Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

University of Wisconsin-River Falls Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/08/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 out of 16 people found this review useful. 1 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you like: small towns, a decent amount of down time. If you study: agricultural science, education, human performance, theatre. If you want: to get involved on campus, to acquire a lot of broad-field science knowledge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved with clubs, teams, and organizations. Get to know your RAs. Take advantage of the quiet weekends to be productive.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is very affordable and we don't have to buy textbooks.

    Am enjoying being here

    Campus is fun during the week. A large percentage of students go home on weekends, though, so it gets very quiet. Good for studying, bad for socializing.

    Am learning a lot

    Many of the classes to fill general requirements are not particularly intense. However, by testing into higher course levels in several subjects I have managed to avoid that as much as possible. I also take the maximum number of credits every semester.

  • 01/05/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 2 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who appreciate having access to their friends and professors First generation college students Minority populations Diverse backgrounds People who like small towns with easy access to the big city

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let college scare ya - you can do this! Find an older student (maybe your welcome leader!) who can help you through the ropes of your first semester Pay attention to announcements of events and other important things GO TO CLASS!! The professors at UWRF want you in class and make sure to use your time as valuable - you sometimes even get a higher grade just for showing up every period!

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth every penny of my tuition!! I also love that textbooks are rented to students as a part of tuition - it saves SO much time and money! I would say, though, that housing and meal plan are a little spendy for what you get for your money.

    Am enjoying being here

    For me, campus is a lot of fun. It is a balanced mix of academics and fun. There is always an option for an entertaining activity throughout the entire week, even between classes! It also like that I am only an hour from home so I am far enough away that I am on my own but I can also drop in on my parents anytime I need to also.

    Am learning a lot

    Even in classes that I took similar ones in high school, there is always something new to learn. You get many different perspectives and are given the opportunity to explore them and choose for yourself. I've already gained more knowledge about myself and this glorious world in my first semester here than I remember gaining in high school, and I still find it exciting every day!

  • 01/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 3 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    River Falls is a great school if you are looking to get into anything with Agriculture. They are also a great school for Art and Education majors.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking to go to River Falls, Make sure you are actively involved in your community. River Falls isn't academically challenging to get into, but it will help if you have good grades and are involved in your community.

    Bang for the buck

    At River Falls you will definitely get what you pay for. The nicest part is that you don't have to buy your textbooks, which will save you a ton of money. The teachers are very educated and have a lot of experience in their field.

    Am enjoying being here

    At River Falls there is always something to do. There is a three dollar movie theater right in town, there is always some sort of sporting event going on, and there is usually a musical performance of some sort. There are also activities that your dorm will plan. In every dorm there is a blue ray lounge, a kitchen, a pool table, Foosball, and games. Your RA's work hard to keep you involved and to help you make friends on your floor.

    Am learning a lot

    At River Falls you get a lot of hands on education, and they want you to succeed. They offer help rooms and free tutoring. The teachers are extremely friendly and are always willing to answer your questions. Many of the professors are still actively involved in their field of study. The Introduction courses are not extremely challenging, but you can test out to avoid this.

  • 09/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The UWRF campus is a very safe campus. That's not to say that things don't happen, because they do, but the campus is so small that you are nearly always near a building or one of the many security poles scattered around campus. Also, the university police are constantly patrolling and keeping students safe.

    Greek Life

    There are many sororities and fraternities available on campus that provide a sense of belonging to each student as well as friendship. Each one sponsors different events and does different activities throughout the year.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several different clubs and activities available around campus ranging all the way from rodeo club to pre-vet club and Women in Agriculture. The clubs are definitely a great time as they provide an outlet for volunteer servicing and socializing. Every club sponsors events throughout the year and holds many different activities.

    Great for these types of students

    The University of Wisconsin River-Falls is an excellent campus for those students looking for a degree in animal science, agribusiness, food sciences, and many other art degrees such as music and sociology and philosophy. It is also a great campus for students coming from a small town atmosphere, as River Falls is a homey small town.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The one thing that is a great difference about UWRF is that it has two lab farms that are easily accessible. Classes are held at the lab farms as well as internships and research programs. The lab farms also offer a source of income for students looking for experience in desired fields. One of the interesting things that is usually held at the lab farm is a live horse necropsy done by one of the several veterinarians on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    UWRF is an amazing college that is definitely worth every penny of the cost. It is in the UW system so it isn't quite as pricey as the private schools around the state, but it offers a equally competitive education. There are plenty of things to get involved with on campus as well as to get an education.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't a lot to do on campus during the weekend because as a lot of campuses are, River Falls is what they consider a suitcase campus; meaning everyone goes home on the weekends. Outside of the weekends however there is always plenty of walking and hiking trails around campus and to the local parks and waterfall. There are sports throughout the year that you can participate in or just watch. The UWRF is also the only university in the state to have its own rodeo team that puts a rodeo on every year. There are plenty of horse shows and dairy activities to get involved with as well as many clubs and sororities and fraternities. And, as any other college does, there are also plenty of parties (none of which I would subject myself to) around campus and in the nearby neighborhoods.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Riverside Commons is great, if you're a first year student, that is. They continuously serve the same meals every day and every week. Some of it is utterly unappetizing and bland. The normal fallback for any college student, pizza, is even a flop at Riverside Commons. The only plus side to the food here is the ice cream bar!!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at UWRF is nice. The students around you only help you to grow as a person as you become friends with them and study with them. The dorms are amazingly quite sound proof and somewhat cozy. The only downsides are nothing seems to stick to the walls no matter how hard you try and the micro-fridges could be a bit smaller, but other than that the dorms are a pleasant place to live.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses at UWRF become more difficult as you move through your college years, however, if students are willing to put in the time to do the work and studying necessary they can earn the grade that they desire. They often say that for every hour of class you should spend two hours studying and for some this is true, but if you really work hard and focus during class and read the material, that two hours will either not be necessary or will seem like a piece of cake.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students looking to enroll in the University of Wisconsin River-Falls should pay a visit to the campus to see if it is everything that you are looking for. As a current student, I would advice students to sign up for the learning community as it allows them to be in a group of people that they can become familiar with and stimulates group work and socializing. Students who are going to attend the university should make sure that when they sign up for classes that the advisor helping them is choosing classes that go towards the students graduation and not just because the professor likes that course.

    In three sentences

    The University of Wisconsin-River Falls is a wonderful school with a quiet, homey campus. Classes at UWRF are smaller than universities such as UW-Madison and allow students to work one-on one with the instructors as well as other classmates. Finally, the professors are approachable and friendly, allowing learning to take place inside and outside the classrooms.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I would never worry about walking campus at any time. I always feel safe.

    Greek Life

    Their are a few fraternities and sororities but not a lot.

    Clubs and Activities

    Their are quite a few clubs and activities. I myself am involved in a Jiu Jitsu club and the Theatre program.

    Great for these types of students

    Students interested in Agriculture or Animals. Students interested in Teaching. Students interested in Business. Students interested in Art or Music.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Many students like to travel up the Kinnickinnic River as a fun outdoor adventure or go to the falls near by.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is not expensive at all, what you pay in one year is what a lot of schools charge for one semester. My only qualm is that they make you live in the dorms for 2 years which can make tuition a bit more expensive.

    What to do for fun

    River Falls is great for outdoor adventuring, biking, fishing, things like that. Being close to a river you can some really gorgeous views. and if you seek the fun of the cities you only need travel 30 minutes and you're there. Also, if you are into animals this a great school to go to, seeing as they have extensive lab farms.

    Food and Dining

    Food is mediocre, nothing to write home about. It's not disgusting or anything but theirs nothing special about it.

    Dorm Life

    RA's are helpful and are interested in you as a person. The rooms aren't all that special but you do get to meet new people. My first year in the dorms was great and I'm sure I've made some friends that will last.

    Academic Rigor

    My experience so far has been that the professors like to challenge you but do not seek to bust you over the head with extensive workloads. If you can stay organized you should have no trouble passing your classes yet you will still find yourself to be learning new things.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do well on your ACT and maintain a decent GPA, River Falls is not a difficult school to get into. If you don't know what you want to major in their are many resources that will help you decide. also the schools learning communities are great living with a group of students with similar academic goals.

    In three sentences

    River Falls is a good school. The location is ideal, it has the appeal of a small town environment yet you are only 30 minuets away from the Twin Cities. The school is easy to get around with helpful faculty and staff.

  • 07/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never once felt threatened while on campus.

    Greek Life

    There are four fraternities and five sororities to choose from. There are two off campus fraternities, but none of the sororities have off campus housing.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different activities and clubs for all sorts of different interests.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that like having the option of both Urban and Rural living. River Falls in itself is small town, but it's surrounded by urban cities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It's illegal to chase squirrels on campus due to a taxidermy class that took place when the school was first established.

    Bang for the buck

    River Falls tuition is well priced, and you get what you paid for in triple fold.

    What to do for fun

    Go to Campus Bingo, Student Performances in the Arts building, spend time outside during the day.

    Food and Dining

    The campus dining has many different options and they rotate their food choices every few weeks.

    Dorm Life

    Depending on the dorm, they're pretty nice. Many of the dorms have newer furniture, along with a well sized mini-fridge.

    Academic Rigor

    If you really try in all of your classes, they aren't hard at all. Slacking isn't suggested.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors, the people you live with in the dorms, and the people you attend class with. They become the people you rely on most to get you through the first years.

    In three sentences

    River Falls is the perfect combination of rural and urban living. It is a college that caters to all different types of people from all different walks of life. It could be a home for any type of incoming student.

  • 07/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hidden gem: science programs

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the Career Services department, the staff is wonderful and especially helpful, it's never too early to start your professional development

    Bang for the buck

    If you really want to keep a textbook for the background that is in it, you can usually buy one at the end of the semesters, especially when textbook services switches to a newer edition.

    Am enjoying being here

    There's always something to do outside of class that you can keep busy with and make friends, it may be a quaint small school, but there's a lot of big personalities.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are all really good, just make sure to talk to them even if you're not having trouble so if you start to, it's easier to approach them, and they can help you find the assistance you need.

  • 02/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus is generally pretty safe (smallish town), but additionally, a campus security report is generated annually, and there is campus security officers patrolling as well as they have emergency towers located throughout the campus. each dorm has security doors that only allow in student ids (which is hilarious if you are old enough to go to the bars and forget your id inside).

    Clubs and Activities

    you can easily create a club if they don't have what it is you are looking for! activities occur almost everyday of the week in the student center.

    Great for these types of students

    if you're interested in: ag sci, education art. if you like to be: socially/politically active, outdoors, independent.

    Bang for the buck

    tuition is decent. uw system lets you rent books instead of buying your text books, which is a big deal!

    What to do for fun

    if you like nature, this place is for you! several nature trails all over town leading into the surrounding parks, good all year 'round. if you want to be on the water, there are kayak and canoe rentals in town and you can travel several miles downstream. willow river and kinnikinnic state parks are also not too far away from town if you want to go camping.

    Food and Dining

    top 40 or country music on all the time, buffet is perfect every once in a while but not a lot of healthy options or a good vegetarian menu. if you want organic and natural foods, definitely not the place to eat, however, river falls, the town itself, i would give 3 1/2 stars to; nice variety at a good price throughout the town. wonderful co-op grocery that gives students discounts!

    Academic Rigor

    upper level classes can be just as taxing as at any other college or university.

    Tips for prospective students

    get involved! not just in school and school clubs, but get involved in the city of river falls, it is a pretty inclusive community and it has a lot to offer beyond just the university.

    In three sentences

    great outdoors, agriculture science majors, and 1 of only 8 universities in the country that offers glass blowing! great school to start you off if you have no idea what you want to do for a living. good professors and most are willing to work with each individual student (if you ask).

  • 06/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus is extremely safe. We are small enough that all the buildings are with in a five minute walk at the most and all the walk ways are well lit. Plus we have police call polls all over campus. Campus police are located in the middle of campus and the local police patrol as well.

    Greek Life

    There are two fraternities and we have a couple more looking to open a chapter on our campus. There are three sororities. There was four but Sigma Sigma Sigma had to close for a little bit but we are all excited to see them come back. We all hang out together and there is hardly any drama. The drama that does happen is like family drama between siblings. We are all very close and try and help each other out. One of my best friends is an Alpha Sigma Alpha, while I am an Alpha Omicron Pi. Our chapters are just the right size that you can get to know everyone of your sisters or brothers extremely close and still be able to know everyone else with in the other chapters. We are close knit.

    Clubs and Activities

    The Greek life on campus is amazing. It is big but not so big that we do not all mingle and know each other well. There is a club/org for every interest possible. And if there isn't you can make your own.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for every type of student.

    Bang for the buck

    River falls is completely worth the money. The professors are amazing! They are extremely helpful and again the organizations are amazing. It is a great small campus.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of events held on campus. You cannot not miss the drag show! BEST THING EVER! There are little concerts, dancers, charity events, parties, etc. there is something for everyone. Just don't be afraid to try something new.

    Food and Dining

    There is great food on campus but the food company we are paying is not the greatest all the time BUT our contract with them is almost up so hopefully we go with someone new :)

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in dorms but out of my friends that do say they love it and you make lots of fantastic friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Almost everyone on campus try to get good grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not stress out over college. Just try your hardess and get involved. Try something new and do not be afraid to talk to your professors or go to any of the tutoring centers on campus for help.

    In three sentences

    UW-River Falls is a great close knit campus. There are tons of organizations on campus for every individual.

  • 07/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    A $3 theater of the newest movies out.

    What to do for fun

    There's several inter-mural sports to join on campus for fun during any season. There's a tons of clubs to join ranging from Ducks to Japanese Film and Animation (Anime Club) to Diversity clubs. Not to forget that there's also the school sports to try out from. In addition, there's a nearby park and Falls to go, explore, and climb.

    Food and Dining

    There is several different dining options. There's the C-store, which is the campus version of a gas station food and supplies. There's retail dining that gives you 3 or 4 different restaurant food options during lunch. There's the buffet style cafe that has 3 different meals during the day (breakfast, lunch, dinner). It's food quality is great most the time, though they can get repetitive at times. There's a small coffee stand that sells breakfast bagels, muffins and such at. Lastly, there's Pete's Creek which is another dining option like the retail dining, though their food options vary like the cafe's.

    Dorm Life

    Well... dorm life is dorm life. I didn't have much to complain about my first year in the dorms. It depends on where you are located. During the weekends, the dorms are quiet because most people that go back home, but that doesn't stop the campus from having activities on the weekends. People will generally be courtesy about there neighbors, and if asked to quiet down, they will.

    Academic Rigor

    There's lots of challenging teachers and courses too choose from. There are some teachers that work better for other students than others, but all professors are willing to help you succeed if you are willing to put forth effort and ask for help.

    Tips for prospective students

    There's a several nature trails nearby with two rivers and falls by the campus. The Falls are great for hiking/ climbing. There's a newly remodeled grocery store that's not too far from the campus that has friendly workers and a student discount (with ID). There's also a theater that you can get a ticket, soda, and popcorn for $5 or less.

    In three sentences

    River Falls is a small city and campus. It's a tight knit and friendly place that was easy to adjust to coming from a small private school. The campus and city is great place to be.

  • 02/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    there are clubs for just about every major and you can start your own club if it doesnt exist.

    What to do for fun

    there are free activities on campus everyday. in town there is a very cheap movie theater and small shops. there are parks with hiking trails and sometimes activities to canoe the river that runs through town.

    Food and Dining

    they have a large buffet, but the food is not extra-ordinary and the menu has very little variation from day to day. there is also not many healthy choices. the quality of food is not worth how much the meal plan is.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are cleaned everyday by custodians. they could use a new heating system though. and there is only one kitchen in the building which is inconvenient for those living on forth floor because it is in the basement.

    Academic Rigor

    the upper level classes do require active participation, and require a measurable amount of time spent on homework and other studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    get involved on campus doing anything, whether it be a sport, club, or something else. i suggest taking advantage of the free help centers for math, writing, chemistry, and others.

    In three sentences

    this college is very agriculturally focused, but it also has a good pre-medicine program. there are many excellent instructors willing to help with anything and give helpful advice because they have the time spend with students, due to small class sizes.

  • 02/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i feel safe walking alone in the dark.

    Clubs and Activities

    a lot!

    Great for these types of students

    agriculture, science, pre-vet.

    Bang for the buck

    pretty good, tuition isn't super expensive and it is a good school.

    What to do for fun

    it is a small town, but there are a lot of on-campus activities like karaoke, sports, intramurals, concerts, etc. it is a nice town. the twin cities are only half an hour away.

    Food and Dining

    the food is ok. dining services is pretty good about helping people with special dietary needs.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are pretty average, but they are building a new dorm for sophomores that sounds pretty nice. you will survive living in the dorms for a couple years.

    Academic Rigor

    there are plenty of hard classes that will prepare you well.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are unsure of your major, that is fine, there is a pre-major program that will help you decide.

    In three sentences

    this school is great for people who want to go into agriculture or science. there are a lot of hands-on learning opportunities. overall, uwrf is a pretty great school.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    tons and tons!! i am not involved because i don't have time, but i hear about them all the time, and people love them

    Bang for the buck

    there is a lot of extra activities to choose from at this school. there are events and activities all the time, and they spread the worb about them pretty efficiently.

    What to do for fun

    i am a single mother of a toddler, and a full time student, so i don't have a whole lot of time for fun. however, there are always a lot of activities that i am hearing about, so i know there would be things to do if i have time.

    Food and Dining

    i don't really partake in any meals on campus because i live off campus. but i hear good things. there is a coffee shop and a little stopre where you can purchase items that is nice to have access to.

    Dorm Life

    i don't like in the dorms, but form what i hear, people love it!

    Academic Rigor

    overall, i think this is a great school. i have run into staff that are very encouraging. they are willing to put in some extra time for each of their students if needed. i am a social work major, and i am very impressed with the acagemic structure of the program. you better be ready to work hard!

    Tips for prospective students

    don't get too overwhelmed. any college campus is going to be a change to you, so just dig in and get to it! you can do it! don't be afraid to approach staff with questions. also, if you have any learning disabilities that you may need accomodations for, this school has a great program that i am currently taking advantage of. you can do it!

    In three sentences

    i have really enjoyed me educational experience at uwrf. i am a social work major, and am really enjoying the close, family like atmosphere we have developed within our major, but appreciate that it is easy to get to know anyone on campus. the staff are friendly and helpful, overall.

  • 04/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe environment.

    What to do for fun

    …..Study...

    Food and Dining

    Good food. But hey, its college.

    Dorm Life

    I live in the all- girls dorm, and its a blast!

    Academic Rigor

    Great professors and many opportunities. If you study and give it all you got, this is the school for you.

    In three sentences

    Great professors, Fun classes, not so much for socializing. Very quiet and peaceful. If you're a social person, maybe not the best choice.

  • 09/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I never feel in danger because of the fact that it's in a small town and there's campus security.

    Greek Life

    I personally am not in involved in greek life, but I have an older friend you absolutely loved it and made some of the greatest friends during her experience. It's not a big part of campus, but they are there.

    Clubs and Activities

    Theres over 150 clubs at UWRF, but they need more variety and special interest clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    At UWRF, you will find a variety of students ranging from farm girls/boys to artsy people/hipsters. If you are okay with not being in a big city (but close to it) and are used to having to commute to the cities for it's entertainment, I'd say this place is a good fit.

    Bang for the buck

    You get a lot for the money you pay. Your textbook fees are included in your tuition and are rented from the school. You get free counseling, free access to tutors, free workout classes, and a lot of opportunities and fun.

    What to do for fun

    The campus usually has something going on. Anything ranging from a cultural festival to the city sampler will be held under the big tent. They offer a monthly get on the bus where you can hop on a bus and they'll take you anywhere from the zoo to a Minnesota Twins game (varies each month). There's some basketball and sand volleyball courts around the dorms. UW-RF, also, offers free workout classes to students like Zumba, yoga, tai chi, cardio boot camp, etc. In town, there is a $4 theater as well a park that includes The Falls and many trails. Dance clubs, museums, malls, etc are in the surrounding areas.

    Food and Dining

    Riverside Commons is the main dining area on campus. It's buffet-style and good, but it can get repetitive. Luckily, you can get a transfer meal (if you're on a meal plan, which freshmen are required to have) at the retail dining areas on campus and at the UC Convenience store. Retail dining includes an Erberts & Gerberts ( a sandwich shop), St. Croix Grill (beef and burgers), Noodles and Greens (a pasta/noodle/salad place), and Petes Creek Market (a variety of foods like chicken tenders and macaroni and cheese). There is also a coffee shop, Peregrine Park, which brews and sells Caribou Coffee items. The UC convience store offers a transfer meal of a sandwich, chips, and milk after 7:00 pm.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are small compared to other places, but lofting the bed gives you a lot more room. Living in the dorms is a great way to meet people and take advantage of all the activities, resources (like the tutoring labs), and services on campus. Also, you get to wake up later and not have to worry about gas when you live on campus. Most commuters wish that they lived on campus because of the benefits previously stated.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor varies depending on the teacher and the classes you take.

    Tips for prospective students

    In terms of getting in, I suggest you don't fail any classes and keep your GPA above a 2.0. It's not that hard to get in. Tips for incoming freshmen include: Don't be afraid to talk to your teachers, attend Week of Welcome and Academic day, and take advantage of the resources on campus (like tutoring). The staff and student body are all really nice, so don't be afraid to put yourself out there.

    In three sentences

    UW-River Falls is a medium sized university nuzzled in the small town of River Falls, only 20 to 30 minutes away from the Twin Cities. The school is most well-known for its elementary school education, agricultural studies/science, and art education programs. The university has a great atmosphere and is globally connected offering a lot of affordable study abroad options.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Sodexo is not good.

    Tips for prospective students

    There will be a lot of farm people there. You need a car.

    In three sentences

    The university was my top choice and it started out a little rough, but after one semester the university really grew on me. I have fallen in love with the college and the wide range of people that go to the university.

  • 08/24/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Its pretty cheap in comparison to many

    What to do for fun

    about 20 minutes from the cities!!

    Food and Dining

    food can be alright. Not the best sometimes

    Academic Rigor

    You can have easy and hard classes

  • 09/10/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The best part is that the cities are only 30 minutes away! Another fun thing is the movie theater that is only 3 dollars to see.

    Food and Dining

    The food I had when I visited was very good! There were so many options and they had cards that listed the ingredients for each item. I would not mind eating there for the next 4-6 years.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very nice and comfortable to be in. A big plus is the wi-fi and also the mini fridge and microwave that it comes with. And using the washer and dryer are free!

    Academic Rigor

    I feel that this college will push you to your limit when it comes to the course work and that is just from the stats that I have looked at.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask questions form the admissions counselors. They are there to help you figure out what you want to do with your life!

    In three sentences

    It has an absolutely beautiful campus! The campus as a whole is very welcoming and inviting to prospective students.

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety here is always a big winner for parents! Located all over campus are poles that light up and have an emergency button on them. That button immedietly locates campus police and they will arrive within minutes.

    Greek Life

    There are several sororities and fraternities located on campus and they are very involved with campus. I have friends in campus sororities and fraternities and they are always out and about on campus and in the community volunteering and making River Falls a better place to live!

    Clubs and Activities

    The list of clubs, sororities, fraternities and extra circular activities is endless! There truly is a possibility for everyone. What I love is that even if you have never done whatever it is you are doing, EVERYONE is always willing to help you out and teach you.

    Great for these types of students

    I do not agree when people say a certain type of student goes to River Falls, but I would say that if someone needs an eventful night life of possibilities every night, that River Falls is not for them.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    River Falls is known for the Kinnickinnic River that runs through the university campus and the town. The scenery here is truly beautiful.

    Bang for the buck

    River Falls is the most affordable university I have yet to come across! Tuition per semester without housing is equivalent to a community college. Being able to still attend a beautiful university, experience the college life, and be extremely affordable almost seems to good to be true!!!

    What to do for fun

    Like I mentioned earlier River Falls has so many extra circular activities. Also, another plus is that because River Falls is a smaller town, and community events are popular for students to participate in and vice versa. Also, River Falls has a nationally ranked rodeo team, which they perform often.

    Food and Dining

    The dining here is great! From visiting friends at other campuses I am grateful for our dining services. There are several buffet lines filled with different varieties of food such as pastas, salads, sandwiches, tacos, and two main meals everyday. Did I mention an ice cream buffet!?!! The agriculture department even makes our own ice cream!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are not glamorous, but they are not terrible. They are average dorms, but equipped with an excellent staff of resident assistants! River falls does a great job at preparing the RA's for all sorts of situations and really stresses to them to show their residents around campus and make them get involved.

    Academic Rigor

    The curriculum at River Falls is not vigorous although the courses are challenging. With those challenging courses, there are wonderful, caring tutors available, for free. The curriculum is challenging enough to really make you study and work for your grades and maybe need that extra support from a tutor. Due to the great tutoring services, it allows for everyone to have a chance to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    River Falls has so many clubs, organizations and extra-cirricular activities, take advantage of it! This may sound cliche', but at River Falls everyone seems to be truly genuine. With so many activities available, it is a great way to meet people and create life long friends. Also, use the tutoring service as well as career services, it's all free!

    In three sentences

    River Falls is a small town school, but allows you to step out of your shell with the diverse population it offers. Located not far from the Metropolitan area allows for AMAZING connections with business and prospective job opportunities, no matter what field you are in. The professors here truly care about the students and make you feel far from just a number unlike most universities.

  • 10/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many to join, no matter what you think is cool. There are some that are competitive, and others that are more educational. It is whatever you are interested in.

    Great for these types of students

    The school is great for students who want to get a career in agriculture.

    What to do for fun

    There are intramural sports teams to join to stay active and meet new people. There is also open recreation, where there is an open track, basketball hoops, and a rock climbing wall. In all the dorms there is a blu-ray room to watch movies with your friends. The cities isn't very away either, so it's easy to go shopping or out to eat.

    Food and Dining

    There a multiple locations to choose where to eat, and many different choices when you get there. It is not always the same thing, unless you make it that way. The homemade ice-cream and other dairy products is a plus here at River Falls!

    Dorm Life

    It is really not as bad as you think. Especially if you get an awesome roommate!

    Academic Rigor

    I feel like it depends on your classes, and how well you want to do in them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to go to class, and don't save everything until the last minute.

    In three sentences

    River Falls is a smaller school, with a whole bunch of really cool people to meet. The teachers want you to do your best, and help you achieve your goals. The school offers so many opportunities to become involved, and also many that will help with your career choice.

  • 10/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe, many emergency telephones.

    Great for these types of students

    students interested in Agriculture.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are classes on Harry Potter and The Hunger Games, worth credits.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of trails to walk/run, downtown stores and restaurants to window shop, and a river to visit.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a student looking for a great Agricultural school, this is a good campus to choose. If you are a student looking for a bigger city scene with a lot of cultural variety and opportunity, I would look at a larger school.

    In three sentences

    River Falls University is a small campus with many smiling students. I enjoy this campus because of its size, but it does not fulfill all of my social needs. The teachers and staff here very friendly.

  • 11/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are always in sight, and there are emergency boxes with buttons you can push if you even have an inkling of fear you're in danger. The office is very easy to find, and the officers are very understanding and protective of the students! They're not overly strict or menacing, but they do want everyone to be safe. If one stops to talk to you, it's generally not intimidating and sometimes they just want to see how you're doing personally, or if it's dark and you're walking, to make sure you get back to campus safely.

    Greek Life

    The Greek girls that I've been around and talked to all seem very eager and willing to welcome new girls into their sororities. They're very amiable and are never hard to approach and they're very accepting! They're always looking to recruit and love having a fun time with everyone.

    Clubs and Activities

    All the clubs stay extremely organized through e-mails and bulletins. The people in them are extremely accepting and love to include anyone! It's also very easy to start a club if it isn't already here, but the clubs range from poultry club to Harry Potter club, so I'm sure there's something for anyone looking to join a club or activity!

    Great for these types of students

    River Falls is great for anyone that is ambitious or someone who just really wants to have a flexible college life. You see all types of people here, and I'd wager that no two people here are alike. If you want an affordable yet promising education, I'd say come to River Falls!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Entering the Agricultural Science building on the west side of campus is like entering another world; almost everyone there is in flannel and cowboy boots. It's a bit strange if you're a city kid, but I haven't been pressured to conform just yet.

    Bang for the buck

    River Falls is probably one of the cheapest four-year educations out there, but it doesn't lag on quality. The education you receive will be top-notch, and you'll be glad to leave with your degree, because you'll have more than just that: you'll have the experience and skills to enter the real world with complete confidence.

    What to do for fun

    There are hundreds of activities and intramural sports from open hockey to broom ball. There are tons of sports teams and football games are always a blast. The library is open late for bookworms, and downtown River Falls has plenty of great family-owned stores and restaurants, and Hudson is just eight miles out, if you can find a ride! Also, we have the only rodeo club in the Midwest and there are shows going on throughout the year that you can catch.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall always has something you'll like during the week for every meal, and you will always get your fill! The gluten free station is great if you have a gluten allergy, too, and is always well-stocked.

    Dorm Life

    People rarely have issues with roommates and the school is extremely good about finding you a new place to stay if you do. The people are extremely friendly, and being a part of a learning community with people in your program or major is a good way to stay connected and get some quick help on assignments!

    Academic Rigor

    Classes don't have to be too difficult, but if you want a challenge you don't have to look hard. Every department has at least one professor that will push you very hard, but if it's a subject you have issues with, it's easy to get a professor who will go through things slowly and be more understanding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you tour the campus first, and if you can try and play a sport here! The fan base for the sports is great, and going out to watch the sports if you aren't on a team is also a great way to get involved. There are plenty of activities, so get involved!

    In three sentences

    The university has a very comfortable and friendly atmosphere, and people are always willing to help out! The professors are generally very understanding and always answer questions and help with concerns. The campus isn't too large, but there are enough people that you can always find someone new to talk to!

  • 11/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Farm kids and all types of education majors

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Squirrels. We like our squirrels!

    What to do for fun

    Lots of clubs and activities. We are also close to the Twin Cities so many kids go there on the weekends.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Big farm school -Lots of farm kids and horse people -Good education school -We aren't a huge school, but if you want a big town its just minutes away from the Twin Cities

    In three sentences

    River Falls is a small, but nice school with many different opportunities available. The professors and students all have a feeling of Minnesota/Wisconsin nice. I didn't love it at first, but it truly grew on to me, so now it is home.

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is extremely safe. the neighborhood is a safe place. There are emergency stands all around campus. All the sidewalks are lit up. The streets have just be redone this year to improve traffic safety for both pedestrians and drivers.

    Greek Life

    The greek life is on campus. The students are mostly agriculture students and they do a lot of activities for the whole student body on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am on the Rodeo Team. It's the only club I am personally in however the school has so many clubs geared for every type of student.

    Great for these types of students

    This campus is great for agricultural geared students. There are a lot of agriculture groups on campus for those types of students to get involved with, as well as the greek life being mostly agriculture students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a really cool amphitheater behind campus along the river. The seating areas are made from stones carved right out of the hill itself.

    Bang for the buck

    I personally think that depending on the professor some of the classes I take are completely worth it and some of the classes were taught by professors who just don't care.

    What to do for fun

    For me, my fun lies with the UWRF Rodeo Team. I travel to 4 states in the midwest to compete on the rodeo team. I've met so many people on campus and at other regional schools.

    Food and Dining

    I've only eaten on campus a few times, but our University Center is amazing. The food is delicious and healthy. There is plenty of choices so you don't eat same things all the time and it is open for many hours at student's convenience.

    Dorm Life

    Being a local I never lived in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your program, the academic vigor varies. Some classes are harder than others, however the general levels of classes do not give adequate insight on what the course difficulty will be like. Some of the hardest classes are 100 levels.

    Tips for prospective students

    FOr future students I would recommend that you be prepared for cold! River Falls gets quite chilly in the winter. I would also recommend that commuter students scope out parking spaces before school starts as parking is minimal on campus.

    In three sentences

    Te school is a beautiful campus with a small town vibe. It allows for a home away from home and a place to get an education in a safe, easy to navigate town. River Falls is my home town and being able to have a college educational experience in a place you grow up is an honor.

  • 01/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's always campus activities going on like football, basketball, hockey games. River Falls also has a nice little downtown with a bunch of cute shops and cafes. The community really is a nice place, and it's not far from the Twin Cities if you want to visit a bigger city.

    Food and Dining

    The food is terrible. The meal plan themselves are way too expensive for what they serve. There are many times where I go there and end up eating cereal because the rest of the food sucks so bad. The drink selection is great, and so are the desserts though.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun, but can also be challenging. Make as many new friends as possible when you first get there, that's when it's easiest. The dorms themselves aren't bad either, some are more updated than others but they're still nice. The bathrooms are decent and the showering situations is too awkward. Sometimes they're a little loud, but that's what the library is for.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes keep you busy, but the work isn't always that difficult. You still learn a lot of valuable stuff, especially once you get going with your major classes and not just general education courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Expect to bring some easy to make food with you- the dining is terrible. They get worse throughout the semester too. Make sure you bring winter boots, the walk to class can take up to 5-10 minutes. Get to know your roommate before you move in.

    In three sentences

    It's a small campus community where the class sizes aren't huge. A lot of the professors and advisers are great, friendly and helpful, but you'll always have the one who will make school too difficult. The campus layout makes walking to class a drag, especially in the winter, but the school work itself isn't too much, or too little.

  • 02/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are many devices and people who strive to make River Falls a safe campus.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is not a huge part of campus, but it is still offered.

    Clubs and Activities

    River Falls offers over thirty clubs and organizations. They offer anything from Art Society to Hunting Clubs to sports teams.

    Bang for the buck

    River falls has a low tuition cost which is always great! You will get a lot out of your classes for the amount they cost.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of state parks around the area and nature trails. Main street has nice places to eat and see movies. The campus offers great opportunities to get to know other students.

    Food and Dining

    There is a wide range of food to choose from. They do a great job of catering to dietary needs as well. The food mostly comes from campus gardens and animals.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to stay focused on your studies but have fun at the same time. Try to keep a healthy balance between academics and social outings.

    In three sentences

    River Falls is a great school with a wide variety of majors and minors to choose from. They have a wonderful art department and teaching program. There are lots of opportunities and clubs to be a part of on and off campus.

  • 02/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is very good. I haven't heard of any accidents or attacks ever. The smokers are also very careful about where they place their cigarettes as not to start a fire.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life here on campus is okay. Some have houses but not very many. The boys frats seem to be taking over the sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities at River Falls. Some people join sports clubs while others decided to join sororities and frats.What ever you like to do, there is a club for that.

    Great for these types of students

    River Falls is a great campus for people who are independent and love to be outside. It is also good for people like to walk and get exercise. There are a ton of friendly people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Well for starters, apparently the third floor of the South Hall is haunted. Or at least that is what people say around campus.

    Bang for the buck

    River Falls is a good choice when it comes to how much you get for what you pay. The laundry is free this year and you get to rent your textbooks which means you don't have to spend an extra $500 each semester.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot to do for fun around River Falls. There is multiple restaurants, bowling alleys, bars, shops, and tons of walking paths that many people skateboard or roller blade on. There is something to do every night without repeating what you have already done.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining here is not really the best. For some people, it is considered unhealthy. Many people don't really mind though because they watch what they eat and eat in portions.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life here is good or people who are very open and outgoing. If you are kind of shy, this campus will break you of that habit. The dorms tend to have a lot of activities and open door contests.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes here are relatively easy and the professors are very nice. The general education classes are obviously the easier ones for incoming freshman. As you get higher with credits the classes tend to become get harder to get good grades it.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school has a very good study abroad option. The professors are very lenient and understanding if you cant make it to class. The campus is small so it is easy to get around.

    In three sentences

    I love this school. The campus is small but you get to know a lot of familiar faces. The classes are relatively easy too.

  • 07/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    explained earlier

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Drama department has a good play every semester. Then the dance recital afterwards. The spring is best because of the yearly Drag Show as well as the Finals week concerts. But there are usually Open mic nights once a month as well.

    Bang for the buck

    It's not too expensive and you get the classes and training you need but the prices are starting to go up.

    What to do for fun

    Too many clubs to count. I was part of at least 6 but now I am spending most of it with the ROTC program

    Food and Dining

    The campus dining has it's dishes but like most public eateries it has some things that you wouldn't eat unless you had too. The option of a transfer meal and the other restaurants give a needed relief once and while but I still would go to the main area for the coffee in the morning and the ice cream in the afternoon.

    Dorm Life

    Great RA's and lots of activities within the dorm (at least from a guys view). Keep an open door and things will be friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    The student/professor ratio is very nice for majority of classes so you can get a lot of one-on-one time and help you may need. The classes will range in intensity depending on your professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk with upper class-men to find which professors suit your needs as well as suggesting on campus work. Also, don't blow all your money at Jimmy Johns during the first semester. It almost had me.

    In three sentences

    The atmosphere of the students and the staff bring a feeling of a small town community and closeness you will not normally find in larger universities. The classes are very diverse for the size of the college and the attention and interest in the students's needs by the professors are greatly noticed. Overall it is a great location and enjoyable school.

  • 09/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Even though there are classes to go to during the normal week there are always a lot of thing to do in the evenings and weekends.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that with all the time you might get that you put schoolwork first or you will not do well.

  • 10/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always police driving around campus. We also have emergency stations placed around campus where you can easily call the police for assistance. Campus is pretty safe with low crime rates.

    Greek Life

    I know we have quite a few Greek life clubs, but I haven't participated in any of them so I don't know what they are like.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are quite a few different clubs, and it's very easy to establish your own if there aren't any you are interested in. The intramural sports are a lot of fun.

    Great for these types of students

    The science, animals science, and teaching programs are really good at this school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a drag show twice a year that is a lot of fun. People on campus are pretty open about sexual orientation.

    Bang for the buck

    One of the cheaper UW schools, but the summer and J-term classes are kind of expensive.

    What to do for fun

    There are a variety of clubs. We also have a movie theater that is only $3 a movie! There are a lot of parks around campus, and the falls are beautiful. There are a lot of different hiking trails with really nice scenery.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't very good, and it's really expensive. It's way better to not have a meal plan and just buy your own food. A lot healthier too!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty nice, but living off campus is a lot better.

    Academic Rigor

    There are definitely some high level courses, so you always have a challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would definitely recommend this school. Just don't get behind in any of your classes!

    In three sentences

    Most of the professors really care about you and want you to succeed in their classes. The campus is beautiful, and the classrooms and computers labs are really nice. There are also a variety of sports, and the intramural sports are set up really well and a lot of fun!

  • 01/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Literally nothing happens in this town and the campus is very small so everyone is pretty safe.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life isn't supported very well by the campus. There are no fraternity or sorority houses on campus and they don't seem like they are much of an honor.

    Clubs and Activities

    Very inclusive, there is something for everything.

    Great for these types of students

    Animal Science majors - specifically equine, Elementary Education majors, or students who prefer a small town setting.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are squirrels everywhere and if you get caught harassing them, you can get fined and your name will be printed in the newspaper.

    Bang for the buck

    For the price, River Falls is exceptional. I believe it is the cheapest school in the UW system.

    What to do for fun

    There is not a lot to do for fun in River Falls. Most people go home on weekends leaving it a ghost town.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is disgusting. There are not a lot of places to eat in town, either.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms are pretty average, but the sophomore suites and upperclassmen dorms are extremely nice.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't expect too much.

    In three sentences

    The University of Wisconsin-River Falls is a great choice if you live in the area since most students go home on weekends. It is the best choice in the state if you want to study equine science, and is also a good choice for dairy science or if you would like to become a teacher. If you don't like traveling into Minnesota or to another town to do literally anything, look elsewhere.

  • 01/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Make sure to get involved in extracurricular activities that are administered by student-life to improve retention. The school spends a fortune, INHO, to bring big name bands and comedians to liven up the campus to appeal to freshman and sophomore students. Don't be afraid to be active and explore the great outdoors! There are plenty of opportunities for outdoor minded students to go on a hike on the cities miles of trails, go trout fishing, kayaking, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great if you are not a vegan, vegetarian, and don't mind eating the same thing every other day. They really need a more diverse menu with more healthy options. Most of the entrees the cooks prepare taste good but are greasy and full of artery-clogging cheese. The dorms are more expensive that living off of campus and they force you to have a meal plan even in you have food allergies or a selective diet.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are more expensive that living off of campus and they force you to have a meal plan even in you have food allergies or a selective diet. The amenities are nice in the South Fork Suites, but the other dorms are adequate. There were built in the 60's and 70's and are retro in a bad, not environmentally sustainable way. If you make friendships with your peers and can get over the blah of the dorms, you will enjoy it. At least the internet is super fast.

    Academic Rigor

    In all honesty this depends on the major you choose and the professor who teaches it for the college of business and college of arts and sciences. I think a double major in physics and mathematics would require more time for coursework than a essay based class in political ideology. The academic rigor varies considerably depending on who teaches the course. The entrance requirements for the University are not competitive. They take anyone with a 21 or above on their ACT.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your research about the particular department and the professors teaching the classes beforehand. The reputation of each department varies in the college and some of the best and worst professors I have ever had are in the college of arts and sciences. It is primarily a rural school and the campus climate reflects this somewhat. The small town around the college is a quiet quaint picturesque small town which is great if you are into that sort of thing and terribly boring if you aren't.

    In three sentences

    The University of Wisconsin- River Falls campus provides an excellent personalized education with an all-inclusive welcoming environment for undergraduate education. The campus is small enough where professors actually get to know you as an whole person in small class sizes. However, this is historically a 'suitcase' campus where many students go back home on the weekend for various reasons and can be BORING.

  • 01/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    You pay about $14,000 a year compared to the $20,000 youd pay at any other college and the education you get is the same.

    What to do for fun

    There is a $3 movie theater in town and it plays the new movies!

    Food and Dining

    River Falls is a small town mostly filled with bars but there are a few fast food restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    Most of the dorms are updated but they are still much smaller than other campus dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are very helpful but they push you to excel!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for the same education as the bigger universities but want to pay less this is the place!

    In three sentences

    If youre looking at River Falls for their education, the professors and faculty here are amazing! They are very helpful and laid back. The campus is smaller so seeing familiar faced is quite frequent.

  • 01/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Walk around town. Hang with friends. Go to sporting events. Walk to the falls.

    Dorm Life

    More than 50% of the students leave on the weekends.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors challenge you like any other college would. The professors are also very easy to talk to.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to go to class and take the time to do the work. You need to focus on what your at college for and find time for your hobbies when you get the real job done.

    In three sentences

    The campus is absolutely beautiful and very homely. The students and professors are very inviting and polite. You can get a great education for a good price!

  • 03/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Equestrian team!!!!

    Great for these types of students

    ag. students

    Bang for the buck

    Rent textbooks. thrift stores

    What to do for fun

    Thrift shops!!!

    Food and Dining

    Its alright but can get repetitive.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is pretty good. Beware: the walls are very thin...

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are very hard, but if you work hard and study you will be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved do your homework!!!

    In three sentences

    It is a wonderful school. Almost all of the professors are nice and want you to succeed. The equine program is great.

  • 05/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's very safe. Small town, not an unsafe place at all.

    Greek Life

    Almost non existent.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs, but not too many participate in them.

    Great for these types of students

    Agriculture, farmers, small town people.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a cheap school. We don't buy our textbooks, we rent them. I feel like for the price it's pretty decent.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of bars around town not far from campus. If you're under 21 though, not much to do.

    Food and Dining

    Average. There are options outside of the meal plan that are pretty decent and not too expensive.

    Dorm Life

    I never stayed in the Dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The school isn't that rigorous for academics. I am a good student, but most people are just average students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't take all your Gen-Eds your first two years. Talk to your advisors if you have questions. Go to your classes and you'll do good.

    In three sentences

    It's an average school, fairly easy and great community. I wish teachers were a little better. I also wish it had more study abroad programs.