Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

University of Wisconsin-Parkside Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 11/30/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 8 people found this review useful. 2 people found this inaccurate. 1 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    anyone

    Tips for prospective students

    dont expect to love it

    Bang for the buck

    this is a last resort school

    Am enjoying being here

    there are no partys, the campus is just one hallway with two buildings attached

    Am learning a lot

    the classes are easy, its the same as high school

  • 01/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 2 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who are interested in the medical field and the business field.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are coming to UW-Parkside my tip for you is join an organization, go to the first year experience meetings, and HAVE FUN!

    Bang for the buck

    I think that you get a lot for your money, you just have to make it worth it. I am a commuter and the only complaint is that you pay all this money for a parking pass but there is never any parking.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being on campus. I think that they have so many opportunities to join organizations. There are organizations for everyone. In the beginning of the school year they have all the organizations in one room so that you can find one that you love and join. There are so many opportunities to do things on campus, they have ice cream socials, sex fest, movies, athletic games, and much more. All of these events are free to attend.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned so much from attending this college. I have enjoyed all of my classes and the people in my classes. I have learned a lot from my professors. I have learned that some classes might appear easy but are actually very difficult.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    UW-P has Greek Life but not a lot.

    Clubs and Activities

    UW-Parkside has one of the best Student Activities offices I have ever seen. They allow so many different clubs to be started and do everything they can to provide the resources you need to be successful. Being involved in an organization is one of the most rewarding aspects of coming to this school.

    Great for these types of students

    Well-rounded, diverse, high achieving individuals

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is located right next to, or practically on, a beautiful state park with access to hiking, running, disc golf, regular golf, and more. The campus has a free disc golf course right on its grounds and a very cheap, yet quality golf course right next to campus. Also, the campus is well known for its musical and theatrical performances that go on every week. We are very fortunate to have access to something people drive into the city for right on our campus.

    Bang for the buck

    UW-Parkside is one of the cheapest schools I know of which still has a very high quality education. I paid less than $8,000 a year for a top-notch AACSB accredited business school.

    What to do for fun

    Head into downtown Kenosha, Milwaukee, or take the short train ride to Chicago. Enjoy the sandy beaches along Lake Michigan in the summer. Go shopping at the Pleasant Prairie Outlet Malls. Watch the only Division II athletics in the state of Wisconsin for free right on your campus. Get involved in organizations who host social events on a weekly basis.

    Tips for prospective students

    Consider what is truly important to you in a school. Think about how much you are going to try to benefit from your college career or if you are just looking for a party. There are so many small aspects that are overlooked when people choose schools, which is why there are best-kept secrets like UW-Parkside.

    In three sentences

    University of Wisconsin-Parkside is one of the best schools in the UW system, but is one of the most underrated of all the UW schools. The business school is excellent and has provides many opportunities for success. UW-P is affordable and in a great location.

  • 12/13/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants to live at home while in college or just wants to go to school and not worry about friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want a school that is fun and has a lot of different activities, don't come here. If you want a school where you can study and be by yourself when you need to be, Parkside is your place.

    Bang for the buck

    If you live at home and want to stay home, its cheap enough. If you lived close by growing up the extra few thousand to live on campus is not worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    Unless you come here knowing someone, join clubs, or go out of your way to talk to people don't expect to make many friends. The campus is pretty small, not many parties, activities late at night.

    Am learning a lot

    The freshman classes are just like a high school review course.

  • 08/23/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 5 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Artists, Business(wo)/men, and anyone else who wants their first college experience to be a personal and friendly one. The professors are very helpful and won't hesitate to help someone. This school is wonderful for those who enjoy taking walks in nature, but just make sure that you do it in the daytime, or with a flashlight! There are paths leading right from campus into a park, and the park has wonderful walking trails.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take as many credits as you can handle. If you're paying to be a full time student, that's 12 credits right there. Any credits between 12 and 21, I believe, are considered 'free', so, since you're paying for the minimum package already, why not get the free upgrade? Also, get the mean plan. Anywhere on campus that sells food will take the meal plan on the Ranger Card, and you can even find discounts too. Subway is amazing, especially their soups. You'll be relying heavily on them for food after a while, for the cafeteria food gets to be repetitive after a while, but if you like burgers and fries, the cafeteria's your kind of place. Also, Parkside is one of the schools where you have to buy or rent all your books. And you have to pay for paper when printing in the library. Not so fun. :/

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to some other schools, Parkside is relatively cheap. Parking is a little expensive, but if you're staying on campus, like I did, all you have to do is find a spot to park your car for the week and let it sit. True, there were some days where you needed to get something in the middle of the week. Best time to go and get a good spot when you come back? Leave around 4 or 5 pm, get back at around 7 or 8 pm. That's when the good spots are all free, because people get out of class and leave to go home. And when all the spots in front are taken, the residence hall parking lots are the first place they look.

    Did enjoy being here

    The campus was beautiful, even in the coldest of winter. All of the academic buildings are connected by raised hallways, so you can get to all of your classes or to get food without ever having to step outside in the rain or snow. The dorms, apartments, and suites were, of course not connected, and neither was the Student and Activity Center, but if the weather was bad enough to need the walkways, the SAC was usually closed anyway. The campus is also very safe. It's removed enough from 'civilization' that you won't get mobbed on the streets but close enough that there are shuttle buses to the mall and many other big stores needed for college life.

    Did learn a lot

    The classes Parkside had were very well varied for the size of the campus. The class sizes were relatively small, which gave students more one-on-one time with teachers and professors. I feel that I was able to learn more because of the more personal atmosphere the classrooms had.

  • 04/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safe Walk RHA advisors UW-Parkside police

    Greek Life

    Sigma Lambda Beta International Fraternity Inc.

    Clubs and Activities

    Y.E.S. (Youth Empowered in the Struggle), UW-Parkside Student Government, Latinos Unidos

    Great for these types of students

    Youth Activists assemble and organize in Latinos Unidos every week for fun events.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Ranger Rock in the middle of campus is painted every week by an organization.

    Bang for the buck

    Become a campus ambassador

    What to do for fun

    Socialize with my fraternity and my organization.

    Food and Dining

    When I do eat the food is really good.

    Dorm Life

    I don't know because I commute

    Academic Rigor

    It is challenging but doable

    Tips for prospective students

    Studying pays off

    In three sentences

    This college offers connections with other campuses in the state of Wisconsin. This college also lets people engage with their professors on a more personal level. This college also gives full contact with tutors for assistance on assignments and projects assistance.

  • 07/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Tips i would give to new students coming in is don't stay on your room get out and meet people. Dont fall ebhind in you classes if you need help go to tutoring its free and they are their to help you.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a bang for your buck because it isnt nearly as expensive as Uwm- Milwaukee or Uw-Whitewater would be.

    Am enjoying being here

    I like being at school. It's very peaceful away from all the loud cars and police sirens i often hear in the city, It has beautiful scenery and its just a breath of fresh air.

    Am learning a lot

    My freshman year which was last year it was basically review, but it refreshed me and i learned a bit more than what my highschool teachers taught me.

  • 01/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there is always some kind of event going on in the den and student center.

    Tips for prospective students

    be aware, if you commute, the parking is limited. always get a look for where your class rooms at least an hour b4 each class starts.

    In three sentences

    it has well equipped art and theater facilities. professors are knowledgeable as well as helpful. as well, the athletics facilities are very worth while.

  • 02/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    as long as you have a good group of friends you can always find something to do. whether it just be getting food from the cafe, or going shopping. plus parkside always has activities going on, such as movies, or dances.

    Food and Dining

    the foods good, it's nice having subway on campus. also at night it's nice to hit up the den with your friends, but remember to always watch your balance.

    Dorm Life

    everyone is really nice. one can tell that the r.a.'s like doing their jobs. people are respectable about quite hours.

    Academic Rigor

    some nights one may have more work than others, but everything that is given is always doable. it's never an outrageous amount of work. and the professors are always there to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    know that it is more of community college. also like stated above, the class work is never too much and that the class room sizes are never huge, so if working with smaller groups, this would be a good school for you.

    In three sentences

    it's a very small campus, but it's what you make out of it. everyone is friendly, and it's easy to make friends. the class work is never too much.

  • 04/01/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe, although the police can be a bit overzealous.

    Bang for the buck

    The campus is located 45 minutes from Milwaukee & an hour from Chicago. You get the feel of a small town atmosphere, but have the big city options close by.

    What to do for fun

    There is a first rate cross country running course available.

    Food and Dining

    Have never eaten on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Have not lived in the dormitories. Second hand accounts rate it as mediocre.

    In three sentences

    This is an extremely affordable school for someone interested in the MBA program. Acceptance requirements are very simple. The staff is helpful.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    College is expensive, but I think this school is fairly resonable

    Food and Dining

    It depends on what food you like. Subway is good and then the panini place is amazing. I love the panini place and the mini starbucks

    Academic Rigor

    I am taking mostly science classes and you have to put in a lot of effort otherwise just drop the course

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to other students about professors (it can be a semester saver) and get your books early (otherwise, the prices will literally double over night).

    In three sentences

    The University of Wisconsin-Parkside is a great school to attend. It is on the smaller side, but I always enjoyed that because then I for sure know a friend or friend of a friend in all my classes. Plus, since it is tiny I can still make it to all my classes on time without having to sprint across the campus to not be late.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's a police station on campus, so it's pretty hard to get into danger here. All of the cops are really nice!

    Greek Life

    Something for everybody, and the best part about Greek life is that it is very diverse.

    Clubs and Activities

    too much to list! I really enjoy the environmental club

    Great for these types of students

    People who like a lot of space, and a close group of friends. This is a small campus with only about 2000 students on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Theres a rock in the middle of the dorms and everyone is always painting over it to represent their sorority or casue. it never looks the same lol

    Bang for the buck

    You get a lot for your money here! you get half off on food at certain places, and the tuition is one of the cheapest in wisconsin. It's cetainly worth it!

    What to do for fun

    Clubs, sports, or just chilling with freinds. I really enjoy the 700 acres of trails here. It's nice if your an outdoor person!

    Food and Dining

    I have no complaints about the food. The den is really fun on wing night!

    Dorm Life

    A lot of fun, and the students here are very mature and you will have no problems fitting in. There's something for everybody

    Academic Rigor

    You are never orver loaded with homework, and there's always help and the professors are great!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make yourself known, and don't be shy to ask for help. There's tons of people here for you!

    In three sentences

    This school is a great eye opener to students. It's not too hard core, but just at the right level for students who are adjusting to college life. This school is perfect for those who want room to grow!

  • 07/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have our own campus police that works along side of Kenosha county to ensure the safety of everyone on campus. There is a safewalk program where they walk or drive you out to your vehicle if you don't feel safe walking by yourself and there are call boxes located all over campus that are directly connected to the campus police.

    Greek Life

    Plenty of sorority and fraternity life on campus

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of sorority and fraternities on campus and a variety of clubs like Latinos Unidos, PASA for non traditional students, Marketing and Accounting clubs and organizations too many to mention.

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students including non-traditional students can attend. There are plenty of night and weekend courses offered also. They have a sports management program, MBA programs and also a consortial program in nursing with UW-Milwaukee.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It is located on a prairie so there is plenty of wild life like deer, geese and a variety of birds and small animals that you can see. We have a mascot Ranger Bear that has participated in mascot competiions and took third place in the UCA MAscot Competition in 2011.

    What to do for fun

    There are two disc golf courses right on campus and there are a variety of sports activities to participate in or attend. There is a cinema and a hangout place called The Den where you can play video games or just hang out with friends. There are two cities close to campus for shopping and other activities.

    Food and Dining

    The variety of food is excellent. In the student center there are many choices for everyone, fresh, healthy, hot or cold food is offered. Everything from pizza, Asian food, entrees, sandwiches, and soups and salads are offered daily. There is also a Subway sanchwich shop and small grocery store at the opposite end of campus.

    Academic Rigor

    So far I've enjoyed attending classes here. The class sizes are very manageable and the professsors and lecturers have open hours for meeting with them. In fact they encourage it. If you need extra help the tutoring center employs students to tutor other students in many different subjects.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the campus resources, tutoring center, library and advising center to your advantage. Don't be afraid to ask questions and don't take more classes than you can handle. Study first and play later.

    In three sentences

    Great small University you wont get lost or become just another student ID number. They are very pro active in communicating and keeping students on track. Smaller class sizes help to have more one on one time with your professors and lecturers.

  • 08/11/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the orientation and get a feel for this school before you knock it off as too small.

    In three sentences

    Parkside University is a small school in the country that is pleasing to the eye and easy to navigate. It's spacious interior provides comfortable yet roomy atmosphere. The faculty is warm and eager to help.

  • 10/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe place. There is always someone close by in case you need help.

    Greek Life

    Numerous number of organizations. There is bound to be one that feels right for you.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of sports and organizations to join.

    Great for these types of students

    The small class size is perfect for students who want to really now your professors. Friendly faculty and staff and always willing to help. Students are friendly. Great for students who know what they want to become.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not aware of any.

    Bang for the buck

    One of the least expensive when it comes for tuition. Great school.

    What to do for fun

    Plenty of things going around campus.

    Food and Dining

    Good food and many options available throughout campus.

    Dorm Life

    A few of my friends live in dorms and they love them.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging but not overwhelming. You munt do your work if you want good grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your homework. Take advantage of the opportunities this university has to offer.

    In three sentences

    Small university with a friendly atmosphere. Very welcoming and full of people with the same interests. Academically challenging and full of advancement opportunities.

  • 10/16/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    16 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    It's pretty close to both Downtown Kenosha and Racine, so even if there's nothing going on on campus, there's plenty to do in town.

    Dorm Life

    I don't plan on living in the dorms since my house is close enough to commute.

    Academic Rigor

    I don't know as I'm not a student yet

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely take the tour. It was very informative and helpful.

    In three sentences

    I took a tour a couple weeks ago. The campus was laid out nicely, I liked that, for the most part, you don't have to go outside. It's seems like it's small enough so you don't get lost in the crowd, but big enough to have some diversity.

  • 11/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is well monitored and well protected.

    Clubs and Activities

    Frats Fraternities Game Club And so much more

    Great for these types of students

    Quiet Introverts Friendly Extroverts Students from different countries Students that want to stay close to home

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Indian appreciation

    Bang for the buck

    The food in the cafeteria is pretty cheap, and the campus events are almost always free.

    What to do for fun

    You can hang out in the Den, where there are arcade games, TVs, pool, computers, and even sometime shows. There are campus events too, like movies in the cinema.

    Food and Dining

    Usually has pretty good food. Or you can eat at Subway which is also found inside the school.

    Dorm Life

    Needs more activities.

    Academic Rigor

    Gives proper and necessary criteria for majors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet up with an advisor right away. Tour the school a couple of times. Ask a lot of questions about the school, and what it offers.

    In three sentences

    Small to medium sized environment. Quiet and diverse. Friendly students and teachers.

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have security boxes outside. However, I never see any security on campus.

    Greek Life

    Lots of sororities and fraternities and they're all really nice and helpful. Always planning something.

    Clubs and Activities

    Offers intramural sports. Zumba nights.

    Great for these types of students

    Art, music, and biology majors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Always something happening on the bridge. Check it out.

    Bang for the buck

    Schools pretty cheap. They don't offer financial aid for winter classes which sucks.

    What to do for fun

    They always have something happening. Like a carnival fair. Play Frisbee golf.

    Food and Dining

    Food is expensive and meal plan is not worth it. Do campus cash instead.

    Dorm Life

    Don't live in dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are not to intense, make sure you study a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always do your homework. Even if the teacher does not collect it, do it anyways.

    In three sentences

    Very small classroom sizes. Lots of one on one time with the teachers. Easy to get around.

  • 01/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has a police station and crime does not happen on campus

    Greek Life

    None that I know of

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many to list

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students living at home or want the feel of attending a community college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    University of Wisconsin Parkside is a commuter school; most its students drive there. The student body is more focus on school and than partying.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club, a sport, or a student organization. Other than that, you have to make friends.

    Food and Dining

    They have a subway which is open on the weekdays.

    Dorm Life

    I do not stay in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Biology is a hard class. The instructor covers a lot of material but if you stay ahead, class will be manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Successful students stay ahead of the class. Study the materials before and after class and always ask questions.

    In three sentences

    The classes are small which makes access to the instructor convenience. The students are friendly and willing to help. The instructors are always ready to answer questions.

  • 04/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe on campus. I've never not felt safe.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like more individual attention and time with professors.

    What to do for fun

    I don't live on campus so I'm not really involved. I'm not honestly sure what there is to do for fun. Off campus, tho there's movie theaters, bowling, tons of restaurants and plenty of bars.

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat in the cafeteria due to the fact that I'm a commuter.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are tough. I'm in the applied health sciences major, and taking a bunch of science classes at once isn't easy. It's a big time commitment and lots of studying. It is what I love to do though and it's interesting so it motivates me more to do it.

    Tips for prospective students

    If smaller classes and more intimate lectures are your style, Parkside is a great choice. It isn't s small though that it feels boring and claustrophobic. It's a great size with awesome professors. I love getting to know them and have more one on one time with them.

    In three sentences

    I like that Parkside is a smaller campus because I can connect with my professors more. I get to know them more personally and that makes me more engaged in class. I'm also more willing to participate and ask questions if needed.

  • 06/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The police station is right on campus and there are always officers on duty. You can see them roaming the halls frequently.

    Greek Life

    There are a ton of sororities and fraternities that are always making campus life interesting.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is an organization for every interest someone might have. If you don't see a club you like, you can start your own!

    Great for these types of students

    Exchange students, diverse students, LGTBQ students, all students!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our campus is known for being very diverse and accepting. The LGBTQ community is very large on campus, so it's a very warm and inviting place for all types of people.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm very pleased with my education and the money I spend to get it.

    What to do for fun

    Parkside is right next to a beautiful park! Take a walk, check out the scenery, play disc golf, hang out with friends. You'll never be bored on campus.

    Food and Dining

    There is a lot of variety on campus, you'll never get tired of the food.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't lived in the dorms, but I've visited them and they're accommodating.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes aren't going to kill you, but they're going to make you work for your degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask for help if you need it! Your peers and your professors are more than willing to help!

    In three sentences

    Parkside is a diverse campus where everyone gets along well with everyone else. The campus is beautiful in all four seasons. The professors are very knowledgable and friendly, they want you to succeed.

  • 07/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police are on campus with multiple phones available in the lots to call.

    Clubs and Activities

    Something for everyone!

    What to do for fun

    There are many festivals and activities in the surrounding areas. Art museums, beaches, concerts, movie theaters including a drive-in are all within driving distance.

    Food and Dining

    Subway is located near the library, Starbucks near the bookstore, and the cafeteria has multiple options. The dining plans are great options even for commuters.

    Academic Rigor

    Nursing courses are demanding and your grade point will matter!

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus and get involved in the various campus groups. Don't be afraid to ask questions of the professors or staff.

    In three sentences

    Racially diverse with many degrees to chose from. Many activities to occupy free time. Professors that not only teach, but care for their students.

  • 07/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    quickly responsive and easy to get along with, very reasonable and won't hesitate to enforce policy.

    Greek Life

    The greek life is great no discrimination of any kind somewhat easy to get in if you are interested in that life.

    Clubs and Activities

    lots of clubs to join and even more activities just get out there and sign-up or you can always start you own club.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for any type of students everyone fits in somewhere and everyone is excepted in the community, no matter where you are from or what you look like its a great experience.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not really any unusual traditions on campus everyone is normal and enjoys the college- life.

    Bang for the buck

    Great price for a valued education, I know because I attended a private school that was 3x the price and had a very poor education.

    What to do for fun

    Join a frat, it is great and builds lifetime connections. If you aren't into greek life join intramural sports and mingle with other students.

    Food and Dining

    great dining experience and always something great to choose from. If you are into eating healthy there is also a wide variety of healthy foods to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    Great students and even better residence assistants who are cool but do enforce policy.

    Academic Rigor

    According to your major you have a great opportunity and great professors who want to help you reach your goals.

    Tips for prospective students

    Choose you class schedule wisely, and leave room for fun as their are lots of activities. go to class everyday it is hard to catch up but easy to keep up if you are going to class.

    In three sentences

    Parkside is a great student and family friendly environment. the education is great and so is the community. easily on of the top schools in the UW school system.

  • 09/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I would not even think about going anywhere else. The smaller class sizes are ideal. The professors all know your name even if you've never introduced yourself to them yet. Very impressive faculty! They want you to succeed and reach your goals. They really do want you to succeed!

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of activities both on campus and off campus. Club Icon is a popular hangout off campus.

    Food and Dining

    The meal plan saves you a lot of money! 50% off on most items in The Brickstone Cafeteria with a meal plan, but you need to know how to use the meal plan only on those discounted items.

    Dorm Life

    There are plenty of options from dorms to suites to apartments, both on campus and off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Do the homework and what is expected of you and you will be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find a balance between extra activities and homework. This is a very welcoming and diverse school. Huge diversity here and everyone is very friendly.

    In three sentences

    One of the best universities you could ever attend. Almost zero crime rate compared to Milwaukee schools in the larger city. Beautiful location on 700 acres of amazing land.

  • 01/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've been on night walks (including the weekends where campus is dead) and have felt safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities here on campus, but not many people are involved due to the fact that many commute.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who want a learning first environment Those who want to stand out (the one thing I noticed about students here considering it is mainly a commuter school is that not many people are involved in clubs/organizations) Those who want a small university that is an actual university

    What to do for fun

    Unless you have many friends that live on campus if you live on campus, there is not many things to do on campus especially on the weekend. Most of the activities that happen on campus are on the weekdays. During the weekdays, there are events held by the Parkside Activity Board such as movie night on Tuesday, bingo, etc. When I have time and ambition, I'm usually heading to either downtown Milwaukee or downtown Kenosha with my roommate and a few friends. There is a lot of things to do in downtown Milwaukee. Downtown Kenosha, on the other hand, does not have as much things to do but more preferred if you're the more peaceful kind. The lakefront is an amazing place to just take in and hang out.

    Food and Dining

    Cafe Creations: Best place to get variety The Bread Box: Basically Sodexo's version of Subway Subway: At the Wyllie Market (I've never personally used it) Fiery Hearth: Italian food (Pizza, pasta) Sizzles: Burgers are served here consistently (I personally got sick and tired of it)

    Dorm Life

    This is where most people tend to spend if they live on campus. I on the other hand prefer to spend most of my waking hours at the Student Activity Center. The rooms are pretty generic. There's nothing real special one can do to it. There's a loft kit that'll allow you to make a bunk bed to make more room. At night time, it seems like there seems to be a lot of floormates in different floors that hang out with each other.

    Academic Rigor

    It won't blow you away. However, if you have the right professors, you will get your fair share of academic work that requires you to do more than what's presented.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is not a party school. If you're looking for fun 24/7, this is not the college to do it. Also, this is one of the smallest schools population wise in the UW-System. Barely 1000 people live on campus, as 70%+ live off campus. Thus the lack of partying in this school promotes a good learning environment. The professors here are good at their job.

    In three sentences

    This school is primarily a commuter's school with a public 4 year university feel. There is not much school spirit/enthusiasm here. The best thing about Parkside is the environment promotes learning.