Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

University of the Virgin Islands Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/13/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 out of 14 people found this review useful. 1 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    I will say that UVI is an excellent college for those who would like to pursue a degree in any field of choice. It is less expensive and helps manages your life at the University. All I have to say is to come with an open mind and be ready for what UVI has to offer.

  • 02/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Student who are interested in the sciences, medical fields, education, business, etc. Visit the website to find out more! http://www.uvi.edu

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you plan and get organized. Don't waste time or procrastinate. Attend class regularly, and seek help when needed. There are tutors available for just about everything.

    Bang for the buck

    For a great education, the tuition is good.

    Am enjoying being here

    Most of the people I have met or known before are friendly and helpful. They are very accepting. The atmosphere of the place is actually pretty refreshing.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are not large so it is quite easy to establish a good relationship with your professor educationally speaking. The professors I have had so far are very knowledgeable in their subjects.

  • 11/05/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The University of the Virgin Islands is great for anytime of student because of the diversity but due to the geographical location of the Virgin Islands its favorable students are Marine Biologist.

    Tips for prospective students

    I few tips that I wish I had before I came to the University of the Virgin Islands are: 1. Choose an academic major in your first year, going undecided can waste you time and if you plan on changing your major, that's not that difficult. 2. When you choose your major (final decision), in depth research all requirements and prerequisites for that major because the general UVI courses and your specialized degree major is largely different. This might sound like a normal thing to do but there are more courses available and required than what your normal paradigm might include. 3. Contact your adviser immediately, their all knowledgeable on what your specific degree program is and can help you in many areas even outside of academics.

    Bang for the buck

    Not expensive to the other school I've been looking at and i would say that its relatively cheap for the type of knowledge and experience you would obtain if you attend this University.

    Am enjoying being here

    As far as enjoyment goes, its what you make it cause the University of the Virgin Islands is on a small island and there are not a lot of things to do, if you do find something in a matter of weeks it will turn into a regular because of the lack of diversity. There are clubs and organizations to join and the students are friendly so you wouldn't have a problem meeting someone new and having fun but like I said in the beginning its what you make it.

    Am learning a lot

    The learning experience here is quite interesting because the professors know their stuff and very knowledgeable in their fields. You can learn a good bit just by attending the classes but to get the most out of the college you would have to take that knowledge outside of the class. It's not as easy as I thought it would be but its not to difficult as well.

  • 04/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can go to swimming at the beach, run the campus, play basketball in the gymnasium, exercise in the fitness gym. There are many other activities to acquire at the University of the Virgin Islands (UVI).

    Tips for prospective students

    To prospective students, do your best and keep focus. Don't sweat about being not accepted socially; there's a lot of friendly people.

    In three sentences

    The University of the Virgin Islands is a wonderful institution to attend. There are varieties of clubs to choose from and excellent classes. Also, the college is not to far from the beach so there's a wonderful view to wake up too.

  • 12/03/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Do not worry about calling anyone for help. The police here drink and drive. A campus officer was just frired for selling marijuana to the students. I have seen it first hand. It takes 30 min for the campus police to drive a half mile to the dorms when called ( i timed them). The police her never show up unless its a extreme crime.

    Food and Dining

    Uneatable. It is the same stuff all day everyday, and sometimes i feel as if they serve left overs. The workers are very rude, i have seen a bug crawl out f a other students food (pasta), I have found hair in my food on numerous occasions. There is chicken everyday and it is uncooked. They need to have a health inspector ome in, and shut this place down!

    Dorm Life

    Extremly unsafe. There have been numerous reports of violence. I myself have witness three counts of domestic violence and one gun shooting on campus. Anyone can get into the dorms even the news dorm is very unsafe.

    Academic Rigor

    For most of the professors here teaching is a second job. They mainly do research, so they really do not care about there job. The are unorginized and unprofessional.

    Tips for prospective students

    dont go here

    In three sentences

    The worse college I have ever been too. DO NOT GO HERE. This place is disguisting, unsafe, and unbearing.

  • 02/21/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 6 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    laid back students & students who want a change in stateside college life...

    Tips for prospective students

    This college give you much leniency and freetime, which can be a bad thing, but as long as you have a well structured scheduel for when to study, when to do homework, and when to hang out with friends UVI will be a breeze!

  • 03/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many activities that take place such as dances and competitive sports.

    Food and Dining

    The lunchroom food is quite tasty and could full you up in one sitting.

    Dorm Life

    I don't know about the dorm life much because I live at home with my parents

    Academic Rigor

    Most teachers explain their coursework thoroughly ad tries to stay on schedule.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should keep focus and take advantage of the tutoring facilities on campus.

    In three sentences

    The University of the Virgin Islands is a small community. Therefore, the classroom settings are close knit and the teacher can more interact with the student on a one on one basis. Also, the teachers are very friendly and tries their best to help you with your education.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Security always around campus twenty-four seven.

    Clubs and Activities

    The Universtiy of the Virgin Islands have lots of clubs and activities. Alpha Kalpa Alpha Golden Key Chess Club Brothers With a Cause Omega psi phi psychology club Student Government National Association of Black Accountants Talent shows Fashoin Shows Jeopardy Games

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is affordable.

    What to do for fun

    You can form your own group through the student activities center. Play chess, pool, domino, table tennis with your friends. Join any sports such as track and field, cross country, softball, and basketball.

    Food and Dining

    Variation from different cultures.

    Dorm Life

    The Dorm life is excellent for any college level student. There are movie nights, dorm decoration contests, suite decoration contest, barbecue fun day, beach fun day, and any fun you could ever think of. The dorm also has clubs and study groups.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend Classes regularly Keep your GPA above 2.5 Talk to a counselor or your supervisor when you are having difficulties in any class. Keep focus on your studies. Attend tutoring if you need to.

    In three sentences

    The University of the Virgin Islands is a public university that accepts any type of student. Its has a great faculty and staff that is always there for you in times of need.

  • 01/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The University of the Virgin Islands takes student safety very seriously. There are guards on campus 24 hrs a day and if you are studying late in a specific location on the campus you can inform security and they will have a guard check up on you constantly and monitor your area. A resent step of security that was taken is that every student and employee is require to register there vehicle into the school database. There is also only one rode that leads on and off campus and a security poll was recently installed to monitor those leaving and coming.

    Greek Life

    We do have some Greek students who integrate into the daily live of the school and local culture just fine. They are very polite students.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs some of which I don't know them all, but we do have a student council (comity) which you can talk to if you would like to start your own club. The school has a small activities room, a gym, basketball court and tennis court. The grounds are also used for long distance running and host several triathlons. There is also an archery club that was just added.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that like; the outdoors who are athletic like relaxed living beaches diving water sports

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The US Virgin Islands is a U.S territory so things are not much different from the mainland as far is common language and lifestyles. The locals dialect is broken English which may be hard to understand if you are new to the islands. However, the locals are very welcoming and you will get used to hearing a lot of daily greetings like good morning. In these cases you are expected to answer back good morning, or good afternoon or evening. If you don't you may be considered rude or impolite.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are worried about the price of education, it is one of the most affordable that I have seen, and your teachers help you especially if you can't understand something. If you are worried about your voice not being heard, like many institutions the university prides itself in helping you with your concerns and they will do something to help make your time attending go smoothly.

    What to do for fun

    The University of the Virgin Islands campus I attend is on the island of St. Croix. There is not much to do on campus but you can take a bus ride on the Vi-tron which cost just a dollar and head to the nearby beaches located in the towns of Fredericksted to the west and Christainsted to the east. There is also nice dinners on those beaches, but if you want to combine nightlife with the beach scenery these two towns can accommodate you starting anywhere from six pm and onward.

    Food and Dining

    There is one cafeteria on campus and a deli. The cafeteria serves three meals a day but closes around 8 pm. The deli and cafetiere open at the same time but if you have late night craving the deli would be the only place open to eat on campus; however, you can travel off campus and go to the west town of Fredericksted or the east town of Christainsted for more of a variety of eating. Anything from your favorite bar food to fine dinning.

    Dorm Life

    My rating is based on the fact that I do not stay in the dorms but I have been there. The only thing I can really state is that those of you who enjoy your air conditioning say goodbye to it cause these rooms do not have them. Your study room does and you have on campus laundry in the dorm area. If you are worried about the heat, natures breeze will take care of that; however, I will give a fair warning that during the summer it is hot so go to the beach often or travel back home to visit family.

    Academic Rigor

    The education offered at UVI is no laughing matter. At least that is my experience, but your teachers do take pride in their work and genuinely want to help you. Again this is from my experience attending UVI on St. Croix, and if you don't know UVI is an accredited University. If you are interested and want to find out more go to www.UVI.edu.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are thinking about transferring into the school I would suggest calling the admissions office (340-692-4070) to see if your credits are transferable. You can speak to Ms. Sharmain Smith to discuss your concerns. The office hours are 8 am to 4 pm. If you are a high school graduate and want to stretch your dollar I would suggest attending the University of the Virgin Islands St. Croix Campus.

    In three sentences

    High in quality of education. High in student success, especially the school of Nursing. High in affordable education.

  • 02/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we have an on campus security

    Clubs and Activities

    salsa club, rotc, turtle club,

    What to do for fun

    go the beach beach located near the university it ha plays at the reichhold center

    Food and Dining

    its reasonable

    Academic Rigor

    based on your major and the teachers you take the courses can be difficult but the teachers are willing to help you understand the work.

    Tips for prospective students

    keep an open mind and you will learn from both students and teachers. get involve in student activities and balance your academics with your personal life.

    In three sentences

    the university's tuition is affordable. it has a diverse group of people. the class settings are small enough to have individual attention.

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    It is great.

    Dorm Life

    It is all right.

    Academic Rigor

    It is fun and challenging.

  • 08/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can participate in activites, clubs, and more....plenty of fun for everyone

    Food and Dining

    The food is amazing and cultural

    Dorm Life

    It's one of a kind experience

    Academic Rigor

    It trains you to be brilliant scholar in the end.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be aware of its unique style and participate in its activities.

    In three sentences

    It is uniquely Caribbean while at the same time a historically black college. It is an interesting experience and rich in history and culture. As a student of the University of the Virgin Islands, I am proud to attend there.

  • 08/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24 hr Security Guards

    Greek Life

    They have sorority

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots

    Great for these types of students

    Clubs, the people are great it's like a melting pot community.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Afternoon on the green. Students and different organizations come together and prepare different dishes from different countries that they sell for little to nothing. Tasting contest , games, etc.

    Bang for the buck

    Dont understand

    What to do for fun

    There is two beaches walking distant from campus.

    Food and Dining

    4 stars

    Academic Rigor

    4 stars

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared to learn. Work hard Challenge yourself

    In three sentences

    The University of the Virgin Islands has a great curriculum. The University of the Virgin Islands has enhanced and improved many classes. The University of the Virgin Islands transform many students into professional human beings!

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Several

    Great for these types of students

    All types who want to attend a university in the Caribbean.

    Bang for the buck

    Because of the campus size, you have such a personal relationship with you professors and faculty staff.

    What to do for fun

    The campus has different activities.

    Food and Dining

    Great food!!!

    Dorm Life

    I live on the island so I dont need to live in the dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early and attend as a full-time student if you can.

    In three sentences

    Its an affordable small school with great professors.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent

    Greek Life

    Heard about it.

    Clubs and Activities

    Brothers with Focus Computer Club Future Business Leaders of America

    Great for these types of students

    Hands on classes

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The lunch room area is the hottest hang out for young people.

    Bang for the buck

    I will be more than happy with any help that I can receive towards my college degree. College is alot of hard work but it is also fun.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with my friends and laugh.

    Food and Dining

    The lunch room food is ok.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home with my parents right now but maybe later on I will experience dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Obtain the highest degree in Computer Engineering.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep focus and don't lose sight of your goal or goals.

    In three sentences

    I would give the University of the Virgin Islands an A+. The University of the Virgin Islands is a wonderful place to receive a higher education with highly qualified professors. At my university I know I would succeed.

  • 09/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 16 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    For the most part the campus is safe. The campus on St. Thomas is spread out, so you always want to be careful walking alone or at night. Just be smart and you will be okay!

    Greek Life

    I am in graduate school, but there is a sorority and a fraternity.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs and organizations. Check out the UVI website!

    Great for these types of students

    Islanders, beach bums, marine biologists, and travelers! People who want to experience life!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    St. Thomas has a mix of culture and traditions:)

    Bang for the buck

    It is expensive here....gas, food, living.

    What to do for fun

    Snorkel, dive, explore the history and natural beauty of the islands, visit the national parks, enjoy the culture.

    Food and Dining

    I have not ate at the school yet. From what I hear the food is good and reasonable.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms, but there are new dorms just recently built last month:)

    Academic Rigor

    The Master's Degree in Marine and Environmental Science is awesome!

    Tips for prospective students

    Living on island is expensive. Save up! Come and visit.

    In three sentences

    UVI is great! The faculty is nice, plus you get to study in paradise!

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can go to the beach, watch movies, attend parties, watch different sport activities or just hang with your friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always read your syllabus. That sheet of paper will determine whether you pass or fail your courses. Always be prepare for class, because the professor really don't care if you have a textbook or your supplies, just as along you turn in your assignments. Talk to your adviser.

    In three sentences

    I rate UVI an 8, because this school is helpful in ensuring that you have everything set for your first year of college and beyond. They guide you with your transition from a high school senior to a college freshman. The only thing that needs to be improved is the variety of clubs and activities.

  • 10/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is very important here at UVI. We have armed and unarmed officers assigned to protect and serve the UVI Community. We respect and honor the efforts placed forth by UVI Security team.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is here at UVI. You have the opportunity to choose from several. Rather academics or social, UVI has it all to offer.

    Clubs and Activities

    At UVI there are clubs and plenty activities to keep one involved in the affairs of this school. The clubs activities allows students to build relations with students in many places in the Virgin Islands, Puerto Rico and the BVI.

    Great for these types of students

    University of the Virgin Islands is great for any student who wants to learn in a beautiful environment.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Walking to class. Where else can you get you exercise on while waling to class? UVI - St. Thomas campus is situated on hills. So you walk up and down all day. Although you have an option to ride the shuttle to class, many prefer walking.

    Bang for the buck

    You get more than a bang for your buck. We have two beautiful campus' , one on the Island of St. Croix and one on the Island of St. Thomas. The tuition is affordable, the academic programs offered are not to be compared to other universities. We have a Marine Biology department that people come from all over to enroll in. UVI is a vacation school where you learn, grow and easy to relax.

    What to do for fun

    UVI is one of the best place in the world where there is never a dull moment. Surrounded by beautiful beaches, water sports, clubs and plenty of dining, a student can easily have a vacation within their own environment. People travel from around the globe to come to this beautiful island.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus can be an acquired taste for some and some just acclimate into it with no problems. It's all about the appetites and diet of those participating in the dining on campus. the atmosphere is defiantly a campus environment. However, the food is according to your taste-buds.

    Dorm Life

    Living in a dorm with a million dollar view is not the normal dorm life one would expect. But here in St. Thomas that is one of the perks for attending school on an Island. Dorm life is something everyone should experience. You learn how to relate and live with others. UVI being a melting pot of races, exposes you to various cultures and traditions. Dorm life teaches you how to respect others and how to communicate. Which will pay in life when you leave the dorm life environment.

    Academic Rigor

    You must give in order to get! As like most Universities, you have to do your class work. Classes are not easy, however, Professors gives challenge where you appreciate the learning and the knowledge developed along the way.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit UVI during a summer break and explore the possibility to attend. The opportunity to succeed are before you, all you have to do is have a desire to propel to greatness and all the help is hear for you to achieve such desires. If nothing else, the environment is a place where you can study, grow and learn.

    In three sentences

    UVI is one of the finest schools in the collegiate system. I find it to offer the academics I need to further my education and global approach to current issues in our world today. I feel confident knowing the University President has the best interest of the student at heart.

  • 11/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I hangout with friends

    Food and Dining

    The food is good.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are good

    Academic Rigor

    Good Quality education

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to gain as much knowledge as possible and challenge your self.

    In three sentences

    It is a very nice college. The people are nice and kind.

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is pretty safe but as with everything in life, it doesn't hurt to improve.

    Greek Life

    Currently not heavily active. There's the AKA's and the Betas currently.

    Clubs and Activities

    Loads of clubs to join...From the Queens Committee to the Student Government Association. You can find your niche or start your own.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to experience the Island life without missing out on the US life.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm a shopaholic and the deals I see are pretty sweet. I wish there was a target though but there is only a Kmart well 2 of them, wish I make due with.

    What to do for fun

    Island expeditions, club, beaches...There's alot to do once you have an open mind for adventure.

    Food and Dining

    I personally like the food they serve in the cafe, However, I think they could be a wider range of veggie dishes and meat choices.

    Dorm Life

    Awesome, I've been living in the dorms for appox 4 semesters now and its a wonderful experience, not to mention that the main campus is just literally 5 walking mins away, which is a plus.

    Academic Rigor

    I gave this one three stars because I believe that there could be more diversity in the majors offered.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are not accustomed to the tropics for those international students, brings lots of sunscreen and shorts. Also, bathing suits are a must seeing as the beaches are so pretty.

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love being a student at UVI. From the small classroom settings to the green acres. Its a truly amazing little part of paradise. I mean I'm not saying that its a perfect institution. But the pros far out way the cons in my opinion.

  • 10/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is a very open campus due to its location, things can happen but the safety of students are enforce.. there is always gonna be so stupid or crazy person that may or may not do something.

    Greek Life

    there is a couple sororities on campus

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a great deal of clubs..

    Great for these types of students

    this place is great for science majors especially marine biology but the school offers other great majors..

    Bang for the buck

    tuition is cheap which is great but the cost of living is a little high...

    What to do for fun

    Fun life down here is mostly about relaxing, there is a great deal of water activities.. its an island. there is simple chilling with friends, a few places to shop, clubs and more.. its like a little getaway.

    Food and Dining

    I've attended both campus and food on STX is great. but on STT its ok.. u gotta remember that is such diversity in people there are different ways of preparing foods

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is nice.. U meet new people, established close friendships and learn to survive all in one!!!....

    Academic Rigor

    What you put in is what u get.. Classrooms are small so one on one time with professors helps a great deal also u can just about find a tutor in every subject.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep an open mind. Its a great school but like normal it can have its ups and downs.

    In three sentences

    Diverse. Interesting. Learning.

  • 11/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The fun things are the sports, friends, beach, restaurants, mall, and everything is at your possession.

    Food and Dining

    The food is awesome everyday something different.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms is fun to live. There is the Rec Room where there is a pool table, ping pong table, and dominoes to play. The beach is right around the corner. So whenever you need to relax head to the beach.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic is great and if you do not understand the work. The professor does not leave until you do.

    Tips for prospective students

    This college is the right one for you. It is education at an affordable price and of course you get see the different caribbean cultures.

    In three sentences

    This college is exellent for anyone. The courses are exellent and challenging. Teachers help and guide you on difficult areas.

  • 12/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are 24/7 guards on duty

    Greek Life

    There are sororities on campus

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that are majoring in Marine Biology

    Food and Dining

    I cannot rate the food at UVI because I do not dine at the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the courses you take at UVI the classes and the teachers can be very difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    The culture in the Virgin Islands is different than the stateside life, so many locals greet with a good morning, good afternoon, good evening and not returning the greeting is considered rude. However, the environment at UVI is small and teachers know students by there names instead of an ID number so this allows for more one on one time with teachers. My tip would be to come with an open mind and to have fun while you attend the University of the Virgin Islands.

    In three sentences

    Laid back, relaxing, and fun

  • 04/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the beach. Play pool. Have lots of fun in the sun.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good.

    Tips for prospective students

    There is sun, sand, fun everywhere.

    In three sentences

    This University is very lovely. The people are friendly and the staff wants to see each student shine.