are determined by the effort put into their work.

    Tips for prospective students

    You will find yourself with a lot of down time, but always try to stay on top of your school work. Interact with as many people as you can, and participate in social events.

    In three sentences

    I have never interacted with so many competent, helpful people that sincerely want to help me succeed, than I have at UWGB. Although, it's largely a commuting campus, those in charge of student life make a great effort to entertain the on-campus students. It is a bit small, but it presents its students with the necessary opportunities to succeed in their future endeavors.

  • 07/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Whever you look, there are call center poles.

    Greek Life

    Not really any

    Great for these types of students

    Students who love the outdoors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The hidden church in the middle of the campus trails is very creepy but great to go to!

    Bang for the buck

    Typical school

    What to do for fun

    Walk around outside, and they have some activities planned on GB Nites

    Food and Dining

    Has very good food, and several cafes.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are alright.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors challenge you, and have great personalites.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring a car if you're able. You are able to take the bus, but that takes a long time to get where you're looking to go

    In three sentences

    UWGB is a great school for those students who love the outdoors. The campus is far from the city. It is a great all around school for any student.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Movies, athletics, Packer games

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy the small town homey atmosphere. Take advantage of all opportunities. Tranfer to larger school post graduation.

    In three sentences

    Lovely campus. Perfect size for small town students. Not enough diversity offered.

  • 08/27/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    25 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join clubs and organizations!

    Tips for prospective students

    Introduce yourself and make friends. Don't be shy.

    In three sentences

    The campus is nice and simple. It is very welcoming. It seems like a nice place to start college at.

  • 10/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    While there aren't many crimes that happen on campus, when something does all students are informed by email almost right away so they are aware of what happened and precautions to take so it doesn't happen to them.

    Greek Life

    There are a few sororities and fraternities on campus, but no actual Greek houses.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs, but the ones I am involved in are Phi Eta Sigma (an honor society for those who do well academically in their first semester at college) and Colleges Against Cancer. Both are wonderful clubs!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are environmentally conscious and who don't thrive on life in a huge city.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One tradition on campus is when you graduate you throw your shoes on one of the branches on a tree on campus. You walk under it and hope that no shoes fall and hit you in the head! A place that no one really goes on campus is the 8th floor of the library where you can see most of Green Bay and best of all Lambeau Field! It's gorgeous.

    Bang for the buck

    UW-Green Bay has THE BEST laboratories for the sciences in the UW system AND it's the cheapest to go to. Every lab that i've had has been fun and you use state of the art equipment, which is rare for such a small school to have. A GREAT bang for your buck.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, there's always a ton of activities to do on campus. There's always some kind of speaker or movie playing at night on campus so if you're bored, just go there. Also, intramurals are the best. I played intramural softball and had a blast and met a lot of great people!

    Food and Dining

    The food is excellent, but it's very expensive. I recommend Erbert's and Gerbert's, the Grille, and a Chicken Caesar Salad upstairs.

    Dorm Life

    While some people really enjoy living in dorms, it just wasn't for me. It was loud and cold, and I concentrated more on studying than partying, so it wasn't for me. The dorms are the nicest in the UW system though, they have their own bathrooms and they're roomier than most. It is also nice to not have to drive to campus for class.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are pretty rigorous, depending on what classes you take. As you get into more upper level classes, obviously they are much harder.

    Tips for prospective students

    Spend all of your dining pass money, or at the end of the year you will be stuck with a lot of stuff you don't need just to spend your money!

    In three sentences

    UW-Green Bay is a gorgeous and quiet place to learn. Nestled in the woods, there is a lot of wildlife and nature around campus! It's a small school so you know your professors and a lot of the students well.

  • 01/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have to say this is a really safe campus. This is even better with the underground tunnels! In the winter time when it gets dark earlier it is nice to know that you can safely travel from one class to another be simply utilizing the tunnels. It's warm and feels a lot safer than walking out in the open alone in the dark. Also, the parking lots are not that far away from the school if you're driving.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs and activities to get involved in and it's really not hard to find out what club/activities there are as each club posts it's meeting times/deadlines in the hallways and in the class rooms.

    Great for these types of students

    UW-Green Bay is great for any student who want a fun yet educational experience at a reasonable price because UW-Green Bay offer a variety of courses and several majors/minors.

    Bang for the buck

    Honestly, UW-Green Bay is really cheap and well worth your money. A semester's expense is about $3000-5000 (depending on what classes you take and how many and whether you live on or off campus) and there's so much you can do a semester. The education aspect is also very good. The professors really do know their material - especially in the upper level courses and they all teach very well.

    What to do for fun

    Definitely go to UWGB nights! It's really fun and you can even win prizes for simply attending and chilling. There's also pizza parties, dances, and other fun events you can attend (some of which are free to attend) and they are all posted in the hallways, on the boards in class. So it's really easy to find something to do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    Food here is good. Definitely a lot better than grade school/ high school lunch - especially the tacos! Also, if you're on a time crunch, there are several vendible machines and even mini food stop stores located throughout campus. The mini food stop stores will typically have coffee, homemade snacks, juice, and more!

    Dorm Life

    Honestly, I don't think dorm life can be a sour note - as long as you get to know your room mate. If you're lucky you two might even share similar classes and its really nice to be able to study together. The dorms also make it easy to quickly get to school/meet and talk to a professor. Plus, it's really nice knowing you don't need to be using gas to commute.

    Academic Rigor

    Completing the general education classes will be a lot simpler compared to the courses for your major/minor. However, the general education classes will typically have more amount of work to do outside of class. So it is busy work. As for the major/minor classes (the upper level courses especially), you may find yourself struggle at times. But, keep doing your homework in those classes (even though it won't be assigned/graded for credit) as that will help you learn the material. Seeing your professor on a weekly basis is also good if you find yourself needing more assistance to understand the material.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Don't skip classes - there will be those random times professors give out extra credit simply for being in class. 2. Do your homework - especially if its a class like math/chemistry. 3. Utilize the writing center and tutoring services - they will always be there and at no cost to you! 4. Get involved in clubs and make friends. It's honestly a lot easier to study for a final as a group than alone - especially for lab practicals.

    In three sentences

    It's a smaller school, so class sizes are a lot smaller - making it easier to talk to the professors/seek help. There's a writing center and tutoring center for the students at no charge. There are plenty of places in the school and in the library to sit at and study.

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    28 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    My suggestion to anyone who is considering attending UWGB- go and view the campus for yourself to see if you feel at home and love the environment as I did.

    In three sentences

    I recently had the opportunity to visit UWGB to help make my decision on where to go to college, and the campus is really beautiful. You have access to the city of Green Bay but live in what feels like a separate community surrounded by forests, trails, and of course, the bay.

  • 03/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus safety is fantastic! I feel incredibly safe on our campus. We are located away from the city so we are like our own college community. Campus safety is always making rounds and protecting the students and staff. In addition, we have 'emergency' phones placed all over campus in case we are in trouble!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are 100+ student organizations offered at UWGB. There is something for everyone! And if you can't find something, create your own!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    UWGB has the famous 'shoe tree'. According to our school website, The shoe tree is also a time-honored tradition at UW-Green Bay. When you graduate, you can fling an old pair of shoes into the â??Shoe Tree,â?? signifying the end of college by leaving a little of your â??soulâ?? behind but marking your bright future.

    Bang for the buck

    Just like any college, tuition is expensive. However, it's cheaper than most state schools and the amount you pay is worth it. The education and living area you receive is fantastic.

    What to do for fun

    While Green Bay is a small community, you can always find something to do. There are great restaurants, quality shopping, and a beautiful community. Plus, Lambeau Field and the Green Bay Packers! The student organization Good Times Programming provides many fun and entertaining activities and events on campus throughout the year.

    Food and Dining

    Since I live in an apartment I don't eat much campus food. However, the food I have had is always great! In addition, we have a grill and sub shop located close to housing.

    Dorm Life

    I never lived in the UWGB dorms. However, I live in a contemporary apartment with three other girls. We each have our own bed room as well as a full kitchen, living room, and bathroom area. It is beyond comfortable and very home-like.

    Academic Rigor

    UW-Green Bay provides quality and challenging courses. You are given a liberal arts and science education that will prepare you for your future. Challenging classes are always available, but you need to be willing to take them.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Get to know fellow students in your major -Get to know your professors -Ask questions -Get involved as a teaching or research assist -Take part in one or more internships

    In three sentences

    UW-Green Bay is an outstanding higher education institution. Professors and students are beyond helpful and guide you in the right direction. Not only does UWGB provide quality education, but it prepares you for the real world.

  • 04/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    UW-GB is a campus out in the middle of no where surrounded by lots of trees, so it gets pretty creepy at night. Public safety is not very helpful at all in making you feel safer. You never see them around at night. When they are around in the day they are not helpful either, this winter my car door was frozen shut, so I asked the officer a few feet away if he would help me pull the door open and he said no that is not part of his job.

    Greek Life

    We have 2 sororities and 2 fraternities, both are very easy to get into, they accept pretty much everyone, but don't do a lot together once your actually in.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a lot of academic clubs like pre-law club, future teachers club, pre-med club, but not many fun ones. I personally enjoy ballroom dance club.

    Great for these types of students

    UW-GB is great for students who study a lot and keep to themselves. I got a job off campus at a gas station just so that I could see and interact with people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a shoe tree on campus where you get to throw a pair of your old shoes in a tree once you graduate to leave your mark on campus, I look forward to doing this next year.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel that I am getting a good education for what I pay. I personally feel the meal plan is an unnecessary waste of money, and rent for on campus is outrageous, it is equivalent to leaving in 2 bedroom off campus apartment alone.

    What to do for fun

    You can go for walks on the nature trail, some people really enjoy the basketball games (no football team though because of the Packers), or you can just sit and hang out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    The campus food is pretty good, the corner store is expensive, but good. The only problem is that if you live in a dorm you need to buy the meal plan for $2000 a year. You get $950 each semester, but it doesn't transfer over and spending that much in 4 months is really hard. I feel this is a big part about why students gain weight at first.

    Dorm Life

    The biggest dorm is Roy Downham, it has 180 student and it is loud! The problem is that it isn't loud because people are hanging out or having parties, it is mainly because from your room you can hear people talking down the hall, they need thicker walls. At Least if it were people having lots of fun I could look past it. The dorms also don't provide main things to do, so you never really meet who you live with. Once you move to an on campus apartment your sophomore year, you can completely forget about ever even seeing your neighbors or talking to them.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes here are just like any other campus. If you take courses you are interested in, you are more likely to do better and enjoy the classes. However, if you take things that don't interest you, you will find it is harder to study and you will dislike the classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would think long and hard before coming here about what you want out of college, are you looking to get really good grades and future career opportunities or are you looking to have a great 4 years socially, sadly here you will not have both.

    In three sentences

    UW-Green Bay is definitely not a very active school, but you will get great grades because studying is all you will do. I feel like I have missed out on my college experience coming here, but I do have all A's so I can't complain too much. For the most part the classes and professors are helpful.

  • 04/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You will see Public Safety cruising around campus in their cars. Sometimes they walk through the buildings. UWGB has a blue light program, where there are safety lights that have buttons attached, which call for help. I feel very safe here!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of different clubs, there is an involvement fair at the beginning of each semester...you should most definitely attend!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    When you graduate you can throw a pair of old sneakers in a tree. It is pretty cool :-)

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs! If you are interested in just about anything there is probably a club for you, or room for you to make a club.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay. Dining plan is a good size. At the end of the academic year, if you have left over dining money, you can transfer it into anytime money (pass points), which is a wonderful bonus.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are nice, however there are not a lot of programming activities.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors expect a lot from you, but no more than they should.

    Tips for prospective students

    You will definitely want to live in the dorms if you are studying at Green Bay. Even though the dorm system is not the most involved system, you will meet people a lot faster living on campus.

    In three sentences

    The professors are very welcoming, however they have very high expectations in the science department. The campus is small, but beautiful. It is wonderful that all of the academic buildings are connected by tunnels because it is very cold in the winter.

  • 04/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have a lot of different activities to get involved in, there's the Kress Center for when you feel like working out or playing some sports, and they also have places around campus where you and friends can hang out and talk.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is delicious and made fresh everyday.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't actually lived in the dorms on campus, but from what some of my friends have said the dorms are really nice. They are very spacious and, for most of the dorms, don't have communal bathrooms that you share with 30+ other people.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes here are not terribly difficult but they do have a tendency of making you think critically. Just remember to keep studying, it always helps.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved on campus. It's an easy way to meet new people and feel welcome. Also, it's something to do so you won't be bored hanging out in your dorm the entire time.

    In three sentences

    UW-Green Bay has an awesome campus, filled with different activities for people who have different interests. Campus feels so open and inviting and doesn't have that feeling of exclusion that comes with some of the other campuses around the state. I would give it a 10/10.

  • 05/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Disk Golf, Weidner Theater, Packer Games, Sports Center, Nature Walks, Ice Fishing, Snowboarding

    Tips for prospective students

    Pick a major and plan you classes accordingly right away. If you are organized, it is easier to plan you your semesters and get to your goal quickly.

    In three sentences

    Wonderful school with many opportunities. Very green environment with lots of outdoor activities. Many different educational programs.

  • 07/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Bay Beach is only a couple minutes away from campus. Lambeau field is a 15 minute drive.

    Food and Dining

    The food is always changing so that you don't have to constantly eat the same thing all of the time which is great, but they always have the favorites. There are many places on campus to eat as well.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great because every room has their own bathroom so you don't have to walk down the hall at 1am just to use the bathroom. You don't have to shower with anyone. You can keep it as clean as you want it.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging and professors push you so that you get the best out of your experiences.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try your hardest in high school. Don't slack off because it leads to slacking in college.

    In three sentences

    The University of Wisconsin-Green Bay has a wonderful atmosphere with great professors. Beautiful campus. Great academic programs.

  • 08/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There has never been a moment I haven't felt safe on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many options its hard to do just one.

    Great for these types of students

    If you lived in small town all your life and want to move to a big city, but don't want to be in the middle of a big city, then this campus is perfect for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    My friends and I LIVE in the coffee shop. If you don't see one of us there its probably closed.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on on campus, whether it be a performer in the coffee shop or a new fitness class at the events center. Its hard not to find something to do with friends for a good time.

    Food and Dining

    You will always find something you like. There are so many options its hard not to find something to eat.

    Dorm Life

    Having your own bathroom is fantastic and Green Bay offers that. Also the dorms are small enough where you truly become a family with the other members of your residence hall.

    Academic Rigor

    I have had enough classes that challenge, balanced with classes of mediocre difficulty. There is always a good balance.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be early. I never stress this enough. If you are early to class and early to get your work done then you won't have to worry about being late. Its hard to get used to the fact that campus is its own kind of entity in what feels like the middle of nowhere, but adjusting isn't as difficult as it seems. Finally study hard, but play too. We all need down time. If you study all the time you may go a little crazy.

    In three sentences

    This university is a well rounded area for academic excellence. Their balance of extra-curriculars to core academics is fantastic. It combines knowledgable professors with a comfortable atmosphere to give students a great college experience and education.

  • 09/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It seems to be a very safe campus! The police have previously worked at other police departments and agencies and are very friendly, they came and introduced themselves during the first week. They have a program where you can call them if you don't feel safe going to wherever you are going and they will walk you to where you need to go. There is also many emergency telephone booths around campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    The campus seems to offer a wide variety of activities along with clubs. I believe there is only one sorority though. They do offer something called OrgSmorg where all the clubs will come together in one room so all the students can talk to advisors and see if there interested in joining.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    UWGB campus does have it's own 9 hole golf course that students do need to pay for to use, it is also open to the public. There's a tradition at our school that graduates hang there shoes on a tree, it's pretty cool. We do have many miles of trails that surround the campus as well, apparently there's a haunted church, haven't been able to find it yet though!

    Food and Dining

    On campus food is quite decent. Are lunch room is a decent size and offers many varieties of food. Besides are regular lunch room we do have a sub shop and hamburger joint, it's pretty good! I'd say it's also a bit costly though, but don't worry you should have plenty of money from your dining plan! We also have a game room area that offers pizza and other treats. The Mauthe center, the church on campus offers free home-cooked food on Tuesdays, and love donations, and the golf course has mexican food Monday's, at $1.50 an item. The only bad thing is that the sub shop is closed on weekends, but they try to still have it in the main lunchroom if that makes sense. There is also places just outside campus where you can use your university ID to get food, there's a Subway along with many other locations.

    Dorm Life

    I would say the dorm life is pretty good here at UWGB. The rooms are a decent size and you can always bunk your beds if you want more room! The one really nice thing about our dorms are that you have a private bathroom, only you and your roommate use it! There is no air conditioning though, so it kind of sucks the first week but it gets better after. All the dorms only have three floors so it's not an excessive amount of walking. Every dorm has at least one lounge and a laundry room. The lounges are nice, big flat screen television, air conditioning and a kitchen. The laundry is touch screen assist which makes it very easy and I've really never had a problem with waiting in a line to get my laundry done.

    Academic Rigor

    To be admitted into UWGB you don't need a spectacular GPA or ACT but I'm sure this is not all the admission office looks at in the admission process. The average GPA is 3.4 and the average ACT is 22. I would say most of my classes even though most are gen eds are rigorous, there's a lot of work for these classes, but they also have great professors. There all very great people and there easy to talk too if you have any questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would say you should attend all the events you can, there are so many in the first week. It's not only a good way to get involved but it keeps you busy if you feel homesick. This year for the orientation they had a scavenger hunt where we got a bunch of free stuff like a jump drive, water bottle, and coffee mug! Another thing I would suggest is enrolling in a first year seminar course. These professors not only teach interesting coursework, but get you familiar with the campus and are a great person to talk to if you have any questions. This is also another great way to meet new people.

    In three sentences

    I would give the University of Wisconsin-Green Bay a 4 out of 5 stars. It is a appealing school with great faculty and many friendly people and quite a lot of activities and clubs. The weekends can get a little boring though.

  • 10/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This school is generally safe. I personally feel safe during anytime of the day or night walking to where I need to go. However, for extra protection, public safety, the police officers on campus, are available during anytime to walk you back to your residence hall or apartment, or for anything you need to help you feel safe.

    Greek Life

    There is one fraternity and one sorority on campus. The school is not big on Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 150 student organizations for every type of student, and if you cannot find one meant just for you, it's simple to begin your own!

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who enjoy a more close-knit, family-like atmosphere. You are bound to have multiple classes with at least one person, especially within your first two years.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At UWGB, we have a shoe tree which is utilized by the college's graduates. Once they graduate, they throw their shoes onto the trees, representing them leaving their soles on campus!

    Bang for the buck

    Almost everything offered here is free for students, including gym access used by the D1 athletes!

    What to do for fun

    Other than hang out with friends, the school makes sure to have a program almost daily for students to attend. Also, every month, the school hosts a dance party on campus which is loads of fun, and other times the school has game nights. These two events in particular are almost everyone's favorite!

    Food and Dining

    There are tons of food options on campus including grilled food, fried food, pasta, tasty Mexican dishes, home cooked meals, and more! Also, some places off-campus accept pass points, which is like your UWGB version of a debit card.

    Dorm Life

    UWGB's residence halls have their own bathrooms in each room; the only person you have to share with is your roommate! Also, there is a lounge area with a TV, free for use any time with cable access, and there is a kitchen area with a stove, microwave, and refrigerator, all free and open to students! Additionally, within each room, there is cable access and free wifi!

    Academic Rigor

    Study, study, study! At UW-Green Bay, the classes do require one to study and critically think, but because of the smaller class sizes, the professors know you almost personally and will take the time to check on you to ensure your success. Be sure to utilize their office hours, and explore UWGB's other free resources such as the writing and/or tutoring center.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to get involved and join one of the 150+ organizations located on campus, or simply start your own. This will lead to the success of your college career here!

    In three sentences

    UW-Green Bay is a great university for academic and social purposes. With the addition of tunnels, the school creates a family atmosphere, and makes students feel at home. The people you meet here will definitely help encourage you and will make an impact that you will remember for the rest of your life!

  • 01/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You will see Campus Police all the time. It's hard to get away with anything on campus, even parking over the lines. The dorms are very, very secure. The only spot that's unsafer is the main part of campus as it is open to the public and no key cards are required to enter but unless you fear strangers, this is zero worries.

    Greek Life

    Very little. We actually only have one sorority and one fraternity; neither has a building or dorm, nothing like that. They're simply clubs. Something occurred with Greek Life a burnt a building down years back (supposedly) so now there's a limited amount.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of clubs and organizations on campus, trust me on this one. If there isn't one you like, you can easily create your own with a few friends. There is always something going on as long as you take the effort to attend!

    Great for these types of students

    If you are super social, this campus might not be the best for you. Green Bay is suited for the laid back student that doesn't want to party hard core - if you're studious and want and education, this is your school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    If you go out into the woods, there is a haunted chapel you can visit. For the best experience, go with a bunch of strangers you don't know around midnight - it's the best way to get a scare out of it!

    Bang for the buck

    As said, the campus is pretty laid back. You won't get the stereotypical college experience unless you actively seek it out. If you want to party and cause trouble, this college is not for you. If you want an education though, it's pretty spot on.

    What to do for fun

    A lot of the organizations hold events routinely and Good Times Programming puts on a lot of shows. If you make the effort to go to the Union, you'll be rewarded with some entertainment. If you're outdoorsy, the campus features many walking trails and volleyball courts. On top of that, the Kress is free to students and so are the finesses classes. Nothing screams fun like Zumba or a Butts and Guts class!

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay and unless you have a car to get on to the high way, you're going to be stuck with the same meals over and over again. All of the food on campus is provided by the same company so even though there's different locations it's the same exact thing. Gets tiring after a while so make sure you bring some easy meals to make in your dorm kitchen.Get the minimum dining plan - you lose it if you don't use it all and trust me, you won't!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms don't allow pets other than fish so half of the fun is lost, but the RAs are generally very engaging and energetic people. They were picked out of the pool for their jobs and are well suited. I'm sure almost everyone living in the dorms would vouch for their Resident Assistant. On top of that the security is really good and no one can get into your building or room unless you personally invite them in.

    Academic Rigor

    As a freshman, I did not think the classes were insanely challenging. If you have taken an AP class in Highschool, you will know what the typical intro level class at Green Bay feels like. Because of the schedule of classes, you have plenty of time to complete whatever work is assigned to and study as needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    College life on campus is really laid back so you have to make the most it yourself. If you stay in your dorm or at home all the time, you won't enjoy it at all. Every night has something different going on but you must take the effort to get yourself there otherwise you won't enjoy it at all.

    In three sentences

    A small campus that's easy to navigate and live a low key, stress-less life! Small student population makes it awesome. The professors aren't half bad either.

  • 02/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is very safe and has emergency phones placed all throughout campus. Public safety is always around.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Org Smorg is a great place for you to find a club that is right for you. Whether its Bio club, German Club, or BSU we have it,

    Great for these types of students

    Students that like athletics and love having their own bathroom (no community bathroom here).

    What to do for fun

    We have dances every month and a lot of fun activities to keep one entertained.

    Food and Dining

    Food is not that good and is very repetitive. But, there are a variety of options outside of campus where you can use pass point to buy food.

    Dorm Life

    You have your own bathrooms and when you become an upperclassman you can get an apartment and have your own room.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are great and knowledgeable. They love teaching and you get your money worth.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise prospective students to become active in the campus community and take advantage of the opportunities offered.