Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Vance-Granville Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/18/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Vance Granville is great for the student that wants a quality education for less than $16,000 a year. You can find your place here, they have cosmetology classes, college transfer classes, medical classes, and ton more I don't even know about yet..

    Tips for prospective students

    Expect to study very hard for any four credit hour class; respect your teachers, because they don't have to help you if they don't want to, have study sessions with friends, teachers, classmates,whoever will actually help you study, and don't assume your teachers are mean by someone else's description or because they are college professors.

    Bang for the buck

    I won a scholarship (not from the school) that pays for everything, so I am really not an expert on how money- wise the school is, but I do know that I don't have to pay for a dorm room, the grill at main campus has good food for cheap ( I pay for that), and you will actually be paying less money to be taught by actual teachers that want to teach, not teaching assistants who don't know what they are doing.

    Am enjoying being here

    I thought being stuck in my hometown for another year or two was going to kill me, but the main campus is very nice and teachers will take out the time to help you if you ask for it, and you are more likely to meet a more diverse set of people here than a four -year college. Also because it is smaller than a four- year college , you are more likely to end up with classes you like and really want to take.

    Am learning a lot

    People may think that a community college is easier but the truth is that any college you go to is going to be much harder than high school. Don't underestimate Vance Granville just because it only lasts two years.The truth is that a lot of it is harder because classes are smaller so teachers expect a lot more from you.

  • 12/20/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who love to be near home. Students who wants to or needs to work and go to school. Students who wants to or needs to save money. Students who needs more time to decide on a major. Students who enjoys to travel and learn about other people and the towns they live in.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you do decided to go here make sure that you know what classes you need to take before registration. So you can register for them early. Plan ahead and know what you need to do for your classes before they start. Wait until classes start before you purchase your books, just in case your teacher decides to change books at the last minute. Follow all of your counselors instructions for the online web advisor. Also, make sure you have all you information for financial aid, it can be an easy process or a hard process.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is more bang for the buck. If you do decide to go here and you obtain financial aid then you will be fine. You will have money to save and you will be stress free, since the tuition isn't expensive as a four year college. I have been able to save money and get my education. If you want to go to school and have no issues with money problems then go here.

    Am enjoying being here

    I do enjoy being here. I am near, very near, home. Going to VGCC has been good for me. I love the fact that there are four campuses and you can take classes at either campus. The diversity level is good, and that is what I look into when I look for schools. I love seeing different types of people in my classes who have different ethnic backgrounds. It's nice here, I enjoy VGCC.

    Am learning a lot

    Of course I am learning a lot. It's a college, you have to be responsible for you classes and your studies. You're going to learn much if you study and do what the teacher say do.

  • 04/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The clubs of course.

    Food and Dining

    There is a place to get hot food but it isn't very good.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just because it is a community college doesn't mean it is easy. You still have to work hard here.

    In three sentences

    Great classes. Some of the faculty are friendly. Yes I would recommend.

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    present.

    Clubs and Activities

    chess, science

    Great for these types of students

    Yes

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Gazebo , music band nights

    Food and Dining

    There is a small grill place that has reasonable prices .

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor are not where you can not reach your goal.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would encourage all prospective students to come for a visit if possible, this is such a wonderful place to be enrolled in.

    In three sentences

    Vance-Granville is a great start to endless opportunities, all the administrative staff go above and beyond to help new students. This college has a open atmospheric and is very conducive for learning. The assortment of career available are realistic for today's job market.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security officials walking constantly around. And there is even the BLET program on site too. So safety is not a concern.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The gazebo is a great place to just hang out with friends. Or if you like some privacy to study sitting by the lake is quite relaxing.

    Bang for the buck

    Its a great community college, it allows you to become closer with the people who go there. Everyone is really friendly and the classes are great too.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club, or enjoy the gazebo by the lake with friends. Or play a game of tennis or basket ball on the court.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is absolutely a great place to eat and hang out. The ladies who work there are so sweet.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms, so you get to go home and relax.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes aren't that hard if you participate and come to class. Also if you do the assigned work its pretty easy too.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to class and be on time. You can't learn if your not there and the homework only helps you.

    In three sentences

    A great place to meet new and exciting people. The teachers are absolutely wonderful and very helpful when it comes to their students. The campus is well maintained and beautiful, no matter the season.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The snack bar has different choices at good prices.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Many of the teachers believe in hands on learning and will help you in anyway they can so you can understand the things you need to for the class.

    In three sentences

    VGCC is a great school and has many different programs you could get a degree from. The teachers care about your success and will do anything to help you if you ask them. I am enjoying my time at VGCC.

  • 03/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who don't want to be in debt from student loans. Students who prefer/like small classes.

    Bang for the buck

    This school has definitely saved me a lot of money and stress from having to pay back student loans. It is way much more cheaper than any four year college and you can still get good quality education if you apply yourself just like at any other college. It is worth every penny and it gives you time to slowly adjust from high school to college or anyone going to college for the first time.

    What to do for fun

    Meet new people! Make new friends. Go fishing in the pond. Have a picnic in the Gazebo. Explore the campus. or you could go to Wally world or wherever you like :) there are many different places only a short drive away where you can eat/shop.

    Food and Dining

    We have a grill. I heard the food there is pretty good & the prices are good too! The school is also, conveniently located near Sheets and other fast food restaurants so after school you can go get a burger from mickey D's with your friends or whatever you like!

    Tips for prospective students

    Register for your classes early! That way you know you have a better chance of getting all the classes you want to take. Study hard! Try your best to keep that 4.0 GPA and get on the deans list to win scholarships! $$$$$

    In three sentences

    VGCC Is a great school! The teachers are passionate of their jobs and are willing to help you succeed in your classes and future. I love this community college!

  • 08/01/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Great for these types of students

    Working adults, students not quite ready for a 4 year university

    Bang for the buck

    There a tons of programs and certificates to choose from. The price is perfect and affordable.

    Food and Dining

    No dining

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a great community college campus. The staff is efficient and helpful.

    In three sentences

    The campus is nice and has the small college feel. The staff is friendly and help. Everything is laid out well and designed to fit the college students needs.

  • 08/18/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    9 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Cops are around.

    Greek Life

    there isn't one.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    Someone needing an education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There aren't any.

    Bang for the buck

    I suppose.

    What to do for fun

    I know there are several clubs to join.

    Food and Dining

    There isn't a meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    It doesn't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I suppose.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be determined. You have to literally go to the campus to accomplish anything. Don't be afraid to go everyday.

    In three sentences

    The campus is pretty. Staff is nice. Financial aid department can be a bit of a hassle.

  • 11/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who work or High School students who want to get ahead.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Spanish festival has great games and food.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved in the clubs and campus activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take classes in the classroom to get the lectures.

    In three sentences

    I have enjoyed most of my classes at this college. I have had a variety of teachers who are most of the time helpful. The staff at this school is helpful and nice.

  • 11/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    If you are in state, this college is super affordable, and you can take a lot of courses that will be transferable.

    What to do for fun

    Audition for the drama productions! They are the most amazing thing offered at VGCC. If you are shy or don't want to act, I strongly suggest you help out with the production in a technical or artistic way (lights, sounds, set design/build, and costumes.) I have been in five productions, and they were the highlight of my experience at this school.

    Food and Dining

    All that is offered is a tiny little snack bar/grill. It is nothing special, just frozen food (like corn dogs and tater tots) tossed into the frier. At least, however, it is not expensive.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms! You have to have some other sort of living.

    Academic Rigor

    There were not too many classes that a student could skate by on, but most of the classes were not difficult as long as the student showed up for class and followed the teacher's instructions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask lots of questions, and be pushy to talk to advisors and staff, because they are not very keen on contacting you. Don't let them intimidate you--there supposed to be there to help you, not hinder you. Make sure they do.

    In three sentences

    It is a great opportunity for a lot of people. A very economical way to kick start a college degree, or do a nursing or cosmetology program (among others they offer). It is not exciting, but it is practical.