Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

University of the Ozarks Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/05/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Theater, Music, and Art majors, there is a great program for those majors. The Teacher Education program is also a great program for education majors. There is also science, earth and biology, majors that have a great program and are very much welcome at the Ozarks. Business and Accounting majors are also welcome and have a great program here at the Ozarks.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go for a tour and see for yourselves the campus. There are many clubs and organizations that one could join. Have fun in college, it's not just about learning more book work, but to make memories and enjoying yourself while earning a degree.

    Bang for the buck

    Since it is a private college, it is a little expensive but compared to other private colleges elsewhere the price is extremely low. If you are looking for a college in Arkansas and plan to work in Arkansas, a degree from a private school would be accepted over a state college.

    Am enjoying being here

    Ozarks has been a joy and I enjoy being here. With it being such a small school compared to other colleges, it makes the students get to know each other closer than you would see in other colleges.

    Am learning a lot

    It is a liberal arts college so you learn a lot about what they are teaching. You are more than just a seat in the classroom. The professors are more one on one with the students and they get to know their students.

  • 10/13/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Liberal arts, pre med.

    Tips for prospective students

    GO VISIT CAMPUS :)

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, it is pretty expensive. The thing about it is, they offer way more scholarship money than a public school would.

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus is really small and simple. I like that about it. I went to a campus day and met so many great people!

  • 02/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe

    Greek Life

    not imvolved

    Clubs and Activities

    all kinds

    Great for these types of students

    the younger students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    have lots of outdoor activities available, if you want to participate. have cultural events, also.

    Bang for the buck

    extra tutoring free if needed, for some classes. teachers are willing to help you and are personable. housing is available off campus.

    What to do for fun

    in the ozarks, if you have time, lots of outdoor activities, as it is not a snowy state. they have a club for outdoor camping, etc.

    Food and Dining

    served by an outside company

    Dorm Life

    i am not in the dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    have most classes you need for several careers.

    Tips for prospective students

    some scholarships available. get your admission application in early they work well with parents

    In three sentences

    a presbyterian 4 year university. not as strong on christian priniciples as i had hoped. a smaller college atmosphere, clean and friendly.

  • 10/04/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is a little expensive, but I'm sure it's worth it.

    Will enjoy being here

    When I toured the university I absolutely loved it!

    Will learn a lot

    I sat in on a class and even though it wasn't quite my forte, the teacher was extremely interesting and the style of teaching was clear.

  • 11/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who like the outdoors and who are very driven, to be able to keep up with the work load.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work hard and study a lot.

    Bang for the buck

    The school invests all the money back into the campus and the students. And the education level is top notch.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the friendly atmosphere. If you really like the outdoors, then this is the place for you.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes here are more challenging than all other schools in the area. You will come out of this school with more than ample knowledge to start your career or enter graduate school. I know as a biology major the school has had a 100% acceptance rate into medical school for the last 4 years.

  • 11/08/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    Loved the campus it was amazing can't wait to start to college, just 9 more months.

  • 02/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    there are a lot of clubs and sponsored activities

    Great for these types of students

    sirius about college and don't mind walking or the outdoors and also don't mind living in a small campus

    Bang for the buck

    it is a very good school, recommend it, you get a lot of help

    What to do for fun

    go hiking, walking, anything to do with the outdoors and if you have a car, you can go to nearby towns to go to the mall

    Food and Dining

    you get what you want and the food is descent, but there are also other places to go

    Dorm Life

    there aren't a lot of nightlife places around, but there are a lot of places to go hiking and the dorms are small, but descent.

    Academic Rigor

    very good, all students work very well

    Tips for prospective students

    small colleges are better, because they offer more help and they cost less. please bring sandals as you will be taking showers here and don't forget that you live on your own now, come prepared.

    In three sentences

    its full of nature and mountains. the students and teachers are very nice and helpful. being a small school, there are numerous opportunities to receive help one-on-one and financially or anything else.

  • 04/09/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    8 of 14

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    how is this school? worth the effort to apply?

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I can walk across campus at night without an escort and feel perfectly safe. The campus is always well-lit and is located in a small town with a low crime rate. Also, one of the perks of a small school is knowing almost everyone. Whenever we see someone we have never seen on campus before, we are all aware of them. We would all be able to know if a dangerous person was on campus.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many organizations that you can be a part of, whether you choose to be in a club that is helpful towards your major, or simply an extracurricular activity that you enjoy. We have everything from Planet Club and Psychology Club, to Ozarks Outdoors and Baptist Collegiate Ministry.

    Great for these types of students

    If you like small schools where you know most of the people, this school is a great match. Honestly, everyone from athletes to music lovers and artsy people fit in here.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is pricey, but i am confident that the education is worth it and they offer wonderful scholarships each year.

    What to do for fun

    I usually go hiking or take a picnic. There are plenty of parks and nature trails. The Campus Activities Board throws fun events every weekend that are totally free to the students. Also, there is a movie theater in town and a bowling alley.

    Food and Dining

    It is cafeteria food, so of course it doesn't taste like home. However, there are always plenty of options, so you will never go hungry, and you will always find something that you enjoy.

    Dorm Life

    I love my dorm hall. The people are friendly. The bathrooms are very clean. We have programs almost every night. There is hardly ever a boring moment.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are intense. I have worked very hard to maintain my GPA, but I have never felt overwhelmed, and, unlike in high school, I know that I have learned and retained information. I actually look forward to going to class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions. Talk to the current students. They will always be honest with you. Don't be afraid to ask if you can come sit in on a class or two. If you need more scholarship money, ask for it. This school takes pleasure in being personal with you.

    In three sentences

    The University of the Ozarks is a small liberal arts university that offers more than just an education. The small student population provides an intimate atmosphere and allows students to make valuable connections with people, both professional and casual. Each professor longs to see you succeed and provides you with everything you need to do so.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 person found this inaccurate. 10 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a police department right down the street from the campus so that makes me feel pretty secure. It's a pretty small town, hardly anything dramatic happens around here.

    Greek Life

    There are a ton of fraternities and sororities to partake in based on your major or field of interest.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are all sorts of clubs and activities to do, I just got my list in the mail this week! I'm excited to check it out!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I love the Chapel and right in front is this huge, beautiful chapel that you can see from the street.

    Bang for the buck

    A lot of people who graduate here go on to be some pretty well known people. Joe Pennington from 5News here in Arkansas graduated from here.

    What to do for fun

    There's soccer games and basketball games to attend if you're a sports lover like me. There is always something going on!

    Food and Dining

    I have been into the student center before and loved it! They say the food is really good! I'm excited to start!

    Dorm Life

    Not planning to live in a dorm but I hear good things about them.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm not sure, classes don't start for about another month.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to orientation and get to know the people you're going to be around!

    In three sentences

    I love the atmosphere here, the President who will be leaving after this year is very involved in wanting to get to know his incoming students. The admissions staff is very friendly and helpful with anything you need. I love how accessible the campus is for handicap students.

  • 08/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I have only been a college student for three days so I still have a lot to learn about my school. However, so far, I am loving it. My instructors are great and the school is inviting and not intimidating to new students at all. I do plan to transfer to University of Arkansas, Fort Smith after a year to get my bachelors but I dont mind studying my underclasses here.

    What to do for fun

    Earn a degree.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is spacious and not to overpriced with a good selection of choices.

    Dorm Life

    Cant answer this as I drive 25 miles one way from home to come to class.

    Academic Rigor

    Use the campus facilities, that is what they are there for. Class is over, so what. While you are still in learning mode stay on campus and start on your homework or re-read chapter in textbook class just completed. Review your notes, take more notes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Complete all financial aid requirements early and correctly. Don't be afraid to speak to a counselor/advisor when trying to decide a degree to want.

    In three sentences

    The campus is friendly and inviting. Teachers are fun and energetic. The location is in one of the most beautiful areas of the State of Arkansas.

  • 08/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus phone set in several places on campus, they also installed cameras. If you do not want to walk from a building to your dorm you can call security and they will walk you to your dorm.

    Clubs and Activities

    There a dozens of different clubs from the nerd club to a biology club, there are some clubs that represent the students and if they want to change things how to do it.

    Great for these types of students

    If a student is an introvert or used to a small school ozarks a good way to get out their shell and get used to more people.

    What to do for fun

    There are clubs that are always up to something, movie theater, and lake. There are also many things to do in Russellville like bowling or karoake.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good. You can either eat in the cafeteria, eagles nest, or the dorms. You can also eat at any nearby restaurant or having something delivered.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is very fun. Each floor in the dorm will do different things depending on the time of year. Sometimes the whole hall will do something fun like a race of sorts. You also get to make friends with people of different majors on your floor.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are hard, but the teachers will go over something more than once if needed. The classes will push you, and you will have to study a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have everything, be yourself, and check your email daily for events or class cancellation.

    In three sentences

    University of the ozarks is a great place to meet new people and to get involved. They have several services on campus for helping you in classes, and the teachers will even meet with you. They hold intramural sports for people that don't have time for an actual sport, the college defiantly cares about its students.

  • 01/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Top notch. With the 80 some odd cameras located around campus, the chances of anything serious occurring are significantly low. If one feels unsafe at night, they can call campus security to the nearest building and pick them up on a pretty sweet golf cart and escort them to wherever they need to go.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many to choose from but the options are unlimited. You can even start your own club if it doesn't already exist. All you have to do is get a sponsor.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During orientation, if you don't wear your nametag... you have to do the banana dance in front of everyone and it's pretty embarrassing...

    Bang for the buck

    Whenever somebody complains, they use the phrase I PAY $32,000 TO... (insert complaint here) However, the price is just a number. With the amount of scholarships given by Ozarks, we definitely get a lot of bang for our buck. Furthering our education is priceless.

    What to do for fun

    The campus has always got something going on. I particularly enjoy the zombies vs. humans tag at night. There are also camping trips that students go on as well as chapel every Wednesday.

    Food and Dining

    I usually enjoy the food here at Ozarks. However, there are days when I question that meatloaf...

    Dorm Life

    KING HALL RULES!!! We have awesome RAs as well as an RD and an ARD who make sure our dorm life is safe and fun.

    Academic Rigor

    Our motto is simple. We want to you to be more than a number, we want you to be name. Every professor yearns to make sure you pass their class.

    Tips for prospective students

    College ain't easy. There are times when it is absolutely insane. There are times when I want to go back home and crawl in my mom's lap and cry from the amount of stress. But the great thing about Ozarks, is the amount of help it offers. Ozarks offers many stress relief operations as well as academic. They reduce the amount of times a typical college student feels the need to go home and cry. Make sure to take advantage of the help offered.

    In three sentences

    As soon as I set foot on Ozarks campus for my tour, I knew I was home. I am a freshman in my second semester and I haven't regretted it yet. I have already recommended my friends from high school to at least apply to Ozarks and to greatly consider coming here.

  • 04/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are activities almost every weekend, and even on some week days. They like to keep you active here.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay here. It gets better when there is an event.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a nice size, compared to most colleges. There are usually a lot of activities going on in each dorm hall over the weekends.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is pretty high, which is good because it is preparing you for the real world. It gets better after a while because you begin to get used to it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you do all assignments, since this is a small university your professors will contact you are not very good in your classes.

    In three sentences

    University of the Ozarks is a great college, it is comfortable and you feel right at home when you are here. This college is very tight-knit, everyone is family here. The professors care about how you are doing, personally and academically.