Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Urbana University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/03/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I like the way the cafeteria is set up!

    Dorm Life

    LOVELY dorms. Very comfortable feel.

    Academic Rigor

    From what I heard, most of the people there are getting A's and B's.

    Tips for prospective students

    I've only visited, but my advice would be to live it up(:

    In three sentences

    Very nice campus. Looks like it would be a good place to get a good education. Everyone was very nice.

  • 10/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Urbana University displays a Spirit Rock that sits at the center of the school. Every year before homecoming many students come out to say a prayer for lost ones and bring luck into the Blue Knights home.

    What to do for fun

    Urbana University displays a broad selection of school activities that many students engage in come together as one that makes the school unique.

    Tips for prospective students

    Choosing Urbana University is a great selection to further your future and making your dreams come true.

    In three sentences

    Urbana University is one of the best private schools in Ohio, Urbana University explore students minds to reach for their goals. In my opinion i would rate Urbana University at a 10 out of 10.

  • 01/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    When i am on campus i like to hang out with my friends. If i'm not with friends i am at practice. doing a sport is a good way to keep you out of trouble and also to give you something to do. you make alot of friends while traveling with your team along with being with your team. for me i am a cheerleader so i get alot of bonding time at practice we learn to trust out flyers and bases along with helping each other out.if it wasn't for our team spirit we wouldn't have such amazing school spirit.

    Food and Dining

    the food taste great and the dinning is well set up. its not always like the food your parents make at home but its good enough to where we get the right nutrients we need while being away from home.

    Dorm Life

    Living in a dorm is a great experience. you get the choice to live with someone or have a room to yourself. I have done both, having a roommate is good but if its someone your best friends with its not a good idea. you get tired or being together all the time and want to room alone, there's nothing wrong with that doesn't mean you cant be friends but having your own privacy is awesome. you make alot of friends while living on campus its alot better then living at home.

    Academic Rigor

    the teachers are willing to help you with anything just so you can pass your classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    study hard and never give up. be smart and make good choices. making friends is easy if you just get out there and socialize. never think you can't do it because you can do it.

    In three sentences

    the campus is great its small and makes you fell at home if you come from a small town. the athletics are amazing along with the coaches. also, the teachers seem very helpful when it come to the students and their school work. Even though the classes are small it just means you can get more hands on help. Everyone on campus gets so into the school spirit and loves to get to know everyone here. Urbana really makes me feel at home we are all on big happy family here at UU.

  • 03/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 4 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I don't club anymore its too dangerous ,play video games, study, and be here for my children.

    Great for these types of students

    All Students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I attend the Dayton Campus.

    Bang for the buck

    I will say that i have had a ruff live growing up I didn't believe that my education was important to me at a young age. I grew up with never knowing my biological mother as an foster child I felt alone. later in my life I decided to continue my education just to see how far I could get and how much did I really know was my question. I earned my G.E.D in 2011. I was so surprised that it motivated me to continue to go to Lincoln College for a business degree because i always wanted to run my own business so after earning my Associates Degree in Business Management i am currently job hunting and also attending college to earn my bachelor's degree.

    What to do for fun

    Surf the Internet, watch movies, watching T.V.,and reading occasionally.

    Food and Dining

    Dont dine out much dont have time fastfood is my best friend.

    Dorm Life

    Never lived in a dorm I know its way more nice than going to school homeless.

    Academic Rigor

    Try to earn the best grades that you can and hope for the best, remember stay positive reguardless of the grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused and positive and ask for help when needed and you will be fine so just relax.

    In three sentences

    Urbana is a quiet enviroment 100 for comfort they care about our future 100 for caring. Urbana also has a tutoring program for those that may need extra help. I enjoy the attention that i am given by the staff and teachers at Urbana University...

  • 09/07/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I am not sure at this time.

    Greek Life

    I am not sure at this time.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not sure at this time.

    Great for these types of students

    I am not sure at this time.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am not sure at this time.

    Bang for the buck

    I am not sure at this time

    What to do for fun

    I will be playing baseball, working out and studying alot.

    Food and Dining

    Once again I am not sure about the food and dining yet.

    Dorm Life

    I have taken the tour of the school and think the dorm room atmosphere seems great.

    Academic Rigor

    I am starting in the fall due to some medical setbacks so I am not sure about the academics yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would tell prospective students to start thinking about their college plans as a freshmen in high school. Your grades are very important all four years. If you want a school that cares about you after you are excepted than Urbana University is the place to go.

    In three sentences

    I feel it is a great school that has a great academic program. I am happy that I chose this school and plan to get a good education so I can pursue my dreams in the medical field after college.

  • 12/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    As the courses span to the Junior and Senior Level the course load is challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always be concerned with meeting the deadlines.

    In three sentences

    The Adult Degree Program is very program friendly. The evening and online course are available at five different locations. The staff at the university are extremely helpful.

  • 01/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is always just a phone call away. If you lock yourself out of your room, they'll unlock your room for you quickly. They do routine grounds checks through all the buildings which creates a really safe atmosphere.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Although there are no intramural sports, a large percentage of students are athletes competing in the NCAA at Urbana. There's also a ton of different clubs to join in- Recycling, Student Government, Bluu Crew, Multicultural Union, Gay Straight Alliance, and plenty more!

    Great for these types of students

    Student athletes, students within a 45-minute radius of Urbana, students who want their professors to genuinely care about the quality of their education

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Rock is a large rock located in the middle of campus. It's always being painted and repainted by students for fun or to send a message to other students. The Rock has also seen its fare share of drunken bodies.. For some reason, streaking to The Rock sober or under the influence is a typical dare at Urbana!

    Bang for the buck

    Urbana is a private university on the lower end of the tuition scale for private schools. With the personalized education I'm getting combined with financial aid, I'm more than happy with my tuition dues.

    Food and Dining

    Urbana's food is by far the biggest complaint on campus. The cafeteria is run by Sodexo and features a soup/salad bar, hot bar, sub station, and a continental breakfast bar. Breakfast is definitely agreed to be the best meal on campus!

    Dorm Life

    I lived in a dorm room my freshman year and would definitely recommend any college student to live in a dorm for at least a year. The bathrooms were clean, the rooms are a decent size, and five or six girls in my hall even got their own rooms. Dorm life is a great way to meet people and makes it easier to get to classes.

    Academic Rigor

    I took Advanced Placement classes in high school and courses at Urbana are very comparable in expectations. Since professors know you personally, it's easy to get help if you need it. Most professors even give out their personal cell phone numbers and email addresses so you can reach them for whatever reason!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't overwhelm yourself- college courses aren't that much different than high school. Study up, stay on top of your homework and syllabi, and you'll do great!

    In three sentences

    Urbana is a tightly knit community where everyone knows everyone, so you're not just another college statistic. Small class sizes and friendly professors make for a great education where you won't get left behind. You can walk from one end of campus to the other in five minutes, which is great if you're running late to class or practice!

  • 01/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to go to college but want to stay close to home.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a little expensive since it is a private school.

    What to do for fun

    I enjoy studying with my friends, Urbana's weightroom and training facilities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for scholarships. Keep up with your grades

    In three sentences

    I like Urbana University for the convenience of the location. It is close to my home. I also enjoy the students and faculty.. The staff is very helpful when you have a question or problem..

  • 08/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Play pool. Basketball. Party. Football. Frisbee.

    Food and Dining

    Some of the food is really good, some isn't. Truly depends on what they are fixing.

    Dorm Life

    It depends on the dorm you get. Some of the dorms are amazing, and some are smaller then the others. However overall they are nice.

    Academic Rigor

    It is private and intensified, especially if you are in the honors program. However it always depends on the professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready for a smaller campus.

    In three sentences

    It is a small, private college where you can walk from one side to the other so I love how quiet it is out here. The academics are amazing out here. The community out here is amazing with it being so small.

  • 01/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always available and always around, but not a lot they can do about anything except tell people to quiet down. If you have a severe issue, call the police first and campus safety second

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Many different clubs on campus, Student Activities also brings in a performer about once a month

    Great for these types of students

    Introverts, the type of person that does well in small groups

    Bang for the buck

    2.5 stars if I could, Very good pricing vs. in-house scholarship awards, but for the cost, many things on campus should be improved; Food, internet, roads, etc.

    What to do for fun

    Nearest decent entertainment is 45- 60 mins away, there are many sports teams and club activities on campus, but for the not too athletic, there's nothing to do in Urbana.

    Food and Dining

    Many options, low quality. Has improved leaps and bounds. Always have salad bar, sub bar, pasta bar, but main courses are sometimes inedible.

    Dorm Life

    Nice rooms, but the pros stop there. Loud into early hours of the morning, bathroom facilities not sufficient, marijuana odors every so often. The biggest fault of the dorms is the wi-fi, it is terrible, I do all of my e-mail, grade checking, etc. on my phone network.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes require minimal effort and assign no homework.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great school for introverts, as long as you don't like to get out much, this is the place to go. Bring something to do.

    In three sentences

    Small campus with regular courses available. Almost too structured, regarding pre-reqs. Not a lot to do in surrounding areas.