Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

University of the Cumberlands Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Tour the University and ask the admissions office if you can do an overnight visit. If you play a sport request to room with an RA who plays the same sport as you.

    Bang for the buck

    UC is pretty expensive, but the in-state and out of state tuitions are the same and they give a lot of scholarships if you just ask your admissions counselor.

    Am enjoying being here

    UC has a beautiful campus. It is a small town but it is not hard to find things to do. If you enjoy the city scene we're not that far from Knoxville and you won't have any problems finding friends who also like to go there. If you enjoy the outdoors we are very close to Cumberland Falls and it has a ton of hiking trails all around it.

    Am learning a lot

    This University has small class sizes. Your professors will know your name and will be happy to answer your questions after class in their office. They're available on their office phones, email, or in person. And don't be afraid to sit in one of the front seats of the classroom! Another great thing about your professors knowing your name is that if you decide to apply for grad school after your undergrad degree is complete, you will have professors who can write excellent letters of recommendation for you.

  • 01/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    this can also be a down fall for the school, but it depends upon the person. most people at the school compete in some kind of sport, either varsity or inter mural which takes up a lot of time and can be a lot of fun. however, if you don't stay busy that way, it can get pretty boring. there aren't a lot of entertainment options in the town so you're pretty much stuck with finding something to do on campus. that being said, you can always hang with friends, play basketball in the gym or swim in the indoor pool

    Food and Dining

    the food on campus is definitely one of its down falls. you have 3 main options - the grill which has pizza hut pizzas and items like that (limited food, but good quality), the cafeteria which is a buffet of various foods (many options, but bad quality) and the new patriot steakhouse which is like a sports bar specifically for our college (good food, but limited option to use meal plan on and located off campus).

    Dorm Life

    i, being a freshman, was put in the worst dorm so i can only speak for my building on this. however, all dorms on campus are broken down into boy/girl, there are no coed dorms. i do enjoy living in the dorm here and get along great with my roommates and everyone else. my dorm is an older building so it isn't exactly high tech but it isn't run down either. the dorm is about average, but the dorm life is superb.

    Academic Rigor

    the academics can be challenging sometimes, but other times you may find it to be almost too easy. in some of my classes (general education courses) i was not challenged at all. however, this is not the case for all courses. some will take a lot of work to get an a or b, luckily the school does have tutors to help you out and professors are more than willing to further explain lectures during their office hours.

    Tips for prospective students

    there are a few tips you will want to know before coming here. the university as a whole is pretty conservative when it comes to almost everything; that includes politics, religion, etc. don't be surprised if your teacher is referencing god or the bible in any of your classes because it happens semi-frequently (depending on the teacher of course).

    In three sentences

    overall, i do enjoy being here at the university of the cumberlands and do not regret coming here one bit. the atmosphere is great; specifically the people you come in contact with on a daily basis including other students, staff and the professors. i'm very happy with the choice i made to come here and i think i will have a fabulous next four years furthering my education.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is super safe! As long as you don't stray too far on your own in the town, you are sure to be safe no matter what. The campus officers are always paying attention and will not let anything happen to you!

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a huge variety of clubs and activities on campus from soccer to FCA there is something for everyone on campus!

    Great for these types of students

    If you are ready to work hard, learn a lot about yourself, and grow as a person this school is for you! Students who are willing to sacrifice a little bit of their social life are going to succeed here because the staff is not going to let any student fail.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A lot of times we do activities within our dorms, especially the freshman dorm. Many clubs/athletic teams will do different things together to mingle and break the ice.

    Bang for the buck

    Cumberland is an amazing school! It not only prepares students for the workforce but it also prepares students to become leaders in their chosen field of study.

    What to do for fun

    Most people will hang out on campus or go out to the mountains for a campfire. A lot of the time people to drive out to Lexington or Knoxville for fun on the weekends. Other than that, students stay pretty busy when they are involved.

    Food and Dining

    The food selection is small, but there is never a minute you would go hungry on or off campus. There are two options on campus, but also many fast food options off campus only a couple minutes away.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are awesome! There are always fun activities and the RA's are extremely helpful and insightful about most things on campus. The rooms are a good size and they do their best to give you your best fit.

    Academic Rigor

    It is pretty challenging, but the professors and other students are always there to help. No one is left behind here; everyone has everyone's back. I wouldn't change a thing about the amount of work we are expected to do, it is pretty reasonable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early and get an in with your professors and admissions counselor. Get involved and get to know as many people as you can. Don't be shy!

    In three sentences

    The professors are actually caring and one on one service is always provided. Everyone cares for each other. No one is alone.

  • 11/26/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for the students who want to learn in a positive and upbeat environment all while recieving one of the best educations.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend talking to the students who already attend.

    Bang for the buck

    I have already gotten a grant for over $5,ooo. The best part is that it only costs near $18,ooo a year for in-state students!

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus is beautiful from what I have seen.

    Will learn a lot

    I hear that this college has an awesome debate team.

  • 10/03/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    I really wanna go here! Any advice? :)

  • 10/18/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Am enjoying being here

    the campus is beautiful and i find it to be very relaxing. i never feel like i am in a rush to go anywhere or do anything. it is surrounded by green trees and it is just a wonderful place to be

    Am learning a lot

    the professors here do a really good job of teaching you the material in such a way that it is easy to learn. plus, the vast majority of classes are small so you have more one-on-one time with your professor. if you have a question, the professors are happy to answer them because they care about your education

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Working students

    What to do for fun

    ??? Taking online classes

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out their online degree options they are incredible.

    In three sentences

    This school is great, especially the online programs. I love that they provide students the opportunity to acquire a degree while being able to work full time without any complications.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is a very safe environment. Campus security is always patrolling the grounds. They also lock the dorms at 11:00 every night. And if you are out past then, you have to go to the security building to have them unlock it for you. UC is a very secure and safe environment.

    Clubs and Activities

    Having only went through my freshman year, I have not really had a chance to look at the clubs that UC offers.

    Great for these types of students

    Christians who are looking for a college that is deeply rooted in the christian faith. Also is an excellent college for athletes as well. We have a number of teams as well as IM teams.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    UC is a christian college. Every monday, students are required to attend convocation, which is like mini church service.

    Bang for the buck

    Although UC is a pretty expensive college, the quality of education you receive and the experience you have while attending here makes it well worth it.

    What to do for fun

    The small town of Williamsburg doesn't offer a lot to do. The college does an excellent job of providing the students with activities. Bands come to perform here some nights, as well as magicians, comedians, and mentalists. I was lucky enough to take part on stage during a Mentalist performance, and was lucky enough to be hypnotized. This is just some of the many activities that UC offers to its students.

    Food and Dining

    The food is above average here. There are three places to eat on campus: the cafeteria, the Grill, and the Patriot Steak house. The steak house is excellent and is where most students eat for dinner. But overall food in general is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is awesome. All the dorms are pretty nice and very safe. Since the campus isn't too big, it is only a small stroll from your dorm to your classes.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes here aren't too hard, but do have some challenging aspects; as do any college.

    Tips for prospective students

    The one tip i could give would be to not get stressed out about what you want to do with your life. The University of the Cumberlands has many programs that let you explore areas that you may not have thought about and will help you to find your dream career.

    In three sentences

    The University of the Cumberlands is a great learning environment. The teachers are very helpful and students have many opportunities to discover what they want to do with their life. It is overall an excellent university.

  • 08/04/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    One of the safest campuses around. Security is always available, dorms are locked and secured at regular times, the campus is well lighted. I have no concerns about safety on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Christians that are looking for a faith based experience. Athletes that want to compete in college (UC is a NAIA school).

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I'll have to let you know once I get there and learn more about the school and campus. :)

    Bang for the buck

    For a private college, the tuition is very reasonable and includes a full meal plan and free laundry. Extras like parking and mailbox, etc. are much more reasonable than other colleges. Also, they were very helpful when it came to scholarships and other financial aid.

    What to do for fun

    There are many intramural sports, different clubs and groups on campus, a very active student activitiescenter on campus. There is a water park very close to campus and Lake Cumberland and Cumberland Falls State Park nearby.

    Food and Dining

    We will have several different options for dining including a cafeteria style dining hall, a carryout option, and meal exchanges at the Patriot Steak House, a full service restaurant near the campus.

    Dorm Life

    I will be living in Gillespie Hall, which is a freshman girls' dorm. I will have one roommate and we will have a community bathroom on our floor. Everyone I have talked to says that this dorm is very friendly and a lot of fun. I am very much looking forward to living there.

    Academic Rigor

    UC offers a lot of different majors and many graduate options as well. I am just starting this Fall (2012) but have talked with many students who have said that they have a strong curriculum and lots of helps for students who need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask questions and get to know the administration. They are very easy to talk to and more than willing to help in any way they can.

    In three sentences

    UC is a Christian college on a beautiful campus. The administration is very personal and willing to help whenever possible. My entire experience so far has been nothing but positive and I am looking forward to starting there in just a few weeks.

  • 08/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I think that the online Master's programs are great for working parents. I recommend UC to everyone!

    Bang for the buck

    The graduate classes are much more affordable than the college in which I received my Bachelor's degree.

    Food and Dining

    I am not a traditional on campus student.

    Academic Rigor

    Though the classes are tougher than at my previous college, I feel that I really learn a lot at UC.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for the college workload. It is so much different than in high school.

    In three sentences

    I really like this school. Even in an online setting, the professors make themselves available for students. The professors really want their students to succeed.

  • 09/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Dont really know. Taking online courses.

    Academic Rigor

    You get what you put in to it. Very challenging and requries a lot of work but your lessons are outlined so be proactive and schedule around your classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Complete the tutorials to help learn the online system

    In three sentences

    The University of the Cumberlands online program is great. You can learn from the comforts of your home. Support is provided by the instructor, your classmate and technical support is also offered.

  • 10/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It a small town,so the violence are very few. the campus are very safety.

    Greek Life

    don't have greek life.

    Great for these types of students

    great for baptist student and athetlic students

    What to do for fun

    sometimes going out with my friend, but don't have a lot things to do in week end. so we stay on thcampus watch tv

    Food and Dining

    food is not good in the cafeteria. it's very fat and sometimes don't taste good. in the grill,you can have pizza,wraps but it's limited and the steakhouse,the food is good,but you need to walk like 15 min.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is ok.. have a study room,a computer lab. the room have 2 bedroom and desk.

    Academic Rigor

    it's good but you have a lot of homework.

    Tips for prospective students

    have good sport teams.

    In three sentences

    it's a university with different nationality in a small town. If you like quiet place,you can find it here. friendly teachers are here when you need them.

  • 10/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They're great just dont park anywhere that is not legal because they don't care one bit to write you a ticket.

    Greek Life

    Nonexistant

    Clubs and Activities

    There is nothing on campus to do except the occasional CAB or SGA meetings.

    Great for these types of students

    Private school ones, extremely wealthy, etc.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    It is the same education that you would get anywhere else. It is way to overpriced for what you get.

    What to do for fun

    This is a small town and the only things to do is just go to Wal-mart or go to Corbin to the Cumberland Falls.

    Food and Dining

    They need more things to choose from and the cafe, is not good at all unless theres people on campus!

    Dorm Life

    Not the best but it could be worse.

    Academic Rigor

    This is a very academically competitive school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to change your mind about anything. You probably will before you leave here. If you're looking to get out cheap then I wouldn't recommend this school. BUT it is probably the most caring school around the US.

    In three sentences

    A great small school. Care's a lot for the students. A very loving institution

  • 02/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's really not a lot to do in Williamsburg but you can always find something fun to do with your friends, just be creative and open to ideas.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you definitely won't to attend a small Christian college; make sure you look at a variety of different colleges before you make your decision.

    In three sentences

    A very small private school with friendly and helpful professors but not a lot going on around campus

  • 06/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus police are always on patrol, nothing gets by them.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life on campus due to its alcoholic trends and tendencies.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a lot of different club and activities that are always going on all throughout campus. Our campus activity board (CAB) is always setting up comedians, hypnotists, and a lot more exciting things for us here at UC.

    Great for these types of students

    The sport loving student will love this school whether your an athlete or even just a fan.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    An unusual tradition is to go to the top of the mountains and have a bonfire all night.

    Bang for the buck

    Since most of our students go home on the weekend the school is not as lively as during the week, but the students who remain on campus always find fun things to do. One fun thing is to take a trip to these huge rocks called the three sister and jump off into the water below.

    What to do for fun

    There is a game room located in the center of the campus, inside it has ping pong, billiards, Foosball, and a big screen TV if you just want to relax.

    Food and Dining

    There are two places to dine which is the dinning hall and the grill. the dinning hall serves food buffet style, while the grill makes food to order.

    Dorm Life

    The rooms are spacious depending on how many people are in a room varying from one person to three person rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes aren't hard if you take notes and focus on your studies. If your professor is offering help take it because it shows you care and could help your grade in the long run.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard and trust God in everything you do here and you will never go astray.

    In three sentences

    The University of The Cumberlands is a great place to study and learn. Everyone treats you the same as they would treat there own families. If you ever need help you just say the word and it will come.

  • 07/07/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    16 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    What to do for fun

    You can go to Kentucky Splash....or Walmart.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want something, go for it.

    In three sentences

    The campus at UC is beautiful! The atmosphere is very Christian like and most people are very helpful and friendly. The professors are extremely helpful.

  • 08/26/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    17 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional students who are seeking post graduate degrees whilst maintaining a home and family life.

    Food and Dining

    I gave this section 3 stars as I do not have any personal experience of dorm and/or campus life at U of C.

    Dorm Life

    I gave this section 3 stars as I do not have any personal experience of dorm and/or campus life at U of C.

    Academic Rigor

    I do not have personal experience in this area as of yet, but I have heard the courses are rigorous enough to keep one entertained but graduation rate is fairly high.

    Tips for prospective students

    I suggest you go ahead and behind the application process ASAP as the enrollment period can be pretty lengthy, especially if you are taking courses online. It takes several days to get all of the required documents in, accepted and checked off.

    In three sentences

    UofC has convenient online courses that allows me to complete my graduate degree while I work full time. UofC has a multitude of programs for enrollment, including certifications, Bachelor's, Masters and PhD programs. UofC has a lower tuition rate that most campuses in the area.

  • 09/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Great Food... You Will gain weight if you eat at the café or grill

    Dorm Life

    gender segregated residence halls

    Academic Rigor

    very serious but mangable

    In three sentences

    It is Beautiful Campus. Its really easy going. Very Faith based

  • 12/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do for fun on campus. If you have a vehicle, there are several things to do for fun such as go to the movies or shopping.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't completely disgusting, but it could use a little more flavor and variety.

    Dorm Life

    While the RAs are very nice, the living conditions are very cramped and almost unbearable. If you are claustrophobic in the least you may not want to attend this university.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are only difficult if you don't study at all.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't wait until the last minute to do assignments and make sure to study for exams.

    In three sentences

    The University of the Cumberlands is a wonderful school to attend for those who are from a rural area. Classes are not very difficult at all. Professors are more than willing to help students that are in need.

  • 12/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is one of their top priorties i feelso safe herr!

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life since its a small baptist college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Everyone has to take convo every semester to get everyone more involved on campus.

    What to do for fun

    Its in a small town so there isn't much to do but there seems to always be something going on on campus.

    Food and Dining

    I do wish there was more dining options.

    Dorm Life

    I love Gillespie hall and the other dorms are nice also!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early and try to get as much scholarships/financial aide as possible. Be very organized and don't fall behind in school work.

    In three sentences

    Everyone here makes me feel so at home and the professors are super nice! This college was the best choice for me! I love the small class sizes!

  • 01/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There aren't a lot of things that you can do outside of the college. Williamsburg is a small community. But if you join the clubs and organizations at the college, they go out in the community and out of the community to participate in various activities.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not the best, but then again...it is not the worst. It's a step up from your normal school food.

    Dorm Life

    When I moved into the college, I had a roommate that I wasn't so sure of. But I got to sit down and talk to her, to learn more about who she was. There are times we get into it, and sometimes I want to move out. She would come in when I was having quiet time and she would start playing her music. Other than the problems I have with her, I love living in a dorm. It's a fun experience.

    Academic Rigor

    Once I arrived at the University of the Cumberlands, I was faced with many challenges. But with giving myself time to study, and enough time to unwind to destress myself, I feel like I have accomplished things in my classes that I never had before. If you study, listen in class and attend your classes regularly, you will thrive and survive in college!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are interested in going and attending University of the Cumberlands, here are some tips that could help you and give you more of a view of what the Cumberlands is about: - Don't be shy: There are a lot of awesome people on campus. The campus is full of friendly people who will help you make friends. Trust me, many times I've tried sitting at a table by myself and almost every time, someone invites me to sit with them. -Talk to your professors: Don't be shy towards your professors, they actually want to hear your opinions and they want to hear your concerns/questions regarding what they've taught. They will help you to the best of their ability. -Don't be afraid to ask for help If you're lost, or your wanting to know how to do something, don't be afraid to ask fellow students or the staff at the Cumberlands, They will lead you in the right direction.

    In three sentences

    The University of the Cumberlands; located in the small town of Williamsburg, Kentucky is better known as one of Kentucky's best private colleges, offering a wide variety of degrees. They have an outstanding sports program that includes football, wrestling and many other sports. Their classrooms are smaller, which makes it easier for each professor to help you one-on-one.

  • 01/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safest campus I've ever seen. Always cops patrolling 24/7 making sure the students are safe.

    Greek Life

    There is none...

    Clubs and Activities

    Organizations and clubs help keep the campus up-beat and having a great time.

    Great for these types of students

    Small-town, relaxed, happy, fun, students who enjoy fun.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are many statues on campus and it is a tradition that has recently started but unknown people will decorate the statues on holidays, mid-terms, finals, etc. just for fun. People occasionally go to the fountain, which is gorgeous, and walk around the trails near campus.

    What to do for fun

    There are always intramural leagues going on around campus in various sports and activities. For bad weather days there is the game room or the Mid-BCC. The various organizations on campus host all kinds of fun things like paint parties, food parties, and fun things to do. The lake is always a hot spot for college students here in the summer and The Falls and the moonbow are common places and attractions for students.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, could always use some improvements but overall its great.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are clean, nice, easy to navigate around and the rooms are nice with nice furniture. The dorms are great even with the rules about open house and visit hours with the opposite sex.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are tough and the work is challenging but the teachers are great and they are always open for help and guidance whenever it is needed. The school does a great job of making sure you learn and can apply the information and offers tutoring at the ARC for anything you might be struggling with!

    Tips for prospective students

    You will love this small-town college life. It has a lot of school spirit and so many fun people and things to do around and about. Rain gear is a must on campus for the frequent rainy days and bikes are nice to have to get around easily on warm days.

    In three sentences

    The University of the Cumberlands is a great place to for the start of the next chapter in someone's life. The professors are excellent, the students are amazing, the campus is beautiful, and our athletics are reaching standards never before seen in school history. This small, private college is a second home to anyone and everyone.

  • 01/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Idk.

    Greek Life

    Idk.

    Clubs and Activities

    I assume they're good. I really don't know anything about them. :)

    Great for these types of students

    International, outdoorsy

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On the side of one building, there are working clocks from around the world. They also have a beam from the World Trade Center and a statue of Jesus washing Peter's feet.

    Bang for the buck

    I have not been a student long, so I don't know much yet. But the students I've met, I've enjoyed my time with all of them!

    What to do for fun

    Well, you can always hang out with your friends. . . . But there is a beautiful park, with a creek, within walking distance; the original KFC, a big and beautiful waterfall/river, and a summer camp/lake in a nearby town. If you're willing to drive a little, you can go spelunking without a professional guide.

    Food and Dining

    Superb! Many options, and all good stuff!

    Dorm Life

    As an online student, I don't know TOO much here. . . . But my brother and best friend's experiences (and my experiences visiting them) were very good.

    Academic Rigor

    It's not hard for me, but then again college has never yet been too hard for me. I have yet to take math or science, which were my high school trouble spots.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study for real in high school, wherever you intend to go for college. If you put the effort in during your high school years, then college anywhere will seem easy by comparison.

    In three sentences

    My little brother went on-campus and double-majored in Communications and Business. Now I'm online studying Human Services. What I love best is how normal and nice my two teachers have been so far!