Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

University of the District of Columbia Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/19/2009

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    7 out of 9 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 1 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    The University of District of Columbia is a very good school for the nursing program. In fact it really caters to nursing students. However, UDC is not good for any other major.

    Bang for the buck

    Overpriced!

    Did enjoy being here

    Campus is very empty feeling. You don't get to have the college experience unless you know somebody already.

    Did learn a lot

    High School learning experience

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security on campus was great .

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During the program, a classmate of mine would bring some treats every month for the class, to mark the months we have completed into the program. That's all she did, counted how many days more before we graduated.

    Food and Dining

    I took my snacks and lunch with me to school.

    Dorm Life

    I travelled everyday using the metro to school.

    Academic Rigor

    Completing a two year program in one year was anything but nice. Stay focus and study hard!!!!

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice to prospective students is to stay focus, study and get into the habit of reading. I love to read, which helped me tremendously throughout my program. Utilize all resources that you have to help with your program of study. Sometimes the road may seem rough, but don't give up, it's all worth your time.

    In three sentences

    It's an affordable school that provides a college education to students like myself, who can't afford an expensive education. It allows for great diversity among it's students and at the same time learning about different cultures. It's not where you attend school, but how you apply yourself to get the best education. I was able to complete the LPN nursing program last year as a full time student while working a full time job and finishing with a GPA of 4.0.

  • 09/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for the student that is focused on getting excellent grades for a cost that is not so expensive. If the student is the type of student that wants a high GPA to look good for Grad Schools then this school is the place to go. If the student takes the initiative to learn regardless of the quality of the professors ( most professors are excellent but there are the few that aren't) then this school will be a great fit.

    Tips for prospective students

    UDC is a university where the student determines their own success. It is a school where most people are over the age 28 and have jobs and lives out side of college. The social life is not as wild as other Universities but if you as the student search for a group of other students then it will be rewarding.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is only 7 thousand for in state tuition. Like any University, the books cost way too much and so does everything else in the UDC book store. As a whole, the school is a lot less expensive than other schools in Washington,DC. The Community College (CCDC) is half the tuition of the University.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy the many resources. UDC has a very large library. It is full of so many articles, books, and magazines. UDC also has one of the biggest jazz libraries in America. There are also many resources online. UDC is apart of the Washington DC Consortium, so basically UDC's library is linked to other University's libraries such as American, George Washington, etc.

    Am learning a lot

    I am a music performance major. The teachers here are very nice and knowledgeable. They have a lot of experience with music and teaching music. My non-music classes are good too. I have had bad experiences with a few professors but bad experiences are not something that can be escaped.

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Working professionals, DC locals

    Bang for the buck

    Cheap compared to other 4 years schools in the area

    What to do for fun

    Basketball, Soccer, Visit embassies of Downtown DC

    In three sentences

    Commuter college. Great for transferring to a different school

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Plenty of surrounding cafes

    Dorm Life

    Off-campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Study and take your education serious.

    In three sentences

    UDC is a wonderful university to attend. The instructor are very helping students reach their education goals. I recommend University of the District of Columbia for a quality education.

  • 01/15/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Theres an art club,drama club and science club.etc

    What to do for fun

    Sports,art and music.

    Tips for prospective students

    Its a good university to attend.The professors know what they are doing.

    In three sentences

    Its a good university though students services are not very helpful,they tend to be slow.Has a multi-cultural environment.Affordable university.

  • 02/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    right now there are repairs taking place so you may have to walk all around the wolrd to get to your destination

    What to do for fun

    idk. i study and i am a mom.

    Food and Dining

    there are some eateries near by. the schools cafeteria has actually gotten better. try the greek salad.

    Dorm Life

    i stay off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    the professors i have had have taught to prepare me for master's level study. they teach as though it is known that you are going on for your master's. i love this about the professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    ask questions in class, take advantage of the smaller class size. never try to cal financial aid, you will never get through. team up with classmates to study

    In three sentences

    udc has excellent class sizes with great teachers. despite increase in tuition, udc is still very affordable. my only negative would be dealing with the financial aid offices

  • 03/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 8 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    good

    Clubs and Activities

    never participated

    Great for these types of students

    don't want to spend a lot of money for tution

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    nothing

    Bang for the buck

    not in a good location

    What to do for fun

    watch game

    Food and Dining

    they don't have in campus program

    Dorm Life

    no dorm

    Tips for prospective students

    find out about the professor befor you register for a class

    In three sentences

    not to good

  • 03/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is more economically feasible than other schools in the area.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not good. But dc is dc and dc has great food. There are subways, burger kings, and all the fast food options. And there are much better options available for you.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus but there are dorms on campus. Students say dorm life is good.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are very demanding. But demanding in a good way. They are trying to get you ready for graduate school and the world.

    Tips for prospective students

    Team with other students to work on school projects. Team with teachers who will advise you on your future.

    In three sentences

    UDC is a wonderful university. There are many teachers who care about who you are and where you are going. There is a great support system in place.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are pageants , parties and honoring of certain alumni.

    Great for these types of students

    The campus can accomodate those with disabilities.

    Bang for the buck

    Its a nice place where you can find people from different background and ethnicities. It is a great way to network.

    What to do for fun

    There are sports e.g basketball, soccer. Music and dance as well.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great!! There is a variety and it is healthy.

    Dorm Life

    It is peaceful and you can have some individual quality time.

    Academic Rigor

    The Professors are good at teaching and they give exercises and assignments to go over a certain topic. They are approchable if you do need clarity on something.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a great place to get your education. It is in a good networking place, hence good opportunity for internships.

    In three sentences

    I give it a nine, the facilities are good. The teaching is great!! The Proffessors are helpful.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 11 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Dangerous at night

    Clubs and Activities

    Most club are Inactive

    What to do for fun

    Nothing

    Food and Dining

    Not much in cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm here

    Academic Rigor

    Not as competence. Teacher goes off topic.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's not bad to go here for associate or bachelor degree.

    In three sentences

    A University for poor people. The level is not as competence as other colleges.

  • 06/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    its quite safe because there are alot of security officers around

    Greek Life

    it is in DC, so what else can you expect if not alot of partying around

    Clubs and Activities

    they have alot of clubs and most of these clubs have activities very often or even parties, so there is something fun to do

    Great for these types of students

    people who want to go to school but who at the same time are kind of lazy to study

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    nothing i have heard of or seen

    Bang for the buck

    i don`t get it

    What to do for fun

    i study for fun, but they also have sport teams so you can do any sport you are interested in

    Food and Dining

    they have a large dinning area with good food quality

    Dorm Life

    so far i guess it is good

    Academic Rigor

    the teaching is good but i think they can do better, alot of proffessors get pissed off when you ask question and some are not clear in the teaching,

    Tips for prospective students

    try as much as possible not to get in a teachers because alot of them are not understanding

    In three sentences

    it a very welcoming school. it also very disorganised in the way documents are being kept and processed. the school is beautiful welcoming

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 person found this inaccurate. 13 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    leave campus

    Tips for prospective students

    be prepared to rip out your hair from frustration.

    In three sentences

    Terrible. If you have half a brain, don't go here. Not worth the lower cost of attendance.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not too sure honestly. I just go to class and leave when I'm done.

    Food and Dining

    Lots of great restaurants in the area

    Dorm Life

    There's none really. They say dorms are available but only the athletes live in it really.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on what program you're in. In my program (Health Education), i have to challenge myself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your research and homework. The administration in general can be quite unhelpful. You would expect them to have the students best interest at heart but I don't feel that's the case. Always follow up with proffessors and any office you visit (espcially the financial aid office). If you like small classes and convenience, UDC is a great choice.

    In three sentences

    What I like most about this university is the location. If you live in the district, you can get there within 45minutes. I also like the fact that the classes are small.

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Do all paper work before class start because may cause you problems.

    In three sentences

    Good Location, Great Teacher and Good Prices.

  • 08/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The university has an extensive body of campus police that roam frequently, and card students for their identification cards. At times it gets frustrating being carded every few days, but than again it is for my safety and others.

    Greek Life

    The Greek Clubs aren't all operational for some chapters have been closed.

    Clubs and Activities

    The Greek Clubs aren't all operational for some chapters have been closed. Although the activities consist of many like all college institutions.

    Great for these types of students

    The university is great for students that want to complete their undergraduate degree for a reasonable cost. To include, want to be exposed to the professional opportunities Washington, DC has to offer. One of those opportunities is the universities Congressional Capital Hill Internship. So for those that want to major in Political Science, International Relations, or Government, this school would be great for you compared to the other universities in the area that charge twenty-thousand or more by the semester.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I have yet to locate anything unusual.

    Bang for the buck

    The reason why the university is the best bang for your buck, is because you control your academic success. To include, within the next year students will have the opportunity to study-abroad in other countries. This is due to their newly renovated department under Political Science, History, and Global Studies. Furthermore, are the professional network and opportunities you can establish here in the nations capitol.

    What to do for fun

    Although I don't really interact with campus life that much, they have a variety of things to do for fun. For instance, you can join a Greek Club, participate in their soccer program, basketball program, volleyball program, and dance club. More importantly, is how you can explore the Washington, DC nightlife scene, national monuments, and museums.

    Food and Dining

    The university's dining and food experience is like any other universities food and dining experience. Although, in the surrounding neighborhood they have a wide variety of venues to eat at.

    Dorm Life

    I have yet to participate in the dorm life. However, from knowing people that do live on campus, they like the newly renovated plazas next to Howard University School of Law. Even more critical, is how they enjoy living in the Upper Northwest safe neighborhoods of Washington, DC.

    Academic Rigor

    When it comes to academic rigor, you will be challenged as much as you will be responsible for your grade. In other words, the effort you put in the classroom, will determine what you deserve.

    Tips for prospective students

    When it comes to dealing with their administration, always make copies of your documents upon submitting them. The reason for this is because the university is working very hard to address inherent and historical issues.

    In three sentences

    The University of District Columbia is a great community of students. It is a very diverse campus with several international students, and also very affordable. More importantly, is how they have a unique set of professors from George Washington University, Howard University, and American University that teach you. .

  • 09/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The social activities are always fun. Hanging out with friends within your club, maybe going out to eat or to the movies.

    Food and Dining

    No cafeteria here but there are several eatery shops nearby.

    Dorm Life

    Our dorms are fairly new within a luxury apartment building. The atmosphere and environment is welcoming.

    Tips for prospective students

    One tip is to become social active with your peers to help further you on your goals. Get to know your professors. Stay focus with your studies. Enjoy your journey in college.

    In three sentences

    UDC is known for the diversity in cultures within its students. UDC offers an excellent environment to study with some of the best qualified professors. UDC also centers in one of the most prominent areas in Washington,DC.

  • 09/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The main campus is located in one of the most safe neighborhoods in the entire city.

    Clubs and Activities

    The school really encourages more student participation. If you want to start any type of student group, they will support you.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is quite affordable, and quite generous with aid. Like I said, if you know who to talk to and how to work the system, you can get a lot out of it.

    What to do for fun

    The school has a lot of amenities if you know where to look. It's also really easy to start various clubs and organizations. Washington DC is a wonderful city with all sorts of fun thing to do.

    Food and Dining

    I don't personally go there, but I have only heard good things about the food.

    Dorm Life

    Well it depends on how you look it. UDC does not have it's own dorms yet, so they are using a neighboring apartment building. The building is really nice and has a pool and a gym, and each room has a fridge and microwave, but it also has regular residents who are not tolerant of the college party lifestyle. So be aware of that.

    Academic Rigor

    UDC is not especially rigorous when it comes to academics, but if you let the professors know that you are serious about learning, they will be more than willing to help you achieve what you want.

    Tips for prospective students

    UDC is in the process of rebuilding itself, both structurally and metaphorically. So, if you are a local student, don't be put off by the UDC's less than stellar reputation. Go down to the campus and see it for yourself.

    In three sentences

    UDC has the potential to be an amazing state school. Unfortunately, there is still much that is needed to be done by both the students and the administration. If you know what you want out of the school, then you can be successful.

  • 09/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I would say that the university provides security sufficient enough to make us feel comfortable, but not over patrolled.

    Greek Life

    No greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    Their's not that much variation of clubs and not very organized.

    Great for these types of students

    Their is a large percent of African American and Asian students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None

    What to do for fun

    The zoo is just two metro stops away and you can arrive to Dupont Circle by taking the bus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is a bit better than cafeteria food. Their is a wide selection of nutrition. Salad bar and a bar that sells food for the pound.

    Dorm Life

    Their is a small selection of dorms. Space is very limited. As a freshmen i was not able to obtain my own dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel like their is a inefficient in explaining in some classes.

    In three sentences

    The school is not well organized. The students from the campus are friendly and the campus has a great location near the zoo.

  • 09/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    In my opinion, the campus is safe.

    Greek Life

    I do not participate in Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am a member of the American Institute of Architecture Students and the National Organization of Minority Architects.

    Great for these types of students

    Working students. Anybody that is trying to gain professional experience while earning their degree.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is in the urban setting. It is located on the Northwestern part of the District of Columbia.

  • 10/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    officers on duty.

    Clubs and Activities

    basketball team, soccer, volleyball you name it!

    Bang for the buck

    inexpensive yet great school.

    What to do for fun

    its DC! clubs everywhere

    Food and Dining

    great area. every step you take you will find restaurants galore.

    Dorm Life

    not many dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard. its a very challenging university. alot of students graduate to become great leaders in their own field.

    In three sentences

    Great intelligent Professors. Friendly Students. great quality education can be obtained here. beautiful campus and state of the art classrooms

  • 12/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    Expectations are very high especially for students of color.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to learn and there is always someone that an individual can talk to if the stresses of college life get to difficult for them to handle.

    In three sentences

    This is the best University in the District. It caters to the needs of the working student by designing classes that fit and meet the needs of students. It is a diverse University that accepts and welcomes students from all walks of life like the melting pot. The Social Work Department is extremely caring and understanding with students and knowledgeable about the subject areas that they teach.

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe location

    Greek Life

    they need a gay fraternity.

    What to do for fun

    nothing on campus but the city is filled with excitement get out as much as possible and enjoy the surroundings.

    Food and Dining

    the food around the campus is awesome but the campus food sucks the best time is freshmen orientation.

    Dorm Life

    don't live in the dorms they have a waiting list and you damn near have to apply for the dorms before you apply to the actual school.

    Academic Rigor

    I like certain approaches the professors have because I am a very visual learner but on the other hand they are by the book professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    apply for financial aid as soon as possible. turn all financial aid documents in by hand never by mail. attend every class because the professor will not back track for sure and you will be lost ed.

    In three sentences

    The overall process to be accepted was easy the financial aid process is whats the hold up.

  • 02/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Tour and enjoy the Nation's Capitol in a new way, everyday!

    Food and Dining

    Several corner bistro's and restaurants within walking distance. Italian, Asian, Latino and Hispanic inspired cuisine on every corner. You will definitely never have to worry about hunger. Maybe the freshman fifteen! :)

    Dorm Life

    Great! Great apartments and condos in the Van-ness area. Great for anyone seeking city life. DC is a little- big city, so it makes everything that seems far away that much closer.

    Academic Rigor

    I am intellectually stimulated daily as the learning environment is competitive yet helpful. I am honored to work with my peers for they are helpful. I am also honored that we all push one another to our academic limit; which is endless.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always speak with a student success representative. The student success team is very helpful with tailoring a plan of goals suitable for each student.

    In three sentences

    I am proud of the progress the University has made. I am currently enrolled to pursue a Nursing degree. I am making positive academic progression at a very affordable school.

  • 03/01/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    25 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Various activities Not applicable to me

    Tips for prospective students

    Alwasy research your specific education and career path

    In three sentences

    For my Degree Program I feel this University Is a good University

  • 03/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Plan out each semester at least 2-3 weeks before classes start. From signing up for classes to buying supplies.

    In three sentences

    It like any school has its challenges, but has an acceptable lineup of professionals working here. The program that I'm currently studying is great. The only drawback is having to transfer between two campuses.

  • 03/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are lots of different activities to partake in around the city. Museums, festivals, conferences and much more!

    Food and Dining

    There is only one dining option on campus, but it is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    It's almost entirely a commuter school with only one or two housing options around the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The school is pretty rigorous but the level of competition among students isn't very high. That's a good and bad thing, though.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to campus for a visit. Take courses before college in majors you might be interested in. Ask teachers/professors ahead of time what the required texts are for classes and try to order them over Amazon.

    In three sentences

    It's an affordable school. It is a school earnestly trying to improve its reputation. It has potential.

  • 04/21/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    28 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I'm interested.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm 21. So bored of living in California at the moment. I think without music I would go crazy. The farther I go down the road the more my heart and mind opens up. Love breathing the fresh air. People are great motivation.

    What to do for fun

    I create music. Listen to music. Workout.

    Dorm Life

    I can't wait!

    In three sentences

    University of the District of Columbia is a great educational center. The employes of UDC are very encouraging. My thoughts were their concern.

  • 04/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe and if there is ever an incident in the neighborhood, but not literally on campus then an alert is emailed for that you can be more careful.

    Greek Life

    ?????

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs on campus and the most talked about one is the Student Government who planes everything out for the students at UDC, And they plan hard and great events.

    Great for these types of students

    Home person Family person Enthusiastic Friendly Smart Hard-worker Athletic Wants to have fun

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Black History Month is a very traditional event and we even have a scholarship essay competition for students to write on the topic every year.

    Bang for the buck

    I don't know what this means.

    What to do for fun

    Well you can use the gym, go play some sports, hang out with friends, events, parties, or even go to the movies because there is a theater like 5 blocks from there.

    Food and Dining

    Good food and really efficient in wait time.

    Dorm Life

    Excellent dorm life. You get to go to special events and not having to take the bus everyday really helps and not very costly if money is a problem.

    Academic Rigor

    If you work hard and put a lot of effort then it will show through your grade. But if you don't then there is no one else to blame, but yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep up the good work in high school and if you seem to not find a college where you can stay close to DC and home and would like to get a proper education, then the University of the District of Columbia os opening its doors to you.

    In three sentences

    Its an amazing place where you can share special experiences with family and friends. The classes are really good and you get to see new things that probably you didn't know about DC. You have many resources on campus so that you won't have to worry for a thing.

  • 05/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    good

    Great for these types of students

    all types

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    What to do for fun

    Group assignments

    Tips for prospective students

    Affordable

    In three sentences

    help students succeed academically Efficient Library service Great Professors

  • 06/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    You are in downtown DC everything is either in walking distance or a bus/train ride away

    What to do for fun

    There is a movie theater and a zoo right down the street .You also can just hop on the metro and in minutes be on national mall and capital hill in less than 10 minutes

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is OK and there are many other type of cheap restaurants that you can eat from in walking distance of the school

    Dorm Life

    UDC doesn't have a more traditional dorm life. The dorms are actually apartments that you share with 3 other people at the Archstone Van Ness

    Academic Rigor

    Academic Rigor varies between professors .Some professors are laid back while others are very strict

    In three sentences

    UDC is a HBCU. UDC is a very diverse school with people from everywhere UDC is in the Metropolitan area of Northwest DC

  • 07/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I usually don't spend much time there besides taking my classes.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Some professors are tough, but so is the real world. They have prepared me better to handle the job market of today.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be realistic about your goals. Get started early if you plan to enroll which can be a chore sometimes.

    In three sentences

    Very underrated school in my opinion. Great wealth of talent in the arts department. Can use some updating though.

  • 12/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of event going on for every occasion. You just need to posted or updated by checking your UDC e-mail and checking the flyers or bulletin boards. Most of the time, I hang out with the amazing people I met and created study groups.

    Food and Dining

    I brought all my snacks and food from my house because I did not wanted to be considered in the myth of Freshman fifteen. But the food is not that bad.

    Dorm Life

    I cannot rate this; for I commuted from my house to the campus (I had to rate because otherwise it wouldn't let me post, but I might not be a reliable resource for this section.)

    Academic Rigor

    I'm taking the classes for the Nursing program, and the science work is hard. It takes courage (which I am really proud of you for taking the other step) and initiate to learn the best--of the best. There is a lot of reading and comprehending to do in all of the classes and the participation to be relevant to society.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be embarrassed if you are looked down by your friends because UDC supposedly is not great. It is actually the opposite UDC is great. I met caring people and supportive friends. The professor (do not choose the professor who has been labeled easy because you will not learn) are pretty hard (luckily me, I choose the best ranking professors), and they show the interest and passion for their subject, which make their classes extremely joyful and intriguing. I read the same textbook for my sciences courses as if I was taking a class in any other college, which shows it is the same education quality. Last but not least, forget about any procrastination habit you have gained in high school, for it will make your life miserable. You need plan ahead and write everything down!

    In three sentences

    It felt like high school; but with an upper educational level because the professor are pretty hard, and they actually pushed me to learn things (topics) I never imagined I would learn. The courses level are extremely hard, for they required responsibility and dedication to earn the grade that anyone strive for. The university, itself, is simple; however, it has the same educational qualities as other colleges because it teaches the students how the studies are relevant to the real world.

  • 06/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food was decent nothing special.

    Dorm Life

    It is a community college so there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors there expect you to know the basics of any subject but are also willing to help you if you really red the assistance. If you do not clearly grasp what is being taught in class they provided hours of tutoring n specific days.

    Tips for prospective students

    Contact your professors to see what materials you'll need for class. When you receive your syllabus, do your assignments early. Do not let your work pile up. Only schedule 8am classes if your really a morning person.

    In three sentences

    This university is underrated. Although it is a community college, the classes and professors are still challenging. This is a great school to attend if you want to receive an excellent education and not go into a lot of debt.

  • 06/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus is an open campus but we also have police and campus police on our campus.

    Greek Life

    We have the Divine 9.

    Clubs and Activities

    Cheerlneading Tenis Track and field Women and Boys Basketball Soccer Lacrosse Divine 9 Clubs for your major

    Great for these types of students

    great for students who want to save money, who wants to go to a diverse university, prefers an HBCU, who does not mind commuting back and forth between your house or live on campus, and wants to go to a school where you can really focus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    My school is located in the upscale part of DC.

    Bang for the buck

    To be honest you get what you pay for. In state tuition is about four thousand a semester and out of state tuition is about sever thousand a semester.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot of things to do for fun like: - Go to the National Zoo or museum - Varies Pools - Six Flags - Take the train and just take an adventure - There is so much things to do.

    Food and Dining

    We have several food and dinning places around our school and also a we have a cafeteria but we do not have flex points you have to use your own money.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately my school does not have dorms we have off campus living apartment style. The price is a little heavy because it is located in the upscale part of DC.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major your class work can vary. Your General Education classes can be easier than your major classes. I would say spread your general educations classes out through out your 4 years so can balance out your grades and GPA.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for prospective students are: - Learn how to manage your time and your money - Remember school comes first - Stay on top of your professors about your grades and your work - Have fun but not too much fun - Do not overload yourself with classes cause you will get overwhelmed - Also remember college is place where you become your own person and not be dependent on anyone else.

    In three sentences

    The University of the District of Columbia is school where you can go to focus on your school work. It's a place not like other universities and colleges. It is diverse, unique, quite, and helpful.

  • 06/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    You can't beat the tuition price, literally. Every school in DC is far more expensive than UDC!

    What to do for fun

    There are gyms around the area and also parks. You can also attend the games the school has and intramural.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good! I appreciate the food made in the cafeteria and the cleanliness of the facility.

    Dorm Life

    I don't know about dorm life - live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    You'll receive all the classes you need and you will have the options to take these classes in the community school or in the flagship program. As far as architecture goes the rigor is very family oriented and medium difficulty. I've had the experience of ivy league classes and this public college gives you far more help which is great!

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a good look at this school because for the price you get everything you'd get at any other school! Be proactive in applying for aid and registering for classes and it will make your entrance far easier and less stressful than the college process already is!

    In three sentences

    The campus is in the process of renovation and is very nice and accessible via metro train. The architecture department has become a clean and upscale department. The professors and departmental employees are attentive and responsive.