Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Valparaiso University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/07/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 out of 24 people found this review useful. 1 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    engineers, communications, artists, christians, non-christians, mathematics, nursing... heck... everyone!

    Tips for prospective students

    Guys, I can't stress more how amazing Valpo is. It is such an amazing fit for me and so many students. There is so much to do! There is a train station right in Valpo that you can take the V-line to (free bus system that goes anywhere in town). The train goes straight to Chicago which is only 45 minutes away! We have a brand new union, great food, amazing clubs and people, and the education you get here will not only be well instructed, you'll have experience as well! The teachers are wonderful, kind, and extremely helpful- all of my professors know me by name! And I haven't even started on the beautiful campus and the chapel (2nd largest college chapel in the world... first in the U.S.). PLEASE visit the campus if you can! It'll blow you away! I'm more than happy to house visitors- my roommate and I are living in a larger room! Contact me if you ever have questions or need help!

  • 12/18/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 9 people found this review useful. 2 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Honor students, engineers, meteorology students, nursing majors, people who don't want to go to a big, impersonal college

    Tips for prospective students

    If you get an invitation to join the honors program, apply! I know quite a few kids who turned them down and regret it now. If you can, make direct contact with someone in your department or the person who will be your major adviser. They can definitely give you a feel for what classes you'll have to take and how flexible your schedule will be if you want to graduate in 4 years. Be sure to visit the campus before deciding to attend. Be aware that the campus is not in the middle of an exotic locale - sometimes it may seem like there aren't a ton of things to do, but you'll be surprised how many things there are to do if you look.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is kind of pricey, but if you apply early in the year and make sure to fill out all your paperwork, Valpo tends to offer a lot of financial aid. I have a friend who actually chose another school based on cost, and when her admissions adviser found out, he talked to his boss and called her back with an even better offer than the other school! Your adviser will also work really hard to make sure that you can graduate in four years - especially if you know from the outset what you want to major in. They don't want to make you pay tuition for any more years than you have to, so they guide you through each step of the scheduling process.

    Am enjoying being here

    There are lots of activities to get involved in on campus, and you will definitely get a lot of invites the first semester of college. The freshmen dorms are all close to each other and the Union as well, which is nice, and there's always something to do if you look hard enough, even if it means joining the group in the lounge that's playing a game or getting friends together to go on a late-night slurpie run.

    Am learning a lot

    Valparaiso offers a great honors program that usually has a group of 80-100 freshmen in it. They compose music, choreograph, write, and act in a drama production each fall, which definitely brings the whole class close together! In general, however, the classes are interesting and as long as you plan, you get to take all the classes you need in order to be prepared to graduate in your major while also having the chance to take some fun courses.

  • 11/18/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 7 people found this review useful. 3 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone could find there place at Valpo. Whether you're into music or business or different cultures, it's all available here! As long as you have a good attitude, you could belong at Valpo!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't decide on a college [either for or against it] without visiting it first. When I first heard about Valpo, I didn't want to come here. I was dead set against it, but then on a visit [that I had to go on against my will] I feel in love with this place! The campus just has this feel of great energy.

    Bang for the buck

    Valpo is expensive. I'm not going to lie to you about that. However, most kids get a LOT of financial aid, and the financial aid office is always here to help you. Plus, it's worth every penny for the things you experience!

    Am enjoying being here

    Valpo is such an open environment! I meet new people all the time, and everyone is so friendly! I walk by people around campus that I don't even know, and they say hi to me and smile! I've had complete strangers ask me how I'm doing on that day. You have your normal debbie downers, but the amount of positive energy around her is amazing.

    Am learning a lot

    Valpo isn't just the place where you learn how to write better, read better, or body systems. You learn about who you are at Valpo. In the short time I've been here, I already feel like this is my home! This is the most amazing place I've ever been and each day I learn something new!

  • 10/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 4 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Valpo is made up of a diverse group of students. For this reason, almost anyone could fit in here. However, if you like to be involved, serve your community, travel the world, meet some amazing people, and want to simply make a difference, then Valpo is definitely for you!!

    Tips for prospective students

    The advice I would give any prospective student is to look around at several colleges (both big and small, public and private, instate and out). This comparison can really help, so go and visit the schools as well. Making the actual decision can be very stressful, but just weight all of your options and pick the college which fits you best and where you truly feel like yourself at!

    Bang for the buck

    Going to college anywhere is extremely expensive, especially to a private university. However, it is the private schools who tend to give out more scholarships, making them more reasonable compared to public institutions. Valpo offers many scholarships, especially to those early applicants. So don't be intimidated by the sticker price because that is not at all what you will actually be paying. I feel that by going to a private college you get more one-on-one attention and are not just seen as a number. Therefore, I feel the payoff is well worth the few extra dollars in the end.

    Am enjoying being here

    I just started here at Valpo only a few months ago and I already feel at home. The people here are friendly and always inviting. Everyone seems to be very involved in the numerous activities, organizations, and service projects offered here and I love the sense of community all the students and faculty have for one another.

    Am learning a lot

    I love the learning environment here at Valpo! The professors are so nice and very approachable. They set their own office hours for students to come talk with them and most have an open door policy. Several help sessions are available if needed and there is a great tutoring program through the library also. The classes here are truly interesting and very engaging, which makes you actually want to go to class! I can honestly say that Valparaiso University provides a student with a fantastic education, and more importantly, with a desire to learn!

  • 12/06/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 5 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for any type of student.

    Tips for prospective students

    I think when you get here it is easy to get off on a bad foot because for the first time you don't have your parents telling you what to do. If you stay focused it is not that much harder than high school. It is just going to be a little bit more reading, and you have to get used to shorter school days, and you might have classes at night. If you fall behing go for help as soon as you get confused.

    Bang for the buck

    I think our education is pretty good for the money, and Valpo gives out gift aid, and they have a lot of grants to offer.

    Am enjoying being here

    I like Valpo, for most people here they are 2 hours or ess from home. Everyone here i always very nice and helpful. You can always find something to do, school related or not.

    Am learning a lot

    I am a current student at Valpo, we having amazing oppurtunities here. You always have a chance to speak to your teachers one on one. I am in one of the few classes with 150 students and the teache still knows us by name. Everyone is here to help you even your peers are very helpful. The classes are hard its a step up from high school but it is not too bad.

  • 11/04/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 5 people found this review useful. 6 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Every and any type of student can find a niche here at Valparaiso University. When you hear people say there's something for everyone, it doesn't always apply, but at Valpo, it DEFINITELY does! There are clubs, there are fantastic academic programs, there are activities, there are events! There are SO many opportunities for anyone to get involved here and find a home in Valparaiso University.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't wait on applying! Prepare and prepare some more! Start saving and start thinking about what you want to do. Email any prospective professors and schedule a meeting with them to discuss your academic future. Come for a campus tour, eat in the dining hall, and meet students that are currently enrolled. Ask them their opinions, see what they think. Try to get a feel for the wonderful environment of this campus. Experience it first hand by sitting in on a class and observing the teacher/student interaction. ASK QUESTIONS!! Lastly, be excited! You're about to start a new and glorious chapter in your life, and Valparaiso University is a GREAT place to do that!

    Bang for the buck

    The expense of Valpo is by no means cheap, but it's not impossible. Valpo offers a fantastic financial aid department with advisors that are devoted to helping you find as much as you can to help pay for school and make things easier for you. They are clear and patient, and they are always willing to sit down and explain everything in detail to anyone that asks.

    Am enjoying being here

    There's a lot to do around campus at Valparaiso University. Not only do we have a phenomenal residential life staff, we also have a University President that is very engaged in the community. He wants to see us do well academically, but he also wants us to enjoy the time that we spend here. We have many campus events that range from concerts (with performances by Relient K, The Academy Is, Kris Allen, and many more!) to ice cream socials. The best part is that the people on campus are fun and exciting. Everyone is enthusiastic about the things they are involved in, and everyone likes to be involved. There's almost never a dull moment.

    Am learning a lot

    Valpo U not only offers a lot, the professors here make sure that you are reaping ALL the benefits that are offered. With small classes and dedicated educators, you can't go wrong here. The professors and the administration here are absolutely amazing. They do their best to see you through and are always willing to lend a helping hand or give you some extremely helpful advice. No student is ever left behind here. The curriculum at this institution is fantastic, and it prepares each student for what they will encounter in their chosen career paths. When I graduate from Valparaiso University, I know that I will be confident in my ability to not only succeed but to excel in my profession.

  • 01/19/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Valparaiso's Engineering Department is great! I've been learning so much already, and I'm only halfway through my freshman year!

    Am enjoying being here

    There are so many nice people here. I don't see myself as someone who is very good at making friends, but I met a lot of great people right from the start!

  • 04/13/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who like to have one on one time with a teacher, small classes, and who like to have hands on experience with the subjects they're studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the university! You will decide after an overnight stay if Valpo is right for you. Also, work hard your senior year. If you struggled with your GPA like I did over the previous years, the positive grades will help with deciding if you can handle the work at the university.

    Bang for the buck

    For as much as we're paying for the education, we're getting the attention and experience we need. As a Met major, I'm so excited to be in the weather lab, and gaining field experience. The professors want their students to succeed. It's really hard to find flaws at the university.

    Will enjoy being here

    Everyone on the campus was welcoming and friendly. The campus has so much to offer to everyone, and even if you're in the dorm for the night, most people leave their doors open and come in to visit with you. It's hard to be bored on campus.

    Will learn a lot

    The lecture I sat in on was informational, even though I had never taken any of the classes before. It was a small classroom. The professor was very friendly and easy going. The class was like sitting in a high school classroom: simple, slow, active, and informational.

  • 01/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Have a good attitude and be open to making new friends and trying new things. There is always something to be involved in and having that mentality will help keep you wanting to be apart of university life.

    In three sentences

    Valpo is a small campus but because of its size there is a close knit community of students and faculty. If you are looking for a friendly environment and challenging work Valpo is for you.

  • 02/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    extremely safe!

    Greek Life

    very nice fraternities and great greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    lots of fun things to do.

    Great for these types of students

    asians.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we have a terrible football team.

    Bang for the buck

    very expensive.

    What to do for fun

    go to the fraternities and have fun!

    Food and Dining

    lots of great restaurants and lots of bars.

    Dorm Life

    the ra's are a bit strict at times and you get fined for a messy hall.

    Academic Rigor

    core will be the death of you. just stick with it while you can and it gets better.

    Tips for prospective students

    have fun and make sure you get the best professors by talking to older students.

    In three sentences

    valparaiso university is a very small campus with an up-and-coming international program. everyone is very nice and respectful. the small class sizes ensure you get the education you need.

  • 03/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe.

    Greek Life

    highly recommended

    Clubs and Activities

    plenty to do, d1 and intramural sports.

    Great for these types of students

    all types, but probably not the best for wild parties.

    Bang for the buck

    good academics and lots of help with internships and jobs after graduation.

    What to do for fun

    soccer and basketball teams each won horizon league this year, fraternities provide a good social experience.

    Food and Dining

    food is good.

    Dorm Life

    not bad, will be nice when the new dorms are built.

    Academic Rigor

    more work than high school, but good access to profs, formal and informal study groups and tables.

    Tips for prospective students

    visit, ask questions, apply for scholarships.

    In three sentences

    great engineering and meterology programs. nice small school atmosphere with good interaction with professors, friendly students, good choice for school.

  • 06/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The VUPD have a place right on campus, there are squad cars always close, and there are alert buttons within view wherever you are on campus.

    Greek Life

    They throw some fun dance parties at the fraternity houses. There are no sorority housing but they are just as fun.

    Clubs and Activities

    You are never bored because there is always something to do on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to get the most out of the whole college experience. Also for someone who would like to have a big enough college that you will not know every one on campus but small enough that you will run into your friends quite often.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We ring the victory bell after we win a basketball game outside of the ARC. Anyone can just go up and ring it so that is something to do.

    Bang for the buck

    Since Valpo is a private school it is by no means cheap. But then again college never is. The financial aid at Valpo is very helpful the school will always find a way for someone who really wants to go to attend. The university also has many scholarship opportunities to gain scholarships based on grades, athletics and other categories. I fully believe that Valpo is a great school to attend even with the expense.

    What to do for fun

    Athletic events always are fun to go with, especially the basketball games. Going out on weekends to places in town or even staying on campus and seeing an event in the VUCA. There is sand volleyball and lots of Frisbee. When I do not want to go out of the dorm even I can always count on someone wanting to have a movie night or just a get together in a room.

    Food and Dining

    Food at school is always good. I never walk into the union and do not find at least one thing that I would not eat. It is also nice having the cafe just for some fast food or for snacks. The lunch ladies are always so nice and make my day just that more special. The only complaint I have about the food is that it is expensive and you have to watch your meal plan money carefully so it lasts the whole year.

    Dorm Life

    I loved my dorm! I made most of my good friends living in the dorms and it was great knowing i could walk down my hall and I could go to just about any room and have a friend there. Rooms themselves are a bit small and do not block out sound but I got used to it and it did not bother me after a while.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not just a breeze to get through. Each class takes up a lot of time outside of the classroom. The grading scale is quite harsh and nothing is graded on a curve or boosted like high school. It is hard but it is definitely worth it to see your hard work pay off for a good grade in the end.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors and take advantage of the study sessions that they provide. It will really help with the classes and your grades. Also, pack a lot of warm clothes and some good snow boots. That lake effect snow is not merciful to anyone.

    In three sentences

    Filled with very experienced and helpful professors. Just about everything ever needed is on campus or nearby. People who want you to succeed.

  • 09/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    VUPD is always on patrol. They crack down on parties often, like almost every weekend. VUPD will email alerts if suspicious activity is occurring or bad weather is coming up. Violence rarely occurs on campus, definitely not murders. There was an attempt at rape in 2011, but the perp was not a student. Theft occurs occasionally, but not too often.

    Greek Life

    Excellent Greek Life system! It's not like the ones at large universities. Greek Life is very personal. You will get to know everyone in your chapter by name, and you will get to know them very well. VU has a strict no hazing policy, where any chapter that breaks this rule is disaffiliated and cannot exist as a chapter on campus anymore. Greek Life provides many ways to volunteer within the Valparaiso community. In addition, you will enhance your leadership skills.

    Clubs and Activities

    about 32 clubs on campus! Some are more involved than others, so talk to members of clubs you're interested in and see how involved they are. The Union's Activities Board plans a lot of fun events each month. There are free food events, movie nights, and Valpo After Dark, where there are games, prizes, and inflatable obstacle courses. Very fun!

    Great for these types of students

    Those who want to get involved and those who want to work on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a small graveyard on the Law School's grounds, which holds the 2 graves of the university's dog mascots from the early 1900s. There is a bridge called the Kissing Bridge, which is a romantic place to take your boyfriend/girlfriend for a walk or a picnic, day or night.

    Bang for the buck

    Valparaiso University will try to get as much money as they can out of you. There are always fundraisers going on, put on by various organizations, student and staff run. The meal plan and living in the dorms is expensive. Both are not worth your money, but you have to buy into a meal plan your freshman year, and you have to live in the dorms until you have junior status. The bookstore is rather expensive too, but you can get some great deals on the clearance racks.

    What to do for fun

    Go to Chicago by train! The South Shore line is 30 minutes away. Train tickets are about $8 one way. Near the South Shore line are the Dunes, which is a great place to hang out on the beach. There are several spots to enjoy the beach. There is an outdoor and indoor movie theater nearby. The closest mall is in Merrilville, which is about 20 minutes away. There a bunch of different restaurants around!

    Food and Dining

    Some of the food is delicious, and some of it is terrible. Depends on the dish and if you get there when it's fresh. Lots of onions and carbohydrates are used. The meal plan is rather expensive. It is definitely cheaper to buy your own groceries.

    Dorm Life

    No air conditioning in the older buildings, except for the RLC offices. Some of the old ones have had mold and bad leaks from the roof in the past. New apartments are currently being rebuilt, and many old dorms were updated this year. Still, the dorm rooms in Brandt, Scheele, Lankenau, and Alumni are very small. The ones in Guild/Memorial are decent size. The Uptown East apartments are nice, but unnecessarily expensive.

    Academic Rigor

    Some professors have excellent teaching while others do not. Some departments offer more challenging coursework than others. For instance, the engineering and nursing schools have very rigorous schedules, while the communications and classic majors have a rather lax schedule.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask about things to do on the weekends. Talk to a faculty member within the department you are considering majoring in. Talk to the students and ask for their real opinions about the school. Eat the cafeteria food, since you'll be eating a lot of it.

    In three sentences

    Valparaiso University is a larger small university that emphasizes community and living by upstanding virtues and morals. It offers a challenging academic curriculum, yet some departments are academically stronger than others. The location is ideal for those who like to visit Chicago and the Michigan Lake Dunes.

  • 11/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe; I have never encountered any uneasiness or bad situations while at Valpo.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is very important here and there is a well formed bond between the sororities and frats.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many clubs to choose from and very easy to make friends.

    Great for these types of students

    Engineers Nursing Students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One unusual tradition that Valpo has is every year in the beginning of the school year the men's swim team will run through the freshmen dorms and through the union in their speedos. Then they will take to the lawn and do stretching exercises for all of the students to see during dinner.

    Bang for the buck

    I would say if you really want to get a fine education out of this college you should come here for engineering, nursing, or meteorology. These programs in specific have very intelligent professors who are very good at teaching to all kinds of students.

    What to do for fun

    The campus offers a lot of fun activities. The school has a comedy group, UPC (which puts on a lot of entertainment events), and greek life offer so many interesting events. The university always has people coming to talk at the school or seminars and classes going on.

    Food and Dining

    The Union has the best food and always has a variety. They even put on cultural days and have certain foods dedicated to a specific culture.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm living is an amazing experience. Meeting new people and just having a sense of community is very important and Valpo offers that to their students.

    Academic Rigor

    Valpo expects a lot out of their students and if you are willing to put in the effort you will see the results.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you want to attend a small college before you come to Valparaiso because you will basically get to know everyone on campus.

    In three sentences

    Valparaiso University has been an amazing college with professors who offer a lot of support to their students and who really care for you on an individual basis. The community here is like none I have ever been apart of; the students are so understanding of one another and accepting. The school is also very good at getting the community involved in what is going on at the campus and developing strong bonds within the Valparaiso community.

  • 11/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never had any problems or issues dealing with safety here. They are very good about protecting their students.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is big here although not everyone is a part of it. You do not need to be a part of greek life to have fun. I am not a part of greek life and still have friends in greek life and still have fun on the weekends.

    Clubs and Activities

    Get involved in many clubs and activities. They are a great way to meet new people and occupy your down time.

    Bang for the buck

    Valpo is pricey, but from experience I would not trade it for the world. I left Valpo to save money but decided to come back because I have had the best experience anyone could imagine.

    What to do for fun

    You are close to Chicago so there is always that option. Otherwise there are regular parties on the weekend, you just have to know the right people. There are a couple good bars to go to, and also the movies or shopping could be an option.

    Food and Dining

    Food is typical college food. There are different stations that provide different varieties of food. It is not bad just gets old after a while.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman dorms suck, but which ones don't. Memorial/Guild dorms are awesome, I had the best times there. Tons of fun and always lots of people around. As a junior you can get into Uptown East apartments, they are ridiculously nice for a college student and a little pricey. You get your own bathroom and walk in closet which is very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are challenging but not impossible. If you keep up with your studies and go to class you will do just fine! Certain majors are definitely more difficult than others. Biology is very tough here, and if you take it, plan on it taking over your life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Valpo is a great school with a smaller environment. The students and teachers are great here. They are very friendly and very helpful throughout your years. It is super easy to make great friends here that you can keep. The campus is a perfect size and the bus system is awesome.

    In three sentences

    Valpo is a great school for students who like smaller environments. Teachers know who you are personally and care about you on a different level. Party scene is how you make it, I always have fun!

  • 02/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe. Safety is one of the number one priorities. VUPD is the university's own police department. They are there whenever you need them. Also, the Valpo Late Van is only a call away. It is a van that will pick, you up wherever you are on campus and take you wherever you need to go.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is amazing here at Valpo. No one is excluded. Actually approximately 80 percent of the students at Valpo are a part of Greek Life. Even if you're not a part of it you are always welcome to any activity that they are sponsoring. Greek Life is also very strong in its volunteer work.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are SO many clubs and activities to be a part of. Greek Life is one amazing thing to be a part of. UPC (the University Programming Council) is always putting on events so there are plenty of activities. Also, we have plenty of organizations that everyone will find something that is the right fit for them.

    Great for these types of students

    Someone who wants a smaller campus, but not so small that everybody knows everybody. Someone who wants to really be part of a community. Any major but the nursing, meteorology, and engineering programs are especially great!

    Bang for the buck

    Not going to lie, Valpo is really expensive. However, for me personally it is totally worth the cost. Valpo has such a great environment to live, work, and learn in. All the professors and staff seem to really care about the students and the academics are fantastic.

    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do for fun. Downtown Valpo is just a short walk away and there are plenty of shops there. The game room in the union is also a great place to go and have fun. UPC is always putting on some fun event to participate in. Also, the frats throw plenty of parties on the weekends which are also fun to attend.

    Food and Dining

    The food is actually really good. There is a variety of choices and they do accommodate anyone with food allergies or have special dining needs. I work in dining services and everyone is extremely friendly. There are plenty of healthy options as well.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms here are pretty nice. They are smaller than some, but still comfortable. Most of the people in my dorm are really nice and friendly and just great to be around. The RA's are exceptional and are always a great help. The RLC for my dorm is great as well.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here are great. I am currently in the nursing program so I can attest to the amazing nursing program Valpo has. It is academically challenging, but not too hard where you cannot succed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just be yourself Try your hardest and you will succeed Don't be afraid to go out and get involved.

    In three sentences

    Valparaiso is an absolutely beautiful campus. It is a very community based school and everyone here makes you feel like you're a part of the Valpo family. The teachers and professors are great and with smaller class sizes many know you personally by first name.

  • 12/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for everyone from the nerdy to the highly spiritual. If you're looking for a place to be silly and let your nerd side hang out we have groups who play dungeons and dragons and a huge game of Humans vs. Zombies every semester. We have traditional and contemporary masses, some clubs and a great student body. If you don't think you can be open minded, this is not the school for you. We're a pretty diverse group of ideas and people.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come and visit first. The dorms aren't the greatest, particularly the freshmen ones. There is construction taking place all over campus and there are plans to start increasing enrollment. However, this won't take place for a while. Construction on a new academic and office buildings are taking place now with plans for new student housing to follow. Ask lots of questions and don't be afraid to ask different people the same question; everyone has different opinions. If you are accepted into Christ College, it's a lot of work. You lose your Friday nights freshman year and while the credit load for it drops off for it as you move up, the classes do not get easier. Consider carefully whether you can commit to the extra work. Most of the classes do double count to allow you to knock out Gen. Eds. so there is a reward for the extra work. Just be sure you can balance it out.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm getting a great education, even if it is on the expensive side. Valpo does offer a lot of financial aid, but it's still an expensive school. Think carefully on whether you can afford the school. I've seen several people need to drop for financial reasons.

    Am enjoying being here

    The community is wonderful. Even though it's a Lutheran school, you do not need to be Lutheran to attend. I, myself, am Catholic. It doesn't matter your denomination, you can find a niche here. I have friends who grew up with no religion at home who have found a relationship with God here and others who haven't attended a mass since coming here. If you are religious, there are so many opportunities to be spiritual. We have 'Chapel Break' every day at 11 am, but most people end up using that time to get lunch. There is 'Celebrate' which is a contemporary service at 10 pm on Wednesdays and 'Candlelight,' a more traditional service, at the same time on Sundays. I've met people from all of the colleges here and everyone is so welcoming and understanding. The Catholic student center is full of people and they love to feed you. You make friends with people you never would have met outside of this unique atmosphere.

    Am learning a lot

    I am a Chemistry and Biology double major and the classes are challenging and interesting. I feel the chemistry department is superior to the biology department and that has driven my interest in graduate programs toward that end of my degree spectrum.

  • 02/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 50

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are a lot of things nearby like shopping and restaurants.

    Food and Dining

    service is usually great and the food is prepared well.

    Dorm Life

    depending on which dorm you live in it is a good experience to meet new people and hang out. it is about the size of a normal bedroom at my house so it's sometimes hard to share. it isn't bad though.

    Academic Rigor

    some classes are more challenging compared to others.

  • 02/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I've heard that before a large exam or test, some students go to the old campus and visit the grave of the founder's dog. There, they kiss the headstone for luck.

    Bang for the buck

    I love how at home I feel at valpo. Everybody here is extremely nice, and I feel like I fit in in a way I didn't in high school. however, Valpo is extremely expensive. They do offer generous scholarships, but I've still had to pay over ten thousand dollars of my own money for one year of schooling--and that's without the extra eight thousand it costs to live on campus! If you can afford it, I would highly recommend Valpo, but if you're looking for a cheaper school, perhaps this isn't the right college for you.

    What to do for fun

    Valparaiso University is extremely close to downtown Valparaiso. Downtown is small, but there are fun things to do. There are plays and small concerts hosted in the amphitheater in the park. There's a wonderful cupcake shop that's reasonably priced and very good. There are a ton of restaurants, both expensive and more reasonably priced. There's a candy shop, a dress shop, retail shops, and other fun things to do. A little further east from downtown is the new town of Valpo, where you have big shopping centers, like Target, Walmart, JCPenny's, Barnes and Noble, and Best Buy. There are also more restaurants and little shops there, too.

    Food and Dining

    I don't ever eat on campus, preferring to eat my meals at home or at local restaurants. I've heard that the cafe and cafeteria are very accommodating though.

    Dorm Life

    I've heard a lot of bad things about dorm life. The rooms are small, too hot in the summer and too cold in the winter. I've heard of power outages, odd smells, and raccoon infestations. I've heard that the $8,000+ price tag on a little box isn't worth it.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor depends on which professors you get. Obviously, some are better than others. My first year here, I had excellent professors and excellent classes. My second year? Not so much. Two out of my five professors do not lecture well, and I've found myself struggling to stay awake.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're going to attend Valpo, I would highly recommend you find some way to live on or extremely near college. I have an hours commute just to the school, and i feel as if I'm not receiving the full college experience.

    In three sentences

    Valparaiso is a rather small campus with a homey feel. The students are nice, as are the professors and advisers. However, it is very expensive, so unless you can afford to get multiple scholarships, a closer-to-home, cheaper college might be better for you.

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel extremely safe on campus. The VUPD and emergency stations around campus make this a safe campus. I have never felt in danger.

    Greek Life

    Many students on campus are involved in greek life. I am not, and do not feel excluded at all. There is a good amount of students who rush and who don't.

    Great for these types of students

    athletic, out-going, interested in greek life

    Bang for the buck

    Very expensive, but with scholarships, it makes Valpo completely worth it. I love my classes and the environment.

    What to do for fun

    Go to sports games, numerous frat parties, game room in the union, planned trips to Chicago of the Dunes.

    Food and Dining

    Great variety of options, but still not like food at home. Good selection of junk food to healthy food.

    Dorm Life

    Met some great friends that I will have for life! The rooms are kind of small though.

    Academic Rigor

    Freshmen year provided me with some very intense classes, along with some less challenging classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Experience it all! Go to basketball games, meet new people, take advantage of worship opportunities, and have fun. Everyone will be stressed at some point, but it's the good times that will get you through college.

    In three sentences

    Valparaiso University offers a great environment that is welcoming, helpful, and energetic. It has great opportunities to study many different subjects, while providing a Christian community. The extracurricular events are great, along with great sports teams!

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    21 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has a very safe feel to it. I know I'll never get stuck anywhere because the school offers transportation from the city to campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is an unbelievable amount of clubs and activities at Valparaiso University; I can't wait to join the fun clubs they have to offer.

    Bang for the buck

    Valpo is most definitely worth the money. The classes are great, the campus life is great, and the food is awesome. Everything about Valpo is worth every penny.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot to do on and off campus, which is great. I can't stress enough how much there is to do. Not only is there a lot to do in the dorms and on campus, but the city of Valparaiso has a lot of fun things to do. The campus isn't very far from Indiana Dunes, which is great!

    Food and Dining

    The food is excellent. Enough said.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life seems great. Although the dorms are a bit small, there is a lot to do on and off campus. I don't think it's possible for a student to become bored.

    Tips for prospective students

    Valpo has great academics, so I advise any prospective student to prepare themselves for the hard work in the classes.

    In three sentences

    Valparaiso University has a beautiful campus. The students and faculty are very welcoming, and they all made me feel at home during my campus visit. I can't wait to start college in the fall!

  • 06/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 50

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Valpo is an amazing school with amazing people and faculty. It has a wonderful learning atmosphere. I highly recomend attending Valpo.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 50

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a downtown shopping area that is about a 10-15min walk. Also a mall that is about a 20min drive away.

    In three sentences

    I think this is an excellent school to attend. They have a varitey of courses to pick from that are interesting and also fun. I would rate it a 10.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 50

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I attend the law school at Valparaiso. It is an excellent school. Everyone there is extremely helpful.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are emergency towers throughout the campus for students to call police in case of an emergency. University police are constantly on duty to ensure safety. Also, vans are provided for transportation on campus so students don't have to walk.

    Greek Life

    Sororities and fraternities at Valpo are not the stereotypical Greeks. Greek Life accepts and thrives in diversity. They offer a lot of activities to participate in, and encourage new friendships and self-growth.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a variety of clubs to get involved in, such as theatre, foreign language clubs, engineering, College Mentors for Kids, activist clubs, and many more. There are plenty of activities to keep students busy.

    Bang for the buck

    This university is very expensive, but almost all students receive generous scholarships to attend.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of activities to do at Valpo to have fun. There are various clubs, theatre, intramural sports,

    Food and Dining

    There are not a lot of choices for food, and it's hard to eat healthy. However, the staff at the dining hall is very friendly and the big meals they have for holidays are fun.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms are rather small with the rollout beds. However, it is a great environment to live in. Everyone on my floor was close, and the RA's are very friendly and helpful.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, but most professors provide all the help you need to succeed in the class. The homework load of most classes is reasonable, and the work really makes you think, rather than just being busy work.

    Tips for prospective students

    A overnight visit to the school is the best way to finalize your decision. That is when a student really gets the feel of what the school is all about.

    In three sentences

    Valparaiso University is a small college with a community-feel. It has all the perks of a large school, though. It offers a variety of majors and activities to participate in, helping to make the students feel like they belong.

  • 10/21/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    26 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food at Valpo is great. They have every food imaginable there: pizza to stir fry to burgers to salad, etc. They also have a resident chef who cooks the food onsite, so it's never a cold or stale meal. Also, all of the items are a la carte so you won't waste your money by paying for a whole meal that you don't want.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are like any other dorms at a college: small. However, the life is a bit different. It becomes your home away from home. Being that my best friend goes there, he says it's like having a whole building of friends he can talk to and hang out with.

    Academic Rigor

    Valpo is there to challenge a student's mind. Especially if the student is accepted into Christ College, the Honors College at Valpo, the student will go through academically rigorous courses. However, if the student needs help, there are many tutoring centers run by both faculty and students that can offer their knowledge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go on one of Valpo's Visit Days because they make sure you know everything about the school, student life, about the Honors College (Christ College), and even about sports. Always test the food at a college, and luckily Valpo has a resident chef on campus, so the food there is pretty great. It's a short drive to Chicago, so weekends at Valpo aren't too boring.

    In three sentences

    It's a gorgeous campus with some awesome food at Harre Union. The professors are there to ensure your personal success. It's worth the tuition!

  • 11/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Valparaiso is very big on Greek Life, but you don't feel like you have to be a part of it if that's not your thing.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of organizations that set up free activities, and there are also plenty of parties that have small entry fees like $1-2. All the money from those parties are donated to charities, so it makes it worth it!

    Tips for prospective students

    Valparaiso is a pricier school, so definitely try to find all the financial aid you can.

    In three sentences

    Valparaiso University is a smaller school which makes it much easier to connect with other students. In general, it is a very social school but that isn't to say that academics are ignored. However, the Chinese program, which I am currently a part of, is not up to my standards and I would not recommend this school to those seeking a Chinese degree.

  • 12/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 28 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    VUPD is a joke lol

    Greek Life

    I'm president of my fraternity. It's the only reason why I stayed. However, I still think the Greek Life is pathetic however. Literally every single event has to be documented and alcohol free. They just make everything much more difficult than it needs to be.

    Clubs and Activities

    Good amount of clubs and activities through the school.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that don't like to go out and socialize.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It;s a dry campus. No drinking.

    Bang for the buck

    If you can get aid and scholarships from them you can be alright. Otherwise tuition is up to around $40,000/yr.

    What to do for fun

    Not much unless you're into humans vs. zombies. Not many big parties also.

    Food and Dining

    Food is disgusting after a while. A lot of saturated fat. But all colleges are like this.

    Dorm Life

    Decent. You have sinks in your rooms. Pretty nasty shared showers and bathrooms for each wing.

    Academic Rigor

    Very hard academically in the College of Engineering. Other majors are a lot easier although.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to make new friends and expand your horizon.

    In three sentences

    Very good school academically. Little or no social life although it's getting better. Clean, good looking campus.

  • 02/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I haven't really heard of any crime here, but there are blue poles throughout campus where you can call campus security from if you want an escort. Dorms are locked 24/7 and there is a desk attendant on duty starting at 7pm.

    Greek Life

    Great for everyone. If you want to go Greek there are plenty of fraternities and sororities ready to recruit, or if you don't that is perfectly acceptable too. No hard feelings either way.

    Great for these types of students

    Meteorology, Business, Nursing, Pre-med, Pre-law, Engineering, Social Work, Art, Foreign languages, Basically everything.

    Bang for the buck

    Its expensive, but if you can afford it its worth every penny. If you talk to financial aid they will do their best to make it affordable. Most profs are fantastic and can teach from experience. There are a few iffy profs. but they can easily be avoided.

    What to do for fun

    There is almost always something going on on-campus. Social dance lessons, Zumba, sports, we have our own little art museum on campus. Also ping pong and Foosball and pool in dorms and in the union.

    Food and Dining

    Campus Cafe, Founders (main cafeteria) and Grinders (like Starbucks). Cafe has pizza, chicken strips, sandwiches, fresh fruit, smoothies, coffee, tea, bottled drinks, cases of pop, frozen dinners, pizza rolls, bread, PB&J, chips, even soap, shampoo, and other essentials. Founders always has pizza, pasta, and our own version of Subway. Also a Mexican place, burger place, salad bar, and more home-made section. Food quality is pretty good, no major complaints.

    Dorm Life

    You cannot move the furniture in the freshman dorms and there is no air either. Dorms are co-ed by floor, each floor has a lounge with a tv, microwave, toaster, etc. Most buildings have a kitchen, all dorms have laundry in the basement (laundry will be included in tuition starting 2013-2014 school year). Cable hook up in every room. Plenty of floor and building events to get to know the people you are living with. But once you make it through freshman year dorms get way better.

    Academic Rigor

    You will be required to attend events, speeches, movies, etc. and write small informal papers about them in addition to regular in class work. Most classes aren't too complicated but if you get one that is, the profs are great. You get home and cell numbers, e-mail, office hours, etc. If you are struggling you can go to your prof., or we have free tutors for just about everything.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet as many Profs. as you can. Sit in on class, talk to professors, really take the time to make those connections. They will remember you in class and it makes class more enjoyable.

    In three sentences

    Valpo has something for everyone. Close to the big city (Chicago), the beach and dunes (Lake Michigan), and the country side. Not too small but you will almost always see someone you know, student or prof., while walking to class, lunch, or whatever else.

  • 02/15/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    30 of 50

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there is a lot to do in the surrounding neighborhood. plus, the neighborhood is safe, so its cool to even just go for a walk!

    Food and Dining

    delicious!

    Dorm Life

    everyone seemed really nice and the roommates were paired well together

    Academic Rigor

    intense, but doable

    Tips for prospective students

    I would look at you major and see if Valpo offers it. Then look at how that program is at Valpo.

    In three sentences

    Overall, I really liked Valpo. It had a beautiful campus and everyone there seemed really nice.

  • 02/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus seems to be pretty safe, but I'm not too sure about statistics.

    Greek Life

    There aren't a lot of fraternity/sorority options for minorities either. There frats and sorors that we have a predominantly Caucasian, but they try to be inclusive of everyone.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are different clubs and activities, but not a lot for minorities. All the minority orgs. are under the Office of Multicultural Affairs.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who like small class settings and small schools in general. There is a good Business, Nursing, and Engineering program here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Valpo is a Lutheran school.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a dry campus, and not a big partying school. So if that's what you're into, then I wouldn't recommend Valpo. Since I don't drink or go to parties, I'm okay with it. However, I wish there were more fun (non lamish) activities to go to during the school year.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, I leave campus and go home. There's not much to do around campus unless you have your own car, or you wait for the VLine transportation that runs in the afternoons and nights.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is okay. There isn't a lot of variety, but most of the variety comes from the big cafe called Founders. It's not too much to talk about, but since I know how it used to be Founders is a step up.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is between two and half to three stars. Most of the dorms are out of date, so they need remodeling and fixing. However, the school puts most of its money into new buildings, because they rarely have say so over donor's money.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic courses offered are pretty good. There is a wide variety that you can choose from, however if some courses are mandatory that you might not ever use.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research the school well and research the professors that you're thinking about taking on ratemyprofessor.com before your course list is final.

    In three sentences

    Valparaiso (Valpo for short) is a good small school, and their faculty (for the most part) are very helpful. The school doesn't offer a lot of activities for minority student, but it claims that it is very diverse. It would be a good school for people who are used to being in small school environments.

  • 03/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus has its own police called VUPD that patrol campus 24 hours a day 7 days a week. There are also emergency stations all over campus.

    Greek Life

    A large majority of campus is Greek Life and it is a great opportunity. The woman and men in Greek Life are not like anything you see in movies. They are respectable people that do philanthropy and have fun. No one is forced to join or will be looked down upon if you dont join.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am involved in Greek Life and also the choir.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for any student that is committed.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a chapel on campus that is lutheran. Every dat at 11:00am on week days, there is chapel break where you can go to the chapel and have church for a half hour or it is a time where students get to relax and go get something to eat. The chapel is not a place you are forced to go to by any means.

    Bang for the buck

    It is expensive but you are definitely getting what you paid for

    What to do for fun

    There are sports events happening all the time, uptown there are a bunch of restaurants, a movie theater

    Food and Dining

    The food overall is very good. However, it does get a little old after a while. I can definitely say I cant wait to go home and have my moms food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life can be a little difficult. The walls are rather thin but overall, it is great.

    Academic Rigor

    It is great. The teachers really care about their students and will help you whenever you need it. They are really easy to get ahold of and meet with.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to study hard and to be very focused when you get here.

    In three sentences

    Beneficial Helpful Caring

  • 04/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel so safe on campus. There are these blue post things that you are placed around campus that you can go to if something is wrong and the send VUPD (valpo university Police Department) there right away. The officers at VUPD are great guys too, super friendly and helpful and are all experienced cops from elsewhere (not old guys either).

    What to do for fun

    The mall is not very far, there is a theatre that you can take a bus to. Night life is fun on campus too.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, but can get a bit repetitive, and there aren't a ton of on campus food/dining options.

    Dorm Life

    There is mandatory freshman dorms that are OK, but the dorms for upperclassmen are fantastic. Worth the wait through freshman year.

    Academic Rigor

    The Gen Ed's are normal college level, the upper level classes get a little tougher, but the teachers are fabulous and willing to help and want you to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want a small school, but don't want to feel claustrophobic, Valpo is the perfect place to consider.

    In three sentences

    I love how close knit the community is. Teachers know me outside of class. It's a small campus which I love you, but I'm still meeting new people every single day!

  • 04/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is campus police and emergency towers everywhere. We have a night bus funded by the University and its a safe place to begin with and a strong emergency alert system.

    Greek Life

    Popular. Great way to Network.

    Clubs and Activities

    Anything you can imagine is here.

    Great for these types of students

    Engineering and Nursing and Business Students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Convocation is a Welcome ceremony for Freshman and it is very welcoming. It helps you feel at home.

    What to do for fun

    There are all kinds of little shops in Uptown Valpo. There is also the movie theatre and the Zao's Island. All great things to do with friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come and visit. This school will surprise you.

    In three sentences

    Valparaiso in a small community. All are welcomed with open arms. The academic programs are both engaging and rigorous.

  • 04/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is extremely safe. There has never been anything major happen. They have emergency poles placed everywhere throughout campus, if you are scared you run up to one and press the button, police will be there shortly and all available cameras point in your direction. In addition to that if you have a late night class and don't want to walk back to your dorm in the dark we are a bus system that can pick you up and get email alerts from the police if anything happens around campus like a home robbery.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a great school for students that feel like they don't quite fit in, Valparaiso is constantly trying to change to accommodate people of all types, just recently they've added the welcome program which helps minorities and gay and lesbian people help fit into our school more with many programs and clubs for them to join.

    Food and Dining

    There are lots of dining choices. Valparaiso has founders, which has all of your basic home meals, there is the cafe which has burgers, fries, and pizza all for a quick meal to go, and grinders, which has coffee and pastries in the Library for late nights of studying.

    Dorm Life

    With small dorms filled with students with big hearts it's easy to make lots of friends that you will have for the rest of your life.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are challenging, they help you expand your knowledge with an assortment of classes to fit around your major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to make lots of friends. They're the ones that are going to help you through the year.

    In three sentences

    Valparaiso University is a tremendous school with great people. It is easy to make your home and has great classes and intern opportunities; it helps you get your dream job for after college while preparing you for it.

  • 05/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Overall campus safety is good! For residence halls, you have to have an ID access to get in and after 7 pm you can only get in if you live in that building. If you do not, someone has to sign you in as a guest. Valpo also has there own police department and are driving around a lot especially at night. Valpo also has the blue emergency poles with the emergency buttons all around campus. But when there is a suspicious person on campus or even around campus an email is sent to all students and staff members describing the person.

    Greek Life

    I, myself, am not a part of Greek life but I know several other peers in Greek life. The girls and guys I know that are involved love it! They say that it is fun and enjoyable! There are also music/theatre sororities and fraternities, so there are also plenty of options in Greek life as well. Although some fraternities and sororities have been getting investigated because of suspicious activities of hazing and drugs. Valpo takes these things very seriously and are quick to act upon things like this! The Greek life has improved overall because of the seriousness of discipline Valpo has taken.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of different clubs and activities ranging from music/choirs to sports, intramural or NCAA registered, to a wide variety of clubs. What I also commend Valpo for having is two offices called the Office of Multicultural programs and the Office of International programs!

    Bang for the buck

    The food at the school is quite expensive and a bit outrageous.

    What to do for fun

    What I do for fun is mainly getting involved on campus and go different events that organizations plan. I was an executive member of a club so I was sometimes busier than others but I still went to a lot of other events held on campus. Most of them were quite enjoyable. If not on campus, the movies are near the school, sometimes I shop or go out to eat, or just go outside when the weather permits to play Frisbee or something. The campus can sometimes have nothing going on on the weekends but I me and my friends found ways to entertain ourselves.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not that bad. As a freshman, I didn't really know what to expect. There are changing options but also options stay the same. After a year though, the food is just tiring because the menu doesn't change a whole lot.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life was quite enjoyable for me. I've only lived in a freshman dorm so far, but it still was a great experience. It is usually clean and tidy and if you have a problem in your room, maintenance will be quick to help. You just have to put in a work order and that's easy because it's just a quick email.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are very rigorous but there are plenty of options and assistance for the student to have access to. Many times also, there are plenty of sources for assistance. Valpo is very good in the helping the success of the student.

    Tips for prospective students

    As a prospective student, you should be very open minded to what Valpo has to offer and don't be scared to push yourself out of your comfort zone. When I did that, I only broadened my horizons and experienced many new things.

    In three sentences

    Valparaiso University creates a wonderful environment for students to excel and benefit academically but also socially. They create a good environment connecting the student body to the faculty and vice versa. The only negative I have to say is the constant rising in tuition each year, which puts more stress on the student.

  • 05/18/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    37 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Valpo has its own set of police officers patrolling the grounds; their presence is subtle enough to where it's never alarming. The campus has a series of alarm buttons all throughout to alert the police of any sign of trouble.

    Greek Life

    Valpo offers a Greek Life experience for those willing to partake in it.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's plenty of clubs and activities to join on campus, and each provide you with a valuable experience.

    Great for these types of students

    Valpo is a respectable university for prospective students looking for a valuable education and a wonderful campus life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The ideal location on campus is the chapel with its majestic stained glass windows and unique architecture. It's the perfect place to relax and forget the stressful life of a college student for awhile.

    Bang for the buck

    Valpo offers plenty of on-campus jobs such as working in the library, life-guarding the pool, or working the check-in at the dorms.

    What to do for fun

    Valpo is not a suitcase college, so there's always plenty of people around on the weekends, and plenty of stuff going on. There's sports games open to all of the students, video game tournaments, and movie nights. Excluding the quiet places where you can study, you'll never find yourself completely alone on campus without anything to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food consists of pizza, salad, burgers, and fries, all of which is absolutely delectable. There's plenty to choose from, and it's definitely guaranteed you will be going back for seconds.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms may be a little small, and they're not always sound proof, but they're also a wonderful way to meet people. The lounge is a comfy place to hang out and meet up with the people in your building.

    Academic Rigor

    The classrooms may seem small, but this allows the professors to work hands-on with their students; unlike most colleges where the professor is distant. The academics are to be commended, and the professors maintain a positive, professional relationship with their students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for as many scholarships as you can to make Valpo more affordable. Visit the campus on a tour, and if you have the time, attend the over-night visit. Valparaiso is a wonderful school, but be sure to get a feel for it and see if it's right for you before you make your decision.

    In three sentences

    Valparaiso may seem rather pricey at first, but the staff there is open and friendly, and they're always willing to help. The campus is beautiful, and one can easily feel at home there. The atmosphere is rather welcoming, and integrating oneself into the life of a college student becomes an easy task here.

  • 06/04/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    38 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The total cost is expensive, but most private colleges tend to be pretty expensive. You are getting a fantastic education.

    What to do for fun

    Since I won't be moving onto campus until the fall, I haven't had the chance to really explore the town, but there seems to be fun stuff to do!

    Food and Dining

    Founders Table has lots of dining options.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman dorms could be better.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses seem challenging. They have a great honors college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Submit the FAFSA as soon as possible! Valpo was very generous with financial aid for me!

    In three sentences

    Valparaiso University is a wonderful university for students looking for a small school. All of the faculty and students I have met while visiting campus have been wonderful. There seems to be many ways to get involved on campus.

  • 06/19/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    39 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    VUPD alerts students via email any safety concerns pronto. They crack down harshly on near campus parties. Resident Hall workers crack down on drinking inside dorms, which is against school's policy.

    Greek Life

    Awesome! 25% of students are active in Greek Life. Great way to make connections and develop personal and professional skills. Great way to get involved in community and on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs and activities. Many different ways to get involved. Something for everybody. Most students are involved in at least one club or activity.

    Bang for the buck

    Some restaurants offer 10% or 5% student discounts--not much. Have to hear by word-of-mouth what bars have best drink specials on particular days. There is a Dollar General across from campus.

    What to do for fun

    Town doesn't offer much. You can drive to the Dunes, which is 30 minutes away. There are a few bars, most not within a reasonable walking distance. Ice skating is a ten minute drive. A drive-in movie theater and an indoor movie theater are within a ten minute drive, in opposite directions. Most students stay on campus and create their own fun.

    Food and Dining

    Food is expensive and mediocre at best. Sometimes the food is cold. Other times it just doesn't taste like it should. Onions are used in many meals.

    Dorm Life

    Most dorms are from the 1960s. Some leak water and/or have mold. Rooms are really warm in the winter and moderately cool in summer. Sometimes the rooms are hot in the summer.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the class and the teacher.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask about jobs where students can work--there are plenty of opportunities to work. Ask about what students do for fun on the weekends and during the week when not attending class.

    In three sentences

    This university opens students' eyes to a variety of cultures without forcing culture down a student's throat. Tuition is expensive, but scholarships are available, but most are for those within the Lutheran circle. The town itself doesn't offer much entertainment to college students, but the campus offers a variety of activities and clubs that the student and participate in.

  • 07/14/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    40 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Valparaiso is great for students who want to study and make a lot out of their education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They take you to a short path that they claim is haunted. They also had us kiss a headstone.

    What to do for fun

    There is a welcome week that they have as the school year begins and there is free food, concerts, and parties! Plus, there is a bus that can take you to the movies.

    Food and Dining

    The food was delicious during orientation! Lots of choices!

    Dorm Life

    The dorm rooms are really small and there isn't any air conditioning in the freshman halls.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard in your classes to make a higher GPA. Actually try on your SAT's to be eligible for a university scholarship. If you have a job, save up! There are fees with just about everything with the school.

    In three sentences

    Valparaiso University has a beautiful campus that is somewhat frightening yet peaks your curiosity. The people are kind and always want to help you with whatever you have concerns about. The school is extremely expensive and hard to pay for without scholarships, and that makes me glad I worked hard in high school.

  • 07/16/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    41 of 50

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    the university is a place of oppurtunities.It makes students not only to learn subjects but also makes us to teach life

  • 08/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If the campus has anything going for it, it's definately safety! VUPD (Valparaiso University Police Department) is always on patrol, and those blue safety buttons are located all over campus. If you press one, VUPD will come to where ever you are in less than a minute to help you or even just give you a ride. I've walked around campus in the wee hours of the morning many a time, and I've never run into any trouble, but if you don't feel comfortable doing that, there is a late bus service that runs from 6PM to 2AM. The drivers are pretty friendly and will gladly give you a ride anywhere, even if the place you're going was only a 5 min walk away. As long as you have you ID number, you're good to go!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are quite a few clubs at this school, despite it being relatively small in comparison to the average American college. There's a good chance you'll find a club for literally just about anything if you look hard enough. (Unless you want to join a squirrel club, I searched for an entire year and still haven't found one :( ) If there isn't a club for something that you like, it's pretty easy to go ahead and start one yourself, if you really want to.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for people who like to study.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Chapel of Resurrection. It's beautiful and located right in the center of the main campus for undergraduate students. Although, Valpo is a Lutheran School, people of all denomination and faiths are welcome to come. Every weekday, we have a different kind of morning prayer, during chapel break, a time in which absolutely no one has class for an entire hour and you're free to go to the chapel, eat some lunch, finish up homework, or even catch-up on some Z's. On Wednesday evenings we have Celebrate, the most popular service, where the school's praise band plays music live! Sometimes inside the Chapel, and sometimes outside. Also, there are 2 services on Sundays; one at 10AMwhich is more traditional, and one at 10PM called candlelight, in which the sermon is always relevant to student life.

    Bang for the buck

    Valparaiso is a really expensive school, and the tuition is always on the rise. Also, since it's a private school, tuition is the same whether you're in-state or out-of-state. Unless you get a looooot of scholarship money, it's probably not even worth it to come here unless you're interested in Engineering as we have a great program for that, or becoming a teacher, as I've heard that we pop out teachers like no other....If you can afford it though, this would be a pretty good school to come to.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club! You'll make friends and it'll give you something to do in your spare time. There's also mini-golfing and an arcade, as well as movie theaters around the city of Valpo. They're a ways away from the campus, but totally worth it. Join a sorority or fraternity if that's your thing. There are too many on campus for me to keep track of.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is pretty decent most days, but it gets old really quickly. However, Saturday and Sunday are the best days to get breakfast!!! We have brunch until like 1 or 2, and you can get delicious waffles and top it with whatever you like....sadly its only available on the weekend...

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is okay. The R.A.s are pretty cool for the most part. Although, there are a lot of irritatingly strict rules that can sometimes be seen as a compromise to one's independence....

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major and or the classes you take, the courses will be pretty rigorous. On the other hand there are quite a few blow-off classes too, so it all depends on what you're taking. Overall though, I'd say that the level of academic rigor is pretty decent.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like to drink/smoke, don't come here unless you want to compromise you education at this institution. Valpo is a dry campus, and drinking of alcohol is not only prohibited, but severely punished, even if you're at the legal drinking age....unless you're at a frat house that knows how to keep the cops off. They don't seem to care as much about smoking as everyday, people just walk around smoking, in broad day light, and nobody says a thing to them. Also, get creative! There's a good chance your weekends will get boring really fast, unless you get super involved on campus. Keep up with your studies! I would explain it, but that one should speak for itself.

    In three sentences

    Valpo is a decent school. It's small, so you learn a lot and can easily get one-on-one assistance, even in huge lecture classes. However, be warned, as there is almost nothing to do on the weekend, so it can get boring pretty quickly.

  • 08/28/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    43 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is great. My favorite spot is pastabilities in the Harre Union cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty nice. I've stayed in them during a summer conference and can see myself living there.

    Academic Rigor

    VU seems to have several great academic programs. Every VU alumni I know speaks very highly of their quality of education.

  • 09/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are the blue emergency poles located all over campus. It is safe at night around the main part of campus. The VU police department is open 24/7, and is ready for a call of emergency.

    Greek Life

    As far as I know, there are many different fraternities and sororities on campus. However, most of them do not have a house. Only a couple currently have a house. Others still live in the dorms. It was recently approved, however, that when the fraternities and sororities have enough money, they are allowed to start constructing a house this week.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different activities to get involved in. Every student at VU is involved in something.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who prefer smaller class sizes, enjoy getting involved, want to make a difference, enjoy smaller communities, will work hard, and want to succeed.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    An unusual tradition is humans vs. zombies. Every fall, some fraternities participate in a war, called humans vs. zombies. I do not know all of the specifics, but if you are a human, you have a bandana around your arm and must carry nerf guns for your own safety and protection. Zombies will attack you, with their bandanas around their heads. Another traditions is whenever our sports team beat an important opponent, or if the football team beats any team for that matter, the team will rush up the hill toward the victory bell and ring it as a display of victory.

    Bang for the buck

    As a music major, there is a definite bang for my buck! Most music educators have a hard time finding jobs after college. I, as a freshman, have been offered to student teach at three different schools. Plus, there is a 95% placement rate for jobs after college in music education from Valparaiso University.

    What to do for fun

    It all depends on what you personally find to be fun. I like to read, and play music in my free time. The library is overflowing with books, and if you can not find something on the four floors, there is another system where books are stored. There are practice rooms available in the Center for the Arts. If you like to play a sport, there are many teams to get involved with, and there are non-proffesional teams. Plus there are many teams here that have games to go watch. If you love the theatre, then I suggest auditioning for some of them. Many events are planned throughout the year, and there is always something to get involved in.

    Food and Dining

    Food here at Valparaiso University is delicious! There are always new options everyday, and there is usually something new to discover! There is also a small cafe at the front of the Union (main building) that serves coffee and other various items. The only downfall to the food, is the cost. I do not have a meal plan, and I realized the food is a bit over priced.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter, but as far as I know, the dorm life is the norm life. The dorms are quite small, and the beds are actually pull out couches (for freshmen at least). There is one sink, in each room for the roommates to share. There are bathrooms on each floor, and are quite big. If you are a freshman, I was told to try to NOT get put into Brant, which is the dirties and oldest freshman dorm. However, you make great friends, and learn the next step of life, living without parents.

    Academic Rigor

    The school is always making sure you are giving your top academic performance. As a student, you receive grades, class attendance, and class participation updates. The work load is manageable, and can be completed early with a determined attitude.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a smaller campus with tons of student involvement, Valparaiso University is the place for your face! I suggest going onto the school website to find out more! Plus, there are tons of college visit days you can schedule. The school really tries to make a plan that works for you. www.valpo.edu

    In three sentences

    A safe, welcoming environment that makes all students feel right at home. Excellent programs for everyone to get involved with, plus the professors are always willing to help the students succeed. As a music major, this is a place where I want to be.

  • 11/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our university has its own police department besides the city's police department. There is an alert system that sends out emails and text messages to students in case there is a threat of any level to university life, whether that threat be weather or human. Placed conveniently along walkways and major public areas outside are blue Help poles. In case a person is in trouble, he or she can go up to one of those poles, hit the button, and the police department is automatically contacted. There are not very many threats to worry about, though this school does have a number of precautions in case there are, as mentioned above.

    Greek Life

    I am not associate with Greek life, but I can say that we do have a good number of both fraternities and sororities on campus that one can get involved in.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and organizations on campus that I could not count them. If you have an interest in something specific, there is probably an organization for it. There are fraternities and sororities that provide activities, and for a school this size, there is a decent size intramural sports programs. There are also a number of music ensembles as well that one can participate in whether he or she is a music major or not.

    Great for these types of students

    Valparaiso University is great for all kinds of students! I have seen so many people from diverse cultures and backgrounds and have seen so many degrees, organizations, and programs that appeal to every kind of person, that it seems like Valpo is home to every kind of person and student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Valparaiso, Indiana (the location of Valparaiso University) is famous for its Popcorn Festival. The Festival is given once a year in late summer/early fall when school starts. This is a remembrance and celebration for for Orville Redenbacher, whose hometown is Valparaiso. Valparaiso is also famous for its very delicious and very smooth Valpo Velvet ice cream.

    Bang for the buck

    At first glance, Valparaiso University looks ridiculously expensive. However, Valpo provides a boat-load of scholarships. I personally have about half of my tuition taken off due to the scholarships that Valpo has given me, and it was not too difficult to get these scholarships. With half the tuition gone, Valpo is much cheaper than other private schools, though it has such a high academic standing. So, when choosing Valpo for a school, one gets an academic backing that's worth so much more.

    What to do for fun

    Throughout the school year there are a number of sports events that go on. The largest attraction is the basketball games. Though we are a small school, we take pride in our basketball team, which went to the NCAA tournament last year. There are many other activities as well. UPC, the main organization that provides these activities, routinely provides things such as movie viewings, rock concerts, and comedians. There are numerous other organizations that provide fun things to do, and one just has to look at the advertisements put up on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good at Valpo. There are two main areas to eat on campus that provide different varieties of food everyday. If one gets tired of that, there are a number of eateries right off campus that one can chose from.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is quite wonderful. 95% of the RA's are very nice, and because each RA is in charge of only 20-30 people, one can really get to know and be on good terms with them. Since starting here two and a half years ago, most of my fellow residents are pretty nice, and my roommate is great. Obviously, there are those couple dorms that are not in the best shape and have the kind of people living in them that are the same way, but that will be found at any university. Overall, if you respect and be nice to your fellow residents and RA (which many of them have become my friends), then they will be respectful and nice to you.

    Academic Rigor

    Valpo as a whole is very academically rigorous. The intention of this is not to screw over the students with copious amounts of unnecessary work, but this is done out of care to fully prepare them to make a difference in the workforce.

    Tips for prospective students

    Valparaiso University is a home away from home. It is a small school, both in numbers and in physical size, so one learns the in's and out's of the school and gets close to its students and faculty very quickly. This intimate understanding of the university really makes it feel like home. Because of its smaller size, the class sizes are smaller so that the professors (many of them being being some of the top experts in their fields) can provide more individualized learning and care for their students.

    In three sentences

    Valparaiso University is an excellent place for students to learn, grow, and find themselves. This university succeeds in shaping students into whole and well-rounded thinking individuals who are ready for the real world. Not only do students become well-rounded, but they are more than sufficiently qualified to walk into the work force of whatever field of study they chose while in school.

  • 12/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I never feel unsafe walking back from the library late at night. The surrounding town of Valparaiso is pretty quiet.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of activities on campus for all types of people! Be sure to attend the activity fair at the beginning of fall semester.

    What to do for fun

    As I mentioned before, Valpo definitely isn't your typical party school, but it's not boring either! If you are into the party scene, I recommend getting to know people in Greek life because that's where most of the themed parties are held. If you're not into partying that's cool too, plenty of people aren't. The surrounding town is really cute and there's farmers markets, a movie theater, etc that people go to. Mainly you just hang out with your friends and something comes up haha. Also, Chicago is about an hour and a half away via train if you're looking for a night in the big city.

    Food and Dining

    The two main options for food are Founder's, which is the large cafeteria, and the Campus Cafe. Both are located in the Union, which is convenient. Freshman have a really large meal plan so it's not uncommon for some students' meal plan money to roll over to second semester. However, it doesn't roll over from second semester to next year so you have to make sure to use it up by May! The food itself isn't gourmet cooking, but it's honestly not bad! Founders has a variety of options that change every day, and has healthy options like a salad bar that's pretty yummy. The cafe has more grab and go type of items such as pizza, chicken nuggets, etc but there are healthy options there too. There is also seating at the cafe. As for hours, Founder's closes at 8pm most nights, while the cafe is open fairly late. (Midnight on weeknights and 1am on the weekend) so if you're hungry late at night, you can use your meal plan money and don't have to go off campus to eat.

    Dorm Life

    I believe most freshmen are required to live on campus, and I can see why. Living on campus definitely gives you the whole college experience and I love it and don't regret it. However, if you live nearby and finances are an issue, I suggest strongly considering that as well. Living on campus has a lot of perks, but of course it is more costly than commuting. (Hello loans...) There are 3 freshman residence halls: Alumni, Lank, and Brandt. I live in Alumni, which a lot of people agree is the nicest.

    Academic Rigor

    The overall rigor of your schedule depends on your major, but Valpo definitely challenges you! I'm a Nursing major and I spend more time in the library studying than I do in my dorm room haha. My friends that are Engineering majors also study a lot. The academics are challenging and prepare you for your career (the goal of a college education) but they are not impossible. There is also tutoring available in many subjects.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply as early as possible, most of the financial aid is awarded first come first served! Valpo is expensive, but most people I know are here on pretty hefty scholarships. If you're unsure whether you like a school, come visit the campus for yourself! Then you'll truly know if a school is right for you. I recommend scheduling a Valpo Overnight Visit, where you'll stay with a current student (usually a freshman) for a night. I did that and it solidified by decision to come here. :)

    In three sentences

    Valpo is a great school, however it is not for everyone, meaning that it is not your typical party school. People are really friendly and nice, and it is pretty diverse for a school in Indiana. The campus itself is beautiful and the financial aid office is quite generous.

  • 03/15/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    47 of 50

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    BASKETBALL GAMES go cheer on the team. They are very competitive in the Horizon League. Also playing pool and ping pong are things that are a lot of fun. In the warm months there is places to play volleyball, go throw a football or a frisbee. Go to the gym and shoot hoops is also something that can be done.

    Food and Dining

    The food that I have got there is always really quite good. Plus there are several places right off of campus that are easy walks to. Jimmy Johns, and stake and Shake just to name some. Then there are others that are really close but, slightly more expansive than these options. Most of the time there is nothing you can want that you can't get at the student union.

    Dorm Life

    Its really good I quite enjoy all of it from what I have seen. You can find people up hanging out together most of the time. This is kind of nice just to see how close you can grow to the people around you. Its not a place where you don't know anyone on the floor its a place where you do get to know people.

    Academic Rigor

    Speaking as a soon to be meteorology student. It is one of the few schools that you start taking classes related to your major as a freshman. They challenge you but, the professors are all educated in the major, again this is in the meteorology prospective I can't speak for the rest but, everyone I have met there seems to be very happy there. They give you everything you could imagine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to have fun when you do a visit especially an overnight. Take an overnight visit at least once if not more. Don't let the religious affiliation scare you away because its not really pressed on you. It is a bit on the expensive side but, you definitely seem to get the education you pay for if not more, be willing to spend more because you definitely get it back in the education you receive. When you are on the campus it seems like a 5,000 person extinction to your family especially people sharing your same major.

    In three sentences

    They are very caring about there students. You can always find friends hanging out somewhere just having fun. I will be a meteorology student and they always seem like they are on the cutting edge of the education in this department, can't speak for the others due to fact I knew what I wanted to major in but I am sure that the others are just as fantastic.

  • 03/18/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    48 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is Fabulous! I absolutely love it!

    Dorm Life

    Everyone seems to be very nice in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    From what I've heard the classes are not all that bad.

  • 04/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs, social activities, sports teams, and concerts happen frequently.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to get the most out of their education and college experience.

    What to do for fun

    Athletic competitions, train ride to Chicago, exploring downtown Valparaiso, and trips to the Indiana Dunes.

    Food and Dining

    New student union and dining facilities within walking distance of the residence housing.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are close knit yet private enough.

    Academic Rigor

    This University is academically demanding at a level that prepares one for life after college.

    Tips for prospective students

    A medium or small school offers great opportunities for social interaction and helps one to build great friendships. It also allows for great student-professor interaction as class sizes are smaller and allow for good class discussions.

    In three sentences

    Valparaiso University is a medium sized Lutheran University. It has a positive community feel and is great for maintaining friendships. It is a liberal arts university that offers a high-end education that prepares well for life after college.

  • 07/02/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    50 of 50

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Valparaiso has a great environment to it and the community is amazingly welcoming. I love the campus and the general feel of the school. Everything from the people, to the food, to the classes make this a great place to attend college.