Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Upper Iowa University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you like a smaller class and school size rather than a large campus, then this school is for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    I've heard people say this all the time but didn't realize how true it was until my freshman year. Get involved at school. UIU has so many groups, fraternities and sororities, or clubs.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is the same for both in-state and out-of-state students. And for what you're paying to go to school, you're getting a great education and making some great memories!

    Am enjoying being here

    Although Fayette is a small town, I've grown used to it. It's nice though because everyone pretty much knows everyone. They just opened a new student center which is great. This school will only keep expanding and getting better.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes here are great. There aren't usually a large number of students in each class, so students have more of an opportunity for one on one time with the teachers. The teachers, advisers and all the staff are always very helpful and are always willing to help.

  • 07/14/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    3 out of 13 people found this review useful. 4 people found this inaccurate. 2 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    I will get more bang for my buck since I am older and more mature.

    Will enjoy being here

    I will enjoy being here.

    Will learn a lot

    I have not learned anything yet. But I will learn a lot if I attend this University.

  • 12/31/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    UIU is great for all students but UIU is really good for studnets who are interested in Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services. They had a high percentage of studnets who graduated and earned a bachelors, or masters degree in in those fields. They offer a number of undergraduate majors for incomming freshmen and transfer students, and if you are looking for a masters degree they offer that as well.

    Bang for the buck

    The tution for in-state is $22,350 and its the same for out of state, that's great considering most out of staters have to pay more if they want to attend a college out of their home state. The cost for room and board is pretty cheap, its 6,870 for on-campus room and board, and its the same for off-campus, so if a student is worrying about the cost of room and board UIU's does not cost a lot, its much cheaper then most colleges.

    Will enjoy being here

    Based off the research I found its a small campus, and its quite. If you do not want to be on a large campus with a ton of students then UIU would be a great choice. If you attend UIU you will have great experience and you will grow closer towards your professors and peers. The class room sizes are small from the research I found, so you can interact with your classmates and professors more then you would at a much larger college. The campus is diverse, if you are a minority student thats looking for a college from from home but one that's fairly diverse then UIU will be great, the percentage of minorities is more then the average minority student that;'s reseaching colleges would think.

    Will learn a lot

    Since I am researching this school, I have not learned that much. I am considering this school so if I think about attending I will soon learn a lot.

  • 07/18/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Going with your heart helps with many decisions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just find what is right for you as well as trying to find a college that has your major or minor.

    Bang for the buck

    They are amongst the lowest in the state of Iowa.

    Will enjoy being here

    They do create various activities.

    Will learn a lot

    I'm not sure if you'll learn a lot of information since I have never had classes there for them.

  • 09/20/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you do come here, get involved.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is a little on the expensive side.

    Am enjoying being here

    Even though the campus is in a very small and quiet city, there are tons of clubs and organizations you can join. There are also tons of things to do every weekend, on and off campus.

    Am learning a lot

    Since you take two classes a term, you learn a lot in a short period of time.

  • 10/02/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    6 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Did learn a lot

    I worked full-time when I was attending UIU so the online classes were very helpful. I was able to do my homework when I had the time without having to schedule everything around going to campus for class. I was also able to learn at my own pace with the online classes.

  • 12/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Student Athletes

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for many scholarships and grants

    Bang for the buck

    This college is expensive because it is a private school, but you also will gain benefits from the small class size and the scholarship opportunities.

    Am enjoying being here

    The environment is very comfortable because the University is located in such a small town. There are many opportunities for different activities such as mall trips, movie trips, and different sporting events.

    Am learning a lot

    I learn a lot from the small class sizes at UIU. The professors are all very helpful at the University. Each professor has his or her own email address which makes communication easy!

  • 01/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    i am definitely getting what i paid for!

    What to do for fun

    i hang out with my family. my campus is located on fort polk, la.

    Food and Dining

    uiu on fort polk does not have food and dining.

    Dorm Life

    i have never lived in the dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you plan on attending uiu, make sure you attend with your thinking caps on.

    In three sentences

    the teachers at uiu are extremely intelligent. i enjoy going to class because i know that when i walk out of the classroom i have learned something new. i already have, and will continue to recommend uiu to anyone who is interested in going to college.

  • 03/27/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not much outside of campus in the very small town of Fayette, however I have been told within campus there is plenty to do

    In three sentences

    Just got back from a visit, great campus. I really am considering going here now. awesome food too

  • 04/03/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    10 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I would give it a 6 out of 10. I think there may be better options out there that could be just as affordable, but the school fit what I needed at the time.

    What to do for fun

    Working fulltime as well as going to school fulltime provided me with little free time to do anything considered fun.

    Food and Dining

    As I attended all online classes, I do not have any suggestions in regard to food and dining.

    Dorm Life

    I attended 100% online classes so I did not stay in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes were more difficult than others. You can expect to do group projects in just about every class. The online discussions are vital to passing any class at UIU.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great, affordable online school. At the time, I did not realize there were Division 1 schools that offered similar degrees for comparable prices. I would recommend looking all options, although I do not regret my degree at UIU.

    In three sentences

    I found the faculty to be very diverse and well trained in their respective studies. The courses were well laid out. Additionally, I never had a problem with communication from any department regarding any situation.

  • 04/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have great security, they make sure that everyone is safe and that if there are problems they are dealt with.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have different intramural games and activities that go on through out the year for example basketball, football,and dodge-ball.

    What to do for fun

    We have a rec center and you can pretty much do whatever you want from working out to playing basketball, or even running on the track. we also have a movie night on Wednesday nights and it is free to go and it is held in Sumner, IA. On Sundays they have a mall trip so anyone who wants to go shopping can get on the bus and go. outdoor pursuits is a fun place to rent any outdoor supplies from canoes, to fishing poles and even kayaks.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dinning is like any other cafeteria they have a variety of different foods. The best part is that they have a Mongolian grill. some other things they have a salad bar, pasta bar, pizza bar. They try to make a variety of different foods for the different cultures that we have. They also will make special dishes for the ones that cant eat meat.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are reasonably priced and are pretty big for two people, they are also nice and roomy. There are a lot of ethnic backgrounds through out the dorms. For a small school like Upper Iowa we have a wide variety of different cultures.

    Academic Rigor

    It is hard to get used to 8 week classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you need more one on more time with your teachers Upper Iowa University is great for that because classes are small and allows teachers to spend more time with student.

    In three sentences

    Classes are small and teachers are very helpful and flexible. Campus is small and there isn't much to do. Faculty is very nice.

  • 05/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Definately getting my money's worth, even though it is still expensive!

    Food and Dining

    Living at home so this does not apply.

    Dorm Life

    Living at home so this doesn't apply.

    Academic Rigor

    8 week term classes are tough to do, but if you are dedicated and have the drive, it can be done successfully.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should not enroll unless you are truly willing to spend the time attending classes and doing the homework. I have seen too many people enrolled at my site that do not show up for class and/or drop part way through the term, such a waste of time and money and a distraction to students who are serious about their education.

    In three sentences

    Provides a great education for working adults that works with my schedule.

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Great Financial Aid! This was my deciding factor.

    What to do for fun

    There are a ton of activities on campus and many cities and towns nearby for extra entertainment. \

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is great and the fast-food and coffee place beside it was amazing. Plus, all of the places I have eaten at in town have good food.

    Dorm Life

    It seems like the dorms are great and well-kept.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel that UIU is very strong academically, and the 2-at-a-time classes are helpful for focus and so students get more out of each class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go on a tour with a big group and/or your parents, and then alone. It may surprise you how it feels to be on campus alone.

    In three sentences

    Upper Iowa is a great school that is getting better every year. I think that UIU is a great place for anyone who wants a challenge, because from sports to academics, UIU is doing everything possible to be the best. Go Peacocks!

  • 06/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Fayette isn't really the ideal college town. There aren't a lot of big name brand stores, but the college really does a great job of bringing in great entertainment. I really enjoy who they bring in and the entertainment usually gets high reviews.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria located in the new Student Center is awesome! It's all you can eat, there is a new Mongolian Grill which is nice for those Hu Hot lovers out there. I really like the Home-style nook because it features foods that remind me of home and makes it all that much better. The only downside is there is a lot of the same food offered throughout the week, but they do change it up.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are the central place for most socializing. The dorms at UIU include Garbee, Hofmaster, Lee, and the new Suite-style living. They are kept clean and neat. However, most freshmen end up living in Garbee which is the oldest of the dorms. Personally, I ended up getting a single room becuase I liked my space and wasn't really into having some of my items in close range with my roommate as some were expensive.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors there really know what they are talking about and have much experience in the field, whereas other schools can have assistant professors teaching the class who have no experience in the field. The eight week terms are also really nice. This allows students to take only 2 classes per term. Students can then focus on only their 2 classes when studying rather than 6 classes at some universities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Since the classes are small, professors are able to connect with you one-on-one, and they also care about you and want you to succeed; skipping class will also affect you since the professor will not only know you are gone, but that one day can really throw you off of the whole course. Since the campus is located in a small town of about 2,000 people, it really isn't the ideal college town. However, the school really does bring in a lot of entertainment for students and gets really high reviews.

    In three sentences

    Small classes equals more one-on-one help from the instructors, and the instructors really care about how well you do. The campus has a small, homey feel allowing students to connect easily with one another without having to travel miles to one building. The new additions on the campus are also top notch giving students plenty of room to socialize.

  • 06/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    At the outlying campus here in Wausau, WI we have security that patrols the grounds and the school. There are also outdoor camera's mounted at each entrance and through out the parking lots.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who would like to get thru school at a fast pace. students who like a variety of learning formats. transfer students, as Upper Iowa does take up to 72 credits to put towards your degree. Students looking for an alternative to moving and living on a campus. Great for non-traditional students.

    Bang for the buck

    At the outlying campuses you have the advantage of having evening classes that meet once a week for eight weeks and then you move to next term and new classes. The class sizes are much smaller and you have more student to faculty ratio than in a main campus facility. You get all the same credentials even though you do not go to the main campus. This is a great school if you are a non traditional student and also for parents and work during day, can take classes online or in evenings.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are taught by professors who work in the field that they are teaching on. The interplay between Student and professor is an excellent mix. Most classes at the outlying campuses are split into 8 week sections called terms. It is a great way to get the classes and get them done. Homework so far has been equivalent to what you would expect from any 4 year College, Private or Public.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your homework on incoming credits if you are a transfer student, eliminating the need to retake classes. Upper Iowa also offers an Independent Study program, which allows for individual to go at own pace. Be aware that if you are at a campus in WI, you are considered an out of state student and your tuition is higher than attending main campus in Iowa.

    In three sentences

    Upper Iowa University has several satellite campuses through out Wisconsin, and Iowa. They offer many degrees in all areas of study both for undergraduate and for post-graduate degree. They offer three types of learning opportunities which include on campus classes, online classes and Hy-bred which is a combination of the two.

  • 08/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want a closer relationship with professors, prefer taking fewer classes( at UIU most students take two 8 week classes per term)

    What to do for fun

    Fayette is a VERY small town so there is not much to do for fun off campus unless you have a car.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit more then once! If you plan on attending college with your friends, DO NOT room with them! Don't just buy the book, read it! Study, study, study! In some classes you earn your grade by tests only.

  • 09/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Walking around town is fun. You can also hang out in the student center and play pool.

    Food and Dining

    The food is awesome but you still miss moms cooking. The servery staff is great and extremely friendly.

    Dorm Life

    My roommate and I enjoy each others company. Sometimes living with a new person from a different background is hard but when you offer your respect to another there are rarely any issues. The dorms are spacious if you know where you want everything. It has a/c and Heat as well.

    Academic Rigor

    All my classes bring forth a new challenge each day which I enjoy. The teachers care and are there to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Thing about what you need instead of what you want. Bring a couple board games and movies to bond with new friends.

    In three sentences

    I found upper Iowa to be my second home within days. Everyone cares about you as a person, making friends is easy if you know to be yourself. I love everything about from the teachers, the campus to my fellow students.

  • 10/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel pretty safe on campus minus the fact that residents who do not attend the school walk on campus daily, and there are some registered sex offenders in the area, but it just makes me make sure i use the buddy system.

    Greek Life

    I am only a freshman right now, so i can not pledge to a sorority, but there are 6 different ones for girls to choose from and that is great.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a huge variety of clubs and activities for students to get involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    UIU is great for all students of all ethnicity's.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is nothing unusual to me.

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive foods with in the Cafe, and pricey clothes and other objects in the bookstore, but it is a college and nothing in going to be cheap.

    What to do for fun

    The is little to do but if you have friends, you can have fun by playing the Wii on one of the televisions in the lobbies. You can also enjoy working out together, or playing pool or one of the other recreation games.

    Food and Dining

    There could be more choices with in some of the areas of the Servery, and in some areas the quantity is taken over by the quality leaving food under cooked,but besides that the food is great.

    Dorm Life

    Minus all the steps to reach some floors in the dorm building, it is a great experience. You are surrounded by people from all over the world and it really does give you the experience of living completely on your own.

    Academic Rigor

    I am only a freshman on campus so i would not know anything about this, so i will give it the highest rating.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know what you are wanting to get your degree in, and be sure that you are willing to be in a town that has little to do.

    In three sentences

    Upper Iowa University has so far been a great experience. I love the small town atmosphere and the size of the school. Its also great to be able to have only three classes a day and having small class sizes allowing you to get to know your college professors.

  • 04/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Shoot pool on a league. I enjoy doing crafts, scrapbooking, and photography.

    Academic Rigor

    A++ Academics can be harder for some and easy for others. Professors at Upper Iowa challenge you, so you need to make time every week for your studies. Each term is eight weeks, so things move along pretty quick. In order to keep a decent GPA students must discipline themselves in order to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Once you start...stay the course!

    In three sentences

    Upper Iowa Professors are very dedicated to teaching their students. Every instructor I have taken class with took the time to teach us, yet make it fun. I feel very challenged by Upper Iowa University.

  • 05/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The kissing arch on the quad, it's tradition.

    What to do for fun

    Go on the planned excursions

    In three sentences

    Upper Iowa is a great school. Wonderful campus. Very diverse student body

  • 06/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is of utmost importance and Upper Iowa University security has qualified and well trained individuals to handle many different kinds of issues that incur on a campus setting.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are multiple clubs and activities to join at Upper Iowa University. Please visit the website.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are a student that is looking for an institution that is of great academic quality, then Upper Iowa University is the place for you.

    What to do for fun

    You can participate in many extracurricular activities, such as social groups and other interesting groups provided. There are many committees one can get involved on.

    Food and Dining

    The food provided is a selection of healthy choices.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately I don't live in the dorm

    Academic Rigor

    Upper Iowa University allows students to actively explore, research and solve complex problems to develop a deep understanding of core academic concepts.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared with the acquired readings. Always check to see which assignments are due. Always check in with your instructor to see if any changes may have been made with the syllabi.

    In three sentences

    Upper Iowa is a wonderful learning institution. They have a variety of majors and minors for selection. The instructors ensure you are learning the material.

  • 07/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is descent with many options however it does start to get old after eating the same stuff everyday!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very friendly and open environment. However Garbee Hall is very outdated but the new South Villages are very nice with a suite style set up.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors care about your success and work with you. The two term system also works great to get done with a class in 8 weeks.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a very small school with great academic opportunities and people. However it is located in a small town that is very far away from almost everything.

    In three sentences

    Upper Iowa University is a great small private school. There are many opportunities and the teachers care about your success. You also meet great people from all around the world!

  • 10/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always security guards walking campus, there are also systems set in place in the event a situation takes place on or around campus, where the students will receive a text message to their cell phones if they have signed up for this feature and also emails are sent to every students email box, that's just to name a couple of the safety measures taken at UIU to protect the students.

    Greek Life

    There are Five Sororities and Three Fraternities : Beta Theta Omega, E.Y.E , Gamma Delta Phi, Phi Beta Delta, Kappa Zeta Tau, Zeta Kappa Psi; Frats Alpa Nu Omegas, Beta Phi Omegas, FTF

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities to choose from like the Music club, Peacock Alumni for Student Traditions, Fellowship for Christian Athletes International Student Association. There are so many things to do.

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student would fit in these surroundings well.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every Friday some of the students get together and go out to Karaoke.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost of living is pretty affordable, you don't pay alot for things around the city like you would in larger citys like Milwaukee or Chicago

    What to do for fun

    movies, hanging out with other students, going to the malls to shop, and eating out.

    Food and Dining

    Pretty good lots of different places to eat and hang out for parties and fun times.

    Dorm Life

    There are alot of students and you get to know people really fast. The rooms are not really big but you can feel at home.

    Academic Rigor

    The work is always challenging and the professors have high expectations of you and are willing to help you reach those expectations.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your financial aid. The teachers are great, always make sure that you communicate any issues that you have, so that they can help you. I have attended this college for two years now and have not met an instructor that was not willing to make sure you passed your classes. They are willing to help just go to them.

    In three sentences

    The Financial aid department at the Madison Campus is very slow and incompetent when communicating with the students. Doreen fails to advise students of all financial aid options such as scholarships to help pay for classes.

  • 11/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I am a member of Gamma Delta Phi, and I LOVE greek life. Its fun, inclusive, safe, and all around a great experience.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who want an education enjoy a small town atmosphere

  • 11/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Online schooling is great for students that have the drive to keep going on your own.

    Bang for the buck

    Feel the information is great and goes beyond the class room.

    What to do for fun

    Does not apply

    Food and Dining

    Does not apply

    Dorm Life

    Does not apply

    Academic Rigor

    Complete education experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ensure you are prepared for fast pace classes.

    In three sentences

    Instructors care about your success. Classes make sure you get involved and understand information. Ensure that you have the skills to succeed.

  • 11/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Class is in a locked building and very safe

    Greek Life

    Many computer classes to take and free classes

    Clubs and Activities

    So many clubs to join

    Great for these types of students

    This is great for people who work during the day and need night classes

    Bang for the buck

    Having smaller class sizes gives you more one on one help

    What to do for fun

    Many sports to get involved in and other class activities and trips to take.

    Food and Dining

    Never ate on campus

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus but the location of my class is close and convenient.

    Academic Rigor

    The choices here are great and many more choices after your choice in field.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go into the office and talk to a councilor about your choices they are amazing!

    In three sentences

    This is a four star school with great teacher and the best staff to help you successfully succeed in your chosen field.