Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Utica College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/03/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 1 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Should be careful on the type of environment you want to surround yourself around.

    Bang for the buck

    Very expensive so should keep your grades up to par so you gain helpful assistance.

    Am enjoying being here

    There are different types of events that go on through out the year but if the people don't appeal to you then you will miss out on some fun events.

    Am learning a lot

    No matter what your major is if you are interested in the subject you will learn so much that sometimes your mind can't handle it all at once.

  • 10/31/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for those who know what they want to do with their life. It's also pretty big into athletics.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get to class! Attendance may not be a part of your actual grade, but in the long run it will effect your course grade if you're never in class!

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is pricey, but I know I'm in a good program. It will be all worth it when I pass my boards exam!

    Am enjoying being here

    Utica College has smaller classes and great professors. Though the city of Utica itself doesn't have much to do, the UC community has a ton of fun activities that they plan! It's up to you to get involved.

  • 05/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    On weekends we often have room parties or go off campus to party

    Food and Dining

    The food is alright, but sometimes you get tired of eating the same thing everyday.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty good they have cable tv and internet. The rooms are ok in in size. Most of the time end up with a good roommate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not slack off on your school work. If you procrastinate you will be very stressed out. Also chose your friends wiseley.

    In three sentences

    Utica College is a pretty good school. There are rarely any problems on campus between students. The girl to boy ration is 4 to 1.

  • 10/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I'm not a big fan of the dinning hall, the Commons, but the rest of the food on campus, such as in the cafe, Common Grounds, and Le Bistro, is good.

    Dorm Life

    I commute, so I don't know this.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes can be tough, but make sure you go the your professors' office hours-they're normally more than willing to help you!

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love the campus. The education department, however, isn't the greatest as they don't always seem to be on the same page. The classes are small and the professors truly care about making sure you understand the material.

  • 03/15/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    5 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    -Into athletics -Love cold weather

  • 06/14/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The tuition for this school is a little pricey. However, the lunchroom is a $5.00 all you can eat bargain!

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is very nice and there is a very wide range of student activities to get involved in. you can even start your own club (with four friends) if it doesn't already exist! The bookstore has a lot of awesome knick knacks to choose from as well.

    Am learning a lot

    I enjoy the classes here and learn a significant amount of information. It seems that most of the teachers are knowledgeable in the area and pass this knowledge on to their students in an easy to understand manner.

  • 12/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    not really

    Tips for prospective students

    don't apply here

    Bang for the buck

    the tuition cost is too high and the education here isn't worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    No, I don't enjoy it here because the food is horrible, tuition cost and the parking can drive you crazy.

    Am learning a lot

    Some classes give good advice or experience, but overall you feel like you're still in high school

  • 02/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    criminal justice, economic crime investigation, cybersecurity.

    Bang for the buck

    the health center can help with any health-aimed needs at a very reasonable cost.

    What to do for fun

    there are lots of extracurricular activities on campus. there are many opportunities to play sports, or join any of the clubs. there are activities daily. there is also a full gym facility and a pool.

    Food and Dining

    the dining hall is an excellent facility. there are several different stations in the hall so that each student can have something to eat at all times. there are also several coffee shops throughout the campus so the student can get a snack anytime, even between classes.

    Dorm Life

    i am a commuter.

    Academic Rigor

    there is a lot of reading and writing entailed in the undergrad work at uc, but it is nothing unattainable. the student just must be willing to do the work and do it thoroughly.

    Tips for prospective students

    students interested in criminal justice should most definitely look into this school; the program is excellent. the liberal arts is also a good program, as long as the student is able to keep their degree evaluation organized themselves.

    In three sentences

    there is diversity on campus. there are several opportunities for joining groups and participating in extracurricular activities on campus. the criminal justice program is excellent.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    the school is pricey, but for a commuter who wants to stay home, it is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    i enjoy going to the movies, bowling, and exercising. there are great restaurants and some pretty sweet cafe's that hold events, such as open mic nights.

    Food and Dining

    i bring food from home. i'm not big on college cafeteria food, but there is a subway and small cafe's with healthy options.

    Dorm Life

    i live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are challenging, but the teachers are understanding. from experience, do not procrastinate.

    Tips for prospective students

    do not be afraid to second guess your advisers about classes that they think you need to take. also, if transferring, do the research of what each class consists of that is still required for you to take at the new college. you might find that you took the class but it has a different number or description as a previous class you took.

    In three sentences

    utica college has given me a great experience as a transfer student. the education professors as a whole are knowledgeable and passionate about teaching. i find the area helpful for my major as well.

  • 04/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I love every member of campus safety here on campus. They are amazing and will do anything you need them too.

    Greek Life

    Basically, if you're not a Greek you don't talk to them. They wont talk to you.

    What to do for fun

    The Greek organizations put on events for the students, (mainly themselves to brag about how cool they are), but some are informational and fun. Obviously every other student here drinks or does drugs.

    Food and Dining

    All of the dinning hall workers look like ex convicts. Tattoos on their necks and all. Besides that, the food isn't all that bad.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman dorms are pretty bad. Upperclass are a lot better, with elevators and air conditioning. Like I said before, be careful of roommates.

    Academic Rigor

    You will learn a lot about your major and be prepared for graduate school or in the work force.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know your roommate before hand, I've had two terrible roommates my first year at college. One even threatened me online. You never know who is really in your room at night!

    In three sentences

    I have great Psychology professors. I love the open campus during the warm months. The administration does their best to keep students safe and happy.

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    VERY good

    Greek Life

    never looked into it

    Clubs and Activities

    good sports life

    Great for these types of students

    if you like a big campus

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    cafe for lunch

    Bang for the buck

    lots of $$$$$ but good school to attend

    What to do for fun

    The school does different fun things

    Food and Dining

    Very good

    Dorm Life

    Dont live on dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Pick classes early

    In three sentences

    Great School

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is friendly and they do everything they can do to help you. Not as secure as a state school, with real police officers.

    Greek Life

    About 10 Fraternities and Sororities to choose from.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a ton of organizations, clubs and associations to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like small schools Want to stay locally Want to play sports at a D3 level Health Majors Criminal Justice Science Majors

    Bang for the buck

    The cost of the school is not worth what it offers to the student in regards to campus life. Our cost compared to others school's they a lot more to offer to the students.

    What to do for fun

    There are pub night with local talents or bands that preform. Football, basketball, and hockey game etc... School clubs and organizations

    Food and Dining

    The food is terrible, plan to be able to cook or buy frozen food at your local wal-mart.

    Dorm Life

    Upper class man dorms are new building with in the last ten years. They offer double and single cluster with good washer machines.

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent teachers along with preparing your for the real world in your prospective major.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Review financial aid cost along with affordability with your parents income. -Small school (less activities on campus in regards to campus life). -Research your major ahead of time -Have a plan B just in case you would like to transfer and make sure the credits would transfer into another prospective school of choice.

    In three sentences

    Utica College is a great small school with a decent class size. The teachers here are wonderful and provide a lot of insight as needed. There are a ton of majors that is offered with new buildings that are specific to certain majors.

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great! They are very strict but look out for all of us

    Greek Life

    Greek life is growing, we have phi beta sigma, aka, lsu, opb, sia, phi Iota Alpha, phi sigma sigma, alpha phi delta, chi, to name a few

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs to get involved with and they are very diverse. Trust me there is something for everyone

    What to do for fun

    We have on campus parties, in hall programs, Greek life and events, talent shows, on campus banquets, poetry, step dancing, singing, etc....

    Food and Dining

    The dining commons could be better but the subway and bistro is nice. The cafeteria needs to provide a better variety and the prices should come down. Not enough stations for the amount of money we spend on plans

    Dorm Life

    Activities in the residence halls are great! Love the atmosphere, large televisions, wifi and lounge. I can cook my own meals in the kitchen or chill with friends in the halls. We are a community

    Academic Rigor

    Faculty challenge the intelligence of all students but they provide a lot of tutoring, and assistance to make sure you get your money worth.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on campus and get involved in as much as you can. It builds friendships and helps pass the time when you start to miss home.

    In three sentences

    Utica College is a very diverse college. It has awesome majors available to all students. The teachers and staff challenge as well as encourage us to do our best.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is wonderful! My organization (Women in a New Direction) conducted a tribute to them Fall 2011 to express our appreciation for all that they do.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is somewhat diverse but not as much as it can be. Many Greek organizations do not want to expand the Greek life on campus because of fear of competition.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is an unlimited number of diverse organizations at Utica College. Many put on events and host forums.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a tradition freshman year for incoming students to stand in single file along the campus path while staff and faculty walk in cap and gowns. Senior year it is done again in reverse fashion as faculty stand and greet the graduating class.

    What to do for fun

    There is an annual concert, sports games, and occasional parties.

    Food and Dining

    Often times it seem as if the chef take leftovers from previous nights and creates a new meal for the next day. The food is very tasteless and often time undercooked. There have been times that I've seen hair or other unidentified items in the food. Fortunately there is a salad bar and a pizza station.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are fair, I've seen better and definitely seen worse.

    Academic Rigor

    Most class are what the student makes it. Often times the classes are quite fair or easy as long as the student attends every class and does the work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have fun your freshman year, go out and explore not only the campus, but neighboring schools and the Utica community! Take the UCC class seriously; it may seem like a waste of time but it is there to help you with the transition from High school to college. Be sure to learn how to study. It may seem simple, but studying in High school and studying in college are very different. Manage your time wisely!

    In three sentences

    Utica College is a wonderful school to attend. The school is generally safe, cultural, diverse and strives for academic excellence for their students. Academically the school is fantastic, yet there aren't many social activities for students.

  • 07/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety officers are always closeby if you need them. However, in my experience, they're not too quick to respond to problems/issues that need immediate assistance.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like small class sizes and are at school to do work and do well. If you're looking for a huge party school, UC isn't the best place to be. But education isn't about partying....

    Bang for the buck

    Utica college is a very expensive private school, so if you're planning on going into a program that is offered in many different places, UC may not be the best option for you. But, if you're going into a program (like the 5 year bachelor-to-master's program for Occupational Therapy), UC is a great choice.

    What to do for fun

    Honestly, there's not too much to do around Utica other than going to the mall, movies, restaurants, etc.

    Food and Dining

    College food is college food - it gets old after a while and usually isn't very healthy. You'll be fine though, as long as you're not too picky, have self-control, and go to the gym regularly!

    Dorm Life

    Not much goes on at the dorms other than small parties. But, there are plenty of sports teams off campus who have parties. If you know the right people then UC partying can be fun

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the classes you are taking and the amount of motivation you have

    Tips for prospective students

    Having a car on campus is very helpful since there isn't too much within walking distance from the school.

    In three sentences

    I Love the small class sizes (usually no more than 20 students per class) because it allows for more one-on-one time with professors when you have questions. The college is close to everywhere you will need to be, although public transportation isn't very good. If you don't have a car and don't have friends who have cars, you may feel like you're stuck in a bubble sometimes. If you're going into a health profession or criminal justice, this school is a wonderful choice!

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is very friendly

    Greek Life

    Our school is very big on greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    The clark athletic center offers a lot of activities, as far as clubs go there arent many available but a friend of mine created a club, so it isnt hard to create a club that your interested in.

    Great for these types of students

    Culturally diversed students, students looking for a small community.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Moosa-paloosa is a festival that Utica College has where the whole campus comes together to listen to music, eat food, play games, etc.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is too costly for what we get out of it, in my opinion.

    What to do for fun

    Theres a lot to do for fun in the towns surrounding and some in Utica. There is ice skating, movies, mall, hockey games (winter), stanley theatre.

    Food and Dining

    Worst! When we first got sodexo the food was alright but basically the only things that were ever on the menu involved chicken, rice, and beans.

    Dorm Life

    I really hated the dorm life. The bathrooms were never clean, they didnt clean at all on the weekends and there was constantly trash through the hallways. Also I didn't like that people would get so loud that it was impossible to sleep sometimes. Second year our dorm was across the main road and the pot holes in the parking lot were enough to break your car.

    Academic Rigor

    The program I am in is very tough however the classes that I felt were more important so far aren't stressed as much as say a physics course.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure everything you were told upon a visit is what you get out of the school.

    In three sentences

    I met some of the best friends here. I have became more culturally diversed. Its a close community.

  • 08/07/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus will serve your needs, will the dial of a number. They take their job seriously with knowing the students by name and checking up on us. The 24 hour service benefits all the students.

    What to do for fun

    Not only is there a game room in each of the dorm halls but the College arranges student activities. With a great amount of school spirit, the students naturally have fun watching football / hockey games and parties. Because the campus is spacious with grass, a lot can be done or fun with a lil imagine.

    Food and Dining

    School lunch is an understated term for the food at Utica. Students are given options breakfast, lunch, and dinner and are given healthy snacks at that. Fulfilling the desires of those students is a difficult task that has been completed well.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are quite comfortable. Each side is identical so there is no reason to cross over. Spacious for miscellaneous acivities without disturbing your roommate.

    Academic Rigor

    Although I have yet to attend an academic class at UC, I must say that the schedules are designed to fit you 100%. The buildings depending on your subjects are not to far from one another, giving enough time to arrive on time. Classes sizes are on average 25 students, so you're opinion will be heard.

    In three sentences

    Utica College has tremendous school spirit. The faculty and students push each other to do their best; like a family. The isolated area will allow students to focus on academics, rather than being around the tourist cites.

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    For all around students socially and academically.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Prospective students have to experience that themselves.

    Bang for the buck

    Financial aid usually gives people a hard time when funds and grants aren't fully processed.

    What to do for fun

    Anything you want to do.

    Food and Dining

    Only one cafe so options are limited.

    Dorm Life

    It is what you make of it!

    Academic Rigor

    Top notch degree. Used to be apart of the University of Syracuse.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your studies just as you would anywhere.

    In three sentences

    Friendly professors are everywhere. The study programs are top notch. Everything you need is right in front of you.

  • 12/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety officers are pretty good with checking in students when it's past a certain time. They patrol the grounds on a daily basis. They're also friendly with the students sometimes. If you need a ride from them, usually they come to your safety.

    Greek Life

    There are some Greek life on campus. A lot of the people I have met that are in Greek life thoroughly enjoy it. Those in Greek life are highly active in their sonority or fraternity.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities to join around campus. There are usually fliers posted around everywhere to engage students into participating.

    Great for these types of students

    Utica College is great for students who are looking for a small campus and small classes. Also for students who are looking to be more than just a number, but as a name from their professors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am not aware of any unusual traditions or locations on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Utica College gives a lot of financial aid to students since it is a private college. So financial aid helps with the tuition fee a lot. I don't think the prices are too unbearable if you receive financial aid and scholarships. As for me, I'm always looking for more money to aid the process of paying for my college education.

    What to do for fun

    Possibly more than 50% of the students at Utica participate in a sport on campus. So many students do that since the school is a DIII college. There are houses to attend events to and there's sometimes events that the school has in the Strebel center. There's usually something going on for the students to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food is mediocre. I believe breakfast is the best part of the dining hall, because there's an omelette line every day. For lunch and dinner, there is a deli sandwich line if nothing else looks appetizing. Usually there is at least one dish to find that you'll somewhat enjoy.

    Dorm Life

    Living on campus is really fun. And because it's such a small campus, it's easy to roll out of bed ten minutes before class and then head off. I think dorm life is great, I don't have a dull weekend cause I always find friends to do activities with.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are pretty rough, depending on which course you are taking and whom you're taking it with. Obviously, there will be some courses with professors that make the class enjoyable and some where the professors make the class difficult. But the professors have office hours and welcome students any time to get any help they want or need.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to visit and talk with your professors a lot, they enjoy the company and engagement of students. They will take that into consideration when giving you a final grade.

    In three sentences

    Utica College is a great school for small classes and a small campus. The professors really want to engage with the students and are very helpful. The college has a great atmosphere, everyone feels welcome.

  • 01/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I joined Circle K and I love it. The clubs on campus all join together to help each other out. Sometimes it is hard to get activities approved.

    Great for these types of students

    Diverse, education students, nursing students

    Bang for the buck

    SO EXPENSIVE

    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do... A small mall, go out to eat, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria tries to provide ethnic and diverse foods often. Their salad bar is the best. There aren't many options, though.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel somewhat challenged here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for scholarships, because attending private school is not cheap.

    In three sentences

    Utica College is a good commuter college. They understand that at times, it is difficult to require out-of-class requirements on campus. Overall, I like UC.

  • 03/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    overall safe place to go to school. i have never felt in danger

    Greek Life

    There are a few sororities and fraternities.

    Great for these types of students

    Criminal Justice majors looking into Economic Crime Investigation students or Nursing and Physical Therapy majors.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs to join and a lot of the athletic teams are very competitive. Make sure to check out a soccer game at the stadium or catch a hockey game at The Aud.

    Tips for prospective students

    Reach out to you're professors, and don't be afraid to talk to them in person if you need any help. They would much rather help you succeed then watch you fail.

    In three sentences

    Utica College is a small private school where the professors actually care that their student's succeed after graduation. Classes are small and interactive. The relationship between the students and professors is one that is very close.

  • 06/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus is very safe! You can feel comfortable and safe on our campus at any time of day or night. Campus security is very helpful when needed.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is very popular here at Utica College. You can expect to make life long sisters or brothers if you choose to pledge a sorority or fraternity. Our sororities and fraternities are always involved in activities around the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Sports Clubs, Academic Clubs, Greek Life are among the many ways to get involved at Utica. The campus also hold campus wide activites, like The Heart Run Walk. Homecoming weekend is great fun for students and their families.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want a mid sized campus where you are known for who you are. Where you and your professors will get to personally know each other. We have a variety of majors but some of our most popular are Nursing, Education, Criminal Justice, OT and PT.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Trax our campus mascot can be seen at most of our events! Routing on our sports teams especially our Ice Hockey team is always fun. On cold evenings it's fun to hang out in the main building lounge in front of the fireplace.

    Bang for the buck

    Although Utica is a Private School so it seems expensive compared to State schools, they offer many ways, like financial aide, grants, and scholarships to make it affordable for everyone. Things like Parking, Gym, Pool, Laundry are all FREE at Utica.

    What to do for fun

    There's always something to do at Utica, from major related clubs, other clubs, Greek Life, Sports, (even if you don't play a sport), attending our Ice Hockey Games and Football games is a popular event for the whole campus. We have a terrific pool, and a great work out gym too.

    Food and Dining

    Our dining hall offers a nice variety of food which is also surprisingly very good! We also have an on campus Subway, Pizza Shop, Coffee Bar, and Smoothie shop. For students 21 and over there is also an on campus pub.

    Dorm Life

    Loads of fun! We offer a wide variety of living styles to fit each student. You can expect to make lots of friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Our classes are challenging, interesting and fun all combined into small class sizes where your professor will know who you are, you won't just be a number at Utica.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come for a visit! If you can't make an open house, we offer individual tours of our campus by appointment.

    In three sentences

    Utica is a small, but not too small beautiful campus where you will get to know your professors on a personal basis. This is a school where you can expect to make great lifelong friends. Expect to learn a lot in your classes which will be fun and challenging.

  • 06/19/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    23 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    they have many sports.

    What to do for fun

    join a club.

    Food and Dining

    they have many different option when it comes to the lunch.

    Dorm Life

    i still havent experience it but it looks like it can be good.

    Academic Rigor

    it is an excellent college to attend as a freshman

    Tips for prospective students

    try it to see if you like it that's what i will do and if you want do some research to know if they have something that you might be interest to.

    In three sentences

    i think it is a good option for me to attend. and it has many activities in which i could get engaged to. finally because it has a good reputation.

  • 07/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Everything in Utica is about a 5 minute drive away, so it's easy to go find something to do. If you're broke, the college pretty much always has some sort of event going on whether its a performer in the pub or in the auditorium. Also, the hockey games are a huge deal and they're a good time.

    Food and Dining

    Sodexo could definitely be worse, and they're making improvements each semester, so it's gradually getting better. Avoid the fish always.

    Dorm Life

    Staying in the freshman dorms is pretty much a right of passage at Utica. Once you get through that, you move on to Tower or Bell or Boehlert which are all very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major, some programs are much more difficult than others, but this is college, it's not high school any more, so it's to be expected that you're going to have to do work in order to become successful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go see professors often. They will help you in whatever way possible is what I've found. Many of them are very committed to your success.

    In three sentences

    Overall, Utica is a great college. The fact that it's a small place allows you to get to know almost everyone on campus. The Utica college community has proven to be like a big family to one another.

  • 12/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is great, all on call and there when you need them.

    Greek Life

    The greek life here isn't big. Some of them have parties but not all of them.

    Great for these types of students

    Focus on studying but have fun sometimes

    Bang for the buck

    This schools very expensive, I don't think the price you would pay is worth going here.

    What to do for fun

    The football, basketball and hockey games are fun, Go out to local bars and clubs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to people on campus before coming here. If your coming to College to party, don't come here. Everybody knows everybody here so be careful

    In three sentences

    Utica is a small, quite, peaceful campus. There's is not much to do because of the cold weather. The sports aren't that good because we are a Division 3 school.

  • 01/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pretty good. Always around and helpful

    Greek Life

    They have frats and sororities but they aren't that big. Only a few have houses but even so the parties are private and when there is a party it gets full so fast not worth going

    Bang for the buck

    Not at all. Look for a SUNY or somewhere else. You'll be paying the same amount for a better college experience at a different school

    What to do for fun

    NOTHING

    Food and Dining

    Food isn't terrible

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are okay, freshman dorms are definitely bigger than most schools

    Academic Rigor

    Has good academics and professors

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're coming here to meet new people and have a good social life then don't. There isn't much to do during the week and weekends people are really cliquey

    In three sentences

    Has good academics. Little social opportunities