Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Vanguard University of Southern California Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/20/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 12 people found this review useful. 1 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Vanguard is great for all types of students. Not only will you love being there but you'll grow as a person.

  • 05/16/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 2 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for non-denominational Christians (being catholic, I did find myself somewhat estranged from others). Great for people who like a small-campus environment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Financial aid, financial aid, financial aid! If you aren't rolling in the dough, this will be the most important aspect of your life. If you are considering going here, apply early and get as much financial aid as conceivably possible. This school is great, but it is far from cheap.

    Bang for the buck

    Vanguard University, although it has a great environment for freshman and/or those who are new to a college environment, it is extremely expensive. Vanguard University does offer scholarship money, I know I got 12,000 dollars worth (the highest a student can get through academics is 13,000). But it was still extremely expensive and when you think about it, you can learn the same things at bigger and better schools for MUCH cheaper. The school, while a good environment, is not a good buy.

    Did enjoy being here

    As for the social life of the school, I think that the atmosphere here is very welcoming. Many of the people are amiable and accepting. However, do not be fooled by its Christian atmosphere. This school does have alcohol and drug consumption, but it is simply done off campus. But this school has a really great community and there is plenty to do, including the beach and Disneyland! Note: There is a required 30 spiritual formation credits. This means you must go to thirty chapels, which can be a hassle especially the week before finals. If you enjoy going to church, then great. If not, probably not the best place to go.

    Academic Rigor

    They have some really awesome teachers here. However, VUSC doesn't have many large departments in the Social and Biological Sciences, Mathematics, and English. If you want to do any one of those things, I would recommend another school. These departments usually only have adjunct professors who are not available for questions and aren't as experienced. But if you want to do Communications, Religion, Business, and/or Liberal Studies, then this is a great place. Being a small school, you can really get some face time with your professors and really immerse yourself in learning.

  • 01/07/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for anyone in the Christian faith or interested in the Christian faith.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a school where you can get grounded in your faith.

    Am enjoying being here

    The academics, teachers, and students are wonderful to be around.

    Am learning a lot

    Learning more about independence.

  • 01/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Friendly, Christian, Laid back (it is definitely a laid back attitude around here), anyone who wants a small campus and wants to know everyone. It's just a good place for almost everybody!

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early to get more financial aid!! And come visit, i loved it because it was very friendly and really small. I didn't visit until we had pre-orientation, i wish i would have visited before just to check it out one on one with someone.

    Bang for the buck

    It definitely is pricey, but you are 5 minutes from the beach. You don't have to go far to get to the mall, or everyday stores. Everything you need is around here so you don't need to worry about driving far and paying for gas. There is tons of financial aid offered for everything here. And of course there are always sports scholarships and full rides. I'm getting almost all of my college paid for through their financial aid. And there are all kinds of on campus jobs if you need to make cash and don't want to drive!

    Am enjoying being here

    You are started off with welcome week in August. This week is just to help you get to know people and the campus and surrounding areas before school even starts. You feel at home within a week. Everybody here treats you like a friend, you cannot walk to class without talking to at least one person on the way! Your floor is your family, and after being here only one semester we all are like sisters! And who doesn't like being 20 minutes from Disneyland???

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned tons of stuff already and i have only been here for one semester. You learn about who you are, faith, God, and all about your classes of course. The teachers get to know you, you are just a student to them. And there are plenty of way to get help if you are having trouble with any class!

  • 01/04/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Vanguard is great for any type of student. It is a smaller campus and is very close-knit so if you like large bodies of people this probably isn't the place for you. Otherwise I suggest looking at the list of majors online and seeing if they have what you're interested in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to Pre-VU at the end of the school year. It's a day-long event and it sealed the deal for myself. Find students in your major and ask to eat with them one day. Being in their group tells you a lot about the school from their perspective and you don't have to sit through the professor's spiels.

    Bang for the buck

    Despite the high costs for this college, it is totally worth it. I realize it is hard to afford, especially in this economy, but I can't imagine myself anywhere else. The tuition money is put to good use and definitely comes back around in the long run.

    Am enjoying being here

    This is the only college I can imagine being at. I feel so welcome and everyone is friendly and there to help. Since it is a small campus the teacher-student relationship is easier and more personal making it easier for them to help and guide you on your journey.

    Academic Rigor

    In my time at Vanguard, I have learned more than I possibly could have imagined in general education and theatre. They have provided me with multiple opportunities to gain experience and I couldn't have asked for more.

  • 04/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Open minded

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus, sit in on a class, pray about it. P.S. It is not a religious school, they are just a community being an example and leading to Christ, they are not trying to force their views on you or make you become religious.

    Bang for the buck

    Good stuff!

    Am enjoying being here

    Great campus, clean, a real community, fun surroundings with a car.

    Am learning a lot

    The school provides a multitude of knowledge in various areas! Professors also incorporate life lesson, they are not just book teachers.

  • 08/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    For those who are looking for a great education with a Christian basis, this would be a great school for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the college. You never know what you like until you see it. Be part of the day long Pre-VU where you can learn a lot about the school. Apply for financial aid early if you need it.

    Bang for the buck

    The living quarters for freshman are a little tight and the gym isn't the best looking gym you can find but the school is in a great spot. You are constantly surrounded by great people and there are newer buildings to live in when you finish freshman year.

    Am enjoying being here

    Vanguard is one of those schools that there is always some kind of activity going on that anybody can join in on. On top of the school activities, its located in one of the best places in Southern California. It's a great place to be.

    Am learning a lot

    Vanguard has a great bunch of teachers. Most teachers will put in the extra time to help a student when they're in need or even work around rough schedules. I have learned a lot more academically and about the Christian history that I thought I would never learn.

  • 02/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is great for vanguard university, security takes anything seriously, they observe what is happening on campus from day to night the security is all over the place right on campus especially when you need something that it is urgent they are there to help you. plus right next to vanguard there is a police station and the fire station so whenever we need help, they are there to help us.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are so many clubs that anyone could join in. such as, playing sports, joining clubs that are fit for your major, mission trips is one of the biggest one in our campus because the mission trip director and the assistants join together to plan meetings for example; when are where there students may be going on a particular part of the country.

    What to do for fun

    head to the beach, the mall, the movies, restaurants there are so many places to have fun at with your friends.

    Food and Dining

    the food is great sometime not all the time, but it is healthy. cafeteria food is really not bad at all and most of the time what they serve is healthy such as, salads, vegan burgers, and other foods that are from foreign countries which is probably good to try out other food from different countries.

    Dorm Life

    the dorm life can be so much fun when it comes to having select your friends who you want to room with, but there are rules about not having alcohol, no drug use inside the dorms and also quiet hours because most students are either sleeping, studying for a test or doing homework and if those rules are broken there will be a fine, suspension, or may be expelled from the university.

    Academic Rigor

    their academic rigor is highly strict in this area because of the fact that if a student from vanguard university does not do well in a semester, he or she will placed on academic probation or will not be able to attend vanguard anymore and will receive a letter from the d.a notifying that there will only be one chance to bring up their grades if so, then they could come back for another semester and have to do well.

    Tips for prospective students

    professors, advisor's and the whole faculty from the vanguard university expects students to give their all, their best, in any subject or in aspect during their college years, professors want to see that students have the potential and expect the best of you.

    In three sentences

    vanguard university is one of the finest i have ever been to, about this university is a christian friendly community, it has brought me so many to opportunities to study and attend here.

  • 03/19/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A student told me that if you are up late working on a project or assignment in a classroom or lab the security guards will personally escort you back to your dorm.

    What to do for fun

    Disneyland isn't too far away and neither is the beach. They also have a lot to do on campus. Tons of grassy areas, and places to just hang out.

    Food and Dining

    Food is amazing! You can never go wrong with a buffet.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms look amazing, and I cannot wait to have that experience. Even though there are a lot of people on each floor, everyone seems to know each other. They even join together once a week for a bible study or prayer session.

    Academic Rigor

    From the looks of it the classes they offer look like they will involve some work, but should not be too stressful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to Pre-VU!

    In three sentences

    I visited Vanguard on one of their Pre-VU programs, and the experience definitely influenced my thoughts on the school. At first I was uncomfortable because I am very shy, but by the end of the program I was really impressed by the students, teachers and the whole experience.

  • 07/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    One of the safest schools out there. Campus safety is always around, willing to help you with anything,Jump starting your car to walking you back to your dorm if you feel unsafe. Not only that but the Fire department and the police department are right next to the school as well

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    I am in the music department as well, and it is a whole another connection, it is open for every one no matter what level, a semi pro or just starting out.

    Great for these types of students

    For the students that study hard but have a fun side. willing to stand on stage and dance but knows when it is time to study

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    First term there is whoo fest. all the boys on campus try to whoo the girls for a week. it is a blast! and then there is GYRAD, get your roommate a date Both guys and girls dorms have that. also a fun time.

    What to do for fun

    You can hang around under the trees, go to the beach that is 2 miles away or go to Disney Land that is 20 min drive. there is always someting to do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    The Caf is good, some of the salad looks funky some times but other than that, the grill is always open and the soups are amazing!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun! the RA and the RD really want to know who you are, and all the RA for freshmen are required to know you by name. it makes you feel just like home.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are harder than others, but take them all seriously. in the end you will use all the information, no matter how small.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get you know you teachers. Don't be late to class. and study for all exams, no matter how small they might be.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school and the teachers are just amazing! They are willing to work with you. And the environment is wonderful.

  • 08/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On finals week, we play a game called Zombies vs. Humans. With nerf guns or rolled up socks, the zombies are trying to kill everyone and it releases the stress from finals week and allows you to become close to many people you have not talked to.

    What to do for fun

    Newport, Balboa, Huntington, and Laguna Beach are all nearby and it is always a blast to spend the day at the beach and the stores around them. Irvine Spectrum and Fashion Island are also close by for shopping and recreation. Bike riding and exercising are also options that many people love to take up on.

    Food and Dining

    I am a picky eater, so the food is not as high quality as most cafeteria food. Most of their food is delicious and people still gain those Freshman 15, so healthy eating is always a necessity.

    Dorm Life

    By keeping the door open for most of the time, you would be surprised by the amount of people you will meet. The space in each room is sufficient especially for three girls per room.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers really want to see their students succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the small class sizes and the teacher's office hours. It could help you a lot in your classes you are struggling in. Be open to the people around you, these could be your friends for a lifetime.

    In three sentences

    The student to teacher ration has allowed me to learn more on subjects that I am not interested in. The teachers are engaged in your life to the extent you want them to be, and are always open to help you out in your spiritual walk or in regular classes.

  • 02/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is around 24/7. they are very friendly & completely understanding.

    Bang for the buck

    they give you everything you need at this university. if you ever have any questions everyone is there for you. they know what it is to keep kids in college. it is a great college & i recommend it.

    What to do for fun

    i play soccer & go running for fun,

    Food and Dining

    their food & dining is great. its a buffet & there are many options to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    the dorm life is amazing. i love living in the dorms & enjoy walking only 5 minutes to get to each class.

    Academic Rigor

    for academic rigor, they have strong programs in every major & the teachers are always there for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    for prospective students, you will enjoy this school & have a great time.

    In three sentences

    vanguard university is one beneficial college. their criteria & way of teaching is absolutely amazing. i wouldn't trade it for the world.

  • 02/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    wow! you can smell the beach from our dorm! surfing, beach volleyball, biking, disneyland!

    Food and Dining

    lots of healthy options

    Dorm Life

    great experience!

    Academic Rigor

    great professor/student ratio. engaging conversation during class.

    Tips for prospective students

    even if you have never considered this small private christian college, come check it out! you will love it!

    In three sentences

    i love being a student at vanguard university. i love the small class sizes and ratio of students to professor. being a part of dorm life has given me some great new lifelong friends!

  • 03/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    always see them patrolling campus.

    Great for these types of students

    undergrad, returning adult, busy professionals.

    Bang for the buck

    even though it is a private institution, prices are similar to those at a uc or cal-state in the long run.

    Food and Dining

    little cafe has decent snacks. on-campus dining has never been an option for me, but always smells delicious.

    Academic Rigor

    tough, but achievable.

    Tips for prospective students

    talk to a counselor, even if you are not ready to start yet. the information is invaluable.

    In three sentences

    very welcoming to adult returning students. great program. works well into schedule.

  • 03/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's great for Christians to increase your faith.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a small campus right in the middle of the city, close to plenty of fast food, great environment.

    What to do for fun

    There is a four dollar movie theater, disneyland is 20 minutes away, the beach is ten...

    Food and Dining

    I do not care for the food on most days. I cook most of my own food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are fun!!

    Academic Rigor

    Chemistry is hard! But biology is easy. So is general ed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply to places you like, pray about it, and go where God leads you. It will turn out great!

    In three sentences

    Vanguard University is wonderful! I love coming here, but sometimes they don't communicate very well between departments here and information never gets delivered.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Vanguard has a great location. It's in the heart of Southern California. Right next to the beach and Disneyland. There are many shopping centers and it's close enough to LA to go in for the day.

    Food and Dining

    Between the main dining hall and other places to get meals, you won't go hungry.

    Dorm Life

    Nice facilities and there is good upkeep.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors there are very well educated and our genuinely concerned that you learn in their classes. They want you to do well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't feel rushed to choose a major immediately and have to take as many classes as you can, feel free to spend some time learning new things so you can figure what you love to do.

    In three sentences

    What I love most is the small community where I can have a more personal relationship with my professors which increases my understanding of subject material. I always get the classes I need and the staff is very helpful with registration and financial services. Overall I made a great choice in choosing Vanguard University.

  • 06/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food isn't worth the price

    Dorm Life

    If you like loud people screaming at 3 am its great

    Tips for prospective students

    Be rich

    In three sentences

    Beware! This school promises a lot of money to you and then tries to take it back later.

  • 06/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Well, Newport Beach is just about 10 minutes away so walking down the boardwalk, beach volleyball and nights at the pier are definitely part of every Vanguard student's experience. Besides that we're in a really good area with tons of restaurants close-by, easy access to Target and Chipotle (musts) and the always lovely Tee Winkle Park. There's the dollar movie theater which we hit up a lot or Triangle Square shopping plaza. On campus there is never a dull moment, especially when it's humans-versus-zombies week. Practically every day when the so-cal weather is at its finest you can find people out on Heath Lawn playing ultimate frizbee or some other sport, skateboarders are always zooming around. There's a great group of local artists, some of them alumni, that put on awesome concerts from time to time and there's almost always some kind of event going on for those who want a social gathering.

    Food and Dining

    We complain endlessly about the caf and food options like all college students--but honestly, after experiencing a lot of other school's and their dining: I have to admit we have it pretty good here. There are full salad, sandwich, cereal, toast, and dessert bars every day and then three main entree stations, one local, one global and an outside grill that rotate through a lot of awesome stuff for each meal. Every day and every meal is different there and, again, we complain--but the truth is, it's actually really good. Also, if on-campus is not your taste, there are TONS of restaurants of all sorts really close by, probably at least five within walking distance. You will not go hungry.

    Dorm Life

    This is the part of Vanguard Student life that people talk about endlessly--because it's amazing. The Resident Life staff and the dorm life experience on campus is the kind of thing you remember for the rest of your life--it's not just a dorm like some schools, it's a place where you meet the people who are going to be your friends for the rest of your life. It's a one-of-a-kind experience and even if every other part of Vanguard sucked (which is doesn't) I would still consider my time here worth every penny just because the on-campus living community and experience. For reals.

    Academic Rigor

    Vanguard is still moving up the ladder in academic rigor, I love challenge, and I love really, really rigorous academics and Vanguard is satisfying but not overly. It has enough programs and rigorous classes to keep me engaged though and it has truly SPECTACULAR teachers and that is one thing that is hard to come by.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply. Come talk to people on campus, there's always people around and they're insanely friendly and cool and would love to help you out or answer questions.

    In three sentences

    Vanguard is a one-of-a-kind community and college experience. this school has literally changed my life in all the best ways and the people and the vibrancy of the community and opportunities given here makes it five stars in my opinion. It's not just about school, although that part is great, but seriously you come here to find out who you are and how to live.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The police station is next door to the campus!

    What to do for fun

    Beach, great restaurants, biking, surfing and great shopping.

    Food and Dining

    The Caf is fairly good with a lot of options and they even offer gluten free options.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms are old, but they are making improvements. All Freshman dorms have bathrooms in each room. The weather is perfect year long, so the windows in dorms are always open the RA's do a great job at social gatherings to keep everyone involved.

    Academic Rigor

    Very challenging and grades are on a sliding scale.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best place to live is Costa Mesa. You will be very close to the beach and have a great location for stores and restaurants. It is private Christian and the classes are bible based.

    In three sentences

    Vanguard is a top notch University offering many undergraduate and graduate degrees. The school has small class sizes and the teachers are approachable and make learning personal. The university has social, athletic and academic opportunities that make this place amazing!

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun you can take a ten minute drive to the beach. You can watch a four dollar movie on Tuesday's and Thursday's at the movie theater that is five minutes away. The fairgrounds is located right across the street from campus.

    Food and Dining

    The caf is what we call our cafeteria and for the most part it is great but like any cafeteria it is not always good.

    Dorm Life

    Talk about family, Vanguard's dorm life is great! there are multiple events per floor and all of the RA's are great!

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are tough but not unbearable. While I am there I am challenged but I have never been to the point where I have wanted to quit.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your looking for a place that you can feel at home, be excepted for who you are, and have friends that you will keep for the rest of your life then Vanguard is the place for you.

    In three sentences

    Vanguard is to me one of the best colleges I have been to. With in the students there is a great sense of family and community. It is my home away from home

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Christians, beachgoers, Disneyland freaks

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive! But I'll make it through... thank God!

    Academic Rigor

    Christian Education at its best :)

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    22 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a Campus Safety office on campus.. when you move in they recommend to give a list of any valuables that you bring with you on campus.. there are always security driving around. also vanguard is installing campus safety buttons in the parking lots.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities, a way for you to get involved and meet tons of new people!!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Can't wait to experience them because i have heard Vanguard has a ton of them!!!

    What to do for fun

    VU has many planned events and the student body becomes very close. I am excited for Welcome week when you become an official Lion. We move into our dorms, have a family picnic, say goodbye to our parents, and then we are off to Downtown Disney!!! Awesome way to start!!! We are also about 3 miles from the beach!! What better to do then hit the beach!!!! :)

    Food and Dining

    I have not tried VU's food yet but i hear it is very good and i have walked past the cafeteria and it smells delicious. The cafeteria has great hours and is open for any meal at any time of the day.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't moved into Vanguard yet but I am excited to meet my roommates and build a friendship with them and the girls on my floor. There are many activities for just the floors, planned by your floor RA.

    Academic Rigor

    haven't started classes yet but so excited to meet my new professors

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep in touch with your Admissions Counselor, they will help you through the whole process.

    In three sentences

    Can't wait to start my college experience at Vanguard University!!!!

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is great there. There's always security walking around campus. During the night, if you have a class and it's too late, you can call campus safety and they will pick you up and drive you to your dorm or to your car. They're always there for you and your safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a dance team on campus for anyone who loves to dance for the Lord and there's a team called SAINT'S for any science major wants to go to medical school or graduating with a science major.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's fun games done during the year, such as zombies vs. humans. Everyone there is trying to stay alive has a human and runs from the zombies.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, you can watch movies with your friends, go out to the movies or go to the beach (it's 5-10 minutes away from the school), go to Disneyland (10-15 minutes away) or go shopping with your girls.

    Food and Dining

    The food there is sometimes great. But when it's delicious is during the holidays.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life there is awesome. You have fun spending time with your new friends and roommates. There's study groups, bible studies and even a tea party just to hang out with everyone there. The RA's (room assistance) are very friendly and there always there to answer an question you have. If it's where this class, can you help me study, do have some sugar, or just someone to talk too, their always there for you.

    Academic Rigor

    Ever professor there knows their subjects and principles to teach this students that going to be someone in life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always do the homework, never leave any school work at the last minute, turning all you work, study ahead for a test and have fun with your new family at Vanguard.

    In three sentences

    Vanguard University is the best school to attend for majoring your degree and have a spiritual life with God. You feel just like home living in Vanguard. Everyone there is a big family, no matter where you come from.

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety are nice and patrol often.

    Greek Life

    no greek life, dorm life makes up for it slightly.

    Clubs and Activities

    a lot of clubs and activities for whatever you're interested in.

    Great for these types of students

    great for christian students that want a tight nit community

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there are 2 events where the male dorm floors do dances for their sister floor.

    Bang for the buck

    housing and campus size and college experience not exactly worth the 40 thousand

    What to do for fun

    a lot of school events, disneyland, beaches, good places to eat, movie theaters, sky high.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure financial aid will more than cover expenses, get involved in events

    In three sentences

    Very hard line christian. very small. a lot of girls.

  • 09/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Beach. Campus activities are always fun.

    Food and Dining

    great food most the time. could not ask for more.

    Dorm Life

    Room mates as well as hall mates are very united. A second family is formed.

    Academic Rigor

    Class work, homework very demanding but vanguard is very flexible with scheduling the right fit.

    Tips for prospective students

    be involved with campus activities. Its college so its work, work, work.

    In three sentences

    great school. staff members are great teachers and people. Love the atmosphere and christian atmosphere.

  • 11/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school is very small so you feel very safe and the Campus Safety workers are always willing to help you out.

    Greek Life

    No Greek Life.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for Christian students looking to fully immerse themselves in community and learn how to integrate their faith into their work.

    What to do for fun

    There is a shopping center not very far from school as well as a beach nearby where most students spend there time.

    Food and Dining

    The food tastes very good but there is a lack of choices.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun as there are many floor activities for you to get involved and create lasting relationships with those around you.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are challenging however not impossible, the school offers many different resources for free tutoring and help with homework.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your assignments and get to know your teachers, they are always willing to help you out with finding jobs and giving you recommendations.

    In three sentences

    A very welcoming campus feel. There is a high student involvement on the campus with events and extrcurricular activities. The teachers are extremely helpful and caring towards the students.

  • 12/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Since Vanguard is a christian college, there are chapel credits that are required each semester.

    Bang for the buck

    The teachers are great for networking!

    What to do for fun

    Lots of people have Disneyland passes, but it you don't want to drop that kind of cash the beach is always a great option! During the holidays everyone goes to Knott's amusement farm. If you are the dancing type, Yost night club is pretty sick and it's not sketchy like most clubs.

    Food and Dining

    Depends on the day, but instead of having junk food all the time we have lots of organic choices and the soup is always good. There is the main american section, a global foods section where the tacos are always amazing, and the grill outside. Not to mention the salad and sandwich bar and a panini maker. Also, the ice cream is to die for.

    Dorm Life

    Since Vanguard is a small school, each floor has a brother or sister floor that they do floor events with. We have gone to AFV tapings in LA, and have played girls vs. guys kickball! I love my whole floor and because guys are only allowed in the dorm at certain times, we are allowed to be total girls!!

    Academic Rigor

    Going to class makes a huge difference on how hard you want to make the class for yourself. Teachers often give lectures on things that are not in the book, so go to class!

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Do the roommate contract! Helps you get to know your roommate and make future problems easier to work through. 2. Go to class. This sounds obvious, but it is easy to skip when there are so many fun things to do in southern California! 3. Don't stress over finals. Plan ahead and start studying for each final at least 3 days ahead of time.

    In three sentences

    Vanguard is a friendly community where it is very easy to get to know your professors and peers! There are always school events to make it easier to get out there and meet new people. Coming here was by far the best choice I have made in my academic career!

  • 12/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The beach is sooo close to my school! people go all the time and it is so much fun! alot of people have disney passes because it is so close, there are amazing thrift stores and shopping places all around!

    Food and Dining

    The food is not to great but at least you wont gain a freshman 15!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is so much fun! There are soo many events and you will have a great time!

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor really depends on the class and the subject. I dont think this is the most rigorous school but you will learn alot because the teachers are amazing even if they dont give crazy amounts of work. It lets you enjoy your learning instead of being bogged down by work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for scholorships! Vanguard offers alot! They are very very good about academic scholorships as well.

    In three sentences

    Vanguard University has a tight knit community and a wonderful campus. The teachers genuinly care about you and want to help you learn and grow. The people there are wonderful and love Jesus alot!

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are always patrolling the campus and are just a phone call away. We have emergency poles in case you feel unsafe, just press a button and they are on their way.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many different leadership opportunities on campus, it is very easy to get involved and connected on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Musical. With chapels and theatre shows, it is a great way to get involved.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    DTR benchs (defining the relationship). Whenever there is a girl and guy sitting on those benches, you know something is starting to heat up.

    Bang for the buck

    Paying for a private university is difficult but so worth it. I don't feel like just another face in the crowd.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the beach! Watch movies with the girls on my floor, go to Disneyland, ride bikes. Anything to get outdoors.

    Food and Dining

    Fresh and healthy food every single day. I often feel like I am having a home cooked meal.

    Dorm Life

    A dorm is a dorm. The best part was living so closely with everyone that you really got to get to know them well.

    Academic Rigor

    Never have I felt more challenged in my education. Each professor really wants you to do well and you get what you pay for.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be scared to start a new chapter in your life. You will make friends, everyone is in the same boat as you are. Try not to go home too much, it looses focus on why you are away at college.

    In three sentences

    It is the most welcoming school I have been to. Professors really want you to succeed. The sunny weather and warm community is a blessing to be around.

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    30 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never had an issue or worry while I was there, a lot of bike theft. But right next to a police station, the campus is very safe.

    Greek Life

    Absolutely none.

    Clubs and Activities

    A few collegiate sports and a decent amount of clubs if you want to get involved.

    Great for these types of students

    Conservative christian students, if you're okay with a lot of rules and regulations than you'll be okay with vanguard.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None come to mind.

    Bang for the buck

    For how much you're paying, the facilities are not top of the line and they charge you for everything they can.

    What to do for fun

    Play video games, watch movies, go to some sporting events.

    Food and Dining

    Decent food but it gets old fast.

    Dorm Life

    Completely boring. Build good companionships on your floors but there is not a lot to do on campus. You have to spend money and go off campus to have fun.

    Academic Rigor

    Moderately hard, but with the quietness and not a lot to do around campus you find yourself doing school work more than you'd think so you learn a lot better.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research the school as much as you can before attending. This school may fit people perfectly, but couldn't be worse for some people. It all depends on you, and your research.

    In three sentences

    Vanguard has a good learning and working environment. It is a big commuter school and no one is there on the weekend. It's not very fun, but you will learn a lot.

  • 01/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many activities they provide to get involved with the school. Since I live at home and go to school, I normally just hang out with my friends. They have school-wide events from skating to staying on campus and playing sports.

    Food and Dining

    I am not a big fan of the food. I have had one meal there and I was not that impressed with what they had to offer. I have heard that the food is good and other students really like it, but it's not for me which is fine.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter, so from what I have seen about dorm life has been positive. The rooms are a little small but they have a room for students to watch movies with a group of people and space to work on homework.

    Academic Rigor

    Vanguard is serious about making sure that the students are creating their own work and not plagiarizing. The teachers make sure that during tests students aren't looking at each others papers and that we have nothing around us that has writing on it.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking to going to Vanguard, you should know that the classes are small and the teachers will get to know who you are as a person, so be comfortable with small classes. You should have an open mind about religion because it is required to go to chapels.

    In three sentences

    Vanguard campus is clean, small, and parking in very easy to get in and out. The classes are small and the teacher really cares about the progress of their students. Campus Safety is there but not overwhelming, if you need them they are there for you.

  • 01/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is always roaming campus, very safe atmosphere

    Clubs and Activities

    Global Outreach/Local Outreach, HATB, Mexico Day-trip, SGA

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are looking for Christian college, like attending chapel service and feel passionate about serving worldwide on mission trips as well as locally

    Bang for the buck

    Although its a bit pricey, there is alot of financial aid available and the school is worth every penny!

    What to do for fun

    Beach is 5 minutes away, local malls (South Coast Plaza) are 10 minutes away. Many diversity groups, outreach groups and intramurals are always a plus

    Food and Dining

    Large variety, CAFE serves a wide range of food prepared at view

    Dorm Life

    I've heard dorm life is incredible, you get to meet many inetresting and friendly people. Dorms for freshmen are relatively small but everything else is wonderful.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are very dedicated towards giving the students a high academic education all while in a Christian setting

    Tips for prospective students

    Highly reccommend for students who are looking for a small private Christian university who seek small class sizes and one-on-one student and staff attention

    In three sentences

    Very community-oriented, private Christian university with highly trained professors who provide attention to the students Staff and students are very friendly and are centered upon a Christian lifestyle Many outreach opportunities and service on the global and local scale

  • 01/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun we go out to the beach which is only ten minutes away, we go to the movies, to malls, we have all-school partys, and we have competitions between halls and floors.

    Food and Dining

    Food is adequate but Vanguard is surrounded by many places to go out and eat.

    Dorm Life

    Dorming at Vanguard is very fun with many events for each hall and floor.

    Academic Rigor

    Vanguard has some of the best proffessors that are experienced and know how to make learning easier and fun as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    It would be best to dorm here at least for the first year because it is easier to make more friends and there are many activities and events planned for those dorming here. However, for commuters there are a lot of events as well.

    In three sentences

    Vanguard is a University centered on community with programs and events for everyone. Class sizes are small and because of this proffessors have time to help most students. Everyone here is kind and friendly and the environment is very safe.

  • 02/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The Caf really tries to have a variety of food, and it works many of the time. I recently wrote an in-depth article on the quality of the food here: http://alivecampus.com/eating-at-the-caf/

    Dorm Life

    THE BEST. Your RA talks to you and has a personal relationship with you and the girls on your floor become some of your closest friends. You do lots of events with your floor and they become your family.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, but definitely not impossible. Professors want you to succeed and they truly care about you. If you need help or are having trouble with anything they will work with you.

    In three sentences

    The community of Vanguard is just amazing. Everyone genuinely cares about you. Here's an article on my opinion about their social scene: http://alivecampus.com/not-your-average-party/

  • 04/17/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    35 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The location of the school is great. It is near the beach and the South Coast Plaza. You will never be bored.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a small christian school with a great environment, this school is perfect for you.

    In three sentences

    Vanguard University has a small, but safe campus. The people are very friendly and the faculty is very helpful. Over all it is a great campus.

  • 05/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is always on Patrol of the Campus to make sure our students are safe.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs on Campus that reflect what students like. The Surf Club, The Volleyball Club and more.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all Students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Well we always celebrate birthdays with a little of laughter and food.

    What to do for fun

    I have fun with my friends. We go on late night food runs, play video games in the Lounge, make random youtube tv shows, make random films or commercials, and sometimes go sleep at the beach.

    Food and Dining

    Vanguards Caf is a very interesting place. You have a salad bar where you can create your own salad. You have a Deli Bar where you can create your own Sandwich. Then you have 3 food sections where the Chefs create something.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is a lot of fun no matter where you go. Here you have amazing residents that will hang out with you. If you live in Huntington Hall you also have Floor Sisters from Laguna Hall across the towers lobby. It holds a great community.

    Academic Rigor

    The Professors are great at what they do. They are here to help students learn and will spend extra time with you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study, make friends, get to know your professors, and enjoy life.

    In three sentences

    Vanguard University is a great school that values learning and a great community. It is a school where you will always have someone helping you reach your goals. At Vanguard Your Story Matters.

  • 05/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 47

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    This school has a beautiful campus located only a few miles from Newport Beach. The people are very friendly. The teachers are close and personal.

  • 07/20/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    38 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the beach, go to church, go to Disneyland or Knotts Berry Farm.

    Food and Dining

    Lots to do around. You have the beach, disneyland and many restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    It seems fun!

    Academic Rigor

    I have not started but will soon, so I cant say much about the academic.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should apply here if you are looking for a friendly group of friends and want to deepen your faith in God.

    In three sentences

    I love this school because the people are very nice and friendly. I am excited to attend this fall.

  • 07/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is available units to help anytime of day. You can also call campus police at any time of day. If anything goes missing you can always contact the campus police and report the incident and they are pretty good at getting back whatever has been stolen.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many tyoes of clu s on campus including surf club where this club goes out every morning and the help teach and participate in surfing. There is a club for everyone. Evey clubis very entertaining and exciting.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At vanguard the place of eating is called the café but as of one year for a senior prank someone stole the é so rather calling it by its name its known school wide as the caf.

    What to do for fun

    There are on campus events all the time which are a blast to join. Otherthan the events there are church activities, a fully functional gym, a basketball court, and a field for many differnet activities.

    Food and Dining

    The food at vanguard is astonishing.they have a plethora of food every day and the chefs really know what they are doing when it comes to food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is decent. You have one room shared with three roommates. On the up side most rooms have there own bathrooms rather than having a general bathroom for a whole floor.although the rooms are generaly small they make great use of the room.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at this school are very similar to other colleges. Even though there is mostly no direct home work there is always something you must do. This usually consists of reading up on your classes chapter/s.

    Tips for prospective students

    All perspective students need to be on a strict sleep regiment so that they may be able to balance their studies and classes as well as leiger.make sureyou have all of your finances in order. If you have these two things in order all of your college experiance will be good.

    In three sentences

    Vanguard is one of the best christian schools around. They have a great curriculum and a great staff. Beyound the great educational atmosphere they also are very active. They have fantastic activities that create a sense of community amoung the students.

  • 08/03/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    40 of 47

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    If you enjoy a close community with personal relationships in mind, Vanguard is the University to choose. They focus on bringing friendships, religion, and your future all together in one place. Every students story matters.

  • 08/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Super safe.

    Great for these types of students

    Student who are Christ-center, open to having fun and working hard in their studies.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    GYRAD- Get your roommate a date.

    Bang for the buck

    Private schools are pricey but the experiences you come away with are priceless. I have friendships that are worth what I have in student loan debt because they are amazing people and lifelong friends.

    What to do for fun

    Vanguard is such a great location, you're within a bike ride from the beach, a small trip to the mountains for snowboarding, LA for concerts & shows, San Diego/Mexico border for missions trips= everything is at your finger tips.

    Food and Dining

    Based in SoCal and near the beach; the dining hall offers a menu for everyone!

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life was one of the best parts about attending college here... SO FUN.

    Academic Rigor

    If you're a good student, you will do great. Academically this university offers a place and a pace for everyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would make sure you really want to attend this university and make sure you create time to become part of the community.

    In three sentences

    Vanguard is a great additional to a student's academic, personal and spiritual life. This University will form you into a better person through education.

  • 09/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is always present and there are alert stations around the campus

    Clubs and Activities

    They pretty much have every type of club and there are constantly activities every week

    Great for these types of students

    It is a great school for freshman - I wish that I would have gone here as a freshman because I think I wouldn't have felt as discouraged as I did at my first school. It is also great for transfer and commuter students because the staff and students do special events for these students to help you feel like you belong at the school even if you don't live there.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have a cove are that has couches and tables/chairs for anyone to hang out in. It is open 24/7 so you can take a nap, work on homework, or just visit with friends. There is also a printing station in here to print out anything you need for your classes.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is expensive - it is a private university. I feel that the cost is really worth it to have small class sizes and teachers that are invested in making sure you learn.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved in a club - they have a lot!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make it a point to meet with your advisor to make sure you are on the right track to graduate. Also make it a point to get involved. Current students are more than willing to help you get acclimated to the school . I strongly recommend attending as many events as possible.

    In three sentences

    This university has small class sizes and teachers that are invested in helping everyone succeed. Students and staff make it a point to make sure all students feel welcome and included. I love going to school here.

  • 10/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The are all ex military or have a police background so they know what they are doing. If ever you don't feel safe they will help you out if you give them a call.

    Great for these types of students

    All types! Just be yourself.

    Bang for the buck

    It is very expensive but well worth it because professors will help you find jobs and internships. They also love to give out scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    The beach is very close and often at random times during the week (usually the weekend) you will see groups of students going to or coming back from there. There are several school clubs to get involved in including a surf club. If you have a car South Coast Plaza is not that far away. On Saturdays a common pastime is walking across the street to the fair grounds for the swap meet. Bike rentals are always available to go anywhere you please and you don't have to return them until about 2 in the morning. Intramural sports is also very popular.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food is never that great but surprisingly Vanguard has a great variety of foods that are usually really good. You can always count on at the very least 6 different choices that they provide for you along with all the things you can make for yourself. However there is always that one meal a week where you wish you hadn't gone.

    Dorm Life

    The Freshman girls and freshman/sophomore guy dorms have small rooms and are a little cramped but people are usually never in them. The RAs and RDs are amazing and really want to get to know you and hang out. Everyone usually gets along great.

    Academic Rigor

    As in all colleges and universities there are some classes that are hard and other that are easy. The good thing about Vanguard is if you are having trouble the professor will not hesitate to schedule a time to meet with you and help in any way they can.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to meet some of the friendliest and weirdest people on the planet. Be aware that on the weekends you are likely to feel that it is a ghost town because almost everyone leaves. Be sure to bring a bike because the beach isn't that far but you probably wont want to walk 6-8 miles round trip. It may be cliche but Be Yourself! People here love you for who you are.

    In three sentences

    Of Christian universities Vanguard of Costa Mesa is one of the best. Faculty are knowledgeable, friendly, and really care about you and how you are doing in classes; they will not hesitate to help you if needed. It has a beautiful campus that is small and easy to become familiar with, and everywhere you go you will be greeted with a smile and a hello even if you don't know the person.

  • 12/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Vanguard University is near the beach, Disneyland, OC Fairgrounds, and many other areas to relate to many young adults.

    Food and Dining

    Food quality could go up some.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are clean and well kept.

    Academic Rigor

    My classes are challenging and rewarding, I believe my education is worth the cost.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should score well on SAT and ACT test. Also take these exams as many times as possible.

    In three sentences

    This university is an excellent choice for people who are looking for a Christian education and atmosphere. In my first semester I have found the transition into college very easy. Overall great education and atmosphere.

  • 12/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One tradition I very much enjoy at Vanguard is the monthly all school parties. Vanguard University does not allow for on school policy due to its no alcohol policy and curfew rules, however that does not necessarily mean there is no room for fun. Vanguard hosts different parties monthly, they can either be on-campus or off campus but they are always very fun and entertaining. It all depends on the theme for example these parties can range from an all school water balloon fight to an all school ice skating party at the local arena.

    What to do for fun

    Luckily for the students of Vanguard, the campus is located in sunny California where we hardly ever see rain and can easily get to the beach in a matter of minutes. At Vanguard, students are invited to enjoy a series of activities for their own entertainment. Whether it is watching a movie in the lobby on the huge projection screen to enjoying a simple bonfire on the outside patio. Vanguard encourages its students to choose from endless possibilities, one can enjoy the many malls, go check out a movies at the local movie theater, or simply go on a late night food run.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Vanguard is flavorful. At times it may get a little tiring and old even, however the Caf has always kept a freshness to its food and the staff does attempt to keep a menu that varies at each meal. Honestly, there are no big issues with the food or service. Even our small on campus store maintains a variety of choices for the students that are often on the rush. Overall I would saw the food at Vanguard is pleasing.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is a part of college everyone should definitely participate in. The dorm life at Vanguard is exciting while not being extravagant. The university does not allow for major parties since there is a no alcohol policy however, with this rule instituted the student residents are able to partake in activities that influence the closeness of the community.

    Academic Rigor

    Vanguard contains a variety of classes that are built to accommodate each and every major. The professors definitely hold the students up to their standards and from my experience so far this is reflected through the students. Vanguard professors strive to prepare their students for the future whether it be graduate school or the work force.

    Tips for prospective students

    Vanguard may not be the college experience most high school students expect but I do advise that they do not judge a book by its cover because Vanguard has plenty to offer. The atmosphere itself is a fun and inviting one where almost anyone automatically feels welcome. Simply because the campus is small, this does not mean it cannot be the greatest college experience.

    In three sentences

    Vanguard University is a Christian university in which students are encouraged to development high learning skills in order to prepare them towards not only the work force but also for Graduate school, while also maintaining a Christian outlook throughout their learning process. This university allows students attend a college that they can call home, where the student body is more then friends, rather they are converted into a community of people working towards similar goals. Vanguard may be a small university however, the simplicity of the campus is a major part of its charm, the school is in a place where other colleges should also strive to be at.

  • 01/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Vanguard offers many opportunities for students to become involved and active, ice skating, water wars, zombie versus aliens

    Food and Dining

    the food is great, they have many choices to offer and dedicated workers.

    Dorm Life

    the dorm life is amazing, you develop a very important relationship with the people in your dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not slack off in your work and take advantage of the help

    In three sentences

    Vanguard University is an amazing school, they provide a tremendous amount of academic help and financial help. The staff at Vanguard university is a great group of people they are very welcoming and caring.

  • 06/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is always driving around. Police station is literally across the parking lot.

    Greek Life

    No fraternities or sororities here. The floors serve as these.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of things to join, just have to pick what you like

    Great for these types of students

    Those from smaller schools who want that same feeling just with more people

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Res-Rally and Woo-Fest for the underclassmen guys are awesome and really fun.

    Bang for the buck

    I think that the price of everything is well worth it. You get a quality education and a really close community.

    What to do for fun

    There is the beach, triangle square movie theater with discounts for students Tuesday and Wednesday I believe, volleyball, and The Observatory for concerts is like five minutes away. Disneyland isn't far away either if you have a pass, which most people do.

    Food and Dining

    The Caf has it's days like any other place. When it's own, it's great. When it's off....well you get the picture. There is always the waffle-maker, cereal selections, sandwich/salad bar, and ice cream machine. They have meal replacements in Outtakes if you can't make it to the Caf because of class, as well as other snacks and drinks you can buy with your flex

    Dorm Life

    Open hours in the underclassmen dorms are Tuesday for the guys dorms, and Thursday for girls. Weekends are open as well with extended hours. That's the only downside if there really is one. The floor community is awesome, prepare for a lot of late nights and not a lot of sleep especially at the start. Definitely participate in Res-Rally and Woo-Fest while you have the chance.

    Academic Rigor

    You will be challenged at some point. First semester for me was challenging; second semester was another level. It is manageable though as long as you don't procrastinate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of meeting your professors. They are genuine and really care about your success. Also live on campus, that's where friendships are made.

    In three sentences

    Overall my experience here has been amazing so far. Love every part of the school, everyone is really nice including the professors. Plus it's really close to the beach.