Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

University of Wisconsin-Platteville Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 out of 12 people found this review useful. 1 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Platteville is a small campus college. The classes have about 20 to 30 students per one teacher. The big lecture hall classes would have roughly 150 students at most. Professors are very friendly and are willing to help when ever needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Platteville has a variety of majors and minor that it offers. If one is undecided as to what they want to go into there are advisers that are there to help you figure it out.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being on campus. Everything is so close and near by. Everyone on campus is friendly and will help when ever needed. Its a great place to make new friends and get an education for your future career.

    Am learning a lot

    There are a lot of different classes that are offered at Platteville. You get to pick and choose which classes you want to take.

  • 01/20/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 2 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Many students major in Engineering and Agriculture, though there seems to be a wide range of students on campus. If you like the small campus feel, but are close to larger cities this is the place for you!

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely ask as many questions as you can think of if you come for a campus tour. If you know someone already on campus, maybe ask to shadow them for a day to really experience campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Platteville definitely offers a quality education for the price, and the facilities are nice. Though the food plan is a little pricey, it is still affordable and the food is decent compared to other colleges. If you are resourceful, you will find a lot of scholarships offered by the college itself. http://www.uwplatt.edu/finaid/scholarships.html This link is an excellent resource for finding scholarships. The parking pass is also very affordable, my previous college was more than double the price of my pass here!

    Am enjoying being here

    Being a transfer student, I am often comparing my experience at Platteville to my previous college. There is a significant difference in school spirit, and the overall feeling of the campus is very positive. I love the location, because I am surrounded by lots of open land but I'm still only an hour away from Madison, and really close to Illinois and Iowa boarders. The town itself also has a lot of restaurants and activities to offer.

    Am learning a lot

    The majority of my professors are all actively working in their industry in addition to teaching, and therefore are very current on events. This adds an excellent component to class time, I'm never just learning facts, rather useful information I can relate to the real world and the workforce.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On every light post there is a blue glowing button for safety and to press of you are in danger. Authorities will be there within minutes. There are cameras for safety as well.

    Greek Life

    As an incoming freshman I have already received many invites to Greek living. They take it serious yet fun. The Greek life at Platteville is actually pretty large.

    Clubs and Activities

    Platteville has over 200 clubs and activities that you can join and you can find them all at their website under pioneer link.

    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing yet enjoys a little peace and isn't a huge fan of a large city. Adventurous, and easy going kind.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    To be honest, the only thing I know of is the M..once I move in (tomorrow) I will know a lot more of the traditions!

    Bang for the buck

    Platteville is not too expensive either! You get a great education with fewer holes in ur pockets and less debt and loans to pay off!

    What to do for fun

    In walking distance, we have bowling alleys, movie theatres, Wal mart (people love going there I guess). The giant M is amazing, the view from up there is indescribable. We are only and he from Madison and 30 min from Dubuqe, Iowa. In Dubuqe you can find many things like the wild life sanctuary, a mall for shopping, river walk, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The main known place would be Platters, thi is where the typical college food is. However, Platteville also offers many restaraunts and specialty foods. We also have the C Store where you can use your meal plans and points to buy stuff!

    Dorm Life

    They currently just built Rountree, a more updated dorm, you get your own bathroom and kitchen, plus it has air conditioning! You need a medical excuse to get one installed in the other dorms such as Porter, Dobson, Melcher, etc.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors and academic advisors here don't want you to have too much on your plate as an incoming freshman, so they try to keep you around 15-16 credits yor first semester. Platteville's undergraduate rates are in the high 80 percentile!

    Tips for prospective students

    Consider Platteville for your future college studies! They are one of two schools in Wisconsin that have cadavers, so of you are interested in the medical or criminal justice field, this school is a great choice! Platteville's leading programs are; Engineering, Criminal Justice, and Agriculture. UW Platteville even has its own farm for agriculture studies!

    In three sentences

    I love the campus atmosphere, being from a graduating class of 32, platteville is the perfect size. I guess one thing that the guys like, the guy to girl ratio is 2:3, keeping them happy! It's not too city like, it has the town and necessities, but it's also very country...we have the largest M to climb!

  • 10/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    For people who have been admitted, make sure to research your professors. Many are foreign and impossible to understand. It's always much easier to learn from a professor who speaks your language as their primary one, unless they have a lot of experience in the language. Many here don't have that experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to apply early for scholarships very early, otherwise even a transcript with a 4.0 won't be rewarded. Do it while applying for the school.

    Bang for the buck

    It's super inexpensive and offers several great scholarships. Without scholarships though, it is still one of the cheapest universities around. It offers tons of programs and accepts AP credit for any class they have.

    Am enjoying being here

    There are plenty of nice people and professors, but it's also very slow paced. Nothing as exciting as an in city college, but if that is what you wanted, there is no problem with this school. It seems as if most people here aren't top tier intellectuals, so if you don't want to feel intimidated by a lot of intelligent students, here is the place to be as well.

    Am learning a lot

    Many of the classes are incredibly simple. The higher level classes are much better, but anything 2000 and bellow, you are treated as if you are a freshman in high school. It's really frustrating to be taught an education that is greatly toned down and edited. The number of required survey classes for general education just makes this experience extended for all four years...

  • 08/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    agriculture and engineering.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you want to attend here, make sure you have your basic knowledge of the classes you will attend, especially chemistry and biology, because the higher classes expect you to be coming in with the basic understanding.

    Bang for the buck

    you are able to get a big college experience for a lower cost than what you would pay at madison.

    Will enjoy being here

    I have many friends that currently attend, and they have great things to say about the University. I fell in love with their animal science and pre-vet and that is the reason I applied.

    Academic Rigor

    i have already began learning things with the classes i am in. there are certain classes that are mandatory for all majors, and future students should know that some of these classes are liberal and can have differing views of those the students have personally.

  • 04/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Platteville is pretty good about security. They have campus police around, and there really isn't much danger. Especially being a smaller town, safety really isn't a problem.

    Greek Life

    I'm not personally in a sorority, but a few of my friends are in fraternities and they really like it. There are the typical fraternities and sororities that sort of fit the stereotype, but there's also a lot that aren't what you'd expect.

    Clubs and Activities

    There really seems to be something for everyone. There's political clubs, sports clubs, intramurals, and lots of various activities going on all the time. There are even things like Squirrel Club and Doughnut Run Club. The marching band here is pretty good, too. In general, it's pretty easy to get involved with something you love.

    Great for these types of students

    If you prefer a smaller town setting, where you know more of your peers and have smaller class sizes, you should seriously consider Platteville. If you're someone who prefers big cities, you honestly probably would get bored here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One thing that's definitely unusual is that the campus was built around a cemetery, but honestly after awhile you get used to it and sort of forget it's there. Another little fact is that Bo Ryan used to coach here, and our basketball court is named after him.

    Bang for the buck

    Being one of the cheapest UW schools, it's definitely good value. The education is high-quality but doesn't cost nearly as much as schools such as Madison. Keep in mind that no matter what the school might tell you, it really doesn't matter that much where you get your degree from, especially a few years after you graduate. Of course for something like business a school like Madison might look better than, say, UW Fox Valley, but a few years into your career, employers care more about your experience than anything else. That all being said, Platteville is still regarded as one of the top engineering and CJ schools, and is good for the rest of its programs as well.

    What to do for fun

    As I said earlier, there obviously isn't as much to do as in big cities like Madison. There are a lot of good restaurants in town, such as Las Palmas or Pizzeria Uno. There's also a bowling alley and of course, Second Street has all the bars. There's a disc golf course on campus, too. There's other stuff to do on and off campus, but if Platteville doesn't keep you busy enough, Dubuque is only 30 minutes away, and Madison is a little over an hour away, so it's pretty easy to find something fun to do. There's even a shuttle every weekend that takes students from campus to Madison and back, and a shuttle that goes around town on a daily basis.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is actually pretty good compared to other schools. I transferred to Platteville from UW - Eau Claire, and personally I think the food is much better here. There are three main options for dining, Platters (buffet), Glenview, and the PSC, all of which are pretty good. The PSC is probably the best option out of the three. One nice thing about the meal plans here is that you have the option of weekly meals or semester meals. Weekly meals give you a number of meals per week, and if you don't use them they're gone. Semester meals just give you a block (150, 175, or 200) of meals for the whole semester (plus 100 points to spend) as you choose.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are fairly nice, and I would say they're about the same size as any other campus. The oldest hall (Porter) was just renovated, the newest hall, Rountree, just opened in Fall 2012 and is really nice, and there's another hall being built that should be done by fall 2013. All the halls are pretty much on the same side of campus (except for a few, especially Rountree), so it's a nice separation of academic life and dorm life. The dorms have a lot of activities, including a weekly Friday Night Club. There are also a lot of options. There are several traditional halls, where you share a room with one person and a bathroom with your wing. There are also apartment-style dorms (Southwest Hall) where each suite has four single bedrooms, a living room, a dining area with kitchenette, and two bathrooms. There's also suite-style, where you share a bedroom with one other person, and each suite of two shares a bathroom, fridge, and microwave with another suite of two.

    Academic Rigor

    The programs for Criminal Justice and Engineering are excellent, considering that's what the school is known for. The education program, while not often mentioned, is actually really great as well. The classes aren't terribly difficult, but it's still going to be a challenge at times, especially when you get into your higher level classes. The intro classes are fairly easy, but not to the point of dumbing the material down.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get a good look at the General Education requirements and if decided, the requirements for you major. That way you won't waste any time or money taking classes you don't need. Also, don't feel like you need a major right away, seeing as your first semester or two can easily be filled with gen eds. The admission criteria isn't too difficult, but you should still try your best on grades, ACT scores, admission essays, etc because it can determine some scholarships for you.

    In three sentences

    Platteville is perfect for anyone who wants a great education in a fun place without being overwhelmed by a city. It's a small campus in a small town, so don't expect the UW - Madison experience. That being said, UW- Platteville is an excellent place to experience college and spend 4 (or more) great years.

  • 05/08/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I think Platteville is good for almost any student. If someone is looking at criminal justice, forensics, education, or engineering as a major, Platteville is a great campus to check out.

    Bang for the buck

    Platteville is very affordable, especially with there tri-state initiative discount. Instead of paying out of state tuition, it costs less and i have received a great deal of aid to help me out.

    Will enjoy being here

    The professors and the students are so friendly at Platteville. During my visits there, I felt so comfortable and enjoyed visiting the campus.

    Will learn a lot

    So far Platteville has been extremely willing to work with me and answer any questions I have. They try to place people in the most appropriate classes for them.

  • 05/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students interested in criminal justice, engineering, and teaching. It is a great atmosphere for all types of students because it is so close knit but it flourishes in these types of students.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips would be to get involved as soon as possible. Resident assistants can be your best friends when you enter college because they are there to help. They are a great resource to where to go in any situation and are always there to help through problems. I will be an RA next semester and I am excited about helping new freshman become situated to college life and truly enjoy themselves at Platteville.

    Bang for the buck

    Platteville is a very cheep school compared to others that can offer a lot to students. It is even cheaper to those in the tri-state initiative because it lowers tuition for people in Minnesota and Iowa.

    Am enjoying being here

    Platteville is a great school to get involved into. There are many extracurriculars for all types of people. I am personally involved in the Institute of Industrial Engineers to help me get more involved with the industrial engineer program here. I am also involved in intramural sports which allows me to have fun with friends. Since most people live in dorms, there is also a great community there where people can finally live on their own and choose their own decisions for their life while creating lifelong friends. There are also other great organizations like Intervarsity Christian Fellowship which allow for students to grow in their faith and grow closer to one another. Because Platteville is not very big it also allows for smaller classrooms which creates a more personal atmosphere where teachers know students. It is an amazing school full of amazing people who truly care about one another.

    Am learning a lot

    Coming to school I did not really know what engineering was or what the different types of engineers did. After coming to Platteville, I was put into a course set where I was able to understand the background of the different fields and figure out that industrial engineering was for me. Platteville also does a great job of showing students the right tools to be a great engineer. I have learned that engineering is not all about math and science but instead math and science are used as tools in the process of created new ideas and changing the world.

  • 01/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is taken very seriously at UWP. They have campus police that patrol the campus daily and a service that has a campus police officer walk anyone home after dark for their safety alone. UWP also has emergency telephones located all around campus.

    Greek Life

    Greek life at UWP is very eventful and gives a great experience. With the national greek groups it gives students the oppurtunity to interact with the community and keep themselves productive.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities that the campus has to offer. If you can not find a club to join it is very easy to start one.

    Great for these types of students

    This campus is great for the type of students that was a fun and exciting college experience along with a tight knit community.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At the University of Wisconsin-Platteville we have the lighting of the M which stands for mining because Platteville use to be a mining school..

    Bang for the buck

    They have many oppurtunities to purchase cheap, quality products.

    What to do for fun

    In UW-Platteville there is a bowling ally and a movie theater if you are looking to go out onto the town. If you were looking to stay in the dorms and save your money you can play cards, socialize, and explore the campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not the best of quality but they provide you with options.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at UW-Platteville fun and eventful. Because of the close living quarters it brings out the ability to be social and open. This also brings the opportunity to meet new people and enhances your ability to talk to strangers.

    Academic Rigor

    The Academic Rigor is tough but through hard work and determination I believe that anyone can preserver.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips for prospective students are to plan out your time at this university so that your time does not get wasted. With a plan in mind and goals set you will have a educational and stress free time during your time at UW-Platteville

    In three sentences

    The University of Wisconsin - Platteville is an enhancing and growing education system. This school has provided me with the opportunity to learn and further my education in more ways than one. Platteville is the best school I could have chosen especially with the major I intend to fulfill because of the teachers and the services that this school provides to it's students.

  • 02/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    going to different activities on campus, and going out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    stay away from glenview as much as possible the psc is really good though.

    Dorm Life

    the rooms are really small.

    Academic Rigor

    its not that difficult if you use your resources.

    Tips for prospective students

    just stay focused and on top of your schooling.

    In three sentences

    uw- platteville is a very small school. your a big fish in a little pond. it has a really good engineering department.

  • 04/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Platteville police force does an outstanding job of keeping the students noses clean and safe. They often provide information for the students by reaching out during social events and having fun.

    Clubs and Activities

    Living in the residence halls there are regular weekly meetings which pertain to the individual lively hood and entertainment of the residence. Intervarsity is a christian group pertaining to keeping the faith while on campus along with many other groups who do what they enjoy best.

    Great for these types of students

    Engineering students make up a great portion of our campus and between math science and logistics courses times can be straineous. As a recognition principle, the campus offers a disc golf course bike trails and out door park to relax in. And if you like to tinker with odds and ends found around home, like i do, there are plenty of extracurricular activities throughout the campus. From auto shop to woods, there are occupations on campus to get your hands dirty.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The university is well known for the Giant M veiwed on the side of an old mine just 5 min from platteville. every year to start the semester off, the fire dept. puts on a lighting of the M lit with candles and fireworks. This is a great way to meet new people and get to know the area.

    Bang for the buck

    As we all know, college students dont exactly have a dollar to their name, with that in mind, having an open mind and finding new ways to achieve goals without spending the money is important. Platteville does numbers of things for the students in offering free items at local theatres and restaurants to hosting free food and game parties.

    What to do for fun

    activities and events are constantly being organized by the faculty staff and students to keep from boredom. The PAC pioneer activity center is open dawn till after dark and complimented with a pool, indoor track, brand new weight room, basket ball courts, and any other activity one could think of.

    Food and Dining

    There are plenty of resources for dining to suit your need. For big eaters there is an all you can eat buffet every day for every meal, for casual dining with peers there is a fast food grill and dining furnishments, for the gourmet diners there is a wide variety of international foods offered as well.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are homey and are kept under close watch, no intruders or illegal activities are condoned. The dorms are simply made for involved learning, where the staff will help you to stay focused and achieve your goals.

    Academic Rigor

    Every day is a new learning experience for me and the environment is acknowledged as such.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring an open mind, students here are extremely welcoming and freindly. And Be ready to learn.

    In three sentences

    I rate the University of Wisconsin Platteville with impeccable integrity. The college of industrial study is thorough and specific to the requirements of future employers. Graduated students often find high job placement opportunities due to embellishing standards.

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are many activities that you can join. There are media groups, spiritual groups, intramural activities, sport clubs, greek life, music and theater, and more! Joining groups is a great way to meet new people and I would strongly recommend it!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A good place to visit on campus is the M. The M is a large M on a hill that is made out of 400 tons of whitewashed stone that stands fro mining, and honors the areas rich tradition in engineering. This is a sight to see as it is the larges M in the world!

    Bang for the buck

    Platteville is a very affordable school for everything it has to offer! For all the available extra-curricular activities available, the clubs, the courses and many more options, the price is very much in your favor.

    What to do for fun

    Platteville has so much to do for fun or activities. Platteville has a large outdoor frisbee-golf course that is used daily by many people to enjoy the outdoors and socialize. Also, the campus has a activity center known as the PAC. This building offers a weight room, sporting courts, a pool and more free to those who are students. It is a great way to be sure not to add on that freshman 15!

    Food and Dining

    Platteville offers a large cafeteria style place known as Platters. Platters offers a wide variety of food that is close to the home-style most students are used to at home. Below Platters there is a convenience store known as the Market, which offers a variety of groceries and more options for food.

    Dorm Life

    In any college one of the first questions is about dorm life. Dorm life on campus in Platteville is great! It gives each student the opportunity to meet others and become more social. The spaces are well maintained and give each person enough personal space.

    Academic Rigor

    This school offers many courses for any major. Each course has a variety of professors who specialize in the area who are always very willing to help. Platteville, no doubt, has a very good academic standing.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is a very good place to look into going. Anybody can be successful here if they buckle down and do the work required. You have to have your priorities straight and you will do fine!

    In three sentences

    UWPlatteville is a very well rounded school. It is a school that has intelligent professors who are very willing to help you. This school also has a beautiful campus with many things to do to keep students busy and out of trouble.

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a disc golf course on campus as well as sand volleyball courts next to the dorms. There are clubs for almost anything you could think of to join.

    Food and Dining

    Plenty of options to choose from, especially at the Pioneer Student Center. Not much for healthy food though.

    Dorm Life

    The sense of community and friendships are great. Lots of activities going on all the time at any dorm to go to. Make an effort to get along with your roomate otherwise it could be a bad year.

    Academic Rigor

    Engineering courses are what I take which tend to be more challenging. It all depends on the classes you take and your skill or level regarding that subject.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out professors before classes start online. Live on campus, it's a blast! And don't bite off more than you can chew.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are great. Campus is spread out so there is plenty of time and opportunities to get outside. It is an affordable university.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I am a part of Sigma Alpha and I love every minute of it!

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs and Organizations, and attend campus events!

    In three sentences

    Excellent school to attend, it is a great size, and I have loved all of my teachers so far!

  • 06/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I am a distance student and cannot say for sure.

    Greek Life

    I am a distance student and cannot say for sure.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am a distance student and cannot say for sure.

    Great for these types of students

    For students that live far away, and don't want to move to Platteville.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am a distance student and cannot say for sure.

    Bang for the buck

    Their collaborative programs are great if you cannot make it to campus, and they offer 4-year degrees.

    What to do for fun

    I know the campus and surrounding area is beautiful and open, so there are a lot of outdoor things to do.

    Food and Dining

    I am a distance student and cannot say for sure.

    Dorm Life

    I am a distance student and cannot say for sure.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at UW Platteville are very informative and cover a lot of ground. Be ready to study!

    Tips for prospective students

    If it is too far to commute to campus, they offer collaborative programs to a lot of community colleges throughout the state.

    In three sentences

    UW Platteville offers a wide range of science majors. The campus is very clean and inviting. The collaborative programs offered here are great!

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus police available on campus. Throughout campus, along the sidewalks there are safety intercoms in lit areas. If you need help or feel frightened/unsafe, you can hit the button and someone will be available to help you. They respond immediately and can come to your assistance. We recently started a Safe Walk program. If you are leaving campus in the dark and are alone, you can call a number and you will be walked to your home by program members. We also have a text message line that you can report things to.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a cemetery behind campus. It's neat. There also is a huge tree behind the library. There are trails that lead to a beautiful crick behind campus. There also is the pond and the bridge.

    What to do for fun

    Sporting events, fisbee golf in the back, homecoming, sororities and fraternities, walk or run on trails throughout campus and town, workout, etc!

    Food and Dining

    There are many opportunities to get food around campus. The names of the places can get confusing, but other than that, they are good. There is one on Glenview, which is an all you can eat buffet. There is a great variety of good food to eat there. There also is a smaller place to eat in the student center. There is a good variety there, too. Also, there are two cafes that serve Starbucks coffee and food such as chips, apples, salads, and cookies. Your best bet is to get a meal plan so you can eat whenever and at whichever venue you wish. There is a market place to get simple groceries with meal plans as well.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't ever lived in the dorms here. I wish I did, but since I am a transfer student, the opportunity was different for me. I do know the dorms are pretty good size. There are posters around school advertising programs and activities held in the dorms such as contests and game nights. Also, lately there has been a need for more dorms due to increase student population. I believe they are building more dorms to accommodate.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers I've had push you to do your best. Again, the effort you put in will show in the results you get from your classes. They make you responsible for your actions. If you don't do your homework, some of them may not have a problem with it. In their eyes, homework is something you do to improve your skills. Don't get me wrong, they will encourage you to do your work. If you do the homework, you will do well on the tests and therefore in the class. This process makes you more independent and responsible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved as much as possible. Don't be afraid to ask questions. Get to know the teachers by name and be friendly to them. It will make your life easier. Then you will feel more comfortable asking questions and such. The amount of effort you put in will show in the results you get out of the experience.

    In three sentences

    UW-Platteville is a small town school with a great diversity of students, teachers, and programs. There are many great opportunities to get involved. Also, if you have any questions, staff and students are available and willing to help.

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    UW-Platteville is small and generally safe. UW-Platteville has a program that you can call late at night if you need someone to walk you home. The campus police are also very alert at all times and there are blue buttons around campus that you can push in an emergency.

    Clubs and Activities

    The list of activities is amazing. You can be part of any sort of club. They have a Donut Run Club that meets late at night to get donuts for studying. One of the best things about UW-Platteville is how you can be involved with anything. You are never turned away for wanting to participate.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for anyone. UW-Platteville prides itself in reaching out to students of all backgrounds. If you aren't a small town person, you will easily fall in love with the campus and people.

    Bang for the buck

    The University of Wisconsin-Platteville is one of the least expensive colleges in the UW system but that doesn't mean it lacks from the others. The professors are all very experienced in their fields and will teach all they know. The atmosphere of the campus is friendly and open to new things.

    What to do for fun

    Platteville, Wisconsin may be a very small town, but the campus gives provides you with many activities. Once a month, they have a comedian that performs in the MPSC. They also host events such as open mic nights, trips to Chicago, Pioneer Idol, and other events that bring the students together.

    Food and Dining

    UW-Platteville has so many options! The Markee Pioneer Student Center (MPSC) has a cafeteria that has many options including: a grill, salad bar, soup bar, Mexican, Asian(which sometimes has sushi), a sub line, and a burger bar. The Pioneer Haus, which is a sports bar type of eatery, is also located in the MPSC and serves burgers, hot wings, and many other things while sometimes providing live entertainment. There are two coffee shops on campus called Hickory and Main and The Pioneer Perk. The other dining hall is called Glenview Commons. It houses platters, which is buffet style, and the Greenwood Avenue Market, which is a convenient store.

    Dorm Life

    The Housing department does their best to keep their Residence Halls up to date. They have a variety of dorms including traditional housing and apartment style housing. The Resident Assistants that live in the halls with you are always planning fun events for the residents.

    Academic Rigor

    UW-Platteville can be challenging at times, but that is what college is about. No matter how hard the class, the professors will be willing to help. There are also other great tutoring and helpful resources on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    One tip would be to get to know your professors. The classes are small and they will most likely know your name. Getting to know a professor ensures a great contact or recommendation in the future.

    In three sentences

    The slogan It's a great day to be a Pioneer! definitely applies to UW-Platteville. It's a small school with big opportunities. Being a Pioneer at the University of Wisconsin-Platteville means paving a successful way to your future.

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    No experience.

    What to do for fun

    I personally like to watch movies with my friends, but I also do kickboxing, swing club, and am a member of the Marching Pioneers. There's also frisbee golf, hiking the M, and other outdoor activities!

    Tips for prospective students

    My only tip would be to try as many groups, clubs, organizations, etc. as possible! There are so many offered at this school and it is a GREAT way to get to know people, get involved, and have fun!

    In three sentences

    The best fit for me personally and academically. I couldn't imagine a better school for my major - Elementary Education. I feel that UW-Platteville has given me so many opportunities to excel as a student, a person, and as a future teacher.

  • 07/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are cops patrolling campus all the time, so you feel really safe. Sometimes just a little too much though. Girls don't walk by yourself late at night, not a good idea. There are this siren boxes, you can always see one. The only thing is whether or not you could actually reach it.

    Greek Life

    I can't really say here. I have a biased opinion, because I have never been or wanted to be a part of one.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are some cool clubs, but it was impossible to figure anything out about them. The sight the school has for the clubs gives a great huge list. The only thing is the clubs don't update anything on that site. I am still trying to figure the clubs out.

    Great for these types of students

    Engineering and Animal Science are the top two majors at this school. The Criminal Justice department is good as well! As far as the type of student at the school. It is a lot of white farm boys. There is hardly any diversity, which would be nice if there was more.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They saw the M on the hill is for Miners. I saw it is for Men, because the school has way more guys than girls!

    Bang for the buck

    The cost for Platteville is very reasonable!! You really can't complain! I am from IL, and it was cheaper for me to go Platteville instead of stay in state. The education at the school is great too. The only sad thing is the location, because there is not a whole lot to do.

    What to do for fun

    Walmart is what you do for fun in Platteville! Pretty sad. There are some movie theaters. Most weekends we drove the half hour to Dubuque Iowa, because there is a lot to do there! I would suggest bringing a car. The street wit hall the bars is great if you are 21!

    Food and Dining

    The meal plans are very expensive!! There is a $7 over charge and you are only ever allowed to spend $3-$4 of that depending on the time of day. Then you can hardly get anything because it is so expensive. To make matter worse the healthy food costs so much more. That would be why it is so easy to gain weight at Platteville. There is a buffet place which is reasonably priced, but it is not the best food. I would go there for the salad bar though!

    Dorm Life

    Like I said I was not impressed with my stay at Pickard Hall. It probably didn't help that my roommate and I didn't get along. I had plans to move in with a friend second semester. I was told do the paperwork once I got back and that I could move in with her. Well they put someone else in here room. The same thing happened to my boyfriend. So I tried to switch with a random person my Resident Director told me there were no rooms available. There were at least five girls on my wing with single rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes I really worked my butt off and tried my hardest and I still got a C. Others classes are super easy, but at the same time are a class that become really hard to make yourself go to.There are classes that are super easy, you get an A, and you don't learn anything, but then you find out you actually need to know stuff from that class for another one. So be careful, don't take the easy way out, it will only hinder you. It really depends on your department for how much homework and studying you will have to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't live in Pickard Hall! It is the farthest from campus, which gets really old really quickly, plus I wasn't impressed with the upkeep of the building when I lived there. Get to know your professors some of them are really cool to talk to you. You might just be surprised. Don't be afraid to ask for help. Do go see the comedians, some of them are hysterical. Girls if your looking for a prospective husband, this school is crawling with smart guys. The guy to girl ration is actually 3-1. You have options!

    In three sentences

    The education at Platteville is great, so is the small community, but it can be a little too small because there is not enough to do. Platteville would be a lot more fun if you are 21 because there is a street of bars. The dorm housing can be great or bad it just depends on where you live.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Platteville has a very safe campus, they tell you about plenty of ways to help keep yourself as safe as possible. If you are walking the campus at night they have saftey phones that you can call for help on if you are feeling unsafe. They also have it where you can call somone to come and walk with you to wherever you need to go on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Platteville offers many different clubs and activities to their students. You can sign up to whichever ones interest you, the clubs are always happy to get new members.

    Great for these types of students

    Platteville is great for any type of student, they offer a lot of different majors for their students. This college is smaller university so students who prefer smaller universities would like Platteville.

    What to do for fun

    Platteville has many different activities and events going on at their school to help the students never be bored. They have concerts and shows that often times come to the school to put on shows for the students.

    Food and Dining

    Platteville gives their students many different food choices, this way they arent always having the same old lunches all the time.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Platteville are basically the same size as most college dorm rooms. They are very well kept and there is always someone who can help you if you have any problems with you room.

    In three sentences

    Platteville has a great campus layout, its not too small or too big. The professors all seem very nice and willing to help you when you need it. Also the classes are perfect sizes, the most students in a class would probably be about 30, which means you wont just be a number to your professor.

  • 08/29/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 48

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Has a terrific Forensics Program, one of the best. Cool, clean campus and atmosphere. Not too many people.

  • 09/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The job placement rate is much higher than most other schools, and engineering is definitely a well paying job

    What to do for fun

    There is a frisbee golf course and many intramural sports teams.

    Dorm Life

    Freshmen and Sophomores are required to live in the dorms, but it is a good way to meet new people.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes can be difficult, but with enough studying and preparation, they are manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in your dorm's activities; it makes the experience much more enjoyable

    In three sentences

    It is an excellent school and is renowned for its engineering department. Platteville is smaller than most college towns, so life is much less hectic than it might be in other colleges in the area.

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    College food. Gets you through the day but nothing to write home about.

    Dorm Life

    Getting better all the time! New buildings everywhere.

    Academic Rigor

    Work hard and play hard. There is a lot of work to be successful but always worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet and get to know your advisers. They will help you get through school effectively. Be sure to visit all buildings when looking at the college.

    In three sentences

    Overall a great university with many different disciplines for people of all backgrounds and interests.

  • 09/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If you feel unsafe walking in the dark there is a Safe-Walk program that will help you.

    What to do for fun

    Every Friday night we go out as a big group and play games. Last week we had a big kickball tournament and this Friday there is a dodgeball tournament going on.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is awesome and I highly recommend this school. Everyone treats each other with respect.

    In three sentences

    This school is very nice. The teachers are very understanding and they want you to succeed in your career. They have the best food here also.

  • 09/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    So far it seems very safe.

    Greek Life

    No experience personally but it is available.

    Clubs and Activities

    Almost anything any other college can offer.

    Great for these types of students

    Studious, laid back, down to earth,

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The giant 'M' is for mining. The original intent of the college. You can see forever from the hill it is on. Made out of white stones form previous students.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheapest engineering school in Wisconsin.

    What to do for fun

    Walk in the woods, see the M', see Dubuque.

    Food and Dining

    Top notch fresh food.

    Dorm Life

    Clean and quiet.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging but doable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come for a tour and be convinced.

    In three sentences

    Platteville is a nice small sized college. Located in farm country. Great value for the dollar.

  • 10/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've walked home alone late at night numerous times and have never once worried about my safety. The main paths of travel throughout campus are well lit, and campus police are constantly on patrol around campus to make sure everyone is safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    As a member of the Cross Country and Track teams, I can safely say that I love the various clubs and activities offered on campus. There's a group/ club for everyone if you look around!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are strongly devoted to their studies, are very independent when it comes to finding things to do, and don't mind living in a small town during the school year!

    Bang for the buck

    I came to school to get a top notch engineering education and compete for strong varsity cross country & track programs. In both aspects I'm thrilled with what UW-Platteville has given me so far and I look forward to my next few years here!

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of clubs ranging in a variety of interests! There are a number of different outdoor clubs, sports and activity clubs, gaming and computer clubs. You just have to be on the lookout for their fliers advertising their next meeting!

    Food and Dining

    They offer a pretty nice variety of healthy and not so healthy food options. However, the limited dinning hours and small number of dinning areas can make getting your meals a bit challenging.

    Dorm Life

    The resident life staff really strive to get all residents involved in some way or another on the UW-Platteville campus whether it be varsity/club athletics, academic clubs, sororities/fraternities, student employment, and anything else you might be interested in.

    Academic Rigor

    Difficult, but not overwhelming (unless of course you don't attend class or do your homework).

    Tips for prospective students

    Always try to finish your homework a few days ahead of the due date so you have time to go in and ask your professors questions about material you may not be grasping

    In three sentences

    Depending on what you are looking for, this school could be great for you. If you want a high quality education and a ton of post-collegiate career opportunities, go to Platteville. If you want all of the above, but also want a big city/big party type of school as well, you may want to look elsewhere.

  • 11/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Friday Night Club

    Great for these types of students

    Those not into the Prep life

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Platters will give you the runs. (False)

    What to do for fun

    Go to the Friday Night Club

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for local scholarhips

    In three sentences

    Small Campus that encourages teamwork. Low Tuition cost so you wont be breaking the bank. Good engineering program at a good cost.

  • 01/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food isn't that bad. The Pioneer Haus has some good food, and the Pioneer Crossing has some great stations, including one that is similar to Subway.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is pretty good. I am especially happy that I have never run out of hot water. The RAs are very nice and helpful.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on what classes you take, it seems to be easier in the beginning and as the years go by, the classes will get harder. But so far I haven't had that much trouble keeping up.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring Winter clothing! It will get cold here you will want to be warm walking from building to building.

  • 02/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are so many things on campus and off to do for fun, even though you may not realize it. There are always some club or organization putting on an event almost every weekend. Also, every week there are one dollar movies or one dollar bowling.

    Food and Dining

    There are many options at Platteville for dining. There is fresh food, grilled, buffets, almost anything you could imagine. The food is very good and there are many options for every student, whether they are trying to be health conscious, or craving something specific, Platteville dining services will most likely have it.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Platteville are very nice, and are currently undergoing renovations. The resident assistants and all the residents are very welcoming. There is a great sense of community and safety while staying in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor depends on which classes you are enrolled in. When you are in lower level general education requirement classes, they are not quite as difficult, because those classes are designed for every student. However, when you are in classes specific to your major or minor then they become more in depth and more difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should definitely visit the campus once or twice before deciding to come here, as the small town and small campus is not for everyone. Prospective students should also make sure Platteville has the program they desire to go in to. Also, prospective students should look at organizations they would like to be involved in and be prepared to start joining them right when school begins.

    In three sentences

    The University of Wisconsin-Platteville is a great school. It is small, but gives a good sense of family and community. The class sizes are great, along with the professors.

  • 02/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never had any issues walking around campus at night or early in the morning and I have not heard stories from anyone else. If you are really nervous about walking around campus by yourself at night there is a Safe Walk program that you can call and someone can meet you and walk with you to your location.

    Greek Life

    There are a few Sororities and Fraternities on campus such as ZBX, KA�£, TKE, and a few others. They also have academic Fraternities. Although there are some people who enjoy Greek Life a lot it is not something that gives people social status which is good.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is not a very large selection for Clubs on campus. They have a lot of clubs devoted to specific majors and a lot of intramural sports (either competitive or not competitive). They recently got a Dr. Who Fan Club started. If you come to campus and can not find a club you like it is really easy to start your own new one which is nice.

    Great for these types of students

    Platteville is a great school for Engineers and people who like to keep to themselves. However, it is extremely easy to get involved in a lot of programs if you want to.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a Frisbee golf course located in the center of the traditional dorms. During warmer months a lot of people enjoy it. There is also a strangely located cemetery located right in the center of campus! Although it can be a little creepy sometimes, people like to walk through it and Biology labs use it to learn about lichens and fungi by getting it off the old headstones.

    Bang for the buck

    For how cheap it is to go to the University of Wisconsin-Platteville you can definitly get a lot out of it. The food is good, dorms are good, and it is not expensive to live off-campus. In addition, it is very inexpensive to join Greek Life. They also recently got a shuttle bus that is free for students.

    What to do for fun

    Since Platteville is such a tiny city there is not much for college students to do on weekends. A lot of people will either go to Madison, WI (45 minutes away) or they will go to Dubuque, IA (30 minutes away). If you choose to stay in Platteville there are a lot of Fraternities and Sororities that throw parties on the weekends. A lot of people also like to go to the Football, Baseball, and Women's Softball games.

    Food and Dining

    You can buy burgers, brats, flatbreads, wraps, tacos, subs, paninis, asian food, chicken strips, and many other types of food on campus. If you are craving something you are able to find it here. There is also a small grocery store on campus which you can use your meal plan to purchase food. Off campus there is a McDonald's, Uno's, Subway, Quizno's, Asian Cafe, and two Mexican Restaurants. They are all very inexpensive and conveniently located. Platteville is also currently getting a Dunkin' Donuts and a Benvenudo's.

    Dorm Life

    The traditional dorms are not the nicest places to live but they have been remodeling each one. There are also three new dorms built (one is in progress) which have more of an apartment feel than a dorm room feel. They will also be building more dorms in the next couple of years.

    Academic Rigor

    Although I am not an Engineering student I have heard that Calculus 1, 2, and 3 are very difficult courses as well as Chemistry for Engineers. The Biology classes expect that you already know most of the information coming into the program. Although the other majors are not as hard as the ones above, they all have classes that I personally believe challenge each student in just the right way. The Gen-eds are very simple and interesting and the only hard part to know about is that it is required to take either Small Group Communication, Interpersonal Communication, or Public Speaking which can be very nerve racking.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend that prospective students who actually come to Platteville do not waste their money on the new dorms. Although the traditional dorms do not have the same perks they are way closer to campus and you can save a lot of money! The other nice thing about the University of Wisconsin-Platteville is that it is a lot cheaper than other universities. It is a great college!

    In three sentences

    The University of Wisconsin-Platteville is a small, beautiful campus. The class sizes are very small compared to other universities and that is really nice because your teachers actually know your name and can actually help you! Also, the dorms are very close to campus and it is easy to find off-campus housing.

  • 02/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety has enforced laws and protected its student body effectively over the years. Nothing to worry about here at Platteville!

    Greek Life

    I don't know much about Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities to join at UWP more information on that would be on their website www.uwplatt.edu

    Great for these types of students

    Any students pursuing any engineering, computer science, or agricultural related majors

    Bang for the buck

    Platteville is extremely affordable for anyone who is interested in coming to school here. One of the main reason's why I chose UWP.

    What to do for fun

    There's a lot to do in this small town. Dubuque is at most 20 minutes away. The famous M monument in platteville is always fun to visit. Downtown offers anything you need for your average college student. There are 2 ski resorts within 30 minutes of campus.

    Food and Dining

    Platteville's dining varies by where you decide to eat, the student center is awesome. Platters the main cafe' is average but buffet style the market below cooks pizza, burgers, fries, calzones, etc. They are building a new buffet style cafeteria in the basement of the new dorms so it should be pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    The older dorms are below average at best but the newer dorms that are being built as we speak are awesome. The dorm I live in has a shower room, a bathroom, a kitchen area with full fridge and two rooms sleeping two people each. Another dorm has an apartment style setting where you actually get your own room. Construction for the other two dorms will be done by fall semester next year.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major UWP offers better teaching, however overall Platteville excellent from an academic stand point. UWP is divided into three colleges BILSA, (Business, Industry, Life sciences, and agriculture) LAE, (liberal arts and education) and EMS (Engineering, Mathematics, and Science). Together they make up University of Wisconsin Platteville Engineering majors are the most common/dominant at UWP with highly intelligent professors that teach it. The computer science/software engineering program is prestigious compared to other major mid west universities and is growing each year.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study, Study, Study Use UW-Platteville's academic resources it helps so much. Be prepared for Wisconsin's winters Prioritize your school work over extra-curricular events.

    In three sentences

    UW-Platteville is a beneficial university for any student. A highly recommended college for the majors of engineering, sciences, and agriculture. UW-Platteville is growing as well, the future holds many promising opportunities for it's students.

  • 02/23/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    32 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The cost is so reasonable compared to other schools. You get a great education at half the cost.

    Food and Dining

    There are a lot of options for food between student center and cafeterias. Good enough variety and close to housing.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is great way to get involved in campus and get to know people. Living close to campus and easy access to food is great.

    Academic Rigor

    Don't be fooled by the small campus, the classes are small and you'll get to know your professors but it won't be a walk in the park. Classes will challenge you, which is why UWP has a good reputation.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a campus tour and you'll really see how this campus shines.

    In three sentences

    This is a great small town university where you will be able to get to know other students and the professors. Small class sizes, research and work opportunities, variety of clubs. This is a great option!!

  • 04/26/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    33 of 48

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I heard about this college from a college fair and it opened my mind toward this college. They have my major in the top 5 majors the supply which is electrical engineering. I am planning on applying to this college next year.

  • 05/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police can be seen driving around every day and all students have the option of receiving alerts.

    Greek Life

    Very inviting, especially to freshman. Allow students to get more out of their college experience.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a wide variety of both clubs and activities. There is truly at least one that would work well for anyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all types of students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a graveyard in the middle of campus separating most of the dorms from the academic buildings.

    Bang for the buck

    A wide variety of classes at one of the cheapest costs. All-you-can-eat meals every day at Platters. There is also transportation provided to many of the stores near campus.

    What to do for fun

    There are numerous clubs involving all sorts of things like hobbies, sports, or just going on a doughnut run every week. There is also a Frisbee golf course on campus. There are also activities posted every week put on by the Friday Night Club.

    Food and Dining

    Platters is an all-you-can-eat buffet which is delicious and has a good variety every day. The only downside to Platters is that they are only opened during certain blocks of the day but most students should be able to get there on time if they wish.

    Dorm Life

    There are many different activities that are put on by the dorms and even the Residence Assistants. There are places for students to go and study and do homework and a few indoor activities available too.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are quite hard but the classes are typically balanced out enough that there should be some time for one to enjoy themselves. There is the option, however, to create and easier schedule.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in whatever you may be interested if you have the time. There are numerous clubs and there are campus activities going on every week. Also, make as many friends as you can and start a study group for a few classes.

    In three sentences

    This campus offers unique minors and majors that can't be found anywhere else. It is also one of the cheapest campuses that can be found in Wisconsin, so it is one of the most affordable. For these reasons, I would say that UW-Platteville allows students to get more from there money spent here than at many other colleges.

  • 07/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Was one of the safest campus's in Wisconsin when I was an undergrad, now it seems to be a little less secure due to some recent thefts. I suppose it tends to happen when you have a near 100% accept rate.

    Greek Life

    Very much available, but i would suggest steering clear. The majority of them seem to always be put on probation due to some alcohol charge.

    Clubs and Activities

    Previously mentioned, there is a club for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    All of them. If you can afford to go to somewhere else like MIT then that is the obvious better choice.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The table in the student center at the front far-left is reserved for gamers. This location provides the best wired internet access as well as outlet power. Students familiar with this crowd tend to bring in their laptops and play video games together. I would suggest staying clear of the greek groups. It is very seldom that any one of them are not put on suspension because of underage drinking.

    Bang for the buck

    The prices are very minimal compared to other schools. Not much more to say about that.

    What to do for fun

    There are literally tons of clubs and groups which can all be found in the student center. When I was an undergrad I joined a martial arts group and a homebrewing group. There is something for everyone.

    Food and Dining

    Food is pretty good. The prices have gone up a little over the years, especially on the salad bar. Recommend eating before 11 or after 1 to avoid the massive lunch rush.

    Dorm Life

    My dorm life here was fantastic. The RAs really push hard to try and get you out of your comfort zone. Once you finally get out there, you can meet people and re-invent yourself as needed. There are also many dorms of all sizes, so take a look at what you need - they can surly accommodate you.

    Academic Rigor

    This completely depends on the program chosen. My particular field has gone down in rigor over the past few years. Like all colleges, UWP is trying hard to maintain income due to the constant budget cuts from the government. They are letting pretty much everyone in now and have built 2 new dorms very quickly to accommodate.

    Tips for prospective students

    - Get to know your RA. They have had extensive training on how to acclimate you into the college world. - Registering for classes is much easier than you think. Ask around for the 'UWPClasses' desktop program. - If looking at meal plans, always get one of the block-plans with fewer meal-plans. The value of a meal plan has gone down over the last few years. - The campus finally accepts plastic as form of payment now.

    In three sentences

    UWP is relaxed, comfortable, and affordable.

  • 08/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Small campus with no problems. Campus security patrols during the night for extra safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs to do and many thing for a student to get involved in even though many people think that is not true due to Platteville being a smaller campus.

    Food and Dining

    I am not picky at all with food so I am satisfied with Platters, the buffet style dinning hall, but there is many places in the Markee to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    The traditional dorms have no AC which was the worst for me. Other than that I met many good friends on my floor and all of the floors have fun and are very friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    I am trying to be a Software Engineer with no programming background prior to attending here. This makes the programming classes challenging combined with the math classes like calculus 2 and so on.

  • 08/27/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    37 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Supposedly low crime. There is also a texting alert system if something is happening that involves a safety concern.

    Greek Life

    Yes.

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many to list. It would be perfect with a men's golf team.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that want a great education, but don't want to be in debt for the rest of their lives.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Awesome welcome weekend with a downtown scavenger hunt.

    Bang for the buck

    Incredible value. You rent textbooks instead of buying them for a ridiculous price. No tuition increase from 2012-2013.

    What to do for fun

    Attend athletic events. Platteville is going to have a great year in football. Join an intramural sport to meet new people. Check out a concert at the Performing Arts Center.

    Food and Dining

    Reasonable priced food plans. Plus you can add money to your acct. to pick up extra items that you want and get a small discount. Food is decent.

    Dorm Life

    Each dorm has a residence director with residence assistants. Get to know these people and don't be a recluse.

    Academic Rigor

    I understand there are going to be some difficult courses, but the professors have office hours. Attend them and get into a study group.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus when school is in session. Check out their website. See what classes in high school will be beneficial to your area of interest.

    In three sentences

    The University of Wisconsin- Platteville is a school that was recently recognized for the greatest return on investment and ranked 4th out of 29 schools in the state of WI. They answer emails quickly and are helpful in providing answers.

  • 11/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very on top of things from what I can tell. There are several different forms of communication in which they use to reach you encase of amounting dangers and threats through out campus

    Greek Life

    I don't know much but what I do know is that they seem very involved- always trying to run some type of fundraiser or event.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 200 clubs and organizations offered at UW Platteville

    Great for these types of students

    this school is great for students planning to be engineering, mathematics, and science majors

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Wednesday- midnight doughnut run. Climb the worlds largest M, which is in the college's town

    Bang for the buck

    yes and no. its the cheapest college in the state but the meal plan options are kind of bogus in that its not for your benefit but just another way that the school can get money from you

    What to do for fun

    Their is always something going on- from the weekly famous comedians, to the hundreds of club ran events that occur every year. you will never be bord

    Food and Dining

    depending on where you go to eat on campus the food can be very tasty or questionable.

    Dorm Life

    depending on the dorm you choose, dorm life can feel very commutative or it can feel very isolated. My suggestion; live in the traditional dorms the first year (which is the bottom of the barrel as far as dorms go) because you'll meet more people and gain more support as more freshmen choose this option of every anything else. Also if you want something nicer you can always upgrade the following year.

    Academic Rigor

    Average, Feels allot like high school without immature students interpreting the teacher.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to a alumni if you can and get ask them for rundown of what you should do before registering freshmen year. you will save allot of money and hard ache this way. Trust me.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful, the facilities are satisfactory, and the school is the cheapest in the state. If your great school for engineering, mathematics, and science related majors at the lowest price possible, then I would look into the University of Wisconsin Platteville. However it's not the best school for everything, they do have majors to.

  • 11/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This is such an affordable college.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't too much to do around her, especially if you don't have a car like myself. But if you get involved with clubs and sports or even going and finding things to do on campus you'll be fine.

    Academic Rigor

    Since I'm only a freshman most of my classes are relatively easy. But still a fair adjustment from high school to college.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are lots of males here like everyone talks about. Me being a female I honestly think it gets annoying at times.

    In three sentences

    I am a freshman here at Platteville and I like it quite a bit. It's a good first year college experience.

  • 11/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Naturally everyone should exercise caution, especially alone or at night, but the campus really has a safe atmosphere. There are call boxes all over campus should you ever need assistance. All residence hall doors require a key to enter. The campus also offers a safe walk program, should you ever not want to walk somewhere by yourself. Campus security is extremely efficient and helpful.

    Clubs and Activities

    Platteville has over 200 clubs and counting. There really is something for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Platteville is a great school for engineering, criminal justice, and agriculture. Not that the other programs are under-par, but those are the big 3 majors for the school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Platteville is home to the largest M in the world, which represents the town's mining history. During homecoming week, the M is lit up and fireworks are set off, which is an amazing sight and super fun to go see.

    Bang for the buck

    UW-Platteville is one of the most affordable schools in the UW system, AND they still have great classes, great staff, and a ton of activities. Also, the work out facilities on campus are free, unlike many other schools that require a fee and a membership.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot to do on campus as well as off. On weekends, there are comedy nights with great stand up comedians, open-mic nights, and sometimes movie nights. There are also activities such as Battleship where canoes are put in the swimming pool, and you have to try to sink your opponents. When you go into town, there's a bowling alley, movie theater, and a ton of awesome shops on main street.

    Food and Dining

    Being a vegetarian, I was a little concerned about eating on campus, but I was pleasantly surprised with the variety of dining choices on campus. There are restaurant style places such as GWAM and the Pioneer Haus located in the PSC which have awesome food, and have many options, even if you have some sort of special dietary need. GWAM also has a market area where you can buy snacks and drinks. Bridgeway Commons, or Stations, is all-you-can-eat, buffet style dining. They have everything from fruit, veggies, soup, pizza, pasta, sandwiches, salads, ice cream, and a lot more.

    Dorm Life

    Platteville offers a variety of different styles of on campus living. I currently live in a traditional hall, and I am more than happy with it. Traditional halls have laundry rooms, study rooms, lounges, recreational rooms in the basement, and a kitchen. The thing I love about traditional halls is that you tend to get to know a lot of the people in your building, doors are always open. The wing I live on has gotten very close. Besides traditional, there are also suite-style and apartment-style buildings available. They are newer buildings and very nice, but are a little more costly than traditional.

    Academic Rigor

    College courses are naturally challenging, and the ones at Platteville are no exception. You will need to put a lot of time into studying and work hard. However, professors are always willing to help you during their office hours if you need it, and the free tutoring, math center, and writing center on campus are amazing resources if you need extra assistance.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some of the dorms are a little far from the academic buildings on campus, so make sure you have good walking shoes. If you are a little hesitant about considering Platteville because you've heard it's too small of a town or boring, look around the town and read about some of the on campus actives offered. There is always something to do.

    In three sentences

    UW-Platteville is a great school for someone who doesn't want to go to somewhere as small as a private college, but not so huge that all your classes have hundreds of other students. They provide an impressive array of resources for students, including free tutoring, health services, a lot of night and weekend activities, and much more. There are students from a variety of different backgrounds, and the town has an overall a great community atmosphere.

  • 01/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    For Homecoming week, Platteville students having a lighting ceremony of the giant M. The M is symbolic of the Universities past mining history. The University pays for businesses to take students out to the M where they have a firework show and light the M. It is a fun way to meet other students as well as share in the history of the University.

    What to do for fun

    Athletic events have high attendance and a fun atmosphere to be a part of. By the dorms is a full frisbee golf course and many hiking trails for students to get some fresh air. Second Street, where most of the Platteville bars are is a lot of fun (if you are of age of course). The local movie theater does showings and deals for college students so it nice every once and while to get out of the library and go to a movie.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is always delicious. There are always many options and the food is cooked fresh. With two major dining locations on campus is easy to find food you like and worth the price. Platteville also offers special meals for students with dietary requirements or needs, which is really convenient and relieves the stress of always having to prepare food.

    Dorm Life

    Campus is growing rapidly and building brand new dorms! Campus is also remodeling the old dorms to make living quarters more comfortable and modern. They dorms were always clean and the RAs made sure every resident was comfortable and safe, along with making sure everyone was enjoying college.

    Academic Rigor

    It helps a lot that the Professor and staff know the students by first name and have direct communication with the students. They hold their students to a high academic level and success. The students are expected to attend all classes and many take attendance to hold the students responsible for their education. Large lecture hall classes are not common, allowing the students to have hands on learning. Overall, the education experience at Platteville allows the students to explore their passions as well as graduate a well-rounded educated person.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never be afraid to try new things by going beyond your comfort bubble. I have learned that being outside of my comfort zone, my education reached a new level. By exposing yourself to things you thought you'd never like, I will guarantee you will find your true passion in life. Also, be very open-minded. By being open-minded your education will be limitless and give you the courage to reach the new heights you never expected to get to.

    In three sentences

    UW-Platteville is a small, fun and hands on learning environment. With many different organizations on campus, this small school doesn't feel too small. The quality of the education is amazing, hands on learning and a long with that comes a great price.

  • 01/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are police on call at all times. Also, there is alert/help systems throughout campus in case of an emergency where a student can use them to get help immediately.

    Greek Life

    I'm not currently a participant due to my committment to the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, the American Society of Heating and Cooling Engineers, Intervarsity, and probably intramural football. It's very popular to be in Greek Life on campus though. I just don't have time to fit it in currently.

    Clubs and Activities

    intramurals, engineering clubs and societies, sports on the collegiate level

    Great for these types of students

    Intervarsity-for Christians; different types of international clubs-for those interested in culture and diversity; intramurals-for recreational competition amongst peers; well-known engineering clubs and societies-for engineers; very helpful tutors

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Doughnut Run Club-goes every night; Pioneer Tower, the world's largest M located near Wal-Mart in Platteville

    Bang for the buck

    It's worth every penny! Compared to the other engineering schools in Wisconsin like UW-Madison and the Milwaukee School of Engineering, UW-Platteville's tuition is worth every penny, and costs around $10,000 less than Madison and about $25,000 less than MSOE.

    What to do for fun

    It varies. There are many intramurals to choose from, college teams to play on, endless clubs to join, and societies to be a part of.

    Food and Dining

    The food is excellent! There are dining options in the newer dorms Rountree and Bridgeway. Also, other places to eat on campus include upstairs and downstairs of the Pioneer Resource Center, and the Glenview Market.

    Dorm Life

    It varies per dorm, but for the most part life in them is exceptional. Most are friendly. It does take more of an effort to meet people in the newer dorms such as Rountree and Bridgeway due to the room design not being as open as a traditional dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on the major going to college for. There are challenging classes on campus. It's doable though.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get used to not being in a big city-if lived in one in the past. Classes are a bit of a walk but are a good tool to get some exercise! Professors are very welcoming and are helpful.

    In three sentences

    It is a very welcoming University. It's for those who aren't interested in attending college in a big city. If people want to save money in Wisconsin for an engineering college, this would be the one to look further into.

  • 02/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Campus has a gym and there are plenty of clubs to go to that can take you around the world or on an adventure to the great outdoors. Plus hanging out with friends is always fun.

    Food and Dining

    Campus has a dinning hall that has great food that is very comforting.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is awesome! Suit mates for the most part are ok to live with. I have our own refrigerator, sink, shower, and bathroom. The whole dorm building has it's own laundry mat.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm challenged in my classes to do my best. At points it's hard to keep up but I just need to study.

  • 02/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The value is fantastic.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club, head to the bar, or get together with friends on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Depending on the day, it's pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    I live in Southwest Hall, and I love it. I haven't heard great things about other dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I'd say it's average. There are some really difficult classes, but others aren't too bad.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would highly recommend getting involved on campus. Join a club, do some research, or join an intramural team!

    In three sentences

    UWP is a great engineering school for the price. The overall experience is exceptional. I really like the professors and the small class sizes.

  • 03/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Imagine high school cafeteria food, but better tasting and more options.

    Dorm Life

    It's like living with a bunch of sisters and brothers under one roof, except you have to share your room with an awesome person.

    Academic Rigor

    Harder than high school, but you learn a lot.

    In three sentences

    Fun but serious about education. Teachers want you to succeed. A lot of resources to make you successful.

  • 03/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a giant 'M' on a hill for the miners who founded the University.

    Bang for the buck

    Ace.

    What to do for fun

    I never have fun. Ever.

    Food and Dining

    I have never ate there.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a lot of group work. Some courses have a lot of nit-picky nonsense assignments and others have more spread out, intensive work. In the end, it just depends on what course you're in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Going online is a great option for those who work weird hours or have a hectic family life.

    In three sentences

    I renk UW-Platteville just above an average state college. The faculty has been very helpful, particularly the advisor. It is probably one of the best universities for the money.

  • 05/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is well lit, monitored by campus police, and lined with emergency call boxes along every few light poles in case of emergencies. The campus is monitored pretty well. Most incidents involving students usually occur off-campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a huge selection of clubs and activities on-campus. I'm part of the Criminal Justice Association, which is a club for criminal justice and forensic investigation majors. They have things such as community service events, guest speakers fro within the criminal justice field, and host an annual criminal justice career day to help students seek out potential career options. This is one of many clubs on campus and each of the others also offer great opportunities.

    Bang for the buck

    UW-Platteville is very affordable compared to many other colleges in Wisconsin and offers quality services for the price. The different majors, the faculty of each department, and the opportunities for on campus activities is top notch for the price.

    What to do for fun

    There are many organizations on campus to join in which provide fun things to do. Also, the Residence Life Department and the dorms host different activities around campus on Friday nights for both on-campus and off-campus students to participate in.

    Food and Dining

    There are several different options on campus for dining. The student center houses several different options including a sub and burger station as well as several different ethnic cuisine choices. There is also an all-you-can-eat style dining option available on campus, which has many different food choices available during each meal. Several buildings as house small convenience store/coffee shop locations, too.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life at UW-Platteville is great. There are several different dorm options including traditional dorms, a renovated traditional dorm, and three different suite style dorms. Each of these dorms are priced appropriately based on what they offer. In each of the dorms, there are RAs on every one to help serve as an information source and a community builder for the residents on the wing.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor of the school depends on the major you choose and your personal style when it comes to learning. For example, UW-Platteville is a big engineering school and engineering majors have a lot of physics and math related courses. My major is Forensic Investigations, which has a lot of criminal justice, general sciences, and forensic science related classes. Depending on what prospective students excel in, the course load for the major they choose may be very rigorous. However, all majors involve a good amount of work, so regardless of what students excel in they should expect to put in a good amount of work to come out with good grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should get to know their advisers and professors in the department for their major right away. Getting to know them opens up a lot of opportunities. Also, joining clubs and organizations is a great way to keep busy and meet people interested in the things you are.

    In three sentences

    UW-Platteville is a great college located in a small town of southwest Wisconsin. It has many different programs available for students to major in with great professors in each department who are always willing to help. On top of academics, UW-Platteville has many clubs and organizations for students to join, which help expand their horizons.

  • 06/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety on campus is good, they have safe walk for students late at nigh. there are also emergency boxes all over campus for students that need help fast.

    Clubs and Activities

    Their are many clubs to join, their is something for everyone. The activities can be improve.

    What to do for fun

    their is always something to do for fun, but sometimes the student has to work hard to find it. you can go for a walk, do sports or go into town.

    Food and Dining

    There are lots of choices to chose from. Some are open until very late at night. Their is always some thing good to eat.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are close to campus. Students are able to connect to other students.

    Academic Rigor

    There are lots of classes to take. The Classes are challenging and interesting.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure you can handle a small town, don't be scare to try new things and talk to professors.

    In three sentences

    Small school, great campus. The professors are helpful and there for students. its a quite campus.